Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the light projecting component and a light receiving component as claimed in claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Objections Applicant is advised that should claim 8 be found allowable, claim 42 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 3 recites the limitations “ includes a light projecting component and a light receiving component , and the lever member is supported to the shaft member so as to block between the light projecting component and the light receiving component when the second end portion moves upward . ” The relationship between the light projecting component and the light receiving component, and the manner in which the lever member blocks therebetween, is unclear. Because the light projecting component and the light receiving component are not shown in the drawings and their spatial relationship is not described with sufficient clarity in the specification, one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. Claim 3 is interpreted to mean that the lever member is positioned such that, upon upward movement of the second end portion, the lever member interrupts or obstructs a transmission path of light between the light receiving component and the light projecting component. This interpretation is applied solely for the purposes of evaluating prior art. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 , 5-6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being unpatentable by Goto (WO 2016175133 A1). Regarding claim 1, Goto discloses a hand for holding a substrate as claimed in claim 1, comprising: a hand main body ( 7 ) ; and a plurality of seating members (20) mounted on the hand main body and on which the substrate is to be seated, wherein each of the plurality of seating members includes a shaft member ( 16A ) and a lever member ( 17 ) , the shaft member is supported to the hand main body (see annotated fig. below) , the lever member is supported to the shaft member and has a first end portion and a second end portion (see annotated figure below) , the first end portion includes a seating portion (18) on which the substrate is to be seated, and the second end portion is disposed on a side opposite to the first end portion across the shaft member (see annotated fig. below) , and at least a part of the plurality of seating members further includes a biasing member ( 16 ) and a seating sensor (2 5 ) , the biasing member (16) is for giving a force of rotating the lever member (17) to the lever member such that the second end portion moves downward (see Page 4, Para. 2 ) , and the seating sensor (25) is configured to detect an upward movement of the second end portion (see Page 4, Para. 8 , see Fig. 6) ) . Regarding claim 5, Goto discloses the hand as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least a part of the plurality of seating members further includes a housing (15) configured to cover the second end portion of the lever member (17) and the seating sensor (25) . Regarding claim 6, Goto discloses the hand as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of seating members (20) are mounted on the hand main body ( 7 ) at predetermined intervals with one another so as to surround a seating region on which the substrate is to be seated, and the lever member (17) is supported to the shaft member (16A) such that the first end portion projects to the seating region (see annotated fig. below). Regarding claim 12, Goto discloses a transfer apparatus wherein: the hand as claimed in claim 1 (see claim 1 above) , and a driving mechanism (14) for moving the hand (see Fig. 2) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (WO 2016175133 A1 ) in view of Choi ( KR 20110081689 A ). Regarding claim 2, Goto discloses the hand as claimed in claim 1. Goto fails to disclose wherein a magnet is disposed on the second end portion of the lever member, and the seating sensor includes a magnetic sensor configured to detect an upward movement of the magnet. However, Choi teaches a hand wherein a magnet is disposed on the second end portion of the lever member, and the seating sensor includes a magnetic sensor configured to detect an upward movement of the magnet (see Page 3, Para. 10). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein a magnet is disposed on the second end portion of the lever member, and the seating sensor includes a magnetic sensor configured to detect an upward movement of the magnet on the hand of Goto as taught by Choi so that the position of the substrate can be detected (see Page 3, Para. 10). Claim (s) 3 , as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (WO 2016175133 A1 ) in view of Yoshida ( US 20220111534 A1 ) . Regarding claim 3, Goto discloses the hand as claimed in claim 1. Goto fails to disclose wherein the seating sensor includes an optical sensor that includes a light projecting component and a light receiving component, and the lever member is supported to the shaft member so as to block between the light projecting component and the light receiving component when the second end portion moves upward. However, Yoshida teaches a hand wherein the seating sensor (6) includes an optical sensor that includes a light projecting component (61) and a light receiving component (62) , and the lever member is supported to the shaft member so as to block between the light projecting component and the light receiving component when the second end portion moves upward. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the seating sensor includes an optical sensor that includes a light projecting component and a light receiving component, and the lever member is supported to the shaft member so as to block between the light projecting component and the light receiving component when the second end portion moves upward on the hand of Goto as taught by Yoshida in order to have a detection signal received or not whether a object is blocking the light (see Para. 0031-0032). Claim (s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (WO 2016175133 A1 ) in view of Van Druten (US 20240239443 A1) . Regarding claim 4, Goto discloses the hand as claimed in claim 1. Goto fails to disclose wherein a first electric contact is disposed on the second end portion of the lever member, and the seating sensor includes an electric sensor that includes a second electric contact in contact with the first electric contact when the second end portion moves upward. However, Van Druten teaches a c onnection interface wherein a first electric contact (931) is disposed on the second end portion of the lever member (921) , and the seating sensor includes an electric sensor that includes a second electric contact (932) in contact with the first electric contact when the second end portion moves upward (see Para. 0115). Van Druten address the problem of detecti on of positional movements and moveable members. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein a first electric contact is disposed on the second end portion of the lever member, and the seating sensor includes an electric sensor that includes a second electric contact in contact with the first electric contact when the second end portion moves upward on the hand of Goto, as taught by Van Druten , in order to provide electrical signals when the first and second connection parts are mechanically coupled to each other (see Para. 0115). Claim (s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (WO 2016175133 A1 ) in view of Pang ( CN 113148657 A ). Regarding claim 7, Goto discloses the hand as claimed in claim 1. Goto fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of seating members includes a bearing and an elastic member, the bearing is for supporting both end portions of the shaft member, and the elastic member is for supporting the bearing. However, Pang teaches a hand wherein each of the plurality of seating members includes a bearing (11) and an elastic member (13) , the bearing is for supporting both end portions of the shaft member, and the elastic member is for supporting the bearing (see Page 2, Para. 7). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein each of the plurality of seating members includes a bearing and an elastic member, the bearing is for supporting both end portions of the shaft member, and the elastic member is for supporting the bearing on the hand of Goto as taught by Pang in order to reduce the force of the substrate on the substrate conveying device when the substrate is being transferred (see Page 3, Para. 6) Claim (s) 8- 9 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (WO 2016175133 A1 ) in view of Kobayashi (JP 6674674 B2). Regarding claim (s) 8 and 42 , Goto discloses the hand as claimed in 1. Goto fails to disclose the hand further comprising: a plurality of guiding members mounted on the hand main body at predetermined intervals with one another so as to surround a seating region on which the substrate is to be seated; and a plurality of positioning members mounted on the hand main body at predetermined intervals with one another so as to surround the seating region, wherein each of the plurality of guiding members has a substrate receiving surface inclined downward toward the seating region, and each of the plurality of positioning members includes a positioning portion in contact with an outer edge of the seating region. However, Kobayashi teaches a hand further comprising: a plurality of guiding members (52A, 52B and 52C) mounted on the hand main body at predetermined intervals with one another so as to surround a seating region on which the substrate is to be seated; and a plurality of positioning members (50A, 50B and 50C) mounted on the hand main body at predetermined intervals with one another so as to surround the seating region, wherein each of the plurality of guiding members has a substrate receiving surface inclined downward toward the seating region (see Pa ge 6, Para. 2 ) , and each of the plurality of positioning members includes a positioning portion in contact with an outer edge of the seating region ( see Page 4, Para. 1) states that all the positioning members and guiding members are not shown in figures. Refer to annotated fig. 4A below to view 50B) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a plurality of guiding members mounted on the hand main body at predetermined intervals with one another so as to surround a seating region on which the substrate is to be seated; and a plurality of positioning members mounted on the hand main body at predetermined intervals with one another so as to surround the seating region, wherein each of the plurality of guiding members has a substrate receiving surface inclined downward toward the seating region, and each of the plurality of positioning members includes a positioning portion in contact with an outer edge of the seating region on the hand of Goto as taught by Kobayashi to have enhanced stability, precision and efficiency during processing of the substrate. Regarding claim 9, Goto discloses the hand as claimed in claim 8. Goto fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of positioning members includes a positioning post formed in a columnar shape. However, Kobayashi teaches wherein each of the plurality of positioning members (50A, 50B and 50C) includes a positioning post formed in a columnar shape (see Para. 0026). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein each of the plurality of positioning members includes a positioning post formed in a columnar shape on the hand of Goto as taught by Kobayashi in order to provide smooth and consistent transport. Claim (s) 10 -11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (WO 2016175133 A1 ) in view of Jia ( JP-7578409-B2 ) . Regarding claim 10, Goto discloses the hand as claimed in claim 1. Goto fails to disclose a hand further comprising a supporting member for supporting the hand; and a hand support for mounting the hand on the supporting member, wherein the hand support includes a first hand support and a second hand support, the first hand support is mounted on any one of the hand and the supporting member, and the second hand support is mounted on another one of the hand and the supporting member, a bottom surface of the first hand support has a tapered surface inclined to taper off toward the second hand support, and the second hand support has a coupling region into which the first hand support is inserted, and the coupling region has a tapered surface inclined corresponding to the tapered surface of the first hand support. However, Jia teaches wherein a supporting member (600a) for supporting the hand (620) , and a hand support ( 610 ) for mounting the hand (620) on the supporting member (600a) , wherein the hand support (610) includes a first hand support ( 624 ) and a second hand support ( 622 ) , the first hand support is mounted on any one of the hand and the supporting member (see annotated Fig. below) , and the second hand support is mounted on another one of the hand and the supporting member (see annotated Fig. below) , a bottom surface of the first hand support has a tapered surface inclined to taper off toward the second hand support, and the second hand support has a coupling region into which the first hand support is inserted (see annotated Fig. below), and the coupling region has a tapered surface inclined corresponding to the tapered surface of the first hand support (see annotated Fig. below). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a hand further comprising a supporting member for supporting the hand; and a hand support for mounting the hand on the supporting member, wherein the hand support includes a first hand support and a second hand support, the first hand support is mounted on any one of the hand and the supporting member, and the second hand support is mounted on another one of the hand and the supporting member, a bottom surface of the first hand support has a tapered surface inclined to taper off toward the second hand support, and the second hand support has a coupling region into which the first hand support is inserted, and the coupling region has a tapered surface inclined corresponding to the tapered surface of the first hand support on the hand of Goto as taught by Jia in order to stably support the substrate lower surface (see Pa ge 4, Para. 7 ). Regarding claim 11, Goto discloses the hand as claimed in claim 1. Goto fails to disclose a hand wherein a cutout is formed in a side surface on a side of the second hand support of the first hand support, and the coupling region includes a protrusion having a tapered surface inclined corresponding to a tapered surface formed in the cutout . However, Jia teaches wherein a cutout is formed in a side surface on a side of the second hand support of the first hand support (see annotated Fig. below) , and the coupling region includes a protrusion having a tapered surface inclined corresponding to a tapered surface formed in the cutout (see annotated Fig. below). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a hand wherein a cutout is formed in a side surface on a side of the second hand support of the first hand support, and the coupling region includes a protrusion having a tapered surface inclined corresponding to a tapered surface formed in the cutout on the hand of Goto, as taught by Jia, in order to stably support the substrate lower surface (see Page 4, Para. 7). Claim (s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (WO 2016175133 A1 ) in view of Suzuki (US 20170284727 A1) . Regarding claim 13, Goto discloses the transfer apparatus as claimed in claim 12, comprising the transfer apparatus according to claim 12 (see claim 12 above) configured to transfer the substrate processed by the polishing device or the cleaning device. Goto fails to disclose a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a polishing device configured to polish a substrate; a cleaning device configured to clean the substrate . However, Suzuki teaches a substrate transfer device comprising: a polishing device (3) configured to polish a substrate; a cleaning device (4) configured to clean the substrate . Thus , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a polishing device configured to polish a substrate; a cleaning device configured to clean the substrate , on the transfer apparatus of Goto as taught by Suzuki in order to be able to clean and polish the substrates (see Para. 0003). Claim (s) 43 -4 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (WO 2016175133 A1 ) in view of Pang ( CN 113148657 A ). Regarding claim 43, Goto discloses a hand for holding a substrate, comprising: a hand main body (7) ; and a plurality of seating members (20) mounted on the hand main body and on which the substrate is to be seated, wherein each of the plurality of seating members includes a shaft member (16A) , a lever member (17) , the shaft member is supported to the hand main body (see annotated Fig. below) , the lever member is supported to the shaft member and has a first end portion and a second end portion (see annotated fig. below) , the first end portion includes a seating portion (18) on which the substrate is to be seated, and the second end portion is disposed on a side opposite to the first end portion across the shaft member (see annotated fig. below). Goto fails to disclose wherein the hand comprises: a bearing, an elastic member , and the bearing is for supporting both end portions of the shaft member, and the elastic member is for supporting the bearing. However, Pang teaches wherein the hand comprises a bearing (11) , an elastic member (13), and the bearing is for supporting both end portions of the shaft member ( 121) and the elastic member is for supporting the bearing (see Page 2, Para. 7). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein each of the plurality of seating members includes a bearing and an elastic member, the bearing is for supporting both end portions of the shaft member, and the elastic member is for supporting the bearing on the hand of Goto as taught by Pang in order to reduce the force of the substrate on the substrate conveying device when the substrate is being transferred (see Page 3, Para. 6) Regarding claim 44, Goto in view of Pang, discloses the hand as claimed in claim 43. Goto fails to disclose wherein the bearing includes a pair of bearings for supporting respective both the end portions of the shaft member, and the elastic member includes a pair of elastic members for supporting the respective pair of bearings. However, Pang teaches wherein the bearing includes a pair of bearings (11) for supporting respective both the end portions of the shaft member (121) , and the elastic member (13) includes a pair of elastic members for supporting the respective pair of bearings (see annotated fig. below) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the bearing includes a pair of bearings for supporting respective both the end portions of the shaft member, and the elastic member includes a pair of elastic members for supporting the respective pair of bearings on the hand of Goto as taught by Pang in order to reduce the force of the substrate on the substrate conveying device when the substrate is being transferred (see Page 3, Para. 6). Regarding claim 45, Goto in view of Pang discloses the hand as claimed in claim 43. Goto fails to disclose wherein the bearing includes a single bearing extending across both the end portions of the shaft member below the shaft member, and the elastic member includes a single elastic member configured to support a center of a lower surface of the single bearing. However, Pang teaches wherein the bearing includes a single bearing (11) extending across both the end portions of the shaft member below the shaft member (121) , and the elastic member (13) includes a single elastic member configured to support a center of a lower surface of the single bearing (see annotated fig. below) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the bearing includes a single bearing extending across both the end portions of the shaft member below the shaft member, and the elastic member includes a single elastic member configured to support a center of a lower surface of the single bearing on the hand of Goto as taught by Pang so that the acting force of a substrate on the substrate conveying device is relieved when the substrate is conveyed (see Abstract). Claim (s) 46 -47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (WO 2016175133 A1 ) in view of Kobayashi (JP 6674674 B2) . Regarding claim 46, Goto discloses a hand for holding a substrate comprising: a hand main body (7) ; a plurality of seating members (20) mounted on the hand main body and on which the substrate is to be seated . Goto fails to disclose a plurality of guiding members mounted on the hand main body at predetermined intervals with one another so as to surround a seating region on which the substrate is to be seated; and a plurality of positioning members mounted on the hand main body at predetermined intervals with one another so as to surround the seating region, wherein each of the plurality of guiding members has a substrate receiving surface inclined downward toward the seating region, and each of the plurality of positioning members includes a positioning portion in contact with an outer edge of the seating region. However, Kobayashi teaches a hand further comprising: a plurality of guiding members (52A, 52B and 52C) mounted on the hand main body at predetermined intervals with one another so as to surround a seating region on which the substrate is to be seated; and a plurality of positioning members (50A, 50B and 50C) mounted on the hand main body at predetermined intervals with one another so as to surround the seating region, wherein each of the plurality of guiding members has a substrate receiving surface inclined downward toward the seating region (see Para. 0033) , and each of the plurality of positioning members includes a positioning portion in contact with an outer edge of the seating region (Para. 0025 states that all the positioning members and guiding members are not shown in figures. Refer to annotated fig. 4A below to view 50B) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a plurality of guiding members mounted on the hand main body at predetermined intervals with one another so as to surround a seating region on which the substrate is to be seated; and a plurality of positioning members mounted on the hand main body at predetermined intervals with one another so as to surround the seating region, wherein each of the plurality of guiding members has a substrate receiving surface inclined downward toward the seating region, and each of the plurality of positioning members includes a positioning portion in contact with an outer edge of the seating region on the hand of Goto as taught by Kobayashi to have enhanced stability, precision and efficiency during processing of the substrate. Regarding claim 47, Goto discloses the hand as claimed in claim 46. Goto fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of positioning members includes a positioning post formed in a columnar shape. However, Kobayashi teaches wherein each of the plurality of positioning members (50A, 50B and 50C) includes a positioning post formed in a columnar shape (see Para. 0026). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein each of the plurality of positioning members includes a positioning post formed in a columnar shape on the hand of Goto as taught by Kobayashi in order to provide smooth and consistent transport. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT REHMAN A QURESHI whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-6262 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 7:00am-5:00pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Robert Hodge can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-2097 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /REHMAN A QURESHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654 /ROBERT W HODGE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654