DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 07/09/2026, amended claim 12 and cancelled claims 13-15 and 17-18.
Claims 1-12, 16 and 19-20 are pending.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected Group III, a method of treating a disease, and the species a) inflammatory bowel disease as the disease, and b) administering an agonist or an antagonist of a muscarinic acetylcholine receptor to a subject to be treated, as the type of regulating the amount of peripheral regulatory T cells in the gut, in the reply filed on 08/04/2025.
Claims 1-11 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 12, 16, and 19 are examined on the merits herein.
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
The status for each rejection and/or objection in the previous Office Action is set out below.
35 USC § 102
Applicant’s amendment to independent claim 12 that limits the disease to an inflammatory bowel disease and adds a “determining” step, is sufficient to overcome the previous prior art rejections.
REJECTIONS-NEW
The rejections are new. However, US2017/0246267 to Wang continues to be relied upon as a prior art reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 is indefinite because it depends from a deleted base claim. If the base claim has been canceled, a claim which is directly or indirectly dependent thereon should be rejected as incomplete. MPEP 608.01(n).
For the purpose of applying prior art, claim 16 is interpreted as depending on claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0246267 to Wang (published 2017, PTO-892 of 10/06/2025) in view of Pedros (Disrupted regulatory T cell homeostasis in inflammatory bowel diseases, published 2016, PTO-892).
Wang teaches a method for stimulating regeneration of the colon or stomach in a subject with inflammatory bowel disease by administering a cholinergic agonist, wherein the cholinergic agonist is pilocarpine or bethanechol (pgs. 45-46, claims 5, 23, 24).
Regarding claim 12, Wang differs in that it does not teach determining pTreg inducing activity.
Pedros teaches that regulatory T cells (Tregs) play a pivotal role in ensuring gut health. Tregs are able to prevent excessive inflammation, which can lead to the rupture of intestinal homeostasis observed in inflammatory bowel diseases (IBDs) (abstract). Pedros teaches that Tregs can be divided into two main subsets, tTregs and pTregs, wherein pTregs are peripherally induced Tregs and tTregs are thymus derived Tregs (pg. 976, Col. 1). Pedros teaches that pTregs are derived from conventional Tcells in the gut (pg. 976, Col. 1). The composition of the microbiota is crucial for Treg accumulation. “. . .the intestinal bacteria promote tolerance by producing molecules that improve Treg mediated immunosuppression, thus allowing symbiosis between the intestinal flora and the host. . .pTregs. . .prevent immune responses against commensal and dietary antigens. . .Indeed a large proportion of colonic Tregs are specific for bacterial antigens, suggesting that pTregs compose a major proportion of the gut Tregs. . .both pTregs and tTregs. . .contribute to the maintenance of intestinal homeostasis” (pgs. 976-977, “Thymic and peripheral regulatory T cell subpopulations”).
Pedros teaches Tregs as a key immunosuppressive population that is critically involved in the maintenance of the intestinal homeostasis (pg. 975, Col. 2). “Importantly, from a clinical perspective, Tregs can also cure established colitis. Thus, in contrast to the in vitro reductionist Treg/Teff coculture model, this mouse model of intestinal inflammation is a potent tool to dissect the Treg immunosuppressive mechanisms in vivo” (pg. 981, Col. 1).
Pedros teaches that “Numerous studies investigating Tregs in human IBDs show that patients exhibit decreased Treg numbers in the blood and increased Treg numbers in the inflamed intestinal mucosa compared to the uninflamed tissues. The circulating Treg percentages inversely correlate with disease activity, and a concomitant increase in the mucosal Treg numbers is associated with a reduction of the circulating Treg population in active disease” (pg. 984, Col. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to add to the methods of Wang, a step of determining pTreg inducing activity, as taught by Pedros, to arrive at instant claim 12, One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such an addition, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Wang teaches a method of treating inflammatory bowel disease,
-Pedros teaches Tregs as a key immunosuppressive population that is critically involved in the maintenance of the intestinal homeostasis,
- Pedros teaches that regulatory T cells (Tregs) play a pivotal role in ensuring gut health, wherein Tregs are able to prevent excessive inflammation, which can lead to the rupture of intestinal homeostasis observed in inflammatory bowel diseases,
-Pedros teaches pTregs as composing a major proportion of the gut Tregs, contributing to the maintenance of intestinal homeostasis.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to add such a step to predictably arrive at a method that determines the intestinal homeostasis status of a patient, and which monitors the effectiveness of the method of treatment by monitoring the intestinal homeostasis.
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches pilocarpine and bethanechol.
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches that “subject” includes all members of the animal kingdom including, but not limited to, mammal, animals, and humans ([0089]).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAUREN WELLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1622