DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on August 28, 2025. Claims 1-3 and 10 are currently amended. Claims 1-14 are pending review in this action. The previous objection to the claims is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s corresponding amendment.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on December 3, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese Patent Publication No. 2008-198484, hereinafter Watabe. (A machine translation of Watabe is provided with the current office action).
Regarding claim 1, Watabe teaches a secondary battery (paragraph [0018] and figure 1). The secondary battery comprises an electrode assembly (2) (paragraph [0018] and figure 2). An electrode lead (3) is bonded to the electrode assembly (2) (paragraph [0018] and figure 2).
A container (1, “pouch”) comprises a cup portion (5) accommodating the electrode assembly (2) therein (paragraphs [0019, 0020] and figures 1 and 3). A front end of the electrode lead (3) extends outside of the container (1, “pouch”) in a longitudinal direction of the electrode lead (3) (paragraph [0019] and figures 1, 5, 7). The container (1, “pouch”) has a sealing part sealing the cup portion (5) (paragraph [0019]).
A lead film (10) is bonded to and seals the sealing part and the electrode lead (3) (paragraph [0021] and figure 2).
Watabe teaches sealing the container (1, “pouch”) through thermal fusion by using a pair of heating elements (11a and 11b), which sandwich the perimeter of the container (1, “pouch”). Each heating element (11a and 11b) is equipped with a recessed portion (12) and protrusions (13a and 13b), which overlap the section of the container’s perimeter where the electrode lead (3) extends out of the container (1, “pouch”) (paragraphs [0024, 0026] and figure 5). Applying heat and pressure through the heating elements (11a and 11b) results in the formation of a “lead pattern layer” on the surface of the lead film (10) and a “sealing pattern layer” on a surface of the sealing part. The “sealing pattern layer” is in surface contact with and bonded to the “lead pattern layer” (paragraphs [0025-0027]).
The “lead pattern layer” comprises a lead concave part and a lead convex part each extending across an entirety of the electrode lead (3) in the width direction of the electrode lead (3) (figures 5, 7 and 8). It is noted that the “lead pattern layer” includes portions with various protruding heights relative to the surface of the electrode lead (3) – they can be designated “concave” and “convex” depending on these relative heights. Further, Watabe explicitly states that the lead film (10) is needed at the interface of the container (1, “pouch”) and the electrode lead (3) for the purpose of effectively bonding the container (1, “pouch”) to the metal electrode lead (3) (paragraph [0021]). It is therefore understood that a thin layer of the lead film (10) remains at the interface between the electrode lead (3) and the container (1, “pouch”) at the areas compressed by the protrusions (13a and 13b). In those sections, the “lead pattern layer” is understood to have concave parts.
The “sealing pattern layer” comprises a sealing concave part and a sealing convex part each extending across an entirety of the electrode lead (3) in the width direction of the electrode lead (3) (figures 5, 7 and 8). The sealing concave part and the sealing convex part are in surface contact with and bonded to the lead convex part and the lead concave part (paragraphs [0025, 0026] and figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 2, Watabe teaches that the lead concave part and the lead convex part are alternately arranged in the longitudinal direction of the electrode lead (3) (figures 7 and 8).
The sealing concave part and the sealing convex part are alternately arranged in the longitudinal direction of the electrode lead (3) (figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 3, Watabe teaches that the lead convex part has a width greater than a width of the lead concave part. The sealing convex part has a width smaller than a width of the sealing concave part (see Figure 1 below).
The sealing convex part and the lead concave part are bonded in surface contact with each other. The sealing concave part and the lead convex part are bonded in surface contact with each other (see Figure 1 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1 - Indicating the concave and convex parts relevant to claim 3.)]
Regarding claim 5, Watabe teaches that that sealing part has a structure in which a polyethylene resin layer (9), an aluminum layer (7) and a nylon film (8) (“insulating layer”) are sequentially stacked (paragraph [0020] and figure 4). Entireties of the polyethylene resin layer (9), the aluminum layer (7) and the nylon film (8) are patterned to comprise the sealing concave part and the sealing convex part (figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 7, Watabe teaches that that lead convex part and the lead concave part together have a wavy shape in cross-section (figures 7 and 8).
The sealing convex part and the sealing concave part together have a wavy shape in cross-section (figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 8, Watabe teaches that the lead film (10) has a portion (“lead pattern layer”) including the convex and concave parts (figure 7 and 8). This portion (“lead pattern layer”) is integral with the base of the lead film (10), which does not have the convex and concave parts. Given that the two are integral, they are attached to each other.
Watabe teaches that that sealing part has a structure in which a polyethylene resin layer (9), an aluminum layer (7) and a nylon film (8) are sequentially stacked (paragraph [0020] and figure 4).
The polypropylene resin layer (9) is attached to a surface of the sealing part that confronts the “lead pattern layer” (figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 10, Watabe teaches a method of manufacturing a secondary battery.
The method comprises providing an electrode assembly (2) and bonding an electrode lead (3) to the electrode assembly (paragraph [0018]). The method further comprises providing a container (1, “pouch”) comprising a sealing part and a cup portion (5) (paragraph [0019, 0020]). A front end of the electrode lead (3) extends outside of the container (1, “pouch”) in a longitudinal direction of the electrode lead (3) (paragraph [0019] and figures 1, 5, 7).
A lead film (10) is attached to a portion of the electrode lead (3) (paragraph [0021] and figure 2).
The method comprises compressing a surface of the lead film (10) to form a “lead pattern layer” on which a lead concave part and a lead convex part are patterned (paragraphs [0024-0027]). It is noted that the “lead pattern layer” includes portions with various protruding heights relative to the surface of the electrode lead (3) – they can be designated “concave” and “convex” depending on these relative heights. Further, Watabe explicitly states that the lead film (10) is needed at the interface of the container (1, “pouch”) and the electrode lead (3) for the purpose of effectively bonding the container (1, “pouch”) to the metal electrode lead (3) (paragraph [0021]). It is therefore understood that a thin layer of the lead film (10) remains at the interface between the electrode lead (3) and the container (1, “pouch”) at the areas compressed by the protrusions (13a and 13b). In those sections, the “lead pattern layer” is understood to have concave parts.
The method further comprises thermally fusing the sealing part to seal the cup portion (5) such that a “sealing pattern layer” is formed on the sealing part. The “sealing pattern layer” includes a sealing concave part and a sealing convex part in surface contact with the “lead pattern layer” (paragraphs [0024-0027] and figures 7 and 8).
During the compressing of the surface of the lead film (10), the lead concave part and the lead convex part are formed extending across the entirety of the electrode lead (3) in a width direction of the electrode lead (3) perpendicular to the longitudinal direction and the sealing concave part and the sealing convex part extend across an entirety of the electrode lead (3) in the width direction of the electrode lead (figures 5, 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 11, Watabe teaches that during the compressing of the surface of the lead film (10), the lead concave part and the lead convex part are formed extending in a longitudinal direction of the electrode lead (3) and the sealing concave part and the sealing convex part are alternately formed in the longitudinal direction of the electrode lead (figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 12, Watabe teaches that during the compressing of the surface of the lead film (10), the lead concave part and the lead convex part are alternately formed in a longitudinal direction of the electrode lead (3) and the sealing concave part and the sealing convex part are alternately formed in the longitudinal direction of the electrode lead (figures 7 and 8). The lead concave part and the lead convex part together have a wavy shape in cross section and the sealing concave part and the sealing convex part together have a wavy shape in cross section (figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 13, Watabe teaches that during the thermally fusing of the sealing part, a portion of the sealing part is inserted in the lead concave part of the “lead pattern layer” to form a sealing convex part. A remaining portion of the sealing part is recessed relative to the lead convex part of the “lead pattern layer” to form a sealing concave part (figures 7 and 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent Publication JP 2008-198484, hereinafter Watabe as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0288746, hereinafter Abe.
Regarding claim 4, Watabe teaches that the stripe-like protrusions (13a and 13b), which give rise to the concave and convex parts in the lead film (10) and the sealing part are arranged to overlap the position of the lead (3) (paragraph [0024]).
In Watabe’s assembly, there are two leads (3 and 4) positioned on the same side of the battery cell. The stripe-like protrusions (13a and 13b) span both leads (3 and 4) such that the concave and convex parts would be formed both on surfaces covering the leads and in a section of the sealing part positioned between the leads (3 and 4) (figure 5).
Watabe fails to teach that the concave and convex parts are disposed only on surfaces of the lead film (10) and sealing portion where the electrode lead (3) is disposed.
The formation of battery cells having a single lead on one side of the battery cell is ubiquitous in the art – see, e.g. Abe (figure 1).
It would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a battery cell having a single lead on one side of the battery cell and to form the stripe-like protrusions (13a and 13b) such that the convex and concave parts in the lead film (10) and sealing part would formed only where the electrode lead (3) is disposed for the purpose of effective sealing the container (1, “pouch”) in the area of the lead (3).
Regarding claim 6, Watabe teaches that that sealing part has a structure in which a polyethylene resin layer (9), an aluminum layer (7) and a nylon film (8) (“insulating layer”) are sequentially stacked (paragraph [0020] and figure 4).
The sealing part is contiguous around the perimeter of the battery, therefore all of it may be considered the “sealing pattern layer”.
Watabe teaches that the stripe-like protrusions (13a and 13b), which give rise to the concave and convex pattern of the “sealing pattern layer” are arranged to overlap the position of the lead (3) (paragraph [0024]).
In Watabe’s assembly, there are two leads (3 and 4) positioned on the same side of the battery cell. The stripe-like protrusions (13a and 13b) span both leads (3 and 4) such that the concave and convex pattern is formed both on the resin layer (9) bonded to the lead film (10) of each lead and also on the resin layer (9) in a section of the “sealing pattern layer” that is positioned between the leads (3 and 4) and thus not bonded to the lead film (10) (figure 5).
Watabe fails to teach that the concave and convex pattern is formed only on the resin layer (9) bonded to the lead film (10).
The formation of battery cells having a single lead on one side of the battery cell is ubiquitous in the art – see, e.g. Abe (figure 1).
It would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a battery cell having a single lead on one side of the battery cell and to form the stripe-like protrusions (13a and 13b) such that the convex and concave pattern is formed only on the resin layer (9) bonded to the lead film (10) for the purpose of effective sealing the container (1, “pouch”) in the area of the lead (3).
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0118640, hereinafter Miyake in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0170521, hereinafter Narita.
Regarding claim 1, Miyake teaches a secondary battery (paragraph [0007]). The secondary battery comprises an electrode assembly (12, 13 and 14) (paragraph [0065] and figure ). An electrode lead (10) is bonded to the electrode assembly (12, 13 and 14) (paragraph [0066]).
A pouch (11/31/36) comprises an accommodation part accommodating the electrode assembly (12, 13 and 14) therein (paragraphs [0075, 0185] and figures 1C-1E, 6C and 6D). A front end of the electrode lead (10) extends outside of the pouch (11/31/36) in a longitudinal direction of the electrode lead (10) (figures 1D, 1E, 6C and 6D). The pouch (11/31/36) has a sealing part (17) sealing the accommodation part (paragraph [0076] and figures 1D, 6A, 6B).
A lead film (15) is bonded to and seals the sealing part (17) and the electrode lead (10) (paragraph [0076]).
A lead pattern layer is provided on a surface of the lead film (15). A sealing pattern layer is provided on a surface of the sealing part (17). The sealing pattern layer is in surface contact with and bonded to the lead pattern layer (figures 6C and 6D).
The lead pattern layer comprises a lead concave part and a lead convex part each extending in a width direction of the electrode lead (10) (paragraphs [0186, 0189] and figures 6A and 6B).
The sealing pattern layer comprises a sealing concave part and a sealing convex part each extending in a width direction of the electrode lead (10) (paragraphs [0186, 0189] and figures 6A and 6B) . The sealing concave part and the sealing convex part are in surface contact with and bonded to the lead convex part and the lead concave part (figures 6C and 6D).
Miyake fails to teach that each of the lead concave part, the lead convex part, the sealing concave part and the sealing convex part extend across an entirety of the electrode lead (10) in the width direction of the electrode lead (10) perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the electrode lead.
The Narita reference is commonly owned with Miyake. Narita is directed to an analogous secondary battery (500), having electrode leads (510/511) extending outside of an analogous pouch case (529). Narita teaches forming the concave and convex parts such that they extend in the width direction of the electrode leads (510/511) (labeled as the x-direction in Miyake ‘521’s figure 6A). Narita teaches that this pattern would relieve stress applied when the battery (500) is curved in the battery’s longitudinal direction (y-direction in Narita’s figure 6A) (paragraphs [0119-0121] and figures 6A and 6B).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form Miyake’s concave and convex parts in the pattern taught by Narita for the purpose of ensuring that Miyake’s secondary battery can be safely curved in its longitudinal direction.
In the combination of Miyake and Narita the lead concave part, the lead convex part, the sealing concave part and the sealing convex part would extend across an entirety of the electrode lead (10) in the width direction of the electrode lead (10).
Regarding claim 2, Miyake teaches that the lead concave part and the lead convex part are alternately arranged in the longitudinal direction of the electrode lead (10) (figures 6C and 6D).
The sealing concave part and the sealing convex part are alternately arranged in the longitudinal direction of the electrode lead (10) (figures 6C and 6D).
Regarding claim 5, Miyake teaches that that sealing part (17) has a structure in which a polypropylene/polyethylene resin film, an aluminum layer and a nylon resin layer (“insulating layer”) are sequentially stacked (paragraph [0075]). Entireties of the polypropylene/polyethylene resin film, an aluminum layer and a nylon resin layer (“insulating layer”) are patterned to comprise the sealing concave part and the sealing convex part (figures 6C and 6D).
Regarding claim 7, Miyake as modified by Narita teaches that that lead convex part and the lead concave part together have a wavy shape in cross-section (Miyake’s figures 6C and 6D and Narita’s figure 6B).
The sealing convex part and the sealing concave part together have a wavy shape in cross-section (Miyake’s figures 6C and 6D and Narita’s figure 6B).
Regarding claim 8, Miyake teaches that the lead film (15) has a portion (“lead pattern layer”) including the convex and concave parts (figure 6C and 6D). This portion (“lead pattern layer”) is integral with the base of the lead film (5), which does not have the convex and concave parts. Given that the two are integral, they are attached to each other.
Miyake teaches that that sealing part (17) has a structure in which a nylon resin layer, an aluminum layer and a polypropylene adhesive film are sequentially stacked (paragraph [0075]).
The polypropylene adhesive film is attached to a surface of the sealing part (17) that confronts the “lead pattern layer” (figure 6C and 6D).
Regarding claim 14, Miyake teaches a battery pack comprising multiple secondary battery cells connected in series and controlling with a battery management unit (paragraphs [0231, 0232]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0118640, hereinafter Miyake in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0170521, hereinafter Narita as applied to claim 8 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0288746, hereinafter Abe.
Regarding claim 9, Miyake teaches a propylene adhesive film as the “sealing pattern layer”. The “lead pattern layer” is integral with the lead film (15) – thus they are made of the same material. Miyake does not specify the material of the lead film (15).
Miyake fails to teach that the “lead pattern layer” and the “sealing pattern layer” are made of the same material.
It is well-known in the art to form lead films from polypropylene due to its adhesive properties – see, e.g. Abe, who teaches an analogous battery cell having leads (3a, 3b) and lead films (5) formed of polypropylene (paragraph [0062]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form Miyake’s lead film (15) of polypropylene for the purpose of taking advantage of its adhesive properties and securely sealing the pouch (11/31/36).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s newly added limitations have been considered. However, after further search and consideration, the Watabe reference and the combination of the Miyake and Narita references has been provided, as recited above, to address the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724
LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA
Examiner
Art Unit 1724