DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erickson (6,419,705) in view of Engstrom (2018/0318101).
Erickson teaches an expandable implant 10 configured to be inserted in an intervertebral space defined between a first vertebral body and a second vertebral body comprising:
a first endplate 8 defining an upper bone contacting surface;
a first pair of first and second side walls (6, 7) that extend from the first endplate in a first direction along a transverse direction;
a second endplate 5 defining a lower bone contacting surface opposite the upper bone contacting surface along the transverse direction;
a second pair of first and second side walls (3, 4) that extend from the second endplate in a second direction along the transverse direction;
an insertion end (select one end, generally half of the longitudinal length) and a trailing end (the other end, generally half of the longitudinal length) opposite the insertion end along a longitudinal direction that is perpendicular to the transverse direction, wherein the first and second side walls of the first and second pairs extend from the insertion end to the trailing end, wherein the insertion end and the trailing end define respective terminal ends of the implant along the longitudinal direction (as shown),
an expansion member (see 5:38-40 teaching, for example, reverse plyers, spearder, retractor, etc),
wherein the expandable implant defines a first height from the first bone contacting surface to the second bone contacting surface in the collapsed configuration, the expandable implant defines a second height from the first bone contacting surface to the second bone contacting surface in the expanded configuration, and the second height is greater than the first height (compare the two figures above),
wherein when the expandable implant is in the collapsed configuration, respective entireties of the first and second side walls of the second pair fit inside the first and second side walls (see figure above), respectively, of the first pair, and a straight line oriented in a lateral direction intersects the first and second side walls of the first pair and the first and second side walls of the second pair, the lateral direction being oriented perpendicular to each of the transverse direction and the expansion direction (depicted above).
However, Erickson fails to teach said expansion member that defines a ramped engagement surface configured to bear against an engagement surface one of one of the first and second endplates as the expansion member moves in an expansion direction with respect to the first and second endplates, thereby moving the expandable implant from a collapsed configuration to an expanded configuration, and wherein the expansion member mates with the first and second endplates so as to guide movement of the first and second endplates away from each other as the expansion member moves in the expansion direction.
Engstrom teaches a very similar expandable implant as applicant comprising first and second endplates, expansion member(s) (51, 52, 53, 54) that defines a ramped engagement surface (guide protrusion 144) configured to bear against an engagement surface (56, 58) of one of the first and second endplates as the expansion member moves in an expansion direction with respect to the first and second endplate,
thereby moving the expandable implant from a collapsed configuration (H1 in figure 30) to an expanded configuration (H2 in figure 30), and wherein the expansion member mates with the first and second endplates so as to guide movement of the first and second endplates away from each other as the expansion member moves in the expansion direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the expansion member of Engstrom for the expansion member of Erickson to expand the first endplate away from the second endplate to obtain predictable results fulfilling all limitation of claim 1.
Claims 2-3, the first endplate has a first guide member (56, 58, 70), the second endplate has a second guide member (56, 58, 70) and the expansion member defines a first guide member 146 and a second guide member 146 configured to slidably engage the first guide member of the first endplate and the second guide member of the second endplate, respectively, so as to guide movement of the first and second endplates away from each other as the expansion member moves in the expansion direction.
Claims 4-5, wherein the second endplate is a lower endplate, the first endplate is an upper endplate (fully capable of/interchangeable), the second guide member of the expansion member comprises outer projections (outer male dovetail portion) that are received in the channels of the second guide member of the upper endplate,
and the second guide member of the expansion member comprises inner projections (inner male dovetail portion) that are received in the channels of the lower endplate (same depiction but on the lower endplate).
Claim 6, referring to at least figures 29, 32 and 33, the limitations are self-evident.
Claim 7, the combination uses the expansion member shown in figure 29 above which rides in dovetail channels which allows for them to movable collapse the implant.
Claim 8, figure 5 first and second expansion members that move towards each other.
Claim 9, Engstrom uses contact between elements 51 and 110 to limit expansion.
Claim 10, Engstrom teaches deployment tool 300.
Claim 11, referring to figure 29 above, the expansion member is interpreted as the collective of elements shown which bear against respective engagement surfaces (plural) of both the first and second endplates.
Claim 12, see at least figure 10A showing an expansion member at trailing ends and at the insertion end.
Claim 13, referring to at least figure 9 and column 7-8, lines 65-17, Erickson teaches grooves and guiding pins fulfilling an alignment rib that extends from one of the first and second side walls of the first pair that slide along an alignment slot defined by one of the first and second side walls of the second pair as the expandable implant from the collapsed configuration to the expanded configuration.
/BRUCE E SNOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774