DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 are rejected.
Claims 7-11 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 08/27/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/27/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holme et al. (US 20150099190 A1, “Holme”) in view of Kojima et al. (US 20200212479 A1, “Kojima”) and Kimura et al. (US 20200274169 A1, “Kimura”).
Regarding claim 1, Holme discloses a powder layer composite for an energy device (see [0196] “layered material for an electrochemical device” & see FIG. 21 & [0027] describes “powders”), the powder layer composite comprising: a current collector (see [0196] “current collector”); and a powder layer formed on the current collector (see [0196] “at least one layer comprising an aluminum cathode current collector in contact with the porous Garnet” & “porous Garnet layer” reads on powder layer).
Regarding the limitation and having a film thickness of 50 µm or more, Holme discloses in [0210] “film thickness is less than 100 µm” & in [0264] describes “more negative electrode materials (e.g., Li-metal) can be incorporated into the same volume and thereby increase the battery’s energy density, e.g., energy per volume. It is therefore advantageous” & “result in film thickness less than 500 µm but greater than 1 nm” & “less than 100 µm but greater than 1 nm” & see [0325] “thin layer typically of thickness 10-100 µm”.
Holme discloses a range of less than 100 µm, which overlaps with the claimed range of 50 µm or more. MPEP 2144.05 I states that 'In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)'.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a film thickness less than 100 µm, as suggested by Holme because doing so utilizes a typical thickness as suggested by Holme (see [0325]).
Regarding the limitation wherein the powder layer contains a solvent and a powder made of at least one type of particle material, Holme discloses in [0325] films are formed by making a “slurry of the powdered ceramic component(s) (e.g. electrolyte:Lithium stuffed garnet, Lithium Lanthanum, Zirconium Oxide; electrode: Lithium-Nickel-Manganese-Cobalt oxide)” which describes at least one type of particle material. Holme discloses a solvent (see [0050]).
Regarding the limitation wherein a concentration of the solvent contained in the powder layer is 50 ppm or less, Holme discloses in [0325] “an organic binder-solvent system (e.g. polyvinyl butyral in toluene:ethanol)” & “solvent is evaporated” which describes a small amount of solvent. Holme does not explicitly disclose 50 ppm or less.
Kojima teaches solvent concentration (see [0010], [0028] “solvent is less than or equal to 50 ppm” & see [0076] “solvent contained in positive-electrode mixture layer 21 is preferably less than or equal to 50 ppm” & “solvent contained in negative-electrode mixture layer 31 is preferably less than or equal to 50 ppm”).
Holme and Kojima are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely composite materials (see Kojima [0116]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to keep the amount of solvent remaining in the dried layer to 50 ppm or less, as suggested by Kojima (see [0010] & [0028]), and which falls within the recited range.
Holme discloses “the sintering process increases the density and uniformity of the garnet thin film” in [0487] & “high energy density” & “sintering composite electrodes having well developed contact points between particles and reduced particle-particle electrical resistance, which permits higher current flow without making a significant voltage drop” in [0192], but does not explicitly disclose wherein a variation in a weight per unit area of the powder layer is 10% or less in a sample region having an area 30 mm x 30 mm in the powder layer, however, a skilled artisan would find it obvious that “uniformity” in the deposition of the layer disclosed by Holme equates to as low of a “variation” in density as possible, i.e., a perfectly “uniform” layer would have a “variation” of 0%. Holme suggests sintering increases the density and uniformity of the film (see [0487]) and doing so provides a sintered composite electrode “having well developed contact points between particles and reduced particle-particle electrical resistance, which permits higher current flow without making a significant voltage drop” as suggested by Holme (see [0192]) and the skilled artisan would find it further obvious that Holme, in desiring a uniform layer, would desire as little variation in the layer, and would thus reasonably find it obvious a variation in a weight per unit area of the powder layer is as low as possible.
Kimura teaches a variation in a weight per unit area of a layer (see [0331] “basis weight of the negative electrode active material layer is preferably 10 g/m2 or greater” & “when the basis weight is 10 g/m2 or greater, high-load charge/discharge characteristics can be improved. On the other hand, when the basis weight is 100 g/m2 or less, the ion diffusion resistance in the electrode can be maintained low. Therefore, the sufficient output characteristic can be obtained as well as the cell volume can be reduced, which enables to increase the energy density. The upper and lower limits of the basis weight range of the negative electrode active material layer can be arbitrarily combined”).
A result effective variable is a variable which achieves a recognized result. The determination of the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable is routine experimentation and therefore obvious. MPEP § 2144.05.
Thus the variation in a weight per unit area of the layer is a variable that achieves the recognized result of improving energy density. That makes the variation in a weight per unit area of the layer a result-effective variable.
Holme and Kimura are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely layered materials (see Kimura [0104]) & composites (see Kimura [0472]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to routinely experiment with the variation in a weight per unit area and come up with 10 g/m2 or greater or 100 g/m2 or less as suggested by Kimura (see [0331]).
Regarding claim 2, Holme discloses the powder layer composite for an energy device of claim 1. Holme does not explicitly disclose wherein a filling rate of the powder in the powder layer is equal to a tap filling rate of the powder.
Kojima teaches filling rate (see [0223]-[0226]) and teaches pressing and filling in [0025] “In order to increase the filling rate of positive-electrode mixture layer 21, it is preferable that pressing and filling are performed at a high pressure in the positive-electrode layer forming process. If pressing is performed at a high pressure in the subsequent stacking process, negative-electrode mixture layer 31 contacts positive-electrode mixture layer 21 because solid electrolyte layer 40 is thin, and thus a problem such as a short-circuit may occur.” Kojima teaches in [0224] “By increasing the filling rate of positive-electrode mixture layer 21, lithium ion conductivity and electron conductivity can be improved in positive-electrode mixture layer 21, and good battery characteristics can be obtained”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “pressing and filling” (see [0225]) and “increasing the filling rate” (see [0224]), as suggested by Kojima into the powder layer of Holme because doing so provides “good battery characteristics” (see Kojima [0224]) and prevents short-circuit (see Kojima [0225]).
Regarding claim 5, Holme discloses the powder layer composite for an energy device of claim 1 and further discloses wherein: the current collector is a positive electrode current collector (see [0269] describes “positive electrode (e.g., cathode) active material coated on two sides of the current collector substrate”), and the powder contains a positive electrode active material and a solid electrolyte having ion conductivity as the at least one type of particle material (see [0196] describes “at least one layer comprising an aluminum cathode current collector in contact with the porous Garnet” & “porous Garnet layer” describes powder layer; see [0050] describes “lithium stuffed garnet material which optionally includes an active material”; see abstract “electrolytes”; see [0380] “garnet material has high ion conductivity”).
Regarding claim 6, Holme discloses the powder layer composite for an energy device of claim 1 and further discloses wherein: the current collector is a negative electrode current collector, and the powder contains a negative electrode active material and a solid electrolyte having ion conductivity as the at least one type of particle material (see [0287] “the powders, fluxes, and reaction mixtures are deposited onto current collectors, positive electrodes, negative electrodes, or electrolytes” & see [0050] “lithium stuffed garnet material which optionally includes an active material” & see abstract “electrolytes” & see [0050] “lithium stuffed garnet material which optionally includes an active material” & see [0380] “garnet material has high ion conductivity”).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holme et al. (US 20150099190 A1, “Holme”) in view of Kojima et al. (US 20200212479 A1, “Kojima”) and Kimura et al. (US 20200274169 A1, “Kimura”) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Suzuki et al. (JP 2004185989 A, “Suzuki”). The machine translation is used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 3, Holme discloses the powder layer composite for an energy device of claim 2 and further discloses wherein: the at least one type of particle material includes a main powder that is a particle material having a largest volume ratio among the at least one type of particle material (see [0325] describes films are formed by making a “slurry of the powdered ceramic component(s) (e.g. electrolyte:Lithium stuffed garnet, Lithium Lanthanum, Zirconium Oxide; electrode: Lithium-Nickel-Manganese-Cobalt oxide)” which describes at least one type of particle material; see [0315] “porous Garnet layer is infiltrated with the active cathode material in an amount greater than 55% by volume” which describes main powder and volume ratio).
Regarding the limitation a particle size distribution of the main powder represented by (D90-D10)/D50 is larger than 75%, discloses milling & particle size distribution (see [0480] describes milling “produces particle size distribution of about d50 ~ 100 nm” & see FIG. 32 describes the particle size distribution of the powders). Holme does not explicitly disclose (D90-D10)/D50 is larger than 75%.
Suzuki teaches particle size distribution (see [0021]) and in [0021] “When the average particle diameter exceeds 50 μm, irregularities are formed on the surface of the produced electrode, and short circuit is likely to occur. On the other hand, when the average particle diameter is less than 10 μm, since the specific surface area becomes large, the irreversible capacity at the time of initial charge and discharge increases (that is, the charge and discharge efficiency decreases), and the battery safety tends to decrease.”
A result effective variable is a variable which achieves a recognized result. The determination of the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable is routine experimentation and therefore obvious. MPEP § 2144.05.
Thus, the average particle diameter is a variable that achieves the recognized result of improved battery safety. That makes the average particle size a result-effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to routinely experiment with the average particle size and come up with (D90-D10)/D50 is larger than 75% for the purpose of improving the battery safety.
Regarding the limitation and the filling rate of the powder in the powder layer is 1.1 times or more the tap filling rate of the powder, Holme does not explicitly disclose.
Kojima teaches filling rate (see [0223]-[0226]) and teaches pressing and filling in [0025] “In order to increase the filling rate of positive-electrode mixture layer 21, it is preferable that pressing and filling are performed at a high pressure in the positive-electrode layer forming process. If pressing is performed at a high pressure in the subsequent stacking process, negative-electrode mixture layer 31 contacts positive-electrode mixture layer 21 because solid electrolyte layer 40 is thin, and thus a problem such as a short-circuit may occur.” Kojima teaches in [0224] “By increasing the filling rate of positive-electrode mixture layer 21, lithium ion conductivity and electron conductivity can be improved in positive-electrode mixture layer 21, and good battery characteristics can be obtained”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “pressing and filling” (see [0225]) and “increasing the filling rate” (see [0224]), as suggested by Kojima into the powder layer of Holme because doing so provides “good battery characteristics” (see Kojima [0224]) and prevents short-circuit (see Kojima [0225]).
Regarding the method limitations recited in claim 3 in lines 6-8, “the filling rate of the powder in the powder layer is 1.1 times or more the tap filling rate of the powder”, the Office notes that even though a product-by-process is defined by the process steps by which the product is made, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As the court stated in Thorpe, 777 F.2d at 697, 227 USPQ at 966 (The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In re Pilkington, 411 F. 2d 1345, 1348, 162 USPQ 145, 147 (CCPA 1969). If the product in a product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process). See MPEP § 2113.
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holme et al. (US 20150099190 A1, “Holme”) in view of Kojima et al. (US 20200212479 A1, “Kojima”) and Kimura et al. (US 20200274169 A1, “Kimura”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hashimoto et al. (JP 2017147054 A, “Hashimoto”). The machine translation is used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 4, Holme discloses the powder layer composite for an energy device of claim 1. Holme does not explicitly disclose wherein a filling rate of the powder in the powder layer is 80% or more.
Kojima teaches filling rate (see [0223]-[0226]) and teaches pressing and filling in [0025] “In order to increase the filling rate of positive-electrode mixture layer 21, it is preferable that pressing and filling are performed at a high pressure in the positive-electrode layer forming process. If pressing is performed at a high pressure in the subsequent stacking process, negative-electrode mixture layer 31 contacts positive-electrode mixture layer 21 because solid electrolyte layer 40 is thin, and thus a problem such as a short-circuit may occur.” Kojima teaches in [0224] “By increasing the filling rate of positive-electrode mixture layer 21, lithium ion conductivity and electron conductivity can be improved in positive-electrode mixture layer 21, and good battery characteristics can be obtained”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “pressing and filling” (see [0225]) and “increasing the filling rate” (see [0224]), as suggested by Kojima into the powder layer of Holme because doing so provides “good battery characteristics” (see Kojima [0224]) and prevents short-circuit (see Kojima [0225]).
Hashimoto teaches filling rate (see [0062] “preferable that the filling rate is 83% or less”).
Holme and Hashimoto are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely electrode layers (see [0062]).
Hashimoto teaches a range of 83% or less, which overlaps with the claimed range of 80% or more. MPEP 2144.05 I states that 'In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)'.
Regarding the method limitations recited in claim 4 in line 2, “a filling rate of the powder in the powder layer is 80% or more”, the Office notes that even though a product-by-process is defined by the process steps by which the product is made, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As the court stated in Thorpe, 777 F.2d at 697, 227 USPQ at 966 (The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In re Pilkington, 411 F. 2d 1345, 1348, 162 USPQ 145, 147 (CCPA 1969). If the product in a product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process). See MPEP § 2113.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 08/13/2026