Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9, 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) in view of Jiang (US 20160088461 A1 dated 2016-03-24), Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27), Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18)
As to claim 9, Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) discloses (New) A data volume exchange server comprising a computer and memory storing instructions executable to cause the computer to perform operations comprising:
receiving a first exchange request from a first terminal located in a first country and receiving a second exchange request from a second terminal located in a second country, wherein the first exchange request comprises an individual identification number of the first terminal, a subscriber ID of a first subscriber using the first terminal, and the second country to be traveled by the first subscriber, a first travel period, and a first requested data volume, wherein the second exchange request comprises an individual identification number of the second terminal, a subscriber ID of a second subscriber using the second terminal, and the first country to be traveled by the second subscriber, a second travel period, and a second requested data volume, wherein the first travel period overlaps with the second travel period (Paragraph [0057] – “Now through the application, user 102 can sell a portion of his unused local rate data package bought on the trading platform to another roaming traveler or a local user.” Paragraph [0221] – “However if none of the available network is provisioned to be selected by foreign IMSIs the applet restores the identity to the home IMSI and uses the home IMSI to access the available network.”);
Jiang’s US 20180146361 A1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Jiang (US 20160088461 A1 dated 2016-03-24) discloses the second country to be traveled by the first subscriber (Paragraph [0026] – “A user 102 of HPMN 104 (from home country) is roaming in a VPMN 106 (from visiting country).”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) to include the means to traveling in a different country as taught by wireless network of Jiang (US 20160088461 A1 dated 2016-03-24) in order to facilitate a user to travel in a different country and buy a suitable local plan.
Jiang’s US 20180146361 A1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) discloses wherein the first travel period overlaps with the second travel period (Paragraph [0078] – “To automatically buy a plan, user 102 may preset a day-plan, 3-day-plan, a week plan, or a month plan.” Here, for example, 3-day-plan is overlapping with the same plan that the seller offers). Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18) further discloses wherein the first travel period overlaps with the second travel period (Paragraph [0031] – “First, a seller 102 initiates an offer to sell a quantity of service available for use during a specified period of time, within a specified geographic location for a specified price, a capacity offer, in HLR 104 via step 110, as shown in FIG. 1.” Paragraph [0032] –“FIG. 3 is a flow diagram illustrating processing capacity discovery requests and capacity offers. Processing of capacity discovery requests and capacity offers begins by matching and publishing capacity offers via step 116 as shown in FIG. 1 and continues with further processing involving addition of purchased quantity to the service profile of a buyer 108 and deducting the same from the service profile of a seller 102.” Paragraph [0033] – “The exchange then retrieves all capacity offers from the database via step 304 and through a method checks if the capacity bid request matches any capacity offers via step 306.” Here the seller offers service during specified period of time, the buyer’s bid matches with this service ensuring that the first period overlaps with the second period. Here the buyer’s time period is matching with the seller’s time period as mentioned in the claim.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) to include the means to travel period overlapping as taught by wireless network of Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) and Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18) in order to find the overlapping period that the buyer and seller have in common to complete the transaction.
performing matching between the first exchange request and the second exchange request based on the first subscriber travelling from the first country to the second country and the second subscriber travelling from the second country to the first country, wherein performing matching comprises determining an exchange travel period as an overlapping period between the first travel period and the second travel period, and determining an exchange data volume by selecting a smaller one between the first requested data volume and the second requested data volume (Paragraph [0057] – “User 102 with a smartphone with an unchanged home operator SIM using an application on his smartphone registers an account with the trading service. Now through the application, user 102 can sell a portion of his unused local rate data package bought on the trading platform to another roaming traveler or a local user.” Here, the buyer buys the matched data package the seller offers); and
Jiang’s US 20180146361 A1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) discloses matching the travel periods (Paragraph [0078] – “To automatically buy a plan, user 102 may preset a day-plan, 3-day-plan, a week plan, or a month plan.” Here, for example, 3-day-plan is overlapping with the same plan that the seller offers). Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18) further discloses matching the travel periods (Paragraph [0031] – “First, a seller 102 initiates an offer to sell a quantity of service available for use during a specified period of time, within a specified geographic location for a specified price, a capacity offer, in HLR 104 via step 110, as shown in FIG. 1.” Paragraph [0032] –“FIG. 3 is a flow diagram illustrating processing capacity discovery requests and capacity offers. Processing of capacity discovery requests and capacity offers begins by matching and publishing capacity offers via step 116 as shown in FIG. 1 and continues with further processing involving addition of purchased quantity to the service profile of a buyer 108 and deducting the same from the service profile of a seller 102.” Paragraph [0033] – “The exchange then retrieves all capacity offers from the database via step 304 and through a method checks if the capacity bid request matches any capacity offers via step 306.” Here the seller offers service during specified period of time, the buyer’s bid matches with this service ensuring that the first period overlaps with the second period. Here the buyer’s time period is matching with the seller’s time period as mentioned in the claim.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) to include the means to matching travel periods as taught by wireless network of Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) and Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18) in order to find the overlapping period that the buyer and seller have in common to complete the transaction.
performing exchange of no more than the determined exchange data volume by the first terminal and the second terminal within the exchange travel period (Paragraph [0099] – “After the buyer activates the local package and visits the country, HPMN 104 helps to steer the roaming user 102 to the operator of the data package. The buyer accesses VPMN 106 where credit control is made with exchange 110 and alerts are communicated with exchange 110 and the buyer.”).
Jiang’s US 20180146361 A1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) discloses the exchange travel period (Paragraph [0078] – “To automatically buy a plan, user 102 may preset a day-plan, 3-day-plan, a week plan, or a month plan.” Here, for example, 3-day-plan is overlapping with the same plan that the seller offers). Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18) further discloses the exchange travel period (Paragraph [0031] – “First, a seller 102 initiates an offer to sell a quantity of service available for use during a specified period of time, within a specified geographic location for a specified price, a capacity offer, in HLR 104 via step 110, as shown in FIG. 1.” Paragraph [0032] –“FIG. 3 is a flow diagram illustrating processing capacity discovery requests and capacity offers. Processing of capacity discovery requests and capacity offers begins by matching and publishing capacity offers via step 116 as shown in FIG. 1 and continues with further processing involving addition of purchased quantity to the service profile of a buyer 108 and deducting the same from the service profile of a seller 102.” Paragraph [0033] – “The exchange then retrieves all capacity offers from the database via step 304 and through a method checks if the capacity bid request matches any capacity offers via step 306.” Here the seller offers service during specified period of time, the buyer’s bid matches with this service ensuring that the first period overlaps with the second period. Here the buyer’s time period is matching with the seller’s time period as mentioned in the claim.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) to include the means to the exchange travel period as taught by wireless network of Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) and Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18) in order to find the overlapping period that the buyer and seller have in common to complete the transaction.
As to claim 13, Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) discloses (New) A data volume exchange method performed by a data volume exchange server including a computer, the data volume exchange method comprising:
receiving a first exchange request from a first terminal located in a first country and receiving a second exchange request from a second terminal located in a second country, wherein the first exchange request comprises an individual identification number of the first terminal, a subscriber ID of a first subscriber using the first terminal, and the second country to be traveled by the first subscriber, a first travel period, and a first requested data volume, wherein the second exchange request comprises an individual identification number of the second terminal, a subscriber ID of a second subscriber using the second terminal, and the first country to be traveled by the second subscriber, a second travel period, and a second requested data volume, wherein the first travel period overlaps with the second travel period (Paragraph [0057] – “Now through the application, user 102 can sell a portion of his unused local rate data package bought on the trading platform to another roaming traveler or a local user.” Paragraph [0221] – “However if none of the available network is provisioned to be selected by foreign IMSIs the applet restores the identity to the home IMSI and uses the home IMSI to access the available network.”);
Jiang’s US 20180146361 A1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Jiang (US 20160088461 A1 dated 2016-03-24) discloses the second country to be traveled by the first subscriber (Paragraph [0026] – “A user 102 of HPMN 104 (from home country) is roaming in a VPMN 106 (from visiting country).”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) to include the means to traveling in a different country as taught by wireless network of Jiang (US 20160088461 A1 dated 2016-03-24) in order to facilitate a user to travel in a different country and buy a suitable local plan.
Jiang’s US 20180146361 A1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) discloses wherein the first travel period overlaps with the second travel period (Paragraph [0078] – “To automatically buy a plan, user 102 may preset a day-plan, 3-day-plan, a week plan, or a month plan.” Here, for example, 3-day-plan is overlapping with the same plan that the seller offers). Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18) further discloses wherein the first travel period overlaps with the second travel period (Paragraph [0031] – “First, a seller 102 initiates an offer to sell a quantity of service available for use during a specified period of time, within a specified geographic location for a specified price, a capacity offer, in HLR 104 via step 110, as shown in FIG. 1.” Paragraph [0032] –“FIG. 3 is a flow diagram illustrating processing capacity discovery requests and capacity offers. Processing of capacity discovery requests and capacity offers begins by matching and publishing capacity offers via step 116 as shown in FIG. 1 and continues with further processing involving addition of purchased quantity to the service profile of a buyer 108 and deducting the same from the service profile of a seller 102.” Paragraph [0033] – “The exchange then retrieves all capacity offers from the database via step 304 and through a method checks if the capacity bid request matches any capacity offers via step 306.” Here the seller offers service during specified period of time, the buyer’s bid matches with this service ensuring that the first period overlaps with the second period. Here the buyer’s time period is matching with the seller’s time period as mentioned in the claim.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) to include the means to travel period overlapping as taught by wireless network of Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) and Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18) in order to find the overlapping period that the buyer and seller have in common to complete the transaction.
performing matching between the first exchange request and the second exchange request based on the first subscriber travelling from the first country to the second country and the second subscriber travelling from the second country to the first country, wherein performing matching comprises determining an exchange travel period as an overlapping period between the first travel period and the second travel period, and determining an exchange data volume by selecting a smaller one between the first requested data volume and the second requested data volume (Paragraph [0057] – “User 102 with a smartphone with an unchanged home operator SIM using an application on his smartphone registers an account with the trading service. Now through the application, user 102 can sell a portion of his unused local rate data package bought on the trading platform to another roaming traveler or a local user.” Here, the buyer buys the matched data package the seller offers); and
Jiang’s US 20180146361 A1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) discloses matching the travel periods (Paragraph [0078] – “To automatically buy a plan, user 102 may preset a day-plan, 3-day-plan, a week plan, or a month plan.” Here, for example, 3-day-plan is overlapping with the same plan that the seller offers). Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18) further discloses matching the travel periods (Paragraph [0031] – “First, a seller 102 initiates an offer to sell a quantity of service available for use during a specified period of time, within a specified geographic location for a specified price, a capacity offer, in HLR 104 via step 110, as shown in FIG. 1.” Paragraph [0032] –“FIG. 3 is a flow diagram illustrating processing capacity discovery requests and capacity offers. Processing of capacity discovery requests and capacity offers begins by matching and publishing capacity offers via step 116 as shown in FIG. 1 and continues with further processing involving addition of purchased quantity to the service profile of a buyer 108 and deducting the same from the service profile of a seller 102.” Paragraph [0033] – “The exchange then retrieves all capacity offers from the database via step 304 and through a method checks if the capacity bid request matches any capacity offers via step 306.” Here the seller offers service during specified period of time, the buyer’s bid matches with this service ensuring that the first period overlaps with the second period. Here the buyer’s time period is matching with the seller’s time period as mentioned in the claim.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) to include the means to matching travel periods as taught by wireless network of Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) and Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18) in order to find the overlapping period that the buyer and seller have in common to complete the transaction.
performing exchange of no more than the determined exchange data volume by the first terminal and the second terminal within the exchange travel period (Paragraph [0099] – “After the buyer activates the local package and visits the country, HPMN 104 helps to steer the roaming user 102 to the operator of the data package. The buyer accesses VPMN 106 where credit control is made with exchange 110 and alerts are communicated with exchange 110 and the buyer.”).
Jiang’s US 20180146361 A1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) discloses the exchange travel period (Paragraph [0078] – “To automatically buy a plan, user 102 may preset a day-plan, 3-day-plan, a week plan, or a month plan.” Here, for example, 3-day-plan is overlapping with the same plan that the seller offers). Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18) further discloses the exchange travel period (Paragraph [0031] – “First, a seller 102 initiates an offer to sell a quantity of service available for use during a specified period of time, within a specified geographic location for a specified price, a capacity offer, in HLR 104 via step 110, as shown in FIG. 1.” Paragraph [0032] –“FIG. 3 is a flow diagram illustrating processing capacity discovery requests and capacity offers. Processing of capacity discovery requests and capacity offers begins by matching and publishing capacity offers via step 116 as shown in FIG. 1 and continues with further processing involving addition of purchased quantity to the service profile of a buyer 108 and deducting the same from the service profile of a seller 102.” Paragraph [0033] – “The exchange then retrieves all capacity offers from the database via step 304 and through a method checks if the capacity bid request matches any capacity offers via step 306.” Here the seller offers service during specified period of time, the buyer’s bid matches with this service ensuring that the first period overlaps with the second period. Here the buyer’s time period is matching with the seller’s time period as mentioned in the claim.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) to include the means to the exchange travel period as taught by wireless network of Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) and Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18) in order to find the overlapping period that the buyer and seller have in common to complete the transaction.
As to claim 15, Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) discloses (New) A non-transitory computer readable medium storing one or more instructions causing a computer to execute:
receiving a first exchange request from a first terminal located in a first country and receiving a second exchange request from a second terminal located in a second country, wherein the first exchange request comprises an individual identification number of the first terminal, a subscriber ID of a first subscriber using the first terminal, and the second country to be traveled by the first subscriber, a first travel period, and a first requested data volume, wherein the second exchange request comprises an individual identification number of the second terminal, a subscriber ID of a second subscriber using the second terminal, and the first country to be traveled by the second subscriber, a second travel period, and a second requested data volume, wherein the first travel period overlaps with the second travel period (Paragraph [0057] – “Now through the application, user 102 can sell a portion of his unused local rate data package bought on the trading platform to another roaming traveler or a local user.” Paragraph [0221] – “However if none of the available network is provisioned to be selected by foreign IMSIs the applet restores the identity to the home IMSI and uses the home IMSI to access the available network.”);
Jiang’s US 20180146361 A1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Jiang (US 20160088461 A1 dated 2016-03-24) discloses the second country to be traveled by the first subscriber (Paragraph [0026] – “A user 102 of HPMN 104 (from home country) is roaming in a VPMN 106 (from visiting country).”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) to include the means to traveling in a different country as taught by wireless network of Jiang (US 20160088461 A1 dated 2016-03-24) in order to facilitate a user to travel in a different country and buy a suitable local plan.
Jiang’s US 20180146361 A1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) discloses wherein the first travel period overlaps with the second travel period (Paragraph [0078] – “To automatically buy a plan, user 102 may preset a day-plan, 3-day-plan, a week plan, or a month plan.” Here, for example, 3-day-plan is overlapping with the same plan that the seller offers). Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18) further discloses wherein the first travel period overlaps with the second travel period (Paragraph [0031] – “First, a seller 102 initiates an offer to sell a quantity of service available for use during a specified period of time, within a specified geographic location for a specified price, a capacity offer, in HLR 104 via step 110, as shown in FIG. 1.” Paragraph [0032] –“FIG. 3 is a flow diagram illustrating processing capacity discovery requests and capacity offers. Processing of capacity discovery requests and capacity offers begins by matching and publishing capacity offers via step 116 as shown in FIG. 1 and continues with further processing involving addition of purchased quantity to the service profile of a buyer 108 and deducting the same from the service profile of a seller 102.” Paragraph [0033] – “The exchange then retrieves all capacity offers from the database via step 304 and through a method checks if the capacity bid request matches any capacity offers via step 306.” Here the seller offers service during specified period of time, the buyer’s bid matches with this service ensuring that the first period overlaps with the second period. Here the buyer’s time period is matching with the seller’s time period as mentioned in the claim.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) to include the means to travel period overlapping as taught by wireless network of Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) and Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18) in order to find the overlapping period that the buyer and seller have in common to complete the transaction.
performing matching between the first exchange request and the second exchange request based on the first subscriber travelling from the first country to the second country and the second subscriber travelling from the second country to the first country, wherein performing matching comprises determining an exchange travel period as an overlapping period between the first travel period and the second travel period, and determining an exchange data volume by selecting a smaller one between the first requested data volume and the second requested data volume (Paragraph [0057] – “User 102 with a smartphone with an unchanged home operator SIM using an application on his smartphone registers an account with the trading service. Now through the application, user 102 can sell a portion of his unused local rate data package bought on the trading platform to another roaming traveler or a local user.” Here, the buyer buys the matched data package the seller offers); and
Jiang’s US 20180146361 A1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) discloses matching the travel periods (Paragraph [0078] – “To automatically buy a plan, user 102 may preset a day-plan, 3-day-plan, a week plan, or a month plan.” Here, for example, 3-day-plan is overlapping with the same plan that the seller offers). Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18) further discloses matching the travel periods (Paragraph [0031] – “First, a seller 102 initiates an offer to sell a quantity of service available for use during a specified period of time, within a specified geographic location for a specified price, a capacity offer, in HLR 104 via step 110, as shown in FIG. 1.” Paragraph [0032] –“FIG. 3 is a flow diagram illustrating processing capacity discovery requests and capacity offers. Processing of capacity discovery requests and capacity offers begins by matching and publishing capacity offers via step 116 as shown in FIG. 1 and continues with further processing involving addition of purchased quantity to the service profile of a buyer 108 and deducting the same from the service profile of a seller 102.” Paragraph [0033] – “The exchange then retrieves all capacity offers from the database via step 304 and through a method checks if the capacity bid request matches any capacity offers via step 306.” Here the seller offers service during specified period of time, the buyer’s bid matches with this service ensuring that the first period overlaps with the second period. Here the buyer’s time period is matching with the seller’s time period as mentioned in the claim.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) to include the means to matching the travel period as taught by wireless network of Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) and Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18) in order to find the overlapping period that the buyer and seller have in common to complete the transaction.
performing exchange of no more than the determined exchange data volume by the first terminal and the second terminal within the exchange travel period (Paragraph [0099] – “After the buyer activates the local package and visits the country, HPMN 104 helps to steer the roaming user 102 to the operator of the data package. The buyer accesses VPMN 106 where credit control is made with exchange 110 and alerts are communicated with exchange 110 and the buyer.”).
Jiang’s US 20180146361 A1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) discloses the exchange travel period (Paragraph [0078] – “To automatically buy a plan, user 102 may preset a day-plan, 3-day-plan, a week plan, or a month plan.” Here, for example, 3-day-plan is overlapping with the same plan that the seller offers). Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18) further discloses the exchange travel period (Paragraph [0031] – “First, a seller 102 initiates an offer to sell a quantity of service available for use during a specified period of time, within a specified geographic location for a specified price, a capacity offer, in HLR 104 via step 110, as shown in FIG. 1.” Paragraph [0032] –“FIG. 3 is a flow diagram illustrating processing capacity discovery requests and capacity offers. Processing of capacity discovery requests and capacity offers begins by matching and publishing capacity offers via step 116 as shown in FIG. 1 and continues with further processing involving addition of purchased quantity to the service profile of a buyer 108 and deducting the same from the service profile of a seller 102.” Paragraph [0033] – “The exchange then retrieves all capacity offers from the database via step 304 and through a method checks if the capacity bid request matches any capacity offers via step 306.” Here the seller offers service during specified period of time, the buyer’s bid matches with this service ensuring that the first period overlaps with the second period. Here the buyer’s time period is matching with the seller’s time period as mentioned in the claim.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) to include the means to the exchange travel period as taught by wireless network of Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) and Johnson (US 20140279129 A1 dated 2014-09-18) in order to find the overlapping period that the buyer and seller have in common to complete the transaction.
Claim 10, 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) as applied in claim 9, 13, 15 and further in view of Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27)
As to claim 10, Jiang’s US 20180146361 A1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) discloses (New) The data volume exchange server according to claim 9, the operations comprising: comparing the smaller one with a usable data volume of the first terminal in the second country or a usable data volume of the second terminal in the first country; and determining the exchange data volume based on comparison result (Paragraph [0078] – “To automatically buy a plan, user 102 may preset a day-plan, 3-day-plan, a week plan, or a month plan.” Here, for example, 3-day-plan is overlapping with the same plan that the seller offers. Both buyer and seller have a plan in common meaning that the smaller one with a usable data volume will be used to complete the transaction.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) to include the means to the smaller one with a usable data volume by wireless network of Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) in order to find the overlapping period that the buyer and seller have in common to complete the transaction.
As to claim 14, Jiang’s US 20180146361 A1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) discloses (New) The data volume exchange method according to claim 13, comprising: comparing the smaller one with a usable data volume of the first terminal in the second country or a usable data volume of the second terminal in the first country; and determining the exchange data volume based on comparison result (Paragraph [0078] – “To automatically buy a plan, user 102 may preset a day-plan, 3-day-plan, a week plan, or a month plan.” Here, for example, 3-day-plan is overlapping with the same plan that the seller offers. Both buyer and seller have a plan in common meaning that the smaller one with a usable data volume will be used to complete the transaction.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) to include the means to the smaller one with a usable data volume by wireless network of Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) in order to find the overlapping period that the buyer and seller have in common to complete the transaction.
As to claim 16, Jiang’s US 20180146361 A1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) discloses (New) The non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 15, wherein the one or more instructions cause the computer to execute: comparing the smaller one with a usable data volume of the first terminal in the second country or a usable data volume of the second terminal in the first country; and determining the exchange data volume based on comparison result (Paragraph [0078] – “To automatically buy a plan, user 102 may preset a day-plan, 3-day-plan, a week plan, or a month plan.” Here, for example, 3-day-plan is overlapping with the same plan that the seller offers. Both buyer and seller have a plan in common meaning that the smaller one with a usable data volume will be used to complete the transaction.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) to include the means to the smaller one with a usable data volume by wireless network of Jiang (US 20170118622 A1 dated 2017-04-27) in order to find the overlapping period that the buyer and seller have in common to complete the transaction.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) as applied in claim 9 and further in view of Raleigh et al. (US 20200045519 A1 dated 2020-02-06)
As to claim 11, Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Raleigh et al. (US 20200045519 A1 dated 2020-02-06) discloses (New) An international communication system comprising:
the data volume exchange server according to claim 9; and the first terminal and the second terminal, wherein the first terminal is configured to perform rewriting to add the exchange data volume to a first Embedded-SIM (eSIM) in the first terminal when the first terminal arrives at the second country,
the second terminal is configured to perform rewriting to add the exchange data volume to a second eSIM in the second terminal when the second terminal arrives at the first country (Paragraph [1771] –“ In some embodiments, the IMSI in the SIM can be reprogrammed over the air (e.g., through a wireless radio connection). …following reprogramming the SIM can be converted to a service-provider-specific SIM, e.g., for a service provider selected by the user of the device 100”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) to include the means to receive a rewrite signal for an eSIM as taught by wireless network of Raleigh et al. (US 20200045519 A1 dated 2020-02-06) in order to permit and maintain connectivity when entering other network.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) as applied in claim 9 and further in view of Thorn (US 20190380027 A1 dated 2019-12-12)
As to claim 12, Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Thorn (US 20190380027 A1 dated 2019-12-12) discloses (New) An international communication system comprising: the data volume exchange server according to claim 9; and the first terminal and the second terminal, wherein the first terminal includes a first physical rental SIM issued by a telecommunication carrier in the second country and uses data up to the exchange data volume in the second country, the second terminal includes a second physical rental SIM issued by another telecommunication carrier in the first country and uses data up to the exchange data volume in the first country (Paragraph [0015] – “the user may be forced to acquire a new SIM card intended for use on the second network”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jiang (US 20180146361 A1 dated 2018-05-24) to include the means to acquire a physical SIM card as taught by wireless network of Thorn (US 20190380027 A1 dated 2019-12-12) in order to permit and maintain connectivity when entering the other network.
Remarks/Arguments
All the remarks and arguments posted on 10/24/2025 have been reviewed.
All previous claims 1-8 are cancelled. Claims 9-16 have been added as new. They have been addressed, details are given under the respective claims above.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDULLAH AL MAMUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/MATTHEW D. ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646