Claims 1-2, 5-9 and 11 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claims 1-2 and 5-9 are rejected.
Claims 9 and 11 are objected to.
Response to Arguments
The previous 112(b) rejections of record are hereby withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments. However, a new 112(b) rejection is hereby entered for dependent claim 9 due to lack of antecedent basis for the term “the molecular memory”.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 6 and 8-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the molecular memory" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because “a molecular memory” was deleted from independent claim 1 in the amendment dated 12/12/25.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 5 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,790,280. This is a statutory double patenting rejection. By removing the language “such that the information storage system comprises a molecular memory” and adding “wherein the addressable locations comprise at least 1024 independent mixture spots”, instant claim 1 is now claiming the same subject matter as issued claim 5 of US 11,790,280.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2019/0244109 (hereinafter Bramlett).
Regarding claim 1, Bramlett discloses:
An information storage system, comprising a solid surface (¶[0168], “An exemplary solid support can be seen in FIGS. 12A-12B. FIG. 12A shows a front side of the solid support made of glass and comprising a clear window for array and fluidic ports.”) with a plurality of addressable locations (¶[0170], “The solid support has dimensions of 3.5 inches by 2.5 inches. The capacity of the solid support is 1 petabyte that is implemented as an addressable 32×32 array comprising 1024 spots.”), wherein each addressable location comprises a mixture of small molecules, and each mixture contains one set of small molecules per addressable location, and wherein the addressable locations comprise at least 1024 independent mixture spots (As noted in the ¶[0170] citation above, Bramlett discloses each addressable location of comprises 1024 spots. Additionally, Bramlett @¶[0066] teaches the spots comprises a mixture of small molecules (emphasis added), “A surface material for nucleic acid extension, a design for loci for nucleic acid extension (aka, arrangement spots), and reagents for nucleic acid synthesis are selected 107. The surface of a structure is prepared for nucleic acid synthesis 108. De novo polynucleotide synthesis is performed 109. The synthesized polynucleotides are stored 111 and available for subsequent release 113, in whole or in part.” Here the polynucleotide molecules are stored at the addressable loci [see also ¶[0157], “Provided herein are devices for storing information, comprising: a chip comprising an array of addressable loci, wherein one or more addressable loci comprise at least one electrode, a synthesis surface, and at least one fluid port, wherein the synthesis surface at each addressable loci comprises at least one polynucleotide extending from the surface, wherein a density of addressable loci on the chip is at least 100×10.sup.6 polynucleotides per cm.sup.2.”].).
Regarding claim 2, Bramlett discloses:
The information storage system of claim 1, wherein the addressable locations are converted to digital sequences (See Figure 1 which shows the stored polynucleotide is ultimately converted to a digital sequence in step 119. See also ¶[0066]).
Regarding claim 5, Bramlett discloses:
The information storage system of claim 1, wherein the addressable locations comprise thousands of spatially arrayed nanoliter spots (As noted above, the addressable locations of Bramlett comprise polynucleotides. Paragraph [0079] goes on to disclose (emphasis added), “In some instances, 109 polynucleotides are supported on less than about 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 or 1 m2 of a structure described herein.”).
Regarding claim 6, Bramlett discloses:
The information storage system of claim 1, wherein the storage system comprises more than 100 kbits of data (See at least ¶[0061], “In some instances, the capacity of the solid support is between about 1 to about 10 petabytes or between about 1 to about 100 petabytes.”).
Regarding claim 7, Bramlett discloses:
The information storage system of claim 1, wherein the storage system comprises a gigabyte of data (See at least ¶[0061], “In some instances, the capacity of the solid support is between about 1 to about 10 petabytes or between about 1 to about 100 petabytes.”).
Regarding claim 8, Bramlett discloses:
The information storage system of claim 1, wherein the storage system is assayable using an analysis techniques selected from the group consisting of mass spectrometry, optical spectroscopy (¶[0058], “Access to nucleic acid information in some instances is achieved by cleavage of polynucleotides from all or a portion of a solid support. Cleavage in some instances comprises exposure to chemical reagents (ammonia or other reagent), electrical potential, radiation, heat, light, acoustics, or other form of energy capable of manipulating chemical bonds. In some instances, cleavage occurs by charging one or more electrodes in the vicinity of the polynucleotides. In some instances, electromagnetic radiation in the form of UV light is used for cleavage of polynucleotides.”), NMR, and chromatography.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The various cited references on the PTO-892 all generally relate to molecular computing and are deemed relevant to the claimed invention.
/RYAN M STIGLIC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 6213