DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-3, 5-48 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-70 of U.S. Patent No. 10,764,677. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because this reference patent and instant application disclose an earpiece component removably engageable with or in proximity to an ear of a user, the earpiece component being capable of receiving environmental sound, wherein; a mouthpiece component removably engageable to one or more teeth of the user, the mouthpiece component having an integrated antenna; a microphone; a relay component in communication with the mouthpiece component and/or the earpiece component; and an infrastructure communication device, wherein the relay component is configured to interface between the mouthpiece component and/or the earpiece component and the infrastructure communication device.
Application 17/929621
Patent No. 10,764,677
1. (Previously Presented): A two-way communication system, comprising: a mouthpiece component removably engageable within a mouth of a user; a first earpiece component positionable with or in proximity to an ear of the user; a relay component in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component and/or the first earpiece component via a wireless body area networking signal or a low-frequency non-propagating inductive field; and an infrastructure communication device configured to transmit wireless signals to and receive wireless signals from the relay component, wherein the relay component is configured to interface between the mouthpiece component and/or the first earpiece component and the infrastructure communication device.
1. A communication system, comprising: an earpiece component removably engageable with or in proximity to an ear of a user, the earpiece component being capable of receiving environmental sound, wherein the earpiece component has zero or more selectable audio processing modes; a mouthpiece component removably engageable to one or more teeth of the user, the mouthpiece component having an integrated antenna; a microphone; a relay component in communication with the mouthpiece component and/or the earpiece component; and an infrastructure communication device, wherein the relay component is configured to interface between the mouthpiece component and/or the earpiece component and the infrastructure communication device.
29. (Previously Presented): A two-way communication system, comprising: a mouthpiece component removably engageable within a mouth of a user and having a mouthpiece component reception mode; a first earpiece component positionable with or in proximity to an ear of the user and having an earpiece component reception mode; a relay component in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component and/or first earpiece component via a wireless body area networking signal or a low-frequency non- propagating inductive field; an infrastructure communication device configured to transmit wireless signals to or receive wireless signals from the relay component, wherein the relay component is configured to interface between the mouthpiece component and/or the first earpiece component and the infrastructure communication device; and an audio reception mode selectable between the mouthpiece component reception mode and the earpiece component reception mode.
1. A communication system, comprising: an earpiece component removably engageable with or in proximity to an ear of a user, the earpiece component being capable of receiving environmental sound, wherein the earpiece component has zero or more selectable audio processing modes; a mouthpiece component removably engageable to one or more teeth of the user, the mouthpiece component having an integrated antenna; a microphone; a relay component in communication with the mouthpiece component and/or the earpiece component; and an infrastructure communication device, wherein the relay component is configured to interface between the mouthpiece component and/or the earpiece component and the infrastructure communication device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US20180191389 (PARÉ) in view of Abolfathi (US 20090208031).
Regarding claim 1, PARÉ teaches a two-way communication system, comprising: a mouthpiece component removably engageable within a mouth of a user: Para [0025], [0026]. These paragraphs clearly describe a mouthpiece component that can be inserted into and removed from the user's mouth, attaching temporarily to the teeth without permanent changes to the user's dental structure. A relay component in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component via a wireless body area networking signal or a low-frequency non-propagating inductive field: Para [0027],[0043]. These paragraphs clearly indicate that the relay component can communicate wirelessly with the mouthpiece component using NFMI (a low-frequency non-propagating inductive field) or body conduction (a wireless body area networking signal), which aligns with the concept described. And an infrastructure communication device configured to transmit wireless signals to and receive wireless signals from the relay component, wherein the relay component is configured to interface between the mouthpiece component and the infrastructure communication device: Para [0042] describes the relay component as an interface between the infrastructure communications device (e.g., cell phone, walkie-talkie radios, intercom device) and the mouthpiece component. It states that the relay component "converts the audio available at the infrastructure communication device into a wireless signal expected by the mouthpiece component, and vice-versa. Para [0046] elaborates that the link between the relay component and the infrastructure communication device can be either wired or wireless. It specifically mentions that "protocols such as Bluetooth® or other RF communications may be used" for this wireless link. These paragraphs provide the broadest reasonable interpretation of the concept, showing that the infrastructure communication device can wirelessly communicate with the relay component, which in turn interfaces with the mouthpiece component, facilitating two-way communication between all components of the system.
Pare does not disclose first earpiece component positionable with or in proximity to an ear of the user. However, Abolfathi discloses first earpiece component positionable with or in proximity to an ear of the user (Paragraphs 0061-0064). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the mouthpiece/relay component/infrastructure device system of Pare to incorporate first earpiece component positionable with or in proximity to an ear of the user; in order to increase alternative audio receiving mechanisms within the Figure 4A communication system of Pare, and since both Pare and Abolfathi identically disclose a mouthpiece/relay component/infrastructure device communications system disclosed in Figure 4A Pare; Figure 1A-1B Abolfathi.
Regarding claim 2, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component is in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component via a magnetic resonant coupling: Para [0043]. This paragraph directly addresses the wireless communication between the relay component and mouthpiece component using Near Field Magnetic Induction (NFMI), which is a form of magnetic resonant coupling. It also mentions the inductive coil component in the relay, which is a key element in establishing this type of wireless communication.
Regarding claim 3, PARÉ further teaches wherein the mouthpiece component comprises a first coil configured to produce a first magnetic field through the user’s body: Para [0027], [0028]. These paragraphs describe the mouthpiece component having an integrated antenna/coil that can utilize near field magnetic induction (NFMI) to transmit signals through the user's body. The NFMI coil in the mouthpiece would produce a magnetic field to communicate with the relay component, and this magnetic field would pass through the user's body tissues. Wherein the relay component comprises a second coil configured to produce a second magnetic field through the user’s body: Para [0043]. This paragraph directly mentions that the relay component incorporates an inductive coil (second coil) that can be configured as a neck-loop antenna, which would produce a magnetic field through the user's body when worn around the neck. And wherein the first coil is configured to resonantly couple with the second magnetic field from the second coil and the second coil is configured to resonantly couple with the first magnetic field from first coil when propagated through tissue of the user’s body for wireless communication: Para [0027],[0043]. These paragraphs describe the use of NFMI for wireless communication between the mouthpiece and relay components, highlighting its advantages in transmitting through body tissue with reduced attenuation.
Regarding claim 5, PARÉ further teaches wherein the first earpiece is in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component and the relay component via magnetic resonant coupling: Para [0027],[0043],[0044]. These citations suggest that the concept of wireless communication between components using magnetic resonant coupling (specifically NFMI) is a key feature of the described system, which could reasonably be extended to include communication with an earpiece as part of the broader communication system.
Regarding claim 6, PARÉ further teaches wherein the first earpiece component comprises a third coil configured to produce a third magnetic field through the user’s body: Para [0043]. While this paragraph doesn't explicitly mention an earpiece, it describes the use of Near Field Magnetic Induction (NFMI) coils to transmit signals through body tissue, which is conceptually similar to the queried concept. Para [0044]. While the patent application doesn't explicitly describe an earpiece component with a third coil, the concept of using coils to generate magnetic fields for communication through the body is clearly present in the document. And wherein the third coil is configured to resonantly couple with the first and second magnetic field respectively from the first and second coils and the first and second coils are configured to resonantly couple with the third magnetic field from third coil when propagated through tissue of the user’s body for wireless communication: Para [0027]-[0028]. These paragraphs describe the use of near field magnetic induction (NFMI) and coil antennas for wireless communication through body tissue, which aligns with the concept of resonant coupling between coils for wireless communication through the user's body
Regarding claim 7, PARÉ further teaches further comprising a second earpiece component position able with or in proximity to another ear of the user, the second earpiece component comprising a fourth coil configured to produce a fourth magnetic field through the user’s body: Para [0034] While this doesn't exactly match the concept of a second earpiece component with a fourth coil, it does describe the use of multiple actuators to produce directional audio through the user's body (via bone conduction through the teeth). Wherein the fourth coil is configured to resonantly couple with the third magnetic field from the third coil and the third coil is configured to resonantly couple with the fourth magnetic field from fourth coil when propagated through tissue of the user’s body for wireless communication: Para [0043]-[0044]. These passages indicate that NFMI coils/antennas are used to wirelessly communicate through the user's body tissue between components of the system, which aligns with the concept described.
Regarding claim 8, PARÉ further teaches wherein the first, second, third, or fourth coil comprises a transmitting coil configured to produce the first, second, third, or fourth magnetic field, respectively, through the user’s body, and wherein the first, second, third, or fourth receiving coil is configured to resonantly couple with one of the other magnetic fields: Para [0043] discusses using Near Field Magnetic Induction (NFMI) for the wireless link between the mouthpiece component and the relay component. Para [0044] indicates the coils are configured to resonantly couple, as preserving a higher Q factor relates to resonant coupling between the coils. While the exact phrasing is not used, these paragraphs describe the core concept of using transmitting and receiving coils to produce magnetic fields through the body and resonantly couple between different components of the communication system.
Regarding claim 9, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component is integrated with the infrastructure communication device: Para [0047]. This paragraph describes that the relay component can be integrated with the infrastructure communication device in several ways. Directly integrated into the infrastructure component, integrated into a case or housing of the infrastructure component (e.g., a cell phone case) and Forming a single integrated device that communicates wirelessly with the mouthpiece component. This interpretation provides the broadest reasonable understanding of how the relay component can be integrated with the infrastructure communication device, allowing for various forms of physical and functional integration between the two components.
Regarding claim 10, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component is in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component via the wireless body area networking signal or the low-frequency non-propagating inductive field comprising a MICS or ISM link: Para [0043],[0045]. While not explicitly mentioned MICS (Medical Implant Communication Service) or ISM (Industrial, Scientific, and Medical) links, the broad description of wireless communication methods in paragraph [0043] could reasonably encompass these types of links under the "RF such as Bluetooth®" category, as both MICS and ISM are types of RF communication used in medical and consumer devices.
Regarding claim 11, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component is in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component via the wireless body area networking signal low-frequency non-propagating inductive field comprising a low or high UWB link: Para [0027],[0043]. These paragraphs describe NFMI as a preferred wireless communication method between the mouthpiece component and the relay component, which aligns with the concept of a "wireless body area networking signal low-frequency non-propagating inductive field" as described.
Regarding claim 12, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component is in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component via the wireless body area networking signal low-frequency non-propagating inductive field comprising a galvanic or capacitive HBC link: Para [0043]. Describes the concept of a wireless body area networking signal using a low-frequency non-propagating inductive field, which could include galvanic or capacitive human body communication (HBC) links. The NFMI and body-conduction methods described in the file are consistent with this interpretation.
Regarding claim 13, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component is in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component via the wireless body area networking signal low-frequency non-propagating inductive field comprising a wireless magnetic NFMI or HBC link: Para [0027]. This paragraph directly mentions the wireless communication between the mouthpiece and relay component using NFMI, which matches the description in the query of a "wireless magnetic NFMI link" and "wireless body area networking signal". It also notes that NFMI has reduced attenuation through body tissue, aligning with the concept of a "low-frequency non-propagating inductive field".
Regarding claim 14, PARÉ further teaches wherein the infrastructure communication device transmits and receives wireless signals relative to the relay component via a MICS or ISM link: Para [0051]. Bluetooth and other RF links mentioned here could potentially operate in the ISM band, which is commonly used for short-range wireless communications. The patent also mentions the possibility of using different wireless protocols for communication between various components of the system. while the patent doesn't explicitly mention MICS or ISM bands, the described wireless communication methods are consistent with the concept of using standardized frequency bands for short-range wireless communication between the infrastructure communication device and the relay component.
Regarding claim 15, PARÉ further teaches wherein the infrastructure communication device transmits and receives wireless signals relative to the relay component via a low or high UWB link: Para [0051]-[0052]. While these paragraphs do not specifically mention UWB links, they do indicate that various wireless communication methods, including RF links, can be used between the infrastructure communication device and the relay component. The mention of "other RF links" could potentially encompass UWB technology, although it is not explicitly mentioned.
Regarding claim 16, PARÉ further teaches wherein the infrastructure communication device transmits and receives wireless signals relative to the relay component via a galvanic or capacitive HBC link: Para [0051]. This paragraph mentions various wireless communication options between the relay component and the infrastructure communication device, it does not specifically mention galvanic or capacitive HBC links. The patent primarily focuses on other wireless technologies like Bluetooth, RF links, and NFMI (Near Field Magnetic Induction). patent does briefly mention body conduction as a potential wireless link type between the mouthpiece component and relay component in Para [0042], but this is not specifically applied to the communication between the infrastructure communication device and the relay component.
Regarding claim 17, PARÉ further teaches wherein the infrastructure communication device transmits and receives wireless signals relative to the relay component via a wireless magnetic NFMI or HBC link: Para [0048],[0051]. These paragraphs describe that the infrastructure communication device (e.g., cell phone, radio, intercom device) can transmit and receive wireless signals relative to the relay component using various wireless links, including NFMI (Near Field Magnetic Induction) links. The application specifically mentions that NFMI links can be used for two-way audio data communication between the relay component and the infrastructure communication device, and highlights the advantage of NFMI for underwater usage.
Regarding claim 18, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component and the mouthpiece component are further communicable over a MICS link with a frequency band of 402 MHz to 405 MHz: Para [0027]. While the specific MICS frequency band is not mentioned, the broadest reasonable interpretation based on the patent would allow for the use of various wireless communication protocols between the relay component and mouthpiece component, potentially including MICS, as long as they fulfill the system's requirements for secure and effective audio data transmission.
Regarding claim 19, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component and the mouthpiece component are further communicable over an ISM link with a frequency band of 433 MHz to 434.8 MHz: Para [0043],[0045]. Using BRI based on this patent would be that the relay and mouthpiece components can communicate wirelessly using RF links, which could include ISM band frequencies like 433-434.8 MHz, even though that specific band is not explicitly stated.
Regarding claim 20, PARÉ further teaches wherein the low-frequency non-propagating inductive field comprises a NFMI link with a frequency band less than 15 MHz:
Para [0027],[0043]. These passages indicate that NFMI is used as a low-frequency, non-propagating inductive field for communication in the system, which aligns with the concept described in the query.
Regarding claim 21, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component and the mouthpiece component are further communicable over galvanic or capacitive coupling: Para [0021],[0028]. While not explicitly mentioning galvanic or capacitive coupling between the relay component and the mouthpiece component, these paragraphs suggest that the system allows for communication through the body itself, which could be interpreted to include galvanic or capacitive coupling as potential methods of body-conducted signal transmission.
Regarding claim 22, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component further comprises a push-to-talk component: Para [0049]. This paragraph indicates that the relay component can include a push-to-talk (PTT) button as part of its user interface features. The PTT button allows the user to control audio communications, enabling half-duplex or full-duplex modes, or switching between them. This interpretation aligns with the concept of the relay component comprising a push-to-talk component, as it describes a physical button integrated into the relay component that enables push-to-talk functionality.
Regarding claim 23, PARÉ further teaches wherein the mouthpiece component comprises a biometric sensor wherein biometric data is transferred wirelessly to the relay component: Para [0027] This wireless link could reasonably be interpreted to include the transfer of biometric data in addition to audio data. Para [0035]. This suggests that the mouthpiece component could potentially incorporate additional sensors and functionalities beyond just audio communication. Using BRI the concept could include a mouthpiece component with an integrated biometric sensor (such as a temperature sensor, heart rate sensor, or saliva composition sensor) that can wirelessly transmit the collected biometric data to the relay component using the same wireless communication protocols described for audio data transfer.
Regarding claim 24, PARÉ further teaches further comprising a wireless remote configured to wirelessly link to the relay component: Para [0049]. This description provides a broad interpretation of a wireless remote that can link to the relay component using various wireless technologies, with potential form factors ranging from a keyfob-like device to a smart watch.
Regarding claim 25, PARÉ further teaches wherein the first earpiece component is configured to receive a voice command from the mouthpiece component or the relay component: Para [0051]. This suggests that voice commands can be transmitted through the system components, which include the mouthpiece component and relay component. While an earpiece is not specifically mentioned, the system is designed for two-way audio communication, so it would be reasonable to interpret that voice commands could be received by other components in the system. Para [0052]. This implies that audio, which could include voice commands, can be received by components other than the mouthpiece. Therefore, while not explicitly stated, using BRI of an earpiece receiving voice commands from the mouthpiece or relay component is supported by the general concept of voice command transmission through the system components described.
Regarding claim 26, PARÉ further teaches wherein sensors are incorporated on the mouthpiece component to allow for tongue actuation for system controls: Para [0049]. While this paragraph does not specifically mention tongue-actuated sensors on the mouthpiece, it does describe the concept of incorporating user interface features for system controls. The idea of using tongue actuation for these controls could be seen as an extension or alternative implementation of this concept, particularly given the in-mouth placement of the mouthpiece component.
Regarding claim 27, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component processes audio data to and from the mouthpiece component: Para [0048]. This paragraph indicates that the relay component can process audio data through digital signal processing (DSP) for both incoming and outgoing audio between the mouthpiece component and the infrastructure communication device. The processing can include basic filtering and is aimed at minimizing power consumption at the mouthpiece component.
Regarding claim 28, PARÉ further teaches wherein an infrastructure communication device is a tactical radio or smartphone: Para [0051]. This paragraph explicitly mentions that the infrastructure communication device can be a cell phone (smartphone) or radio, which would include tactical radios. The passage goes on to describe how these devices can connect to the relay component either through wired or wireless connections to enable two-way audio communication with the mouthpiece component.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29-48 are allowed pending the Applicant to overcome the above double patenting rejections.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Most relevant references found are:
US 20180191389, US 20090208031, "8295506", "8712078"
With respect to claim 29,
PARÉ teaches a two-way communication system, comprising: a mouthpiece component removably engageable within a mouth of a user: Para [0025], [0026]. These paragraphs clearly describe a mouthpiece component that can be inserted into and removed from the user's mouth, attaching temporarily to the teeth without permanent changes to the user's dental structure. A relay component in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component via a wireless body area networking signal or a low-frequency non-propagating inductive field: Para [0027],[0043]. These paragraphs clearly indicate that the relay component can communicate wirelessly with the mouthpiece component using NFMI (a low-frequency non-propagating inductive field) or body conduction (a wireless body area networking signal), which aligns with the concept described. And an infrastructure communication device configured to transmit wireless signals to and receive wireless signals from the relay component, wherein the relay component is configured to interface between the mouthpiece component and the infrastructure communication device: Para [0042] describes the relay component as an interface between the infrastructure communications device (e.g., cell phone, walkie-talkie radios, intercom device) and the mouthpiece component. It states that the relay component "converts the audio available at the infrastructure communication device into a wireless signal expected by the mouthpiece component, and vice-versa. Para [0046] elaborates that the link between the relay component and the infrastructure communication device can be either wired or wireless. It specifically mentions that "protocols such as Bluetooth® or other RF communications may be used" for this wireless link. These paragraphs provide the broadest reasonable interpretation of the concept, showing that the infrastructure communication device can wirelessly communicate with the relay component, which in turn interfaces with the mouthpiece component, facilitating two-way communication between all components of the system.
Abolfathi discloses first earpiece component positionable with or in proximity to an ear of the user (Paragraphs 0061-0064).
However, there are no references which disclose an audio reception mode selectable between the mouthpiece component reception mode and the earpiece component reception mode; as a whole and in combination with “two-way communication system, comprising: a mouthpiece component removably engageable within a mouth of a user and having a mouthpiece component reception mode; a first earpiece component positionable with or in proximity to an ear of the user and having an earpiece component reception mode; a relay component in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component and/or first earpiece component via a wireless body area networking signal or a low-frequency non- propagating inductive field; an infrastructure communication device configured to transmit wireless signals to or receive wireless signals from the relay component, wherein the relay component is configured to interface between the mouthpiece component and/or the first earpiece component and the infrastructure communication device; and an audio reception mode selectable between the mouthpiece component reception mode and the earpiece component reception mode.”
Conclusion
/ANKUR JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649