DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartman et al (WO 2011/057091 A1).
Hartman discloses a microfluidic system as shown in figure 1 including a device 10 having a channel 12 in which a fluid 14 flows, having an acoustic energy source generating acoustic energy 24 (ultrasonic) (page 6, 12-29; page 9, line 5-17).
Hartman discloses that the channel having different portions. These portions are coated by different materials including metals and glass and resin materials such as PTFE, and silicone (page 16, line 11-13; page 25, lines 18-27; page 26, line 20 to page 27, line 8).
Hartman discloses on page 27, lines 9-21 that different walls of the channel can be fabricated with different materials. For example, a base portion including the bottom wall and side walls can be fabricated with transparent materials such as glass and the top wall is fabricated with silicon (page 27, line 9 to page 29, line 33; also see paragraph 0040 figure 4 of the specification of this application).
Hartman does not disclose specific materials including glass/metal and resin for wall sides and the relative location of standing wave between walls as recite in claim 1.
However, as disclosed by Hartman, and an example disclosed and discussed above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Hartman fluid device by employing appropriate materials as disclosed by Hartman for walls of the device as used by applicants to arrive at the claimed device since Hartman does not limit any specific materials including metals, resins, glasses for any specific wall of the device.
As discussed above, Hartman fluidic device has similar designs with walls are fabricated with different materials similar as to the materials used in in claimed device. Therefore, properties such as first reflectance and second reflectance as recited in claim 1, Z1/Zr and Zo/Ze as recited in claims 2-4 are expected to be inherent in the Hartman device except applicants can prove opposition.
Response to Arguments
The argument “Hartman, in FIG. 1, describes that the acoustic energy 24 can be applied to microfluidic channel 12 via the acoustic energy source 26. Hartman, in FIG. 1, further describes that the acoustic energy source 26 is on the top portion made of silicon. Hartman further describes that the waveform of the acoustic energy 24 comprises the sinusoidal waveform. Hartman further describes that the base portion including the bottom wall and the side walls are of glass or the transparent polymer. However, Hartman does not teach or suggest that the sinusoidal waveform is between the side walls formed using the glass, where the acoustic energy source 26 is on a wall of the side walls formed using glass.
Accordingly, the Applicant respectfully submits that the Hartman does not teach, suggest, or render obvious at least, for example, the features of “the ultrasonic element is on the first wall portion, the each of the first wall portion and the second wall portion is formed using metal or glass, and the ultrasonic element generates the standing wave between the first wall portion and the second wall portion,” as recited in amended independent claim 1.” is not persuasive a discussed in the above rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THUAN D DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772