DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by -US20180191389 (PARÉ).
Regarding claim 1, PARÉ teaches a two-way communication system, comprising: a mouthpiece component removably engageable within a mouth of a user: Para [0025], [0026]. These paragraphs clearly describe a mouthpiece component that can be inserted into and removed from the user's mouth, attaching temporarily to the teeth without permanent changes to the user's dental structure. A relay component in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component via a wireless body area networking signal or a low-frequency non-propagating inductive field: Para [0027],[0043]. These paragraphs clearly indicate that the relay component can communicate wirelessly with the mouthpiece component using NFMI (a low-frequency non-propagating inductive field) or body conduction (a wireless body area networking signal), which aligns with the concept described. And an infrastructure communication device configured to transmit wireless signals to and receive wireless signals from the relay component, wherein the relay component is configured to interface between the mouthpiece component and the infrastructure communication device: Para [0042] describes the relay component as an interface between the infrastructure communications device (e.g., cell phone, walkie-talkie radios, intercom device) and the mouthpiece component. It states that the relay component "converts the audio available at the infrastructure communication device into a wireless signal expected by the mouthpiece component, and vice-versa. Para [0046] elaborates that the link between the relay component and the infrastructure communication device can be either wired or wireless. It specifically mentions that "protocols such as Bluetooth® or other RF communications may be used" for this wireless link. These paragraphs provide the broadest reasonable interpretation of the concept, showing that the infrastructure communication device can wirelessly communicate with the relay component, which in turn interfaces with the mouthpiece component, facilitating two-way communication between all components of the system.
Regarding claim 2, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component is in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component via a magnetic resonant coupling: Para [0043]. This paragraph directly addresses the wireless communication between the relay component and mouthpiece component using Near Field Magnetic Induction (NFMI), which is a form of magnetic resonant coupling. It also mentions the inductive coil component in the relay, which is a key element in establishing this type of wireless communication.
Regarding claim 3, PARÉ further teaches wherein the mouthpiece component comprises a first coil configured to produce a first magnetic field through the user’s body: Para [0027], [0028]. These paragraphs describe the mouthpiece component having an integrated antenna/coil that can utilize near field magnetic induction (NFMI) to transmit signals through the user's body. The NFMI coil in the mouthpiece would produce a magnetic field to communicate with the relay component, and this magnetic field would pass through the user's body tissues. Wherein the relay component comprises a second coil configured to produce a second magnetic field through the user’s body: Para [0043]. This paragraph directly mentions that the relay component incorporates an inductive coil (second coil) that can be configured as a neck-loop antenna, which would produce a magnetic field through the user's body when worn around the neck. And wherein the first coil is configured to resonantly couple with the second magnetic field from the second coil and the second coil is configured to resonantly couple with the first magnetic field from first coil when propagated through tissue of the user’s body for wireless communication: Para [0027],[0043]. These paragraphs describe the use of NFMI for wireless communication between the mouthpiece and relay components, highlighting its advantages in transmitting through body tissue with reduced attenuation.
Regarding claim 4, PARÉ further teaches further comprising a first earpiece component position able with or in proximity to an ear of the user, wherein the first earpiece is in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component and the relay component: Para [0022],[0052]. While these paragraphs don't explicitly describe a wireless earpiece in communication with both the mouthpiece and relay components, they suggest the possibility of incorporating ear-worn components into the system for audio output and hearing protection. Using BRI this could include an earpiece that provides hearing protection and/or audio output, which communicates wirelessly with the mouthpiece and relay components to receive and play audio signals, while allowing the system to maintain its low-visibility and covert operation capabilities
Regarding claim 5, PARÉ further teaches wherein the first earpiece is in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component and the relay component via magnetic resonant coupling: Para [0027],[0043],[0044]. These citations suggest that the concept of wireless communication between components using magnetic resonant coupling (specifically NFMI) is a key feature of the described system, which could reasonably be extended to include communication with an earpiece as part of the broader communication system.
Regarding claim 6, PARÉ further teaches wherein the first earpiece component comprises a third coil configured to produce a third magnetic field through the user’s body: Para [0043]. While this paragraph doesn't explicitly mention an earpiece, it describes the use of Near Field Magnetic Induction (NFMI) coils to transmit signals through body tissue, which is conceptually similar to the queried concept. Para [0044]. While the patent application doesn't explicitly describe an earpiece component with a third coil, the concept of using coils to generate magnetic fields for communication through the body is clearly present in the document. And wherein the third coil is configured to resonantly couple with the first and second magnetic field respectively from the first and second coils and the first and second coils are configured to resonantly couple with the third magnetic field from third coil when propagated through tissue of the user’s body for wireless communication: Para [0027]-[0028]. These paragraphs describe the use of near field magnetic induction (NFMI) and coil antennas for wireless communication through body tissue, which aligns with the concept of resonant coupling between coils for wireless communication through the user's body
Regarding claim 7, PARÉ further teaches further comprising a second earpiece component position able with or in proximity to another ear of the user, the second earpiece component comprising a fourth coil configured to produce a fourth magnetic field through the user’s body: Para [0034] While this doesn't exactly match the concept of a second earpiece component with a fourth coil, it does describe the use of multiple actuators to produce directional audio through the user's body (via bone conduction through the teeth). Wherein the fourth coil is configured to resonantly couple with the third magnetic field from the third coil and the third coil is configured to resonantly couple with the fourth magnetic field from fourth coil when propagated through tissue of the user’s body for wireless communication: Para [0043]-[0044]. These passages indicate that NFMI coils/antennas are used to wirelessly communicate through the user's body tissue between components of the system, which aligns with the concept described.
Regarding claim 8, PARÉ further teaches wherein the first, second, third, or fourth coil comprises a transmitting coil configured to produce the first, second, third, or fourth magnetic field, respectively, through the user’s body, and wherein the first, second, third, or fourth receiving coil is configured to resonantly couple with one of the other magnetic fields: Para [0043] discusses using Near Field Magnetic Induction (NFMI) for the wireless link between the mouthpiece component and the relay component. Para [0044] indicates the coils are configured to resonantly couple, as preserving a higher Q factor relates to resonant coupling between the coils. While the exact phrasing is not used, these paragraphs describe the core concept of using transmitting and receiving coils to produce magnetic fields through the body and resonantly couple between different components of the communication system.
Regarding claim 9, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component is integrated with the infrastructure communication device: Para [0047]. This paragraph describes that the relay component can be integrated with the infrastructure communication device in several ways. Directly integrated into the infrastructure component, integrated into a case or housing of the infrastructure component (e.g., a cell phone case) and Forming a single integrated device that communicates wirelessly with the mouthpiece component. This interpretation provides the broadest reasonable understanding of how the relay component can be integrated with the infrastructure communication device, allowing for various forms of physical and functional integration between the two components.
Regarding claim 10, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component is in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component via the wireless body area networking signal or the low-frequency non-propagating inductive field comprising a MICS or ISM link: Para [0043],[0045]. While not explicitly mentioned MICS (Medical Implant Communication Service) or ISM (Industrial, Scientific, and Medical) links, the broad description of wireless communication methods in paragraph [0043] could reasonably encompass these types of links under the "RF such as Bluetooth®" category, as both MICS and ISM are types of RF communication used in medical and consumer devices.
Regarding claim 11, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component is in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component via the wireless body area networking signal low-frequency non-propagating inductive field comprising a low or high UWB link: Para [0027],[0043]. These paragraphs describe NFMI as a preferred wireless communication method between the mouthpiece component and the relay component, which aligns with the concept of a "wireless body area networking signal low-frequency non-propagating inductive field" as described.
Regarding claim 12, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component is in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component via the wireless body area networking signal low-frequency non-propagating inductive field comprising a galvanic or capacitive HBC link: Para [0043]. Describes the concept of a wireless body area networking signal using a low-frequency non-propagating inductive field, which could include galvanic or capacitive human body communication (HBC) links. The NFMI and body-conduction methods described in the file are consistent with this interpretation.
Regarding claim 13, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component is in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component via the wireless body area networking signal low-frequency non-propagating inductive field comprising a wireless magnetic NFMI or HBC link: Para [0027]. This paragraph directly mentions the wireless communication between the mouthpiece and relay component using NFMI, which matches the description in the query of a "wireless magnetic NFMI link" and "wireless body area networking signal". It also notes that NFMI has reduced attenuation through body tissue, aligning with the concept of a "low-frequency non-propagating inductive field".
Regarding claim 14, PARÉ further teaches wherein the infrastructure communication device transmits and receives wireless signals relative to the relay component via a MICS or ISM link: Para [0051]. Bluetooth and other RF links mentioned here could potentially operate in the ISM band, which is commonly used for short-range wireless communications. The patent also mentions the possibility of using different wireless protocols for communication between various components of the system. while the patent doesn't explicitly mention MICS or ISM bands, the described wireless communication methods are consistent with the concept of using standardized frequency bands for short-range wireless communication between the infrastructure communication device and the relay component.
Regarding claim 15, PARÉ further teaches wherein the infrastructure communication device transmits and receives wireless signals relative to the relay component via a low or high UWB link: Para [0051]-[0052]. While these paragraphs do not specifically mention UWB links, they do indicate that various wireless communication methods, including RF links, can be used between the infrastructure communication device and the relay component. The mention of "other RF links" could potentially encompass UWB technology, although it is not explicitly mentioned.
Regarding claim 16, PARÉ further teaches wherein the infrastructure communication device transmits and receives wireless signals relative to the relay component via a galvanic or capacitive HBC link: Para [0051]. This paragraph mentions various wireless communication options between the relay component and the infrastructure communication device, it does not specifically mention galvanic or capacitive HBC links. The patent primarily focuses on other wireless technologies like Bluetooth, RF links, and NFMI (Near Field Magnetic Induction). patent does briefly mention body conduction as a potential wireless link type between the mouthpiece component and relay component in Para [0042], but this is not specifically applied to the communication between the infrastructure communication device and the relay component.
Regarding claim 17, PARÉ further teaches wherein the infrastructure communication device transmits and receives wireless signals relative to the relay component via a wireless magnetic NFMI or HBC link: Para [0048],[0051]. These paragraphs describe that the infrastructure communication device (e.g., cell phone, radio, intercom device) can transmit and receive wireless signals relative to the relay component using various wireless links, including NFMI (Near Field Magnetic Induction) links. The application specifically mentions that NFMI links can be used for two-way audio data communication between the relay component and the infrastructure communication device, and highlights the advantage of NFMI for underwater usage.
Regarding claim 18, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component and the mouthpiece component are further communicable over a MICS link with a frequency band of 402 MHz to 405 MHz: Para [0027]. While the specific MICS frequency band is not mentioned, the broadest reasonable interpretation based on the patent would allow for the use of various wireless communication protocols between the relay component and mouthpiece component, potentially including MICS, as long as they fulfill the system's requirements for secure and effective audio data transmission.
Regarding claim 19, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component and the mouthpiece component are further communicable over an ISM link with a frequency band of 433 MHz to 434.8 MHz: Para [0043],[0045]. Using BRI based on this patent would be that the relay and mouthpiece components can communicate wirelessly using RF links, which could include ISM band frequencies like 433-434.8 MHz, even though that specific band is not explicitly stated.
Regarding claim 20, PARÉ further teaches wherein the low-frequency non-propagating inductive field comprises a NFMI link with a frequency band less than 15 MHz:
Para [0027],[0043]. These passages indicate that NFMI is used as a low-frequency, non-propagating inductive field for communication in the system, which aligns with the concept described in the query.
Regarding claim 21, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component and the mouthpiece component are further communicable over galvanic or capacitive coupling: Para [0021],[0028]. While not explicitly mentioning galvanic or capacitive coupling between the relay component and the mouthpiece component, these paragraphs suggest that the system allows for communication through the body itself, which could be interpreted to include galvanic or capacitive coupling as potential methods of body-conducted signal transmission.
Regarding claim 22, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component further comprises a push-to-talk component: Para [0049]. This paragraph indicates that the relay component can include a push-to-talk (PTT) button as part of its user interface features. The PTT button allows the user to control audio communications, enabling half-duplex or full-duplex modes, or switching between them. This interpretation aligns with the concept of the relay component comprising a push-to-talk component, as it describes a physical button integrated into the relay component that enables push-to-talk functionality.
Regarding claim 23, PARÉ further teaches wherein the mouthpiece component comprises a biometric sensor wherein biometric data is transferred wirelessly to the relay component: Para [0027] This wireless link could reasonably be interpreted to include the transfer of biometric data in addition to audio data. Para [0035]. This suggests that the mouthpiece component could potentially incorporate additional sensors and functionalities beyond just audio communication. Using BRI the concept could include a mouthpiece component with an integrated biometric sensor (such as a temperature sensor, heart rate sensor, or saliva composition sensor) that can wirelessly transmit the collected biometric data to the relay component using the same wireless communication protocols described for audio data transfer.
Regarding claim 24, PARÉ further teaches further comprising a wireless remote configured to wirelessly link to the relay component: Para [0049]. This description provides a broad interpretation of a wireless remote that can link to the relay component using various wireless technologies, with potential form factors ranging from a keyfob-like device to a smart watch.
Regarding claim 25, PARÉ further teaches wherein the first earpiece component is configured to receive a voice command from the mouthpiece component or the relay component: Para [0051]. This suggests that voice commands can be transmitted through the system components, which include the mouthpiece component and relay component. While an earpiece is not specifically mentioned, the system is designed for two-way audio communication, so it would be reasonable to interpret that voice commands could be received by other components in the system. Para [0052]. This implies that audio, which could include voice commands, can be received by components other than the mouthpiece. Therefore, while not explicitly stated, using BRI of an earpiece receiving voice commands from the mouthpiece or relay component is supported by the general concept of voice command transmission through the system components described.
Regarding claim 26, PARÉ further teaches wherein sensors are incorporated on the mouthpiece component to allow for tongue actuation for system controls: Para [0049]. While this paragraph does not specifically mention tongue-actuated sensors on the mouthpiece, it does describe the concept of incorporating user interface features for system controls. The idea of using tongue actuation for these controls could be seen as an extension or alternative implementation of this concept, particularly given the in-mouth placement of the mouthpiece component.
Regarding claim 27, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component processes audio data to and from the mouthpiece component: Para [0048]. This paragraph indicates that the relay component can process audio data through digital signal processing (DSP) for both incoming and outgoing audio between the mouthpiece component and the infrastructure communication device. The processing can include basic filtering and is aimed at minimizing power consumption at the mouthpiece component.
Regarding claim 28, PARÉ further teaches wherein an infrastructure communication device is a tactical radio or smartphone: Para [0051]. This paragraph explicitly mentions that the infrastructure communication device can be a cell phone (smartphone) or radio, which would include tactical radios. The passage goes on to describe how these devices can connect to the relay component either through wired or wireless connections to enable two-way audio communication with the mouthpiece component.
Regarding claim 29, PARÉ teaches A two-way communication system, comprising: a mouthpiece component removably engageable within a mouth of a user: Para [0025],[0037] The system comprises a mouthpiece component that can be temporarily secured within the user's mouth, typically on the upper back molars, without requiring any permanent alterations to the user's teeth. The mouthpiece allows for normal speech, eating, and drinking without impediment. It can be easily removed when not in use and reinserted later. Key aspects of this interpretation include the mouthpiece is removable and temporary (not permanently attached), It attaches to the user's teeth, typically the upper back molars, It does not require any alterations to the user's dentition and It allows for normal mouth functions like speaking and eating. A first earpiece component position able with or in proximity to an ear of the user: Para [0021]. This paragraph suggests that the system is designed to allow communication without the need for an earpiece, enabling the user to keep their ears unobstructed. The mouthpiece component serves as an alternative to traditional earpiece-based communication devices.
A relay component in in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component and/or first earpiece component via a wireless body area networking signal or a low-frequency non-propagating inductive field: Para [0042]-[0043]. These paragraphs describe a relay component that can communicate wirelessly with a mouthpiece component using various technologies, including Near Field Magnetic Induction (NFMI) and body-conduction/body-network, which align with the concept. And an infrastructure communication device configured to transmit wireless signals to or receive wireless signals from the relay component: Para [0042],[0051]. These paragraphs indicate that the infrastructure communication device (e.g., cell phone, radio, intercom device) is capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving signals to and from the relay component using various wireless technologies such as Bluetooth, RF links, or NFMI (Near Field Magnetic Induction) links. This allows for two-way audio communication between the infrastructure communication device and the relay component, which then interfaces with the mouthpiece component worn by the user.
Wherein the relay component is configured to interface between the mouthpiece component and/or the first earpiece component and the infrastructure communication device: Para [0042] This paragraph clearly describes the relay component as interfacing between the mouthpiece component and the infrastructure communication device, converting signals between them. Para [0043]. Further elaborates on the wireless link between the relay component and the mouthpiece component. These paragraphs provide the BRI of the relay component interfacing between the mouthpiece component and the infrastructure communication device, describing its function in converting signals and potential wireless link types used for communication.
Regarding claim 30, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component is in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component and/or first earpiece component via a magnetic resonant coupling. Para [0027],[0028],[0043]. These citations indicate that the relay component and mouthpiece component can communicate wirelessly using NFMI, which is a form of magnetic resonant coupling. The document does not specifically mention an earpiece component, so the interpretation is limited to the mouthpiece component.
Regarding claim 31, PARÉ further teaches wherein the mouthpiece component contains a first transmitting coil configured to produce a first magnetic field through the user’s body and a first receiving coil: Para [0027]-[0028]. These paragraphs suggest that the mouthpiece component can contain an integrated NFMI (Near Field Magnetic Induction) antenna/coil, which can be interpreted as both a transmitting and receiving coil. The NFMI technology inherently produces a magnetic field that can pass through the user's body. While the patent doesn't explicitly mention separate transmitting and receiving coils, the broadest reasonable interpretation of an NFMI antenna/coil would include both transmitting and receiving capabilities to enable two-way communication.
Wherein the relay component comprising a second transmitting coil configured to produce a second magnetic field through the user’s body and a second receiving coil: Para [0043]-[0044] While not explicitly mentioned a "second transmitting coil" and "second receiving coil", it does describe the relay component having an antenna/coil capable of transmitting and receiving signals through the user's body via magnetic fields. The concept of having separate transmitting and receiving coils could be considered an obvious variation of the single antenna/coil described. The use of Near Field Magnetic Induction (NFMI) for communication between the mouthpiece and relay components, as mentioned in paragraphs [0042] and [0043], also supports the interpretation of magnetic fields being used to transmit signals through the user's body. And wherein the first receiving coil is configured to resonantly couple with the second transmitting coil and the second receiving coil is configured to resonantly couple with the first transmitting coil propagating through tissue of the user’s body for wireless communication: Para [0024]. The patent describes a wireless communication system between a mouthpiece component and a relay component using near field magnetic induction (NFMI). Para [0043]-[0044]. These passages describe a system where coils in the mouthpiece and relay components resonantly couple through the user's body tissues to enable wireless communication. The mouthpiece coil acts as a receiving coil for incoming signals and a transmitting coil for outgoing signals, while the relay component's coil serves the opposite functions.
Regarding claim 32, PARÉ further teaches wherein the first earpiece component comprises a third transmitting coil configured to produce a third magnetic field through the user’s body and a third receiving coil: Para [0043]. This paragraph describes the relay component incorporating an inductive coil (analogous to a transmitting/receiving coil) that can be configured as a neck-loop or patch antenna. This coil is designed to communicate with the mouthpiece component through the user's body using Near Field Magnetic Induction (NFMI). Para [0044]. Further supports the interpretation that the antenna/coil is designed to produce a magnetic field through the user's body for communication purposes. It provides the closest analogue in the given patent application for a component with transmitting and receiving capabilities using magnetic fields through the user's body. Wherein the third receiving coil is configured to resonantly couple with the first or second transmitting coil and the first and second receiving coils are configured to resonantly couple with the third transmitting coil for propagating through tissue of the user’s body for data transfer: Para [0027]-[0028]. These paragraphs describe the use of near field magnetic induction (NFMI) and coil antennas for wireless communication through the user's body, which aligns with the concept of resonant coupling for data transfer through body tissues.
Regarding claim 33, PARÉ further teaches further comprising a second earpiece component position able with or in proximity to another ear of the user, the second earpiece component comprising a fourth transmitting coil configured to produce a fourth magnetic field through the user’s body and a fourth receiving coil: Para [0034]. The patent discusses using multiple actuators for "3D" or "directional" audio, which could be conceptually similar to having components near both ears. Wherein the fourth receiving coil is configured to resonantly couple with the third transmitting coil and the third receiving coil is configured to resonantly couple with the fourth transmitting coil propagating through tissue of the user’s body for wireless communication: Para [0024]. A wireless communication system using resonant coupling between transmitting and receiving coils to propagate signals through the user's body tissue. This concept involves using multiple coils (at least a third and fourth transmitting coil and a third and fourth receiving coil) that are configured to resonantly couple with each other to enable wireless communication through the user's body. Para [0027] Using BRI the configuration of four coils resonantly coupling as described in the query is not explicitly detailed, the patent describes the general concept of using resonantly coupled coils for wireless communication through body tissue using NFMI technology.
Regarding claim 34, PARÉ further teaches wherein the first and/or second earpiece components comprise button actuation features: Para [0049]. While this doesn't specifically mention earpiece components with button actuation features, it does describe user interface features like buttons for controlling various aspects of the communication system, which is conceptually similar to the concept.
Regarding claim 35, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component is integrated with the infrastructure communication device: Para [0047]. This paragraph describes that the relay component can be integrated with the infrastructure communication device in several ways such as directly integrated into the infrastructure component, integrated into a case or housing of the infrastructure component (e.g., a cell phone case) and forming a single integrated device that communicates wirelessly with the mouthpiece component.
Regarding claim 36, PARÉ further teaches wherein the resonance frequency band of the low-frequency non-propagating inductive field is less than 15 MHz: Para [0043]. The patent discusses using NFMI as a wireless link between the mouthpiece component and the relay component. NFMI typically operates at low frequencies below 15 MHz to create a non-propagating magnetic field for short-range wireless communication.
Regarding claim 37, PARÉ further teaches wherein the mouthpiece component further comprises a mouthpiece microphone: Para [0029]-[0030]. These paragraphs describe that the mouthpiece component can include an integrated microphone, which can be implemented as either a MEMS-type air microphone or a PVDF film type vibrational sensor. The microphone is designed to capture the user's speech for outgoing audio transmissions while being placed inside the mouth.
Regarding claim 38, PARÉ further teaches wherein the mouthpiece microphone comprises a MEMS-type air microphone: Para [0029]. Mentions that the integrated microphone capability in the mouthpiece component can be implemented with "either, e.g., a MEMS-type air microphone or a PVDF film type vibrational sensor". Para [0030] This paragraph provides details on the implementation of a MEMS-type air microphone in the mouthpiece, including the presence of an air cavity, waterproof barrier, and attenuation element to handle the high sound pressure levels in the mouth. These paragraphs together provide the broadest reasonable interpretation of the concept, describing a MEMS-type air microphone integrated into the mouthpiece component, designed to handle the specific challenges of in-mouth placement.
Regarding claim 39, PARÉ further teaches further comprising an attenuation element in vibrational communication with the mouthpiece microphone: Para [0030]. The paragraph goes on to describe that the attenuation element is typically selected to allow normal and low-voice speech levels while providing enough attenuation to prevent distortion from loud talking or yelling. Using BRI could be understood as an audio attenuation component that is part of the microphone assembly in the mouthpiece, designed to reduce the intensity of sound reaching the microphone to prevent distortion or clipping of loud audio signals.
Regarding claim 40, PARÉ further teaches further comprising one or more transducers incorporated into the mouthpiece component and configured to be vibrationally coupled to the one or more teeth: Para [0034],[0040]. These paragraphs describe the incorporation of one or more transducers (referred to as actuators or piezo-electric material) into the mouthpiece component. These transducers are designed to vibrate and transmit auditory signals through vibrational conductance to the surfaces of the teeth they contact, thus being vibrationally coupled to the one or more teeth.
Regarding claim 41, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component further comprises a push-to-talk component: Para [0049]. This paragraph indicates that the relay component can include a push-to-talk button as part of its user interface features. The push-to-talk component allows the user to control audio communications, specifically for engaging half-duplex or full-duplex communications or switching between these modes.
Regarding claim 42, PARÉ further teaches wherein the mouthpiece component comprises a biometric sensor wherein biometric data is transferred wirelessly to the relay component: Para [0025], [0027], [0028]. The mouthpiece component is described as having various integrated sensors and the ability to wirelessly transmit data to the relay component. While a biometric sensor is not explicitly mentioned, the concept could reasonably be interpreted to fall within the scope of sensors and wireless communication described.
Regarding claim 43, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component and the infrastructure communication device are communicable over a NFMI link: Para [0049]. This paragraph suggests that NFMI (Near Field Magnetic Induction) links can be used between different components of the system, including the relay component and other devices. While it doesn't explicitly state the infrastructure communication device, it implies that NFMI links can be used for communication between various parts of the system. Para [0051] This paragraph explicitly mentions that NFMI links can be used for communication between the relay component and the infrastructure communication device, providing a clear basis for the broadest reasonable interpretation of the concept.
Regarding claim 44, PARÉ further teaches further comprising a wireless remote configured to wirelessly link to the relay component: Para [0049]. This paragraph describes a wireless remote control that can wirelessly link to the relay component. The remote control is described as potentially being a keyfob-like device or even a smart watch, which can provide system status information and control features. The wireless link between the remote and the relay component is mentioned to potentially use various wireless technologies such as Bluetooth, other RF links, or NFMI (Near Field Magnetic Induction).
Regarding claim 45, PARÉ further teaches wherein the first earpiece component is configured to receive a voice command form the mouthpiece component or the relay component: Para [0051]-[0052]. These paragraphs suggest that the system can support voice commands and can transmit audio to earpieces. While an earpiece is not explicitly mentioned as receiving voice commands from the mouthpiece or relay component, the system's ability to support voice commands and transmit audio to ear-worn devices implies that such a configuration would be within the scope of the disclosed system.
Regarding claim 46, PARÉ further teaches wherein sensors are incorporated on the mouthpiece component to allow for tongue actuation for system controls: Para [0025]. This paragraph describes the general structure and functionality of the mouthpiece component, which could potentially be adapted to include sensors for tongue actuation, even though it is not explicitly mentioned.
Regarding claim 47, PARÉ further teaches wherein the relay component processes audio data to and from the mouthpiece component: Para [0048]. This paragraph indicates that the relay component can process audio data to and from the mouthpiece component by implementing digital signal processing (DSP), performing basic filtering and processing audio for both half-duplex and full-duplex systems. The purpose of this processing is to minimize power consumption at the mouthpiece component and potentially improve audio quality through filtering.
Regarding claim 48, PARÉ further teaches wherein the infrastructure communication device is a tactical radio or smartphone: Para [0051]. This paragraph explicitly mentions that the infrastructure communication device can be a cell phone (smartphone) or radio, which would include tactical radios. The paragraph provides examples of what the infrastructure communication device could be, encompassing both smartphones and tactical radios within its scope.
Regarding claim 49, PARÉ teaches A method of providing two-way communication, comprising: receiving a signal via an infrastructure communication device carried by a user and configured to transmit wireless signals to or receive wireless signals from a relay component: Para [0042]. Using BRI The infrastructure communication device is a portable device carried by the user that can wirelessly communicate with a relay component. This device is capable of both transmitting and receiving wireless signals to and from the relay component, which acts as an intermediary in the communication system. Para [0051]. These paragraphs indicate that the infrastructure communication device can be a portable device like a cell phone or radio, capable of wireless communication with the relay component using various wireless technologies. Transmitting the signal to the relay component which is configured to interface between a mouthpiece component and the infrastructure communication device: Para [0042]. Describes the relay component as functioning "as an interface between the infrastructure communications device 14 (e.g., cell phone, walkie-talkie radios, intercom device, etc.) and the mouthpiece component 10." It states that the relay component "may convert the audio available at the infrastructure communication device into a wireless signal expected by the mouthpiece component 10, and vice-versa". Para [0043] further elaborates on the wireless link between the mouthpiece component and relay component, mentioning options like Near Field Magnetic Induction (NFMI), body-conduction/body-network, or RF such as Bluetooth. Further transmitting the signal to the mouthpiece component which is configured for temporary securement upon a tooth or teeth of the user, wherein the relay component is in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component via a wireless body area networking signal or a low-frequency non-propagating inductive field: Para [0024]. This paragraph describes the wireless communication between the mouthpiece component and relay component, the temporary securement of the mouthpiece on the user's teeth and use of wireless protocols including near field magnetic induction (NFMI), which is a low-frequency non-propagating inductive field, and body conduction, which is a form of wireless body area networking signal.
And vibrationally conducting the signal through the mouth of the user via the mouthpiece component: Para [0025],[0034] These paragraphs describe how the mouthpiece component uses bone conduction technology to transmit audio signals by vibrating the user's teeth. The mouthpiece includes transducers or piezo-electric materials that physically vibrate against the teeth, conducting the audio signal through the user's mouth and skull via bone conduction.
Regarding claim 50, PARÉ further teaches wherein the two-way communication system further comprises a first earpiece component that is in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component and/or the relay component: Para [0022]. While the patent application does not explicitly describe an earpiece component, it does mention the possibility of using hearing protection in loud environments, which could be interpreted as a form of earpiece. Para [0052] discusses the possibility of providing directional audio cues to differentiate between multiple audio sources.
Regarding claim 51, PARÉ further teaches further comprising attenuating the signal received by the first earpiece component via the infrastructure communication device if the signal exceeds a threshold level, wherein the infrastructure communication device is in wireless communication with the relay component and/or the first earpiece component: Para [0031]. It most closely relates to the idea of attenuating a signal that exceeds a threshold level to prevent distortion. The paragraph describes attenuating audio signals in the microphone assembly to prevent clipping and distortion from loud sounds, which is conceptually similar to attenuating a received signal that exceeds a threshold.
Regarding claim 52, PARÉ further teaches further comprising: switching reception of the signal to the mouthpiece component via the infrastructure communication device if the signal exceeds a threshold level, wherein the infrastructure communication device is in communication with the relay component and/or earpiece component: Para [0050]. This suggests the system can detect audio signal levels and switch modes based on that detection, which is conceptually similar to switching reception based on a threshold level. Para [0052]. This indicates the system can route audio signals to different components (e.g. left or right side of the mouthpiece) based on the signal source, which is conceptually similar to switching reception to the mouthpiece component. And vibrationally conducting the signal through the one or more teeth of the user via the mouthpiece component: Para [0025],[0034]. These passages clearly describe the concept of using vibrations to conduct audio signals through the user's teeth via the mouthpiece component, providing a comprehensive understanding of the technology.
Regarding claim 53, PARÉ teaches A method of providing two-way communication, comprising: receiving a signal from a mouth of a user via a mouthpiece component which is configured for temporary securement upon a tooth or teeth of the user: Para [0025]. Using BRI the paragraph can be understood as the mouthpiece component is a device that can be temporarily secured to one or more teeth of a user without permanently altering the user's dentition. This component contains an integrated microphone to capture the user's speech and transmit it wirelessly. This interpretation encompasses the key elements of temporary securement to teeth, capturing speech via an integrated microphone, and wireless transmission of the captured audio signal. Transmitting the signal from the mouthpiece component to a relay component which is in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component via a wireless body area networking signal or a low-frequency non-propagating inductive field: Para [0027]. This paragraph directly addresses the wireless communication between the mouthpiece and relay components, mentioning both body conduction (which aligns with "wireless body area networking signal") and NFMI (which aligns with "low-frequency non-propagating inductive field"). Further transmitting the signal from the relay component to an infrastructure communication device carried by the user, wherein the relay component is configured to interface between the mouthpiece component and the infrastructure communication device: Para [0042],[0046]. Describes The relay component acts as an intermediary between the mouthpiece component worn in the user's mouth and an external communication device (e.g. cell phone, radio, etc.) carried by the user. The relay component receives signals from the mouthpiece and transmits them to the infrastructure communication device, and vice versa, allowing two-way communication between the mouthpiece and the external device. These paragraphs clearly describe the relay component's role in interfacing between the mouthpiece and the infrastructure communication device, allowing for signal transmission between them.
And further transmitting the signal from the infrastructure communication device to a remote receiver, wherein the infrastructure communication device is configured to transmit wireless signals to or receive wireless signals from the relay component: Para [0042],[0051]. These paragraphs indicate that the infrastructure communication device can transmit wireless signals to and receive wireless signals from the relay component. Additionally, the infrastructure communication device is capable of further transmitting signals to a remote receiver, as it is described as devices like cell phones or walkie-talkies, which are inherently designed to communicate with remote receivers.
Regarding claim 54, PARÉ further teaches wherein the two-way communication system further comprises a first earpiece component that is in wireless communication with the mouthpiece component and/or the relay component: Para [0034]. While this paragraph doesn't explicitly mention an earpiece, it describes a concept of providing directional audio through actuators on both sides of the mouth, which is functionally similar to having earpiece components in wireless communication with the system to provide directional audio.
Regarding claim 55, PARÉ further teaches further comprising attenuating the signal received by the first earpiece component via the infrastructure communication device if the signal exceeds a threshold level, wherein the infrastructure communication device is in wireless communication with the relay component and/or the first earpiece component: Para [0030],[0031]. This paragraph refers to attenuating signals in the mouthpiece component rather than earpiece but it demonstrates the concept of attenuating signals that exceed a certain threshold to prevent distortion. The wireless communication aspect is described in paragraphs [0042] and [0051].
Regarding claim 56, PARÉ further teaches further comprising switching reception of the signal to the mouthpiece component via the infrastructure communication device if the signal exceeds a threshold level, wherein the infrastructure communication device is in communication with the relay component and/or earpiece component: Para [0049],[0050],[0052]. These paragraphs suggest that the system has the capability to switch between different modes and communication paths based on signal characteristics and user settings which aligns with the broader interpretation of the concept.
Conclusion