DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Remarks filed on 02/02/2026.
Currently, claims 1, 8, and 11-26 are pending in the application. Currently, claims 25-26 are withdrawn.
Response to Amendments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, and 11-24 have been considered. Applicant argues that cited prior art Kanehiro (WO 2019/171503 A1 with US Pub. No. 2020/0411785 as English translation) does not teach the feature of “a light-emitting layer provided in an area where the first electrode and the second electrode overlap in a plan view”. This argument is not found persuasive because Kanehiro does teach that their light emitting layer 12 overlaps with both the first electrode 6 and second electrode 18 (see area of overlap in annotated figure below). Further, the claim as written does not require the first electrode and the light-emitting layer to be continuous and/or integral across the entire overlapping area.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended limitations of independent claim 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 11-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KANEHIRO (WO 2019/171503 A1 with US Pub. No. 2020/0411785 as English translation).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kanehiro teaches a light-emitting element (Figs. 5-6) comprising:
a first electrode (Fig. 5, 6, ¶ [0020]);
a second electrode (Fig. 5, 18, ¶ [0020]); and
a light-emitting layer (Fig. 5, 12, ¶ [0022]) provided in an area (area of overlap in annotated figure below. The Examiner notes that the claim as written does not require the first electrode and the light-emitting layer to be continuous and/or integral across the entire overlapping area) where the first electrode and the second electrode overlap in a plan view (Kanehiro’s first electrode 6, second electrode 18, and light-emitting layer 12 overlap in the cross sectional view of Fig. 5 and would therefore at least partially overlap in a corresponding plan view), wherein:
the light-emitting layer contains a plurality of first quantum dots (Figs. 5 & 6, 20R, ¶ [0047] teaches red light emitting quantum dots) configured to emit light of a first color, a plurality of second quantum dots (Figs. 5 & 6, 20G, ¶ [0047] teaches green light emitting quantum dots) configured to emit light of a second color having a shorter wavelength than the light of the first color, and a plurality of third quantum dots (Fig. 5 & 6, 20B, ¶ [0047] teaches blue light emitting ligands) configured to emit light of a third color having a shorter wavelength than the light of the second color,
a surface-to-surface distance (Fig. 6, LLR + LLG + LLB, ¶ [0051] teaches that the red quantum dots 20R have attached ligands that have a longer length LLR than the length of ligands attached to the green quantum dots LLG. Therefore, the surface-to-surface distance of Kanehiro’s red quantum dots would be longer than the surface-to-surface distance of Kanehiro’s green quantum dots) between first quantum dots, among the plurality of first quantum dots, that are adjacent to each other is longer than a surface-to-surface distance between second quantum dots, among the plurality of second quantum dots, that are adjacent to each other,
the surface-to-surface distance between the second quantum dots that are adjacent to each other is longer than a surface-to-surface distance between third quantum dots, among the plurality of third quantum dots, that are adjacent to each other (¶ [0051] teaches that the length of the ligands attached to the green quantum dots LLG is longer than the length of ligands attached to the blue quantum dots LLB. Therefore, the surface-to-surface distance of Kanehiro’s green quantum dots would be longer than the surface-to-surface distance of Kanehiro’s blue quantum dots)), and
the light-emitting layer, within the area (area of overlap in annotated figure below), is provided with a first region (Fig. 5, RP, ¶ [0047]) including the plurality of first quantum dots and configured to emit the light of the first color, a second region (Fig. 5, GP, ¶ [0047]) including the plurality of second quantum dots and configured to emit the light of the second color, and a third region (Fig 5, BP, ¶ [0047]) including the plurality of third quantum dots and configured to emit the light of the third color.
Regarding claim 8, Kanehiro teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 1, and Kanehiro teaches that the first region (Fig. 5, RP, ¶ [0047]), the second region (Fig. 5, GP, ¶ [0047]), and the third region (Fig 5, BP, ¶ [0047]) are arranged in parallel between the first electrode (Fig. 5, 6, ¶ [0020]) and the second electrode (Fig. 5, 18, ¶ [0020]), and a common electric-charge transport layer (Fig. 5, 14, ¶ [0018]) is included in the first region, the second region, and the third region (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Kanehiro teaches a display device (¶ [0028]) comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements, including the light-emitting element, according to claim 1 (see Regarding independent claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Kanehiro teaches the display device according to claim 11, and Kanehiro teaches a common electric-charge transport layer (Fig. 5, 14, ¶ [0018]) is included in the plurality of light-emitting elements.
Regarding claim 14, Kanehiro teaches the display device according to claim 11, the first electrode (Fig. 5, 6, ¶ [0020]) is provided in an island form (Fig. 5) for each of the plurality of light-emitting elements, and the second electrode (Fig. 5, 18, ¶ [0020]) is provided in common (Fig. 5) in the plurality of light-emitting elements.
Regarding claim 15, Kanehiro teaches the display device according to claim 11, and Kanehiro teaches that an edge cover film (Fig. 5, 36, ¶ [0046]) is formed so as to cover an edge of the first electrode (Fig. 5, 6, ¶ [0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over KANEHIRO (WO 2019/171503 A1 with US Pub. No. 2020/0411785 as English translation) in view of JUNG et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0091324).
Regarding claim 13, Kanehiro teaches the display device according to claim 11.
However, Kanehiro does not explicitly teach that each of the plurality of light-emitting elements includes a color filter of the first color, a color filter of the second color, and a color filter of the third color.
However, Jung is a pertinent art that teaches that each of the plurality of light-emitting elements includes a color filter of the first color (Fig. 12, CF-R, ¶ [0176]), a color filter of the second color (Fig. 12, CF-G, ¶ [0176]), and a color filter of the third color (Fig. 12, CF-B, ¶ [0176]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanehiro’s device to further comprise color filters according to the teaching of Jung (Fig. 12) in order to selectively transmit color of a corresponding emission region (Fig. 5, ¶¶ [0176]-[01777]).
Claims 16-21 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over KANEHIRO (WO 2019/171503 A1 with US Pub. No. 2020/0411785 as English translation) in view of CHO et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0119296).
Regarding independent claim 16, Kanehiro teaches a light-emitting element (Figs. 5-6) comprising:
a first electrode (Fig. 5, 6, ¶ [0020]);
a second electrode (Fig. 5, 18, ¶ [0020]); and
a light-emitting layer (Fig. 5, 12, ¶ [0022]) provided in an area (area of overlap in annotated figure below. The Examiner notes that the claim as written does not require the first electrode and the light-emitting layer to be continuous and/or integral across the entire overlapping area) where the first electrode and the second electrode overlap in a plan view (Kanehiro’s first electrode 6, second electrode 18, and light-emitting layer 12 overlap in the cross sectional view of Fig. 5 and would therefore at least partially overlap in a corresponding plan view), wherein:
the light-emitting layer contains a plurality of first quantum dots (Figs. 5 & 6, 20R, ¶ [0047] teaches red light emitting quantum dots) configured to emit light of a first color, a plurality of second quantum dots (Figs. 5 & 6, 20G, ¶ [0047] teaches green light emitting quantum dots) configured to emit light of a second color having a shorter wavelength than the light of the first color, and a plurality of third quantum dots (Fig. 5 & 6, 20B, ¶ [0047] teaches blue light emitting quantum dots) configured to emit light of a third color having a shorter wavelength than the light of the second color,
each of the plurality of first quantum dots is modified by a plurality of first ligands (Fig. 6, 26 attached to 20R, ¶ [0025]),
each of the plurality of second quantum dots is modified by a plurality of second ligands (Fig. 6, 26 attached to 20G, ¶ [0025]),
each of the plurality of third quantum dots is modified by a plurality of third ligands (Fig. 6, 26 attached to 20B, ¶ [0025]).
However, Kanehiro does not explicitly teach that an amount of the plurality of first ligands modifying a single first quantum dot, among the plurality of first quantum dots, is larger than an amount of the plurality of second ligands modifying a single second quantum dot, among the plurality of second quantum dots, and
the amount of the plurality of second ligands modifying the single second quantum dot is larger than an amount of the plurality of third ligands modifying a single third quantum dot, among the plurality of third quantum dots.
However, Cho recognizes that the concentration (i.e. the amount) of ligands disposed on a surface of a quantum dot impacts dispersibility (¶ [0137]). Cho further recognizes the need to ensure solution state disposability of quantum dots in an emission layer (¶ [0137]). Therefore, the concentration of ligands disposed on a surface of a quantum dot is an art recognized variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive within the range of the claim 16 limitations, in order to achieve the desired balance between the impact of the ligand concentration on dispersibility and the need to ensure solution state dispersibility as taught by Cho. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence of the criticality of the claimed range (i.e., the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range).
Regarding claim 17, Kanehiro modified by Cho teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 16, and Kanehiro teaches that the first ligand, the second ligand, and the third ligand (¶ [0038] teaches that the ligands 26 are obtained by esterifying an alcohol having a 2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidinol skeleton. There is no mention of 20R, 20G, and 20B having ligands with different compounds) comprise identical compounds.
Regarding claim 18, Kanehiro modified by Cho teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 16, and Kanehiro teaches that the light-emitting layer (Fig. 5, 12, ¶ [0022]) is provided with a first region (Fig. 5, RP, ¶ [0047]) including the plurality of first quantum dots (Figs. 5 & 6, 20R, ¶ [0047] teaches red light emitting quantum dots) and configured to emit the light of the first color, a second region (Fig. 5, GP, ¶ [0047]) including the plurality of second quantum dots (Figs. 5 & 6, 20G, ¶ [0047] teaches green light emitting quantum dots) and configured to emit the light of the second color, and a third region (Fig 5, BP, ¶ [0047]) including the plurality of third quantum dots (Fig. 5 & 6, 20B, ¶ [0047] teaches blue light emitting quantum dots) and configured to emit the light of the third color.
Regarding claim 19, Kanehiro modified by Cho teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 18, and Kanehiro teaches that the first region (Fig. 5, RP, ¶ [0047]), the second region (Fig. 5, GP, ¶ [0047]), and the third region (Fig 5, BP, ¶ [0047]) are arranged in parallel between the first electrode and the second electrode (Fig. 5), and a common electric-charge transport layer (Fig. 5, 14, ¶ [0018]) is included in the first region, the second region, and the third region (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 20, Kanehiro modified by Cho teaches a display device (¶ [0028]) comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements, including the light-emitting element, according to claim 16 (see Regarding independent claim 16).
Regarding claim 21, Kanehiro modified by Cho teaches the display device according to claim 20, and Kanehiro teaches that a common electric-charge transport layer (Fig. 5, 14, ¶ [0018]) is included in the plurality of light-emitting elements (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 23, Kanehiro modified by Cho teaches the display device according to claim 20, and Kanehiro teaches that the first electrode (Fig. 5, 6, ¶ [0020]) is provided in an island form (Fig. 5) for each of the plurality of light-emitting elements, and the second electrode (Fig. 5, 18, ¶ [0020]) is provided in common (Fig. 5) in the plurality of light-emitting elements.
Regarding claim 24, Kanehiro modified by Cho teaches the display device according to claim 20, and Kanehiro teaches that an edge cover film (Fig. 5, 36, ¶ [0046]) is formed so as to cover an edge of the first electrode (Fig. 5).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over KANEHIRO (WO 2019/171503 A1 with US Pub. No. 2020/0411785 as English translation) in view of CHO et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0119296) and further in view of JUNG et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0091324).
Regarding claim 22, Kanehiro modified by Cho teaches the display device according to claim 20.
However, Kanehiro modified by Cho does not explicitly teach that each of the plurality of light-emitting elements includes a color filter of the first color, a color filter of the second color, and a color filter of the third color.
However, Jung is a pertinent art that teaches that each of the plurality of light-emitting elements includes a color filter of the first color (Fig. 12, CF-R, ¶ [0176]), a color filter of the second color (Fig. 12, CF-G, ¶ [0176]), and a color filter of the third color (Fig. 12, CF-B, ¶ [0176]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanehiro modified by Cho’s device to further comprise color filters according to the teaching of Jung (Fig. 12) in order to selectively transmit color of a corresponding emission region (Fig. 5, ¶¶ [0176]-[01777]).
Cited Prior Art
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.P.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813