Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed April 20th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-26 remain pending in the application. Applicant's amendments to the Claims and Drawings have overcome each and every objection and 101 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final office Action mailed February 26th, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 10, 12-15, 17-18, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20180188357 A1), hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a space measuring apparatus, comprising:
a light emitting component comprising at least one light emitting element, configured to emit a measurement pulse set, wherein the measurement pulse set comprises at least two pulse strings corresponding to at least two different emitting angles (Fig. 2A; [0025] a LiDAR scanning system can include a light source...The light source can be configured to transmit one or more light pulses (e.g., beam M, beam M+1). For example, the light source may be a laser source that emits or transmits laser pulses. The beam steering apparatus 202 can be configured to steer the one or more light pulses of light in at least one of vertical and horizontal directions along an optical path, and concurrently collect scattered light generated based on the one or more light pulses illuminating an object in the optical path.),
each pulse string of the at least two pulse strings comprises at least one optical pulse with a same emitting angle ([0025] The beam steering apparatus 202 can be configured to steer the one or more light pulses of light in at least one of vertical and horizontal directions along an optical path, and concurrently collect scattered light generated based on the one or more light pulses illuminating an object in the optical path.), and
a maximum time interval covered by optical pulses in a same pulse string is shorter than a first time interval ([0034] Using a detector array, the time interval between the consecutive light pulses of a laser beam (e.g., beam M and beam M+1) can be configured to be less than the round-trip time for a light pulse to reach the farthest objects in a pre-determined distance according to the LiDAR system specification), and
the light emitting component is further configured to record pulse set characteristics of the measurement pulse set, wherein the pulse set characteristics comprise pulse characteristics of optical pulses in the measurement pulse set ([0029] The location profile A can be used by the LiDAR system (e.g., the electrical processing and computing device of the LiDAR system) to determine which transmitted light pulse the scattered light N corresponds to.);
a light receiving component comprising at least one detection element, configured to receive optical pulses reflected or scattered by a target scene, and record pulse characteristics of the received optical pulses ([0027] the collected scattered light can be directed to a focal point or plane for light detection and/or image generation by the light detector 206, which is located in proximity to or at the focal point; [0028] The light detector 206 includes a detector array that can be used to differentiate among the scattered light pulses collected in an order different from the order in which the corresponding light pulses were transmitted.); and
a calculation component ([0025] electrical processing and computing device (e.g., a microprocessor)), configured to:
form at least one to-be-determined pulse set by combining at least two optical pulses received in a second time interval, wherein the to-be-determined pulse set comprises pulse strings corresponding to at least two receiving angles ([0028] The scattered light N is directed by the light converging apparatus 204 and lands on the light detector 206. Based on how the scattered light N lands on the detector array, the LiDAR system obtains a location profile A.; [0029] The location profile A can be used by the LiDAR system (e.g., the electrical processing and computing device of the LiDAR system) to determine which transmitted light pulse the scattered light N corresponds to);
determine whether the at least one to-be-determined pulse set is valid according to the pulse set characteristics recorded by the light emitting component ([0027] the collected scattered light can be directed to a focal point or plane for light detection and/or image generation by the light detector 206, which is located in proximity to or at the focal point; [0028] The light detector 206 includes a detector array that can be used to differentiate among the scattered light pulses collected in an order different from the order in which the corresponding light pulses were transmitted.); and
calculate, according to the pulse set characteristics of pulse sets which are determined as valid, at least one of measurement distance and light intensity ([0030] The LiDAR system then determines the distance between the center of the landing area and the location where the scattered light would have landed had the light detector remained stationary).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the pulse characteristics of optical pulses comprise a first characteristic and a second characteristic, wherein
the first characteristic of an optical pulse emitted by the light emitting component comprises an emitting angle and an emitting time ([Fig. 2A]; [0015] the scattered light is collected by the detector and the distance of the scattering spot can be calculated from the time the pulse is transmitted from the LiDAR; [0025] The light source can be configured to transmit one or more light pulses (e.g., beam M, beam M+1). For example, the light source may be a laser source that emits or transmits laser pulses. The beam steering apparatus 202 can be configured to steer the one or more light pulses of light in at least one of vertical and horizontal directions along an optical path, and concurrently collect scattered light generated based on the one or more light pulses illuminating an object in the optical path.);
the first characteristic of an optical pulse received by the light receiving component comprises a receiving angle and a receiving time ([Fig. 2A]; [0015] the time the scattered light pulse reaches the detector of the LiDAR; [0025] The light source can be configured to transmit one or more light pulses (e.g., beam M, beam M+1). For example, the light source may be a laser source that emits or transmits laser pulses. The beam steering apparatus 202 can be configured to steer the one or more light pulses of light in at least one of vertical and horizontal directions along an optical path, and concurrently collect scattered light generated based on the one or more light pulses illuminating an object in the optical path.);
the second characteristic of an optical pulse emitted by the light emitting component and the second characteristic of an optical pulse received by the light receiving component comprises at least one of the following: a waveform, a wavelength, a wavelength-time function, polarization, peak intensity, total energy, spatial light intensity distribution ([0030] In some embodiments, the LiDAR system first determines a weighted center of the landing area (on the detector array) based on the location of the landing area as imaged on the detector array and the signal intensity as detected by the detector element.);
the pulse set characteristics further comprise: a sequence, a relative time and a relative energy among optical pulses in a pulse string to which the optical pulses belong ([0025] The light source can be configured to transmit one or more light pulses (e.g., beam M, beam M+1); [0030] In some embodiments, the LiDAR system first determines a weighted center of the landing area (on the detector array) based on the location of the landing area as imaged on the detector array and the signal intensity as detected by the detector element; [0036] calculating the time differences between the time of transmission and the times when the scattered lights are detected);
a sequence, a relative time and a relative energy among pulse strings in a pulse set to which the pulse strings belong ([0025] The light source can be configured to transmit one or more light pulses (e.g., beam M, beam M+1); [0030] In some embodiments, the LiDAR system first determines a weighted center of the landing area (on the detector array) based on the location of the landing area as imaged on the detector array and the signal intensity as detected by the detector element; [0036] calculating the time differences between the time of transmission and the times when the scattered lights are detected).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the light emitting component is further configured to control that a time interval between optical pulses in the same emitting angle is not longer than a fourth time interval, wherein the fourth time interval is shorter than a first percentage of a fifth time interval, and the fifth time interval is a time for the apparatus transceiving an optical pulse in a maximum range ([0025] The beam steering apparatus 202 can be configured to steer the one or more light pulses of light in at least one of vertical and horizontal directions along an optical path, and concurrently collect scattered light generated based on the one or more light pulses illuminating an object in the optical path. [0034] Using a detector array, the time interval between the consecutive light pulses of a laser beam (e.g., beam M and beam M+1) can be configured to be less than the round-trip time for a light pulse to reach the farthest objects in a pre-determined distance according to the LiDAR system specification).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising at least one optical scanning component configured to be connected to the light emitting component and/or the light receiving component to drive the light emitting component and/or the light receiving component to scan the target scene ([0025] a LiDAR scanning system can include a light source, a beam steering apparatus 202...The beam steering apparatus 202 can be configured to steer the one or more light pulses of light in at least one of vertical and horizontal directions along an optical path).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the calculation component is configured to: after the light receiving component receives an optical pulse, search for optical pulses received within the second time interval before receiving said optical pulse and combine the optical pulses to form at least one to-be-determined pulse set ([0033] Multiple modules of collection optics 510 can be aligned together to form a one- or two-dimensional array where the receiving areas of these modules are aligned next to each other with gaps as small as possible in between the receiving areas.; [0034] Using a detector array, the time interval between the consecutive light pulses of a laser beam (e.g., beam M and beam M+1) can be configured to be less than the round-trip time for a light pulse to reach the farthest objects in a pre-determined distance according to the LiDAR system specification.); and
determine to-be-determined pulse sets with pulse set characteristics matching the pulse set characteristics recorded by the light emitting component as valid pulse sets ([0027] the collected scattered light can be directed to a focal point or plane for light detection and/or image generation by the light detector 206, which is located in proximity to or at the focal point; [0028] The light detector 206 includes a detector array that can be used to differentiate among the scattered light pulses collected in an order different from the order in which the corresponding light pulses were transmitted.).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the light receiving component is further configured to record a waveform of the received optical pulses based on a combination of the following characteristics: a fixed threshold, a peak intensity, a constant ratio timing intensity, a rising edge time point of the fixed threshold, a falling edge time point of the fixed threshold, a time point of the peak intensity, and a rising edge time point of the constant ratio timing intensity ([Fig. 3]; [0032] FIG. 3 illustrates an exemplary light detector including an array of detectors or detector elements...Therefore, for the 100 micrometers light spot landing on the detector array, the center of the vertical position of the light spot can be calculated based on curving-fitting of the signal intensity of the detector array signal.).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the light receiving component is configured to record a waveform of the received optical pulses based on a plurality of optical intensity data sampled at a fixed time interval or a statistical value of the sampled data ([Fig. 3]; [0032] FIG. 3 illustrates an exemplary light detector including an array of detectors or detector elements...Therefore, for the 100 micrometers light spot landing on the detector array, the center of the vertical position of the light spot can be calculated based on curving-fitting of the signal intensity of the detector array signal.).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the calculation component is further configured to:
determine pixel points belonging to a first adjacent local area from a plurality of target-scene pixel points corresponding to a first search range ([Fig. 3]; [Fig. 5] [0036] The system can then compare, for each scattered light, the candidate travel time (calculated via direct measurement of time) with the travel time calculated based on the landing area of the scattered light.);
for the pixel points belonging to the first adjacent local area, determine a first matching ratio of optical pulses used to calculate measurement distances of the pixel points to the optical pulses emitted by the light emitting component; and accept, in response to the first matching ratio is larger than a first ratio threshold, the measurement distances of the plurality of target-scene pixel points in the first search range and the corresponding optical pulses ([0036] For the scattered light that actually corresponds to the transmitted pulse signal, the candidate travel time and the travel time calculated based on the landing area should be similar or identical. Thus, after the comparisons, the system can select the candidate travel time for which the comparison has yielded the smallest difference and use the selected candidate travel to calculate a distance.).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the calculation component is further configured to:
reject, in response to the first matching ratio is not larger than the first ratio threshold, the measurement distances of the plurality of target-scene pixel points in the first search range and the corresponding optical pulses ([0037] In some embodiments, when the LiDAR system receives multiple scattered lights after transmitting a pulse signal, the LiDAR system can determine multiple candidate travel times (i.e., the time of flight) corresponding to the multiple scattered lights using the geometry, angle, electrical phase, and/or electrical frequency of the scattered lights). From the multiple candidate travel times, one candidate travel time can be selected).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the light emitting component is further configured to emit optical pulses to the first search range again to determine the measurement distances of the plurality of target-scene pixel points corresponding to the first search range again (Fig. 2A; [0025] a LiDAR scanning system can include a light source...The light source can be configured to transmit one or more light pulses (e.g., beam M, beam M+1). For example, the light source may be a laser source that emits or transmits laser pulses. The beam steering apparatus 202 can be configured to steer the one or more light pulses of light in at least one of vertical and horizontal directions along an optical path, and concurrently collect scattered light generated based on the one or more light pulses illuminating an object in the optical path.).
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 13, wherein, for at least one received optical pulse, the calculation component is further configured to output at least one of the following information: corresponding measuring distance, receiving angle, and relative light intensity ([0036] From the multiple candidate travel times, one candidate travel time can be selected to calculate the distance.).
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the calculation component determining the pixel points belonging to the first adjacent local area comprises:
fitting a first standard plane based on the measurement distances of the plurality of target-scene pixel points corresponding to the first search range ([0032] Therefore, for the 100 micrometers light spot landing on the detector array, the center of the vertical position of the light spot can be calculated based on curving-fitting of the signal intensity of the detector array signal.);
determining a distance difference between the measurement distances of the plurality of target-scene pixel points corresponding to the first search range and the first standard plane; and determining the pixel points belonging to the first adjacent local area based on the distance difference and a first distance threshold ([0035] However, because the image of the scattered light generated based on this second light pulse lands at about 72 micrometers away from the center position of the detector array, it can be easily differentiated from the image of the scattered light generated based on the first pulse.).
Regarding claim 24, Li teaches a space measuring method, comprising:
emitting a measurement pulse set, wherein the measurement pulse set comprises at least two pulse strings corresponding to at least two different emitting angles, each pulse string of the at least two pulse strings comprises at least one optical pulse with a same emitting angle, and a maximum time interval covered by optical pulses in a same pulse string is shorter than a first time interval (Fig. 2A; [0025] a LiDAR scanning system can include a light source...The light source can be configured to transmit one or more light pulses (e.g., beam M, beam M+1). For example, the light source may be a laser source that emits or transmits laser pulses. The beam steering apparatus 202 can be configured to steer the one or more light pulses of light in at least one of vertical and horizontal directions along an optical path, and concurrently collect scattered light generated based on the one or more light pulses illuminating an object in the optical path; [0034] Using a detector array, the time interval between the consecutive light pulses of a laser beam (e.g., beam M and beam M+1) can be configured to be less than the round-trip time for a light pulse to reach the farthest objects in a pre-determined distance according to the LiDAR system specification);
recording pulse set characteristics of the measurement pulse set, wherein the pulse set characteristics comprise pulse characteristics of optical pulses in the measurement pulse set ([0029] The location profile A can be used by the LiDAR system (e.g., the electrical processing and computing device of the LiDAR system) to determine which transmitted light pulse the scattered light N corresponds to.);
receiving optical pulses reflected or scattered by a target scene, and recording pulse characteristics of the received optical pulses ([0027] the collected scattered light can be directed to a focal point or plane for light detection and/or image generation by the light detector 206, which is located in proximity to or at the focal point; [0028] The light detector 206 includes a detector array that can be used to differentiate among the scattered light pulses collected in an order different from the order in which the corresponding light pulses were transmitted.);
forming at least one to-be-determined pulse set by combining at least two optical pulses received in a second time interval, wherein the to-be-determined pulse set comprises pulse strings corresponding to at least two receiving angles ([0028] The scattered light N is directed by the light converging apparatus 204 and lands on the light detector 206. Based on how the scattered light N lands on the detector array, the LiDAR system obtains a location profile A.; [0029] The location profile A can be used by the LiDAR system (e.g., the electrical processing and computing device of the LiDAR system) to determine which transmitted light pulse the scattered light N corresponds to);
determining whether the at least one to-be-determined pulse set is valid according to the recorded pulse set characteristics ([0027] the collected scattered light can be directed to a focal point or plane for light detection and/or image generation by the light detector 206, which is located in proximity to or at the focal point; [0028] The light detector 206 includes a detector array that can be used to differentiate among the scattered light pulses collected in an order different from the order in which the corresponding light pulses were transmitted.); and
calculating, based on the pulse set characteristics of pulse sets which are determined as valid, at least one of measurement distance and light intensity, and/or outputting information of the pulse sets which are determined as valid ([0030] The LiDAR system then determines the distance between the center of the landing area and the location where the scattered light would have landed had the light detector remained stationary).
Regarding claim 25, Li teaches a space measuring device, comprising:
a processor ([0025] electrical processing and computing device (e.g., a microprocessor)); and
a memory with computer-readable code stored thereon, wherein the computer-readable code, when executed by the processor, performs the space measuring method of claim 24 ([0007] In accordance with some embodiments, a computer-implemented method for operating a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system).
Regarding claim 26, Li teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with instruction stored thereon, wherein the instructions, in response to being executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the space measuring method of claim 24 ([0018] These apparatus and methods will be described in the following detailed description and illustrated in the accompanying drawing by various blocks, components, circuits, steps, processes, algorithms, etc. (collectively referred to as “elements”). These elements may be implemented using electronic hardware, computer software, or any combination thereof.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 8-9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of d'Aligny (United States Patent Application Publication 20150309162 A1) hereinafter d'Aligny
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 2,
Li fails to teach the apparatus wherein the light emitting component is further configured to control, except for the emitting angle and the emitting time, the pulse set characteristics of any two measurement pulse sets within a third time interval to be different, wherein the second time interval is shorter than the third time interval.
However, d’Aligny teaches the apparatus wherein the light emitting component is further configured to control, except for the emitting angle and the emitting time, the pulse set characteristics of any two measurement pulse sets within a third time interval to be different ([Fig. 3A]; [0075] Some embodiments in accordance with the invention enable increased scanning rate by emitting laser pulse sets having a signature which enable correlation of each detected return pulse set with the corresponding emitted pulse set; [0078] Alternatively, or in addition to using pulse spacing to characterize signatures, the laser pulses of a set may have respective different wavelengths so that a detected return pulse sets can be unambiguously correlated with an emitted pulse set; [0083] bipulses BPi, BPi+1, BPi+2, BPi+3, etc. Bipulse BPi has a “zero” interval between its two subpulses, bipulse BPi+1 has a “single” interval between its two subpulses, bipulse BPi+2 has a “double” interval between its two subpulses, and bipulse BPi+3 has a “triple” interval between its two subpulses.),
wherein the second time interval is shorter than the third time interval ([0083] FIG. 3A illustrates an example of distance measurement using signed bipulses in accordance with some embodiments of the invention. In this example, a train of laser bipulses is emitted at intervals of Ta≈1 μsec, e.g., bipulses BPi, BPi+1, BPi+2, BPi+3, etc. Bipulse BPi has a “zero” interval between its two subpulses, bipulse BPi+1 has a “single” interval between its two subpulses, bipulse BPi+2 has a “double” interval between its two subpulses, and bipulse BPi+3 has a “triple” interval between its two subpulses.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Li to comprise the third interval longer than the second similar to d’Aligny, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of extending the measurement process of Li to include further bipulses to further scan the surrounding area.
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 4,
Li fails to teach the apparatus wherein the light emitting component is further configured to control to at least emit within a sixth time interval, pulse strings having difference in at least one of the following second characteristics: a waveform, a wavelength, polarization, wherein the sixth time interval is longer than the fifth time interval.
However, d’Aligny teaches the apparatus wherein the light emitting component is further configured to control to at least emit within a sixth time interval, pulse strings having difference in at least one of the following second characteristics: a waveform, a wavelength, polarization, wherein the sixth time interval is longer than the fifth time interval ([Fig. 3A]; [0075] Some embodiments in accordance with the invention enable increased scanning rate by emitting laser pulse sets having a signature which enable correlation of each detected return pulse set with the corresponding emitted pulse set; [0078] Alternatively, or in addition to using pulse spacing to characterize signatures, the laser pulses of a set may have respective different wavelengths so that a detected return pulse sets can be unambiguously correlated with an emitted pulse set; [0083] bipulses BPi, BPi+1, BPi+2, BPi+3, etc. Bipulse BPi has a “zero” interval between its two subpulses, bipulse BPi+1 has a “single” interval between its two subpulses, bipulse BPi+2 has a “double” interval between its two subpulses, and bipulse BPi+3 has a “triple” interval between its two subpulses.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Li to comprise the sixth interval with controlled wave characteristics similar to d’Aligny, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of extending the scans of Li with further alterations to the beam to scan a surrounding environment with more precision.
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 7, wherein when the at least one to-be-determined pulse set received within the second time interval is determined to be an invalid pulse set, the calculation component is further configured to:
determine to-be-determined extended pulse sets having pulse set characteristics of the to-be-determined extended pulse sets matching the pulse set characteristics recorded by the light emitting component as valid extended pulse sets ([0027] the collected scattered light can be directed to a focal point or plane for light detection and/or image generation by the light detector 206, which is located in proximity to or at the focal point; [0028] The light detector 206 includes a detector array that can be used to differentiate among the scattered light pulses collected in an order different from the order in which the corresponding light pulses were transmitted.);
determine a ratio of the valid extended pulse sets to the at least one to-be-determined extended pulse set ([0037] The system can then compare, for each scattered light, the candidate travel time and the travel time calculated based on the landing area of the scattered light.);
determine, in response to the ratio is smaller than a second percentage, all the extended pulse sets received within the seventh time interval as invalid extended pulse sets; otherwise, accept the valid extended pulse sets ([0037] For the scattered light that actually corresponds to the transmitted pulse signal, the candidate travel time and the travel time calculated based on the landing area should be similar or identical. Thus, after the comparisons, the system can select the candidate travel time for which the comparison has yielded the smallest difference and use the selected candidate travel to calculate a distance.),
Li fails to teach the apparatus configured to search for optical pulses received within a seventh time interval before receiving said optical pulse and combine the optical pulses to form at least one extended to-be-determined pulse set; wherein the seventh time interval is longer than the second time interval.
However, d’Aligny teaches the apparatus configured to search for optical pulses received within a seventh time interval before receiving said optical pulse and combine the optical pulses to form at least one extended to-be-determined pulse set ([0083] FIG. 3A illustrates an example of distance measurement using signed bipulses in accordance with some embodiments of the invention. In this example, a train of laser bipulses is emitted at intervals of Ta≈1 μsec, e.g., bipulses BPi, BPi+1, BPi+2, BPi+3, etc. Bipulse BPi has a “zero” interval between its two subpulses, bipulse BPi+1 has a “single” interval between its two subpulses, bipulse BPi+2 has a “double” interval between its two subpulses, and bipulse BPi+3 has a “triple” interval between its two subpulses.);
wherein the seventh time interval is longer than the second time interval ([0083] FIG. 3A illustrates an example of distance measurement using signed bipulses in accordance with some embodiments of the invention. In this example, a train of laser bipulses is emitted at intervals of Ta≈1 μsec, e.g., bipulses BPi, BPi+1, BPi+2, BPi+3, etc. Bipulse BPi has a “zero” interval between its two subpulses, bipulse BPi+1 has a “single” interval between its two subpulses, bipulse BPi+2 has a “double” interval between its two subpulses, and bipulse BPi+3 has a “triple” interval between its two subpulses.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Li to comprise the seventh interval combined into a to-be-determined pulse set similar to d’Aligny, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of extending the scans of Li with further alterations to the beam to scan a surrounding environment with more precision.
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 4,
Li fails to teach the apparatus wherein the light emitting component is further configured to control to at least emit within an eighth time interval, pulse strings having difference in at least two of the following second characteristics: a waveform, a wavelength, polarization, wherein the eighth time interval is longer than the fifth time interval, and the second characteristics of any two pulse strings during the eighth time interval are different.
However, d’Aligny teaches the apparatus wherein the light emitting component is further configured to control to at least emit within an eighth time interval, pulse strings having difference in at least two of the following second characteristics: a waveform, a wavelength, polarization, wherein the eighth time interval is longer than the fifth time interval, and the second characteristics of any two pulse strings during the eighth time interval are different ([Fig. 3A]; [0075] Some embodiments in accordance with the invention enable increased scanning rate by emitting laser pulse sets having a signature which enable correlation of each detected return pulse set with the corresponding emitted pulse set; [0078] Alternatively, or in addition to using pulse spacing to characterize signatures, the laser pulses of a set may have respective different wavelengths so that a detected return pulse sets can be unambiguously correlated with an emitted pulse set; [0083] bipulses BPi, BPi+1, BPi+2, BPi+3, etc. Bipulse BPi has a “zero” interval between its two subpulses, bipulse BPi+1 has a “single” interval between its two subpulses, bipulse BPi+2 has a “double” interval between its two subpulses, and bipulse BPi+3 has a “triple” interval between its two subpulses.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Li to comprise the either interval with controlled wave characteristics similar to d’Aligny, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of extending the scans of Li with further alterations to the beam to scan a surrounding environment with more precision.
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein, in response to the first matching ratio is larger than the first ratio threshold, the calculation component is further configured to:
determine pixel points belonging to a second adjacent local area from a plurality of target-scene pixel points ([Fig. 3]; [Fig. 5] [0036] The system can then compare, for each scattered light, the candidate travel time (calculated via direct measurement of time) with the travel time calculated based on the landing area of the scattered light.)
for the pixel points belonging to the second adjacent local area, determine a second matching ratio of the optical pulses used to calculate measurement distances of the pixel points to the optical pulses emitted by the light emitting component; accept, in response to the second matching ratio is larger than a second ratio threshold, the measurement distances of the plurality of target-scene pixel points in the second search range and the corresponding optical pulses ([0036] For the scattered light that actually corresponds to the transmitted pulse signal, the candidate travel time and the travel time calculated based on the landing area should be similar or identical. Thus, after the comparisons, the system can select the candidate travel time for which the comparison has yielded the smallest difference and use the selected candidate travel to calculate a distance.); and
reject, in response to the second matching ratio is not larger than the second ratio threshold, the measurement distances of the plurality of target-scene pixel points in the second search range ([0037] In some embodiments, when the LiDAR system receives multiple scattered lights after transmitting a pulse signal, the LiDAR system can determine multiple candidate travel times (i.e., the time of flight) corresponding to the multiple scattered lights using the geometry, angle, electrical phase, and/or electrical frequency of the scattered lights). From the multiple candidate travel times, one candidate travel time can be selected).
Li fails to teach the apparatus wherein the pixel points correspond to a second search range, wherein the second search range is larger than the first search range;
However, d’Aligny teaches the apparatus wherein the pixel points correspond to a second search range, wherein the second search range is larger than the first search range ([0074] to enable distance measurements in a first mode with one million points per second for a scanning distance from 40 meters up to 100 meters and in a second mode with one hundred thousand points per second for a scanning distance up to 400 meters);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Li to comprise the second search range with a larger search range similar to d’Aligny, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of operating a secondary mode for a wider scan for a wider environment parameter.
Claims 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Lewis et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20040070746 A1), hereinafter Lewis
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 10,
Li fails to teach the apparatus wherein the fixed threshold and the constant ratio timing intensity are adjusted based on a preset attenuation law
However, Lewis teaches the apparatus wherein the fixed threshold and the constant ratio timing intensity are adjusted based on a preset attenuation law ([0124] A portion of the pulse on beam 46 is reflected on mirror 44 to pass through attenuator 32 and become feedback reference pulse 70 in beam 40; As discussed above with reference to step 172 in FIG. 7, control engine 20 needs to make a determination of whether to collect samples at a new threshold. This determination is made based on the histogram data collected at a given threshold.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Li to comprise the adjustable threshold and ratio timing intensity similar to Lewis, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of adapting the set threshold and saturation level based on the needs of a changing environment.
Claims 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Hong et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20200097012 A1), hereinafter Hong.
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the calculation component determining the pixel points belonging to the first adjacent local area comprises:
determining the pixel points belonging to the first adjacent local area from the plurality of target-scene pixel points corresponding to the first search range ([0035] However, because the image of the scattered light generated based on this second light pulse lands at about 72 micrometers away from the center position of the detector array, it can be easily differentiated from the image of the scattered light generated based on the first pulse.)
Li fails to teach the determination based on an artificial intelligence recognition model.
However, Hong teaches the determination based on an artificial intelligence recognition model ([0069] The NPU 142 may be an optimized specific processor for recognizing an object by using the trained artificial intelligence model).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Li to comprise the artificial intelligence recognition model similar to Hong, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of implementing a self-learning and self-determining tool known in the art to streamline and optimize performance.
Regarding claim 20, Li, as modified above, teaches the apparatus according to claim 19, further comprising an image acquisition component ([0025] a light detector 206, and an electrical processing and computing device (e.g., a microprocessor)) configured to acquire an image of the target scene, wherein the calculation component determining the pixel points belonging to the first adjacent local area further comprises:
determining the pixel points belonging to the first adjacent local area from the plurality of target-scene pixel points corresponding to the first search range ([0035] However, because the image of the scattered light generated based on this second light pulse lands at about 72 micrometers away from the center position of the detector array, it can be easily differentiated from the image of the scattered light generated based on the first pulse.)
Li fails to teach the determination based on the artificial intelligence recognition model and the image of the target scene
However, Hong teaches the determination based on the artificial intelligence recognition model and the image of the target scene ([0069] The NPU 142 may be an optimized specific processor for recognizing an object by using the trained artificial intelligence model)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Li to comprise the artificial intelligence determination similar to Hong, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of implementing a self-learning and self-determining tool known in the art to streamline and optimize performance.
Regarding claim 21, Li, as modified above, teaches the apparatus according to claim 19,
Li fails to teach the apparatus wherein the calculation component is further configured to recognize geometry figures based on the plurality of target-scene pixel points corresponding to the first search range with the artificial intelligence recognition model
However, Hong teaches the apparatus wherein the calculation component is further configured to recognize geometry figures based on the plurality of target-scene pixel points corresponding to the first search range with the artificial intelligence recognition model ([0108] Referring to FIG. 5C, the cleaning robot 100 may obtain information 520 on parts of the object 500).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Li to comprise the geometric figure recognition model similar to Hong, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using easily discernable shapes as a recognition model, with tools known to the art to easily and efficiently scan a target area in an environment.
Regarding claim 22, Li, as modified above, teaches the apparatus according to claim 21,
Li fails to teach the apparatus wherein the geometry figures comprise basic graphic elements used in computer graphics systems, games and/or animations
However, Hong teaches the apparatus wherein the geometry figures comprise basic graphic elements used in computer graphics systems, games and/or animations ([0108] Referring to FIG. 5C, the cleaning robot 100 may obtain information 520 on parts of the object 500),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Li to comprise the basic shape geometric figure recognition similar to Hong, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using easily discernable shapes as a recognition model, with tools known to the art to easily and efficiently scan a target area in an environment.
Regarding claim 23, Li, as modified above, teaches the apparatus according to claim 19,
Li fails to teach the apparatus wherein training data for the artificial intelligence recognition model comprises real data actually collected and calibrated, or further comprises virtual data generated by games and animations.
However, Hong teaches the apparatus wherein training data for the artificial intelligence recognition model comprises real data actually collected and calibrated, or further comprises virtual data generated by games and animations ([0114] Referring to FIG. 7A, the cleaning robot 100 may recognize objects 700 and 710, which may be doors, using a result of detecting the objects by using the camera 120 or at least one of a plurality of sensors. The cleaning robot 100 may recognize the object as a door based on the result of inputting the image including the doors 700 and 710 to the artificial intelligence model.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Li to comprise the artificial intelligence recognition model based on real data similar to Hong, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of implementing a self-learning and self-determining tool known in the art to streamline and optimize performance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 20th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that Li fails to teach scanning a particular angle twice, the prior art cited states that the laser of Li is set to steer on or more pulses in at least one of the directions. Taken under its ordinarily understood meaning, this teaches that one angle can be scanned at least twice consecutively and the absence of such specific terminology does not render the immediate application exclusive from such teachings.
Further, the cited reference of Li teaches the configurable interval of time under which a laser can be scanned. Such adjustments are outlined as being less than the round trip time, and as the claimed language fails to further limit a first time interval, the broadest reasonable interpretation to one of ordinary skill in the art such a limitation may include the round trip time of Li to be said interval, as such the prior art of Li teaches the limitation.
Further, it is unclear how the applicant believes that the prior art fails to teach the limitation under which a combination and comparison is performed as argued, however under the broadest reasonable interpretation to one of reasonable skill in the art, the prior art of record teaches this claim limitation, and as such the rejection is maintained in this Final Office Action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645