DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending where no claims have been amended. Claims 6-9 and 14-19 are withdrawn from consideration and claims 1-5, 10-13 and 20 remain for examination on the merits.
Status of Previous Rejections
The previous 35 USC § 103 rejections of the claims have been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN111101076A to Dong et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes).
Regarding claim 1, Dong discloses an Fe-based amorphous nanocrystalline alloy comprising the following composition (Dong, abstract, para [0013-0014]), which overlaps the instantly claimed composition as follows:
Element
Claimed at%
Dong wt%
Overlaps?
B
8-12
7-15
Yes
Si
0.2-6
1-7
Yes
P
2.0-6.0
0-6
Yes
C
0.5-4
0-1
Yes
Cu
0.6-1.3
0-2
Yes
Nb
0.6-0.9
0-3
Yes
Fe
Balance
Balance
Yes
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of Dong including the instantly claimed because Dong discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
Regarding the instantly claimed ratio of Cu to Nb in the instant claims, the instantly claimed equations fully depends on the composition of the alloy. It is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art, In re Cooper and Foley 1943 C.D.357, 553 O.G.177; 57 USPQ 117, Taklatwalla v.Marburg. 620 O.G.685, 1949 C.D.77, and In re Pilling, 403 O.G.513, 44 F(2) 878, 1931 C.D.75. In the instant case, as the alloy of Dong is capable of falling within the boundaries of the instantly claimed composition formulas, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected any portion of the disclosed ranges of each element of Dong including those which fall within the boundaries of the instantly claimed composition based formulas because Dong discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
Regarding claim 2, the alloy of Dong is in the shape of a continuous thin strip shape (Dong, para [0044]). Although Dong is silent as to a thickness of the strip, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04 IV A).
Regarding claims 3-5 and 11-13, the alloy of Dong has a size of nanocrystalline grains smaller than 30 nm (Dong, para [0078]), overlapping the instantly claimed range of 20-30 nm. Regarding the additional properties claimed in instant claims 2-5 and 11-13, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the alloy of Dong would be expected to have the same or similar properties as the instantly claimed alloy because the alloy of Dong has the same or substantially the same composition and structure.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Dong discloses that the alloy may be made into a magnetic component (Dong, para [0004]).
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110295322-A to Fan et al (cited in previous office action, the English language machine translation cited in previous office action has been relied upon for examination purposes).
Regarding claim 1, Fan discloses an Fe-based amorphous nanocrystalline alloy comprising the following composition (Fan, abstract, para [0009, 0016]), which lies close to the instantly claimed composition as follows:
Element
Claimed at%
Fan wt%
Overlaps?
B
8-12
10.5-11.5
Yes
Si
0.2-6
0.4-0.6
Yes
P
2.0-6.0
1-4
Yes
C
0.5-4
>0-<0.5
Close at 0.5
Cu
0.6-1.3
0.6-0.7
Yes
Nb
0.6-0.9
0-2
Yes
Fe
Balance
Balance
Yes
Cu/Nb
1-1.4
≥0.3*
Yes
*calculated from Nb and Cu ranges of Fan
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of Fan including the instantly claimed because Fan discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
Regarding the instantly claimed C content, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties (See MPEP 2144.05 I). See In re Brandt, 886 F.3d 1171, 1177, 126 USPQ2d 1079, 1082 (Fed. Cir. 2018)(the court found a prima facie case of obviousness had been made in a predictable art wherein the claimed range of "less than 6 pounds per cubic feet" and the prior art range of "between 6 lbs/ft3 and 25 lbs/ft3" were so mathematically close that the difference between the claimed ranges was virtually negligible absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality.) In the instant case, the carbon content of Fan of 0<C<0.5 is so mathematically close to the instantly claimed range of 0.5≤C≤4 that the difference between the claimed ranges is virtually negligible absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality.
Regarding claim 2, the alloy of Fan is in the shape of a continuous thin strip shape (Fan, para [0033]). Although the exemplary strips are less than 30 µm, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04 IV A).
Regarding claims 3-5 and 11-13, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the alloy of Fan would be expected to have the same or similar properties as the instantly claimed alloy because the alloy of Fan has the same or substantially the same composition and structure.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Fan discloses that the alloy may be made into a magnetic component (Fan, para [0005]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the instantly claimed composition formula demonstrates unexpected results over Dong in terms of the maximum value of the saturation magnetic flux density. This is not found persuasive because to establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the “objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.” In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. See MPEP 716.02(d) [R-2]. In the instant case, the data relied upon by applicant to show unexpected results does not show that the alleged unexpected results occur over the entirety of the claimed range as the data only compares examples well within the instantly claimed range with examples well outside of the instantly claimed range, with insufficient data provided near the endpoints of the instantly claimed range. More specifically, the instant claims allow for a B content from 8-12 at%, a Si content from 0.2-6 at%, a P content from 2.0-6.0 at% and a C content from 0.5-4 at%, yet the embodiments relied upon by applicant to attempt to show unexpected results demonstrate a B content of 9.1-11.2 at%, a Si content from 0.5-1.0 at%, a P content from 2.6-4.3 at% and a C content from 0.8-1.2 at%. As such, the evidence relied upon by applicant to attempt to show unexpected results is not commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.
Applicant argues that the specific ratio of Cu to Nb of Fan cannot be determined since one end of the Nb content is 0. This is not found persuasive because the lower end of the Cu/Nb ratio of Fan can be calculated by the lower end of Cu content, 0.6 at%, and the upper end of the Nb content, 2 at%, which gives a minimum Cu/Nb ratio of 0.3 with no upper limit, which overlaps the instnatl claimed ratio of 1-1.4. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of Fan including the instantly claimed because Fan discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN D WALCK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738