DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on November 26, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1-18 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guichard et al (US 2016/0289416 A1) in view of Pohl et al (US 8551428 B2).
Regarding Claims 1-2 and 6-7: Guichard teaches a curable elastomer composition comprising a crosslinkable synthetic rubber/polyorganosiloxane (para. 0001) and hydromagnesite (para. 0074).
Guichard is silent to the hydromagnesite being a precipitated hydromagnesite.
Pohl teaches a precipitated hydromagnesite (abstract) that is surface-treated with fatty acids (col. 6, lines 11-17) and is suitable for use in rubber compositions as flame retardants (col. 1, lines 11-17). Pohl and Guichard are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely hydromagnesite for use in flame retardant applications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the hydromagnesite in the composition taught by Guichard with the precipitated hydromagnesite taught by Pohl because the precipitated hydromagnesite is inexpensive and has a higher degree of control of particle size and shape as opposed to natural ground hydromagnesite (col. 3, lines 4-39).
Regarding Claim 3: Guichard teaches that the hydromagnesite is present at 1-200 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the crosslinkable polymer (para. 0076). This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an overlapping amount of hydromagnesite and would have been motivated to do so to achieve a sufficient flame retardant effect.
Regarding Claim 4: Guichard teaches a particle size of 1-15µm (para. 0089).
Regarding Claim 5: Because the calcium carbonate is presented as an optional component, the further limitations of the calcium carbonate are also optional.
Regarding Claim 8: Guichard teaches a crosslinking agent (para. 0078, hardening component).
Regarding Claim 9: Guichard teaches a pigment (para. 0193).
Regarding Claims 10-11: Guichard teaches a wire or cable comprising the cured product of the rubber/hydromagnesite composition (para. 0198).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on November 26, 2025 with respect to claims 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/C.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767