DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group II, claims 1-13 and 15, in the reply filed on 07/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20, 22 and 23 are pending. Claims 1-20, 22 and 23 are currently under examination. Non-elected claims 14, 17-20, 22 and 23 have been rejoined and examined because the limitations were found in the prior art.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
The Abstract filed 11/30/2022 contains statements of the alleged merits or value of the claimed invention or its speculative application because it recites the following phrases” “increase glucose production” and “reduce the abnormal accumulation of glycogen and glucose-6-phophate associated with GSD-Ia”. Appropriate corrected is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The claims recite "Compound I" and it is indefinite because the claim does not recite the compound structure. The specification describes, on page 36, “a compound of formula I” and describes this a terminal cap however the compound in claims 11 and 12 do not refer to this as a terminal cap. Thus it is unclear what the actual structure of Compound I encompasses. Claim 11 and the term in claim 12 will not be further examined on the merits because it cannot be ascertained, without assumption, what structure is represented by Compound I.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-20, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/170306 (WO306) and Martini et al. (US 2023/0009009 of record IDS filed 07/19/2023).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 8, 12 and 13, WO306 teach lipid-containing nanoparticle compositions have proven effective as transport vehicles into cells for biologically active substances such as nucleic acids (0005). WO306 teach a lipid having the claimed structure (page 97):
WO306 teach the nanoparticle can have mRNA (00258), a phospholipid, a PEG-DMG and a structural lipid such as cholesterol (00275-00276), WO306 teach the mRNA can have 5’ and 3’ UTR sequences (00338-00359) and a poly-A region between 30 and 250 nucleotides in length (00375). WO306 does not teach the sequences of the 5’ and 3’ UTR and a 5’ terminal cap.
Regarding claim 1, Martini et al. teach mRNA therapy for treatment of glycogen storage disease type 1a (GSD-Ia) and teach the ORF comprises a polypeptide identical to SEQ ID No. 1 (see SEQ ID No. 21 page 174) and teach the nucleic acid identical to sequence of SEQ ID No. 2 (see SEQ 23 page 175-176).
Regarding claim 2, Martini et al. teach the mRNA can comprise a 5’ UTR identical to claimed SEQ ID No 55 (see SEQ ID NO. 3 page 163).
Regarding claim 3, Martini et al. teach the mRNA can comprise a 3’ UTR identical to claimed SEQ ID No 114 (see SEQ ID NO. 178 page 235).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Martini et al. teach the mRNA can comprise modification including N1-methylpseudouracil and teach 100% of the uracils can be modified (see 0035) and it would have been obvious to incorporate this modification into the mRNA sequence of SEQ ID No 1 to arrive at SEQ ID No. 5.
Regarding claims 5, 6 and 10, Martini et al. teach the mRNA comprise a 5’ terminal cap such as a guanine cap nucleotide such as N7 methylation (see 0020, 0392) and modifications including 2’O-methyl (0391).
Regarding claims 14-20, 22 and 23, Martini et al. teach methods of expressing a glucose-6-phosphatase (G6PC) polypeptide in a human subject in need thereof, method of treating, preventing, or delaying the onset and/or progression of glycogen storage disease type la (GSD-Ia) in a human subject in need thereof, a method of increasing blood, plasma, and/or serum glucose levels in a human subject in need thereof, a method of reducing liver glycogen levels in a human subject in need thereof, a method of reducing liver glucose-6-phosphate (G6P) levels in a human subject in need thereof, a method of reducing serum and/or liver triglyceride levels in a human subject in need thereof, a method of increasing G6PC activity in a human subject in need thereof, a method of treating or preventing liver adenoma in a human subject having glycogen storage disease type la (GSD-Ia), and a method of treating or preventing liver carcinoma in a human subject having glycogen storage disease type la (GSD-Ia) comprising administering to the human subject an effective amount of the lipid nanoparticle of claim 1 ( see 0045-0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the lipid carrier of WO306 as a transport vehicle for the mRNA taught by Martini et al. for expressing a glucose-6-phosphatase (G6PC) polypeptide in methods of treatment of glycogen storage disease type la (GSD-Ia) in a human subject. One of skill in the art would have been capable of making the nanoparticle given the steps of which are taught by WO306.
Thus in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Conclusion
Patent applicants with problems or questions regarding electronic images that can be viewed in the Patent Application Information Retrieval system (PAIR) can now contact the USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center (Patent EBC) for assistance. Representatives are available to answer your questions daily from 6 am to midnight (EST). The toll free number is (866) 217-9197. When calling please have your application serial or patent number, the type of document you are having an image problem with, the number of pages and the specific nature of the problem. The Patent Electronic Business Center will notify applicants of the resolution of the problem within 5-7 business days. Applicants can also check PAIR to confirm that the problem has been corrected. The USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center is a complete service center supporting all patent business on the Internet. The USPTO’s PAIR system provides Internet-based access to patent application status and history information. It also enables applicants to view the scanned images of their own application file folder(s) as well as general patent information available to the public. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov.
For all other customer support, please call the USPTO Call Center (UCC) at 800-786-9199.
/KIMBERLY CHONG/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 1636