DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 and 7-22 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 7 and 15 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112 applicant’s arguments, see page 7 last paragraph – page 9, filed October 30, 2025, with respect to claims 1-4 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Please see below. Applicant further amendment independent claim 1 to recites, “a discovery burst transmission window is not larger than one”. Clarifications is required any to where support is for this limitation. Applicant specifically listed paragraphs 225, 226, however, none of these paragraphs support, “a discovery burst transmission window is not larger than one”.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112 applicant’s arguments, see page 8 paragraph 2 – page 9, October 30, 2025, with respect to claims 7-22 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 112 rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-15, filed October 30, 2025, with respect to claims 1, 7 and 15 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant argued that, see page 14 lines 15-22, “…Although the Applicant respectfully disagrees with the Examiner, solely to expedite the prosecution of the present application and allowance of the claims, claim 1 is amended to recite
that "a number of transmitted SS PBCH blocks with a same SS PBCH block index among the one or more SS PBCH block indices within a discovery burst transmission window is not larger than one" (emphasis added). None of Motorola, NTT, and Kim discloses, teaches or suggests that "a number of transmitted SS/PBCH blocks with a same SS/PBCH block index among the one or more SS PBCH block indices within a discovery burst transmission window is not larger than one" as recited in claim 1 (emphasis added). … However, nothing in paragraphs [0066]-[0071] and [0081]-[0083] and FIGS. 7-9 of Kim discloses, teaches or suggests that "a number of transmitted SS/PBCH blocks with a same SS/PBCH block index among the one or more SS PBCH block indices within a discovery burst transmission window is not larger than one" as recited in claim 1 (emphasis added). At most, paragraph [0082] of Kim states that: The UE may determine the index of an SSB according to (NPBCHDM-RS mod NQCLSSB) or (i mod NQCLSSB), where i denotes the index of a candidate SSB. Accordingly, one or more candidate SSBs may correspond to one SSB index. Candidate SSBs corresponding to the same SSB index may be QCLed. … Therefore, Kim does not cure the deficiencies of Motorola and NTTwith respect to the limitation of claim 1 that "a number of transmitted SS/PBCH blocks with a same SS/PBCH block index among the one or more SS PBCH block indices within a discovery burst transmission window is not larger than one" (emphasis added).
For at least the foregoing reasons, the Applicant submits that claim 1 is not obvious over Motorola in view of NTT and Kim, and requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the §103 rejection of claim 1.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above. Please see section 3 above and below 112 rejection. Clarifications is required as to where support is for this limitation in the instant specification. Applicant specifically listed paragraphs 225, 226, however, none of these paragraphs support, “a discovery burst transmission window is not larger than one”.
Regarding amended claim 1, Motorola discloses, receiving radio resource control (RRC) information including one or more synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indices from a base station and wherein the one or more SS/PBCH block indices correspond to one or more candidate SS/PBCH block indices of one or more SS/PBCH blocks (see section 2, details on SS/PBCH block (SSB) burst transmission and indication of transmitted SSBs, a UE use the indication of the transmitted SSBs for reception of other signals/channels in a DRS transmission window and measurement purposes, see section 2.2, a method in which when a UE receives an indicator of a start SSB of a DRS burst and distinguishes an SSB candidate location index of an identified SSB, the UE determines a set of SSB candidate locations for the DRS burst); the Examiner further states that NTT however disclose A method for receiving a downlink channel by a terminal in an unlicensed band, the method comprising: receiving downlink control information (DCI) for allocating resources for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from the base station in the unlicensed band, and wherein the PDSCH is received in at least one resource excluding one or more specific resources among the resources (see section 2.4, wherein a rate matching indicator of DCI format 1_1 is used to indicate availability of candidate SS/PBCH block resources of each slot, and when SS/PBCH blocks is quickly transmitted within a DRS transmission window, the rest of the candidate SS/PBCH block resources is used for PDSCH transmission, see also section 2.1, 2.4, Figure 1, NR-U (NR Unlicensed)) and Kim disclose wherein the one or more specific resources partially or fully overlap with physical resource blocks (PRBs) containing one or more SS/PBCH block resources for transmission of the one or more SS/PBCH blocks, wherein a number of transmitted SS/PBCH blocks with a same SS/PBCH block index among the one or more SS/PBCH block indices within a discovery burst transmission window is not larger than one, and wherein the discovery burst transmission window is used to monitor the one or more SS/PBCH blocks (see Fig.7, Fig.8, para. 0066-0071, Fig.9, para. 0081-0083, Table 7, FIG. 9 illustrates an example of SS/PBCH block candidate positions. Specifically, FIG. 9 shows a case where N.sup.QCL.sub.SSB is set to 4 and ssb-PositionsInBurst is set to ‘10100000’. In this case, only an SSB with SSB (=SS/PBCH block) index #0/#2 may be transmitted. ssb-PositionsInBurst and N.sup.QCL.sub.SSB may be used to provide a rate matching pattern within a discovery reference signal (DRS) transmission window (or discovery burst transmission window). For example, the UE may perform rate matching on all SSB candidate position indices QCLed with actually transmitted SSB indices that are provided by ssb-PositionsInBurst. In FIG. 9, the UE may perform rate matching on time/frequency resources of an SSB candidate location index 0/2/4/6/8/10/12/14/16/18. Therefore, when receiving a PDSCH scheduled by a PDCCH with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI, MCS-C-RNTI, CS-RNTI, RA-RNTI, MsbB-RNTI, P-RNTI, TC-RNTI, etc. or a PDSCH with SPS (or with a CRC scrambled by an SI-RNTI if a system information indicator in an PDCCH (i.e., DCI) is set to 1), the UE may assume SSB transmission according to ssb-PositionsInBurst if PDSCH resource allocation overlaps with PRBs including SSB transmission resources (e.g. SSB candidate position index 0/2/4/6/8/10/12/14/16/18). That is, the UE may assume that the PRBs including the SSB transmission resources are not available (not mapped to) for the PDSCH in OFDM symbols where the SSB is transmitted).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the combination of the systems as disclosed by Motorola, NTT and Kim reads upon “:receiving radio resource control (RRC) configuration information including one or more synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indices from a base station in the unlicensed band, wherein the one or more SS/PBCH block indices correspond to one or more candidate SS/PBCH block indices of one or more SS/PBCH blocks, respectively; and receiving downlink control information (DCI) for allocating resources for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from the base station, wherein the PDSCH is received in at least one resource excluding one or more specific resources among the resources, and wherein the one or more specific resources partially or fully overlap with physical resource blocks (PRBs) containing one or more SS/PBCH block resources for transmission of the one or more SS/PBCH blocks, wherein a number of transmitted SS/PBCH blocks with a same SS/PBCH block index among the one or more SS/PBCH block indices within a discovery burst transmission window is not larger than one, and wherein the discovery burst transmission window is used to monitor the one or more SS/PBCH blocks”, as recites in the claim.
Regarding amended claims 7 and 15, the applicant argued that, see page 14 lines 15-22, “…Although the Applicant respectfully disagrees with the Examiner, solely to expedite the prosecution of the present application and allowance of the claims, claim 7 is amended to recite that "whether the PRACH occasion is valid is verified based on i) whether the PRACH occasion precedes an SS PBCH block within the PRACH slot among the one or more SS PBCH blocks and ii) whether the PRACH occasion starts at least 'N'gap symbols after a last symbol of the SSPBCH block, or whether the PRACH occasion starts the at least 'N'gap symbols after the last symbol of the SSPBCH block and a last downlink symbol set by tdd-UL-DL- ConfigurationCommon information, depending on whether the tdd-UL-DL- ConfigurationCommon information for setting a slot format of each slot is provided' (emphasis added). … None of Motorola, Spreadrum, and Kim discloses, teaches or suggests that "whether the PRACH occasion is valid is verified based on i) whether the PRACH occasion precedes an SS PBCH block within the PRACH slot among the one or more SS PBCH blocks and ii) whether the PRACH occasion starts at least 'N'pap symbols after a last symbol of the SS/PBCH block, or whether the PRACH occasion starts the at least 'N'pap symbols after the last symbol of the SS/PBCH block and a last downlink symbol set by tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon information, depending on whether the tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon information for setting a slot format of each slot is provided' as recited in claim 7 (emphasis added). … Therefore, Kim fails to cure the deficiencies of Motorola and Spreadrum that "whether the PRACH occasion is valid is verified based on i) whether the PRACH occasion precedes an SS PBCH block within the PRACH slot among the one or more SS PBCH blocks and ii) whether the PRACH occasion starts at least 'N'pap symbols after a last symbol of the SS/PBCH block, or whether the PRACH occasion starts the at least 'N'pap symbols after the last symbol of the SS/PBCH block and a last downlink symbol set by tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon information, depending on whether the tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon information for setting a slot format of each slot is provided' as recited in claim 7 (emphasis added). For at least the foregoing reasons, the Applicant submits that claim 7 is not obvious over Motorola in view of NTT, Spreadrum, and Kim, and requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the §103 rejection of claim 7.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Regarding amended claims 7 and 15, Motorola discloses receiving radio resource control (RRC) information including one or more synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indices from a base station, wherein the one or more SS/PBCH block indices correspond to one or more candidate SS/PBCH block indices of one or more SS/PBCH blocks, respectively (see section 2, details on SS/PBCH block (SSB) burst transmission and indication of transmitted SSBs, a UE use the indication of the transmitted SSBs for reception of other signals/channels in a DRS transmission window and measurement purposes, see section 2.2, a method in which when a UE receives an indicator of a start SSB of a DRS burst and distinguishes an SSB candidate location index of an identified SSB, the UE determines a set of SSB candidate locations for the DRS burst); the Examiner further states that Spreadrum teaches A method for transmitting an uplink signal by a terminal in an unlicensed band, the method comprising: determining a resource for the uplink signal in the unlicensed band, wherein the one or more SS/PBCH block indices correspond to one or more candidate SS/PBCH block indices of one or more SS/PBCH blocks, respectively (see sections 1 and 2.2.1, wherein in NR-U, an SS/PBCH block symbol is a symbol indicated to a UE by ssb-PositionlnBurst, and PUCCH symbols should prevent a conflict with an SSB) and Kim teaches verifying whether a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion of PRACH transmission in a PRACH slot is valid, wherein whether the PRACH occasion is valid is verified based on i) whether the PRACH occasion precedes an SS/PBCH block within the PRACH slot among the one or more SS/PBCH blocks and ii) whether the PRACH occasion starts at least “N” gap symbols after a last symbol of the SS/PBCH , at least 'N'gap symbols start after a last symbol of the SS/PBCH block, or whether the PRACH occasion starts the at least “N” gap symbols after the last symbol of the SS/PBCH block and a last downlink symbol set by tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon information, depending on whether the tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon information for setting a slot format of each slot is provided (see para. 0321-0322, for a set of symbols of a slot indicated by a higher-layer parameter ssb-PositionsInBurst in a higher-layer parameter SystemInformationBlockType1 or ServingCellConfigCommon, for reception of SS/PBCH blocks, the UE does not transmit a PUSCH, a PUCCH, or a PRACH in the slot if a transmission overlaps with any symbol of the set of symbols, and the UE does not transmit an SRS in the set of symbols of the slot. When the higher-layer parameter TDD-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon or TDD-UL-DL-ConfigDedicated is provided to the UE, the UE does not expect the set of symbols of the slot to be indicated as UL by the higher-layer parameter, and for a set of symbols of a slot corresponding to a valid PRACH occasion, and N.sub.gap symbols before the valid PRACH occasion, when a signal reception overlaps with any symbol of the set of symbols in the slot, the UE does not receive a PDCCH, a PDSCH, or a CSI-RS for a Type1-PDCCH CSS set. The UE does not expect the set of symbols of the slot to be indicated as DL by the higher-layer parameter TDD-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon or TDD-UL-DL-ConfigDedicated, see also Fig.21, para. 0596).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the combination of the systems as disclosed by Motorola, Spreadrum and Kim reads upon “A method for transmitting an uplink signal by a terminal configured to operate in an unlicensed band, the method comprising: receiving radio resource control (RRC) information including one or more synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indices from a base station in the unlicensed band, wherein the one or more SS/PBCH block indices correspond to one or more candidate SS/PBCH block indices of one or more SS/PBCH blocks, respectively; and verifying whether a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion of PRACH transmission in a PRACH slot is valid, wherein whether the PRACH occasion is valid is verified based on i) whether the PRACH occasion precedes an SS/PBCH block within the PRACH slot among the one or more SS/PBCH blocks and ii) whether the PRACH occasion starts at least 'N' gap symbols after a last symbol of the SS/PBCH block, or whether the PRACH occasion starts the at least "N' gap symbols after the last symbol of the SS/PBCH block and a last downlink symbol set by tdd-UL-DL- ConfigurationCommon information, depending on whether the tdd-UL-DL- ConfigurationCommon information for setting a slot format of each slot is provided”, as recites in the claim.
Applicant amendments changed the scope of the independent claims, claims 1-4 (invention 1), 7-22 (invention II) are distinct, each from the other because of the following reasons:
Inventions I and II are related as subcombinations disclosed as usable together in a single combination. The subcombinations are distinct if they do not overlap in scope and are not obvious variants, and if it is shown that at least one subcombination is separately usable.
In the instant case,
Subcombination I has separate utility such as the PDSCH is received in at least one resource excluding one or more specific resources among the resources, and wherein the one or more specific resources partially or fully overlap with physical resource blocks (PRBs) containing one or more SS/PBCH block resources for transmission of the one or more SS/PBCH blocks, wherein a number of transmitted SS/PBCH blocks with a same SS/PBCH block index among the one or more SS/PBCH block indices within a discovery burst transmission window is one, and wherein the discovery burst transmission window is used to monitor the one or more SS/PBCH blocks, which is different from the invention II. Inventions II do not require wherein the one or more specific resources partially or fully overlap with physical resource blocks (PRBs) containing one or more SS/PBCH block resources for transmission of the one or more SS/PBCH blocks, wherein a number of transmitted SS/PBCH blocks with a same SS/PBCH block index among the one or more SS/PBCH block indices within a discovery burst transmission window is one.
Subcombination II has separate utility such as to verifying whether a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion of PRACH transmission in a PRACH slot is valid, wherein whether the PRACH occasion is valid is verified based on i) whether the PRACH occasion precedes an SS/PBCH block within the PRACH slot among the one or more SS/PBCH blocks and ii) wherein whether the PRACH occasion is valid is verified based on i) wherein whether the PRACH occasion is valid is verified based on i) whether the PRACH occasion starts at least 'N' gap symbols after a last symbol of the $S/PBCH block, or whether the PRACH occasion starts the at least "N' gap symbols after the last symbol of the SS/PBCH block and a last downlink symbol set by tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon information, depending on whether the tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon information for setting a slot format of each slot is provided, which is different from the invention I. Inventions I do not require verifying whether a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion of PRACH transmission in a PRACH slot is valid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite, " ... wherein a number of transmitted SS/PBCH blocks with a same SS/PBCH block index among the one or more SS/PBCH block indices within a discovery burst transmission window is not larger than one, and wherein the discovery burst transmission window is used to monitor the one or more SS/PBCH blocks”. Neither the claim nor the specification further describe, “… wherein a number of transmitted SS/PBCH blocks with a same SS/PBCH block index among the one or more SS/PBCH block indices within a discovery burst transmission window is not larger than one, and wherein the discovery burst transmission window is used to monitor the one or more SS/PBCH blocks”. Paragraph 216 of instant application disclose, “In addition, the UE considers transmission of a maximum L of SS/PBCH blocks from the base station, but the UE may assume that only one SS/PBCH block having the same SS/PBCH block index within a specific window is transmitted. Here, the specific window may be, for example, a discovery burst transmission window (DRS window). The DRS transmission window is a periodically configured non-continuous period in which the UE monitors a DRS, and is provided to reduce power consumption caused by continuous monitoring of the DRS.” The claims and the specification of the instant application does not describe the method/step, “... wherein a number of transmitted SS/PBCH blocks with a same SS/PBCH block index among the one or more SS/PBCH block indices within a discovery burst transmission window is not larger than one, and wherein the discovery burst transmission window is used to monitor the one or more SS/PBCH blocks.” Therefore, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement
The subject matter was not described in the specification (see paragraphs 0191, 0216, 225, 226) in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and /or use the invention.
Examiner Note: Applicant reference to paragraphs 225-226, fails to provide support for the above cited limitations, in particular, “…a discovery burst transmission window is not larger than one …”. Clarification is required.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOTOROLA (MOTOROLA MOBILITY et al. Initial access procedure for NR-U. Rl-1911260, 3GPP TSG RAN WGl #98bis. Chongqing, China. 07 October 2019), and further in view of NTT (NTT DOCOMO, INC. Enhancements to initial access procedure for NR-U. Rl-1912875, 3GPP TSG RAN WGl #99. Reno, Nevada, USA. 08 November 2019) and further in view of Kim (US Pub. No.:2023/0092031).
As per claim 1, Motorola disclose A method for receiving by a terminal configured to operate, the method comprising:
receiving radio resource control (RRC) information including one or more synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indices from a base station and wherein the one or more SS/PBCH block indices correspond to one or more candidate SS/PBCH block indices of one or more SS/PBCH blocks (see section 2, details on SS/PBCH block (SSB) burst transmission and indication of transmitted SSBs, a UE use the indication of the transmitted SSBs for reception of other signals/channels in a DRS transmission window and measurement purposes, see section 2.2, a method in which when a UE receives an indicator of a start SSB of a DRS burst and distinguishes an SSB candidate location index of an identified SSB, the UE determines a set of SSB candidate locations for the DRS burst).
Motorola however does not explicitly disclose A method for receiving a downlink channel by a terminal in an unlicensed band, the method comprising: receiving downlink control information (DCI) for allocating resources for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from the base station in the unlicensed band, and wherein the PDSCH is received in at least one resource excluding one or more specific resources among the resources.
NTT however disclose A method for receiving a downlink channel by a terminal in an unlicensed band, the method comprising: receiving downlink control information (DCI) for allocating resources for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from the base station in the unlicensed band, and wherein the PDSCH is received in at least one resource excluding one or more specific resources among the resources (see section 2.4, wherein a rate matching indicator of DCI format 1_1 is used to indicate availability of candidate SS/PBCH block resources of each slot, and when SS/PBCH blocks is quickly transmitted within a DRS transmission window, the rest of the candidate SS/PBCH block resources is used for PDSCH transmission, see also section 2.1, 2.4, Figure 1, NR-U (NR Unlicensed)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a method for receiving a downlink channel by a terminal in an unlicensed band, the method comprising: receiving downlink control information (DCI) for allocating resources for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from the base station in the unlicensed band, and wherein the PDSCH is received in at least one resource excluding one or more specific resources among the resources, as taught by NTT, in the system of Motorola, so as to enable a UE to perform PDSCH rate matching around candidate SS/PBCH block resources, see NTT, Section 2.4.
The combination of Motorola and NTT however does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more specific resources partially or fully overlap with physical resource blocks (PRBs) containing one or more SS/PBCH block resources for transmission of the one or more SS/PBCH blocks, wherein a number of transmitted SS/PBCH blocks with a same SS/PBCH block index among the one or more SS/PBCH block indices within a discovery burst transmission window is not larger than one, and wherein the discovery burst transmission window is used to monitor the one or more SS/PBCH blocks;
Kim however disclose wherein the one or more specific resources partially or fully overlap with physical resource blocks (PRBs) containing one or more SS/PBCH block resources for transmission of the one or more SS/PBCH blocks, wherein a number of transmitted SS/PBCH blocks with a same SS/PBCH block index among the one or more SS/PBCH block indices within a discovery burst transmission window is not larger than one, and wherein the discovery burst transmission window is used to monitor the one or more SS/PBCH blocks (see Fig.7, Fig.8, para. 0066-0071, Fig.9, para. 0081-0083, Table 7, FIG. 9 illustrates an example of SS/PBCH block candidate positions. Specifically, FIG. 9 shows a case where N.sup.QCL.sub.SSB is set to 4 and ssb-PositionsInBurst is set to ‘10100000’. In this case, only an SSB with SSB (=SS/PBCH block) index #0/#2 may be transmitted. ssb-PositionsInBurst and N.sup.QCL.sub.SSB may be used to provide a rate matching pattern within a discovery reference signal (DRS) transmission window (or discovery burst transmission window). For example, the UE may perform rate matching on all SSB candidate position indices QCLed with actually transmitted SSB indices that are provided by ssb-PositionsInBurst. In FIG. 9, the UE may perform rate matching on time/frequency resources of an SSB candidate location index 0/2/4/6/8/10/12/14/16/18. Therefore, when receiving a PDSCH scheduled by a PDCCH with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI, MCS-C-RNTI, CS-RNTI, RA-RNTI, MsbB-RNTI, P-RNTI, TC-RNTI, etc. or a PDSCH with SPS (or with a CRC scrambled by an SI-RNTI if a system information indicator in an PDCCH (i.e., DCI) is set to 1), the UE may assume SSB transmission according to ssb-PositionsInBurst if PDSCH resource allocation overlaps with PRBs including SSB transmission resources (e.g. SSB candidate position index 0/2/4/6/8/10/12/14/16/18). That is, the UE may assume that the PRBs including the SSB transmission resources are not available (not mapped to) for the PDSCH in OFDM symbols where the SSB is transmitted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a wherein the one or more specific resources partially or fully overlap with physical resource blocks (PRBs) containing one or more SS/PBCH block resources for transmission of the one or more SS/PBCH blocks, wherein a number of transmitted SS/PBCH blocks with a same SS/PBCH block index among the one or more SS/PBCH block indices within a discovery burst transmission window is not larger than one, and wherein the discovery burst transmission window is used to monitor the one or more SS/PBCH blocks, as taught by Kim, in the system of Motorola and NTT, for efficiently transmitting and receiving a wireless signal, by detecting a synchronization signal block (SSB) in an unlicensed band, wherein the SSB may include an index related to a control resource set (CORESET) configuration; determining a resource block (RB) offset used to identify a frequency position of a CORESET associated with the SSB based on the index; and monitoring the CORESET in the unlicensed band based on the RB offset, see Kim, paragraphs 0004-0010.
As per claim 2, the combination of Motorola, NTT and Kim disclose the method of claim 1.
Kim further disclose wherein the one or more specific resources are not available for the PDSCH (see para. 0081-0083, the UE assume that the PRBs including the SSB transmission resources are not available (not mapped to) for the PDSCH in OFDM symbols where the SSB is transmitted).
As per claim 3, the combination of Motorola, NTT and Kim disclose the method of claim 1.
Kim further disclose wherein first symbol indices of the one or more SS/PBCH blocks are determined based on a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the one or more SS/PBCH blocks (see para. 0101, 0106-0107, Table 12, Table 12 shows the configuration of CORESET #0 when the SS/PBCH block is based on the 30 kHz SCS, and Tables 13 to 15 show the configurations of CORESET #0 when the SS/PBCH block is based on the 15 kHz SCS. In the tables, a to d denote integers, respectively. The RB offset is defined based on the SCS of a CORESET (i.e., CORESET #0) for a Type0-PDCCH CSS set. As shown in FIGS. 12 to 15, the SCS of CORESET #0 is the same as the SCS of the corresponding SS/PBCH block).
Claims 7, 9-11, 13-5, 17-19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOTOROLA (MOTOROLA MOBILITY et al. Initial access procedure for NR-U. Rl-1911260, 3GPP TSG RAN WGl #98bis. Chongqing, China. 07 October 2019), and further in view of SPREADRUM (SPREADTRUM COMMUNICATIONS. Discussion on initial access and mobility in NR-U. Rl-1912572, 3GPP TSG RAN WGl Meeting #99. Reno, USA. 09 November 2019) and further in view of Kim (US Pub. No.:2021/0168815).
As per claim 7, Motorola disclose A method for transmitting an uplink signal by a terminal, the method comprising:
receiving radio resource control (RRC) information including one or more synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indices from a base station, wherein the one or more SS/PBCH block indices correspond to one or more candidate SS/PBCH block indices of one or more SS/PBCH blocks, respectively (see section 2, details on SS/PBCH block (SSB) burst transmission and indication of transmitted SSBs, a UE use the indication of the transmitted SSBs for reception of other signals/channels in a DRS transmission window and measurement purposes, see section 2.2, a method in which when a UE receives an indicator of a start SSB of a DRS burst and distinguishes an SSB candidate location index of an identified SSB, the UE determines a set of SSB candidate locations for the DRS burst).
Motorola however does not explicitly disclose A method for transmitting an uplink signal by a terminal in an unlicensed band, the method comprising: determining a resource for the uplink signal in the unlicensed band.
Spreadrum however disclose A method for transmitting an uplink signal by a terminal in an unlicensed band, the method comprising: determining a resource for the uplink signal in the unlicensed band, wherein the one or more SS/PBCH block indices correspond to one or more candidate SS/PBCH block indices of one or more SS/PBCH blocks, respectively (see sections 1 and 2.2.1, wherein in NR-U, an SS/PBCH block symbol is a symbol indicated to a UE by ssb-PositionlnBurst, and PUCCH symbols should prevent a conflict with an SSB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a method for transmitting an uplink signal by a terminal in an unlicensed band, the method comprising: determining a resource for the uplink signal in the unlicensed band, as taught by Spreadrum, in the system of Motorola, so as to enable a UE to avoid collision, see Spreadrum, Section 2.2.1.
The combination of Motorola and Spreadrum however does not explicitly disclose verifying whether a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion of PRACH transmission in a PRACH slot is valid,
wherein whether the PRACH occasion is valid is verified based on i) whether the PRACH occasion precedes an SS/PBCH block within the PRACH slot among the one or more SS/PBCH blocks and ii) whether the PRACH occasion starts at least “N” gap symbols after a last symbol of the SS/PBCH , at least 'N'gap symbols start after a last symbol of the SS/PBCH block, or whether the PRACH occasion starts the at least “N” gap symbols after the last symbol of the SS/PBCH block and a last downlink symbol set by tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon information, depending on whether the tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon information for setting a slot format of each slot is provided;
Kim however disclose verifying whether a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion of PRACH transmission in a PRACH slot is valid, wherein whether the PRACH occasion is valid is verified based on i) whether the PRACH occasion precedes an SS/PBCH block within the PRACH slot among the one or more SS/PBCH blocks and ii) whether the PRACH occasion starts at least “N” gap symbols after a last symbol of the SS/PBCH , at least 'N'gap symbols start after a last symbol of the SS/PBCH block, or whether the PRACH occasion starts the at least “N” gap symbols after the last symbol of the SS/PBCH block and a last downlink symbol set by tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon information, depending on whether the tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon information for setting a slot format of each slot is provided (see para. 0321-0322, for a set of symbols of a slot indicated by a higher-layer parameter ssb-PositionsInBurst in a higher-layer parameter SystemInformationBlockType1 or ServingCellConfigCommon, for reception of SS/PBCH blocks, the UE does not transmit a PUSCH, a PUCCH, or a PRACH in the slot if a transmission overlaps with any symbol of the set of symbols, and the UE does not transmit an SRS in the set of symbols of the slot. When the higher-layer parameter TDD-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon or TDD-UL-DL-ConfigDedicated is provided to the UE, the UE does not expect the set of symbols of the slot to be indicated as UL by the higher-layer parameter, and for a set of symbols of a slot corresponding to a valid PRACH occasion, and N.sub.gap symbols before the valid PRACH occasion, when a signal reception overlaps with any symbol of the set of symbols in the slot, the UE does not receive a PDCCH, a PDSCH, or a CSI-RS for a Type1-PDCCH CSS set. The UE does not expect the set of symbols of the slot to be indicated as DL by the higher-layer parameter TDD-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon or TDD-UL-DL-ConfigDedicated, see also Fig.21, para. 0596).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of verifying whether a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion of PRACH transmission in a PRACH slot is valid,
wherein whether the PRACH occasion is valid is verified based on i) whether the PRACH occasion precedes an SS/PBCH block within the PRACH slot among the one or more SS/PBCH blocks and ii) whether the PRACH occasion starts at least “N” gap symbols after a last symbol of the SS/PBCH , at least 'N'gap symbols start after a last symbol of the SS/PBCH block, or whether the PRACH occasion starts the at least “N” gap symbols after the last symbol of the SS/PBCH block and a last downlink symbol set by tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon information, depending on whether the tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon information for setting a slot format of each slot is provided, as taught by Kim, in the system of Motorola and Spreadrum, so as to enable a UE to avoid collision, see Kim, Section 2.2.1.
As per claim 9, the combination of Motorola, Spreadrum and Kim the method of claim 7.
Kim further disclose when the tdd-UL-DL- ConfigurationCommon information is not provided, wherein the PRACH occasion is valid when i) the PRACH occasion does not precede the SS/PBCH block within the PRACH slot among the one or more SS/PBCH blocks and ii) the at least'N'gap symbols start after the last symbol of the SS/PBCH block (see para. 0322-0325, for a set of symbols of a slot corresponding to a valid PRACH occasion, and N.sub.gap symbols before the valid PRACH occasion, when a signal reception overlaps with any symbol of the set of symbols in the slot, the UE does not receive a PDCCH, a PDSCH, or a CSI-RS for a Type1-PDCCH CSS set. The UE does not expect the set of symbols of the slot to be indicated as DL by the higher-layer parameter TDD-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon or TDD-UL-DL-ConfigDedicated).
As per claim 10, the combination of Motorola, Spreadrum and Kim the method of claim 7.
Kim further disclose wherein first symbol indices of the SS/PBCH blocks are determined based on a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the one or more SS/PBCH blocks (see Fig.15, para. 0187-0197, showing SS/PBCH blocks are determined based on a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the one or more SS/PBCH blocks, see also para. 0104-0105).
As per claim 11, the combination of Motorola, Spreadrum and Kim the method of claim 7.
Kim further disclose of wherein the RRC configuration information further includes a maximum number of the one or more SS/PBCH block indices from the base station (see para. 0197, as the frequency band is higher, the BS sets a larger maximum number of beams available for SS/PBCH block transmission within 5 ms. For example, the BS may transmit the SS/PBCH block by using up to 4 different beams at or below 3 GHz, up to 8 different beams at 3 to 6 GHz, and up to 64 different beams at or above 6 GHz, for 5 ms).
As per claim 13, the combination of Motorola, Spreadrum and Kim the method of claim 7.
Kim further disclose wherein a value of 'N' is determined based on a subcarrier spacing (SCS) used for the PRACH transmission (see para. 0094, 0311-0315, 0321, For a set of symbols of a slot indicated by a higher-layer parameter ssb-PositionsInBurst in a higher-layer parameter SystemInformationBlockType1 or ServingCellConfigCommon, for reception of SS/PBCH blocks, the UE does not transmit a PUSCH, a PUCCH, or a PRACH in the slot if a transmission overlaps with any symbol of the set of symbols, and the UE does not transmit an SRS in the set of symbols of the slot. When the higher-layer parameter TDD-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon or TDD-UL-DL-ConfigDedicated is provided to the UE, the UE does not expect the set of symbols of the slot to be indicated as UL by the higher-layer parameter, see also para. 0101-0109, 0107, When SCS=1.25 kHz, subframe #i is defined by one 1-ms slot, slot #2i. [0108] When SCS=15 kHz, subframe #i may be defined by six subslots as illustrated in Table 1).
As per claim 14, the combination of Motorola, Spreadrum and Kim the method of claim 7.
Kim further disclose wherein the value of 'N' is '0' when the SCS is 1.25 kHz or 5 kHz, and wherein the value of 'N' is '2' when the SCS is 15 kHz, 30 kHz, 60 kHz or 120 kHz (see Table 1, para. 0105, One subframe may be defined by one or more slots according to a subcarrier spacing (SCS) as follows. [0106] When SCS=7.5 kHz or 15 kHz, subframe #i is defined by two 0.5-ms slots, slot #2i and slot #2i+1 (i=0˜9). [0107] When SCS=1.25 kHz, subframe #i is defined by one 1-ms slot, slot #2i. [0108] When SCS=15 kHz, subframe #i may be defined by six subslots as illustrated in Table 1).
As per claim 15, claim 15 is rejected the same way as claim 7. Kim further disclose A terminal (see Fig.28, a UE, see para. 0677-0679) configured to operate in an unlicensed band, the terminal comprising: a communication module (see Fig.28, a radio frequency (RF) module (transceiver) 235); and a processor (see Fig. 28, a digital signal processor (DSP)/microprocessor 210).
As per claim 17, claim 17 is rejected the same way as claim 9.
As per claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same way as claim 10.
As per claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same way as claim 11.
As per claim 21, claim 21 is rejected the same way as claim 13.
As per claim 22, claim 22 is rejected the same way as claim 14.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, 12, 16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
3GPP/CN search (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #101 R1-2004014, May 16, 2020 – IDS summitted 1/29/2026 in view of CN search pages 2-3, Section 2) - Fig.1, Proposal #2. “When receiving the PDSCH scheduled with SI-RNTI and the system information indicator in DCI is set to 1, RARNTI, MsgB-RNTI, P-RNTI or TC-RNTI, the UE assumes SS/PBCH block transmission according to ssb-PositionsInBurst, and if the PDSCH resource allocation overlaps with PRBs containing SS/PBCH block transmission resources the UE shall assume that the PRBs containing SS/PBCH block transmission resources are not available for PDSCH in the OFDM symbols where SS/PBCH block is transmitted (corresponding to the PDSCH is received in at least one resource excluding one or more specific resources among the resources, and wherein the one or more specific resources partially or fully overlap with physical resource blocks, PRBs, containing one or more SS/PBCH block resources for transmission of the one or more SS/PBCH blocks).”
Kim (US Pub. No.:2023/0092031) – see claim 1, “A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block in an unlicensed band; obtaining master information block (MIB) from the SS/PBCH block, wherein the MIB includes an index related to configuration of a control resource set (CORESET); determining an offset from a smallest resource block (RB) index of the CORESET to a smallest RB index of the SS/PBCH block based on the index; and based on the offset, monitoring a Type0-physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) common search space (CSS) set associated with the CORESET in the unlicensed band, wherein, based on a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the SS/PBCH block, the offset is determined as follows: TABLE-US-00027 SCS of SS/PBCH SCS of SS/PBCH block = 30 kHz block = 15 kHz Index offset offset n 0 10 n + 1 1 12 n + 2 2 14 where n represents an integer”.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469