DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings filed 12/1/2022 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rukavina (US 2020/071451).
Rukavina discloses a hard coat composition comprising a thermoplastic polyurethane having a hard segment content of 70-100wt% (0420-herien understood to read on a “hard coat composition”) wherein the thermoplastic polyurethane is a reaction product of:
a) a diisocyanate, such as 4,4’-methylene-bis-(cyclohexyl isocyanate (0014; 0020) ; alternatively, the polyurethane may comprise oligomeric or polymeric polyols having an average molecular with of at least 400g.mol (0547)
b) a polyol, such as cyclic polyols (0477+): said polyol may have a number average molecular weight of about 500g/mole or more (0484, 0494; 0505; 0509; 0578); said polyol also may be branched (throughout the disclosure including 0477; 0486; 0016; 008; 0371; herein understood to read on the claimed “side chain”) and
c) a chain extender, such as cyclohexane dimethanol (CHDM) (e.g. 0691),
wherein the at least one of the diisocyanate or the chain extender comprises a cyclic structure (the chain extender is cyclohexanedimethanol ).
With regard to claim 2, the hard segment content may be 90 percent by eight or greater (0420; table 1109).
With regards to claim 3, the diisocyanate may comprise 4,4’-methylene-bis-(cyclohexyl isocyanate.
With regards to claim 4, the diisocyanate may be 4,4’-methylene-bis-(cyclohexyl isocyanate.
With regards to claims 5 and 6, the chain extent may comprise cyclohexane dimethanol.
With regards to claims 7, the polyol comprises polyether polyols or polyolefin polyols (0694).
With regards to claims 7 and 9, Rukavina discloses (0508) that the diol may comprise polyester polyols including the esterification product of a dicarboxylic acid and a 2-10 carbon glycol such as 1, 4 butanediol (herein understood to read on the “side chain” limitation of claim 1).
With regards to claims 10-14, Rukavina discloses also (see D1, pages 9-10, par. 0309 - 0315) that the above mentioned hard coat compositions are providing laminates by applying the composition on at least one layer of a substrate selected from the group consisting of paper, glass, ceramic, wood, masonry, textile, metal or organic polymeric material and combinations thereof. Rukavina additionally discloses (see pages 56-57, par. 0894- 0897) the possible use of adhesive layers: “the layers within the multilayered article can be laminated by heat and/ or pressure, bonded by one or more adhesive materials or one or more layers in between having adhering properties, have one or more interlayers in between layers, or merely placed adjacent to another layer”. The laminate may further comprise a color layer (0677; 0892).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 102
With regards to the rejection of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as purportedly being anticipated by US 2020/071451 to Rukavina (hereafter “Rukavina”), Applicants argues Rukavina fails to disclose at least the features of each of instant claims 1 and 10 of a polyol that has a number average molecular weight of 500 grams per mole or greater and comprises a side chain (e.g., as recited in claim 1). Said argument is noted but is not persuasive for the reasons noted above; specifically, Rukavina teaches the polyol may have a molecular weight of 500 grams per mole or greater and be branched (understood to read on the claimed “side chain”).
With regards to claim 9, applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new basis of rejection.
Thus, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the claims remain rejected for reasons of record.
Conclusion
/KEVIN R KRUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787