DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments submitted on 07/16/2025 have been considered and entered. Claims 1-11 and 20 have been canceled, claims 12, 14-18 and 22 have been amended and claims 23-26 have been newly added. Claims 12-19 and 21-26 are now pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jedele et al. (US 10,781,872 B2).
Regarding claim 18, Jedele et al. discloses a guide for a brake caliper of the floating type of a disc brake, comprising
- a guide pin (50), wherein said guide pin is configured to be arranged between said caliper body (22) and said bracket (30) to allow the relative sliding between said caliper body and said bracket along an axial direction, and wherein said guide pin is configured to connect to a guide sleeve (84, 32) and slide at least partially within said guide sleeve,
wherein said guide pin (50) comprises:
- a first pin coupling portion (note the portion of 76 adjacent to the groove portion 64 as shown in fig. 4) configured to couple said guide pin to said guide sleeve;
- a pin sliding portion (60) configured to guide in a sliding manner said guide pin into a sliding housing obtained in either said caliper body or said bracket;
- a second pin coupling portion (note the portion of 76 adjacent to the pin head 56 as shown in fig. 4) configured to couple said guide pin to either said bracket or said caliper body,
Wherein said first pin coupling portion (note the portion of 76 adjacent to the groove portion 64 as shown in fig. 4) and said second coupling portion (note the portion of 76 adjacent to the pin head 56 as shown in fig. 4) form a continuous pin threaded portion (note the continuous threaded portion 76),
wherein said first pin coupling portion is arranged between said second pin coupling portion and said pin sliding portion, wherein said first pin coupling portion (note the portion of 76 adjacent to the groove portion 64 as shown in fig. 4) is threaded (note 78 in fig. 5) to form a threaded coupling between said guide pin (50) and said guide sleeve (84, 32),
a guide sleeve (84, 32), wherein said guide sleeve is configured to be arranged between said caliper body and said bracket, wherein said guide sleeve comprises a tubular sleeve body configured to at least partially accommodate in a sliding manner a pin sliding portion of said guide pin guided in a sliding manner within a sliding housing formed in either said caliper body or said bracket to allow the relative sliding between said caliper body and said bracket along an axial direction, wherein said guide sleeve is configured to deform to allow the relative sliding between the caliper body and the bracket (note col. 8, line 8 to col. 10, line 4; the figure shown above);
wherein said guide sleeve (note 84, 32 and the figure shown above) comprises
- a first sleeve coupling portion (84 and the figure shown above) configured to connect said guide sleeve to said guide pin,
- a sleeve sliding portion (32 and the figure shown above) configured to internally receive at least one portion of said pin sliding portion (60), wherein said sleeve sliding portion (32) comprises a second sleeve coupling portion (note the right side end of the sleeve 32 shown in fig. 7) configured to be inserted into said sliding housing (74) and couple said guide sleeve to either said caliper body (22) or said bracket,
wherein said first sleeve coupling portion (84 and the figure shown above) is threaded to form a threaded coupling between said guide sleeve (84, 32) and said guide pin (50),
wherein said second sleeve coupling portion radially protrudes outwardly form said sleeve body to form an undercut connection with an annular fixing groove, made radially within said sliding housing (note the second sleeve coupling portion 32 having radially protruded portions and engaged with the annular groove of the housing 30 as shown in fig. 7 and the figure shown above).
Re-claim 19, Jedele et al. discloses said first pin coupling portion (note the portion of 78 adjacent to the groove portion 64 as shown in fig. 5) has a first pin diameter (note the outer most diameter of the portion 78 as shown in fig. 5), and wherein said first sleeve coupling portion (84 and the figure shown above) has a first sleeve diameter (note the inner most diameter of the sleeve portion 84 as shown in fig. 5), wherein said first sleeve diameter is smaller than said first pin diameter so that said first sleeve coupling portion is elastically biased against said first pin coupling portion forming a threaded fit (note 78 and 80 in fig. 5) as tight as possible between said guide pin and said guide sleeve.
Regarding claim 21, Jedele et al. discloses a brake caliper comprising - a caliper body (22), mechanically connected in a sliding manner to a bracket (30), connectible to a vehicle by means of at least one guide (50) according to claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 16, 22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jedele et al. (US 10,781,872 B2) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 8,857,576 B2).
Regarding claim 15, Jedele et al. discloses a guide sleeve (note 84, 32; col. 8, line 8 to col. 10, line 4; the figure shown above) for a brake caliper of the floating type of a disc brake (20), wherein said brake caliper comprises a caliper body (22) and a bracket (30), wherein said guide sleeve (84, 32) is configured to be arranged between said caliper body and said bracket, wherein said guide sleeve (84, 32) comprises a tubular sleeve body (32) configured to at least partially accommodate in a sliding manner a pin sliding portion (60) of a guide pin guided in a sliding manner within a sliding housing (74) formed in either said caliper body or said bracket to allow the relative sliding between said caliper body and said bracket along an axial direction, wherein said guide sleeve (84, 32) is configured to deform to allow the relative sliding between the caliper body and the bracket;
wherein said guide sleeve (note 84, 32 and the figure shown above) comprises
- a first sleeve coupling portion (84 and the figure shown above) configured to connect said guide sleeve to said guide pin,
- a sleeve sliding portion (32 and the figure shown above) configured to internally receive at least one portion of said pin sliding portion (60), wherein said sleeve sliding portion (32) comprises a second sleeve coupling portion (note the right side end of the sleeve 32 shown in fig. 7) configured to be inserted into said sliding housing (74) and couple said guide sleeve to either said caliper body (22) or said bracket,
wherein said first sleeve coupling portion (84) is threaded to form a threaded coupling between said guide sleeve (84, 32) and said guide pin (50), wherein said tubular sleeve body extends between a first axial sleeve edge and a second sleeve axial edge, wherein the first axial sleeve edge is an annular edge perpendicular to said axial direction,
wherein said guide sleeve (84, 32) further comprises a first sleeve sealing portion (note the figure shown above) which radially and internally protrudes along a radial direction, and a second sleeve sealing portion (note the figure shown above), wherein said second sleeve sealing portion comprises an annular sleeve sealing lip that projects from said first axial sleeve edge in the axial direction forming a cusp (note the first and second sleeve sealing portions as shown in figure shown above).
Jedele et al. fails to disclose wherein said guide sleeve has a plurality of axial sleeve grooves as recited in the claim. However, Kobayashi et al. discloses a similar guide sleeve (40) for a brake caliper, wherein the guide sleeve has a plurality of axial sleeve grooves (note 52 in figs. 4-5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the filing date of the present application was made to modify the guide sleeve of Jedele et al. with a plurality of axial grooves as taught by Kobayashi et al. will suppress unwanted rattling of the guide pin during operation and thus making the braking operation more efficient.
Re-claim 16, Jedele et al. discloses a first sleeve sealing portion (note the figure shown above) which radially and internally protrudes along a radial direction perpendicular to said axial direction towards said guide pin to seal with a pin sealing portion (64) of said pin comprising a smooth, ridge-free surface, wherein said first sleeve sealing portion is annular;
and/or (the examiner has chosen the or option in this case) wherein said sleeve sliding portion comprises a central sleeve portion elastically reversible between an extended configuration and a retracted configuration, wherein said central sleeve portion is arranged between said first sleeve coupling portion and said second sleeve coupling portion, wherein said central sleeve coupling portion is adapted to allow a contact-free sliding of said pin sliding portion in both said retracted configuration and said extended configuration;
wherein said first axial sleeve edge delimits said sleeve body on the opposite side from said second sleeve coupling portion, wherein said guide sleeve comprises the second sleeve sealing portion which protrudes in an axial direction from said first axial sleeve edge to achieve a seal either with bracket or caliper body to protect said guide pin from corrosion;
and/or (the examiner has chosen the or option in this case) wherein said sleeve sliding portion comprises a sleeve contact portion which extends internally relative to said second sleeve coupling portion and configured to contact in a sliding relationship said pin sliding portion, wherein said sleeve contact portion has a plurality of axial sleeve grooves to reduce the contact area between said guide sleeve and said guide pin and to make air evacuation channels between said pin sliding portion and said sleeve contact portion which allow air to be evacuated from said sliding housing;
and/or (the examiner has chosen the or option in this case) wherein said guide sleeve is made of an elastomeric material compatible with brake fluid and/or guide lubricant, wherein said elastomeric material comprises rubber and/or EPFM rubber or a silicone material;
and/or (the examiner has chosen the or option in this case) wherein said second sleeve coupling portion radially protrudes outwardly from said sleeve body to form an undercut connection with an annular fixing groove, made radially within said sliding housing.
Regarding claim 22, Jedele et al. discloses an assembly method of a brake caliper of the floating type comprising the following steps:
- providing a caliper body (22) and a bracket (30), wherein the caliper body is mechanically connectible in a sliding manner to said bracket,
- providing a guide pin (50),
- providing a guide sleeve (84, 32),
- coupling a second sleeve coupling portion (note the right side end of the sleeve 32 shown in fig. 7) to a sliding housing (74) made in said caliper body or said bracket;
- compressing the guide sleeve as the guide sleeve approaches the caliper body (note fig. 7),
- inserting said guide pin (50) into a fixing housing made in said caliper body or said bracket (note col. 13, lines 16-32), in said guide sleeve (84, 70) and said sliding housing (74), wherein said fixing housing is coaxial to said sliding housing, possibly lubricating said pin sliding portion (note col. 11, lines 4-23);
- screwing said guide pin coupling said first pin coupling portion to said first sleeve coupling portion and said second pin coupling portion to said fixing housing (note fig. 7),
wherein said guide sleeve has an exterior undercut received in a complementary shaped feature in the caliper body or bracket (note the second sleeve coupling portion 32 having radially protruded portions and engaged with the annular groove of the housing 30 as shown in fig. 7 and the figure shown above).
Jedele et al. fails to disclose wherein said guide sleeve has a plurality of axial sleeve grooves as recited in the claim. However, Kobayashi et al. discloses a similar guide sleeve (40) for a brake caliper, wherein the guide sleeve has a plurality of axial sleeve grooves (note 52 in figs. 4-5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the filing date of the present application was made to modify the guide sleeve of Jedele et al. with a plurality of axial grooves as taught by Kobayashi et al. will suppress unwanted rattling of the guide pin during operation and thus making the braking operation more efficient.
Re-claim 26, disclose said tubular sleeve body comprises said first sleeve coupling portion (84 and the figure shown above) and said sleeve sliding portion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14, 24 and 25 are allowed.
Claims 17 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 12-19 and 21-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on some reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claim 15, Jedele et al. fails to disclose wherein the guide sleeve has a plurality of axial sleeve grooves as recited in the claim. However, Kobayashi et al. discloses a similar guide sleeve (40) for a brake caliper, wherein the guide sleeve has a plurality of axial sleeve grooves (note 52 in figs. 4-5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the filing date of the present application was made to modify the guide sleeve of Jedele et al. with a plurality of axial grooves as taught by Kobayashi et al. will suppress unwanted rattling of the guide pin during operation and thus making the braking operation more efficient. The examiner further notes that combined teaching of Jadele et al. and Kobayashi discloses said guide sleeve (84, 32) further comprises a first sleeve sealing portion (note the figure shown above) which radially and internally protrudes along a radial direction, and a second sleeve sealing portion (note the figure shown above), wherein said second sleeve sealing portion comprises an annular sleeve sealing lip that projects from said first axial sleeve edge in the axial direction forming a cusp (note the first and second sleeve sealing portions as shown in figure shown above).
Regarding claim 22, Jedele et al. fails to disclose wherein the guide sleeve has a plurality of axial sleeve grooves as recited in the claim. However, Kobayashi et al. discloses a similar guide sleeve (40) for a brake caliper, wherein the guide sleeve has a plurality of axial sleeve grooves (note 52 in figs. 4-5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the filing date of the present application was made to modify the guide sleeve of Jedele et al. with a plurality of axial grooves as taught by Kobayashi et al. will suppress unwanted rattling of the guide pin during operation and thus making the braking operation more efficient.
Jedele et al. discloses the second sleeve coupling portion 32 having radially protruded portions and engaged with the annular groove of the housing 30 as shown in fig. 7 and the figure shown above).
Conclusion
/MAHBUBUR RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616