DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action in response to the Amendment/Remarks received on 2 April 2026. Claims 19, 26, 27, 34, 35, and 42 have been amended. Claims 1-18, 21, 29, and 37 have been cancelled. Claims 19, 20, 22-28, 30-36, and 38-42 remain pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pg. 10, filed 2 April 2026, with respect to the objection of the Specification have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Applicant’s argument,
In response to the Office Action, Applicant has amended paragraphs [0018] and [0040]. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and removal of the objection. (see Remarks, pg. 10, paragraph 3) The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The substitute specification has not been entered since it does not conform to 37 CFR 1.125(b) and (c) because a clean copy of a substitute specification has not been supplied (in addition to the marked-up copy) and a statement as to a lack of new matter under 37 CFR 1.125(b) is missing.
MPEP 608.001(q) Substitute or Rewritten Specification [R-07.2015]:
37 CFR 1.125(b) applies to a substitute specification voluntarily filed by the applicant. Subject to the provisions of 37 CFR 1.312, a substitute specification, excluding claims, may be voluntarily filed by the applicant at any point up to the payment of the issue fee provided it is accompanied by a statement that the substitute specification includes no new matter. The Office will accept a substitute specification voluntarily filed by the applicant if the requirements of 37 CFR 1.125(b) are satisfied.
37 CFR 1.125(c) requires a substitute specification filed under 37 CFR 1.125(a) or (b) be submitted in clean form without markings. A marked-up copy of the substitute specification showing all the changes relative to the immediate prior version of the specification of record must also be submitted. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived. Numbering the paragraphs of the specification of record is not considered a change that must be shown under 37 CFR 1.125(c). The paragraphs of any substitute specification, other than the claims, should be individually numbered in Arabic numerals (for example [0001]) so that any amendment to the specification may be made by replacement paragraph in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(b)(1).
A substitute specification filed under 37 CFR 1.125(b) must be accompanied by a statement indicating that no new matter was included. There is no obligation on the examiner to make a detailed comparison between the old and the new specifications for determining whether new matter has been added. If, however, an examiner becomes aware that new matter is present, an objection thereto should be made.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pg. 10, filed 2 April 2026, with respect to objected claims 19, 24, 26, 27, 32, 34, 35, 40, and 42 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the claim amendments filed on 2 April 2026. The objections of claims 19, 24, 26, 27, 32, 34, 35, 40, and 42 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pgs. 10-11, filed 2 April 2026, with respect to rejected claims 19, 20, 22-28, 30-36, and 38-42 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the claim amendments filed on 2 April 2026. The rejections of claims 19, 20, 22-28, 30-36 and 38-42 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pgs. 11-12, filed 2 April 2026, with respect to rejected claims 19, 20, 22-28, 30-36, and 38-42 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of the references being used in the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections.
Claims 24, 32, and 40 stand objected to and claims 19, 20, 22-28, 30-36, and 38-42 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claims 24, 32, and 40 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19 recites “a first difference” in line 22 and claim 24 recites “the difference” in line 1. The claims recite the same term (i.e. the first difference”) for the different limitations. To avoid any ambiguity in the claims, different terms should be used for the disparate limitations. Suggested claim language: “the first difference” in claim 24 (line 1).
Claim 27 recites “a first difference” in line 23 and claim 32 recites “the difference” in line 1. The claims recite the same term (i.e. the first difference”) for the different limitations. To avoid any ambiguity in the claims, different terms should be used for the disparate limitations. Suggested claim language: “the first difference” in claim 32 (line 1).
Claim 35 recites “a first difference” in line 24 and claim 40 recites “the difference” in line 1. The claims recite the same term (i.e. the first difference”) for the different limitations. To avoid any ambiguity in the claims, different terms should be used for the disparate limitations. Suggested claim language: “the first difference” in claim 40 (line 1).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 27, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0185728 A1 (hereinafter Guo) in view of WIPO Publication 2014/141498 A1 (hereinafter Tsuruta) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0285409 A1 (hereinafter Galasso), U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0071155 A1 (hereinafter Kastle), U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0307733 A1 (hereinafter Karamanos), European Patent Publication No. EP 3 335 803 A1 (hereinafter Jang), U.S. Patent No. 6,111,767 (hereinafter Handleman), U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0341617 A1 (hereinafter Spalink), U.S. Patent No. 5,564,626 (hereinafter Kettler), and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0290668 A1 (hereinafter Taylor).
As per claim 19, Guo substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Guo teaches the limitations of an air conditioning system (pg. 5, par. [0089] and Fig .1, element 100; i.e. HVAC system), comprising:
an array of air conditioning sensors (pg. 5, par. [0089] and Fig. 1, element 122; i.e. sensing system comprising of a number of sensors) configured to detect: a differential pressure associated with an air conditioner (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0108]), an ambient humidity (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0102]), an ambient temperature (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0112]), a supply humidity (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0102]), a supply temperature (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0100]), a return humidity (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0102]), a return temperature (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0100]), and a power consumption associated with the air conditioner (pg. 5, par. [0091]; i.e. energy consumption from power meters); and
a controller (Fig. 1, element 124; i.e. control system) configured to determine return air enthalpy (pg. 5, par. [0102]) and outside air enthalpy (pg. 5, par. [0102]).
Not explicitly taught are an irradiance sensor configured to detect an ambient solar irradiance;
a renewable meter configured to detect a power amount generated by a renewable source;
an inverter meter configured to detect a power output of an inverter associated with the renewable source;
detect a differential pressure across a fan associated with the air conditioner; and
determine a plurality of parameters comprising:
a supply enthalpy based on the supply humidity and supply temperature;
a return enthalpy based on the return humidity and return temperature;
an ambient enthalpy based on the ambient humidity and ambient temperature;
an airflow rate based on the differential pressure across the fan;
an inverter efficiency based on the power output of the inverter and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
a solar efficiency based on the ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
the controller further configured to, in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy, send a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Tsuruta, in an analogous art of abnormality determination system (pg. 3, paragraph 2), teaches the missing limitations of an irradiance sensor (Fig. 1, element 15; a solar radiation meter) configured to detect an ambient solar irradiance (pg. 4, paragraph 9);
a renewable meter (Fig. 1, element 13, i.e. power measurement unit) configured to detect a power amount generated by a renewable source (pg. 9, paragraph 11; i.e. “The power measurement unit 13 … measures the generated power generated by the solar power generation module 12.”); and
detect a power output of an inverter associated with an renewable source (pg. 6, paragraph 11; i.e. “… the AC power output from the inverter 14 measured in a certain two days.”) for the purpose of accessing whether an anomaly has occurred and generating electric power (pg. 3, paragraphs 9 and 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo to include the addition of the limitations of an irradiance sensor configured to detect an ambient solar irradiance; a renewable meter configured to detect a power amount generated by a renewable source; and detect a power output of an inverter associated with the renewable source to accurately determine an occurrence of an abnormality (Tsuruta: pg. 3, paragraph 2).
Guo in view of Tsuruta does not expressly teach an inverter meter configured to detect a power output of an inverter associated with the renewable source;
detect a differential pressure across a fan associated with the air conditioner;
determine a plurality of parameters comprising:
a supply enthalpy based on the supply humidity and supply temperature;
a return enthalpy based on the return humidity and return temperature;
an ambient enthalpy based on the ambient humidity and ambient temperature, an airflow rate based on the differential pressure across the fan;
an inverter efficiency based on the power output of the inverter and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
a solar efficiency based on the ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
the controller further configured to, in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy, send a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Galasso, in an analogous art of solar generation (pg. 2, par. [0016]), teaches the missing limitation of an inverter meter configured to detect a power output of an inverter associated with a renewable source (pg. 2, par. [0017]; i.e. “… each inverter 111, 112, 113, 114 is a solar micro-inverter which includes an internal sensor for detecting the output power or energy of electrical output 115, 116, 117, 118 and provides an output signal to signal lines 119a, 120a, 121a, 122a which is proportional to the output power or energy provided by the associated micro-inverter, each signal line 119a, 120a, 121a, 121b coupled to a controller 125.”) for the purpose of measuring the output power of an inverter (pg. 2, par. [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in further view of Tsuruta to include the addition of the limitation of an inverter meter configured to detect a power output of an inverter associated with a renewable source to advantageously enable a system to generate electricity in an efficient manner (Galasso: pg. 2, par. [0016]).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso does not expressly teach detect a differential pressure across a fan associated with the air conditioner; and
determine a plurality of parameters comprising:
a supply enthalpy based on the supply humidity and supply temperature;
a return enthalpy based on the return humidity and return temperature;
an ambient enthalpy based on the ambient humidity and ambient temperature;
an airflow rate based on the differential pressure across the fan;
an inverter efficiency based on the power output of the inverter and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
a solar efficiency based on the ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
the controller further configured to, in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy, send a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Kastle, in an analogous art of heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitations of detect a differential pressure across a fan associated with an air conditioner and an airflow rate based on the differential pressure across the fan (pg. 2, par. [0014] and [0044]; i.e. [0014]: “… the air flow rate is estimated based on the differential pressure over the fan.” and [0044]: “Additionally or alternatively, the pressure sensors may be provided upstream and downstream of the fan 122 at the air side in order measure the differential pressure across the fan.”) for the purpose of monitoring a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems (pg. 1, par. [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso to include the addition of the limitations of detect a differential pressure across a fan associated with an air conditioner and an airflow rate based on the differential pressure across the fan to advantageously optimize an energy flow in an HVAC system (Kastle: pg. 1, par. [0006]).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle does not expressly teach determine a plurality of parameters comprising:
a supply enthalpy based on the supply humidity and supply temperature;
a return enthalpy based on the return humidity and return temperature;
an ambient enthalpy based on the ambient humidity and ambient temperature;
an inverter efficiency based on the power output of the inverter and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
a solar efficiency based on the ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source, and an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
the controller further configured to, in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy, send a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Karamanos, in an analogous art of an air conditioning system (pg. 1, par. [0012]), teaches the missing limitation of determine a supply enthalpy based on a supply humidity and supply temperature and a return enthalpy based on a return humidity and return temperature (pg. 13, par. [0119]; i.e. “A supply airflow enthalpy calculator 422 calculates the enthalpy of the supply airflow based on the supply airflow temperature 424 and the supply airflow humidity 426. Similarly, a return airflow enthalpy calculator 428 calculates the enthalpy of the mixed airflow based on the mixed airflow temperature 430 and the mixed airflow humidity 432.”) for the purpose of minimizing energy usage (pg. 13, par. [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso and Kastle to include the addition of the limitation of determine a supply enthalpy based on a supply humidity and supply temperature and a return enthalpy based on a return humidity and return temperature to advantageously improve controllability, decrease energy usage, and increase maintainability (Karamanos: pg. 1, par. [0010]).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle and Karamanos does not expressly teach determine a plurality of parameters comprising:
an ambient enthalpy based on the ambient humidity and ambient temperature;
an inverter efficiency based on the power output of the inverter and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
a solar efficiency based on the ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
the controller further configured to, in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy, send a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Jang, in an analogous art of air conditioning systems (pg. 2, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of determine an ambient enthalpy based on an ambient humidity and ambient temperature (pg. 4, par. [0038]; i.e. “… the controller 25 may calculate first enthalpy on the basis of the temperature of the outside air measured by the first temperature sensor 21 and the humidity of the outside air measured by the first humidity sensor 22 …”) for the purpose of controlling an air conditioning system (pg. 2, par. [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle and Karamanos to include the addition of the limitation of determine an ambient enthalpy based on an ambient humidity and ambient temperature to prevent excessive energy consumption and provide efficient operation (Jang: pgs. 5-6, par. [0056]).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle, Karamanos, and Jung does not expressly teach determine a plurality of parameters comprising:
an inverter efficiency based on the power output of the inverter and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
a solar efficiency based on the ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
the controller further configured to, in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy, send a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Handleman, in an analogous art of renewable energy (col. 1, lines 13-17), teaches the missing limitations of determine a plurality of parameters comprising:
an inverter efficiency based on power output of inverter and power amount generated by an renewable source (col. 7, lines 32-34; i.e. “The inverter efficiency is a measure of how much energy is wasted in converting DC power to AC power.”); and
a solar efficiency based on ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source (col. 7, lines 24-28 and 30-32; i.e. “array efficiency” and “The system efficiency is a measure of how well the overall system converts sunlight to AC power.”) for the purpose of obtaining data useful in ascertaining a system's economics, obtaining useful operations and maintenance data, and for educational purposes (col. 7, lines 34-36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle and Karamanos to include the addition of the limitations of determine a plurality of parameters comprising:
an inverter efficiency based on power output of inverter and power amount generated by an renewable source and a solar efficiency based on ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source to advantageously reduce cost of PV system data acquisition capability while dramatically increasing functionality (Handleman: col. 2, lines 31-33).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle, Karamanos, Jung, and Handleman does not expressly teach determine a plurality of parameters comprising:
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
the controller further configured to, in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy, send a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Spalink, in an analogous art of heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of determine an air conditioner efficiency based on airflow rate, supply enthalpy, and return enthalpy (pgs. 12-13, par. [0102]; i.e. “The determination and quantification of the energy efficiency of these HVAC systems, individually or in conjunction with each other, involves the measurement of a number of parameters, such as, but not limited to, airflow through various parts of ducts, air flow through the expansion coil, enthalpy before and after the expansion coil, spatial and/or temporal distribution of temperature and humidity of the air both when it enters or exits ducts, and/or the expansion coil.”) for the purpose of controlling energy efficiency in heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle, Karamanos, Jung, and Handleman to include the addition of the limitation of determine an air conditioner efficiency based on airflow rate, supply enthalpy, and return enthalpy to advantageously improve comfort of occupants of a building and energy consumption of a home can be reduced (Spalink: pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle, Karamanos, Jung, Handleman, and Spalink does not expressly teach an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
the controller further configured to, in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy, send a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Kettler, in an analogous art of an air conditioning unit (col. 1, lines 8-12), teaches the missing limitation of in response to ambient enthalpy being less than return enthalpy, send a signal to activate an economizer in an air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner (col. 7, line 45-col. 8, line 12; i.e. “… when the outside air quality is identified to be above the minimum acceptable level, flow passes to step 106 at which the controller 29 modulates the outside air damper 30 to effect an ‘economizer cycle.’”) to supply conditioned air (col. 1, lines 8-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, and Spalink to include the addition of the limitation of in response to ambient enthalpy being less than return enthalpy, send a signal to activate an economizer in an air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner to minimize energy consumption (Kettler: col. 3, lines 1-5).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, and Kettler does not expressly teach an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner.
However Taylor, in an analogous art of an air conditioning unit (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between a return enthalpy and a supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by power consumption associated with an air conditioner (pg. 5, par. [0047]; i.e. “… this Btu/h measurement is to measure the difference in enthalpy at the HVAC supply and return ducts along with the air volume passing through the HVAC unit. Techniques for measuring enthalpy and air volume are known, but require multiple relative multiple humidity sensors, anemometers, and knowledge of the supply duct dimensions. With this equipment in place, the instantaneous Btu output can be calculated and summed over a time period during which power consumption is measured. The TSAT stores information about when the HVAC is running and when it is not, and performs the calculation Capacity (Btu/h)/Power over a period during which the HVAC system is running”) for the purpose of monitoring efficiency of HVAC equipment (pg. 5, par. [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, and Kettler to include the addition of the limitation of an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between a return enthalpy and a supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by power consumption associated with an air conditioner to advantageously reduce latency between time of detection of an alarm condition and a controlled response to that alarm condition (Taylor: pg. 1, par. [0005] and pg. 2, par. [0020]).
As per claim 27, Guo substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Guo teaches the limitations of a method for operating an air conditioning system (pg. 5, par. [0089] and Fig .1, element 100; i.e. an HVAC system), the method comprising, during operating:
detecting, with an array of air conditioning sensors (pg. 5, par. [0089] and Fig. 1, element 122; i.e. sensing system comprising of a number of sensors), a differential pressure associated with an air conditioner (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0108]), an ambient humidity (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0102]), an ambient temperature (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0112]), a supply humidity (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0102]), a supply temperature (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0100]), a return humidity (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0102]), a return temperature (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0100]), and a power consumption associated with the air conditioner (pg. 5, par. [0091]; i.e. energy consumption from power meters); and
determining, using a controller, determine return air enthalpy (pg. 5, par. [0102]) and outside air enthalpy (pg. 5, par. [0102]).
Not explicitly taught are detecting, with an irradiance sensor, an ambient solar irradiance;
detecting, with a renewable meter, a power amount generated by a renewable source;
detecting, with an inverter meter, a power output of an inverter associated with the renewable source;
detecting a differential pressure across a fan associated with the air conditioner; and
determining a plurality of parameters comprising:
a supply enthalpy based on the supply humidity and supply temperature;
a return enthalpy based on the return humidity and return temperature;
an ambient enthalpy based on the ambient humidity and ambient temperature;
an airflow rate based on the differential pressure across the fan;
an inverter efficiency based on the power output of the inverter and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
a solar efficiency based on the ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy sending, using the controller, a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Tsuruta, in an analogous art of abnormality determination system (pg. 3, paragraph 2), teaches the missing limitations of detecting, with an irradiance sensor (Fig. 1, element 15; a solar radiation meter), an ambient solar irradiance (pg. 4, paragraph 9);
detecting, with a renewable meter (Fig. 1, element 13, i.e. power measurement unit), a power amount generated by a renewable source (pg. 9, paragraph 11; i.e. “The power measurement unit 13 … measures the generated power generated by the solar power generation module 12.”); and
detecting a power output of an inverter associated with the renewable source (pg. 6, paragraph 11; i.e. “… the AC power output from the inverter 14 measured in a certain two days.”) for the purpose of accessing whether an anomaly has occurred and generating electric power (pg. 3, paragraphs 9 and 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo to include the addition of the limitations of detecting, with an irradiance sensor; detecting, with a renewable meter, a power amount generated by a renewable source; and detecting a power output of an inverter associated with the renewable source to accurately determine an occurrence of an abnormality (Tsuruta: pg. 3, paragraph 2).
Guo in view of Tsuruta does not expressly teach detecting, with an inverter meter, a power output of an inverter associated with the renewable source;
detecting a differential pressure across a fan associated with an air conditioner;
determining a plurality of parameters comprising:
a supply enthalpy based on the supply humidity and supply temperature;
a return enthalpy based on the return humidity and return temperature;
an ambient enthalpy based on the ambient humidity and ambient temperature, an airflow rate based on the differential pressure across the fan;
an inverter efficiency based on the power output of the inverter and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
a solar efficiency based on the ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy sending, using the controller, a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Galasso, in an analogous art of solar generation (pg. 2, par. [0016]), teaches the missing limitation of detecting, with an inverter meter, a power output of an inverter associated with a renewable source (pg. 2, par. [0017]; i.e. “… each inverter 111, 112, 113, 114 is a solar micro-inverter which includes an internal sensor for detecting the output power or energy of electrical output 115, 116, 117, 118 and provides an output signal to signal lines 119a, 120a, 121a, 122a which is proportional to the output power or energy provided by the associated micro-inverter, each signal line 119a, 120a, 121a, 121b coupled to a controller 125.”) for the purpose of measuring the output power of an inverter (pg. 2, par. [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in further view of Tsuruta to include the addition of the limitation of detecting, with an inverter meter, a power output of an inverter associated with a renewable source to advantageously enable a system to generate electricity in an efficient manner (Galasso: pg. 2, par. [0016]).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso does not expressly teach detecting a differential pressure across a fan associated with the air conditioner;
determining a plurality of parameters comprising:
a supply enthalpy based on the supply humidity and supply temperature;
a return enthalpy based on the return humidity and return temperature;
an ambient enthalpy based on the ambient humidity and ambient temperature;
an airflow rate based on the differential pressure across the fan;
an inverter efficiency based on the power output of the inverter and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
a solar efficiency based on the ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy sending, using the controller, a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Kastle, in an analogous art of heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitations of detecting a differential pressure across a fan associated with an air conditioner and an airflow rate based on the differential pressure across the fan (pg. 2, par. [0014] and [0044]; i.e. [0014]: “… the air flow rate is estimated based on the differential pressure over the fan.” and [0044]: “Additionally or alternatively, the pressure sensors may be provided upstream and downstream of the fan 122 at the air side in order measure the differential pressure across the fan.”) for the purpose of monitoring a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems (pg. 1, par. [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso to include the addition of the limitations of detecting a differential pressure across a fan associated with an air conditioner and an airflow rate based on the differential pressure across the fan to advantageously optimize an energy flow in an HVAC system (Kastle: pg. 1, par. [0006]).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle does not expressly teach determining a plurality of parameters comprising:
a supply enthalpy based on the supply humidity and supply temperature;
a return enthalpy based on the return humidity and return temperature;
an ambient enthalpy based on the ambient humidity and ambient temperature;
an airflow rate based on the differential pressure across the fan;
an inverter efficiency based on the power output of the inverter and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
a solar efficiency based on the ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy sending, using the controller, a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Karamanos, in an analogous art of an air conditioning system (pg. 1, par. [0012]), teaches the missing limitation of determining a supply enthalpy based on a supply humidity and supply temperature and a return enthalpy based on a return humidity and return temperature (pg. 13, par. [0119]; i.e. “A supply airflow enthalpy calculator 422 calculates the enthalpy of the supply airflow based on the supply airflow temperature 424 and the supply airflow humidity 426. Similarly, a return airflow enthalpy calculator 428 calculates the enthalpy of the mixed airflow based on the mixed airflow temperature 430 and the mixed airflow humidity 432.”) for the purpose of minimizing energy usage (pg. 13, par. [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso and Kastle to include the addition of the limitation of determining a supply enthalpy based on a supply humidity and supply temperature and a return enthalpy based on a return humidity and return temperature to advantageously improve controllability, decrease energy usage, and increase maintainability (Karamanos: pg. 1, par. [0010]).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle and Karamanos does not expressly teach determining a plurality of parameters comprising:
an ambient enthalpy based on the ambient humidity and ambient temperature;
an inverter efficiency based on the power output of the inverter and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
a solar efficiency based on the ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy sending, using the controller, a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Jang, in an analogous art of air conditioning systems (pg. 2, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of determining an ambient enthalpy based on an ambient humidity and ambient temperature (pg. 4, par. [0038]; i.e. “… the controller 25 may calculate first enthalpy on the basis of the temperature of the outside air measured by the first temperature sensor 21 and the humidity of the outside air measured by the first humidity sensor 22 …”) for the purpose of controlling an air conditioning system (pg. 2, par. [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle and Karamanos to include the addition of the limitation of determining an ambient enthalpy based on an ambient humidity and ambient temperature to prevent excessive energy consumption and provide efficient operation (Jang: pgs. 5-6, par. [0056]).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle, Karamanos, and Jung does not expressly teach determining a plurality of parameters comprising:
an inverter efficiency based on the power output of the inverter and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
a solar efficiency based on the ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy sending, using the controller, a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Handleman, in an analogous art of renewable energy (col. 1, lines 13-17), teaches the missing limitations of determining an inverter efficiency based on power output of inverter and power amount generated by an renewable source (col. 7, lines 32-34; i.e. “The inverter efficiency is a measure of how much energy is wasted in converting DC power to AC power.”) and a solar efficiency based on ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source (col. 7, lines 24-28 and 30-32; i.e. “array efficiency” and “The system efficiency is a measure of how well the overall system converts sunlight to AC power.”) for the purpose of obtaining data useful in ascertaining a system's economics, obtaining useful operations and maintenance data, and for educational purposes (col. 7, lines 34-36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle and Karamanos to include the addition of the limitations of determining an inverter efficiency based on power output of inverter and power amount generated by an renewable source and a solar efficiency based on ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source to advantageously reduce cost of PV system data acquisition capability while dramatically increasing functionality (Handleman: col. 2, lines 31-33).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle, Karamanos, Jung, and Handleman does not expressly teach determining a plurality of parameters comprising:
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy sending, using the controller, a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Spalink, in an analogous art of heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of determining an air conditioner efficiency based on airflow rate, supply enthalpy, and return enthalpy (pgs. 12-13, par. [0102]; i.e. “The determination and quantification of the energy efficiency of these HVAC systems, individually or in conjunction with each other, involves the measurement of a number of parameters, such as, but not limited to, airflow through various parts of ducts, air flow through the expansion coil, enthalpy before and after the expansion coil, spatial and/or temporal distribution of temperature and humidity of the air both when it enters or exits ducts, and/or the expansion coil.”) for the purpose of controlling energy efficiency in heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle, Karamanos, Jung, and Handleman to include the addition of the limitation of determining an air conditioner efficiency based on airflow rate, supply enthalpy, and return enthalpy to advantageously improve comfort of occupants of a building and energy consumption of a home can be reduced (pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle, Karamanos, Jung, Handleman, and Spalink does not expressly teach an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy sending, using the controller, a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Kettler, in an analogous art of an air conditioning unit (col. 1, lines 8-12), teaches the missing limitation of in response to ambient enthalpy being less than return enthalpy sending a signal to activate an economizer in an air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner (col. 7, line 45-col. 8, line 12; i.e. “… when the outside air quality is identified to be above the minimum acceptable level, flow passes to step 106 at which the controller 29 modulates the outside air damper 30 to effect an ‘economizer cycle.’”) to supply conditioned air (col. 1, lines 8-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, and Spalink to include the addition of the limitation of in response to ambient enthalpy being less than return enthalpy sending a signal to activate an economizer in an air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner to minimize energy consumption (Kettler: col. 3, lines 1-5).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, and Kettler does not expressly teach an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner.
However Taylor, in an analogous art of an air conditioning unit (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between a return enthalpy and a supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by power consumption associated with an air conditioner (pg. 5, par. [0047]; i.e. “… this Btu/h measurement is to measure the difference in enthalpy at the HVAC supply and return ducts along with the air volume passing through the HVAC unit. Techniques for measuring enthalpy and air volume are known, but require multiple relative multiple humidity sensors, anemometers, and knowledge of the supply duct dimensions. With this equipment in place, the instantaneous Btu output can be calculated and summed over a time period during which power consumption is measured. The TSAT stores information about when the HVAC is running and when it is not, and performs the calculation Capacity (Btu/h)/Power over a period during which the HVAC system is running”) for the purpose of monitoring efficiency of HVAC equipment (pg. 5, par. [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, and Kettler to include the addition of the limitation of an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between a return enthalpy and a supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by power consumption associated with an air conditioner to advantageously reduce latency between time of detection of an alarm condition and a controlled response to that alarm condition (Taylor: pg. 1, par. [0005] and pg. 2, par. [0020]).
As per claim 35, Guo substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Guo teaches the limitations of an apparatus comprising a non-transitory, computer readable storage medium that stores instruction that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
detecting, with an array of air conditioning sensors (pg. 5, par. [0089] and Fig. 1, element 122; i.e. sensing system comprising of a number of sensors), a differential pressure associated with an air conditioner (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0108]), an ambient humidity (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0102]), an ambient temperature (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0112]), a supply humidity (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0102]), a supply temperature (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0100]), a return humidity (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0102]), a return temperature (pg. 5, par. [0089] and [0100]), and a power consumption associated with the air conditioner (pg. 5, par. [0091]; i.e. energy consumption from power meters); and
determining, using a controller, determine return air enthalpy (pg. 5, par. [0102]) and outside air enthalpy (pg. 5, par. [0102]).
Not explicitly taught are detecting, with an irradiance sensor, an ambient solar irradiance;
detecting, with a renewable meter, a power amount generated by a renewable source;
detecting, with an inverter meter, a power output of an inverter associated with the renewable source;
detecting a differential pressure across a fan associated with the air conditioner;
determining a plurality of parameters comprising:
a supply enthalpy based on the supply humidity and supply temperature;
a return enthalpy based on the return humidity and return temperature;
an ambient enthalpy based on the ambient humidity and ambient temperature;
an airflow rate based on the differential pressure across the fan;
an inverter efficiency based on the power output of the inverter and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
a solar efficiency based on the ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency
ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy sending, using the controller, a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Tsuruta, in an analogous art of abnormality determination system (pg. 3, paragraph 2), teaches the missing limitations of detecting, with an irradiance sensor (Fig. 1, element 15; a solar radiation meter), an ambient solar irradiance (pg. 4, paragraph 9);
detecting, with a renewable meter (Fig. 1, element 13, i.e. power measurement unit), a power amount generated by a renewable source (pg. 9, paragraph 11; i.e. “The power measurement unit 13 … measures the generated power generated by the solar power generation module 12.”); and
detecting a power output of an inverter associated with the renewable source (pg. 6, paragraph 11; i.e. “… the AC power output from the inverter 14 measured in a certain two days.”) for the purpose of accessing whether an anomaly has occurred and generating electric power (pg. 3, paragraphs 9 and 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo to include the addition of the limitations of detecting, with an irradiance sensor; detecting, with a renewable meter, a power amount generated by a renewable source; and detecting a power output of an inverter associated with the renewable source to accurately determine an occurrence of an abnormality (Tsuruta: pg. 3, paragraph 2).
Guo in view of Tsuruta does not expressly teach detecting, with an inverter meter, a power output of an inverter associated with the renewable source;
detecting a differential pressure across a fan associated with an air conditioner;
determining a plurality of parameters comprising:
a supply enthalpy based on the supply humidity and supply temperature;
a return enthalpy based on the return humidity and return temperature;
an ambient enthalpy based on the ambient humidity and ambient temperature, an airflow rate based on the differential pressure across the fan;
an inverter efficiency based on the power output of the inverter and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
a solar efficiency based on the ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency
ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy sending, using the controller, a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Galasso, in an analogous art of solar generation (pg. 2, par. [0016]), teaches the missing limitation of detecting, with an inverter meter, a power output of an inverter associated with a renewable source (pg. 2, par. [0017]; i.e. “… each inverter 111, 112, 113, 114 is a solar micro-inverter which includes an internal sensor for detecting the output power or energy of electrical output 115, 116, 117, 118 and provides an output signal to signal lines 119a, 120a, 121a, 122a which is proportional to the output power or energy provided by the associated micro-inverter, each signal line 119a, 120a, 121a, 121b coupled to a controller 125.”) for the purpose of measuring the output power of an inverter (pg. 2, par. [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in further view of Tsuruta to include the addition of the limitation of detecting, with an inverter meter, a power output of an inverter associated with a renewable source to advantageously enable a system to generate electricity in an efficient manner (Galasso: pg. 2, par. [0016]).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso does not expressly teach detecting a differential pressure across a fan associated with the air conditioner;
determining a plurality of parameters comprising:
a supply enthalpy based on the supply humidity and supply temperature;
a return enthalpy based on the return humidity and return temperature;
an ambient enthalpy based on the ambient humidity and ambient temperature;
an airflow rate based on the differential pressure across the fan;
an inverter efficiency based on the power output of the inverter and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
a solar efficiency based on the ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency
ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy sending, using the controller, a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Kastle, in an analogous art of heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitations of detecting a differential pressure across a fan associated with an air conditioner and an airflow rate based on the differential pressure across the fan (pg. 2, par. [0014] and [0044]; i.e. [0014]: “… the air flow rate is estimated based on the differential pressure over the fan.” and [0044]: “Additionally or alternatively, the pressure sensors may be provided upstream and downstream of the fan 122 at the air side in order measure the differential pressure across the fan.”) for the purpose of monitoring a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems (pg. 1, par. [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso to include the addition of the limitations of detecting a differential pressure across a fan associated with an air conditioner and an airflow rate based on the differential pressure across the fan to advantageously optimize an energy flow in an HVAC system (Kastle: pg. 1, par. [0006]).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle does not expressly teach determining a plurality of parameters comprising:
a supply enthalpy based on the supply humidity and supply temperature;
a return enthalpy based on the return humidity and return temperature, an ambient enthalpy based on the ambient humidity and ambient temperature;
an airflow rate based on the differential pressure across the fan;
an inverter efficiency based on the power output of the inverter and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
a solar efficiency based on the ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source, and an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency
ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy sending, using the controller, a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Karamanos, in an analogous art of an air conditioning system (pg. 1, par. [0012]), teaches the missing limitation of determining a supply enthalpy based on a supply humidity and supply temperature and a return enthalpy based on a return humidity and return temperature (pg. 13, par. [0119]; i.e. “A supply airflow enthalpy calculator 422 calculates the enthalpy of the supply airflow based on the supply airflow temperature 424 and the supply airflow humidity 426. Similarly, a return airflow enthalpy calculator 428 calculates the enthalpy of the mixed airflow based on the mixed airflow temperature 430 and the mixed airflow humidity 432.”) for the purpose of minimizing energy usage (pg. 13, par. [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso and Kastle to include the addition of the limitation of determining a supply enthalpy based on a supply humidity and supply temperature and a return enthalpy based on a return humidity and return temperature to advantageously improve controllability, decrease energy usage, and increase maintainability (Karamanos: pg. 1, par. [0010]).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle and Karamanos does not expressly teach determining a plurality of parameters comprising:
an ambient enthalpy based on the ambient humidity and ambient temperature;
an inverter efficiency based on the power output of the inverter and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
a solar efficiency based on the ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency
ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy sending, using the controller, a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Jang, in an analogous art of air conditioning systems (pg. 2, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of determining an ambient enthalpy based on an ambient humidity and ambient temperature (pg. 4, par. [0038]; i.e. “… the controller 25 may calculate first enthalpy on the basis of the temperature of the outside air measured by the first temperature sensor 21 and the humidity of the outside air measured by the first humidity sensor 22 …”) for the purpose of controlling an air conditioning system (pg. 2, par. [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle and Karamanos to include the addition of the limitation of determining an ambient enthalpy based on an ambient humidity and ambient temperature to prevent excessive energy consumption and provide efficient operation (Jang: pgs. 5-6, par. [0056]).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle, Karamanos, and Jung does not expressly teach determining a plurality of parameters comprising:
an inverter efficiency based on the power output of the inverter and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
a solar efficiency based on the ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source;
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency
ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy sending, using the controller, a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Handleman, in an analogous art of renewable energy (col. 1, lines 13-17), teaches the missing limitations of determining an inverter efficiency based on power output of inverter, and power amount generated by an renewable source (col. 7, lines 32-34; i.e. “The inverter efficiency is a measure of how much energy is wasted in converting DC power to AC power.”) and a solar efficiency based on ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source (col. 7, lines 24-28 and 30-32; i.e. “array efficiency” and “The system efficiency is a measure of how well the overall system converts sunlight to AC power.”) for the purpose of obtaining data useful in ascertaining a system's economics, obtaining useful operations and maintenance data, and for educational purposes (col. 7, lines 34-36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle and Karamanos to include the addition of the limitations of determining an inverter efficiency based on power output of inverter, and power amount generated by an renewable source and a solar efficiency based on ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source to advantageously reduce cost of PV system data acquisition capability while dramatically increasing functionality (Handleman: col. 2, lines 31-33).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle, Karamanos, Jung, and Handleman does not expressly teach determining a plurality of parameters comprising:
an air conditioner efficiency based on the airflow rate, the supply enthalpy, and the return enthalpy; and
an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency
ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner;
in response to the ambient enthalpy being less than the return enthalpy sending, using the controller, a signal to activate an economizer in the air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner.
However Spalink, in an analogous art of heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of determining an air conditioner efficiency based on airflow rate, supply enthalpy, and return enthalpy (pgs. 12-13, par. [0102]; i.e. “The determination and quantification of the energy efficiency of these HVAC systems, individually or in conjunction with each other, involves the measurement of a number of parameters, such as, but not limited to, airflow through various parts of ducts, air flow through the expansion coil, enthalpy before and after the expansion coil, spatial and/or temporal distribution of temperature and humidity of the air both when it enters or exits ducts, and/or the expansion coil.”) for the purpose of controlling energy efficiency in heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso in view of Kastle, Karamanos, Jung, and Handleman to include the addition of the limitation of determining an air conditioner efficiency based on airflow rate, supply enthalpy, and return enthalpy to advantageously improve comfort of occupants of a building and energy consumption of a home can be reduced (pg. 1, par. [0003]).
However Kettler, in an analogous art of an air conditioning unit (col. 1, lines 8-12), teaches the missing limitation of in response to ambient enthalpy being less than return enthalpy sending a signal to activate an economizer in an air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner (col. 7, line 45-col. 8, line 12; i.e. “… when the outside air quality is identified to be above the minimum acceptable level, flow passes to step 106 at which the controller 29 modulates the outside air damper 30 to effect an ‘economizer cycle.’”) to supply conditioned air (col. 1, lines 8-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, and Spalink to include the addition of the limitation of in response to ambient enthalpy being less than return enthalpy sending a signal to activate an economizer in an air conditioner to cause ambient air to be circulated to a supply of the air conditioner to minimize energy consumption (Kettler: col. 3, lines 1-5).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, and Kettler does not expressly teach an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by the power consumption associated with the air conditioner.
However Taylor, in an analogous art of an air conditioning unit (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between a return enthalpy and a supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by power consumption associated with an air conditioner (pg. 5, par. [0047]; i.e. “… this Btu/h measurement is to measure the difference in enthalpy at the HVAC supply and return ducts along with the air volume passing through the HVAC unit. Techniques for measuring enthalpy and air volume are known, but require multiple relative multiple humidity sensors, anemometers, and knowledge of the supply duct dimensions. With this equipment in place, the instantaneous Btu output can be calculated and summed over a time period during which power consumption is measured. The TSAT stores information about when the HVAC is running and when it is not, and performs the calculation Capacity (Btu/h)/Power over a period during which the HVAC system is running”) for the purpose of monitoring efficiency of HVAC equipment (pg. 5, par. [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, and Kettler to include the addition of the limitation of an overall energy efficiency ratio, wherein the overall energy efficiency ratio is determined by calculating a heat removal rate based on a first difference between a return enthalpy and a supply enthalpy and dividing the heat removal rate by power consumption associated with an air conditioner to advantageously reduce latency between time of detection of an alarm condition and a controlled response to that alarm condition (Taylor: pg. 1, par. [0005] and pg. 2, par. [0020]).
Claims 20, 28, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0143037 A1 (hereinafter Kamel).
As per claim 20, Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, and Taylor does not expressly teach transmitting an alert if a particular parameter of the plurality of parameters falls within a predetermined threshold.
However Kamel, in an analogous art of power systems (pg. 1, par. [0003]), teaches the missing limitation of transmitting an alert if a particular parameter of a plurality of parameters falls within a predetermined threshold (pg. 9, par. [0088] and pg. 10, par. [0094] and [0095]) for the purpose of reporting data to users (pg. 9, par. [0088] and pg. 10, par. [0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, and Taylor to include the addition of the limitation of transmitting an alert if a particular parameter of plurality of parameters falls within a predetermined threshold to ensure relevant and accurate data is transmitted with accuracy (Kamel: pg. 6, par. [0054]).
As per claim 28, Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, and Taylor does not expressly teach the controller is configured to transmit an alert if a particular parameter of the plurality of parameters falls within a predetermined threshold.
However Kamel, in an analogous art of power systems (pg. 1, par. [0003]), teaches the missing limitation of transmit an alert if a particular parameter of a plurality of parameters falls within a predetermined threshold (pg. 9, par. [0088] and pg. 10, par. [0094] and [0095]) for the purpose of reporting data to users (pg. 9, par. [0088] and pg. 10, par. [0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, and Taylor to include the addition of the limitation of transmit an alert if a particular parameter of plurality of parameters falls within a predetermined threshold to ensure relevant and accurate data is transmitted with accuracy (Kamel: pg. 6, par. [0054]).
As per claim 36, Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, and Taylor does not expressly teach the controller is configured to transmit an alert if a particular parameter of the plurality of parameters falls within a predetermined threshold.
However Kamel, in an analogous art of power systems (pg. 1, par. [0003]), teaches the missing limitation of transmit an alert if a particular parameter of a plurality of parameters falls within a predetermined threshold (pg. 9, par. [0088] and pg. 10, par. [0094] and [0095]) for the purpose of reporting data to users (pg. 9, par. [0088] and pg. 10, par. [0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, and Taylor to include the addition of the limitation of transmit an alert if a particular parameter of plurality of parameters falls within a predetermined threshold to ensure relevant and accurate data is transmitted with accuracy (Kamel: pg. 6, par. [0054]).
Claims 22, 26, 30, 34, 38, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0116595 A1 (hereinafter Mizuno).
As per claim 22, Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, and Kamel does not expressly teach in response to air conditioner efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold an alert indicates that a system inspection is required.
However Mizuno, in an analogous art of air conditioners (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of in response to air conditioner efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold an alert indicates that a system inspection is required (pg. 15, par. [0254] and [0259]; i.e. [0259]: “… when the COP falls below the COP threshold, the management server 100 performs relocation or notifies the administrator that the COP has fallen below the COP threshold. With this configuration, the management burden on the administrator can be reduced. In addition, it is also made possible to promptly respond to a case where the cooling efficiency of an air conditioner 700 has fallen below the COP threshold.”) for the purpose of reporting information to a user (pg. 15, par. [0259]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, and Kamel to include the addition of the limitation of in response to air conditioner efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold an alert indicates that a system inspection is required to advantageously ensure power consumption of an air-conditioner is reduced (Mizuno: pg. 15, par. [0258]).
As per claim 26, Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, and Jang does not expressly teach in response to the inverter efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates inverter inspection or replacement is required.
However Handleman, in an analogous art of renewable energy (col. 1, lines 13-17), teaches the missing limitation of the inverter efficiency (col. 7, lines 32-34; i.e. “The inverter efficiency is a measure of how much energy is wasted in converting DC power to AC power.”) and a solar efficiency based on ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source (col. 7, lines 24-28 and 30-32; i.e. “array efficiency” and “The system efficiency is a measure of how well the overall system converts sunlight to AC power.”) for the purpose of obtaining data useful in ascertaining a system's economics, obtaining useful operations and maintenance data, and for educational purposes (col. 7, lines 34-36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, and Jang to include the addition of the limitation of the inverter efficiency to advantageously reduce cost of PV system data acquisition capability while dramatically increasing functionality (Handleman: col. 2, lines 31-33).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, and Handleman does not expressly teach in response to the inverter efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates inverter inspection or replacement is required.
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, and Spalink does not expressly teach in response to the inverter efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates inverter inspection or replacement is required.
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, and Kettler does not expressly teach in response to the inverter efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates inverter inspection or replacement is required.
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, and Taylor does not expressly teach in response to the inverter efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates inverter inspection or replacement is required.
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, and Kamel does not expressly teach in response to the inverter efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates inverter inspection or replacement is required.
However Mizuno, in an analogous art of air conditioners (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of in response to an efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold, an alert indicates an inspection is required (pg. 15, par. [0254] and [0259]; i.e. [0259]: “… when the COP falls below the COP threshold, the management server 100 performs relocation or notifies the administrator that the COP has fallen below the COP threshold. With this configuration, the management burden on the administrator can be reduced. In addition, it is also made possible to promptly respond to a case where the cooling efficiency of an air conditioner 700 has fallen below the COP threshold.”) for the purpose of reporting information to a user (pg. 15, par. [0259]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, and Kamel to include the addition of the limitation of an efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold, an alert indicates an inspection is required is required to advantageously ensure power consumption of an air-conditioner is reduced (Mizuno: pg. 15, par. [0258]).
As per claim 30, Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, and Kamel does not expressly teach in response to air conditioner efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold an alert indicates that a system inspection is required.
However Mizuno, in an analogous art of air conditioners (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of in response to air conditioner efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold an alert indicates that a system inspection is required (pg. 15, par. [0254] and [0259]; i.e. [0259]: “… when the COP falls below the COP threshold, the management server 100 performs relocation or notifies the administrator that the COP has fallen below the COP threshold. With this configuration, the management burden on the administrator can be reduced. In addition, it is also made possible to promptly respond to a case where the cooling efficiency of an air conditioner 700 has fallen below the COP threshold.”) for the purpose of reporting information to a user (pg. 15, par. [0259]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, and Kamel to include the addition of the limitation of in response to air conditioner efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold an alert indicates that a system inspection is required to advantageously ensure power consumption of an air-conditioner is reduced (Mizuno: pg. 15, par. [0258]).
As per claim 34, Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, and Jang does not expressly teach in response to the inverter efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates inverter inspection or replacement is required.
However Handleman, in an analogous art of renewable energy (col. 1, lines 13-17), teaches the missing limitation of the inverter efficiency (col. 7, lines 32-34; i.e. “The inverter efficiency is a measure of how much energy is wasted in converting DC power to AC power.”) and a solar efficiency based on ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source (col. 7, lines 24-28 and 30-32; i.e. “array efficiency” and “The system efficiency is a measure of how well the overall system converts sunlight to AC power.”) for the purpose of obtaining data useful in ascertaining a system's economics, obtaining useful operations and maintenance data, and for educational purposes (col. 7, lines 34-36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, and Jang to include the addition of the limitation of the inverter efficiency to advantageously reduce cost of PV system data acquisition capability while dramatically increasing functionality (Handleman: col. 2, lines 31-33).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, and Handleman does not expressly teach in response to the inverter efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates inverter inspection or replacement is required.
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, and Spalink does not expressly teach in response to the inverter efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates inverter inspection or replacement is required.
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, and Kettler does not expressly teach in response to the inverter efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates inverter inspection or replacement is required.
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, and Taylor does not expressly teach in response to the inverter efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates inverter inspection or replacement is required.
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel does not expressly teach in response to the inverter efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates inverter inspection or replacement is required.
However Mizuno, in an analogous art of air conditioners (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of in response to an efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold, an alert indicates an inspection is required (pg. 15, par. [0254] and [0259]; i.e. [0259]: “… when the COP falls below the COP threshold, the management server 100 performs relocation or notifies the administrator that the COP has fallen below the COP threshold. With this configuration, the management burden on the administrator can be reduced. In addition, it is also made possible to promptly respond to a case where the cooling efficiency of an air conditioner 700 has fallen below the COP threshold.”) for the purpose of reporting information to a user (pg. 15, par. [0259]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, and Kamal to include the addition of the limitation of an efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold, an alert indicates an inspection is required is required to advantageously ensure power consumption of an air-conditioner is reduced (Mizuno: pg. 15, par. [0258]).
As per claim 38, Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, and Kamal does not expressly teach in response to air conditioner efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold an alert indicates that a system inspection is required.
However Mizuno, in an analogous art of air conditioners (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of in response to air conditioner efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold an alert indicates that a system inspection is required (pg. 15, par. [0254] and [0259]; i.e. [0259]: “… when the COP falls below the COP threshold, the management server 100 performs relocation or notifies the administrator that the COP has fallen below the COP threshold. With this configuration, the management burden on the administrator can be reduced. In addition, it is also made possible to promptly respond to a case where the cooling efficiency of an air conditioner 700 has fallen below the COP threshold.”) for the purpose of reporting information to a user (pg. 15, par. [0259]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, and Kamal to include the addition of the limitation of in response to air conditioner efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold an alert indicates that a system inspection is required to advantageously ensure power consumption of an air-conditioner is reduced (Mizuno: pg. 15, par. [0258]).
As per claim 42, Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, and Jang does not expressly teach in response to the inverter efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates inverter inspection or replacement is required.
However Handleman, in an analogous art of renewable energy (col. 1, lines 13-17), teaches the missing limitation of the inverter efficiency (col. 7, lines 32-34; i.e. “The inverter efficiency is a measure of how much energy is wasted in converting DC power to AC power.”) and a solar efficiency based on ambient solar irradiance and the power amount generated by the renewable source (col. 7, lines 24-28 and 30-32; i.e. “array efficiency” and “The system efficiency is a measure of how well the overall system converts sunlight to AC power.”) for the purpose of obtaining data useful in ascertaining a system's economics, obtaining useful operations and maintenance data, and for educational purposes (col. 7, lines 34-36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, and Jang to include the addition of the limitation of the inverter efficiency to advantageously reduce cost of PV system data acquisition capability while dramatically increasing functionality (Handleman: col. 2, lines 31-33).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, and Handleman does not expressly teach in response to the inverter efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates inverter inspection or replacement is required.
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, and Spalink does not expressly teach in response to the inverter efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates inverter inspection or replacement is required.
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, and Kettler does not expressly teach in response to the inverter efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates inverter inspection or replacement is required.
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, and Taylor does not expressly teach in response to the inverter efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates inverter inspection or replacement is required.
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, and Kamel does not expressly teach in response to the inverter efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates inverter inspection or replacement is required.
However Mizuno, in an analogous art of air conditioners (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of in response to an efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold, an alert indicates an inspection is required (pg. 15, par. [0254] and [0259]; i.e. [0259]: “… when the COP falls below the COP threshold, the management server 100 performs relocation or notifies the administrator that the COP has fallen below the COP threshold. With this configuration, the management burden on the administrator can be reduced. In addition, it is also made possible to promptly respond to a case where the cooling efficiency of an air conditioner 700 has fallen below the COP threshold.”) for the purpose of reporting information to a user (pg. 15, par. [0259]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, and Kamel to include the addition of the limitation of an efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold, an alert indicates an inspection is required is required to advantageously ensure power consumption of an air-conditioner is reduced (Mizuno: pg. 15, par. [0258]).
Claims 23, 31, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, Mizuno, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0251520 A1 (hereinafter Bentley).
As per claim 23, Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, and Mizuno does not expressly teach in response to the airflow rate falling within the predetermined threshold the alert indicates a filter replacement is required.
However Bentley, in an analogous art of reporting system (pg. 1, par. [0115] and pg. 11, par. [0115]), teaches the missing limitation of in response to an airflow rate falling within a predetermined threshold an alert indicates a filter replacement is required (pg. 11, par. [0115]; i.e. “… in response to the airflow rate falling within the predetermined threshold the alert indicates a filter replacement is required.”) for the purpose of providing notification to a user (pg. 11, par. [0115]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, and Mizuno to include the addition of the limitation of in response to an airflow rate falling within a predetermined threshold an alert indicates a filter replacement is required to advantageously ensure power consumption of an air-conditioner is reduced to advantageously increase safety of a property (Bentley: pg. 1, par. [0006]).
As per claim 31, Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, and Mizuno does not expressly teach in response to the airflow rate falling within the predetermined threshold the alert indicates a filter replacement is required.
However Bentley, in an analogous art of reporting system (pg. 1, par. [0115] and pg. 11, par. [0115]), teaches the missing limitation of in response to an airflow rate falling within a predetermined threshold an alert indicates a filter replacement is required (pg. 11, par. [0115]; i.e. “… in response to the airflow rate falling within the predetermined threshold the alert indicates a filter replacement is required.”) for the purpose of providing notification to a user (pg. 11, par. [0115]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, and Mizuno to include the addition of the limitation of in response to an airflow rate falling within a predetermined threshold an alert indicates a filter replacement is required to advantageously ensure power consumption of an air-conditioner is reduced to advantageously increase safety of a property (Bentley: pg. 1, par. [0006]).
As per claim 39, Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, and Mizuno does not expressly teach in response to the airflow rate falling within the predetermined threshold the alert indicates a filter replacement is required.
However Bentley, in an analogous art of reporting system (pg. 1, par. [0115] and pg. 11, par. [0115]), teaches the missing limitation of in response to an airflow rate falling within a predetermined threshold an alert indicates a filter replacement is required (pg. 11, par. [0115]; i.e. “… in response to the airflow rate falling within the predetermined threshold the alert indicates a filter replacement is required.”) for the purpose of providing notification to a user (pg. 11, par. [0115]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, and Mizuno to include the addition of the limitation of in response to an airflow rate falling within a predetermined threshold an alert indicates a filter replacement is required to advantageously ensure power consumption of an air-conditioner is reduced to advantageously increase safety of a property (Bentley: pg. 1, par. [0006]).
Claims 24, 32, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, Mizuno, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2005/0247194 A1 (hereinafter Kang), and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0365659 A1 (hereinafter Yamanami).
As per claim 24, Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, and Mizuno does not expressly teach in response to the difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates that a heat exchanger inspection is required.
However Kang, in an analogous art of heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems (pg. 1, par. [0020]), teaches the missing limitation in response to a difference between a return enthalpy and a supply enthalpy falling within a predetermined threshold, an alert is output (pg. 6, par. [0082] and [0083]) for the purpose of detecting an alarm condition (pg. 6, par. [0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, and Mizuno to include the addition of the limitation of in response to a difference between a return enthalpy and a supply enthalpy falling within a predetermined threshold, an alert is output to advantageously provide an effective and economical detection technique (Kang: pg. 6, par. [0084]).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, Mizuno, and Kang does not expressly teach the alert indicates that a heat exchanger inspection is required.
However Yamanami, in an analogous art of an inspection system (pg. 1, par. [0001] and [0008]), teaches the missing limitation of an alert indicates that a heat exchanger inspection is required (pg. 6, par. [0076] and [0081]) for the purpose of reporting information about an operation condition (pg. 1, par. [0005] and pg. 5, par. [0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, Mizuno, and Kang to include the addition of the limitation of an alert indicates that a heat exchanger inspection is required to reduce burdens on an inspector in charge of a regular inspection (Yamanami: pg. 6, par. [0110]).
As per claim 32, Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, and Mizuno does not expressly teach in response to the difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates that a heat exchanger inspection is required.
However Kang, in an analogous art of heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems (pg. 1, par. [0020]), teaches the missing limitation in response to a difference between a return enthalpy and a supply enthalpy falling within a predetermined threshold, an alert is output (pg. 6, par. [0082] and [0083]) for the purpose of detecting an alarm condition (pg. 6, par. [0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, and Mizuno to include the addition of the limitation of in response to a difference between a return enthalpy and a supply enthalpy falling within a predetermined threshold, an alert is output to advantageously provide an effective and economical detection technique (Kang: pg. 6, par. [0084]).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, Mizuno, and Kang does not expressly teach the alert indicates that a heat exchanger inspection is required.
However Yamanami, in an analogous art of an inspection system (pg. 1, par. [0001] and [0008]), teaches the missing limitation of an alert indicates that a heat exchanger inspection is required (pg. 6, par. [0076] and [0081]) for the purpose of reporting information about an operation condition (pg. 1, par. [0005] and pg. 5, par. [0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kamel, Mizuno, and Kang to include the addition of the limitation of an alert indicates that a heat exchanger inspection is required to reduce burdens on an inspector in charge of a regular inspection (Yamanami: pg. 6, par. [0110]).
As per claim 40, Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, and Mizuno does not expressly teach in response to the difference between the return enthalpy and the supply enthalpy falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates that a heat exchanger inspection is required.
However Kang, in an analogous art of heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems (pg. 1, par. [0020]), teaches the missing limitation in response to a difference between a return enthalpy and a supply enthalpy falling within a predetermined threshold, an alert is output (pg. 6, par. [0082] and [0083]) for the purpose of detecting an alarm condition (pg. 6, par. [0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, and Mizuno to include the addition of the limitation of in response to a difference between a return enthalpy and a supply enthalpy falling within a predetermined threshold, an alert is output to advantageously provide an effective and economical detection technique (Kang: pg. 6, par. [0084]).
Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, Mizuno, and Kang does not expressly teach the alert indicates that a heat exchanger inspection is required.
However Yamanami, in an analogous art of an inspection system (pg. 1, par. [0001] and [0008]), teaches the missing limitation of an alert indicates that a heat exchanger inspection is required (pg. 6, par. [0076] and [0081]) for the purpose of reporting information about an operation condition (pg. 1, par. [0005] and pg. 5, par. [0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, Mizuno, and Kang to include the addition of the limitation of an alert indicates that a heat exchanger inspection is required to reduce burdens on an inspector in charge of a regular inspection (Yamanami: pg. 6, par. [0110]).
Claims 25, 33, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, Kamel, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0408967 A1 (hereinafter Anderegg).
As per claim 25, Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, and Kamel does not expressly teach in response to the solar efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates a panel inspection is required.
However Anderegg, in analogous art of renewable power systems (pg. 1, par. [0003]), teaches the missing limitation of in response to an solar efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold, an alert indicates a panel inspection is required (pg. 4, par. [0052] and [0053] and [0103]; i.e. [0052]: “After the mathematical model 125 calculates the expected solar panel power output, the monitoring server 126 compares the model-estimated power output to the actual power output data 109 measured by the power meter 106.” and [0103]: “… the server may send a notification to a user device to recommend inspecting the solar panels.”) to send notifications to a user (pg. 1, par. [0006] and [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, and Kamel to include the addition of the limitation of an solar efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold, an alert indicates a panel inspection is required to advantageously reduce costs while providing access to significant levels of useful visual information (Anderegg: pgs. 13-14, par. [0146]).
As per claim 33, Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, and Kamel does not expressly teach in response to the solar efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates a panel inspection is required.
However Anderegg, in analogous art of renewable power systems (pg. 1, par. [0003]), teaches the missing limitation of in response to an solar efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold, an alert indicates a panel inspection is required (pg. 4, par. [0052] and [0053] and [0103]; i.e. [0052]: “After the mathematical model 125 calculates the expected solar panel power output, the monitoring server 126 compares the model-estimated power output to the actual power output data 109 measured by the power meter 106.” and [0103]: “… the server may send a notification to a user device to recommend inspecting the solar panels.”) to send notifications to a user (pg. 1, par. [0006] and [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, and Kamel to include the addition of the limitation of an solar efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold, an alert indicates a panel inspection is required to advantageously reduce costs while providing access to significant levels of useful visual information (Anderegg: pgs. 13-14, par. [0146]).
As per claim 41, Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, and Kamel does not expressly teach in response to the solar efficiency falling within the predetermined threshold, the alert indicates a panel inspection is required.
However Anderegg, in analogous art of renewable power systems (pg. 1, par. [0003]), teaches the missing limitation of in response to an solar efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold, an alert indicates a panel inspection is required (pg. 4, par. [0052] and [0053] and [0103]; i.e. [0052]: “After the mathematical model 125 calculates the expected solar panel power output, the monitoring server 126 compares the model-estimated power output to the actual power output data 109 measured by the power meter 106.” and [0103]: “… the server may send a notification to a user device to recommend inspecting the solar panels.”) to send notifications to a user (pg. 1, par. [0006] and [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo in view of Tsuruta in further view of Galasso, Kastle, Karamanos, Jang, Handleman, Spalink, Kettler, Taylor, and Kamel to include the addition of the limitation of an solar efficiency falling within a predetermined threshold, an alert indicates a panel inspection is required to advantageously reduce costs while providing access to significant levels of useful visual information (Anderegg: pgs. 13-14, par. [0146]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to monitoring and renewable energy systems.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0031817 A1 discloses HVAC systems that transfer sensible and/or latent energy between air streams, humidify and/or dehumidify air streams.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0286957 A1 discloses a method for analyzing and measuring the efficiency of such systems.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0330626 A1 discloses a static heat transfer model is derived from a system of dynamic equations by integrating the dynamic equations over different time periods.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0253024 A1 discloses a controller includes an acquiring section and a determining section.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER L NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117