DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the preliminary amendment filed on November 28, 2022. As directed by the amendment: claim 1 has been amended, no claims have been added, no claims have been canceled. Thus claim 1 is presently pending in this application. Applicant’s amendment to the Application Title has been entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 28, 2022 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 10, 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utterberg (US 5951519), in view of Fantuzzi et al. (US 20170312492), hereinafter Fantuzzi, and Burkholz et al. (US 20170120040), hereinafter Burkholz.
Regarding claim 1, Utterberg discloses--- an endotracheal tube barrier kit with a sealing cap attached to a clamp with several stages for adjusting the degree of occlusion for use in advanced airway management procedures (Device of Figs. 1-4), the kit comprising: a sealing device (cap 32) with a circumferential shape (Fig. 1, cap has a circumferential shape) with a removal ear (tether 34, which made be used to remove cap 32) made of the same flexible material as the said sealing device (Figs. 1 and 4 and Col. 3:54-60, tether is formed integrally with cap 32 and is flexible, therefore it is made of the same flexible material); and an occluder clamp (pressure clamp 18), being a single-body structure (Fig. 4, pressure clamp 18 is a single-body structure) that has central holes through which the endotracheal tube passes (Figs. 2-4, pressure clamp 18 has central holes: bore 14 and aperture 24, which tubing 12 of the desired size extends through), a support for fitting of the sealing device (Fig. 3, connector 10 for fitting of cap 32 to pressure clamp 18), a finger attachment (pressure member 26), having a fin (projection 28)..
Utterberg fails to disclose the sealing device having a central virtual hole made of flexible material with the possibility of deformation of its internal walls. However, Fantuzzi discloses a central virtual hole made of flexible material with the possibility of deformation of its internal walls (Fig. 10 and [0076], capped end of device can comprise a hemostasis valve 712, which comprises a hemostasis valve slit membrane 721, comprising flexible material comprising slits for deformation to allow passage a solid device through).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Utterberg to incorporate the disclosures of Fantuzzi and modify the cap to comprise a hemostasis valve slit membrane, such that the cap has a central virtual hole made of flexible material with the possibility of deformation of its internal walls. Doing so would allow for ease in the introduction or removal of a medical device through the capped device, without the risk of fluid loss (Fantuzzi, [0066, 0076]).
Utterberg, in view of Fantuzzi, fails to disclose the occluder clamp structure composed of plastic material; wherein the fin has a cylindrical shape on one of its sides, so as to be fitted into a gap formed by two other fins, also cylindrical, on the opposite side. However, Burkholz discloses the occluder clamp structure composed of plastic material ([0002, 0050-0051,0061], clamp is formed of plastic material); wherein the fin has a cylindrical shape on one of its sides (Fig. 17, surface 1702b of clamping surface 26 is cylindrically formed), so as to be fitted into a gap formed by two other fins, also cylindrical, on the opposite side (Fig. 17 and [0093], surface 1702b is fitted into recess 1701c, formed by surfaces 1701a and 1701b, which also have a cylindrical shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Utterberg, in view of Fantuzzi, to incorporate the disclosures of Burkholz and modify the clamp to composed of plastic material; and modify the fin to have a cylindrical shape on one of its sides, so as to be fitted into a gap formed by two other fins, also cylindrical, on the opposite side. Doing so would provide a clamp made of a material which is resilient and capable of controlled flexion to enable engagement and disengagement of the clamping surfaces (Burkholz, [0002]). Additionally, the clamping surfaces configuration would ensure fluid contained within the tubing that is distal to the raised surfaces will be forced back distally when the surfaces are clamped, ensuring that the tubing is properly clamped (Burkholz, [0092-0094]).
Conclusion
/SARAH DYMPNA GRASMEDER/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/LAURA A BOUCHELLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783