DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication filed 4 December 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of the Species 1/Subspecies I embodiment in the reply filed on 28 August 2025 is acknowledged.
The restriction requirement was made final in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 16 September 2025.
Claims 7-16 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 28 August 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 4 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states:
In contrast to Kuang’s disclosure, the present inventive technology lies in selectively improving light extraction efficiency only for specific “light-modulating sub-pixels” (such as blue sub-pixel with low luminous efficiency) by precisely controlling the distances L1 and L2 (L1< L2). The goal is to avoid increasing brightness by raising the driving current, thereby slowing down the lifetime decay of these sub-pixels and aligning it with the lifetime decay of “non-light-modulating sub-pixels” (such as red and green sub-pixels), ultimately resolving color shift issues. This represents a novel approach based on sub-pixel lifetime management. Indeed, Kuang does not define the distances L1 and L2 as recited in claim 1 and does not mention the relationship of L1 and L2 as recited in claim 1.
Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (filed 4 December 2025) at 12. The Examiner respectfully disagrees for several reasons.
First, depicted in FIG. 2 of Kuang, the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 is very clearly disposed a first distance from a first refraction section 311, which is a shorter distance than a second distance from which a light emitting unit 22 disposed in the second display area 20 is disposed from the same first refraction section 311.
Moreover, the Examiner respectfully notes that previously rejected claim 1 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102. To the extent Applicant attempts to differentiate previously rejected claim 1 from Kuang as being is directed to solving a different problem than that of Kuang, the MPEP makes clear that “[a]rguments that the alleged anticipatory prior art is ‘nonanalogous art’ or ‘teaches away from the invention’ or is not recognized as solving the problem solved by the claimed invention, are not ‘germane’ to a rejection under section 102.” MPEP § 2131.05 (quoting Twin Disc, Inc. v. United States, 231 USPQ 417, 424 (Cl. Ct. 1986)); see also State Contracting & Eng’g Corp. v. Condotte America, Inc., 346 F.3d 1057, 1068, 68 USPQ2d 1481, 1488 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (The question of whether a reference is analogous art is not relevant to whether that reference anticipates. A reference may be directed to an entirely different problem than the one addressed by the inventor, or may be from an entirely different field of endeavor than that of the claimed invention, yet the reference is still anticipatory if it explicitly or inherently discloses every limitation recited in the claims.).
Finally, to the extent Applicant argues that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, the Examiner respectfully notes that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., wherein the “light-modulating sub-pixels” are blue sub-pixels and the “non-light-modulating sub-pixels” are red and green sub-pixels ) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant further states:
Moreover, reading Kuang's paragraph [0071] and FIG. 17, the black matrix layer 72 shields all or part of the flat interface, so that reflectivity of the panel can be reduced on the basis of improving a light extraction efficiency. Kuang's black matrix layer 72 is located on the first refractive section for shield the touch metal electrode 61, all or part of a flat interface between the first refractive section and the second refractive section. Reading paragraph [097] of the present application, the first support pillar 40, on the one hand, elevates the light-extracting portion 6 by the first support pillar 40, and on the other hand, is also suitable for panel designs with small distance between adjacent sub-pixels 2, thereby being more suitable for display panels with high pixel density. Therefore, Kuang's black matrix layer 72 is different from the support pillar as claimed in claim 1, i.e., Kuang's does not disclose the limitation "a support pillar located on the side of the substrate and located under one of the light-extracting portions, wherein the support pillar comprises a first support pillar; and in a direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the first support pillar is located at a side of the light-modulating sub-pixel, and the first support pillar at least partially overlaps with the light-extracting portion".
Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (filed 4 December 2025) at 12-13. Applicant’s above arguments with respect to claim the have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The §112(b) rejections of claims 2-5 made in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 16 September 2025 are withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s amendment of the claims.
Claim 2 is further rejected under §112(b).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 2: Claim 2 states, in relevant part:
It is unclear whether the limitation “L2Lmin” of claim 2 encompasses: (1) a minimum L2 value; (2) a minimum L1 value; or (3) both a minimum L2 and minimum L1 value. For the purposes of examination, the relevant language has been interpreted in accordance with interpretation (2).
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims, or present a sufficient showing that the claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0157062 (filed Mar. 22, 2022) (hereinafter “Kuang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0031230 (effectively filed July 23, 2021) (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kuang discloses: A display panel (FIG. 1, display panel 100, [0032]), comprising:
a substrate (FIG. 2, substrate 1, [0033]);
sub-pixels (FIG. 2, light emitting units 22 disposed in pixel openings, [0033]) located on a side of the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the light emitting units 22 are disposed on a first side of the substrate 1) and comprising light-modulating sub-pixels (FIG. 2, depicting light emitting units 22 disposed in the first display area 10) and non-light-modulating sub-pixels (FIG. 2, depicting light emitting units 22 disposed in the second display area 20);
light-modulating structures (FIG. 2, dimming unit 31, [0035]) located on sides of the sub-pixels facing away from the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the dimming unit 31 is located on a side of the light emitting units 22 away from the substrate 1),
wherein each one of the light-modulating structures (FIG. 2, dimming unit 31) comprises light-extracting portions (FIG. 2, first refraction section 311, [0035]) and a high refractive index layer (FIG. 2, second refraction section 312, [0035]);
wherein, in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, each of the light-extracting portions (FIG. 2, dimming unit 31) is located at a side of one of the light-modulating sub-pixels (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first refraction section 311 is located on a side of the light emitting units 22 in the first display area 10 in a direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate 1), and
a first distance L1 between the light-extracting portion and one of the light-modulating sub-pixels closest to the light-extracting portion (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first refraction section 311 is located a first distance from the light emitting unit 22 in the first display area 10) and a second distance L2 between the light-extracting portion and one of the non-light-modulating sub-pixels closest to the light-extracting portion satisfy L1<L2 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first refraction section 311 is located a second distance from a light emitting unit 22 in the second display area 20, and wherein the first distance is less than the second distance); and
the high refractive index layer (FIG. 2, second refraction section 312) is located on sides of the light-extracting portions facing away from the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second refraction section 312 is located on portions of the first refraction sections 311 facing away from the substrate 1) and covers the sub-pixels and the light-extracting portions (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second refraction section 312 covers the light emitting unit 22 and the first refraction sections 311), and
the high refractive index layer (FIG. 2, section refraction section 312) has a refractive index greater than that of the light-extracting portion (FIG. 2, [0036]: “In some embodiments, a refractive index n1 of the first refraction section 311 is smaller than a refractive index n2 of the second refraction section 312, so that after refracted or reflected by a first refraction section 311, light emitted by the light emitting unit 22 continues to exit through the second refraction section 312.”).
Kuang does not specifically disclose a support pillar located on the side of the substrate and located under one of the light- extracting portions, wherein the support pillar comprises a first support pillar; and in a direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the first support pillar is located at a side of the light- modulating sub-pixel, and the first support pillar at least partially overlaps with the light-extracting portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a display device including a support pillar (FIG. 5, spacer 119, [0108]) located on a side of a substrate (FIG. 5, depicting wherein the spacer 119 is located on a side of a substrate 100), wherein the support pillar comprises a first support pillar (FIG. 5, depicting wherein the spacer 119 comprises a first spacer 119). Regarding the spacer configuration, in [0108], Lee states: “A spacer 119 may be formed on the pixel defining layer 117. The spacer 119 may prevent layers (e.g., pixel defining layer 117, pixel electrode 210, or the like) disposed below the spacer 119 from being damaged by a mask in a subsequent process of forming an intermediate layer 220. For example, the spacer 119 may protect the layers (e.g., pixel defining layer 117, pixel electrode 210, or the like) from impact or scratch caused by the mask used in the subsequent process. Thus, yield of the pixel P (e.g., refer to FIG. 4 ) may be reduced.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Kuang by adding the spacer 119 of Lee in order to protect underlying layers from damage. See Lee [0108].
Moreover, addition of the spacer 119 of Lee would result in a configuration wherein the spacer 119 is located under one of the light extraction portions (Kuang FIG. 2; Lee FIG. 5; depicting wherein the spacer 119 of Lee would be located under the dimming unit 31 of Kuang just as the spacer 119 is located under the anti-reflection layer PU of Lee) and wherein in a direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the first support pillar is located at a side of the light-modulating sub-pixel (Kuang FIG. 2; Lee FIG. 5; depicting wherein the spacer 119 of Lee would be located at a side of the light emitting units 22 disposed in the first display area 10 of Kuang just as the spacer 119 is located at a side of the OLED of Lee), and the first support pillar at least partially overlaps with the light-extracting portion (Kuang FIG. 2; Lee FIG. 5; depicting wherein the spacer 119 of Lee would partially overlap with the dimming unit 31 of Kuang just as the spacer 119 partially overlaps with the anti-reflection layer PU of Lee).
Regarding claim 2, Kuang in view of Lee further discloses wherein the display panel (FIG. 1, display panel 100, [0032]) further comprises:
an encapsulation layer (FIG. 2, encapsulation layer 4, [0070]) located between the sub-pixels and the light-modulating structure (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the encapsulation layer 4 is located between the light emitting units 22 and the first dimming unit 31),
wherein the encapsulation layer comprises a first inorganic encapsulation layer (FIG. 2, first inorganic encapsulation layer 41, [0070]), an organic encapsulation layer (FIG. 2, organic encapsulation layer 42, [0070]) located on a side of the first inorganic encapsulation layer facing away from the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the organic encapsulation layer 42 is located on a side of the first inorganic encapsulation layer 41 facing away from the substrate 1), and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (FIG. 2, second inorganic encapsulation layer 43, [0070]) located on a side of the organic encapsulation layer facing away from the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer 43 is located on a side of the first organic encapsulation layer 42 facing away from the substrate 1);
wherein the light-extracting portion (FIG. 2, first refraction section 311) comprises a bottom surface close to the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first refraction section 311 has a bottom surface close to the substrate 1) and a sidewall intersecting with the bottom surface (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first refraction section 311 has a sidewall 314 intersecting the bottom surface), and an angle formed by the sidewall and the bottom surface is θ0 (FIGS. 2/11, depicting wherein the bottom surface and sidewall 314 of the first refraction section 311 form an angle θ1, which may be called θ0);
wherein an incident angle of an outmost edge light emitted from the side of the light- modulating sub-pixel close to the light-extracting portion when the outmost edge light enters the organic encapsulation layer through the first inorganic encapsulation layer is θ1 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 emits light from the side of the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 close to the first refraction section 311, such that an incident angle of an outmost edge light emitted from the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 may be called θ1);
wherein an exiting angle of light entering the second inorganic encapsulation layer through the organic encapsulation layer is θ4 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 emits light such that an exiting angle of light entering the second inorganic encapsulation layer 43 through the organic encapsulation layer 42 may be called θ4);
wherein angle θair denotes a maximum incident angle of the outmost edge light when the outmost edge light is not reflected by the light-extracting portion and is emitted through an interface between the display panel and air (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 emits light from the side of the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 close to the first refraction section 311, such that a maximum incident angle of an outmost edge light emitted from the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 that is not reflected by the first refraction section 311 and is emitted through an interface between the display panel and air may be called θair);
wherein the light-modulating sub-pixel has a refractive index n1 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the light emitting unit 22 in the first display area 10 contains a light emitting material layer which necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n1, [0033]), the first inorganic encapsulation layer has a refractive index n3 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer 41 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n3), the organic encapsulation layer has a refractive index n4 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the organic encapsulation layer 42 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n4), and the second inorganic encapsulation layer has a refractive index n5 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer 43 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n5), the light-extracting portion has a refractive index n6 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first refraction section 311 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n6), and the high refractive index layer has a refractive index n7 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second refraction section 312 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n7);
wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer has a thickness d1 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer 41 has a thickness, which may be called d1), the organic encapsulation layer has a thickness d2 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the organic encapsulation layer 42 has a thickness, which may be called d2), and the second inorganic encapsulation layer has a thickness d3 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer 43 has a thickness, which may be called d3).
Kuang in view of Lee does not specifically disclose wherein n3=n5, and θ4=θ1.
Regarding the refractive indices n3 and n5, it is well-established that “when there is motivation to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” MPEP § 2143(I)(E) (quoting KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, (2007)).
Currently, there is a recognized need in the art to create display devices that maximize performance and minimize cost, often accomplished by using fewer and/or smaller amounts of materials in each layer comprising the device such that the materials of the layers are few and thin enough to shorten and simplify the production process, but which meet desired performance specifications required of each layer for a desired display device. In the present case, there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions for meeting the abovementioned need in the context of material usage, including forming the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers (i.e., the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 41/43) from the same materials, or forming the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers from different materials, each having a reasonable expectation of success regardless of which known potential solution is pursued.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to try forming the first and second first and second inorganic encapsulation layers (i.e., the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 41/43) from the same materials.
Moreover, formation of the first and second first and second inorganic encapsulation layers from the same materials would result in a configuration wherein the refractive indices n3 and n5 are equal, as well as wherein θ4 and θ1 are equal.
Kuang in view of Lee does not specifically disclose wherein:
In [0064], however, Kuang discloses: “When the slope angle remains unchanged, if sizes of the second pixel opening 212 and the second dimming opening 323 are changed, the minimum distances L1 between the projection boundary of the second pixel opening 212 and the second dimming opening 323 on the substrate 1 is changed, so that a refraction effect and a reflection effect of the third refraction section 321 on light emitted by the light emitting unit 22 are changed to realize an adjustment of the light extraction of the second dimming unit 32.” Thus, noted in Kuang, the distance of the light emitting unit 22 from the first refraction section 311 may vary between a minimum and a maximum value, given a thickness of each of the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 41 and 43 and organic encapsulation layer 42, such that the distance is a result-effective variable for optimizing the refraction and reflection effects of the device, and thus the light extraction efficiency of the device. Moreover, the layers of the display device of Kuang are arranged such that light emitted from the light emitting devices 22 disposed in the first display area 10 having a first distance L1 and second display area 20 having a distance L2 would pass through each of the layers in the same order as the claimed device, such that at least some of the light would pass through the display device of Kuang and would be refracted and reflected, thereby satisfying the claimed relationships:
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the distances of the light emitting device 22 from the first extraction section 311, identified by Kuang as a result-effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at distance ranging between a maximum and minimum value in order to achieve a desired refraction and reflection effects of the device, and thus light extraction efficiency, as disclosed in Kuang in [0064]. See MPEP § 2144.05 (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Regarding claim 3, Kuang in view of Lee further discloses wherein the display panel (FIG. 1, display panel 100, [0032]) further comprises:
an encapsulation layer (FIG. 2, encapsulation layer 4, [0070]) located between the sub-pixels and the light-modulating structure (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the encapsulation layer 4 is located between the light emitting units 22 and the first dimming unit 31),
wherein the encapsulation layer comprises a first inorganic encapsulation layer (FIG. 2, first inorganic encapsulation layer 41, [0070]), an organic encapsulation layer (FIG. 2, organic encapsulation layer 42, [0070]) located on a side of the first inorganic encapsulation layer facing away from the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the organic encapsulation layer 42 is located on a side of the first inorganic encapsulation layer 41 facing away from the substrate 1), and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (FIG. 2, second inorganic encapsulation layer 43, [0070]) located on a side of the organic encapsulation layer facing away from the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer 43 is located on a side of the first organic encapsulation layer 42 facing away from the substrate 1);
wherein the light-extracting portion (FIG. 2, first refraction section 311) comprises a bottom surface close to the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first refraction section 311 has a bottom surface close to the substrate 1) and a sidewall intersecting with the bottom surface (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first refraction section 311 has a sidewall 314 intersecting the bottom surface), and an angle formed by the sidewall and the bottom surface is θ0 (FIGS. 2/11, depicting wherein the bottom surface and sidewall 314 of the first refraction section 311 form an angle θ1, which may be called θ0);
wherein an incident angle of an outmost edge light emitted from the side of the light- modulating sub-pixel close to the light-extracting portion when the outmost edge light enters the organic encapsulation layer through the first inorganic encapsulation layer is θ1 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 emits light from the side of the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 close to the first refraction section 311, such that an incident angle of an outmost edge light emitted from the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 may be called θ1);
wherein an exiting angle of light entering the second inorganic encapsulation layer through the organic encapsulation layer is θ4 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 emits light such that an exiting angle of light entering the second inorganic encapsulation layer 43 through the organic encapsulation layer 42 may be called θ4);
wherein angle θair denotes a maximum incident angle of the outmost edge light when the outmost edge light is not reflected by the light-extracting portion and is emitted through an interface between the display panel and air (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 emits light from the side of the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 close to the first refraction section 311, such that a maximum incident angle of an outmost edge light emitted from the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 that is not reflected by the first refraction section 311 and is emitted through an interface between the display panel and air may be called θair);
wherein the light-modulating sub-pixel has a refractive index n1 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the light emitting unit 22 in the first display area 10 contains a light emitting material layer which necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n1, [0033]), the first inorganic encapsulation layer has a refractive index n3 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer 41 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n3), the organic encapsulation layer has a refractive index n4 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the organic encapsulation layer 42 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n4), and the second inorganic encapsulation layer has a refractive index n5 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer 43 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n5), the light-extracting portion has a refractive index n6 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first refraction section 311 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n6), and the high refractive index layer has a refractive index n7 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second refraction section 312 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n7);
wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer has a thickness d1 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer 41 has a thickness, which may be called d1), the organic encapsulation layer has a thickness d2 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the organic encapsulation layer 42 has a thickness, which may be called d2), and the second inorganic encapsulation layer has a thickness d3 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer 43 has a thickness, which may be called d3).
Kuang in view of Lee does not specifically disclose wherein n3=n5, and θ4=θ1.
Regarding the refractive indices n3 and n5, it is well-established that “when there is motivation to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” MPEP § 2143(I)(E) (quoting KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, (2007)).
Currently, there is a recognized need in the art to create display devices that maximize performance and minimize cost, often accomplished by using fewer and/or smaller amounts of materials in each layer comprising the device such that the materials of the layers are few and thin enough to shorten and simplify the production process, but which meet desired performance specifications required of each layer for a desired display device. In the present case, there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions for meeting the abovementioned need in the context of material usage, including forming the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers (i.e., the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 41/43) from the same materials, or forming the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers from different materials, each having a reasonable expectation of success regardless of which known potential solution is pursued.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to try forming the first and second first and second inorganic encapsulation layers (i.e., the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 41/43) from the same materials.
Moreover, formation of the first and second first and second inorganic encapsulation layers from the same materials would result in a configuration wherein the refractive indices n3 and n5 are equal, as well as wherein θ4 and θ1 are equal.
Kuang in view of Lee does not specifically disclose wherein:
In [0064], however, Kuang discloses: “When the slope angle remains unchanged, if sizes of the second pixel opening 212 and the second dimming opening 323 are changed, the minimum distances L1 between the projection boundary of the second pixel opening 212 and the second dimming opening 323 on the substrate 1 is changed, so that a refraction effect and a reflection effect of the third refraction section 321 on light emitted by the light emitting unit 22 are changed to realize an adjustment of the light extraction of the second dimming unit 32.” Thus, noted in Kuang, the distance of the light emitting unit 22 from the first refraction section 311 may vary between a minimum and a maximum value, given a thickness of each of the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 41 and 43 and organic encapsulation layer 42, such that the distance is a result-effective variable for optimizing the refraction and reflection effects of the device, and thus the light extraction efficiency of the device. Moreover, the layers of the display device of Kuang are arranged such that light emitted from the light emitting devices 22 disposed in the first display area 10 having a first distance L1 and second display area 20 having a distance L2 would pass through each of the layers in the same order as the claimed device, such that at least some of the light would pass through the display device of Kuang and would be refracted and reflected, thereby satisfying the claimed relationships:
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the distances of the light emitting device 22 from the first extraction section 311, identified by Kuang as a result-effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at distance ranging between a maximum and minimum value in order to achieve a desired refraction and reflection effects of the device, and thus light extraction efficiency, as disclosed in Kuang in [0064]. See MPEP § 2144.05 (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Regarding claim 4, Kuang in view of Lee further discloses wherein the display panel (FIG. 1, display panel 100, [0032]) further comprises:
an encapsulation layer (FIG. 2, encapsulation layer 4, [0070]) located between the sub-pixels and the light-modulating structure (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the encapsulation layer 4 is located between the light emitting units 22 and the first dimming unit 31),
wherein the encapsulation layer comprises a first inorganic encapsulation layer (FIG. 2, first inorganic encapsulation layer 41, [0070]), an organic encapsulation layer (FIG. 2, organic encapsulation layer 42, [0070]) located on a side of the first inorganic encapsulation layer facing away from the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the organic encapsulation layer 42 is located on a side of the first inorganic encapsulation layer 41 facing away from the substrate 1), and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (FIG. 2, second inorganic encapsulation layer 43, [0070]) located on a side of the organic encapsulation layer facing away from the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer 43 is located on a side of the first organic encapsulation layer 42 facing away from the substrate 1);
wherein the light-extracting portion (FIG. 2, first refraction section 311) comprises a bottom surface close to the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first refraction section 311 has a bottom surface close to the substrate 1) and a sidewall intersecting with the bottom surface (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first refraction section 311 has a sidewall 314 intersecting the bottom surface), and an angle formed by the sidewall and the bottom surface is θ0 (FIGS. 2/11, depicting wherein the bottom surface and sidewall 314 of the first refraction section 311 form an angle θ1, which may be called θ0);
wherein an incident angle of an outmost edge light emitted from the side of the light- modulating sub-pixel close to the light-extracting portion when the outmost edge light enters the organic encapsulation layer through the first inorganic encapsulation layer is θ1 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 emits light from the side of the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 close to the first refraction section 311, such that an incident angle of an outmost edge light emitted from the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 may be called θ1);
wherein an exiting angle of light entering the second inorganic encapsulation layer through the organic encapsulation layer is θ4 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 emits light such that an exiting angle of light entering the second inorganic encapsulation layer 43 through the organic encapsulation layer 42 may be called θ4);
wherein angle θair denotes a maximum incident angle of the outmost edge light when the outmost edge light is not reflected by the light-extracting portion and is emitted through an interface between the display panel and air (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 emits light from the side of the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 close to the first refraction section 311, such that a maximum incident angle of an outmost edge light emitted from the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 that is not reflected by the first refraction section 311 and is emitted through an interface between the display panel and air may be called θair);
wherein the light-modulating sub-pixel has a refractive index n1 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the light emitting unit 22 in the first display area 10 contains a light emitting material layer which necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n1, [0033]), the first inorganic encapsulation layer has a refractive index n3 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer 41 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n3), the organic encapsulation layer has a refractive index n4 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the organic encapsulation layer 42 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n4), and the second inorganic encapsulation layer has a refractive index n5 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer 43 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n5), the light-extracting portion has a refractive index n6 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first refraction section 311 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n6), and the high refractive index layer has a refractive index n7 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second refraction section 312 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n7);
wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer has a thickness d1 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer 41 has a thickness, which may be called d1), the organic encapsulation layer has a thickness d2 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the organic encapsulation layer 42 has a thickness, which may be called d2), and the second inorganic encapsulation layer has a thickness d3 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer 43 has a thickness, which may be called d3).
Kuang in view of Lee does not specifically disclose wherein n3=n5, and θ4=θ1.
Regarding the refractive indices n3 and n5, it is well-established that “when there is motivation to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” MPEP § 2143(I)(E) (quoting KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, (2007)).
Currently, there is a recognized need in the art to create display devices that maximize performance and minimize cost, often accomplished by using fewer and/or smaller amounts of materials in each layer comprising the device such that the materials of the layers are few and thin enough to shorten and simplify the production process, but which meet desired performance specifications required of each layer for a desired display device. In the present case, there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions for meeting the abovementioned need in the context of material usage, including forming the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers (i.e., the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 41/43) from the same materials, or forming the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers from different materials, each having a reasonable expectation of success regardless of which known potential solution is pursued.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to try forming the first and second first and second inorganic encapsulation layers (i.e., the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 41/43) from the same materials.
Moreover, formation of the first and second first and second inorganic encapsulation layers from the same materials would result in a configuration wherein the refractive indices n3 and n5 are equal, as well as wherein θ4 and θ1 are equal.
Kuang in view of Lee does not specifically disclose wherein:
In [0064], however, Kuang discloses: “When the slope angle remains unchanged, if sizes of the second pixel opening 212 and the second dimming opening 323 are changed, the minimum distances L1 between the projection boundary of the second pixel opening 212 and the second dimming opening 323 on the substrate 1 is changed, so that a refraction effect and a reflection effect of the third refraction section 321 on light emitted by the light emitting unit 22 are changed to realize an adjustment of the light extraction of the second dimming unit 32.” Thus, noted in Kuang, the distance of the light emitting unit 22 from the first refraction section 311 may vary between a minimum and a maximum value, given a thickness of each of the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 41 and 43 and organic encapsulation layer 42, such that the distance is a result-effective variable for optimizing the refraction and reflection effects of the device, and thus the light extraction efficiency of the device. Moreover, the layers of the display device of Kuang are arranged such that light emitted from the light emitting devices 22 disposed in the first display area 10 having a first distance L1 and second display area 20 having a distance L2 would pass through each of the layers in the same order as the claimed device, such that at least some of the light would pass through the display device of Kuang and would be refracted and reflected, thereby satisfying the claimed relationships:
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the distances of the light emitting device 22 from the first extraction section 311, identified by Kuang as a result-effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at distance ranging between a maximum and minimum value in order to achieve a desired refraction and reflection effects of the device, and thus light extraction efficiency, as disclosed in Kuang in [0064]. See MPEP § 2144.05 (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Regarding claim 5, Kuang in view of Lee further discloses wherein the display panel (FIG. 1, display panel 100, [0032]) further comprises:
an encapsulation layer (FIG. 2, encapsulation layer 4, [0070]) located between the sub-pixels and the light-modulating structure (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the encapsulation layer 4 is located between the light emitting units 22 and the first dimming unit 31),
wherein the encapsulation layer comprises a first inorganic encapsulation layer (FIG. 2, first inorganic encapsulation layer 41, [0070]), an organic encapsulation layer (FIG. 2, organic encapsulation layer 42, [0070]) located on a side of the first inorganic encapsulation layer facing away from the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the organic encapsulation layer 42 is located on a side of the first inorganic encapsulation layer 41 facing away from the substrate 1), and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (FIG. 2, second inorganic encapsulation layer 43, [0070]) located on a side of the organic encapsulation layer facing away from the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer 43 is located on a side of the first organic encapsulation layer 42 facing away from the substrate 1);
wherein the light-extracting portion (FIG. 2, first refraction section 311) comprises a bottom surface close to the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first refraction section 311 has a bottom surface close to the substrate 1) and a sidewall intersecting with the bottom surface (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first refraction section 311 has a sidewall 314 intersecting the bottom surface), and an angle formed by the sidewall and the bottom surface is θ0 (FIGS. 2/11, depicting wherein the bottom surface and sidewall 314 of the first refraction section 311 form an angle θ1, which may be called θ0);
wherein an incident angle of an outmost edge light emitted from the side of the light- modulating sub-pixel close to the light-extracting portion when the outmost edge light enters the organic encapsulation layer through the first inorganic encapsulation layer is θ1 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 emits light from the side of the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 close to the first refraction section 311, such that an incident angle of an outmost edge light emitted from the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 may be called θ1);
wherein an exiting angle of light entering the second inorganic encapsulation layer through the organic encapsulation layer is θ4 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 emits light such that an exiting angle of light entering the second inorganic encapsulation layer 43 through the organic encapsulation layer 42 may be called θ4);
wherein angle θair denotes a maximum incident angle of the outmost edge light when the outmost edge light is not reflected by the light-extracting portion and is emitted through an interface between the display panel and air (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 emits light from the side of the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 close to the first refraction section 311, such that a maximum incident angle of an outmost edge light emitted from the light emitting unit 22 disposed in the first display area 10 that is not reflected by the first refraction section 311 and is emitted through an interface between the display panel and air may be called θair);
wherein the light-modulating sub-pixel has a refractive index n1 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the light emitting unit 22 in the first display area 10 contains a light emitting material layer which necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n1, [0033]), the first inorganic encapsulation layer has a refractive index n3 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer 41 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n3), the organic encapsulation layer has a refractive index n4 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the organic encapsulation layer 42 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n4), and the second inorganic encapsulation layer has a refractive index n5 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer 43 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n5), the light-extracting portion has a refractive index n6 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first refraction section 311 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n6), and the high refractive index layer has a refractive index n7 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second refraction section 312 necessarily has a refractive index, which may be called n7);
wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer has a thickness d1 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer 41 has a thickness, which may be called d1), the organic encapsulation layer has a thickness d2 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the organic encapsulation layer 42 has a thickness, which may be called d2), and the second inorganic encapsulation layer has a thickness d3 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer 43 has a thickness, which may be called d3).
Kuang in view of Lee does not specifically disclose wherein n3=n5, and θ4=θ1.
Regarding the refractive indices n3 and n5, it is well-established that “when there is motivation to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” MPEP § 2143(I)(E) (quoting KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, (2007)).
Currently, there is a recognized need in the art to create display devices that maximize performance and minimize cost, often accomplished by using fewer and/or smaller amounts of materials in each layer comprising the device such that the materials of the layers are few and thin enough to shorten and simplify the production process, but which meet desired performance specifications required of each layer for a desired display device. In the present case, there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions for meeting the abovementioned need in the context of material usage, including forming the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers (i.e., the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 41/43) from the same materials, or forming the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers from different materials, each having a reasonable expectation of success regardless of which known potential solution is pursued.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to try forming the first and second first and second inorganic encapsulation layers (i.e., the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 41/43) from the same materials.
Moreover, formation of the first and second first and second inorganic encapsulation layers from the same materials would result in a configuration wherein the refractive indices n3 and n5 are equal, as well as wherein θ4 and θ1 are equal.
Kuang in view of Lee does not specifically disclose wherein:
In [0064], however, Kuang discloses: “When the slope angle remains unchanged, if sizes of the second pixel opening 212 and the second dimming opening 323 are changed, the minimum distances L1 between the projection boundary of the second pixel opening 212 and the second dimming opening 323 on the substrate 1 is changed, so that a refraction effect and a reflection effect of the third refraction section 321 on light emitted by the light emitting unit 22 are changed to realize an adjustment of the light extraction of the second dimming unit 32.” Thus, noted in Kuang, the distance of the light emitting unit 22 from the first refraction section 311 may vary between a minimum and a maximum value, given a thickness of each of the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 41 and 43 and organic encapsulation layer 42, such that the distance is a result-effective variable for optimizing the refraction and reflection effects of the device, and thus the light extraction efficiency of the device. Moreover, the layers of the display device of Kuang are arranged such that light emitted from the light emitting devices 22 disposed in the first display area 10 having a first distance L1 and second display area 20 having a distance L2 would pass through each of the layers in the same order as the claimed device, such that at least some of the light would pass through the display device of Kuang and would be refracted and reflected, thereby satisfying the claimed relationships:
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the distances of the light emitting device 22 from the first extraction section 311, identified by Kuang as a result-effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at distance ranging between a maximum and minimum value in order to achieve a desired refraction and reflection effects of the device, and thus light extraction efficiency, as disclosed in Kuang in [0064]. See MPEP § 2144.05 (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Regarding claim 6, Kuang in view of Lee further discloses wherein the light-extracting portions (FIG. 2, first refraction sections 311) comprise a first light-extracting portions and a second light-extracting portions (FIG. 2, [0062]: “For example, a projection of the first pixel opening 211 on the substrate 1 may be a rectangle, a projection of the first dimming opening 313 on the substrate 1 may also be a rectangle, and the projection of the first dimming opening 313 on the substrate 1 overlaps the projection of the first pixel opening 211 on the substrate 1.” Thus, the dimming units 31 surround the pixel opening 211 and include first refraction sections 311 having first portions forming two opposing sides of a rectangle and second portions forming another two opposing sides of a rectangle);
in a direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate (FIG. 2, substrate 1), the first light-extracting portions (FIG. 2, dimming units 31 including first refraction sections 311 having first portions forming two opposing sides of a rectangle) are located at sides of the light-modulating sub-pixels along a first direction (FIG. 2, the opposing sides of the rectangles are located at sides of the light emitting unit 22 in the first display area 10 and extend along a first direction), and
a distance between one of the first light-extracting portions and one of the light-modulating sub-pixels closest to the first light-extracting portion (FIG. 2, dimming units 31 including first refraction sections 311 having first portions forming two opposing sides of a rectangle are located a first distance from the light emitting unit 22 in the first display area 10) is smaller than a distance between the first light-extracting portion and one of the non-light-modulating sub-pixels closest to the first light-extracting portion (FIG. 2, dimming units 31 including first refraction sections 311 having first portions forming two opposing sides of a rectangle are located a second distance from the light emitting unit 22 in the second display area 20, and wherein the first distance is less than the second distance); and
in the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate (FIG. 2, substrate 1), the second light-extracting portions (FIG. 2, dimming units 31 including first refraction sections 311 having second portions forming another two opposing sides of a rectangle) are located at sides of the light-modulating sub-pixel along a second direction (FIG. 2, the another opposing sides of the rectangles are located at sides of the light emitting unit 22 in the first display area 10 and extend along a second direction),
the second direction intersects with the first direction (FIG. 2, the dimming units 31 surround the pixel opening 211 and include first refraction sections 311 having first portions forming two opposing sides of a rectangle and second portions forming another two opposing sides of a rectangle, wherein the first portions extend along a first direction, and the second portions extend along a second direction, and the first and second directions intersect to form a rectangle), and
a distance between one of the second light-extracting portions and one of the light-modulating sub-pixels closest to the second light-extracting portion (FIG. 2, dimming units 31 including first refraction sections 311 having second portions forming another two opposing sides of a rectangle are located a third distance from the light emitting unit 22 in the first display area 10) is smaller than a distance between the second light-extracting portion and one of the non-light-modulating sub-pixels closest to the second light-extracting portion (FIG. 2, dimming units 31 including first refraction sections 311 having second portions forming another two opposing sides of a rectangle are located a fourth distance from the light emitting unit 22 in the second display area 20, and wherein the third distance is less than the fourth distance).
Regarding independent claim 19, Kuang discloses: A display device (FIG. 18, display device 1000, [0074]),
comprising a display panel (FIG. 1, display panel 100, [0032]), wherein the display panel comprises:
a substrate (FIG. 2, substrate 1, [0033]);
sub-pixels (FIG. 2, light emitting units 22 disposed in pixel openings, [0033]) located on a side of the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the light emitting units 22 are disposed on a first side of the substrate 1) and comprising light-modulating sub-pixels (FIG. 2, depicting light emitting units 22 disposed in the first display area 10) and non-light-modulating sub-pixels (FIG. 2, depicting light emitting units 22 disposed in the second display area 20);
light-modulating structures (FIG. 2, dimming unit 31, [0035]) located on sides of the sub-pixels facing away from the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the dimming unit 31 is located on a side of the light emitting units 22 away from the substrate 1),
wherein each one of the light-modulating structures (FIG. 2, dimming unit 31) comprises light-extracting portions (FIG. 2, first refraction section 311, [0035]) and a high refractive index layer (FIG. 2, second refraction section 312, [0035]); and
wherein, in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, each of the light-extracting portions (FIG. 2, dimming unit 31) is located at a side of one of the light-modulating sub-pixels (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first refraction section 311 is located on a side of the light emitting units 22 in the first display area 10 in a direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate 1), and
a first distance L1 between the light-extracting portion and one of the light-modulating sub-pixels closest to the light-extracting portion (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first refraction section 311 is located a first distance from the light emitting unit 22 in the first display area 10) and a second distance L2 between the light-extracting portion and one of the non-light-modulating sub-pixels closest to the light-extracting portion satisfy L1<L2 (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first refraction section 311 is located a second distance from a light emitting unit 22 in the second display area 20, and wherein the first distance is less than the second distance); and
the high refractive index layer (FIG. 2, second refraction section 312) is located on sides of the light-extracting portions facing away from the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second refraction section 312 is located on portions of the first refraction sections 311 facing away from the substrate 1) and covers the sub-pixels and the light-extracting portions (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the second refraction section 312 covers the light emitting unit 22 and the first refraction sections 311), and
the high refractive index layer (FIG. 2, section refraction section 312) has a refractive index greater than that of the light-extracting portion (FIG. 2, [0036]: “In some embodiments, a refractive index n1 of the first refraction section 311 is smaller than a refractive index n2 of the second refraction section 312, so that after refracted or reflected by a first refraction section 311, light emitted by the light emitting unit 22 continues to exit through the second refraction section 312.”).
Kuang does not specifically disclose a support pillar located on the side of the substrate and located under one of the light- extracting portions, wherein the support pillar comprises a first support pillar; and in a direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the first support pillar is located at a side of the light- modulating sub-pixel, and the first support pillar at least partially overlaps with the light-extracting portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a display device including a support pillar (FIG. 5, spacer 119, [0108]) located on a side of a substrate (FIG. 5, depicting wherein the spacer 119 is located on a side of a substrate 100), wherein the support pillar comprises a first support pillar (FIG. 5, depicting wherein the spacer 119 comprises a first spacer 119). Regarding the spacer configuration, in [0108], Lee states: “A spacer 119 may be formed on the pixel defining layer 117. The spacer 119 may prevent layers (e.g., pixel defining layer 117, pixel electrode 210, or the like) disposed below the spacer 119 from being damaged by a mask in a subsequent process of forming an intermediate layer 220. For example, the spacer 119 may protect the layers (e.g., pixel defining layer 117, pixel electrode 210, or the like) from impact or scratch caused by the mask used in the subsequent process. Thus, yield of the pixel P (e.g., refer to FIG. 4 ) may be reduced.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Kuang by adding the spacer 119 of Lee in order to protect underlying layers from damage. See Lee [0108].
Moreover, addition of the spacer 119 of Lee would result in a configuration wherein the spacer 119 is located under one of the light extraction portions (Kuang FIG. 2; Lee FIG. 5; depicting wherein the spacer 119 of Lee would be located under the dimming unit 31 of Kuang just as the spacer 119 is located under the anti-reflection layer PU of Lee) and wherein in a direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the first support pillar is located at a side of the light-modulating sub-pixel (Kuang FIG. 2; Lee FIG. 5; depicting wherein the spacer 119 of Lee would be located at a side of the light emitting units 22 disposed in the first display area 10 of Kuang just as the spacer 119 is located at a side of the OLED of Lee), and the first support pillar at least partially overlaps with the light-extracting portion (Kuang FIG. 2; Lee FIG. 5; depicting wherein the spacer 119 of Lee would partially overlap with the dimming unit 31 of Kuang just as the spacer 119 partially overlaps with the anti-reflection layer PU of Lee).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813