DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1, 5, 9, 15, 17, 18, 20-22, 24, 25, 27, 29, 30, 61-66 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 11/7/25.
Applicant’s election of group I, claims 1, 5, 9, 15, 17, 18, 20-22, 24, 25, 27 and 63-66 without traverse in the reply filed on 11/7/25 has been acknowledged.
Accordingly, claims 29-30 and 61-62 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142 (b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim 1, 5, 9, 15, 17, 18, 20-22, 24, 25, 27 and 63-66 are under consideration in the instant application.
3. Applicant’s IDS filed on 11/29/22 and 10/20/25 have been acknowledged.
4. The oaths filed on 3/16/23 have been acknowledged.
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the inventio to which the claims are directed.
8. Claims 1, 5, 9, 15, 17, 18, 20-22, 24, 25, 27 and 63-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO2018/109588 (IDS reference) as evidenced by the U.S. Pat. 9,415,102 in view of WO2018/154320 (IDS reference) and U.S. Pub. 2003/124119.
The ‘588 publication teaches C5 antibody formulation (e.g. eculizumab) comprising 10-100mg of C5 antibody, 1-20mM of buffer at pH about 5 to 7.8 in the presence of sorbitol, arginine and polysorbate (claims, abstract).
As evidenced by the ‘102 patent teaches C5 antibody formulations comprising histidine, polyol and polysorbate at about pH 6-8 (col. 23) at antibody concentration of 100-200mg/ml. Further, the ‘102 patent teaches SEQ ID NO:12-14 that are identical to the claimed SEQ ID NO:10, 11 and 17, respectively and disclosed as ecrulizumab sequences (note col. 17). Given that prior art SEQ ID NO:12-14 are identical to the claimed SEQ ID NO:10, 11 and 17, the prior art SEQ ID NO:12-14 expect to comprise heavy and light chain CDRs set forth in claim 1 of the instant application.
IN addition, the ‘102 patent teaches 1-20mM of histidine, about 0.01% of polysorbate of 20 or 80, about 5% of mannitol and sorbitol (col. 21-23). Given that the identical antibody at different concentration is formulated in the same buffer, stabilizer concentration, the addition of other excipient may be applicable to ecrulizumab at broad concentration ranges.
The disclosure of the ‘588 publication differs from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of EDTA and acetate as in claims 1, 15, 17, 18, 20-22, 24, 25, 27 and 63-66 of the instant application.
The ‘320 publication teaches the use of 10-50mM of EDTA in the antibody formulation to reduce aggregates and improve stability with antibody at about 25mg/ml (p. 24-35).
Likewise, the ‘119 publication teaches the use of acetate buffer in the antibody formulation to reduce pain upon administration ([0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize EDTA and acetate buffer as taught by the ‘320 and 119 publications into the C5/ecrulizumab antibody formulation taught by the ‘588 publication evidenced by the ‘102 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of EDTA and acetate buffer improves stability and reduces pain upon administration.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
10. Claims 1, 5, 9, 15, 17, 18, 20-22, 24, 25, 27 and 63-66 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Application No. 18/843,084.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘084 application recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising C5 antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:10,11, and 17 in the presence of acetate buffer, EDTA and polysorbate in the presence of polyol.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
11. No claims are allowable.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
November 25, 2025
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641