DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/28/22, 12/6/23, 12/14/23, 4/25/24, 5/24/24, and 7/2/24 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because the lines are crowded too closely together, making reading difficult. Substitute claims with lines one and one-half or double spaced on good quality paper are required. See 37 CFR 1.52(b).
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “An test apparatus” should recite –A test apparatus—for grammatical purposes. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “An test apparatus, the test apparatus comprising a control module, a bioimpedance module, an electrocardio module and a pulse module; and the apparatus comprising:” should recite – A test apparatus comprising:—. Additionally, correcting “the” to –a—for the modules recited. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11, 13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-11 and 15-18 remain unclear as to where the preamble actually ends as there are either multiple colons or no colons.
In claims 1, 6, and 13, the limitations including “wherein” remain unclear. It remains unclear if these are intended use or are steps actually occurring. Applicant is encouraged to rewrite the wherein clauses, for example, claim 1, lines 5-6 the limitation of “receiving a feedback signal of the two hands, wherein the feedback signal is used for generating electrical impedance information of the two hands” should recite –receiving a feedback signal of the two hands; generating electrical impedance information of the two hands based on the feedback signal--. The remaining limitations should similarly be rewritten.
In claims 4, 10, and 17, the limitation of “the second electrode is an electrode sheet” (see claim 4, lines 7-8) seems unclear. As claims 4, 10, and 17, recite the limitation “a plurality of second electrodes” (see claim 4, line 3). It remains unclear what the second electrode is referring to. Is every second electrode an electrode sheet, only one of the plurality is an electrode sheet, or a combination of the electrodes are an electrode sheet?
In claims 4, 10, and 17, the limitation of “a specified area threshold” (see claim 4, lines 8-9) seems unclear. The specification does not define the range for the specified area threshold or what it is referring to, therefore it renders it unclear what the electrode sheet is greater than.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 6-11, 13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claims 6 and 13 include the limitation of “two hands of a to-be-tested user are placed in a preset interaction area of the test apparatus.” As such, the limitation requires that a preset interaction area of the test apparatus would encompass being in contact with a patient (human organism) under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Applicant should be recommended to change the claimed limitation to –two hands of a to-be-tested user are configured to be placed in a preset interaction area of the test apparatus-- in order to overcome this 101 rejection.
Claims 1-11, 13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception, specifically an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
The claimed invention in claims 1-11, 13, and 15-18 are directed to statutory subject matter as the claims recite a method, apparatus, and device for testing a test apparatus.
Step 2A, Prong One
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 13, the recited steps are directed to certain methods of organizing human activity and a mental process of performing concepts in a human mind or by a human using a pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsections (II) and (III)).
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 13, the limitation of “performing, in response to a situation that two hands of a to-be-tested user are placed in a preset interaction area of the test apparatus” is a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that are directed to organizing human activity (managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional communicating to a patient to place two hands on the test apparatus.
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 13, the limitations of “wherein the feedback signal is used for generating electrical impedance information of the two hands; wherein the bioelectric signal is used for generating electrocardio information of the to-be-tested user; and wherein the reflected light is used for generating blood flow-related index information of the to-be-tested user” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional receiving print outs of data and analyzing the data to respectively determine, electrical impedance, electrocardio information ,and blood flow-related index information.
Step 2A, Prong Two
For claims 1, 6, and 13, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claims 1, 6, and 13 recite “a test apparatus, a control module, a bioimpedance module, an electrocardio module, a pulse module, one or more processors, a storage apparatus, and transmitting/testing/emitting steps.” The test apparatus, bioimpedance module, electrocario module, pulse module, and transmitting/testing/emitting steps amount to nothing more than pre-solution activity of data gathering. The control module, one or more processors, and storage apparatus are recited at a high-level of generality and amount to nothing more than parts of a generic computer. Merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into
a practical application, the additional elements of the test apparatus, bioimpedance module, electrocardio module, pulse module, and transmitting/testing/emitting steps amount to nothing more than mere pre-solution activity of data gathering, which does not amount to an inventive concept. Moreover, the test apparatus, bioimpedance module, electrocardio module, pulse module, and transmitting/testing/emitting steps are well-understood, routine, and conventional activity as evidenced by US 6526315 (col. 5 and lines 34-39; Fig. 1; Fig. 3), US 20170188864 (¶21; Fig. 3B), and US 20140194721 (¶13; ¶15; Fig. 4). Further, simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)). In this case, elements of general computer are being used to implement the abstract idea.
Regarding dependent claims 2-5, 7-11, and 15-18, the limitations of claims 1, 6, and 13 further define the limitations already indicated as being directed to the abstract idea.
Claims 2-5, 8-11, and 15-18 further define the data gathering and abstract idea.
Claim 7 further defines the data gathering.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11, 13, 15-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inagawa (US 6526315 filed on 8/4/00 as cited in the IDS) in view of Drury (US 20170188864 filed on 1/6/17 as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Inagawa teaches a method and an electronic device for testing a test apparatus, the method comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 3-control unit 10); a storage apparatus (Fig. 3-memory 14); performing, in response to a situation that two hands of a to-be-tested user are placed in a preset interaction area of the test apparatus (col. 4 and lines 25-29-the main body 1 is placed in the palm of the right hand, such that the electrodes C and D are touched with the palm of the right hand. The electrodes A and B are touched with the middle finger and index finger of the left hand), following test steps (col. 4 and lines 33-36-a display unit 5 is disposed on the face of the main body 1 in order to …a guidance message for measurement, or the like): transmitting an electrical signal to the two hands (Inagawa, col. 4 and lines 48-52-a constant current generation circuit 12 for supplying a constant current to the electrodes A and D is connected to the control unit 10. A voltage measurement circuit 13 for measuring the voltages at the electrodes B and C is also connected to the control circuit 10; col. 3 and line 42-impedance measured by the electrodes), and receiving a feedback signal of the two hands, wherein the feedback signal is used for generating electrical impedance information of the two hands (col. 4 and lines 48-52-a constant current generation circuit 12 for supplying a constant current to the electrodes A and D is connected to the control unit 10. A voltage measurement circuit 13 for measuring the voltages at the electrodes B and C is also connected to the control circuit 10; col. 3 and line 42-impedance measured by the electrodes); testing a bioelectric signal of the two hands, wherein the bioelectric signal is used for generating electrocardio information of the to-be-tested user (col. 5 and lines 34-35-the electrodes A, B, C, and D are used to detect an electrocardiographic wave); and emitting light (col. 4 and lines 39-42-a photoelectric sensor 6 having a light emitting device such as an LED and an optical sensor incorporated therein is located in the lower part of the main body 1) and receiving reflected light by using a photosensitive sensor in the test apparatus (claim 16-reflective photoelectric detector; Abstract-a photoelectric detector is also provided on the face of the main body to produce a signal to provide a blood pressure reading), wherein the reflected light is used for generating blood flow-related index information of the to-be-tested user (Abstract-a photoelectric detector is also provided on the face of the main body to produce a signal to provide a blood pressure reading). However, Inagawa does not teach having a preset wavelength to the two hands.
Drury relates to a spherical handheld biosensor array device for physiological status monitoring. More particularly, this disclosure relates to biomedical devices that periodically monitor physiological vital and non-vital parameters among multiple users using a sophisticated biosensor array (¶3). Drury further teaches the invention using the following step:
having a preset wavelength to the two hands (¶73-one or more specific or predetermined wavelengths; ¶23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Inagawa to include the step of having a preset wavelength to the two hands of Drury in order to optimize and/or enhance the “quality” of the physiological data obtained and/or sampled by the detector (Drury, ¶71).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, the combination of Inagawa and Drury teaches the method and electronic device according to claims 1 and 13, wherein the preset interaction area comprises a first sub-area (Inagawa, col. 4 and lines 25-29-the main body 1 is placed in the palm of the right hand, such that the electrodes C and D are touched with the palm of the right hand. The electrodes A and B are touched with the middle finger and index finger of the left hand; Fig. 1); and the transmitting an electric signal to the two hands (Inagawa, col. 4 and lines 48-52-a constant current generation circuit 12 for supplying a constant current to the electrodes A and D is connected to the control unit 10. A voltage measurement circuit 13 for measuring the voltages at the electrodes B and C is also connected to the control circuit 10; col. 3 and line 42-impedance measured by the electrodes), and receiving a feedback signal of the two hands, comprises: transmitting the electric signal to the two hands and receiving the feedback signal of the two hands in the first sub-area (Inagawa, col. 4 and lines 48-52-a constant current generation circuit 12 for supplying a constant current to the electrodes A and D is connected to the control unit 10. A voltage measurement circuit 13 for measuring the voltages at the electrodes B and C is also connected to the control circuit 10; col. 3 and line 42-impedance measured by the electrodes; col. 5 and lines 34-35-the electrodes A, B, C, and D are used to detect an electrocardiographic wave), wherein a number of the first sub-areas is at least two, and at least two of the first sub-areas respectively correspond to the two hands (Inagawa, col. 4 and lines 25-29-the main body 1 is placed in the palm of the right hand, such that the electrodes C and D are touched with the palm of the right hand. The electrodes A and B are touched with the middle finger and index finger of the left hand; Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, the combination of Inagawa and Drury teaches the method and the electronic device according to claims 1 and 13, wherein the preset interaction area comprises a third sub-area (Inagawa, Fig. 3-photo sensor 6); and the emitting light having a preset wavelength to the two hands (Drury, ¶73-one or more specific or predetermined wavelengths; ¶72-emitted by, for example, one or more LEDs, onto the skin of the user and a response or reflection of that light to pass back through the window to be sampled, measured, and/or detected by, for example, one or more photodiodes; ¶23), and receiving reflected light by using a photosensitive sensor in the test apparatus (Inagawa, claim 16-reflective photoelectric detector; Abstract-a photoelectric detector is also provided on the face of the main body to produce a signal to provide a blood pressure reading), comprises: emitting the light having the preset wavelength to the two hands (Drury, ¶73-one or more specific or predetermined wavelengths; ¶72-emitted by, for example, one or more LEDs, onto the skin of the user and a response or reflection of that light to pass back through the window to be sampled, measured, and/or detected by, for example, one or more photodiodes; ¶23), and receiving reflected light by using the photosensitive sensor in the test apparatus in the third sub-area (Inagawa, claim 16-reflective photoelectric detector; Abstract-a photoelectric detector is also provided on the face of the main body to produce a signal to provide a blood pressure reading; Fig. 3-photo sensor 3), wherein a number of the third sub-areas is at least one (Inagawa, Fig. 3-photo sensor 3).
Regarding claim 6, Inagawa teaches an test apparatus, the test apparatus comprising a control module (Fig. 3-control unit 10), a bioimpedance module (Abstract-bioelectrical impedance measuring instrument), an electrocardio module (col. 5-line 36-detect an electrocardiographic wave) and a pulse module (col. 5 and lines 37-38-the photoelectric sensor 6 is touched with a fingertip in order to detect a pulse wave); and the apparatus comprising: the control module (Fig. 3), configured to send a test instruction to the bioimpedance module, the electrocardio module and the pulse module, in response to the situation that two hands of a to-be-tested user are placed in a preset interaction area of the test apparatus (col. 4 and lines 33-36-a display unit 5 is disposed on the face of the main body 1 in order to …a guidance message for measurement, or the like); the bioimpedance module, configured to transmit an electric signal to the two hands (Inagawa, col. 4 and lines 48-52-a constant current generation circuit 12 for supplying a constant current to the electrodes A and D is connected to the control unit 10. A voltage measurement circuit 13 for measuring the voltages at the electrodes B and C is also connected to the control circuit 10; col. 3 and line 42-impedance measured by the electrodes) and receive a feedback signal of the two hands, in response to receiving the test instruction (col. 4 and lines 48-52-a constant current generation circuit 12 for supplying a constant current to the electrodes A and D is connected to the control unit 10. A voltage measurement circuit 13 for measuring the voltages at the electrodes B and C is also connected to the control circuit 10; col. 3 and line 42-impedance measured by the electrodes; Fig. 4), wherein the feedback signal is used for generating electrical impedance information of the two hands (col. 4 and lines 48-52-a constant current generation circuit 12 for supplying a constant current to the electrodes A and D is connected to the control unit 10. A voltage measurement circuit 13 for measuring the voltages at the electrodes B and C is also connected to the control circuit 10; col. 3 and line 42-impedance measured by the electrodes); the electrocardio module, configured to test a bioelectric signal of the two hands, in response to receiving the test instruction (col. 5 and lines 34-35-the electrodes A, B, C, and D are used to detect an electrocardiographic wave), wherein the bioelectric signal is used for generating electrocardio information of the to-be-tested user (col. 5 and lines 34-35-the electrodes A, B, C, and D are used to detect an electrocardiographic wave); and the pulse module (col. 5 and lines 37-38-the photoelectric sensor 6 is touched with a fingertip in order to detect a pulse wave), configured to emit light (col. 4 and lines 39-42-a photoelectric sensor 6 having a light emitting device such as an LED and an optical sensor incorporated therein is located in the lower part of the main body 1) and use a photosensitive sensor in the pulse module for receiving reflected light, in response to receiving the test instruction (claim 16-reflective photoelectric detector; Abstract-a photoelectric detector is also provided on the face of the main body to produce a signal to provide a blood pressure reading), wherein the reflected light is used for generating blood flow-related index information of the to-be-tested user (Abstract-a photoelectric detector is also provided on the face of the main body to produce a signal to provide a blood pressure reading). However, Inagawa does not teach having a preset wavelength to the two hands.
Drury teaches having a preset wavelength to the two hands (¶73-one or more specific or predetermined wavelengths; ¶23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Inagawa to include the step of having a preset wavelength to the two hands of Drury in order to optimize and/or enhance the “quality” of the physiological data obtained and/or sampled by the detector (Drury, ¶71).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Inagawa and Drury teaches the apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the preset interaction area comprises a first sub-area, a second sub-area and a third sub-area respectively used for testing of the bioimpedance module, the electrocardio module and the pulse module (Inagawa, col. 1 and lines 12-13-measuring an electric impedance using four electrodes; col. 5 and lines 34-37-the electrodes A, B, C, and D are used to detect an electrocardiographic wave. The photoelectric sensor 6 is touched with a fingertip in order to detect a pulse wave).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Inagawa and Drury teaches the apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the preset interaction area comprises a first sub-area (Inagawa, col. 4 and lines 25-29-the main body 1 is placed in the palm of the right hand, such that the electrodes C and D are touched with the palm of the right hand. The electrodes A and B are touched with the middle finger and index finger of the left hand; Fig. 1); and the bioimpedance module is further configured to transmit the electric signal to the two hands (Inagawa, col. 4 and lines 48-52-a constant current generation circuit 12 for supplying a constant current to the electrodes A and D is connected to the control unit 10. A voltage measurement circuit 13 for measuring the voltages at the electrodes B and C is also connected to the control circuit 10; col. 3 and line 42-impedance measured by the electrodes) and receive the feedback signal of the two hands in the first sub-area (Inagawa, col. 4 and lines 48-52-a constant current generation circuit 12 for supplying a constant current to the electrodes A and D is connected to the control unit 10. A voltage measurement circuit 13 for measuring the voltages at the electrodes B and C is also connected to the control circuit 10; col. 3 and line 42-impedance measured by the electrodes; col. 5 and lines 34-35-the electrodes A, B, C, and D are used to detect an electrocardiographic wave), wherein a number of the first sub-areas is at least two, and at least two of the first sub-areas respectively correspond to the two hands (Inagawa, col. 4 and lines 25-29-the main body 1 is placed in the palm of the right hand, such that the electrodes C and D are touched with the palm of the right hand. The electrodes A and B are touched with the middle finger and index finger of the left hand; Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, the combination of Inagawa and Drury teaches the method and the electronic device according to claims 2 and 15, wherein the test apparatus is provided with a plurality of first electrodes (Inagawa, electrodes A, B, C, and D in Fig. 1), and in the plurality of first electrodes, a first electrode corresponding to a left hand and a first electrode corresponding to a right hand are symmetrically arranged (Inagawa, col. 4 and lines 20-24-an electrode B made of the same material as the electrode A is located on the right side of the electrode A. Electrodes C and D made of the same material as the electrodes A and B are located on the back of the main body 1 and are separated from each other a bit more widely than the electrodes A and B; Fig. 1); and the transmitting the electric signal to the two hands and receiving the feedback signal of the two hands in the first sub-area (Inagawa, col. 4 and lines 48-52-a constant current generation circuit 12 for supplying a constant current to the electrodes A and D is connected to the control unit 10. A voltage measurement circuit 13 for measuring the voltages at the electrodes B and C is also connected to the control circuit 10; col. 3 and line 42-impedance measured by the electrodes), comprises: transmitting the electric signal to the two hands and receiving the feedback signal of the two hands in the first sub-area, using the plurality of first electrodes (Inagawa, col. 4 and lines 48-52-a constant current generation circuit 12 for supplying a constant current to the electrodes A and D is connected to the control unit 10. A voltage measurement circuit 13 for measuring the voltages at the electrodes B and C is also connected to the control circuit 10; col. 3 and line 42-impedance measured by the electrodes).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Inagawa and Drury teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the bioimpedance module is provided with a plurality of first electrodes (Inagawa, electrodes A, B, C, and D in Fig. 1), and in the plurality of first electrodes, a first electrode corresponding to a left hand and a first electrode corresponding to a right hand are symmetrically arranged (Inagawa, col. 4 and lines 20-24-an electrode B made of the same material as the electrode A is located on the right side of the electrode A. Electrodes C and D made of the same material as the electrodes A and B are located on the back of the main body 1 and are separated from each other a bit more widely than the electrodes A and B; Fig. 1); and the bioimpedance module is further configured to transmit the electric signal to the two hands and receive the feedback signal of the two hands in the first sub-area, using the plurality of first electrodes (Inagawa, col. 4 and lines 48-52-a constant current generation circuit 12 for supplying a constant current to the electrodes A and D is connected to the control unit 10. A voltage measurement circuit 13 for measuring the voltages at the electrodes B and C is also connected to the control circuit 10; col. 3 and line 42-impedance measured by the electrodes).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Inagawa and Drury teaches the apparatus according to 6, wherein the preset interaction area comprises a third sub-area (Inagawa, Fig. 3-photo sensor 6); and the pulse module (Inagawa, col. 5 and lines 37-38-the photoelectric sensor 6 is touched with a fingertip in order to detect a pulse wave)is further configured to emit the light having the preset wavelength to the two hands (Drury, ¶73-one or more specific or predetermined wavelengths; ¶72-emitted by, for example, one or more LEDs, onto the skin of the user and a response or reflection of that light to pass back through the window to be sampled, measured, and/or detected by, for example, one or more photodiodes; ¶23), and use the photosensitive sensor in the test apparatus for receiving the reflected light in the third sub-area (Inagawa, claim 16-reflective photoelectric detector; Abstract-a photoelectric detector is also provided on the face of the main body to produce a signal to provide a blood pressure reading; Fig. 3-photo sensor 3), wherein a number of the third sub-areas is at least one (Inagawa, Fig. 3-photo sensor 3).
Claims 4, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inagawa in view of Drury as applied to claims 1, 6, and 13 above, and further in view of Pallas Areny (US 20140194721 filed on 7/26/12), hereinafter referred to as Pallas.
Regarding claims 4 and 17, the combination of Inagawa and Drury teaches the method and the electronic device according to claims 1 and 13, wherein the preset interaction area comprises a second sub-area (Inagawa, col. 2 and lines 26-27-a second pair of electrodes on a back side of the main body opposite the face), and the test apparatus is provided with a plurality of second electrodes (Inagawa, col. 2 and lines 26-27-a second pair of electrodes on a back side of the main body opposite the face; Fig. 1); and the testing a bioelectric signal of the two hands (Inagawa, Fig. 1), comprises: testing the bioelectric signal of the two hands in the second sub-area using the plurality of second electrodes (Inagawa, col. 4 lines 20-25-an electrode B made of the same material as the electrode A is located on the right side of the electrode A. Electrodes C and D made of the same material as the electrodes A and B are located on the back of the main body 1 and are separated from each other a bit more widely than the electrodes A and B), wherein a number of the second sub-areas is at least two (Inagawa, Fig. 1), at least two of the second sub-areas respectively correspond to the two hands (Inagawa, col. 4 and lines 25-29-the main body 1 is placed in the palm of the right hand, such that the electrodes C and D are touched with the palm of the right hand. The electrodes A and B are touched with the middle finger and index finger of the left hand). However, the combination of Inagawa and Drury does not teach the second electrode is an electrode sheet, an area of the electrode sheet is greater than a specified area threshold, and in at least two of the electrode sheets, an electrode sheet corresponding to the left hand and an electrode sheet corresponding to the right hand are symmetrically arranged.
Pallas teaches the second electrode is an electrode sheet (¶23- both the electrode pair 301 and the electrode pair 302 are two copper sheets), an area of the electrode sheet is greater than a specified area threshold (Fig. 4; ¶12), and in at least two of the electrode sheets, an electrode sheet corresponding to the left hand and an electrode sheet corresponding to the right hand are symmetrically arranged (¶23-both the electrode pair 301 and the electrode pair 302 are two copper sheets and both pairs are disposed on a common surface which the user holds with his/her hands, in such a way that the index finger of the right hand 401 is in contact with the electrode A of the pair 301 and the middle finger of the same hand is in contact with the electrode C of the same pair 301 . At the same time, the index finger of the left hand 402 is in contact with the electrode B of the pair 302 and the middle finger of the same hand is in contact with the electrode D of the same pair 302).
Pallas relates in general to physiological parameter measuring and monitoring systems by noninvasive physical means (¶1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Inagawa to include the second electrode is an electrode sheet, an area of the electrode sheet is greater than a specified area threshold, and in at least two of the electrode sheets, an electrode sheet corresponding to the left hand and an electrode sheet corresponding to the right hand are symmetrically arranged of Pallas in order to measure a larger section to result in lower sensitivity of impedance changes (Pallas, ¶14).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Inagawa and Drury teaches the apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the preset interaction area comprises a second sub-area (Inagawa, col. 2 and lines 26-27-a second pair of electrodes on a back side of the main body opposite the face), and the electrocardio module is provided with a plurality of second electrodes (Inagawa, col. 2 and lines 26-27-a second pair of electrodes on a back side of the main body opposite the face; col. 5 and lines 34-35-the electrodes A, B, C, and D are used to detect an electrocardiographic wave; Fig. 1); and the electrocardio module is further configured to test the bioelectric signal of the two hands in the second sub-area using the plurality of second electrodes (Inagawa, col. 5 and lines 34-35-the electrodes A, B, C, and D are used to detect an electrocardiographic wave; Fig. 1), wherein a number of the second sub-areas is at least two (Inagawa, Fig. 1), at least two of the second sub-areas respectively correspond to the two hands (Inagawa, col. 4 and lines 25-29-the main body 1 is placed in the palm of the right hand, such that the electrodes C and D are touched with the palm of the right hand. The electrodes A and B are touched with the middle finger and index finger of the left hand). However, the combination of Inagawa and Drury does not teach the second electrode is an electrode sheet, an area of the electrode sheet is greater than a specified area threshold, and in at least two of the electrode sheets, an electrode sheet corresponding to the left hand and an electrode sheet corresponding to the right hand are symmetrically arranged.
Pallas teaches the second electrode is an electrode sheet (¶23- both the electrode pair 301 and the electrode pair 302 are two copper sheets), an area of the electrode sheet is greater than a specified area threshold (Fig. 4; ¶12), and in at least two of the electrode sheets, an electrode sheet corresponding to the left hand and an electrode sheet corresponding to the right hand are symmetrically arranged (¶23-both the electrode pair 301 and the electrode pair 302 are two copper sheets and both pairs are disposed on a common surface which the user holds with his/her hands, in such a way that the index finger of the right hand 401 is in contact with the electrode A of the pair 301 and the middle finger of the same hand is in contact with the electrode C of the same pair 301 . At the same time, the index finger of the left hand 402 is in contact with the electrode B of the pair 302 and the middle finger of the same hand is in contact with the electrode D of the same pair 302).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Inagawa to include the second electrode is an electrode sheet, an area of the electrode sheet is greater than a specified area threshold, and in at least two of the electrode sheets, an electrode sheet corresponding to the left hand and an electrode sheet corresponding to the right hand are symmetrically arranged of Pallas in order to measure a larger section to result in lower sensitivity of impedance changes (Pallas, ¶14).
Conclusion
/L.N.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/JAMES M KISH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792