DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yates (US 4,443,638) and Weber et al. (US 5,481,044) in combination.
Yates teaches a process wherein a branched olefin, 7-tetradecene, is hydroformylated to produce a reaction product comprising branched pentadecanal. Yates teaches that the branched products produced include 2-methyl branched aldehydes at 19.5 wt.% (abstract; table 3).
Weber et al. teach a process, wherein terminal olefins are first isomerized to produce internal olefins that are hydroformylated to produce the corresponding aldehydes. The reference teaches the preparation of isomeric tridecanals, including 2-methyldodecanal at 23.3 wt.% (example 1).
The difference between the instant claims and the cited references is that the instant claim recite a product having greater than 25 wt.% of 2-methyl branched aldehydes. Yates and Weber et al. teach 19.5 wt.% and 23.3 wt.% of 2-methyl branched aldehydes, respectively.
The examiner, however, finds that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to optimize the isomerization process taught by Weber et al. to increase the content of internal olefins in the isomerization mixture, in order to increase the concentration of 2-methyl branched aldehyde products resulting from the hydroformylation of the isomerized mixture. Therefore, the instant claims are rendered obvious by the combined reference teachings.
Double Patenting
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,993,565. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘565 patent are drawn to a process, wherein a linear C4-C36 alpha olefin is isomerized at a first pressure to produce an isomerized olefin; followed by hydroformylation of the isomerized olefin at a second pressure that is different from the first pressure. The claims of the ‘565 patent recite that a branched tridecanal and a branched pentadecanal are among the branched aldehydes made by the process. These compounds render the instant claims obvious. The fact that the process steps, i.e., isomerization and hydroformylation are the same in both sets of claims means that it is reasonable to expect that the branched products are 40 to 100 wt.% branched, as recited in the instant claims.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, and 8-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,680,032. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘032 patent are drawn to a process, wherein a linear C4-C36 alpha olefin is isomerized at a first pressure to produce an isomerized olefin; followed by hydroformylation of the isomerized olefin at a second pressure that is different from the first pressure. The claims of the ‘032 patent recite that a branched undecanal, tridecanal and a branched pentadecanal are among the branched aldehydes made by the process. These compounds render the instant claims obvious. The fact that the process steps, i.e., isomerization and hydroformylation are the same in both sets of claims means that it is reasonable to expect that the branched products are 40 to 100 wt.% branched, as recited in the instant claims.
Claims 19 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, and 8-12 of copending Application No. 18/198,809 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application are drawn to a process, wherein a linear C4-C36 alpha olefin is isomerized at a first pressure to produce an isomerized olefin; followed by hydroformylation of the isomerized olefin at a second pressure that is different from the first pressure. The claims of the reference application recite that a branched undecanal, tridecanal and a branched pentadecanal are among the branched aldehydes made by the process. These compounds render the instant claims obvious. The fact that the process steps, i.e., isomerization and hydroformylation are the same in both sets of claims means that it is reasonable to expect that the branched products are 40 to 100 wt.% branched, as recited in the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 19 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-18 of copending Application No. 18/655,285 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application are drawn to a process, wherein a linear C8-C36 alpha olefin is isomerized at a first pressure to produce an isomerized olefin; followed by hydroformylation of the isomerized olefin at a second pressure that is different from the first pressure. The claims of the reference application recite that a branched tridecanal and a branched pentadecanal are among the branched aldehydes made by the process. These compounds render the instant claims obvious. The fact that the process steps, i.e., isomerization and hydroformylation are the same in both sets of claims means that it is reasonable to expect that the branched products are 40 to 100 wt.% branched, as recited in the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 19 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 8-12 of copending Application No. 17/921,098 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application are drawn to a process, wherein a linear C4-C36 alpha olefin is isomerized at a first pressure to produce an isomerized olefin; followed by hydroformylation of the isomerized olefin at a second pressure that is different from the first pressure. The claims of the reference application recite that a branched undecanal, tridecanal and a branched pentadecanal are among the branched aldehydes made by the process. These compounds render the instant claims obvious. The fact that the process steps, i.e., isomerization and hydroformylation are the same in both sets of claims means that it is reasonable to expect that the branched products are 40 to 100 wt.% branched, as recited in the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 19 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/755,473 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application are drawn to a process, wherein a linear C4-C36 alpha olefin is isomerized at a first pressure to produce an isomerized olefin; followed by hydroformylation of the isomerized olefin at a second pressure that is different from the first pressure. The claims of the reference application recite that a branched tridecanal and a branched pentadecanal are among the branched aldehydes made by the process. These compounds render the instant claims obvious. The fact that the process steps, i.e., isomerization and hydroformylation are the same in both sets of claims means that it is reasonable to expect that the branched products are 40 to 100 wt.% branched, as recited in the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The examiner acknowledges that applicants filed terminal disclaimers along with the request for continued examination; however, until such time that said terminal disclaimers are approved by the Office, the non-statutory double patenting rejections of record will stand.
/SIKARL A WITHERSPOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692