DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s 4-27-26 amendments and remarks are acknowledged.
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10 and 14-17 are pending and were under examination as they read on the elected species of a bifunctional molecule which is “a heterodimeric αβ polypeptide pair,” the elected species of an immune effector polypeptide which is “an antibody which specifically binds to an antigen presented by a T-cell," and the elected sub-species of immune effector polypeptide which is “an antibody which specifically binds to an antigen presented by a T-cell" which is “UCHT-1.”
However, applicant’s claim amendments have obviated the prior rejection under 35 USC § 112, 2nd paragraph; moreover, applicant’s provision of valid terminal disclaimers for U.S. Patent Nos. 10130721, 10420846, 10517960 and 10576162 obviate the prior nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejections.
Given that applicant has overcome the prior rejections of record as they were previously applied to claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, 14-17 as they read on the elected species of a bifunctional molecule which is “a heterodimeric αβ polypeptide pair,” the elected species of an immune effector polypeptide which is “an antibody which specifically binds to an antigen presented by a T-cell," and the elected sub-species of immune effector polypeptide which is “an antibody which specifically binds to an antigen presented by a T-cell" which is “UCHT-1,” claims 1-4, 6-8, 10 and 14-17 further be considered as they read on a different “immune effector polypeptide,” i.e., as they read on the an immune effector polypeptide which is a cytokine (see, e.g., Abstract and at
specification pages 22-26).
All that said, upon reconsideration it has further become evident that claim 1 and dependent claims thereof encompass in their breadth bifunctional molecules comprising, e.g., a fusion of scFv-based binding molecules wherein one scFv binds a given pMHC epitope and wherein the other scFv binds an antigen presented by a T-cell such as CD3.
More particularly, the instant specification discloses the following at pages 1 and 3, 1st paragraphs on each:
“This invention relates to a bifunctional polypeptide comprising a specific binding partner for a peptide-MHC epitope, such as an antibody or a T cell receptor ("TCR"), and an immune effector, such as an antibody or a cytokine, the immune effector part being linked to the N-terminus of the peptide-MHC binding part."
“Specific pMHC binding partners, i.e. antibodies specific for pMHC epitopes, and TCRs of both the heterodimeric and single chain type, have been proposed as targeting vectors for the delivery of therapeutic agents to antigen presenting cells. For that purpose, the therapeutic agent is required to be associated with the pMHC-binding partner in some way. Therapeutic agents which have been suggested for such targeted delivery in association with pMHC-binding partners include antibodies…cytokines…and cytotoxic agents. Where the therapeutic agent is a polypeptide, the means of association with the pMHC-binding partner may be by peptidic fusion, either direct fusion or fusion via a linker sequence, to the pMHC binding partner. In those cases, there are essentially only two fusion possibilities. In the case of single chain antibodies or TCRs, fusion can in principle be at the C- or N-terminus of the TCR chain; In the case of heterodimeric antibodies or TCRs, the fusion can in principle be at the C- or N-terminus of either chain….”
Claim 1 recites:
“[a] bifunctional molecule comprising a polypeptide binding partner specific for a given pMHC epitope, and an immune effector polypeptide, the N-terminus of the polypeptide binding partner being linked to the C-terminus of the immune effector polypeptide, PROVIDED THAT the polypeptide binding partner is not a T-cell receptor (TCR) comprising the alpha (a) chain SEQ ID No: 7 and the beta (p3) chain SEQ ID No: 9.”
The broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1 consistent with the teachings of the instant specification and the knowledge in the prior art encompasses in its breadth bifunctional molecules composed of, e.g., polypeptides which bind with specificity to a given pMHC epitope (such as an scFv specific for pMHC or a scTCR specific for pMHC) linked to the C-terminus of “an immune effector polypeptide.”
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1-4 and 16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)/(e) as anticipated by Jakobsen et al. (WO2006037960) or, in the alternative, under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over Jakobsen et al. (WO2006037960) as evidenced by Schodin et al. (Molecular Immunology, Vol. 33, No. 9, pp. 819-829, 1996), Richman et al. (Mol Immunol. 2009 Feb;46(5):902-16), Kieback et al. (WO2008006458), Gustchina et al. (Proteins. 1995 Feb;21(2):140-8); Powers et al. (Science. 1992 Jun 19;256(5064):1673-7), GenBank Locus 148185, thioredoxin, 11-11-92, pages 1-2; GenPept NP_011483.1, a-agglutinin, 12-6-99, pages 1-2 (all cited on an IDS).
Jakobsen teaches dimeric TCR (dTCR) and single-chain TCR (scTCR) associated with additional “therapeutic agents,” such as various cytokines, wherein the therapeutic agent can be joined to the dTCR or scTCR via a polyalkylene glycol chain or via a “peptidic linker” such as “Gly-Gly-Pro” (see page 1-2 bridging paragraph; page 3, last paragraph; page 8, 1st paragraph; page 8-9 bridging paragraph; pages 17 and 18, 1st paragraphs of each).
At pages 11-12, Jakobsen teaches said dTCR and scTCR can include non-native disulfide bonds, e.g., between Thr 48 of exon 1 of TCR alpha chain constant (TRAC*01) and Ser 57 of exon 1 of TCR beta constant 1 (TRBC*0l) or TCR beta constant 2 (TRBC*02).
Beginning at page 29, line 30, Example 11 of Jakobsen recites:
“Preparation of high affinity NY-ESO MTCR - therapeutic agent fusion proteins.
Synthetic genes comprising the DNA sequence encoding the soluble high affinity c61 NY-ESQ TCR β chain detailed in Figure 23a linked via a DNA sequence encoding a peptide linker to DNA encoding a number of imunomodulaotory agents were synthesised:
… Figure 25a details the DNA sequence encoding IL- 18 pro-protein linked at the C-terminus thereof via a peptide linker to the high affinity c61 NY-ESO MTCR beta chain. The pro-IL-18 DNA sequence has been altered to encode a Factor X cleavage site which facilitates post translation removal of the amino acids within the pro- sequence. Figure 25b details the AA sequence of this fusion protein, the peptide linker is underlined…
…The DNA sequences above c61 NY-ESO TCR beta chain can be ligated into the pEX821 vector. (See Figures 19 and 20 for the DNA sequence and plasmid map of this vector respectively)
Disulfide-linked αβTCR-therapeutic agents are then produced following the methods substantially as described in Example 2. Briefly, DNA encoding the high affinity c61 NY-ESO alpha chain detailed in Figure 29a is synthesised and ligated into the pEX954 vector. (See Figures 21 and 22 for the DNA sequence and plasmid map of this vector respectively) The TCR beta chain fusion proteins described above are then refolded in the presence of the c61 NY-ESO TCR alpha chain….”
Thus, Jakobsen teaches a bifunctional molecule that anticipates the instant claims.
Insofar as applicant wishes to argue that the teachings of Jakobsen are not anticipatory for some reason, in the alternative the claims are obvious over the teachings of Jakobsen as evidenced by Schodin, Richman, Kieback, Gustchina, Powers, GenBank and Genpept.
In considering the possible arrangements of a “therapeutic agent” / “immune effector,” such as a cytokine like IL-4, relative to a dTCR or scTCR, i.e., either N-terminal to or C-terminal to the scTCR, or to one of the dTCR polypeptide chains, the skilled artisan would be knowledgeable of the following prior art teachings:
Schodin et al.
Schodin taught fusion of thioredoxin to the N-terminus of a scTCR did not appear to interfere with its binding site (see page 827, left col., 1st paragraph). Note that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Schodin was well aware that thioredoxin was a relatively large polypeptide (see GenBank Locus 148185, thioredoxin having 127 amino acids).
Richman et al.
Likewise, Richman described a TCR suitable for yeast display can be obtained by fusing an Aga2 polypeptide to the N-terminus of the full length CE10 Vβ chain to generate a “CE10 TCR” upon secretion with the full length CE10 Vα (“Thus, the AGA2-fused β chain and secreted α chain, is the preferred arrangement for the CE10 TCR…,” see page 910, right col., 1st paragraph and page 904, 2nd full paragraph). Similar to thioredoxin, the skilled artisan at the time of Richman knew that the AGA2 polypeptide was relatively large (see GenPept NP_011483.1, a-agglutinin, a.k.a. AGA2, having 87 amino acids).
Kieback et al.
Kieback taught αβ-heterodimeric TCRs and pharmaceutical compositions thereof can be modified by adding one or more epitope-tags, such as a myc-tag, FLAG-tag, T7-tag, HA-tag, His-tag, S-tag, GST-tag and GFP-tag to the N-terminus of the TCRα and/or β chain of said TCR without substantially compromising the ability of the TCR to bind its cognate peptide-MHC complex and/or mediate functional signal transduction upon peptide activation (see, e.g., page 7-8 bridging paragraph - page 9, 1st paragraph). In particular, Kieback describes the production of a human melanoma antigen gp100 specific TCR modified by the addition of two myc tags at the TCRα chain N-terminus, and teaches how expression of said TCR fusion protein in a T-cell line allows for recognition gp100 antigen, thereby suggesting proper folding and functional activity of the TCR fusion protein (see page 28, 2nd full paragraph - page 29, 2nd full paragraph).
Gustchina et al. and Powers et al.
Gustchina teaches certain residues near the N-terminus (Glu-9, Ser-16) and C-terminus (Arg-121, Glu-122) of IL-4 are involved in its interaction with the IL-4 receptor (see Table 1). Likewise, Powers provides a ribbon drawing of human IL-4 which illustrates the relative proximity of the N- and C-terminal domains of the cytokine (see Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan considering the teachings of Jakobsen that the possible arrangements for joining any particular cytokine-based therapeutic agent to either a dTCR or scTCR is small, i.e., the therapeutic agent could potentially be joined to either the N-terminus or to the C-terminus of the scTCR, or one of the dTCR polypeptide chains. Moreover, given (i) the requirement that any given therapeutic agent:soluble TCR fusion protein needs to be capable of proper folding, expression and not be sterically hindered from interacting with either the receptor for the therapeutic agent, or the pMHC complex, and further given the inability of the skilled artisan to predict with certainty which particular arrangement of cytokine such as IL-4 and dTCR or scTCR will be best suited to this purpose, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to make both arrangements, i.e., it would have been obvious for the ordinarily skilled artisan to fuse a cytokine such as IL-4 to either the N-terminus or to the C-terminus of the scTCR, or one of the dTCR polypeptide chains, consistent with the teachings of Jakobsen Example 11.
In view of the reference teachings it was apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Claims 1 and 6-8 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hammond et al. (US20080044413) in view of Willemsen et al. (Cytometry Part A, 73A: 1093-1099, 2008) and Weidanz (US20090042285)(all cited on an IDS).
Hammond teaches bispecific antibodies comprising an anti-CD3 scFv portion and an anti-tumor antigen portion joined by a polypeptide linker of variable length are useful for directing cytotoxic CD3+ T cells toward tumor-antigen bearing cancer cells, e.g., EphA2 expressing cancer cells (see paragraphs 11-16). With respect to the order of the Vh and Vl domains within the polypeptide chain, Hammond teaches all arrangements are possible noting "[i]t is important, however, that the VH and VL domains are arranged so that the antigen binding domain can properly fold to recognize and bind antigen,”1 and demonstrates different Vh and Vl domain arrangements have different effects on the ability of the fusion proteins to direct CD3+ T cells to lyse EphA2 expressing tumor cells (see paragraphs 146-154 and 436-488).
Hammond differs from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the scFv specific for the anti-tumor antigen can be specific for a tumor antigen pMHC epitope.
Willemsen teaches most tumor-specific antigens are intracellular proteins and thus inaccessible to classical antibodies but that human antibodies that specifically bind a given pMHC epitope (a “TCR-like" antibody) can be generated using phage display (see Introduction and Fig. 1). Willemsen further teaches anti-tumor pMHC epitope antibodies can be formatted as part of a bispecific molecule capable of binding both a cell presenting an intracellular tumor antigen bound to MHC and an effector cell like a T cell or NK cell via binding to CD3 or CD16, respectively (see Fig. 2D).
Like Willemsen, Weidanz also teaches the preparation of anti-tumor pMHC epitope specific antibodies including bispecific and scFv antibodies (see, e.g., paragraphs 16, 114, 118, 188 and examples 1-14).
Given the reference teachings it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the anti-tumor pMHC epitope antibodies described by Willemsen et al. and Weidanz can be engineered in a variety of formats including the scFv format (consistent with the teachings of Weidanz, ibid and Willemsen Fig. 1 legend), and thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the anti-EphA2 scFv of the bispecific antibody described by Hammond could be replaced with an anti-tumor pMHC epitope scFv produced as taught by Willemsen et al. and Weidanz. One reason the ordinary skilled artisan would have had for making such a substitution is because the resultant bispecific molecule would have the ability to bind intracellular tumor antigens otherwise inaccessible to conventional antibodies (see Willemsen, Introduction; Weidanz at paragraphs 13-16).
As taught by Hammond, the CD3 binding portion of a bispecific antibody can be arranged either N- or C-terminal relative to the anti-tumor antigen portion (see ibid). As would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, when fusing CD3-specific and tumor-antigen-specific antibodies it is unpredictable which arrangement of antibodies will ultimately yield the best ability to redirect T cells to lyse tumor cells expressing pMHC as reflected, e.g., in the teachings of Hammond paragraphs 436-488 as well as in Lutterbuese et al. (Journal of
lmmunotherapy, May 2009, Volume 32, Issue 4, pages 341-352, along with April 29, 2009 date stamp pages 1-2, cited herewith), see page 345, “Results” including Figure 1 and associated text.
Thus, it was obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art contemplating fusing anti-CD3 and anti-tumor pMHC epitope antibodies as of applicant’s date of invention that bispecific antibodies having both antibody arrangements (e.g., anti-CD3 antibody fused N-terminal to anti-tumor pMHC epitope antibody or vice versa) should be prepared and tested to determine which fusion protein has the best ability to redirect T cells to lyse tumor cells expressing pMHC.
Lastly, note that one of ordinary skill in the art expects a bispecific molecule comprising two antibody portions joined by a linker, such as an anti-CD3 scFv joined by a linker to an anti-tumor pMHC epitope scFv, to have sufficient rotational freedom bending and kinking such that the two binding domains can simultaneously bind CD3 on the surface of a T cell and pMHC on the surface of a target cell (see, e.g., Molhoj et al., Molecular Immunology 44 (2007) 1935–1943, cited on an IDS, in particular at page 1942, left col., last full paragraph). As would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, this flexibility is essential to the ability of a bispecific molecule to bring the T cell membrane into synapse with the target cell membrane.
In view of the reference teachings it was apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Claim 10 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hammond et al. (US 2008/0044413) in view of Willemsen et al. (Cytometry Part A, 73A: 1093-1099, 2008) and Weidanz (US 2009/0042285) as evidenced by Lutterbuese et al. (J Immunother 2009;32:341–352, available to the public at least as early as 4-29-2009 as evidenced by the date stamp on the front page of the Journal of Immunotherapy, Vol. 32, No. 4, obtained from the National Library of Medicine, of record) and Molhoj et al. (Molecular Immunology 44 (2007) 1935–1943, of record) as applied to claims 1 and 6-8 above, and further in view of Carter et al. (5,821,337), Zhu et al. (Int J Cancer. 1995 Jul 28;62(3):319-24), Woo et al. (Protein Expression and Purification 58 (2008) 1–11) and Shalaby et al. (J Exp Med. 1992 Jan 1;175(1):217-25).
The teachings of Hammond, Willemsen and Weidanz as evidenced by Lutterbuese and Molhoj are set forth above.
However, these references do not explicitly teach a bifunctional molecule comprising the UCHT1 antibody as the immune effector polypeptide.
Carter teaches the production of bispecific humanized UCHT1 anti-CD3 x anti-p185HER2 antibodies prepared by Fab’ arm chemical coupling. As described by Carter one of the “potent” humanized UCHT1 anti-CD3 x anti-p185HER2 bispecific antibodies was able to enhance the cytotoxic effects of activated human CTL 4-fold against a tumor cell line overexpressing p185HER2 (see Example 3 including col. 59, penultimate paragraph; col. 60, 1st paragraph and col. 64, last paragraph). Carter also notes that none of the humanized UCHT1 anti-CD3 x anti-p185HER2 antibodies could bind to CD3 as efficiently as a bispecific antibody comprising the murine parent UCHT1 anti-CD3 x anti-p185HER2 (see col. 58-59 bridging paragraph).
The teachings of Zhu mirror the teachings of Carter and also provide data showing that the “v9” humanized UCHT1 anti-cd3 antibody described by Carter when present as part of a bispecific F(ab')2 construct with an anti-p185her2 antibody is as effective as a bispecific F(ab')2 construct having the non-humanized murine UCHT1 anti-CD3 antibody at stimulating T cell proliferation (when immobilized on a plate) and directing tumor cell lysis (see Discussion, page 322, paragraphs 1-2 as well as the last paragraph on page 323 and Figs. 1-3).
Woo teaches a UCHT1 fusion to the diphtheria toxin, while capable of binding to human spleen tissue does not demonstrate cross-reactivity with a diversity of other human tissues (adrenal gland, ovary, pancreas, thyroid, brain (cerebrum), brain (cerebellum), lung, spleen, uterus, cervix, breast, placenta, heart, skin, skeletal muscle, kidney, small intestine, liver, and salivary gland) which is favorable for clinical use in humans (see page 9, left col., 1st paragraph and page 10, right col., 2nd paragraph).
Given the reference teachings it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make a bifunctional molecule comprising the UCHT1 antibody linked N-terminal to the pMHC binding partner.
One reason using the UCHT1 anti-CD3 antibody for this purpose would have been obvious and desirable to one of ordinary skill in the art is because bispecific murine UCHT1 anti-CD3 x anti-p185HER2 antibodies were known in the art to effectively direct cytotoxic lymphocytes to tumor cells and induce tumor cell cytotoxicity (see the teachings of Carter et al. and Zhu et al.). Another reason one of ordinary skill in the art would have been drawn to the UCHT1 anti-CD3 antibody is because as described by Woo it was known to specifically bind human T lymphocytes in the context of the spleen without cross-reacting with a diversity of other human tissues not normally associated with substantial numbers of human T cells. Furthermore, as evidenced by the teachings of Carter, Zhu, Woo and Shalaby (see page 219, right col., 1st paragraph of Shalaby), cell lines expressing the UCHT1 antibody were readily available in the art thereby facilitating its cloning and fusion to the TCR.
That said, as described by Lutterbuese at page 351, last paragraph and touched upon in the introduction of Zhu it was well known in the therapeutic antibody art that the human anti-murine antibody (HAMA) immune response can eventually compromise the activity of a therapeutic antibody, especially if the murine antibody has to be administered on multiple occasions over the course of many weeks.
Thus, another reason one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the UCHT1 antibody in a bifunctional molecule comprising an anti-tumor pMHC epitope portion and an anti-CD3 portion is because should a patient develop a neutralizing anti-UCHT1 antibody response and still be in need of further treatment a humanized UCHT1 antibody with good tumor cell killing activity in the context of a bispecific anti-CD3 x anti-p185HER2 F(ab')2 antibody had been described in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a bifunctional molecule comprising the murine UCHT1 scFv and an anti-tumor pMHC epitope scFv in a clinical setting knowing that a bifunctional molecule comprising a humanized form of the UCHT1 antibody could be prepared based on the teachings of Carter if necessary.
Thus, in view of the reference teachings, it was apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
No claims are allowed. That said, claims 14-15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/ZACHARY S SKELDING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644
1 paragraph [0150].