DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 09/30/2025, in which claims 1, 6 were amended, claims 2-5, 13-14, 16-17 were cancelled, claims 18-24 were withdrawn, has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6-12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites the limitation “each of the plurality of first ligands further includes a first main chain of a saturated or unsaturated C3-C20 hydrocarbon between the first functional group and the positively charged portion” which indicates the first functional group and the positively charged portion of each first ligand are separated by 3 to 20 carbon atoms along the first main chain between the first functional group and the positively charged portion. However, claim 1 later recites “the first functional group and the positively charged portion of each first ligand are separated by five or more carbon atoms along the first main chain between the first functional group and the positively charged portion” which includes a broader range than 3 to 20 carbon atoms. “Use of a narrow numerical range that falls within a broader range in the same claim may render the claim indefinite when the boundaries of the claim are not discernible.” MPEP 2173.05 (c)
In addition, claim 1 recites “each of the plurality of second ligands further includes a second main chain of a saturated or unsaturated C3-C20 hydrocarbon between the second functional group and the negatively charged portion” which indicates the second functional group and the negatively charged portion of each second ligand are separated by 3 to 20 carbon atoms along the second main chain between the second functional group and the negatively charged portion. However, claim 1 later recites “the second functional group and the negatively charged portion of each second ligand are separated by three or more carbon atoms along the second main chain between the second functional group and the negatively charged portion” which includes a broader range than 3 to 20 carbon atoms. “Use of a narrow numerical range that falls within a broader range in the same claim may render the claim indefinite when the boundaries of the claim are not discernible.” MPEP 2173.05 (c).
For the purpose of this Action, the limitations “the first functional group and the positively charged portion of each first ligand are separated by five or more carbon atoms along the first main chain between the first functional group and the positively charged portion” and “the second functional group and the negatively charged portion of each second ligand are separated by three or more carbon atoms along the second main chain between the second functional group and the negatively charged portion” will be interpreted and examined as --the first functional group and the positively charged portion of each first ligand are separated by 3 to 20 carbon atoms along the first main chain between the first functional group and the positively charged portion-- and “the second functional group and the negatively charged portion of each second ligand are separated by 3 to 20 carbon atoms along the second main chain between the second functional group and the negatively charged portion--.
Claims depending from the rejected claims noted above are rejected at least on the same basis as the claim(s) from which the dependent claims depend.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US Pub. 20080206565) in view of Ono et al. (JP2016062745A), Bertram et al. (US Pub. 20030042850) and Jung et al. (US Pub. 20210035962).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Takahashi et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 6 a Light-emitting element comprising:
an anode [62]
a cathode [66]; and
a light-emitting layer [64] between the anode [62] and the cathode [66], wherein the light-emitting layer [64] comprises:
a quantum dot [13],
a plurality of first ligands [11],
a plurality of second ligands [12];
wherein the quantum dot comprises a plurality of quantum dots [paragraph [0006]-[0008]
Takahashi et al. fails to disclose
a normal-temperature molten salt in which the quantum dot is dispersed;
the light-emitting layer further comprises a porous resin, the normal-temperature molten salt in which the plurality of quantum dots is dispersed is liquid, and the normal-temperature molten salt is retained by the porous resin.
Ono et al. discloses in Fig. 1, paragraph [0022]-[0036]
a normal-temperature molten salt [ionic liquid 122] in which the quantum dot [123] is dispersed;
the light-emitting layer [12] further comprises a porous resin [121], the normal-temperature molten salt [ionic liquid 122] in which the plurality of quantum dots is dispersed is liquid, and the normal-temperature molten salt [122] is retained by the porous resin [121].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Ono et al. into the method of Takahashi et al. to include a normal-temperature molten salt in which the quantum dot is dispersed; the light-emitting layer further comprises a porous resin, the normal-temperature molten salt in which the plurality of quantum dots is dispersed is liquid, and the normal-temperature molten salt is retained by the porous resin. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Takahashi et al. in the above manner for the purpose of improve the light emitting characteristics [paragraph [0005], [0015] of Ono et al.].
Takahashi et al. fails to disclose
a plurality of first ligands, each including a first functional group coordinated with the quantum dot and further including a positively charged portion,
a plurality of second ligands, each including a second functional group coordinated with the quantum dot with which the plurality of first ligands coordinated and further including a negatively charged portion,
each of the plurality of first ligands further includes a first main chain of a saturated or unsaturated C3-C20 hydrocarbon between the first functional group and the positively charged portion,
the positively charged portion is contained in a functional group bonded to a carbon that is located farthest, along the first main chain, from a carbon to which the first functional group is bonded,
each of the plurality of second ligands further includes a second main chain of a saturated or unsaturated C3-C20 hydrocarbon between the second functional group and the negatively charged portion,
the negatively charged portion is contained in a functional group bonded to a carbon that is located farthest, along the second main chain, from a carbon to which the second functional group is bonded,
the first functional group and the positively charged portion of each first ligand are separated by 3-20 carbon atoms along the first main chain between the first functional group and the positively charged portion, and
the second functional group and the negatively charged portion of each second ligand are separated by 3-20 carbon atoms along the second main chain between the second functional group and the negatively charged portion.
Bertram et al. discloses in Fig. 2, paragraph [0034]-[0036]
a plurality of first ligands [9, 10, 6], each including a first functional group [10] coordinated with the quantum dot [5] and further including a first end portion [end portion of 6].
a plurality of second ligands [9, 10, 7], each including a second functional group [10] coordinated with the quantum dot [5] with which the plurality of first ligands coordinated and further including a second end portion [end portion of 7].
Jung et al. discloses in Fig. 4A, Fig. 5B, paragraph [0076], [0090]-[0095]
a plurality of first ligands [LD1], each including a first functional group [HD1] coordinated with the quantum dot [active portion AL of EDM] and further including a first end portion [TM1] including a positively charged portion.
a plurality of second ligands [LD2], each including a second functional group [HD2] coordinated with the quantum dot [active portion AL of EDM] with which the plurality of first ligands [LD1] coordinated and further including a second end portion [TM2] including a negatively charged portion;
wherein each of the plurality of first ligands [LD1] further includes a first main chain [CP1] of a saturated or unsaturated C3-C20 hydrocarbon [substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group covers C3-C20 hydrocarbon] between the first functional group [HD1] and the positively charged portion [TM1];
wherein the positively charged portion [TM1] is contained in a functional group bonded to a carbon that is located farthest, along the first main chain [CP1], from a carbon to which the first functional group [HD1] is bonded,
wherein each of the plurality of second ligands [LD2] further includes a second main chain [CP2] of a saturated or unsaturated C3-C20 hydrocarbon [substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group of chain portion CP includes C1-C20 hydrocarbon] between the second functional group [HD2] and the negatively charged portion [TM2];
wherein the negatively charged portion [TM2] is contained in a functional group bonded to a carbon that is located farthest, along the second main chain [CP2], from a carbon to which the first functional group [HD1] is bonded,
the first functional group and the positively charged portion of each first ligand are separated by 3-20 carbon atoms [substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group of chain portion CP includes C3-C20 hydrocarbon] along the first main chain between the first functional group and the positively charged portion, and
the second functional group and the negatively charged portion of each second ligand are separated by 3-20 carbon atoms [substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group of chain portion CP includes C3-C20 hydrocarbon] along the second main chain between the second functional group and the negatively charged portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Jung et al. and Bertram et al. into the method of Takahashi et al. to include a plurality of first ligands, each including a first functional group coordinated with the quantum dot and further including a positively charged portion, a plurality of second ligands, each including a second functional group coordinated with the quantum dot with which the plurality of first ligands coordinated and further including a negatively charged portion; wherein: each of the plurality of first ligands further includes a first main chain of a saturated or unsaturated C3-C20 hydrocarbon between the first functional group and the positively charged portion, the positively charged portion is contained in a functional group bonded to a carbon that is located farthest, along the first main chain, from a carbon to which the first functional group is bonded, each of the plurality of second ligands further includes a second main chain of a saturated or unsaturated C3-C20 hydrocarbon between the second functional group and the negatively charged portion, the negatively charged portion is contained in a functional group bonded to a carbon that is located farthest, along the second main chain, from a carbon to which the second functional group is bonded, the first functional group and the positively charged portion of each first ligand are separated by 3-20 carbon atoms along the first main chain between the first functional group and the positively charged portion, and the second functional group and the negatively charged portion of each second ligand are separated by 3-20 carbon atoms along the second main chain between the second functional group and the negatively charged portion. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Takahashi et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing improved quantum dots comprising different capping molecules so that the electroluminescent quantum yield of the whole device can be improved [paragraph [0006], [0009], [0011]-[0012] of Bertram et al.]; providing suitable configurations of different ligands to provide a quantum dot with reformed surface characteristics and providing a display device with improved reliability and manufacturing yield [paragraph [0005]-[0007], [0012] of Jung et al.].
Claims 1, 6, 9, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonekawa et al. (US Pub. 20170244038) in view of Bertram et al. (US Pub. 20030042850) and Jung et al. (US Pub. 20210035962).
Regarding claim 1, Yonekawa et al. discloses in Fig. 1, paragraph [0005]-[0007], [0014], [0023]-[0032], [0049], [0053], [0060] a Light-emitting element comprising:
an anode [14];
a cathode [13]; and
a light-emitting layer [12] between the anode [14] and the cathode [13], wherein the light-emitting layer [12] comprises:
a quantum dot,
a normal-temperature molten salt [ionic liquid, ionic compound] in which the quantum dot is dispersed.
Yonekawa et al. fails to disclose
a plurality of first ligands, each including a first functional group coordinated with the quantum dot and further including a positively charged portion,
a plurality of second ligands, each including a second functional group coordinated with the quantum dot with which the plurality of first ligands coordinated and further including a negatively charged portion;
wherein:
each of the plurality of first ligands further includes a first main chain of a saturated or unsaturated C3-C20 hydrocarbon between the first functional group and the positively charged portion,
the positively charged portion is contained in a functional group bonded to a carbon that is located farthest, along the first main chain, from a carbon to which the first functional group is bonded,
each of the plurality of second ligands further includes a second main chain of a saturated or unsaturated C3-C20 hydrocarbon between the second functional group and the negatively charged portion,
the negatively charged portion is contained in a functional group bonded to a carbon that is located farthest, along the second main chain, from a carbon to which the second functional group is bonded,
the first functional group and the positively charged portion of each first ligand are separated by 3-20 carbon atoms along the first main chain between the first functional group and the positively charged portion, and
the second functional group and the negatively charged portion of each second ligand are separated by 3-20 carbon atoms along the second main chain between the second functional group and the negatively charged portion.
Bertram et al. discloses in Fig. 2, paragraph [0034]-[0036]
a plurality of first ligands [9, 10, 6], each including a first functional group [10] coordinated with the quantum dot [5] and further including a first end portion [end portion of 6].
a plurality of second ligands [9, 10, 7], each including a second functional group [10] coordinated with the quantum dot [5] with which the plurality of first ligands coordinated and further including a second end portion [end portion of 7].
Jung et al. discloses in Fig. 4A, Fig. 5B, paragraph [0076], [0090]-[0095]
a plurality of first ligands [LD1], each including a first functional group [HD1] coordinated with the quantum dot [active portion AL of EDM] and further including a first end portion [TM1] including a positively charged portion.
a plurality of second ligands [LD2], each including a second functional group [HD2] coordinated with the quantum dot [active portion AL of EDM] with which the plurality of first ligands [LD1] coordinated and further including a second end portion [TM2] including a negatively charged portion;
wherein each of the plurality of first ligands [LD1] further includes a first main chain [CP1] of a saturated or unsaturated C3-C20 hydrocarbon [substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group of chain portion CP includes C3-C20 hydrocarbon] between the first functional group [HD1] and the positively charged portion [TM1];
wherein the positively charged portion [TM1] is contained in a functional group bonded to a carbon that is located farthest, along the first main chain [CP1], from a carbon to which the first functional group [HD1] is bonded,
wherein each of the plurality of second ligands [LD2] further includes a second main chain [CP2] of a saturated or unsaturated C3-C20 hydrocarbon [substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group of chain portion CP includes C3-C20 hydrocarbon] between the second functional group [HD2] and the negatively charged portion [TM2];
wherein the negatively charged portion [TM2] is contained in a functional group bonded to a carbon that is located farthest, along the second main chain [CP2], from a carbon to which the first functional group [HD1] is bonded,
the first functional group and the positively charged portion of each first ligand are separated by 3-20 carbon atoms [substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group of chain portion CP includes C3-C20 hydrocarbon] along the first main chain between the first functional group and the positively charged portion, and
the second functional group and the negatively charged portion of each second ligand are separated by 3-20 carbon atoms [substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group of chain portion CP includes C3-C20 hydrocarbon] along the second main chain between the second functional group and the negatively charged portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Jung et al. and Bertram et al. into the method of Yonekawa et al. to include a plurality of first ligands, each including a first functional group coordinated with the quantum dot and further including a positively charged portion, a plurality of second ligands, each including a second functional group coordinated with the quantum dot with which the plurality of first ligands coordinated and further including a negatively charged portion; wherein: each of the plurality of first ligands further includes a first main chain of a saturated or unsaturated C3-C20 hydrocarbon between the first functional group and the positively charged portion, the positively charged portion is contained in a functional group bonded to a carbon that is located farthest, along the first main chain, from a carbon to which the first functional group is bonded, each of the plurality of second ligands further includes a second main chain of a saturated or unsaturated C3-C20 hydrocarbon between the second functional group and the negatively charged portion, the negatively charged portion is contained in a functional group bonded to a carbon that is located farthest, along the second main chain, from a carbon to which the second functional group is bonded, the first functional group and the positively charged portion of each first ligand are separated by 3-20 carbon atoms along the first main chain between the first functional group and the positively charged portion, and the second functional group and the negatively charged portion of each second ligand are separated by 3-20 carbon atoms along the second main chain between the second functional group and the negatively charged portion. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yonekawa et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing improved quantum dots comprising different capping molecules so that the electroluminescent quantum yield of the whole device can be improved [paragraph [0006], [0009], [0011]-[0012] of Bertram et al.]; providing suitable configurations of different ligands to provide a quantum dot with reformed surface characteristics and providing a display device with improved reliability and manufacturing yield [paragraph [0005]-[0007], [0012] of Jung et al.].
Regarding claims 6 and 9, Jung et al. discloses in Fig. 5B, paragraph [0091]-[0095]
the positively charged portion [TM1] that is only positively charged, and the negatively charged portion [TM2] that is only negatively charged;
wherein, in each of the plurality of first ligands [LD1] and the plurality of second ligands [LD2], the positively charged portions [TM1] are 0.8 times to 1.2 times, both inclusive, as many as the negatively charged portions [TM2].
Regarding claim 15, Yonekawa et al. discloses in paragraph [0047], [0053]-[0056] wherein the quantum dot comprises a plurality of quantum dots.
Yonekawa et al. fails to disclose
the plurality of quantum dots accounts for 0.5 wt% to 10 wt%, both inclusive, of the normal-temperature molten salt.
Yonekawa et al. discloses in paragraph [0055] “there are preferred ranges of the content of the light-emitting material in the emitting layer 12 with a view to sufficiently bringing out its function.” In addition, Applicant does not disclose any criticality of the claimed range.
Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Yonekawa et al. to provide the plurality of quantum dots accounts for 0.5 wt% to 10 wt%, both inclusive, of the normal-temperature molten salt. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yonekawa et al. in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of optimization and routine experimentation to provide sufficient amount of the plurality of quantum dots for its intended function. The claimed ranges are merely optimizations, and as such are not patentable over the prior art. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonekawa et al. (US Pub. 20170244038) in view of Bertram et al. (US Pub. 20030042850) and Jung et al. (US Pub. 20210035962) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Hong et al. (US Pub. 20200224095) and Kim et al. (US Pub. 20140051883).
Regarding claims 7-8, Yonekawa et al., Bertram et al. and Jung et al. fails to disclose
wherein each of the plurality of first ligands further includes a negatively charged portion, and each of the plurality of second ligands further includes a positively charged portion;
wherein in each of the plurality of first ligands, a distance between the quantum dot and the negatively charged portion is larger than a distance between the quantum dot and the positively charged portion, and in each of the plurality of second ligands, a distance between the quantum dot and the positively charged portion is larger than a distance between the quantum dot and the negatively charged portion.
Kim et al. discloses in Fig. 2, Fig. 3
wherein each of the plurality of first ligands further includes a negatively charged portion;
wherein in each of the plurality of first ligands, a distance between the quantum dot and the negatively charged portion is larger than a distance between the quantum dot and the positively charged portion.
Hong et al. discloses in Fig. 2
wherein each of the plurality of second ligands further includes a positively charged portion;
wherein in each of the plurality of second ligands, a distance between the quantum dot and the positively charged portion is larger than a distance between the quantum dot and the negatively charged portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Hong et al. and Kim et al. into the method of Yonekawa et al., Bertram et al. and Jung et al. to include wherein each of the plurality of first ligands further includes a negatively charged portion, and each of the plurality of second ligands further includes a positively charged portion; wherein in each of the plurality of first ligands, a distance between the quantum dot and the negatively charged portion is larger than a distance between the quantum dot and the positively charged portion, and in each of the plurality of second ligands, a distance between the quantum dot and the positively charged portion is larger than a distance between the quantum dot and the negatively charged portion. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yonekawa et al., Bertram et al. and Jung et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable configuration of ligands to improve the dispersion of nanoparticles [paragraph [0001] of Kim et al., paragraph [0009]-[0010] of Hong et al.]
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonekawa et al. (US Pub. 20170244038) in view of Bertram et al. (US Pub. 20030042850) and Jung et al. (US Pub. 20210035962) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Ikarashi et al. (US Pat. 5115329).
Regarding claim 10, Yonekawa et al. fails to disclose
wherein a frame-shaped resin member is formed on either the anode or the cathode, and the light-emitting layer is formed inside the frame-shaped resin member.
Ikarashi et al. discloses in Fig. 1, column 3
wherein a frame-shaped resin member [9] is formed on either the anode [4] or the cathode [2], and the light-emitting layer [3] is formed inside the frame-shaped resin member [9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Ikarashi et al. into the method of Yonekawa et al. to include wherein a frame-shaped resin member is formed on either the anode or the cathode, and the light-emitting layer is formed inside the frame-shaped resin member. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yonekawa et al. in the above manner for the purpose of defining a gap between the two electrodes for accommodating the light-emitting layer comprising a liquid material. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US Pub. 20080206565) in view of Ono et al. (JP2016062745A), Bertram et al. (US Pub. 20030042850) and Jung et al. (US Pub. 20210035962) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Morikawa (US Pat. 3775631).
Regarding claim 11, Takahashi et al. discloses in Fig. 6
wherein a hole transportation layer [63] is provided between the anode [62] and the light-emitting layer [64], an electron transportation layer [65] is provided between the cathode [66] and the light-emitting layer [64].
Takahashi et al. fails to disclose
a frame-shaped resin member is formed on either the hole transportation layer or the electron transportation layer, and the light-emitting layer is formed inside the frame-shaped resin member.
Morikawa discloses in Fig. 1
a frame-shaped resin member [4] is formed on a layer provided between an electrode [2] and the light-emitting layer [3], and the light-emitting layer [3] is formed inside the frame-shaped resin member [4].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Morikawa into the method of Takahashi et al. to include a frame-shaped resin member is formed on either the hole transportation layer or the electron transportation layer, and the light-emitting layer is formed inside the frame-shaped resin member. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Takahashi et al. in the above manner for the purpose of defining a gap between the two electrodes for accommodating the light-emitting layer comprising a liquid material. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6-12, 15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
In addition, Applicant's arguments filed 09/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As stated in the rejection, Jung et al. discloses in Fig. 5B, the first functional group and the positively charged portion of each first ligand are separated by a first main chain CP1 between the first functional group [HD1] and the positively charged portion [TM1], and the second functional group and the negatively charged portion of each second ligand are separated by second main chain CP2 between the second functional group [HD2] and the negatively charged portion [TM2]. Jung et al. discloses in paragraph [0091] chain portion CP may be, for example, a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group which cover hydrocarbon having any number of carbon including C3-C20 hydrocarbon as evidenced in paragraph [0085] of Sanuki et al. (US Pub. 20190016662). Thus, Jung et al. suggests “the first functional group and the positively charged portion of each first ligand are separated by 3-20 carbon atoms along the first main chain between the first functional group and the positively charged portion, and the second functional group and the negatively charged portion of each second ligand are separated by 3-20 carbon atoms along the second main chain between the second functional group and the negatively charged portion.”
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected and the Action is made FINAL.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893