DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 36 is objected to because “(iv) a structural adhesive:” should be deleted, as the wood elements are already recite as being adhesively bonded. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-28, 31-37, and 39-41 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leverington (CL58170).
20. Leverington teaches a column and beam module framing system comprising:
a plurality of constructive elements, fig. 7, forming a plurality of beams V6 and a plurality of columns V3, each constructive element comprising: (i) a foam element 8 having a first face and an opposite second face, wherein the foam element is thermal insulating;(ii) a first wood element 6 adhesively 5 bonded to the first face of the foam element, and (iii) a second wood element 6 adhesively bonded to the second face of the foam element; and(iv) on opposite ends of the constructive element, a notch 3 having dimensions of 240 mm long × 540 mm wide × 240 mm thick, page 30, the notch formed by absence of the foam element at the notch and by the first and second wood elements extending beyond the foam element at the notch; and a structural frame comprising the beams, the columns, metal-plated screws, and corner members, page 41, wherein the structural frame is a rigid, load-bearing assembly formed by structurally joining the beams and columns via the metal-plated screws, the corner members, and a structural adhesive, wherein the structural frame provides thermal insulation.
Leverington does not expressly teach the notch having dimensions of 240 mm long × 550 mm wide × 200 mm thick. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the Leverington notch to have dimensions of 240 mm long × 550 mm wide × 200 mm thick for strength. Examiner remarks that no criticality is given for the claimed dimensions, the Leverington dimensions only differing slightly.
21. Leverington teaches the column and beam module framing system of claim 20, Leverington further comprising: a structural framework including a plurality of the structural frames, wherein each structural frame structurally is connected to at least one other structural frame via metal-plated screws, the structural adhesive, corner members, or a combination thereof, pages 41 and 52.
22. Leverington teaches the column and beam module framing system of claim 21, Leverington further teaching the structural framework is configured to form a single-level structure or a multi-level structure providing habitability for one or more persons, fig. 13.
23. Leverington teaches the column and beam module framing system of claim 20, Leverington further teaching each of the first wood element and the second wood element comprises the wood element includes any of one plywood, oriented strand board, laminated wood beams, and laminated wood veneer, page 53.
24. Leverington teaches the column and beam module framing system of claim 20, Leverington further teaching each of the first wood element and the second wood element has dimensions measuring at least 6000 mm long, 240 mm wide, and 30 mm thick, page 38.
25. Leverington teaches the column and beam module framing system of claim 20, Leverington further teaching the foam element is an expanded polystyrene, a polyurethane foam, a styrene foam extrudate, foams of polyisocyanurates, or any combination thereof, page 30.
26. Leverington teaches the column and beam module framing system of claim 20, Leverington further teaching the foam element is an expanded polystyrene having a density ranging from medium to high, page 44.
27. Leverington teaches the column and beam module framing system of claim 20, Leverington further teaching the structural adhesive comprises any one of polyurethane-derived adhesives, synthetic elastomer resin adhesives, hot melt adhesives, or polyvinyl acetate adhesives having resistance to humidity, page 54.
28. Leverington teaches the column and beam module framing system of claim 20, Leverington further teaching the beams and columns further include the foam element having a first face and a second face, a first wood element structurally bound to the first face of the foam element, a second wood element structurally bound to the second face of the foam element; and wherein the foam element has a width of 540 mm, pages 30-31, the first wood element has a thickness of about 30 mm, page 30, and the second wood element has a thickness of about 30 mm, page 30. Leverington does not expressly teach the foam element has a width of 550 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the Leverington foam element to have a width of 550 mm for strength. Examiner remarks that no criticality is given for the claimed dimensions, the Leverington dimensions only differing by 10mm.
31. Leverington teaches the column and beam module framing system of claim 20, Leverington further teaching the structural frame has a shape of a rectangle, fig. 7.
32. Leverington teaches the column and beam module framing system of claim 20, Leverington further teaching each corner member of the corner members is made of any of plywood, page 32.
33. Leverington teaches the column and beam module framing system of claim 20, Leverington further teaching the structural frame comprises the corner members having angles ranging from 15 degrees to 90 degrees, page 35.
34. Leverington teaches the column and beam module framing system of claim 20, Leverington further teaching the structural frame comprise the corner members having dimensions of 480 mm long x 240 mm wide x 15 mm thick. Leverington does not expressly teach the thickness is 30mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the thickness to be 30mm for strength. Examiner remarks that no criticality is given for the claimed dimensions.
35. Leverington teaches a column and beam module framing system comprising:
a plurality of constructive elements, fig. 7, forming a plurality of beams v6 and a plurality of columns V3, each constructive element comprising: (i) a structural adhesive 5 ; (ii) an expanded polystyrene foam element 8 having a first face and an opposite second face, wherein the expanded polystyrene foam element has dimensions of 6000 mm long x 540 mm wide x 240 mm thick, page 37;(iii) a first wood element 6 adhesively bonded to the first face of the expanded polystyrene foam element, and (iv) a second wood element 6 adhesively bonded to the second face of the expanded polystyrene foam element; and a structural frame, fig. 8, comprising the beams, the columns, metal-plated screws, and corner members, page 41, wherein the structural frame is a rigid, load-bearing assembly formed by structurally joining the beams and columns via the metal-plated screws, the corner members, and the structural adhesive, wherein the structural frame provides thermal insulation.
Leverington does not expressly teach the foam element has dimensions of 550 mm wide x 200 mm thick. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the Leverington notch to have dimensions of 550 mm wide x 200 mm thick for strength. Examiner remarks that no criticality is given for the claimed dimensions, the Leverington dimensions only differing slightly.
36. Leverington teaches a column and beam module framing system comprising:
a plurality of constructive elements, fig. 7, forming a plurality of beams V6 and a plurality of columns V3, each constructive element comprising:(i) a foam element 8 comprising expanded polystyrene and having thermal insulating properties, wherein the foam element has a first face and an opposite second face;(ii) a first wood element 6 adhesively 5 bonded to the first face of the foam element;(iii) a second wood element 6 adhesively 5 bonded to the second face of the foam element; and a structural frame, fig. 7, comprising the beams, the columns, metal-plated screws, and corner members, wherein the structural frame is a rigid, load-bearing assembly formed by structurally joining ends of the beams and columns at corner joints via the metal-plated screws and the corner members to define a rigid structural framework, wherein the corner members are fixed to the first wood element and the second wood element at the corner joints by the metal-plated screws and the structural adhesive, wherein each of the corner members has dimensions of 480 mm long x 240 mm wide x 15 mm thick, and wherein the structural frame provides thermal insulation. Leverington does not expressly teach the thickness is 30mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the thickness to be 30mm for strength. Examiner remarks that no criticality is given for the claimed dimensions.
37. Leverington teaches the column and beam module framing system of claim 36, Leverington further teaching the foam element having a density ranging from medium to high, page 44.
39. Leverington teaches the column and beam module framing system of claim 36, Leverington further teaching each of the first wood element and the second wood element comprises the wood element includes any of one plywood, oriented strand board, laminated wood beams, and laminated wood veneer, page 53.
40. Leverington teaches the column and beam module framing system of claim 36, Leverington further teaching the structural framework is configured to form a single-level structure providing habitability for one or more persons, fig. 13.
41. Leverington teaches the column and beam module framing system of claim 36, Leverington further teaching the structural framework is configured to form a multi-level structure providing habitability for one or more persons, fig. 13.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leverington in view of Schiffman (2015/0240441).
38. Leverington does not expressly teach the foam element has a density of 15 Kg/m3. Schiffmann teaches a foam element has a density of 15 Kg/m3. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the foam element to have a density of 15 Kg/m3 for strength.
Conclusion
/DANIEL J KENNY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3633