DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwack, S. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2012/0240766, hereinafter Kwack) and as evidenced by National Oceanic Atmospheric Administration (“Ocean Acidification”. National Oceanic Atmospheric Administration, hereinafter NOAA).
In regards to Claim 1, Kwack discloses an air purifier comprising:
a body (#10 gas filtration system) having an air inlet (gas inlet where gas is forced by means of a gas pump) through which air in an environment is sucked and a clean air outlet (#56) through which cleaned air is released to the environment (see figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0016], [0018] and [0040]; Kwack discloses wherein a gas pump is used to force a gas, i.e. air in an environment, into the body of the gas filtration system. Therefore, it is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that an air inlet is reasonably present in the body of the gas filtration system, as claimed by the applicant.);
a CO2 adsorption unit formed as an enclosure (#30a) within the body, which can be filled with a basic liquid solution (water or any other component which can achieve the same functions of removing greenhouse/noxious gases) and which provides adsorption of carbon dioxide in the air, the enclosure (#30a) comprising an upper wall including at least an inlet (#54) and an outlet (#76), the cleaned air traveling through the outlet (#76) on the upper wall to the clean air outlet (#56) on the body (see figure 1-3 and paragraphs [0016], [0024] and [0037]); and
an air duct through which the air taken from the body (#10) travels through the inlet (#54) on the upper wall into the CO2 adsorption unit (#30a), characterized by a diffuser (#70) positioned in the CO2 adsorption unit (#30a) and having a cylindrical body comprising at least one opening (#40) thereon which allows passage of the air into the CO2 adsorption unit (#30a) such that the air is passed therethrough by means of the air duct so as to be mixed with a basic liquid solution in the CO2 adsorption unit (#30a) in a manner to have bubbles (see figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0040]-[0043]).
Examiner notes that although Kwack does not explicitly disclose a basic solution for CO2 adsorption, it has been held that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114. The prior art apparatus is capable of providing atmospheric air which contains CO2 to contact a solution. The prior art apparatus is also capable of using any fluid, even a basic liquid solution. Further, even if the prior art solution used is water, it is very well known in the art that water absorbs CO2 forming carbonic acid, which is a process well known to cause ocean acidification.
This is evidenced by NOAA. NOAA discloses that carbon dioxide, which is naturally in the atmosphere, dissolves into seawater. Water and carbon dioxide combine to form carbonic acid, a weak acid that breaks into hydrogen ions and bicarbonate ions (see page 2).
Claims 2, 4-6, 10-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwack as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maruya et al. (US Pat. No. 3,644,231, hereinafter Maruya).
In regards to Claim 2, Kwack discloses the air purifier as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the diffuser has a membrane which can be connected to the cylindrical body so as to completely enclose the cylindrical body through which the air passes and which comprises a plurality of holes allowing the air passing through the opening of the cylindrical body to pass into the CO2 adsorption unit.
However, Maruya teaches an improved porous air diffuser member. The air-diffusing porous member comprises a porous body having continuous fine pores, it is high in mechanical properties and light in weight but is tough, and uniform fine bubbles can be produced therethrough in a liquid tank (see column 2, lines 5-20). The porous body of the air-diffusing porous member is shaped into an air-diffusing tube (see column 4, lines 27-30). The air-diffusing tube is fitted inside a liquid tank. Air is fed through an air-feeding pipe (#3) so that uniform air bubbles are generated through the air-diffusing tube (#5), i.e. diffuser. As shown in figure 3, a tubular diffuser (#11), i.e. diffuser having a cylindrical body having at least one opening, to which a tubular porous member (#5), i.e. membrane connected to the cylindrical body so as to completely enclose of the cylindrical body, of the present invention is fitted. Air fed through the air-feeding pipe (#3) enters the pipe (#11) perforated as at (#12), i.e. cylindrical body having at least one opening, and fixed to the air-diffuser holder (#10). Through the perforation (#12) the air is discharged into the air chamber (#20) and is diffused as uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube (#5) (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 63-75).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the air purifier as disclosed by Kwack by having the diffuser to further have a membrane which can be connected to the cylindrical body so as to completely enclose the cylindrical body through which the air passes and which comprises a plurality of holes allowing the air passing through the opening of the cylindrical body to pass into the CO2 adsorption unit, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Maruya teaches an improved porous air diffuser member comprising a tubular diffuser, i.e. diffuser having a cylindrical body having at least one opening, to which a tubular porous member, i.e. membrane connected to the cylindrical body so as to completely enclose of the cylindrical body, is fitted, and air fed through an air-feeding pipe enters the perforated tubular diffuser and through the perforation the air is discharged into the air chamber and is diffused as uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube, thereby obtaining an air-diffusing porous member comprises a porous body having continuous fine pores which it is high in mechanical properties and light in weight but is tough, which generate uniform fine bubbles for improved uniform gas-liquid reaction process efficiency (see figure 3, and column 1, lines 32-34, column 2, lines 5-20 and column 7, lines 63-75).
In regards to Claim 4, Kwack, in view of Maruya, discloses the air purifier as recited in claim 2. Maruya further teaches two clamps (#10, #13) which join the membrane (#5) and the cylindrical body (#11) at two end portions of the cylindrical body (#11) (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 63-69).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the air purifier as disclosed by Kwack by having the diffuser to further include two clamps which join the membrane and the cylindrical body at two end portions of the cylindrical body, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Maruya teaches an improved porous air diffuser member comprising a tubular diffuser, i.e. diffuser having a cylindrical body having at least one opening, to which a tubular porous member, i.e. membrane connected to the cylindrical body so as to completely enclose of the cylindrical body, is fitted, and the air-diffusing tube is held with an air-diffusing tube holder, i.e. clamp, and a cover is fitted to the other end of the tube, i.e. clamp, for safely and firmly securing the tubular porous member to the tubular diffuser (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 63-69).
In regards to Claim 5, Kwack, in view of Maruya, discloses the air purifier as recited in claim 2. Maruya further teaches wherein the cylindrical body (#11), i.e. tubular diffuser, has an opening (#12) with a diameter larger than that of the holes on the membrane (#5) (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 71-75; Maruya teaches air fed through the air-feeding pipe #3 enters the pipe #11 perforated as at #12 and fixed to the air-diffusing tube holder #10. Through the perforation #12 the air is discharged into the air chamber #20 and is diffused as uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube #5. Since the perforation #12 discharges the air into the air chamber #20 and then the air is diffused as uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube, it is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that the perforation in the cylindrical body reasonably has to have a diameter larger than that of the holes of the membrane, in order to air in the generation of uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube.
In the alternative, although Maruya is silent in regards to wherein an opening in the cylindrical body has a diameter larger than that of the holes on the membrane, adjusting the opening in the cylindrical body to have an optimum diameter is within one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation, in order to obtain a desired end-result, such as for improving the uniformity of fine bubbles being generated through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube, and is considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the air purifier as disclosed by Kwack, by having the cylindrical body to have an opening with a diameter larger than that of the holes on the membrane, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Maruya teaches an improved porous air diffuser member comprising a tubular diffuser, i.e. diffuser having a cylindrical body having at least one opening, to which a tubular porous member, i.e. membrane connected to the cylindrical body so as to completely enclose of the cylindrical body, is fitted, wherein the air fed through the air-feeding pipe enters the pipe which has a perforation and fixed to the air-diffusing tube holder, whereby through the perforation the air is discharged into the air chamber and is diffused as uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 71-75).
In regards to Claim 6, Kwack, in view of Maruya, discloses the air purifier as recited in claim 1. Maruya further teaches wherein the diffuser has a cover (#14) at a part of the cylindrical body (#11) which is not connected to the air duct (#3) (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 65-73).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the air purifier as disclosed by Kwack, by having the diffuser to a cover at the part of the cylindrical body which is not connected to the air duct, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Maruya teaches an improved porous air diffuser member comprising a tubular diffuser, i.e. diffuser having a cylindrical body having at least one opening, to which a tubular porous member, i.e. membrane connected to the cylindrical body so as to completely enclose of the cylindrical body, is fitted, and a cover at the part of the cylindrical body which is not connected to the air duct, for efficiently blocking the passage of air through the end of the cylindrical body and force the air to pass through the air-diffusing tube for efficiently forming uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 65-73).
In regards to Claim 10, Kwack, in view of Maruya, discloses the air purifier as recited in claim 4. Maruya further teaches wherein the cylindrical body (#11), i.e. tubular diffuser, has an opening (#12) with a diameter larger than that of the holes on the membrane (#5) (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 71-75; Maruya teaches air fed through the air-feeding pipe #3 enters the pipe #11 perforated as at #12 and fixed to the air-diffusing tube holder #10. Through the perforation #12 the air is discharged into the air chamber #20 and is diffused as uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube #5. Since the perforation #12 discharges the air into the air chamber #20 and then the air is diffused as uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube, it is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that the perforation in the cylindrical body reasonably has to have a diameter larger than that of the holes of the membrane, in order to air in the generation of uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube.
In the alternative, although Maruya is silent in regards to wherein an opening in the cylindrical body has a diameter larger than that of the holes on the membrane, adjusting the opening in the cylindrical body to have an optimum diameter is within one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation, in order to obtain a desired end-result, such as for improving the uniformity of fine bubbles being generated through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube, and is considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the air purifier as disclosed by Kwack, by having the cylindrical body to have an opening with a diameter larger than that of the holes on the membrane, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Maruya teaches an improved porous air diffuser member comprising a tubular diffuser, i.e. diffuser having a cylindrical body having at least one opening, to which a tubular porous member, i.e. membrane connected to the cylindrical body so as to completely enclose of the cylindrical body, is fitted, wherein the air fed through the air-feeding pipe enters the pipe which has a perforation and fixed to the air-diffusing tube holder, whereby through the perforation the air is discharged into the air chamber and is diffused as uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 71-75).
In regards to Claim 11, Kwack, in view of Maruya, discloses the air purifier as recited in claim 2. Maruya further teaches wherein the diffuser has a cover (#14) at a part of the cylindrical body (#11) which is not connected to the air duct (#3) (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 65-73).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the air purifier as disclosed by Kwack, by having the diffuser to a cover at the part of the cylindrical body which is not connected to the air duct, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Maruya teaches an improved porous air diffuser member comprising a tubular diffuser, i.e. diffuser having a cylindrical body having at least one opening, to which a tubular porous member, i.e. membrane connected to the cylindrical body so as to completely enclose of the cylindrical body, is fitted, and a cover at the part of the cylindrical body which is not connected to the air duct, for efficiently blocking the passage of air through the end of the cylindrical body and force the air to pass through the air-diffusing tube for efficiently forming uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 65-73).
In regards to Claim 13, Kwack, in view of Maruya, discloses the air purifier as recited in claim 4. Maruya further teaches wherein the diffuser has a cover (#14) at a part of the cylindrical body (#11) which is not connected to the air duct (#3) (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 65-73).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the air purifier as disclosed by Kwack, by having the diffuser to a cover at the part of the cylindrical body which is not connected to the air duct, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Maruya teaches an improved porous air diffuser member comprising a tubular diffuser, i.e. diffuser having a cylindrical body having at least one opening, to which a tubular porous member, i.e. membrane connected to the cylindrical body so as to completely enclose of the cylindrical body, is fitted, and a cover at the part of the cylindrical body which is not connected to the air duct, for efficiently blocking the passage of air through the end of the cylindrical body and force the air to pass through the air-diffusing tube for efficiently forming uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 65-73).
In regards to Claim 14, Kwack, in view of Maruya, discloses the air purifier as recited in claim 5. Maruya further teaches wherein the diffuser has a cover (#14) at a part of the cylindrical body (#11) which is not connected to the air duct (#3) (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 65-73).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the air purifier as disclosed by Kwack, by having the diffuser to a cover at the part of the cylindrical body which is not connected to the air duct, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Maruya teaches an improved porous air diffuser member comprising a tubular diffuser, i.e. diffuser having a cylindrical body having at least one opening, to which a tubular porous member, i.e. membrane connected to the cylindrical body so as to completely enclose of the cylindrical body, is fitted, and a cover at the part of the cylindrical body which is not connected to the air duct, for efficiently blocking the passage of air through the end of the cylindrical body and force the air to pass through the air-diffusing tube for efficiently forming uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 65-73).
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwack as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tharp, C. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2005/0151281, hereinafter Tharp).
In regards to Claim 3, Kwack discloses the air purifier as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose characterized by the diffuser having a membrane which comprises a plurality of holes, wherein a diameter of a hole of the plurality of holes is between 0.5 and 1.5mm and each hole has the same diameter.
However, Tharp teaches a tubular diffuser with a flexible membrane that is constructed to enhance the uniformity of distribution of gases to a liquid in a diffusion process in order to increase the gas transfer efficiency membrane diffusers (see paragraph [0011]).
Tharp further teaches a tubular diffuser (#10) which includes a cylindrical pipe (#12) and a cylindrical membrane (#14) which is sleeved closely around the pipe (#12) and secured in place to the pipe by hose clamps (#16). In a typical application, the diffuser (#10) is supplied with air or another gas to which the gas is supplied by a fan or blower (see figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0034]-[0035]). The cylindrical membrane (#14) is constructed of a flexible material and is provided with a plurality of perforations, such that when gas is applied to the inside of the membrane, the gas pressure expands the membrane (#14) and deflects it outwardly such that the perforations open and discharge the gas into the surrounding liquid in the form of fine bubbles. The discharge of the gas in small bubbles enhances the efficiency of the transfer of gas to the liquid and thus enhances the efficiency of the diffusion process (see paragraph [0036]). The perforations in the membrane (#14) are specially arranged in order to more uniformly distribute the gas over the entire surface area of the membrane (see paragraph [0037]). For example, perforations (#50) in a zone can be approximately 0.5mm long each, i.e. each hole has the same diameter, and in another zone the perforations can be 0.75mm long each. It should be recognized that any combination of slit length, separation and row spacing can be used to achieve the overall result of substantially uniform distribution of gas around the entire circumference of the membrane (#14) (see figures 1-3 and paragraph [0047]).
Examiner notes that although Tharp does not explicitly disclose a diameter of the hole of the plurality of holes is between 0.5 to 1.5mm, slit dimensions control bubble size similarly to circular holes, and Tharp clearly teaches the importance of controlling the size/length of the slits and maintaining equal lengths of slits in a specific zone for achieving a substantial uniform distribution of gases around the entire circumference of the membrane (see paragraph [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to substitute the slits in Tharp for holes, as claimed by the applicant, changing the shape of the aperture to a hole is a mere engineering design choice, and optimize the diameter of the hole of the plurality of holes to be between 0.5mm to 1.5mm, as claimed by the applicant, since the diffuser aperture geometry is a result-effective variable and Tharp clearly teaches the importance of controlling the size/length of the slits and maintaining equal lengths of slits in a specific zone for achieving a substantial uniform distribution of gases around the entire circumference of the membrane (see paragraph [0047]).
In regards to Claim 8, Kwack, in view of Tharp, discloses the air purifier as recited in claim 3. Tharp further teaches characterized by two clamps (#16) which join the membrane (#14) and the cylindrical body (#12) at two end portions of the cylindrical body (#12) (see figure 1 and paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the air purifier as disclosed by Kwack by further having two clamps to join the membrane and the cylindrical body at two end portions of the cylindrical body, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Tharp further teaches that the tubular membrane diffuser includes a rigid cylindrical pipe and a cylindrical membrane which is sleeved closely around the pipe and secured in place to the pie by hose clamps applied to the opposite end portion of the membrane, for securely fastening the membrane to the cylindrical pipe (see paragraph [0034]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwack, in view of Maruya, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Tharp.
In regards to Claim 7, Kwack, in view of Maruya, discloses the air purifier as recited in claim 2, but fails to disclose wherein the diameter of the hole is between 0.5 and 1.5mm and each hole has the same diameter.
However, Tharp teaches a tubular diffuser with a flexible membrane that is constructed to enhance the uniformity of distribution of gases to a liquid in a diffusion process in order to increase the gas transfer efficiency membrane diffusers (see paragraph [0011]).
Tharp further teaches a tubular diffuser (#10) which includes a cylindrical pipe (#12) and a cylindrical membrane (#14) which is sleeved closely around the pipe (#12) and secured in place to the pipe by hose clamps. In a typical application, the diffuser (#10) is supplied with air or another gas to which the gas is supplied by a fan or blower (see figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0034]-[0035]). The cylindrical membrane (#14) is constructed of a flexible material and is provided with a plurality of perforations, such that when gas is applied to the inside of the membrane, the gas pressure expands the membrane (#14) and deflects it outwardly such that the perforations open and discharge the gas into the surrounding liquid in the form of fine bubbles. The discharge of the gas in small bubbles enhances the efficiency of the transfer of gas to the liquid and thus enhances the efficiency of the diffusion process (see paragraph [0036]). The perforations in the membrane (#14) are specially arranged in order to more uniformly distribute the gas over the entire surface area of the membrane (see paragraph [0037]). For example, perforations (#50) in a zone can be approximately 0.5mm long each, i.e. each hole has the same diameter, and in another zone the perforations can be 0.75mm long each. It should be recognized that any combination of slit length, separation and row spacing can be used to achieve the overall result of substantially uniform distribution of gas around the entire circumference of the membrane (#14) (see figures 1-3 and paragraph [0047]).
Examiner notes that although Tharp does not explicitly disclose a diameter of the hole of the plurality of holes is between 0.5 to 1.5mm, slit dimensions control bubble size similarly to circular holes, and Tharp clearly teaches the importance of controlling the size/length of the slits and maintaining equal lengths of slits in a specific zone for achieving a substantial uniform distribution of gases around the entire circumference of the membrane. Therefore, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to substitute the slits in Tharp for holes, as claimed by the applicant, changing the shape of the aperture to a hole is a mere engineering design choice, and optimize the diameter of the hole of the plurality of holes to be between 0.5mm to 1.5mm, as claimed by the applicant, since the diffuser aperture geometry is a result-effective variable and Tharp clearly teaches the importance of controlling the size/length of the slits and maintaining equal lengths of slits in a specific zone for achieving a substantial uniform distribution of gases around the entire circumference of the membrane (see paragraph [0047]).
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwack, in view of Tharp, and further in view of Maruya.
In regards to Claim 9, Kwack, in view of Tharp, discloses the air purifier as recited in claim 3, but fails to disclose characterized by the cylindrical body having an opening with a diameter larger than that of the holes on the membrane.
However, Maruya teaches an improved porous air diffuser member. The air-diffusing porous member comprises a porous body having continuous fine pores, it is high in mechanical properties and light in weight but is tough, and uniform fine bubbles can be produced therethrough in a liquid tank (see column 2, lines 5-20). The porous body of the air-diffusing porous member is shaped into an air-diffusing tube (see column 4, lines 27-30). The air-diffusing tube is fitted inside a liquid tank. Air is fed through an air-feeding pipe (#3) so that uniform air bubbles are generated through the air-diffusing tube (#5), i.e. diffuser. As shown in figure 3, a tubular diffuser (#11), i.e. diffuser having a cylindrical body having at least one opening, to which a tubular porous member (#5), i.e. membrane connected to the cylindrical body so as to completely enclose of the cylindrical body, of the present invention is fitted. Air fed through the air-feeding pipe (#3) enters the pipe (#11) perforated as at (#12), i.e. cylindrical body having at least one opening, and fixed to the air-diffuser holder (#10). Through the perforation (#12) the air is discharged into the air chamber (#20) and is diffused as uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube (#5) (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 63-75). Since the perforation #12 discharges the air into the air chamber #20 and then the air is diffused as uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube, it is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that the perforation in the cylindrical body reasonably has to have a diameter larger than that of the holes of the membrane, in order to air in the generation of uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube.
In the alternative, although Maruya is silent in regards to wherein an opening in the cylindrical body has a diameter larger than that of the holes on the membrane, adjusting the opening in the cylindrical body to have an optimum diameter is within one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation, in order to obtain a desired end-result, such as for improving the uniformity of fine bubbles being generated through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube, and is considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the air purifier as disclosed by Kwack, in view of Tharp, by having the cylindrical body to have an opening with a diameter larger than that of the holes on the membrane, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Maruya teaches an improved porous air diffuser member comprising a tubular diffuser, i.e. diffuser having a cylindrical body having at least one opening, to which a tubular porous member, i.e. membrane connected to the cylindrical body so as to completely enclose of the cylindrical body, is fitted, wherein the air fed through the air-feeding pipe enters the pipe which has a perforation and fixed to the air-diffusing tube holder, whereby through the perforation the air is discharged into the air chamber and is diffused as uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 71-75).
In regards to Claim 12, Kwack, in view of Tharp, discloses the air purifier as recited in claim 3, but fails to disclose characterized by the diffuser having a cover at a part of the cylindrical body which is not connected to the air duct.
However, Maruya teaches an improved porous air diffuser member. The air-diffusing porous member comprises a porous body having continuous fine pores, it is high in mechanical properties and light in weight but is tough, and uniform fine bubbles can be produced therethrough in a liquid tank (see column 2, lines 5-20). The porous body of the air-diffusing porous member is shaped into an air-diffusing tube (see column 4, lines 27-30). The air-diffusing tube is fitted inside a liquid tank. Air is fed through an air-feeding pipe (#3) so that uniform air bubbles are generated through the air-diffusing tube (#5), i.e. diffuser. As shown in figure 3, a tubular diffuser (#11), i.e. diffuser having a cylindrical body having at least one opening, to which a tubular porous member (#5 tubular porous member), i.e. membrane connected to the cylindrical body so as to completely enclose of the cylindrical body, of the present invention is fitted. A cover (#14) is fitted to the other end of the tube (#5) that is not connected to the air duct (#3). Air fed through the air-feeding pipe (#3) enters the pipe (#11) perforated as at (#12), i.e. cylindrical body having at least one opening, and fixed to an air-diffuser holder (#10). Through the perforation (#12) the air is discharged into the air chamber (#20) and is diffused as uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube (#5) (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 63-75).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the air purifier as disclosed by Kwack, in view of Tharp, by having the diffuser to a cover at the part of the cylindrical body which is not connected to the air duct, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Maruya teaches an improved porous air diffuser member comprising a tubular diffuser, i.e. diffuser having a cylindrical body having at least one opening, to which a tubular porous member, i.e. membrane connected to the cylindrical body so as to completely enclose of the cylindrical body, is fitted, and a cover at the part of the cylindrical body which is not connected to the air duct, for efficiently blocking the passage of air through the end of the cylindrical body and force the air to pass through the air-diffusing tube for efficiently forming uniform fine bubbles through the entire surface of the air-diffusing tube (see figure 3 and column 7, lines 65-73).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Seung and Li have been considered but are moot because Seung and Li are no longer used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/JELITZA M PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774