DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Applicant’s Amendment filed on 10/10/2025 in which independent claim 1 has been amended, claims 3-4, 6, 14, and 25 have been canceled, claims 26 and 27 have been withdrawn and entered of record.
Claim 1 has been amended herein to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Based on the amended claim, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-13, and 15-24 are presented for examination.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the objection to the drawing have been considered but are not persuasive. The system is complicated and has multiple embodiments (e.g. using solar energy or fuel cell energy for converting to electrical energy). Furthermore, the system has multilayers of different components. Therefore, multiple drawings for different embodiments with corresponding layers and devices are necessary for the understanding of the subject matter sought to be patented.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claim 1 has been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the:
Claim 1, one or more second devices, a third device, and a fourth device.
Claim 7, wherein the fourth device comprises three sub-layers therein.
Claim 13, comprising a layer of a protective material protecting the apparatus from its environment.
Claim 15, wherein the one or more first devices are either contained within the protective material or are positioned underneath it.
the apparatus has a layered structure, with the one or more first devices being positioned proximal to the natural energy source and forming a first layer; the third device being positioned underneath the one or more first devices and forming a second layer; the one or more second devices being positioned underneath the third device and the one or more first devices and forming a third layer; and the fourth device being positioned distal to the natural energy source and underneath the first, second and third devices and forming a fourth layer.
Claim 18, wherein the apparatus comprises a housing containing the first, second, third and fourth devices.
Claim 20, array comprising a plurality of apparatuses according to claim 1 interconnected with each other.
Claim 22, the array is operated in conjunction with one or more energy management cells, the one or more energy management cells each comprising a printed circuit board, which controls the flow of electricity across the array.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-13, and 15-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, line 12 recites “wherein the third device comprises a supercapacitor and a printed circuit board”. However, lines 10-11 recite “wherein the one or more second devices comprise a combination of one or more supercapacitors and one or more batteries”. It is unclear whether “a supercapacitor” is the same as “one or more supercapacitors” as cited in line 11 or it is a different supercapacitor. For examination purpose, the limitation will be construed as “wherein the third device comprises [[a supercapacitor and]] a printed circuit board connected to the one or more supercapacitors. Because the current disclosure only has support for:
[0038] The one or more second devices are able to store the electricity which is generated by the one or more first devices.
[0039] Typically, when the natural energy source being converted into electricity is solar power, the one or more second devices able to store the electricity generated by the one or more first devices comprise one or more batteries, or a combination of a one or more supercapacitors and one or more batteries as a hybrid alternative.
[0044] The third device is able to direct the electricity from the one or more first devices to the one or more second devices. In one embodiment, it may comprise a printed circuit board (PCB), which manages and directs any harvested energy into the one or more second devices for the storage of the generated electrical power. The third device may employ a supercapacitor, or a combination of a supercapacitor and battery advanced technologies as a hybrid alternative.
Accordingly, the second devices are energy storages and third device is to direct electrical energy from the first device to the second device for energy storage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 12-13, 15, 20-21 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snidow US Patent Publication 2013/0081676; hereinafter “Snidow” in view of Alsharaeh et al., US Patent 10,608,137; hereinafter “Alsharaeh” and further in view of US Patent Publication 20130307464 A1 “Zhu”.
Regarding claim 1, Snidow discloses an apparatus (Fig. 4-7) for the conversion of power from a natural energy source into electricity [0015], and storage and distribution of electricity [0015], the apparatus comprising:
i) one or more first devices (Fig. 4, 204) able to convert power from a natural energy source (solar light) into electricity [0015] [0034];
ii) one or more second devices (210) able to store the electricity generated by the one or more first devices [0036];
iii) a third device (209 is in the 207) able to direct the electricity from the one or more first devices (204) to the one or more second devices (210);
iv) a fourth device (Fig. 6 shows multiple panels 200 are connected in an array [0035]) able to distribute the electricity from the apparatus (Fig. 6, 200s; [0035] when the panels 200 are connected in an array, a form of interconnect for distribute electricity from and to the panels 200 is required);
wherein the one or more second devices comprise a combination of one or more supercapacitors and one or more batteries; and
wherein the third device comprises a supercapacitor and a printed circuit board; and
wherein the one or more first devices comprise a layer of a perovskite material (Column 2, lines 28-50) and a backplate comprising one or more materials selected from the group consisting of carbon nanotubes, boron nitride, and graphene
Snidow discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 above, Snidow also discloses the second device comprises one or more batteries (Fig. 7, 210). Snidow does not disclose wherein the one or more second devices comprise a combination of one or more supercapacitors and one or more batteries; and wherein the third device comprises a supercapacitor and a printed circuit board. Zhu discloses a solar system comprises wherein the one or more second devices comprise a combination of one or more supercapacitors (“not shown” in Fig. 3 [0041]) and one or more batteries (Fig. 3, 70) [0041]; and wherein the third device (Fig. 1b, is the mechanical drawing which including PCB that employs circuit of Fig. 3) comprises a supercapacitor (“not shown” in Fig. 3 [0041]) and a printed circuit board (Fig. 1b, PCB 22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Snidow to incorporate the teachings of Zhu and provide the one or more second devices comprise a combination of one or more supercapacitors and one or more batteries; and wherein the third device comprises a supercapacitor and a printed circuit board. Doing so would increase efficiency since the energy only transferring to the battery when the electrical energy of supercapacitor is above a threshold.
The combination of Snidow and Zhu does not disclose the one or more first devices comprise a layer of a perovskite material (Column 2, lines 28-50) and a backplate comprising one or more materials selected from the group consisting of carbon nanotubes, boron nitride, and graphene. Alsharaeh discloses a solar system using a perovskite material (Column 2, lines 28-50) as one or more first devices and a backplate comprising one or more materials selected from the group consisting of carbon nanotubes, boron nitride, and graphene
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alsharaeh discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 above, Snidow also discloses the one or more first devices comprise one or more photovoltaic cells (Fig. 4, 204s).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alsharaeh discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 above, Snidow also discloses the apparatus is in the form of a tile or panel (Fig. 4-7, 200).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alsharaeh discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 above, Snidow also discloses the apparatus further comprising a layer of a protective material protecting the apparatus from its environment (Fig. 4, 201).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alsharaeh discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 above, Snidow also discloses the one or more first devices (Fig. 4, 204) are either contained within the protective material (Fig. 4, 201) or are positioned underneath it [0031].
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alsharaeh discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 above, Snidow also discloses an array comprising a plurality of apparatuses interconnected with each other (Fig. 6, 200s; [0035]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alsharaeh discloses the apparatus according to claim 20 above, Snidow discloses electrical power is stored in a battery [0036] located within a battery cell ([0036] a battery has a battery cell).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alsharaeh discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 above, Snidow discloses a method of generating ([0015] solar panel is for generate power) and storing power ([0015] battery is for storing power) comprising employing one or more apparatuses according to claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alsharaeh in view of Dederick, US Patent Publication 2011/0139299; hereinafter “Dederick”.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alsharaeh discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 above, the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alsharaeh does not disclose the one or more supercapacitors comprise one or more materials selected from one or more perovskite compounds, one or more metal oxides, nanotubes of a conductive material or metal oxides, an aqueous graphene-enhanced material, or an amount of a bismuth-containing material. Dederick discloses supercapacitors may incorporate metal oxide. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alsharaeh to incorporate the teachings of Dederick and use metal oxide supercapacitors. Doing so would improve electrochemical stability and higher capacitance.
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alsharaeh in view of STUTTERHEIM et al., US Patent Publication 2019/0027624; hereinafter “STUTTERHEIM”.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 above, Snidow disclose the panel 200 can be connected in an array which inherently having a form of interconnect for distribute electricity from and to the panels 200. The combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara does not disclose the interconnection device comprises three sub-layers therein. STUTTERHEIM disclose a PV system having an interconnection device comprises three sub-layers therein (Fig. 1C, 171, 175A, and 175B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara to incorporate the teachings of STUTTERHEIM and provide the interconnection device comprises three sub-layers. Doing so would allow protecting conductors of the interconnection device from expose to the elements.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Snidow, Zhu, Alshara and STUTTERHEIM discloses the apparatus according to claim 7 above, STUTTERHEIM further discloses the sub-layers include an electrically conductive sub-layer (Fig. 1C, 171) [0034] sandwiched between a second sub-layer (Fig. 1C, 175A) and a third sub-layer (Fig. 1C, 175B), both second and third sub-layers being substantially electrically non-conductive [0037] [0034].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Snidow, Zhu, Alshara and STUTTERHEIM discloses the apparatus according to claim 8 above, STUTTERHEIM further discloses the conductive sub- layer comprises copper and/or a composite alloy material [0034].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Snidow, Zhu, Alshara and STUTTERHEIM discloses the apparatus according to claim 9 above, STUTTERHEIM further discloses the composite alloy material comprises one or more of a rare earth magnetic metal, copper [0034], copper oxide, graphene, graphene oxide, cobalt and/or nickel.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Snidow, Zhu, Alshara and STUTTERHEIM discloses the apparatus according to claim 8 above, STUTTERHEIM further discloses the electrically conductive sub-layer comprises a flexible conductive mesh structure [0034].
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara in view of Huang et al., US Patent Publication 2007/0277876; hereinafter “Huang” and further in view of HAYASHI et al., US Patent Publication 20190140584; hereinafter “HAYASHI.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 above, Snidow disclose the apparatus has a layered structure (Fig. 4), with the one or more first devices (204) being positioned proximal to the natural energy source and forming a first layer (204 is in the middle section 202 behind the clear protective cover 201 to receive sunlight); the third device (209 is in the 207) being positioned underneath the one or more first devices (207 is underneath 204) and forming a second layer (207 is a second active layer); the one or more second devices being positioned underneath the third device and the one or more first devices and forming a third layer (207 and battery 210 are on the same layer [0032]); and the fourth device being positioned distal to the natural energy source and underneath the first, second and third devices and forming a fourth layer (Fig 6 and [0035] suggest the photovoltaic panel 200 can be enabled as an array which each panel is require to distribute the electricity from the panel).
The combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara does not disclose the one or more second devices being positioned underneath the third device and the one or more first devices and forming a third layer. Huang discloses an integrated solar cells and battery devices having a thin film battery layer (Fig. 4, 20) positioned under solar cells layer (Fig. 4, 16) and a distribution layer (Fig. 4, 16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara to incorporate the teachings of Huang and have the one or more second devices (battery) being positioned underneath the third device and the one or more first devices and forming a third layer. Doing so would allow having a larger storage capacity for having a whole layer as storage instead of sharing with other components such as a DC-DC converter install on a Printed Circuit Board (PCB).
The combination of Snidow, Zhu, Alshara and Huang does not disclose the fourth device being positioned distal to the natural energy source and underneath the first, second and third devices and forming a fourth layer. HAYASHI discloses an integrated solar cells system having a conducting layer positioned distal to the natural energy source distribute the electricity from the solar cells. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the combination of Snidow, Zhu, Alshara and Huang to incorporate the teachings of HAYASHI and have the fourth device being positioned distal to the natural energy source and underneath the first, second and third devices and forming a fourth layer. Doing so would allow folding the panels for stowing away when not in used.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara in view of Lomasney, US Patent Publication 20180183383; hereinafter “Lomasney”.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 above, Snidow also discloses the apparatus comprises a housing (Fig. 4, weatherproofed frame enclosure 105) containing the first, second, third and fourth devices [0016]. the combination Snidow, Zhu and Alshara does not explicitly disclose the housing comprising a resin material containing an amount of one or more of graphene oxide, boron nitride, fire retardant additives, carbon black and/or graphite. Lomasney disclose an integrated PV device having a housing comprising [0012] a resin material [0019] containing an amount of one or more of graphene oxide, boron nitride, fire retardant additives [0018], carbon black and/or graphite. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara to incorporate the teachings of Lomasney and have the housing comprising the resin material containing an amount of one or more of graphene oxide, boron nitride, fire retardant additives [0018], carbon black and/or graphite. Doing so would lower the weight of the apparatus while protecting the apparatus from fire.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of the combination of Snidow, Zhu, Alshara and Lomasney discloses the apparatus according to claim 18 above, Lomasney also discloses the housing comprises a conductive material [0018] and/or a self-repairing inhibitor located on its exterior.
Claim(s) 16 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara in view of LEIGH, WO Patent Publication 2018229510 and US Patent Publication 20200119211 is used for ease of mapping; hereinafter “LEIGH”.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 above, Snidow, Zhu and Alshara does not explicitly disclose the apparatus comprises quantum dots and/or a dye material. LEIGH discloses an integrated PV apparatus comprises quantum dots and/or a dye material [0021]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara to incorporate the teachings of LEIGH and have apparatus comprises quantum dots and/or a dye material. Doing so would allow maximizing the light energy captured by the apparatus.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara discloses the apparatus according to claim 20 above, Snidow disclose electrical power is stored in a battery [0036] the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara does not explicitly discloses the battery having the array is operated in conjunction with one or more energy management cells, the one or more energy management cells each comprising a printed circuit board, which controls the flow of electricity across the array. LEIGH disclose an integrated PV system having an array is operated in conjunction with one or more energy management cells [0039], the one or more energy management cells each comprising a printed circuit board [0043], which controls the flow of electricity across the array [0039] [0044]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara to incorporate the teachings of LEIGH and have the array is operated in conjunction with one or more energy management cells, the one or more energy management cells each comprising a printed circuit board, which controls the flow of electricity across the array. Do in so would allow the PV system to have optimal efficiency.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara in view of McGuire et al., US Patent Publication 20200252022; hereinafter “McGuire”.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 above, the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara does not disclose an intended use for the apparatus on a marine vessel. McGuire discloses a PV system intended used on a marine vessel [0051]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the combination of Snidow, Zhu and Alshara to incorporate the teachings of McGuire and use the apparatus on a marine vessel based on the intention of use.
Conclusion
/THAI H TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836