DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1, 5, 9, 15, 17, 18, 20-22, 24, 25, 27, 29, 30, 61-66 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 4/29/26.
Claims 29-30 and 61-62 stand withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142 (b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim 1, 5, 9, 15, 17, 18, 20-22, 24, 25, 27 and 63-66 are under consideration in the instant application.
3. The new title filed on 4/29/26 is entered.
4. The following rejections remain.
7. Claims 1, 5, 9, 15, 17, 18, 20-22, 24, 25, 27 and 63-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO2018/109588 (IDS reference, of record) as evidenced by the U.S. Pat. 9,415,102 (of record) in view of WO2018/154320 (IDS reference, of record) and U.S. Pub. 2003/124119 (of record) for the reasons set forth in the office action mailed on 12/4/25.
The ‘588 publication teaches C5 antibody formulation (e.g. eculizumab) comprising 10-100mg of C5 antibody, 1-20mM of buffer at pH about 5 to 7.8 in the presence of sorbitol, arginine and polysorbate (claims, abstract).
As evidenced by the ‘102 patent teaches C5 antibody formulations comprising histidine, polyol and polysorbate at about pH 6-8 (col. 23) at antibody concentration of 100-200mg/ml. Further, the ‘102 patent teaches SEQ ID NO:12-14 that are identical to the claimed SEQ ID NO:10, 11 and 17, respectively and disclosed as ecrulizumab sequences (note col. 17). Given that prior art SEQ ID NO:12-14 are identical to the claimed SEQ ID NO:10, 11 and 17, the prior art SEQ ID NO:12-14 expect to comprise heavy and light chain CDRs set forth in claim 1 of the instant application.
IN addition, the ‘102 patent teaches 1-20mM of histidine, about 0.01% of polysorbate of 20 or 80, about 5% of mannitol and sorbitol (col. 21-23). Given that the identical antibody at different concentration is formulated in the same buffer, stabilizer concentration, the addition of other excipient may be applicable to ecrulizumab at broad concentration ranges.
The disclosure of the ‘588 publication differs from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of EDTA and acetate as in claims 1, 15, 17, 18, 20-22, 24, 25, 27 and 63-66 of the instant application.
The ‘320 publication teaches the use of 10-50mM of EDTA in the antibody formulation to reduce aggregates and improve stability with antibody at about 25mg/ml (p. 24-35).
Likewise, the ‘119 publication teaches the use of acetate buffer in the antibody formulation to reduce pain upon administration ([0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize EDTA and acetate buffer as taught by the ‘320 and 119 publications into the C5/ecrulizumab antibody formulation taught by the ‘588 publication evidenced by the ‘102 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of EDTA and acetate buffer improves stability and reduces pain upon administration.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Applicant’s response filed on 4/29/26 has been fully considered but they were not persuasive.
Applicant has asserted that the combination of the references is not obvious and there is no reasonable expectation of success in combining the reference. Applicant has further asserted that the ‘588 publication does not provide a single formulation comprising the claimed excipient and the teachings of the ‘119 publication is not for ecrulizumab but antibody for parathyroid hormone related peptide. Further, Applicant has argued that the formulation comprising 10mM acetate, 5% sorbitol and 0.01% polysorbate at pH 5.2 showed product instability due to detectable metal trace (p. 7 of the response).
However, unlike Applicant’s assertion, the use of EDTA is recognized with various buffer types including acetate (note claims 1-24) in the ‘320 publication in formulating different types of structurally unrelated antibodies; human antibody, chimeric antibody, trastuzumab, rituximab, bevacizumab, cetuximab, iplimumab, etanercept, abatacept, or belatacept. As such, Applicant’s assertion of the acetate buffer being used in formulating parathyroid hormone related peptide to reduce pain is erred and acetate buffer is expected to reduce pain in various types of antibodies. Note obviousness does not require absolute predictability but some decree of predictability is required. See MPEP 2143.02.
Further, showing product instability with 10mM acetate, 5% sorbitol and 0.01% polysorbate at pH 5.2 due to detectable metal trace cannot be applied to the claimed invention in that the EDTA, chelating agent is formulated in the antibody formulations.
Applicant is reminded that one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combination of the references. See MPEP2145.
Therefore, the combination of the references remains obvious and the rejection is maintained.
9. Claims 1, 5, 9, 15, 17, 18, 20-22, 24, 25, 27 and 63-66 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Application No. 18/843,084.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘084 application recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising C5 antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:10,11, and 17 in the presence of acetate buffer, EDTA and polysorbate in the presence of polyol.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
As Applicant has requested that this double patenting rejection be held in abeyance until patentable subject matter has been identified in the instant application, the double patenting rejection is maintained.
10. No claims are allowable.
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
July 22, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641