Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 30-44 and 50 in the reply filed on 17 February 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that McNeil does not mention fenestrated distal end feature, hub or fluid drainage features. This is not found persuasive because the lack of special technical feature cited in the lack of unity requirement is tubing and skin anchor which are recited in McNeil. While McNeil does not recite hub or fluid drainage feature, the technical features do not make a contribution of the prior art and therefore there is lack of unity a posteriori.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Double Patenting
Claims 30-44 and 50 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12623052. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-25 of the reference patent is more specific than the instant invention, in effect making the invention of patented claims a "species" of the "generic" invention of instant claims 30-44 and 50. It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the species. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding instant claim 30-44 and 50, claims 1-25 of the reference patent discloses all the limitations of instant claims 30-44 and 50.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the UV light of claim 44 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 30, 32, 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McNeil (US 2008/0312638).
Regarding claim 30, McNeil discloses an indwelling catheter system for draining fluid from a body cavity of a subject ([0001]), comprising:
an indwelling catheter device (device shown in figure 8) comprising a catheter tube (204) with a fenestrated distal end (236, [0049]) configured to reside in the cavity of the subject ([0049]) and a connection hub (hub with 214, 206, 212) disposed on a proximal end (figure 8) of the catheter tube and configured to fluidically couple the catheter tube with a fluid drainage system (234); and
a skin anchoring member (230) to anchor the connection hub to the skin of the subject ([0047], [0049]).
Regarding claim 32, McNeil discloses which the fenestrated distal end of the catheter tube is configured to reside in the pleural cavity or peritoneal cavity of a subject ([0004]).
Regarding claim 50, McNeil discloses wherein the skin anchoring member is separate from and configured for coupling with the connection hub (figure 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McNeil.
Regarding claim 31, McNeil discloses including an external housing (200) configured for detachable attachment to the connection hub ([0045]) and comprising a connection hub embracing housing with a through lumen (interior cavity of 200) for receipt of the connection hub (inside receives the hub) to expose a proximal end (10A) of the connection hub and a base element (edges of the housing, best labeled as 136, see figures 4 and 8) configured to abut the skin of the subject around the skin anchoring member ([0044]), in which the base element comprises an aperture for pinning/suturing ([0044]) but does not teach an adhesive member for attaching the external housing to the skin of the subject.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to substitute McNeil aperture for pinning and suturing with an adhesive since suturing, pinning and using an adhesive are all functionally equivalent ways to attach a device to the body. The structures are functionally equivalent ways and there appears to be no evidence that simple substitution would hinder the functioning of the device.
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McNeil in view of Lokken (US 5758660).
Regarding claim 44, McNeil does not teach the connection hub and/or external housing comprise a UV light configured to direct light on the catheter tube and/or the subject skin at the incision or an antibacterial coating.
Lokken discloses fittings for the body and teaches a external housing (figure 3B) comprise a UV light configured to direct light on the catheter tube and/or the subject skin at the incision or an antibacterial coating (col 1, lines 20-27).
Lokken provides the light to prevent infection (col 1, lines 10-27). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify McNeil with the light of Lokken in order to prevent infection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 33-43 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach an actuable closure (25) configured to close the fluid outlet upon actuation, wherein the detachable ambulatory suction module is configured to exert a negative pressure in the catheter tube upon actuation of the closure. McNeil, Tanaka (US 20090209971), Aguirre (US 2011/0288534) and Buckman (US 2005/0234390) while teaching the attachment of the device through an anchor and matching attachment, fail to provide motivation to modify McNeil to arrive at the instant invention.
Conclusion
/KAI H WENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781