DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim 1 requires “an absolute value of a difference between a wavelength corresponding to a peak of a normalized fluorescence emission spectrum of the exciplex and a wavelength corresponding to a peak of a normalized fluorescence emission spectrum of the n-type material being less than or equal to 5 nm”. The instant description includes a description of some possible genera of materials for each of the n-type material and p-type material that fail to define a specific structural motif required for each of these material groups that would help to predict which materials meet the limitation of the claims. The description only provides five examples of such a combination of materials that meets this requirement. The specification further provides exceptionally broad guidance on what materials that might be useable but provides no further description of which material combinations meet the claimed requirements. The five examples described in the written description do not provide a representative number of species sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus (see MPEP 2163-II-A-3-a-ii).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for some combinations of materials as shown in examples of the specification, does not reasonably provide enablement for the entire scope of what is cl aimed. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Case law holds that applicant’s specification must be “commensurately enabling [regarding the scope of the claims]” Ex Parte Kung, 17 USPQ2d 1545, 1547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1990). Otherwise undue experimentation would be involved in determining how to practice and use applicant’s invention. The test for undue experimentation as to whether or not all combinations of an n-type material and a p-type material within the scope of the claims can be used to form an exciplex such that an absolute value of a difference between a wavelength corresponding to a peak of a normalized fluorescence emission spectrum of the exciplex and a wavelength corresponding to a peak of a normalized fluorescence emission spectrum of the n-type material being less than or equal to 5 nm as claimed and whether the claims meet the test is stated in Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546, 547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1986) and In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed.Cir. 1988). Upon applying this test to claims 1-20, it is believed that undue experimentation would be required because:
Breadth of the claims: The claim is exceptionally broad with n-type material and p-type material being able to be selected from any material possible that can be organic, inorganic, organometallic, small molecule, polymer, oligomer, or dendrimer or combinations thereof.
Nature of the invention: Materials for emitting layers in such devices have exceptionally variable structures and features that effect the emission properties of such materials, further the emission wavelength of the exciples formed from combinations of materials are further variable.
State of the prior art: While some materials used in OLED applications have well reported fluorescent emission peak values, the vast majority of publications on new materials do not recite the fluorescence emission peak values for materials or exciplexes formed therefrom.
The level of one of ordinary skill: While an ordinarily skilled artisan is able to use known tools to experimentally determine emission properties of materials, determination of the properties of every possible material and exciplex combination claimed represents an essentially infinite task.
The level of predictability in the art: While computational methods are available to individually predict emission wavelength values of materials, these values are not immediately recognizable for a given structure and the utility of such methods to predict emission properties of exciplexes formed from combinations of materials is not well known.
Amount of direction provided: Applicant’s specification provides exceptionally broad direction on what sorts of materials can be used as each of the n type and p type materials but provides fluorescence data for only 5 combinations of such materials whereas each component of the two-component layer claimed can be an infinite number of materials leading to a similarly limitless number of potential combinations.
The existence of working examples: Applicant has demonstrated a total of 5 working examples that are representative of only an exceptionally narrow grouping of materials and similar structures.
The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure: In order to determine the scope of the invention, every possible material for each of the n-type material and p-type material would need to be evaluated for its fluorescence spectrum and every possible combination of materials would also need to be evaluated for the resultant exciplex emission spectrum levels and then determine if such a combination met the claim limitations. As no structural limitations whatsoever are given for any of the n-type material and p-type material this represents an essentially infinite amount of experimentation.
In light of the above factors, it is seen that undue experimentation would be necessary to make and use the invention of claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 recites the limitation “an absolute value of a difference between a wavelength corresponding to a peak of a normalized fluorescence emission spectrum of the exciplex and a wavelength corresponding to a peak of a normalized fluorescence emission spectrum of the n-type material being less than or equal to 5 nm”. This limitation is indefinite. The emission spectrum of a given material is dependent upon many variables which are not defined by the specification or the claim such as if the experiment is performed on a solution, a thin film, etc., if the measurement is performed by a fluorescence spectrophotometer from excitation at which wavelengths, if the spectrum is the result of photoluminescence in a device or thin film etc.
Claims 2-19 depend from claim 1 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al (US 2016/0028027) (Inoue) in view of Wang et al (US 2007/0212568) (Wang) and Chun et al (US 2014/0061626) (Chun).
In reference to Claims 1-19, Inoue teaches an organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, cathode, substrate, hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a carrier blocking layer, an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer and a light emitting layer comprising a dopant and a mixed host of a material comprising an electron transport property (n-type material) and a material having a hole-transport property (p-type material) at a ratio of 1:9 to 9:1 and that these hosts can be selected to form an exciplex (Inoue [0089] [0092] [0114] [0115]).
Inoue teaches that the electron transport material can be an anthracene derivative but does not require specific materials for such (Inoue [0117] [0110]).
With respect to the difference, Wang teaches the anthracene compound 56 as shown below that are usefula s host materials for organic electroluminescent devices and further teaches that its use gives rise to a device with high emission efficiency, low driving voltage and excellent heat resistance and long life (Wang [0001] [0054]).
In light of the motivation of using compound 56 as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the compound 56 as described by Wang in order to give rise to a device with high emission efficiency, low driving voltage and excellent heat resistance and long life and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Inoue also teaches that the hole transport material can be an aromatic amine derivative but does not require specific materials for such (Inoue [0113]).
With respect to the difference, Chun teaches the amine compound of formula 1 shown below for use as a mixed host in an electroluminescent device and further teaches that the use thereof gives rise to improvements in efficiency and service life (Chun abstract, [0023]).
for example, wherein R1 to R10 are hydrogen, Ar1 is a carbazole, and Ar2 is a terphenyl (Chun [0006] [0008] [0009] [0039] [0040]).
Chun discloses the compound of formula 1 that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein R1 to R10 are hydrogen, Ar1 is a carbazole, and Ar2 is a terphenyl. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Chun are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for compound of formula 1 to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Chun and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
In light of the motivation of using the compound of formula 1 as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the compound as described by Chun in order to give rise to improvements in efficiency and service life and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
While Inoue in view of Wang and Chun do not detail the emission wavelength of the compound 56, compound of formula 1 of Chun or the resulting exciplex, nor do they detail singlet or triplet energies, hole or electron mobilities, HOMO, LUMO values as instantly claimed, such properties are inherent to the composition which is the same as the compositions described in the instant specification. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I). Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 772. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 597, 195 USPQ 430.
With respect to claims 9 and 19, Inoue teaches a range of electron transport to hole transport materials that overlaps with that instantly claimed. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786