DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Remarks filed on 07/14/2026.
Currently, claims 1, 8, and 11-26 are pending in the application. Currently, claims 25-26 are withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, and 11-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 11-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over KANG et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0161577) in view of KANEHIRO (WO 2019/171503 A1 with US Pub. No. 2020/0411785 as English translation).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kang teaches a light-emitting element (Fig. 3) comprising:
a first electrode (Fig. 3, 160, ¶ [0054]);
a second electrode (Fig. 3, 180, ¶ [0060]); and
a light-emitting layer (Fig. 3, 230, ¶ [0065]) provided in an area where the first electrode and the second electrode overlap in a plan view (Figs. 2 & 3, area of 170), wherein:
the light-emitting layer contains a plurality of first quantum dots (Fig. 3, 233, ¶ [0066] teaches that quantum dot 233 is a red quantum dot) configured to emit light of a first color, a plurality of second quantum dots (Fig. 3, 235, ¶ [0066] teaches that quantum dot 235 is a green quantum dot) configured to emit light of a second color, having a shorter wavelength than the light of the first color, and a plurality of third quantum dots (Fig. 3, 237, ¶ [0066] teaches that quantum dot 237 is a blue quantum dot) configured to emit light of a third color, having a shorter wavelength than the light of the second color,
the light-emitting layer, within the area, is provided with a first region (Fig. 3, 232, ¶ [0066]) including the plurality of first quantum dots and configured to emit the light of the first color, a second region (Fig. 3, 234, ¶ [0066]) including the plurality of second quantum dots and configured to emit the light of the second color, and a third region (Fig. 3, 236, ¶ [0066]) including the plurality of third quantum dots and configured to emit the light of the third color, and
the first electrode and the light-emitting layer are continuous and integrated throughout an entirety of the area where the first electrode and the second electrode overlap (Fig. 2 & 3, 230 and 160 are continuous and integrated in an area of 170).
However, Kang does not explicitly teach that a surface-to-surface distance between first quantum dots, among the plurality of first quantum dots, that are adjacent to each other is longer than a surface-to-surface distance between second quantum dots, among the plurality of second quantum dots, that are adjacent to each other,
the surface-to-surface distance between the second quantum dots that are adjacent to each other is longer than a surface-to-surface distance between third quantum dots, among the plurality of third quantum dots, that are adjacent to each other.
However, Kanehiro is a pertinent art that teaches a surface-to-surface distance (Fig. 6, LLR + LLG + LLB, ¶ [0051] teaches that the red quantum dots 20R have attached ligands that have a longer length LLR than the length of ligands attached to the green quantum dots LLG. Therefore, the surface-to-surface distance of Kanehiro’s red quantum dots would be longer than the surface-to-surface distance of Kanehiro’s green quantum dots) between first quantum dots (Figs. 5 & 6, 20R, ¶ [0047] teaches red light emitting quantum dots), among the plurality of first quantum dots, that are fig. 7adjacent to each other is longer than a surface-to-surface distance between second quantum dots (Figs. 5 & 6, 20G, ¶ [0047] teaches green light emitting quantum dots), among the plurality of second quantum dots, that are adjacent to each other,
the surface-to-surface distance between the second quantum dots that are adjacent to each other is longer than a surface-to-surface distance between third quantum dots (Fig. 5 & 6, 20B, ¶ [0047] teaches blue light emitting ligands), among the plurality of third quantum dots, that are adjacent to each other (¶ [0051] teaches that the length of the ligands attached to the green quantum dots LLG is longer than the length of ligands attached to the blue quantum dots LLB. Therefore, the surface-to-surface distance of Kanehiro’s green quantum dots would be longer than the surface-to-surface distance of Kanehiro’s blue quantum dots).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang’s quantum dots to have ligands of varying length depending on the color of the quantum dot according to the teaching of Kanehiro (Figs. 5 & 6) in order to reduce quantum dot oxidation (Kanehiro ¶ [0058]).
Regarding claim 8, Kang modified by Kanehiro teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 1, and Kang teaches that the first region (Fig. 3, 232, ¶ [0066]), the second region (Fig. 3, 234, ¶ [0066]), and the third region (Fig. 3, 236, ¶ [0066]) are arranged in parallel between the first electrode (Fig. 3, 160, ¶ [0054]) and the second electrode (Fig. 3, 180, ¶ [0060]), and a common electric-charge transport layer (Fig. 3, 240, ¶ [0065]) is included in the first region, the second region, and the third region (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Kang modified by Kanehiro teaches a display device (Kang ¶ [0005]) comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements, including the light-emitting element, according to claim 1 (see Regarding independent claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Kang modified by Kanehiro teaches the display device according to claim 11, and Kang teaches a common electric-charge transport layer (Fig. 3, 240, ¶ [0065]) is included in the plurality of light-emitting elements.
Regarding claim 15, Kang modified by Kanehiro teaches the display device according to claim 11, and Kang teaches an edge cover film (Fig. 2, 166, ¶ [0056]) is formed so as to cover an edge of the first electrode (Fig. 2, 160, ¶ [0054]).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over KANG et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0161577) in view of KANEHIRO (WO 2019/171503 A1 with US Pub. No. 2020/0411785 as English translation) and further in view of JUNG et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0091324).
Regarding claim 13, Kang modified by Kanehiro teaches the display device according to claim 11.
However, Kang modified by Kanehiro does not explicitly teach that each of the plurality of light-emitting elements includes a color filter of the first color, a color filter of the second color, and a color filter of the third color.
However, Jung is a pertinent art that teaches that each of the plurality of light-emitting elements includes a color filter of the first color (Fig. 12, CF-R, ¶ [0176]), a color filter of the second color (Fig. 12, CF-G, ¶ [0176]), and a color filter of the third color (Fig. 12, CF-B, ¶ [0176]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang modified by Kanehiro’s device to further comprise color filters according to the teaching of Jung (Fig. 12) in order to selectively transmit color of a corresponding emission region (Fig. 5, ¶¶ [0176]-[01777]).
Regarding claim 14, Kang modified by Kanehiro teaches the display device according to claim 11, and Kang teaches that the first electrode (Fig. 2, 160, ¶ [0054]) is provided in an island form (Fig. 2, ¶ [0054] teaches that 160 is formed separately in each pixel) for each of the plurality of light-emitting elements (¶ [0005]), and the second electrode (Fig. 2, 180, ¶ [0060]) is provided in common in the plurality of light-emitting elements (Kang ¶ [0060] teaches that 180 is on the entire display area. Therefore, it would be obvious that Kang’s second electrode 180 would be on all of Kang’s pixels in a similar manner to Jung, see Jung Fig. 12, EL2, ¶ [0107]).
Claims 16-21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over KANG et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0161577) in view of KANEHIRO (WO 2019/171503 A1 with US Pub. No. 2020/0411785 as English translation) and further in view of CHO et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0119296).
Regarding independent claim 16, Kang teaches a light-emitting element comprising:
a first electrode (Fig. 3, 160, ¶ [0054]);
a second electrode (Fig. 3, 180, ¶ [0060]); and
a light-emitting layer (Fig. 3, 230, ¶ [0065]) provided in an area where the first electrode and the second electrode overlap in a plan view (Figs. 2 & 3, area of 170), wherein:
the light-emitting layer contains a plurality of first quantum dots (Fig. 3, 233, ¶ [0066] teaches that quantum dot 233 is a red quantum dot) configured to emit light of a first color, a plurality of second quantum dots (Fig. 3, 235, ¶ [0066] teaches that quantum dot 235 is a green quantum dot) configured to emit light of a second color having a shorter wavelength than the light of the first color, and a plurality of third quantum dots (Fig. 3, 237, ¶ [0066] teaches that quantum dot 237 is a blue quantum dot) configured to emit light of a third color having a shorter wavelength than the light of the second color,
the first electrode and the light-emitting layer are continuous and integrated throughout an entirety of the area where the first electrode and the second electrode overlap (Fig. 2 & 3, 230 and 160 are continuous and integrated in an area of 170).
However, Kang does not explicitly teach that each of the plurality of first quantum dots is modified by a plurality of first ligands,
each of the plurality of second quantum dots is modified by a plurality of second ligands,
each of the plurality of third quantum dots is modified by a plurality of third ligands,
an amount of the plurality of first ligands modifying a single first quantum dot,among the plurality of first quantum dots, is larger than an amount of the plurality of second ligands modifying a single second quantum dot, among the plurality of second quantum dots,
the amount of the plurality of second ligands modifying the single second quantum dot is larger than an amount of the plurality of third ligands modifying a single third quantum dot, among the plurality of third quantum dots.
However, Kanehiro is a pertinent art that teaches that each of the plurality of first quantum dots (Figs. 5 & 6, 20R, ¶ [0047] teaches red light emitting quantum dots) is modified by a plurality of first ligands (Fig. 6, 26 attached to 20R, ¶ [0025]),
each of the plurality of second quantum dots (Figs. 5 & 6, 20G, ¶ [0047] teaches green light emitting quantum dots) is modified by a plurality of second ligands (Fig. 6, 26 attached to 20G, ¶ [0025]),
each of the plurality of third quantum dots (Fig. 5 & 6, 20B, ¶ [0047] teaches blue light emitting quantum dots) is modified by a plurality of third ligands (Fig. 6, 26 attached to 20B, ¶ [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang’s quantum dots to have ligands of varying length depending on the color of the quantum dot according to the teaching of Kanehiro (Figs. 5 & 6) in order to reduce quantum dot oxidation (Kanehiro ¶ [0058]).
However, Kang modified by Kanehiro does not explicitly teach that an amount of the plurality of first ligands modifying a single first quantum dot,among the plurality of first quantum dots, is larger than an amount of the plurality of second ligands modifying a single second quantum dot, among the plurality of second quantum dots,
the amount of the plurality of second ligands modifying the single second quantum dot is larger than an amount of the plurality of third ligands modifying a single third quantum dot, among the plurality of third quantum dots.
However, Cho recognizes that the concentration (i.e. the amount) of ligands disposed on a surface of a quantum dot impacts dispersibility (¶ [0137]). Cho further recognizes the need to ensure solution state disposability of quantum dots in an emission layer (¶ [0137]). Therefore, the concentration of ligands disposed on a surface of a quantum dot is an art recognized variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive within the range of the claim 16 limitations, in order to achieve the desired balance between the impact of the ligand concentration on dispersibility and the need to ensure solution state dispersibility as taught by Cho. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence of the criticality of the claimed range (i.e., the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range).
Regarding claim 17, Kang modified by Kanehiro modified by Cho teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 16, and Kanehiro teaches that the first ligand, the second ligand, and the third ligand (¶ [0038] teaches that the ligands 26 are obtained by esterifying an alcohol having a 2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidinol skeleton. There is no mention of 20R, 20G, and 20B having ligands with different compounds) comprise identical compounds.
Regarding claim 18, Kang modified by Kanehiro modified by Cho teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 16, and Kang teaches that the light-emitting layer is provided with a first region (Fig. 3, 232, ¶ [0066]) including the plurality of first quantum dots (Fig. 3, 233, ¶ [0066] teaches that quantum dot 233 is a red quantum dot) and configured to emit the light of the first color, a second region (Fig. 3, 234, ¶ [0066]) including the plurality of second quantum dots (Fig. 3, 235, ¶ [0066] teaches that quantum dot 235 is a green quantum dot) and configured to emit the light of the second color, and a third region (Fig. 3, 236, ¶ [0066]) including the plurality of third quantum dots (Fig. 3, 237, ¶ [0066] teaches that quantum dot 237 is a blue quantum dot) and configured to emit the light of the third color.
Regarding claim 19, Kang modified by Kanehiro modified by Cho teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 18, and Kang teaches that the first region (Fig. 3, 232, ¶ [0066]), the second region (Fig. 3, 234, ¶ [0066]), and the third region (Fig. 3, 236, ¶ [0066]) are arranged in parallel between the first electrode (Fig. 3, 160, ¶ [0054]) and the second electrode (Fig. 3, 180, ¶ [0060]), and a common electric-charge transport layer (Fig. 3, 240, ¶ [0065]) is included in the first region, the second region, and the third region (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 20, Kang modified by Kanehiro modified by Cho teaches a display device (Kang ¶ [0005]) comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements, including the light-emitting element, according to claim 16 (see Regarding independent claim 16).
Regarding claim 21, Kang modified by Kanehiro modified by Cho teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 20, and Kang teaches a common electric-charge transport layer (Fig. 3, 240, ¶ [0065]) is included in the plurality of light-emitting elements.
Regarding claim 24, Kang modified by Kanehiro modified by Cho teaches the display device according to claim 20, and Kang teaches an edge cover film (Fig. 2, 166, ¶ [0056]) is formed so as to cover an edge of the first electrode (Fig. 2, 160, ¶ [0054]).
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over KANG et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0161577) in view of KANEHIRO (WO 2019/171503 A1 with US Pub. No. 2020/0411785 as English translation) and further in view of CHO et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0119296) and further in view of JUNG et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0091324).
Regarding claim 22, Kang modified by Kanehiro modified by Cho teaches the display device according to claim 20.
However, Kang modified by Kanehiro modified by Cho does not explicitly teach that each of the plurality of light-emitting elements includes a color filter of the first color, a color filter of the second color, and a color filter of the third color.
However, Jung is a pertinent art that teaches that each of the plurality of light-emitting elements includes a color filter of the first color (Fig. 12, CF-R, ¶ [0176]), a color filter of the second color (Fig. 12, CF-G, ¶ [0176]), and a color filter of the third color (Fig. 12, CF-B, ¶ [0176]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang modified by Kanehiro modified by Cho’s device to further comprise color filters according to the teaching of Jung (Fig. 12) in order to selectively transmit color of a corresponding emission region (Jung Fig. 5, ¶¶ [0176]-[01777]).
Regarding claim 23, Kang modified by Kanehiro modified by Cho teaches the display device according to claim 20, and Kang teaches that the first electrode is provided in an island form (Fig. 2, ¶ [0054] teaches that 160 is formed separately in each pixel) for each of the plurality of light-emitting elements (¶ [0005]), and the second electrode is provided in common in the plurality of light-emitting elements (Kang ¶ [0060] teaches that 180 is on the entire display area. Therefore, it would be obvious that Kang’s second electrode 180 would be on all of Kang’s pixels in a similar manner to Jung, see Jung Fig. 12, EL2, ¶ [0107]).
Cited Prior Art
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
/R.P.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813