Response to Amendment
Rejection of claims 1-4 and 7-20 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn in response to amended claims submitted on 10/13/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 1023as being unpatentable over Hoyda (US 11934196) in view of Sheng (WO 2016000622) and Fukuda (US 20170322559).
For claim 1, Hoyda teaches: A material pushing management method (abstract, disclosing a system of a lawn vehicle) comprising:
In response that an electric power reserve of a material pushing robot in an operating area needs is below a preset value, charging the material pushing robot with electric energy (column 1, disclosing an autonomous lawn mower i.e., a material pushing robot. column 9 line 64-coumn 10 line 10, disclosing when voltage of lawn mower battery is below a threshold, it enters a searching mode to seek charging station. Column 10 lines 37-62, further disclosing lawn mower docks at the charging station for recharging) by:
identifying at least one visual identifier in an environment surrounding the material pushing robot by at least one visual sensor (column 2, disclosing a visual identifier to assist the mower to identify a charging station and navigate towards it. And vision assembly determines the visual identifies, hence a visual sensor. Furthermore, disclosing chalk to demark a boundary i.e., identifier lines arranged on ground. And vision based navigation system is trained to recognize this boundary);
generating a navigation instruction according to the at least one visual identifier surrounding the material pushing robot (column2 lines 10-21, disclosing vision based navigation system identifies visual identifier associated with charging station and mower navigates towards the charging station. Furthermore, disclosing chalk to demark a boundary i.e., identifier lines arranged on ground. And vision based navigation system is trained to recognize this boundary); and
based on the navigation instruction, controlling the material pushing robot and/or a charging device, navigate towards each other to charge the material pushing robot by the charging device (Column 10 lines 37-62, further disclosing lawn mower docks at the charging station for recharging)
wherein at least one visual identifier comprises an identifier line arranged on the ground (column 2, disclosing a visual identifier may be paint or chalk to demark boundary of a non-traversable section of lawn and vision based navigation system can be trained to recognize this boundary to perform obstacle avoidance routine. Column 112, disclosing a paint or chalk line as visual identifier), the generating the navigation instruction comprises:
obtaining environment image data in the moving direction of the material pushing robot (column 2, disclosing vision based navigation);
identifying the at least one visual identifier to generate a navigation path based on the environment image data (column 1, disclosing mower takes images of area in front of it. Column 2, disclosing visual identifier is used by navigation system. Column 11, disclosing exclusion zone exclusion zone lies within the bounds of boundary wire 125, which would normally serve as the boundary for travel by autonomous lawn mower 110, allowing contact between autonomous lawn mower 110 and the young tree. And One or more characteristics of the image encompassing paint or chalk line 162 (whether shape, pattern or color) may be processed by vision processor 115 to initiate a programmed obstacle-avoidance response executed by drive system)
Hoyda teaches of vision based navigation and its material pushing device docks (i.e., stops) at charging device (column 2, disclosing using vision based navigation to dock on charging station and recharge), and docking necessitates material pushing device to stop. Hoyda does not explicitly teach: in response that the at least one visual sensor detects a stop identifier, stopping the material pushing robot from moving to start charging
Sheng teaches in response that the at least one visual sensor detects a stop identifier, stopping the material pushing robot from moving to start charging (abstract, disclosing an automatically walking device i.e., material pushing device. Page 4, disclosing returning to charging station to recharge. Page 19-20, disclosing determining distance between stopping station and automatic walking device using image of stop station identifier and proceeding to step S1. And docking the automatic docking device using direction identifier. Steps S1-S4 disclosing docking maneuver. When robot is docked, it stops moving. Stop station identifier is interprated as stop identifier)
Hoyda and Sheng are analogous arts as there are in same field of endeavor i.e., navigation of automatic devices for recharging. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify art of Hoyda to in response that the at least one visual sensor detects a stop identifier, stopping the material pushing robot from moving to start charging as taught by Sheng as additional means to assist in proper docking.
EXAMINER’S NOTE “in response that the at least one visual sensor detects a stop identifier, stopping the material pushing robot from moving to start charging” is interprated as “stopping the material pushing robot from moving to start charging when stop identifier is detected at a specific distance.
Hoyda also does not teach: calculating a lateral offset distance L between a core of the material pushing robot and a center of the navigation path to generate the navigation instruction for controlling the material pushing robot in real time
Fukuda teaches calculating a lateral offset distance L between a core of the material pushing robot and a center of the navigation path to generate the navigation instruction for controlling the material pushing robot in real time (figure 4 [0070-0071], disclosing detecting a deviation distance L1 of the center of the traveling machine 10 from the parallel route R1. And mowing vehicle 1 then controls an operation of the traveling motor and changes the traveling direction of the traveling machine 10 by the second traveling-controlling unit C4 based on the calculated amount of deviation of the traveling machine 10 from parallel route R1a so that the traveling machine 10 can travel along the parallel route)
Hoyda and Fukuda are in same field of endeavor i.e., robotic lawn vehicle. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify art of Hoyda to calculating a lateral offset distance L between a core of the material pushing robot and a center of the navigation path to generate the navigation instruction for controlling the material pushing robot in real time as taught by Fukuda to maintain the robot’s movement aligned with the navigation path.
For claim 2, modified Hoyda teaches: The material pushing management method according to claim 1, wherein:
identifying the least one visual identifier in an environment surrounding the material pushing robot by at least one visual sensor comprises installing the at least one visual sensor on the material pushing robot (abstract, disclosing a vision assembly connected to processor of the mower. Vision assembly is visual sensor);
controlling the material pushing robot and/or the charging device to navigate towards teach other according to the navigation instruction comprises navigating the material pushing robot to be positioned in a charging range of the charging device, and obtaining surrounding environment information in a moving direction of the material pushing robot in real time by the at least one visual sensor (columns 1 and 2, disclosing vision based navigation system to navigate to docking station for recharging and avoiding obstacles. Furthermore, vision based navigation identifies temporary obstacles and exclusion zones. Therefore it necessarily obtains surrounding environment information in real time to effectively navigate and avoid obstacles).
For claim 3, modified Hoyda teaches: The material pushing management method according to claim 1, wherein:
identifying the least one visual identifier in an environment surrounding the material pushing robot by at least one visual sensor comprises installing the at least one visual sensor on the material pushing robot (abstract, disclosing vision assembly in lawn mower. It necessarily has a visual sensor installed on the mower);
controlling the material pushing robot and/or the charging device to navigate towards each other according to the navigation instruction comprises navigating the charging device to be positioned so that the material pushing robot is in a charging range of the charging device, and obtaining surrounding environment information in a moving direction of the charging device in real time by the at least one visual sensor (columns 1 and 2, disclosing vision based navigation system to navigate to docking station for recharging and avoiding obstacles. Furthermore, vision based navigation identifies temporary obstacles and exclusion zones).
Claim 9 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 1 hence is similarly rejection.
Furthermore, Hoyda teaches:
a material pushing body (figure 1 and column 7 line 61, disclosing a lawn mower having a body ); and
a charging navigation device (column 6 disclosing when energy level drops below a threshold, it enters a searching mode to search for charging station. Therefore, the mower serves as a charging navigation device), the charging navigation device comprising:
at least one visual sensor (abstract and column 7, disclosing a vision assembly);
a processor (abstract and column 7, disclosing a processor board); and
a controller (column 7, disclosing a drive controller)
For claim 10, modified Hoyda teaches: The material pushing robot according to claim 9, wherein the at least one visual sensor is installed on a top portion of the material pushing body (figure 1, and column 8 lines 60-65, disclosing vision sensor 114 installed on top portion of the lawn vehicle).
For claim 14, modified Hoyda teaches: The material pushing robot according to claim 9, wherein the material pushing body comprises a material pushing device and a moving device, the moving device is arranged on the material pushing device and adapted for driving the material pushing device (Abstract, disclosing a lawn mower. Column 7 lines 26-42, disclosing a drive system and drive controlled to move the lawn vehicle), the at least one visual sensor is arranged on the material pushing device (column 6 line 61 and figure 1, disclosing vision sensor on the lawn mower)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoyda in view of Sheng, Fukuda and Bareddy (US 9821455).
For claim 4,modified Hoyda teaches: The material pushing management method according to claim 1, further comprising:
Hoyda does not teach: when the electric power reserve of the material pushing robot in the operating area becomes below the preset value, obtaining information of a position of the material pushing robot; and
navigating a second material pushing robot to the position of the previous material pushing robot according to the acquired information of the position; and
replacing the material pushing robot with the second material pushing robot.
Bareddy teaches: when the electric power reserve of robot in the operating area becomes below the preset value, obtaining information of a position of the robot; and
navigating a second robot to the position of the previous robot according to the acquired information of the position; and replacing the robot with the second robot (Abstract and column 2 lines 45-65, disclosing when charge level of robot A falls below a threshold level, another robot navigates to location proximal to robot A and replace robot A. And robot A is directed to charging station. Location of robot A is necessarily determined for another robot to effectively navigate)
Hoyda and Bareddy are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., managing energy level of robot battery. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify art of Hoyda to when the electric power reserve of the material pushing robot in the operating area becomes below the preset value, obtaining information of a position of the material pushing robot; and navigating a second material pushing robot to the position of the previous material pushing robot according to the acquired information of the position; and replacing the material pushing robot with the second material pushing robot as taught by Bareddy to ensure completion of task without disruptions.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoyda in view of Sheng, Fukuda and Raman (US 10124359).
For claim 7, modified Hoyda teaches: The material pushing management method according to claim 2, wherein the generating the navigation instruction comprises:
the at least one visual sensor installed on the material pushing robot obtaining environment image data in the moving direction of the material pushing robot (column 2, disclosing performing vision based navigation for avoiding obstacles and recognizing boundaries. And a vision assembly in communication with the processor board, the vision assembly configured to intake images adjacent the lawn mower, extract relevant data from the images, process the image data. Obstacles avoided are necessarily in moving direction of robot and vision assembly also has to take image data of environment in moving direction of mower);
based on the environment image data, identifying the at least one visual identifier (column 2, disclosing processing image data and maintaining or changing output of drive system based in processed image data i.e., generating navigation path. Columns 11 and 12, disclosing chalk line as visual identifier for identifying boundaries of exclusion zones);
calculating a lateral offset distance L between the material pushing robot and the at least one visual identifier (modification through Fukuda teaches calculating a lateral offset)
Hoyda does not teach: calculating a lateral offset distance L between the material pushing robot and the at least one visual identifier and an angle of deflection θ; and
based on the lateral offset distance L and the angle of deflection θ, obtaining a patrol moving turning angel B to generate the navigation instruction.
Raman teaches: determining a lateral offset distance L between the material pushing robot and the at least one visual identifier and an angle of deflection θ (column 19, disclosing line following system for robot to navigate during operation and correcting steering of robot based on deviations from a line (e.g., deviation from a center of mass of the line, detection of the line at an angle to the robot, etc.) ); and
based on the lateral offset distance L and the angle of deflection θ, obtaining a patrol moving turning angel B to generate the navigation instruction (column 19, disclosing line following system for robot to navigate during operation and correcting steering of robot based on deviations from a line (e.g., deviation from a center of mass of the line, detection of the line at an angle to the robot, etc.)).
Hoyda and Raman are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor utilizing lines for robot navigation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify art of Hoyda to calculating a lateral offset distance L between the material pushing robot and the at least one visual identifier and an angle of deflection θ; and based on the lateral offset distance L and the angle of deflection θ, obtaining a patrol moving turning angel B to generate the navigation instruction as taught by Raman to cause the mower to accurately navigate along a path.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoyda in view of Sheng, Fukuda and Taylor (20120323365).
For claim 11, modified Hoyda teaches: The material pushing robot according to claim 9,
Hoyda does not teach: wherein the at least one visual sensor is rotatably installed on the material pushing body.
Taylor teaches wherein the at least one visual sensor is rotatably installed on the material pushing body (abstract, disclosing technologies pertaining to autonomously docking a mobile robot at a docking station for purposes of recharging batteries of the mobile robot. And [0037], disclosing a camera mounted on head portion of robot and rotates about the robot body to capture data of large portion of environment of the robot. Figure 6, disclosing capturing image of docking station to identify it)
Hoyda and Taylor are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., managing energy of robot battery. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify art of Hoyda to wherein the at least one visual sensor is rotatably installed on the material pushing body as taught by Taylor to capture large portion of the environment to locate the docking station.
For claim 12, modified Hoyda teaches: The material pushing robot according to claim 9,
Hoyda does not teach: wherein the at least one visual sensor is rotatably installed on the material pushing body, the at least one visual sensor is rotatable related to an X-axis, a Y-axis, or a Z-axis
Taylor teaches wherein the at least one visual sensor is rotatably installed on the material pushing body, the at least one visual sensor is rotatable related to an X-axis, a Y-axis, or a Z-axis (abstract, disclosing technologies pertaining to autonomously docking a mobile robot at a docking station for purposes of recharging batteries of the mobile robot. And [0037], disclosing a camera mounted on head portion of robot and rotates about the robot body to capture data of large portion of environment of the robot. Figure 6, disclosing capturing image of docking station to identify it. Figure 1 and [0042], disclosing robot has wheels, hence moves on ground. Therefore camera rotates along X-axis)
Hoyda and Taylor are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., managing charging of robots. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify art of Hoyda to wherein the at least one visual sensor is rotatably installed on the material pushing body, the at least one visual sensor is rotatable related to an X-axis, a Y-axis, or a Z-axis as taught by Taylor to capture large portion of the environment to locate the docking station.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoyda in view of Sheng, Fukuda and Zhang (US 20220071467).
For claim 13, modified Hoyda teaches: The material pushing robot according to claim 9,
Hoyda does not explicitly teach: wherein the material pushing robot further comprises a position sensor, the position sensor is communicatively connected to the processor, the position sensor is configured to obtain position information of the material pushing body, and
wherein the controller further controls the material pushing robot to a previous position based on the position information obtained by the position sensor, after the material pushing body finishes being charged with electric energy.
Zhang teaches: wherein the material pushing robot further comprises a position sensor, the position sensor is communicatively connected to the processor, the position sensor is configured to obtain position information of the material pushing body, and
wherein the controller further controls the material pushing robot to a previous position based on the position information obtained by the position sensor, after the material pushing body finishes being charged with electric energy ([0019], disclosing an autonomous robot. [0022], disclosing navigation mechanism of the robot. And navigation mechanism marks current position of the robot so that the cleaning robot can quickly return to the marked position to continue to work. For example, when the cleaning robot returns for charging, a leaving position is marked before the cleaning robot is charged, so that the cleaning robot can quickly reach the leaving position to continue to charge when being fully charged and returning)
Hoyda and Zhang are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., managing energy of robot battery. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify art of Hoyda to wherein the material pushing robot further comprises a position sensor, the position sensor is communicatively connected to the processor, the position sensor is configured to obtain position information of the material pushing body, and wherein the controller further controls the material pushing robot to a previous position based on the position information obtained by the position sensor, after the material pushing body finishes being charged with electric energy as taught by Zhang to resume its task accurately.
Claims 15, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoyda in view of Sheng, Ho ( US 10817688) and Fukuda.
For claim 15, Hoyda teaches: A material pushing system (abstract, disclosing a system of a lawn vehicle) comprising:
at least one material pushing robot (figure 1 and column 6 lines 60-67, disclosing a lawn mower 110);
at least one charging device (abstract, disclosing a charging station); and
a management unit (column 6 lines 61-66, disclosing a main board 101), wherein the management unit comprises a detection module (column 6 line 61 – column 7 line 15, disclosing a vision processor to detect obstacles), a processing module (column 6 line 61 – column 7 line 15, disclosing a vision processor on main board to detect obstacles. And column 11 line 15, disclosing main board processes image data and generated commands), and a control module (column 7, disclosing a drive controller for controlling drive system), the processing module is communicatively connected to the detection module and the control module,
in response that an electric power reserve of a material pushing robot in an operating area is below a preset value, charging the material pushing robot with electric energy (column 1, disclosing an autonomous lawn mower i.e., a material pushing robot. column 9 line 64-coumn 10 line 10, disclosing when voltage of lawn mower battery is below a threshold, it enters a searching mode to seek charging station. Column 10 lines 37-62, further disclosing lawn mower docks at the charging station for recharging) by:
the detection module detects environment information surrounding the material pushing robot (column 2, disclosing a visual identifier to assist the mower to identify a charging station and navigate towards it. Hence detecting environment);
identifying at least one visual identifier in the environment information surrounding the material pushing robot (column 2, disclosing a visual identifier to assist the mower to identify a charging station and navigate towards it. And vision assembly determines the visual identifies, hence a visual sensor. Furthermore, disclosing chalk to demark a boundary i.e., identifier lines arranged on ground. And vision based navigation system is trained to recognize this boundary);
the processing module, based on the at least one visual identifier surrounding the material pushing robot, generates a navigation instruction and transmits the navigation instruction to the control module (column2 lines 10-21, disclosing vision based navigation system identifies visual identifier associated with charging station and mower navigates towards the charging station. Column 1, disclosing vision based navigation system); and
the control module controls, based on the navigation instruction, controls the material pushing robot
position close to the charging device (column 8, disclosing visual identified to identify charging station, hence is arranged close to charging station)
wherein at least one visual identifier comprises an identifier line arranged on the ground (column 2, disclosing a visual identifier may be paint or chalk to demark boundary of a non-traversable section of lawn and vision based navigation system can be trained to recognize this boundary to perform obstacle avoidance routine. Column 112, disclosing a paint or chalk line as visual identifier), the generating the navigation instruction comprises:
obtaining environment image data in the moving direction of the material pushing robot (column 2, disclosing vision based navigation);
identifying the at least one visual identifier to generate a navigation path based on the environment image data (column 1, disclosing mower takes images of area in front of it. Column 2, disclosing visual identifier is used by navigation system. Column 11, disclosing exclusion zone exclusion zone lies within the bounds of boundary wire 125, which would normally serve as the boundary for travel by autonomous lawn mower 110, allowing contact between autonomous lawn mower 110 and the young tree. And One or more characteristics of the image encompassing paint or chalk line 162 (whether shape, pattern or color) may be processed by vision processor 115 to initiate a programmed obstacle-avoidance response executed by drive system)
Hoyda teaches of vision based navigation and its material pushing device docks (i.e., stops) at charging device (column 2, disclosing using vision based navigation to dock on charging station and recharge), and docking necessitates material pushing device to stop. Hoyda does not explicitly teach: in response that the at least one visual sensor detects a stop identifier, stopping the material pushing robot from moving to start charging
Sheng teaches in response that the at least one visual sensor detects a stop identifier, stopping the material pushing robot from moving to start charging (abstract, disclosing an automatically walking device i.e., material pushing device. Page 4, disclosing returning to charging station to recharge. Page 19-20, disclosing determining distance between stopping station and automatic walking device using image of stop station identifier and proceeding to step S1. And docking the automatic docking device using direction identifier. Steps S1-S4 disclosing docking maneuver. When robot is docked, it stops moving. Stop station identifier is interprated as stop identifier)
Hoyda and Sheng are analogous arts as there are in same field of endeavor i.e., navigation of automatic devices for recharging. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify art of Hoyda to in response that the at least one visual sensor detects a stop identifier, stopping the material pushing robot from moving to start charging as taught by Sheng as additional means to assist in proper docking.
EXAMINER’S NOTE “in response that the at least one visual sensor detects a stop identifier, stopping the material pushing robot from moving to start charging” is interprated as “stopping the material pushing robot from moving to start charging when stop identifier is detected at a specific distance.
Hoyda does not explicitly disclose the charging device to be controlled by management module. Furthermore, control module does not control charging device to meet the robot.
Ho teaches a controller for charging device and controlling charging device to meet the robot (abstract, disclosing a service rendering vehicle having a controller. Abstract, disclosing autonomous kiosks i.e., robots. And column 1 and 2, disclosing service rendering vehicle to locate the kiosk to recharge it at its current location. Abstract, disclosing controller obtains a service from the service request and issues instructions to move the service rendering vehicle to the service object and to render the service at the service point position. A management module is necessary to send service request to controller)
Hoyda and Ho are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., managing battery charging of robots. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify art of Hoyda to enable management module to control the charging device and controlling it to meet the robot as taught by Ho to recharge the mower in work area and eliminate the need to move back to charging station.
Hoyda also does not teach: calculating a lateral offset distance L between a core of the material pushing robot and a center of the navigation path to generate the navigation instruction for controlling the material pushing robot in real time
Fukuda teaches calculating a lateral offset distance L between a core of the material pushing robot and a center of the navigation path to generate the navigation instruction for controlling the material pushing robot in real time (figure 4 [0070-0071], disclosing detecting a deviation distance L1 of the center of the traveling machine 10 from the parallel route R1. And mowing vehicle 1 then controls an operation of the traveling motor and changes the traveling direction of the traveling machine 10 by the second traveling-controlling unit C4 based on the calculated amount of deviation of the traveling machine 10 from parallel route R1a so that the traveling machine 10 can travel along the parallel route)
Hoyda and Fukuda are in same field of endeavor i.e., robotic lawn vehicle. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify art of Hoyda to calculating a lateral offset distance L between a core of the material pushing robot and a center of the navigation path to generate the navigation instruction for controlling the material pushing robot in real time as taught by Fukuda to maintain the robot’s movement aligned with the navigation path.
For claim 16, modified Hoyda teaches: The material pushing system according to claim 15, wherein the detection module is installed in the material pushing robot, the control module navigates the material pushing robot to move towards the charging device (column 6-7 and figure 1, disclosing mower has vision assembly and vision processor. And Vision processor 115 connects to main board 101, which connects to drive system).
For claim 17, modified Hoyda teaches: The material pushing system according to claim 15,
Hoyda does not teach: wherein the detection module is installed in the charging device, the control module navigates the charging device to move towards the material pushing robot.
Ho teaches wherein the detection module is installed in the charging device (abstract disclosing controller of service rendering device received an image. Column 1, disclosing an image sensor controller for rendering a service according to information on a service label image captured by the image sensor), the control module navigates the charging device to move towards the material pushing robot (column 4 lines 1-50, disclosing controller instructs service rendering vehicle to navigate towards service point position. Column 2 lines 1-10, disclosing service rendering vehicle travels to autonomous kiosks i.e., robot to recharge them).
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoyda in view of Sheng, Ho, Fukuda and Bareddy (US 9821455).
For claim 18, modified Hoyda teaches: The material pushing system according to claim 15,
Hoyda does not teach: wherein when the electric power reserve of the material pushing robot becomes below the preset value, obtaining information of a position of the material pushing robot;
the control module of the management unit transmits an instruction to a second material pushing robot, to navigate the second material pushing robot to the position of the material pushing robot according to the acquired information of the position, and
replacing the material pushing robot with the second material pushing robot.
Bareddy teaches: wherein when the electric power reserve of the material pushing robot becomes below the preset value, obtaining information of a position of the material pushing robot (Abstract and column 2 lines 45-65, disclosing when charge level of robot A falls below a threshold level, another robot navigates to location proximal to robot A and replace robot A. And robot A is directed to charging station. Location of robot A is necessarily determined for another robot to effectively navigate. Column 8 lines 58-67, disclosing when one robot is unable to complete a task, robots that are available to perform the task are searched);
the control module of the management unit transmits an instruction to a second material pushing robot, to navigate the second material pushing robot to the position of the material pushing robot according to the acquired information of the position, and
replacing the material pushing robot with the second material pushing robot (Abstract and column 2 lines 45-65, disclosing when charge level of robot A falls below a threshold level, another robot navigates to location proximal to robot A and replace robot A. And robot A is directed to charging station)
Hoyda and Bareddy are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., managing charging of robots. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to further modify art of Hoyda to wherein when the electric power reserve of the material pushing robot becomes below the preset value, obtaining information of a position of the material pushing robot; the control module of the management unit transmits an instruction to a second material pushing robot, to navigate the second material pushing robot to the position of the material pushing robot according to the acquired information of the position, and replacing the material pushing robot with the second material pushing robot to ensure completion of task with minimal interruptions.
For claim 20, modified Hoyda teaches: The material pushing system according to claim 18, wherein the management unit comprises a search module, the search module is communicatively connected to the processing module, the search module is configured to, based on a predetermined condition, search other material pushing robots which are available around the material pushing robot (modification through Bareddy requires to search other robots which are available. See Bareddy column 8 lines 58-67)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoyda in view of Sheng, Ho, Fukuda and Schaffer (US 20200317077).
For claim 19, modified Hoyda teaches: The material pushing system according to claim 15,
wherein the management unit comprises a power obtaining module, the power obtaining module is communicatively connected to the processing module, the power obtaining module is configured to obtain information of remaining power of the material pushing robot (column 2, disclosing obtaining power level of the mower to determine when a recharge is necessary)
Hoyda does not teach: wherein the management unit comprises a position obtaining module, the position obtaining module is configured to obtain position information of a position of the material pushing robot and position information of a position of the charging device,
wherein based on the position information obtained by the position obtaining module and the information obtained by the power obtaining module, the processing module determines a timing of navigating the material pushing robot towards the charging device.
Schaffer teaches wherein the management unit comprises a position obtaining module, the position obtaining module is configured to obtain position information of a position of the material pushing robot and position information of a position of the charging device ([0055], disclosing position of multiple MCUs is reported to central server. Central server is management unit and MCU us mobile charge unit i.e., charging device. Figure 4, disclosing calculating remaining trip distance of EV i.e., its position. ),
wherein based on the position information obtained by the position obtaining module and the information obtained by the power obtaining module ([0035], disclosing determining when an EV is scheduled to arrive. [0082], disclosing EV is autonomous. [0018], disclosing MCU charging is arranged near a location where batteries of EV would be depleted.), the processing module determines a timing of navigating the material pushing robot towards the charging device ([0017], disclosing location to recharge battery is based on remaining level of energy in batteries of EV. [0035], disclosing MCU arrives in time to scheduled arrival or EV, hence timing of MCU is determined. See also [0042]).
Hoyda and Schaffer are and analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., managing charging of robot battery. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to further modify art of Hoyda to wherein the management unit comprises a position obtaining module, the position obtaining module is configured to obtain position information of a position of the material pushing robot and position information of a position of the charging device, wherein based on the position information obtained by the position obtaining module and the information obtained by the power obtaining module, the processing module determines a timing of navigating the material pushing robot towards the charging device as taught by Shaffer to ensure charging device is available: Thereby preventing the robot to be stranded without charge.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARSLAN AZHAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3656