DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions and Claim Status
Applicant's election with traverse of the species of oxyma (additive), DIC (condensing agent) and the compound of example 1 (peptide compound) in the reply filed on 10/27/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that as amended claim 1 requires a combination of conditions including a particular molar ratio of condensing agent to second amino acid or peptide. This is not found persuasive because amended claim 1 is rejected under 102 as set forth below. As such, there is no technical feature that defines a contribution over the prior art.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 3-4 have been canceled.
Claim 16 does not read on the elected peptide since the elected peptide is not cyclized.
Claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/27/25.
The elected peptide was not found in the prior art in the context of the instant claims. The search was extended in accord with MPEP 803.02.
Claims 1-2, 5-15 and 17-21 are being examined.
Priority
The priority information is found in the filing receipt dated 6/22/23.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/9/23, 7/14/23 and 10/27/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code specifically on page 7 lines 12-13. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites ‘is the first molar ratio - 1 or less’. It is unclear if the “-“ symbol is intended to represent a negative value or if it is intended to represent a minus sign in a chemical formula. If the symbol is intended to represent a minus sign it is unclear if the ‘or less’ is also part of the equation. It is unclear if the intent is “((the first molar ratio) - 1) or less” or “(the first molar ratio – (1 or less)”. Since zero is less than 1, the values can correspond to 1 or 2 when the first molar ratio is 2. As such, there are multiple possible interpretations of the claim. Although unclear, the claim has been given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 10-13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi (US 2010/0184952).
Takahashi teach methods of peptide synthesis (section 0031). Takahashi teach a coupling step as part of the peptide synthesis that uses amino acids (section 0184), a condensing agent (section 0187) and an activating agent (section 0189) as well as a solvent (section 0190). Takahashi teach a specific example in which 2.89 mmol of Fmoc-Phe-OH, 2.25 mmol H-Ala-OtBu.HCl, 0.55 mmol HOBt and 3.03 mmol EDC.HCl were added together in DMF (example 7 sections 0234-0235). Takahashi teach peptide synthesis including another addition step to make Fmoc-Ser(tBu)-Phe-Ala-OtBu (sections 0234-0235).
In relation to the condensing agent as recited in claims 1 and 11, Takahashi teach a specific example in which 3.03 mmol EDC.HCl was used (section 0234). Takahashi teach that EDC is N-(3-dimethylaminopropyl)-N'-ethylcarbodiimide hydrochloride (section 0062) which is instant EDCI-HCl.
In relation to the additive as recited in claims 1 and 10, Takahashi teach a specific example in which 0.55 mmol HOBt was used (example 7 sections 0234-0235).
In relation to the first amino acid as recited in claim 1, Takahashi teach a specific example in which 2.89 mmol of Fmoc-Phe-OH was used (example 7 sections 0234-0235). Instant claim 1 does not distinguish the first or second amino acid and Takahashi refers to 2 amino acids that are added (section 0234) so either amino acid could be considered the first.
In relation to the second amino acid as recited in claim 1, Takahashi teach a specific example in which 2.25 mmol H-Ala-OtBu.HCl was used (example 7 sections 0234-0235). Instant claim 1 does not distinguish the first or second amino acid and Takahashi refers to 2 amino acids that are added (section 0234) so either amino acid could be considered the first.
In relation to the amounts and ratios of claim 1, the moles of the additive (0.55 mmol HOBt) is smaller than the number of moles of the second amino acid (2.25 mmol H-Ala-OtBu.HCl) (section 0234). The molar ratio of condensing agent (3.03 mmol EDC.HCl) to second amino acid (2.25 mmol H-Ala-OtBu.HCl) is 1.35.
In relation to claim 2, the molar ratio of the additive (0.55 mmol HOBt) to the second amino acid (2.25 mmol H-Ala-OtBu.HCl) (section 0234) is 0.24.
In relation to claim 5, the molar ratio of the second amino acid (2.25 mmol H-Ala-OtBu.HCl) to the first amino acid (2.89 mmol of Fmoc-Phe-OH) (section 0234) is 0.78.
In relation to claim 12, Takahashi teach peptide synthesis including another addition step to make Fmoc-Ser(tBu)-Phe-Ala-OtBu (sections 0234-0235) which comprises Ala and Phe.
In relation to claim 13, Takahashi teach a specific example in which 2.89 mmol of Fmoc-Phe-OH was used (example 7 sections 0234-0235). With respect to N-alkylamino acid, the instant specification recognizes that the amino group may be substituted (section 0108 on page 32) and recognizes that amino acid is defined such that each group may have a substituent and there is no limit on the substituent and examples include substituted alkyl (section 0081 on page 28). The Fmoc group is 9-fluorenylmethoxycarbonyl (section 0003) which is a substituted alkyl.
In relation to claim 19, Takahashi teach a specific example in which components were added together in DMF (example 7 sections 0234-0235).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-13, 15 and 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (US 2010/0184952).
Takahashi teach methods of peptide synthesis (section 0031) specifically methods that remove impurities (abstract). Takahashi teach a coupling step as part of the peptide synthesis that uses amino acids (section 0184), a condensing agent (section 0187) and an activating agent (section 0189) as well as a solvent (section 0190). Takahashi teach a specific example in which 2.89 mmol of Fmoc-Phe-OH, 2.25 mmol H-Ala-OtBu.HCl, 0.55 mmol HOBt and 3.03 mmol EDC.HCl were added together in DMF (example 7 sections 0234-0235). Takahashi teach peptide synthesis including another addition step to make Fmoc-Ser(tBu)-Phe-Ala-OtBu (sections 0234-0235).
Takahashi does not teach all of the conditions and ratios of certain claims (such as claim 6) in a single embodiment.
Takahashi recognizes that the order of addition of amino acids is not particularly limited (section 0184). Takahashi teach that the amounts of the amino acids can be varied to limit excess and teach that generally 0.9 to 4 equivalents of one amino acid to another can be used (section 0185). Takahashi teach that the activator promotes the reaction and suppresses side reactions (section 0188) and that generally 0 to 4 equivalents of activator to amino acid can be used (section 0189). Takahashi teach the condensing agent for formation of the peptide (section 0184) and teach that the amount used is generally 0.8 to 4 equivalents of amino acid (section 0187). Takahashi teach that the amino acid is not limited and includes Pro and beta-Ala (sections 0149-0150). Takahashi teach methods specifically for compounds protected with an Fmoc group (abstract). Takahashi teach the use of amino protecting groups specifically Fmoc because it provides many advantages (section 0005). Takahashi teach that Fmoc is utilized for solid phase synthesis (section 0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Takahashi based on the specific suggestions of Takahashi. With respect to the amounts of the components to use, Takahashi teach that the amounts of the amino acids can be varied to limit excess and teach that generally 0.9 to 4 equivalents of one amino acid to another can be used (section 0185). Takahashi teach that the activator promotes the reaction and suppresses side reactions (section 0188) and that generally 0 to 4 equivalents of activator to amino acid can be used (section 0189). Takahashi teach the condensing agent for formation of the peptide (section 0184) and teach that the amount used is generally 0.8 to 4 equivalents of amino acid (section 0187). Thus, based on the specific suggestions of Takahashi one would have been motivated to use various amounts to limit excess of amino acid, promote the reaction and suppress the side reaction. Since Takahashi teach that the amino acid is not limited and includes Pro and beta-Ala (sections 0149-0150) one would have been motivated to use such amino acids. Since Takahashi teach methods specifically for compounds protected with an Fmoc group (abstract) and teach the use of amino protecting groups specifically Fmoc because it provides many advantages (section 0005) and teach that Fmoc is utilized for solid phase synthesis (section 0007) one would have applied the method for such purposes. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since the components and methods of adding them together were known (compare example 7 of Takahashi).
In relation to the condensing agent as recited in claims 1 and 11, Takahashi teach a specific example in which 3.03 mmol EDC.HCl was used (section 0234). Takahashi teach that EDC is N-(3-dimethylaminopropyl)-N'-ethylcarbodiimide hydrochloride (section 0062) which is instant EDCI-HCl.
In relation to the additive as recited in claims 1 and 10, Takahashi teach a specific example in which 0.55 mmol HOBt was used (example 7 sections 0234-0235).
In relation to the first amino acid as recited in claim 1, Takahashi teach a specific example in which 2.89 mmol of Fmoc-Phe-OH was used (example 7 sections 0234-0235). Instant claim 1 does not distinguish the first or second amino acid and Takahashi refers to 2 amino acids that are added (section 0234) so either amino acid could be considered the first.
In relation to the second amino acid as recited in claim 1, Takahashi teach a specific example in which 2.25 mmol H-Ala-OtBu.HCl was used (example 7 sections 0234-0235). Instant claim 1 does not distinguish the first or second amino acid and Takahashi refers to 2 amino acids that are added (section 0234) so either amino acid could be considered the first.
In relation to the amounts and ratios of claim 1, the moles of the additive (0.55 mmol HOBt) is smaller than the number of moles of the second amino acid (2.25 mmol H-Ala-OtBu.HCl) (section 0234). The molar ratio of condensing agent (3.03 mmol EDC.HCl) to second amino acid (2.25 mmol H-Ala-OtBu.HCl) is 1.35.
In relation to claim 2, the molar ratio of the additive (0.55 mmol HOBt) to the second amino acid (2.25 mmol H-Ala-OtBu.HCl) (section 0234) is 0.24.
In relation to claim 5, the molar ratio of the second amino acid (2.25 mmol H-Ala-OtBu.HCl) to the first amino acid (2.89 mmol of Fmoc-Phe-OH) (section 0234) is 0.78.
In relation to the amounts and ratios of the claims including claims 6-9 and 17-18, Takahashi teach that the amounts of the amino acids can be varied to limit excess and teach that generally 0.9 to 4 equivalents of one amino acid to another can be used (section 0185). Takahashi teach that the activator promotes the reaction and suppresses side reactions (section 0188) and that generally 0 to 4 equivalents of activator to amino acid can be used (section 0189). Takahashi teach the condensing agent for formation of the peptide (section 0184) and teach that the amount used is generally 0.8 to 4 equivalents of amino acid (section 0187). Thus, Takahashi generally recognizes a range of amounts up to 4 equivalents and suggest the agents for specific purposes (see MPEP 2144.05 II A). Further, MPEP 2144.05 recognizes that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
In relation to claim 12, Takahashi teach peptide synthesis including another addition step to make Fmoc-Ser(tBu)-Phe-Ala-OtBu (sections 0234-0235) which comprises Ala and Phe.
In relation to claim 13, Takahashi teach a specific example in which 2.89 mmol of Fmoc-Phe-OH was used (example 7 sections 0234-0235). With respect to N-alkylamino acid, the instant specification recognizes that the amino group may be substituted (section 0108 on page 32) and recognizes that amino acid is defined such that each group may have a substituent and there is no limit on the substituent and examples include substituted alkyl (section 0081 on page 28). The Fmoc group is 9-fluorenylmethoxycarbonyl (section 0003) which is a substituted alkyl.
In relation to claims 13 and 15, Takahashi teach that the amino acid is not limited and includes Pro and beta-Ala (sections 0149-0150). Proline is an N-alkylamino acid.
In relation to claim 19, Takahashi teach a specific example in which components were added together in DMF (example 7 sections 0234-0235).
In relation to claims 20-21, Takahashi teach methods specifically for compounds protected with an Fmoc group (abstract). Takahashi teach the use of amino protecting groups specifically Fmoc because it provides many advantages (section 0005). Takahashi teach that Fmoc is utilized for solid phase synthesis (section 0007).
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-15 and 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (US 2010/0184952) in view of Obrecht et al. (US 2015/0051183; ‘Obrecht’).
Takahashi teach methods of peptide synthesis (section 0031) specifically methods that remove impurities (abstract). Takahashi teach a coupling step as part of the peptide synthesis that uses amino acids (section 0184), a condensing agent (section 0187) and an activating agent (section 0189) as well as a solvent (section 0190). Takahashi teach a specific example in which 2.89 mmol of Fmoc-Phe-OH, 2.25 mmol H-Ala-OtBu.HCl, 0.55 mmol HOBt and 3.03 mmol EDC.HCl were added together in DMF (example 7 sections 0234-0235). Takahashi teach peptide synthesis including another addition step to make Fmoc-Ser(tBu)-Phe-Ala-OtBu (sections 0234-0235).
Takahashi does not teach an example with an amino acid as in claim 14.
Takahashi recognizes that the order of addition of amino acids is not particularly limited (section 0184). Takahashi teach that the amounts of the amino acids can be varied to limit excess and teach that generally 0.9 to 4 equivalents of one amino acid to another can be used (section 0185). Takahashi teach that the activator promotes the reaction and suppresses side reactions (section 0188) and that generally 0 to 4 equivalents of activator to amino acid can be used (section 0189). Takahashi teach the condensing agent for formation of the peptide (section 0184) and teach that the amount used is generally 0.8 to 4 equivalents of amino acid (section 0187). Takahashi teach that the amino acid is not limited and includes Pro and beta-Ala (sections 0149-0150). Takahashi teach methods specifically for compounds protected with an Fmoc group (abstract). Takahashi teach the use of amino protecting groups specifically Fmoc because it provides many advantages (section 0005). Takahashi teach that Fmoc is utilized for solid phase synthesis (section 0007).
Obrecht teach structures with medical applications that can be made by combinatorial chemistry in solution or solid phase (abstract) and recognizes methods of peptide synthesis including those that use Fmoc (section 0283). Obrecht teach specific examples that include combining peptides including Fmoc-NMe-beta-Ala-OH (Table 22a example 193h page 144). On page 200, Obrecht shows the compound containing NMe-beta-Ala (85h-Ex. 193h). Obrecht shows that preparation of Fmoc-NMe-beta-Ala-OH was known (section 0445).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Takahashi based on the specific suggestions of Takahashi. With respect to the amounts of the components to use, Takahashi teach that the amounts of the amino acids can be varied to limit excess and teach that generally 0.9 to 4 equivalents of one amino acid to another can be used (section 0185). Takahashi teach that the activator promotes the reaction and suppresses side reactions (section 0188) and that generally 0 to 4 equivalents of activator to amino acid can be used (section 0189). Takahashi teach the condensing agent for formation of the peptide (section 0184) and teach that the amount used is generally 0.8 to 4 equivalents of amino acid (section 0187). Thus, based on the specific suggestions of Takahashi one would have been motivated to use various amounts to limit excess of amino acid, promote the reaction and suppress the side reaction. Since Takahashi teach that the amino acid is not limited and includes Pro and beta-Ala (sections 0149-0150) one would have been motivated to use such amino acids. Since Takahashi teach methods specifically for compounds protected with an Fmoc group (abstract) and teach the use of amino protecting groups specifically Fmoc because it provides many advantages (section 0005) and teach that Fmoc is utilized for solid phase synthesis (section 0007) one would have applied the method for such purposes. Further, since Takahashi teach that the amino acid is not limited and includes Pro and beta-Ala (sections 0149-0150) one would have been motivated to use the method for known peptide containing compounds such as those of Obrecht. Obrecht recognizes methods of peptide synthesis including those that use Fmoc (section 0283). Obrecht teach specific examples that include combining peptides including Fmoc-NMe-beta-Ala-OH (Table 22a example 193h page 144). On page 200, Obrecht shows the compound containing NMe-beta-Ala (85h-Ex. 193h). One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since the components and methods of adding them together were known (compare example 7 of Takahashi and section 0445 of Obrecht).
In relation to the condensing agent as recited in claims 1 and 11, Takahashi teach a specific example in which 3.03 mmol EDC.HCl was used (section 0234). Takahashi teach that EDC is N-(3-dimethylaminopropyl)-N'-ethylcarbodiimide hydrochloride (section 0062) which is instant EDCI-HCl.
In relation to the additive as recited in claims 1 and 10, Takahashi teach a specific example in which 0.55 mmol HOBt was used (example 7 sections 0234-0235).
In relation to the first amino acid as recited in claim 1, Takahashi teach a specific example in which 2.89 mmol of Fmoc-Phe-OH was used (example 7 sections 0234-0235). Instant claim 1 does not distinguish the first or second amino acid and Takahashi refers to 2 amino acids that are added (section 0234) so either amino acid could be considered the first.
In relation to the second amino acid as recited in claim 1, Takahashi teach a specific example in which 2.25 mmol H-Ala-OtBu.HCl was used (example 7 sections 0234-0235). Instant claim 1 does not distinguish the first or second amino acid and Takahashi refers to 2 amino acids that are added (section 0234) so either amino acid could be considered the first.
In relation to the amounts and ratios of claim 1, the moles of the additive (0.55 mmol HOBt) is smaller than the number of moles of the second amino acid (2.25 mmol H-Ala-OtBu.HCl) (section 0234). The molar ratio of condensing agent (3.03 mmol EDC.HCl) to second amino acid (2.25 mmol H-Ala-OtBu.HCl) is 1.35.
In relation to claim 2, the molar ratio of the additive (0.55 mmol HOBt) to the second amino acid (2.25 mmol H-Ala-OtBu.HCl) (section 0234) is 0.24.
In relation to claim 5, the molar ratio of the second amino acid (2.25 mmol H-Ala-OtBu.HCl) to the first amino acid (2.89 mmol of Fmoc-Phe-OH) (section 0234) is 0.78.
In relation to the amounts and ratios of the claims including claims 6-9 and 17-18, Takahashi teach that the amounts of the amino acids can be varied to limit excess and teach that generally 0.9 to 4 equivalents of one amino acid to another can be used (section 0185). Takahashi teach that the activator promotes the reaction and suppresses side reactions (section 0188) and that generally 0 to 4 equivalents of activator to amino acid can be used (section 0189). Takahashi teach the condensing agent for formation of the peptide (section 0184) and teach that the amount used is generally 0.8 to 4 equivalents of amino acid (section 0187). Thus, Takahashi generally recognizes a range of amounts up to 4 equivalents and suggest the agents for specific purposes (see MPEP 2144.05 II A). Further, MPEP 2144.05 recognizes that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
In relation to claim 12, Takahashi teach peptide synthesis including another addition step to make Fmoc-Ser(tBu)-Phe-Ala-OtBu (sections 0234-0235) which comprises Ala and Phe.
In relation to claim 13, Takahashi teach a specific example in which 2.89 mmol of Fmoc-Phe-OH was used (example 7 sections 0234-0235). With respect to N-alkylamino acid, the instant specification recognizes that the amino group may be substituted (section 0108 on page 32) and recognizes that amino acid is defined such that each group may have a substituent and there is no limit on the substituent and examples include substituted alkyl (section 0081 on page 28). The Fmoc group is 9-fluorenylmethoxycarbonyl (section 0003) which is a substituted alkyl.
In relation to claims 13 and 15, Takahashi teach that the amino acid is not limited and includes Pro and beta-Ala (sections 0149-0150). Proline is an N-alkylamino acid.
In relation to claims 13-15, Obrecht teach specific examples that include combining peptides including Fmoc-NMe-beta-Ala-OH (Table 22a example 193h page 144). On page 200, Obrecht shows the compound containing NMe-beta-Ala (85h-Ex. 193h). Obrecht shows that preparation of Fmoc-NMe-beta-Ala-OH was known (section 0445).
In relation to claim 19, Takahashi teach a specific example in which components were added together in DMF (example 7 sections 0234-0235).
In relation to claims 20-21, Takahashi teach methods specifically for compounds protected with an Fmoc group (abstract). Takahashi teach the use of amino protecting groups specifically Fmoc because it provides many advantages (section 0005). Takahashi teach that Fmoc is utilized for solid phase synthesis (section 0007).
Conclusion
RONALD T. NIEBAUER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/RONALD T NIEBAUER/Examiner, Art Unit 1658