Claims 1-11 and 20-21 are presented for examination.
Claims 12-19 and 22-23 are withdrawn from consideration.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 20 and 21 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boettger et al. (WO 201318873 submitted by the applicant) in view of Theisinger et al. (WO 2011113855) and further in view Ni (US 20170172915).
The claims are drawn to a topical ophthalmological composition comprising: a multikinase inhibitor as an active pharmaceutical ingredient; and perfluorohexyloctane (F6H8) as a liquid vehicle,
wherein the multikinase inhibitor is a small molecule and inhibits vascular endothelial growth factor receptors (VEGFRs).
Regarding claims 1-3, 8, 9, 10 and 21, Boettger teaches topical ophthalmological pharmaceutical compositions containing axitinib, a hydrate, solvate or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof or a polymorph thereof and its process of preparation and its use for treating ophthalmological disorders. Axitinib which is N-Methyl-2-[[3-[(E)-2-pyridin-2-ylethenyl]-lH-indazol-6-yl]sulfanyl]benzamide. See Page 1, lines 1-6. The use of axitinib having VEGFR inhibiting activity is taught in page 1, lines 7-10. Furthermore, Ni teaches the use of axitinib as a fibroblast growth factor receptor inhibitor. Boettger teaches the use of semifluorinated alkanes as carriers. See claim 15. Boettger does not teach the use of the claimed specific perfluorocarbon, F6H8. However, Theisinger teaches semifluorinated alkanes comprise F6H8. See claim 8. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to use F6H8 in the composition of Boettger, motivated by the teachings of Theisinger, which teaches semifluorinated alkanes comprise F6H8.
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Boettger teaches the concentration of axitinib in the topical ophthalmological pharmaceutical composition is 0.01 %, preferably 0.2 % by weight of the total amount of the composition. The maximum concentration of the compound of the invention, preferably axitinib in the topical ophthalmological pharmaceutical composition is 10 %, preferably 5 %, more preferably 4 % by weight of the total amount of the composition. See Claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, The use of the composition in a suspension and solution is taught in page 3, lines 25-28 and page 4, lines 1-2 of Boettger.
Regarding claims 6 and 7 , Boettger teaches the non-aqueous applicable pharmaceutically acceptable vehicle is selected from the group comprising oleoyl polyethyleneglycol gylcerides, linoleoyl polyethyleneglycol gylcerides, lauroyl polyethyleneglycol gylcerides, hydrocarbon vehicles like liquid paraffin, light liquid paraffin, soft paraffin, hard paraffin, vegetable fatty oils like castor oil, peanut oil or sesame oil, synthetic fatty oils like middle chain trigylcerides, isopropyl myristate, caprylocaproyl macrogol-8 glyceride, caprylocaproyl polyoxyl-8 glycerides, wool alcohols, wool fat, glycerol, propylene glycol, propylene glycol diesters of caprylic/capric acid, polyethyleneglycols (PEG), semifluorinated alkanes or a mixture of thereof. See Claim 15.
Regarding claim 20, Boettger does not teach the use of nintedanib as a kinase inhibitor. However, Ni teaches Ni teaches that multikinase inhibitor targets kinase receptors of VEGFR (1, 2, 3) and PDGFR (a, ß). In certain aspect, the multikinase inhibitor is in a topical ocular formulation administered topically to the affected eye. In certain aspect, the topical ocular formulation is a solution, a suspension or an emulsion. See Para [0004]. Ni teaches that the concentration of nintedanib in the formulation is from 0.001% to 10%. See para [0004]. Ni teaches that is a multikinase inhibitor. See Paras [0008] and [0041]. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to substitute nintedanib for axitinib taught by Boettger in combination with F6H8, considering that Ni teaches nintedanib is a mulitikinase inhibitor with VEGFR and FGFRs inhibiting activity.
Applicant’s arguments are considered to be moot in view of the newly relied upon references.
/ZOHREH A FAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617