Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2/12/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C 112(a) for claims 1 and 10, regarding the recitation of “and wherein each of the first metal sheet and the second metal sheet are maintained at the same preload after the first method step and through the fifth method step to retain a geometry of the two edges for laser welding have been fully considered and are moot in light of the recent amendments to the claims. The rejection of 10/23/2025 has been withdrawn because the claims were amended.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2/12/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C 112(b) for claims 10, regarding the recitation of “a ring- shaped manner” has been fully considered and are moot in light of the recent amendments to the claims. The rejection of 10/23/2025 has been withdrawn because the claims were amended.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2/12/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C 112(b) for claims 10, regarding the recitation of “two or more metal sheets” have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of10/23/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., matching means and the corresponding matching/aligning method) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant’s arguments that Nishio does not teach aligning of planes, par. 44 teaches aligning butting portion 8 by matching device 10 which is obvious to perform the method of aligning planes. Further, the applicant argues that the amended claims of 2/12/2026 describe a step/up step/down method to mirror symmetry, The references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., step/up step/down method) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding applicant’s arguments towards Friedrich, the applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
The examiner notes that the invention of the instant application as disclosed in the amended claims of 2/12/2026 and the features argued but not claimed, as noted above are known in the art, and pertinent art that is capable of being used in future rejections is included in the conclusion section herein for the applicant’s review to promote compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6, 10, 11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090159579 A1 Nishio in view of US20200256388A1 Friedrich.
Regarding claim 1, Nishio teaches, except where struck through,
A method for the butt-welding of a first metal sheet and a second metal sheet (par. 1),
wherein a tailored blank (blank members 1, 2) is produced from the first metal sheet (blank members 1) and the second metal sheet (blank members 2) (par. 44 teaches “blank members 1, 2 (steel plates)” as being one in the same),
wherein, in a first method step, the first metal sheet is fixed in a first clamping device and the second metal sheet is fixed in a second clamping device (par. 44 teaches “ workpiece gripping device 7 (gripping means 7) by which the blank members 1, 2 positioned by the workpiece positioning device 6 are gripped near butting portions 1 a, 2 a of the blank members 1, 2, respectively”),
wherein, in a fourth method step, the first metal sheet and the second metal sheet are positioned relative to one another for carrying out a joining process for joining (par. 51 teaches laser welding as “. The welding device 11 is composed of an oscillator, an optical system, a power motor head 18, a laser-head driving mechanism, and a laser control device. Laser light generated by the oscillator is applied from the power motor head 18 to the butting portion 8 via the optical system. Under the control of the laser control device, the power motor head 18 is then moved so that a focus point of the laser light applied to the butting portion 8 is moved along the welding line, and that the butting portion 8 is welded to join the blank member 1 and the blank member 2 together”),
wherein, in a fifth method step, the first and second metal sheets are joined along an abutting region (11), formed by the two edges (butting portions 1 a, 2 a) to be welded from the fourth method step, by laser welding (claim 4, 5, 6, 7, and par. 51 teaches laser welding as “. The welding device 11 is composed of an oscillator, an optical system, a power motor head 18, a laser-head driving mechanism, and a laser control device. Laser light generated by the oscillator is applied from the power motor head 18 to the butting portion 8 via the optical system. Under the control of the laser control device, the power motor head 18 is then moved so that a focus point of the laser light applied to the butting portion 8 is moved along the welding line, and that the butting portion 8 is welded to join the blank member 1 and the blank member 2 together”),
wherein, in the fourth method step, the first metal sheet and the second metal sheet are positioned relative to one another (par. 44 teaches “a workpiece positioning device 6 by which the blank members 1, 2 loaded on the magnet conveyers 3, 4, respectively are positioned at their predetermined position; a workpiece gripping device 7 (gripping means 7) by which the blank members 1, 2 positioned by the workpiece positioning device 6 are gripped near butting portions 1 a, 2 a of the blank members 1, 2, respectively; a workpiece butting device 9 (butting means) by which the blank members 1, 2 gripped by the workpiece gripping device 7 are butted at their butting portions 1 a, 2 a, respectively and a predetermined butting load is applied to a butting portion 8 of the blank members 1, 2;” and par. 52 teaches “Also, the butt welding system includes a positioning-state monitoring device that measures the position of each blank member 1, 2 positioned by the workpiece positioning device 6 (the blank members 1, 2 just before being gripped by the clamp units of the workpiece gripping device 7) in the direction of the welding line and the gap of the butting portion 8 of the blank members 1, 2 that have been matched by the workpiece matching device 10. The positioning-state monitoring device includes, as”), in each case while maintaining a preload brought about by the fixing produced in the first method step, either by moving the first clamping device or by moving the second clamping device or by moving the first clamping device and the second clamping device in such a way that the edge to be welded of the first metal sheet and the edge to be welded of the second metal sheet lie opposite one another so as to form a joint (par. 44 teaches “a workpiece positioning device 6 by which the blank members 1, 2 loaded on the magnet conveyers 3, 4, respectively are positioned at their predetermined position; a workpiece gripping device 7 (gripping means 7) by which the blank members 1, 2 positioned by the workpiece positioning device 6 are gripped near butting portions 1 a, 2 a of the blank members 1, 2, respectively; a workpiece butting device 9 (butting means) by which the blank members 1, 2 gripped by the workpiece gripping device 7 are butted at their butting portions 1 a, 2 a, respectively and a predetermined butting load is applied to a butting portion 8 of the blank members 1, 2;”)
wherein each of the first metal sheet and the second metal sheet are maintained at the same preload after the first method step and through the fourth method step to retain a geometry of the two edges for laser welding (par. 50 and 51 teach maintaining butting load of par. 44 and on during laser welding),
.
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Nishio does not teach: wherein, in a second method step, a first edge to be welded is produced on the first metal sheet by laser cutting, wherein, in a third method step, a second edge to be welded is produced on the second metal sheet by laser cutting, wherein, in a fourth method step, the first metal sheet and the second metal sheet are positioned relative to one another for carrying out a joining process for joining…nor…and after the fourth method step, the first metal sheet and the second metal sheet are oriented in such a way that a first cut surface generated at the first edge lies in a first plane and a second cut surface generated at the second edge lies in a second plane, wherein the first plane and the second plane intersect when a top side of the first metal sheet and a top side of the second metal sheet lie in a third plane or in a third plane and a fourth plane, which are oriented parallel to one another.
Friedrich teaches, wherein, in a second method step, a first edge to be welded is produced on the first metal sheet by laser cutting, wherein, in a third method step, a second edge to be welded is produced on the second metal sheet by laser cutting (fig. 2 teaches joint edges 7, 8, and chamfers 10 and par. 39 and 40 teach “The chamfers 10, 11 are preferably produced by a reshaping process, for example, a rolling or milling. The laser cutting and the reshaping preferably occur with the aid of one and the same machine so that in particular the bearing cage segment 1 need not be transported to a further tool to form the chamfers 10, 11. In summary a bearing cage segment is provided that includes a laser-cut joint edge that is directly suitable for a weld connection. Here the joint edge includes a chamfer, whereby the formation of a projection is avoided in the course of the welding”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in the Nishio reference, to include wherein, in a second method step, a first edge to be welded is produced on the first metal sheet by laser cutting, wherein, in a third method step, a second edge to be welded is produced on the second metal sheet by laser cutting, as suggested and taught by Friedrich, prior to laser welding for the purpose of providing the advantage to create a laser-cut joint edge that is directly suitable for a weld connection (par. 40) such that a chamfered joint is produced to enable more accurate welding pool control.
Though Nishio does not expressly teach: after the fourth method step, the first metal sheet and the second metal sheet are oriented in such a way that a first cut surface generated at the first edge lies in a first plane and a second cut surface generated at the second edge lies in a second plane, wherein the first plane and the second plane intersect when a top side of the first metal sheet and a top side of the second metal sheet lie in a third plane or in a third plane and a fourth plane, which are oriented parallel to one another, fig. 13 and par. 44 teaches such an alignment at butting portion 8 where the examiner considers it obvious to make an alignment by matching device 10 between blank members 1 and 2 of Nishio in such a way as to arrive at the alignment of fig. 13 and therefore the disclosed alignment of the instant application.
Regarding claim 2, Nishio in view of Friedrich teaches, the method as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above.
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Nishio does not teach: wherein the second, the third and the fourth method steps are carried out in such a way that, prior to the fifth method step, a groove is formed between the first edge to be welded and the second edge to be welded.
Friedrich teaches, wherein the second, the third and the fourth method steps are carried out in such a way that, prior to the fifth method step, a groove is formed between the first edge to be welded and the second edge to be welded (fig. 2 teaches joint edges 7, 8, and chamfers 10 and par. 39 and 40 teach “The chamfers 10, 11 are preferably produced by a reshaping process, for example, a rolling or milling. The laser cutting and the reshaping preferably occur with the aid of one and the same machine so that in particular the bearing cage segment 1 need not be transported to a further tool to form the chamfers 10, 11. In summary a bearing cage segment is provided that includes a laser-cut joint edge that is directly suitable for a weld connection. Here the joint edge includes a chamfer, whereby the formation of a projection is avoided in the course of the welding”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in the Nishio reference, such that wherein the second, the third and the fourth method steps are carried out in such a way that, prior to the fifth method step, a groove is formed between the first edge to be welded and the second edge to be welded, as suggested and taught by Friedrich, for the purpose of providing the advantage to create a laser-cut joint edge that is directly suitable for a weld connection (par. 40).
Regarding claim 3, Nishio in view of Friedrich teaches, the method as claimed in claim 2 as discussed above.
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Nishio does not teach: wherein the groove is in the form of a V groove or in the form of a Y groove or in the form of an HV groove or in the form of an HY groove.
Friedrich teaches, wherein the groove is in the form of a V groove or in the form of a Y groove or in the form of an HV groove or in the form of an HY groove (fig. 2 teaches a V groove).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Nishio reference, such that wherein the groove is in the form of a V groove or in the form of a Y groove or in the form of an HV groove or in the form of an HY groove, a as suggested and taught by Friedrich, for the purpose of providing the advantage to create a laser-cut joint edge that is directly suitable for a weld connection (par. 40).
Regarding claim 6, Nishio in view of Friedrich teaches, the method as claimed in claim 2 as discussed above.
Nishio further teaches, except where struck through, (in accordance with the rejection of claim 1 of the disclosure of the instant application, claims 4, 5, 6, 7, and par. 51 of Nishio teaches laser welding as “The welding device 11 is composed of an oscillator, an optical system, a power motor head 18, a laser-head driving mechanism, and a laser control device. Laser light generated by the oscillator is applied from the power motor head 18 to the butting portion 8 via the optical system. Under the control of the laser control device, the power motor head 18 is then moved so that a focus point of the laser light applied to the butting portion 8 is moved along the welding line, and that the butting portion 8 is welded to join the blank member 1 and the blank member 2 together”).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Nishio does not teach: wherein the second and the third method steps are carried out by laser beam cutting or by remote laser beam cutting.
Friedrich teaches, wherein the second and the third method steps are carried out by laser beam cutting or by remote laser beam cutting (in accordance with the rejection of claim 1 of the disclosure of the instant application fig. 2 of Friedrich teaches “joint edges 7, 8, and chamfers 10 and par. 39 and 40 teach “The chamfers 10, 11 are preferably produced by a reshaping process, for example, a rolling or milling. The laser cutting and the reshaping preferably occur with the aid of one and the same machine so that in particular the bearing cage segment 1 need not be transported to a further tool to form the chamfers 10, 11. In summary a bearing cage segment is provided that includes a laser-cut joint edge that is directly suitable for a weld connection. Here the joint edge includes a chamfer, whereby the formation of a projection is avoided in the course of the welding”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Nishio reference, such that wherein the second and the third method steps are carried out by laser beam cutting or by remote laser beam cutting, as suggested and taught by Friedrich, for the purpose of providing the advantage to create a laser-cut joint edge that is directly suitable for a weld connection (par. 40).
Regarding claim 10, Nishio teaches, except where struck through,
A method for the butt-welding of two or more metal sheets (blank members 1, 2),
wherein a ring shaped tailored blank is produced from the two or more metal sheets, wherein, in a first method step, the two or more metal sheets are each individually fixed in a clamping device (par. 44 teaches “ workpiece gripping device 7 (gripping means 7) by which the blank members 1, 2 positioned by the workpiece positioning device 6 are gripped near butting portions 1 a, 2 a of the blank members 1, 2, respectively”),
wherein, in a fourth method step, each of the two or more metal sheets are positioned relative to one another for carrying out a joining process for joining the two of more metal sheets (par. 51 teaches laser welding as “. The welding device 11 is composed of an oscillator, an optical system, a power motor head 18, a laser-head driving mechanism, and a laser control device. Laser light generated by the oscillator is applied from the power motor head 18 to the butting portion 8 via the optical system. Under the control of the laser control device, the power motor head 18 is then moved so that a focus point of the laser light applied to the butting portion 8 is moved along the welding line, and that the butting portion 8 is welded to join the blank member 1 and the blank member 2 together”),
wherein, in a fifth method step, the two or more metal sheets are joined along an abutting region formed by the two edges to be welded (butting portions 1 a, 2 a) from the fourth method step of adjacent metal sheets (claim 4, 5, 6, 7, and par. 51 teaches laser welding as “. The welding device 11 is composed of an oscillator, an optical system, a power motor head 18, a laser-head driving mechanism, and a laser control device. Laser light generated by the oscillator is applied from the power motor head 18 to the butting portion 8 via the optical system. Under the control of the laser control device, the power motor head 18 is then moved so that a focus point of the laser light applied to the butting portion 8 is moved along the welding line, and that the butting portion 8 is welded to join the blank member 1 and the blank member 2 together”),
wherein, in the fourth method step, each of the two or more metal sheets are positioned relative to one another, in each case while maintaining a preload brought about by a fixing produced in the first method step, by moving one or more of the clamping devices in such a way that the first edge and the second edge to be welded of each of the two or more metal sheets lie opposite one another so as to form a joint (par. 44 teaches “a workpiece positioning device 6 by which the blank members 1, 2 loaded on the magnet conveyers 3, 4, respectively are positioned at their predetermined position; a workpiece gripping device 7 (gripping means 7) by which the blank members 1, 2 positioned by the workpiece positioning device 6 are gripped near butting portions 1 a, 2 a of the blank members 1, 2, respectively; a workpiece butting device 9 (butting means) by which the blank members 1, 2 gripped by the workpiece gripping device 7 are butted at their butting portions 1 a, 2 a, respectively and a predetermined butting load is applied to a butting portion 8 of the blank members 1, 2;”),
and wherein each of the first metal sheet and the second metal sheet are maintained at the same preload after the first method step and through the fourth method step to retain a geometry of the two edges for laser welding (par. 50 and 51 teach maintaining butting load of par. 44 and on during laser welding)
.
Nishio does not teach wherein, in a second method step, an first edge to be welded is produced on each of the two or more metal sheets by laser cutting, wherein, in a third method step, a second edge to be welded is produced on each of the two or more metal sheets by laser cutting…nor… by laser welding to form the a ring shaped tailored blank ..nor…wherein, after the fourth method step, the first metal sheet and the second metal sheet are oriented in such a way that a first cut surface generated at the first edge lies in a first plane and a second cut surface generated at the second edge lies in a second plane, wherein the first plane and the second plane intersect when a top side of the first metal sheet and a top side of the second metal sheet lie in a third plane or in a third plane and a fourth plane, which are oriented parallel to one another.
Friedrich teaches, wherein, in a second method step, an first edge to be welded is produced on each of the two or more metal sheets by laser cutting, wherein, in a third method step, a second edge to be welded is produced on each of the two or more metal sheets by laser cutting (fig. 2 teaches joint edges 7, 8, and chamfers 10 and par. 39 and 40 teach “The chamfers 10, 11 are preferably produced by a reshaping process, for example, a rolling or milling. The laser cutting and the reshaping preferably occur with the aid of one and the same machine so that in particular the bearing cage segment 1 need not be transported to a further tool to form the chamfers 10, 11. In summary a bearing cage segment is provided that includes a laser-cut joint edge that is directly suitable for a weld connection. Here the joint edge includes a chamfer, whereby the formation of a projection is avoided in the course of the welding”) and laser welding to form the a ring shaped tailored blank (claim 1 teaches creating a curved bearing cage from a plurality of sheet metal bridges A bearing cage segment comprising: a first sheet metal ring section, at least one second sheet metal ring section, and a plurality of sheet metal bridges connecting the first ring section to the at least one second ring section, circumferentially adjacent pairs of the bridges forming pockets for receiving at least one rolling element, wherein the first ring section and/or the at least one second ring section includes a circumferentially facing joint edge configured to be connected to another circumferentially facing joint edge to form a to-be-formed pocket, wherein the joint edge is spaced from the plurality of bridges, and wherein the joint edge is formed by laser cutting).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Nishio reference, such that in a second method step, an first edge to be welded is produced on each of the two or more metal sheets by laser cutting, wherein, in a third method step, a second edge to be welded is produced on each of the two or more metal sheets by laser cutting…nor… by laser welding to form the a ring shaped tailored blank, as suggested and taught by Friedrich, for the purpose of providing the advantage to produce a desired shapes.
Though Nishio does not expressly teach: after the fourth method step, the first metal sheet and the second metal sheet are oriented in such a way that a first cut surface generated at the first edge lies in a first plane and a second cut surface generated at the second edge lies in a second plane, wherein the first plane and the second plane intersect when a top side of the first metal sheet and a top side of the second metal sheet lie in a third plane or in a third plane and a fourth plane, which are oriented parallel to one another, fig. 13 and par. 44 teaches such an alignment at butting portion 8 where the examiner considers it obvious to make an alignment by matching device 10 between blank members 1 and 2 of Nishio in such a way as to arrive at the alignment of fig. 13 and therefore the disclosed alignment of the instant application.
Regarding claim 11, Nishio in view of Friedrich teaches, the method as claimed in claim 2 as discussed above.
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Nishio does not teach: wherein, in the fourth method step, the second metal sheet is positioned in relation to the first metal sheet either in such a way that, to produce a first variant of the tailored blank, a top side of the first metal sheet and a top side of the second metal sheet are brought into a first common plane and the groove is in this case formed in the direction of the top side of the second metal sheet, or in such a way that, to produce a second variant of the tailored blank, a bottom side of the first metal sheet and a bottom side of the second metal sheet are brought into a second common plane and the groove is in this case formed in the direction of the top side of the second metal sheet.
Friedrich teaches, wherein, in the fourth method step, the second metal sheet is positioned in relation to the first metal sheet either in such a way that, to produce a first variant of the tailored blank, a top side of the first metal sheet and a top side of the second metal sheet are brought into a first common plane and the groove is in this case formed in the direction of the top side of the second metal sheet, or in such a way that, to produce a second variant of the tailored blank, a bottom side of the first metal sheet and a bottom side of the second metal sheet are brought into a second common plane and the groove is in this case formed in the direction of the top side of the second metal sheet (par. 32 teaches “Here, viewed in the circumferential direction, the joint edges 7, 8 are disposed approximately centrally with respect to the welding pocket 14. In particular the design can be such that the joint edges 7, 8 lie in a plane that represents a plane of symmetry for the to-be-formed pocket 14. However, the joint edges 7, 8 can of course also be disposed non-centrally and/or offset from each other”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Nishio reference, such that wherein, in the fourth method step, the second metal sheet is positioned in relation to the first metal sheet either in such a way that, to produce a first variant of the tailored blank, a top side of the first metal sheet and a top side of the second metal sheet are brought into a first common plane and the groove is in this case formed in the direction of the top side of the second metal sheet, or in such a way that, to produce a second variant of the tailored blank, a bottom side of the first metal sheet and a bottom side of the second metal sheet are brought into a second common plane and the groove is in this case formed in the direction of the top side of the second metal sheet, as suggested and taught by Friedrich, for the purpose of providing the advantage that the joint edges 7, 8 can be shaped so precisely that a post-processing for suitability as a welding surface is no longer required (par. 33)
Regarding claim 14, Nishio in view of Friedrich teaches, the method as claimed in claim 10 as discussed above.
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Nishio does not teach: the two or more metal sheets are connected by a number of weld seams which corresponds to a number of the metal sheets.
Friedrich teaches, the two or more metal sheets are connected by a number of weld seams which corresponds to a number of the metal sheets (claim 1 teaches creating a curved bearing cage from a plurality of sheet metal bridges A bearing cage segment comprising: a first sheet metal ring section, at least one second sheet metal ring section, and a plurality of sheet metal bridges connecting the first ring section to the at least one second ring section, circumferentially adjacent pairs of the bridges forming pockets for receiving at least one rolling element, wherein the first ring section and/or the at least one second ring section includes a circumferentially facing joint edge configured to be connected to another circumferentially facing joint edge to form a to-be-formed pocket, wherein the joint edge is spaced from the plurality of bridges, and wherein the joint edge is formed by laser cutting).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Nishio reference, such that the two or more metal sheets are connected by a number of weld seams which corresponds to a number of the metal sheets as suggested and taught by Friedrich, for the purpose of providing the advantage to produce a desired shape.
Regarding claim 15, Nishio in view of Friedrich teaches, the method as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above.
Nishio teaches, wherein the first edge to be welded and the second edge to be welded each have a linear profile, such that a linearly running weld seam is formed by the welding (butting portions 1a and 1b are taught in fig 14 as being linear and straight and par. 44 teaches “ a welding device 11 (welding means) by which the butting portion 8 of the blank members 1, 2 matched by the workpiece matching device 10 is laser-welded along the welding line”).
Claim(s) 4, 12, 13, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090159579 A1 Nishio in view of US20200256388A1 Friedrich in view of US20170129051A1 Li.
Regarding claim 4, Nishio does not teach wherein, during the second method step, the first edge to be welded is prepared by laser cutting in such a way that, after the laser cutting, an angle α > 90 is enclosed between the first edge and a top side of the first metal sheet, said top side adjoining the first edge, wherein, during the third method step, the second edge to be welded is prepared by laser cutting in such a way that, after the laser cutting, an angle β > or = 90 is enclosed between the second edge and a top side of the second metal sheet, said top side adjoining the second edge.
Li teaches, weld joint geometries for crack resistance (par. 1) and further teaches wherein, during the second method step, the first edge to be welded is prepared by laser cutting in such a way that, after the laser cutting, an angle α > 90 is enclosed between the first edge and a top side of the first metal sheet, said top side adjoining the first edge, wherein, during the third method step, the second edge to be welded is prepared by laser cutting in such a way that, after the laser cutting, an angle β > or = 90 is enclosed between the second edge and a top side of the second metal sheet, said top side adjoining the second edge (par. 34 teaches “As noted above, the modified “V” shaped weld groove 56 also results from removal of material from the second component 54, creating a substantially planar groove face 70 angularly oriented with respect to a plane 72 vertically extending through a second groove end 74, with plane 72 oriented substantially perpendicular to the end face 18 and parallel to the plane 64. According to several aspects the groove face 70 is oriented at an angle δ with respect to the plane 72, ranging between approximately 5 degrees to approximately 45 degrees. An angular wall 76 joins the groove end 60 to the second groove end 74. According to several aspects the angular wall 76 is oriented at an angle ε with respect to a plane 78 intersecting “ where the examiner considers 180 degrees – δ degrees to match the claimed limitations because the applicant has not disclosed what the angles are respective to and therefore are read broadly).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Nishio reference, such that wherein, during the second method step, the first edge to be welded is prepared by laser cutting in such a way that, after the laser cutting, an angle α > 90 is enclosed between the first edge and a top side of the first metal sheet, said top side adjoining the first edge, wherein, during the third method step, the second edge to be welded is prepared by laser cutting in such a way that, after the laser cutting, an angle β > or = 90 is enclosed between the second edge and a top side of the second metal sheet, said top side adjoining the second edge, as suggested and taught by Li, for the purpose of providing an advantageous groove geometry for welding (par. 33) that is known in the art.
Regarding claim 12, Nishio does not teach wherein a free volume of the groove is predetermined in such a way that said free volume is filled by a weld seam, which is generated in the fifth method step, as far as an interface, wherein the interface in the case of metal sheets whose top sides lie in a common plane is defined by this common plane, and wherein the groove is filled in such a way that a fill volume of the weld seam corresponds to the free volume of the groove, or wherein the interface in the case of metal sheets whose top sides lie at different levels is in the form of an interface which extends from the top side of the first metal sheet to the top side of the second metal sheet in a concavely curved manner, and wherein the groove is filled in such a way that a fill volume of the weld seam lies above the free volume of the groove.
Li teaches, wherein a free volume of the groove is predetermined in such a way that said free volume is filled by a weld seam, which is generated in the fifth method step, as far as an interface, wherein the interface in the case of metal sheets whose top sides lie in a common plane is defined by this common plane, and wherein the groove is filled in such a way that a fill volume of the weld seam corresponds to the free volume of the groove, or wherein the interface in the case of metal sheets whose top sides lie at different levels is in the form of an interface which extends from the top side of the first metal sheet to the top side of the second metal sheet in a concavely curved manner, and wherein the groove is filled in such a way that a fill volume of the weld seam lies above the free volume of the groove (fig. 2 and par 28 through 32 in summation teach aligning a first component 12 and second component 14, and par. 27 and fig. 2 in summation teach filling the half “v” or “v” shaped with weld material which the examiner considers to be filling a groove in such a way that a fill volume of the weld seam corresponds to a free volume and fig. 2 teaches the end weld as being concave) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Nishio reference, such that wherein a free volume of the groove is predetermined in such a way that said free volume is filled by a weld seam, which is generated in the fifth method step, as far as an interface, wherein the interface in the case of metal sheets whose top sides lie in a common plane is defined by this common plane, and wherein the groove is filled in such a way that a fill volume of the weld seam corresponds to the free volume of the groove, or wherein the interface in the case of metal sheets whose top sides lie at different levels is in the form of an interface which extends from the top side of the first metal sheet to the top side of the second metal sheet in a concavely curved manner, and wherein the groove is filled in such a way that a fill volume of the weld seam lies above the free volume of the groove, as suggested and taught by Li, for the purpose of providing the advantage to avoid inducing internal stresses which induce cracking (par. 31 through 32 in summation).
Regarding claim 13, Nishio does not teach wherein a fill volume of the weld seam in the fifth method step is increased by continuous feeding of a filler wire during the laser welding until the free volume of the groove is reached by the fill volume.
Li teaches, wherein a fill volume of the weld seam in the fifth method step is increased by continuous feeding of a filler wire during the laser welding until the free volume of the groove is reached by the fill volume (par. 30 teaches filling the “v” shaped groove with a filler material which is a filler wire that is introducing material during welding).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Nishio reference, such that wherein a fill volume of the weld seam in the fifth method step is increased by continuous feeding of a filler wire during the laser welding until the free volume of the groove is reached by the fill volume, as suggested and taught by Li, for the purpose of providing the advantage to avoid inducing internal stresses which induce cracking (par. 31 through 32 in summation).
Regarding claim 16, Nishio does not teach wherein the first edge to be welded and the second edge to be welded each have a two-dimensional, curved profile, such that a weld seam which runs in a two-dimensional, curved manner is formed by the welding.
Li teaches, wherein the first edge to be welded (face 118, 66, 68, and faces 24), and the second edge to be welded (face 118, 66, 68, and faces 24) each have a two-dimensional, curved profile, such that a weld seam which runs in a two-dimensional, curved manner is formed by the welding (the art of Li teaches welding a curved ring gear per par. 41 and fig. 6 it is in a 2 dimensional curved profile).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Nishio reference, such that wherein the first edge to be welded and the second edge to be welded each have a two-dimensional, curved profile, such that a weld seam which runs in a two-dimensional, curved manner is formed by the welding, as suggested and taught by Li, for the purpose of providing a finished weld.
Regarding claim 17, Nishio does not teach wherein the first edge to be welded and the second edge to be welded each have a three-dimensionally curved profile, such that a weld seam which runs in a three-dimensionally curved manner is formed by the welding.
Li teaches, wherein the first edge to be welded (face 118, 66, 68, and faces 24) and the second edge to be welded (face 118, 66, 68, and faces 24) each have a three-dimensionally curved profile, such that a weld seam which runs in a three-dimensionally curved manner is formed by the welding (the art of Li teaches welding a curved ring gear per par. 41 and fig. 6 it is in a 3 dimensional curved profile).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Nishio reference, such that wherein the first edge to be welded and the second edge to be welded each have a three-dimensionally curved profile, such that a weld seam which runs in a three-dimensionally curved manner is formed by the welding, as suggested and taught by Li, for the purpose of providing a finished weld.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090159579 A1 Nishio in view of US20200256388A1 Friedrich in view of US 20180111223 A1 Regaard.
Regarding claim 7, Nishio teaches laser welding as previously discussed and Friedrich teaches laser cutting as previously discussed. .
Nishio does not teach wherein the second, the third and the fifth method steps are carried out using the same laser or using the same remote laser.
Regaard teaches, wherein the second, the third and the fifth method steps are carried out using the same laser or using the same remote laser (in summation, par. 49 teaches using the laser processing head to perform laser cutting or laser welding by changing a focal point of the laser beam).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Nishio reference, to include wherein the second, the third and the fifth method steps are carried out using the same laser or using the same remote laser, as suggested and taught by Regaard, for the purpose of providing improvement in accuracy (par. 47).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090159579 A1 Nishio in view of US20200256388A1 Friedrich in view of US 20190118307 A1 Wang.
Regarding claim 8, Nishio does not teach wherein a spacing between the remote laser and the edge or edges to be welded of the first and second metal sheets when the second, third and fifth method steps are being carried out is in each case at least 200 mm.
Wang teaches, wherein a spacing between the remote laser and the edge or edges to be welded of the first and second metal sheets when the second, third and fifth method steps are being carried out is in each case at least 200 mm (par. 47 teaches a remote laser such that “A characteristic that differentiates remote laser welding from other conventional forms of laser welding is the focal length of the laser beam 24. Here, as shown in best in FIG. 1, the laser beam 24 has a focal length 62, which is measured as the distance between the focal point 52 and the last tiltable scanning mirror 58 that intercepts and reflects the laser beam 24 prior to the laser beam 24 impinging the top surface 20 of the workpiece stack-up 10 (also the exterior outer surface 26 of the first steel workpiece 12). The focal length 62 of the laser beam 24 is preferably in the range of 0.4 meters to 2.0 meters with a diameter of the focal point 52 typically ranging anywhere from 350 μm to 700 μm although larger and smaller focal point diameter values are certainly possible” where the examiner considers 0.4 to 2 meters to be at least 200mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Nishio reference, such that wherein a spacing between the remote laser and the edge or edges to be welded of the first and second metal sheets when the second, third and fifth method steps are being carried out is in each case at least 200 mm, as suggested and taught by Wang, for the purpose of providing the advantage to create complex geometry (par. 46) on large workpieces.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090159579 A1 Nishio in view of US20200256388A1 Friedrich in view of US20170182603A1 Alber.
Regarding claim 9, Nishio does not teach wherein the first metal sheet, in the region of its first edge to be welded, and/or the second metal sheet, in the region of its second edge to be welded, are/is treated by laser ablation by the remote laser prior to the fifth method step and in particular prior to the second and third method step, respectively.
Alber teaches, wherein the first metal sheet, in the region of its first edge to be welded, and/or the second metal sheet, in the region of its second edge to be welded, are/is treated by laser ablation by the remote laser prior to the fifth method step and in particular prior to the second and third method step, respectively (claim 1 teaches “A laser ablation and welding method for workpieces, comprising: a) inserting at least two workpieces into a clamping unit; b) clamping the workpieces in the clamping unit via a first clamping mechanism each in a first position; c) aligning the clamped workpieces and the first clamping mechanism, which clamps the workpieces, in a first ablation position; d) ablating at least one joining edge of at least one clamped workpiece using at least one laser head; e) clamping a first of the at least two workpieces via a second clamping mechanism in the first position and disengaging the first clamping mechanism at the first of the at least two workpieces; f) moving the first clamping mechanism in a direction of a joining edge of the first workpiece; g) clamping the first workpiece via the first clamping mechanism, disengaging the second clamping mechanism, and aligning the first workpiece and the first clamping mechanism in a joining position; h) clamping a second of the at least two workpieces via the second clamping mechanism in the first position and disengaging the first clamping mechanism at the second of the at least two workpieces; i) moving the first clamping mechanism in a direction of a joining edge of the second workpiece; j) clamping the second workpiece via the first clamping mechanism, disengaging the second clamping mechanism, and aligning the second workpiece and the first clamping mechanism in the joining position; k) connecting via welding the workpieces at the respective joining edge; and l) disengaging the first clamping mechanism and transferring the joined workpieces to a transport unit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Nishio reference, such that wherein the first metal sheet, in the region of its first edge to be welded, and/or the second metal sheet, in the region of its second edge to be welded, are/is treated by laser ablation by the remote laser prior to the fifth method step and in particular prior to the second and third method step, respectively, as suggested and taught by Alber to use an ablation process in the method of Nishio to improve the processing of workpieces in laser processing stations in the efficiency thereof (par. 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR101201949B1-
Page 5 par 2 teaches first clamp unit 200, the second clamp unit 300, the centering unit 400, the alignment unit 500, the laser generator and beam transmission system unit 600, the laser cutting unit 700, the laser The welding unit 800, the laser notching unit 900, and the control unit C.
The art of KR101201949B1 teaches the clamps 200 and 300 are movable when given commands by the centering unit 400 and alignment unit 500 (page 6 par. 5-6).
Moving the base material M1 and M2 into a cutting position to cut per page 9.
Moving the base material M1 and M2 into a welding position and accomplishing a welding method per page 9
The applicant is also encouraged to review the claims.
US 20220388101 A1
Teaches aligning step-up step-down blanks to a plane see figs. 3a to e, 5a to d, 6a and b, 7a to c, and 8a to c and their corresponding paragraphs in the specification.
ADAM MICHAEL. ECKARDT
Assistant Examiner
Art Unit 3761
/ADAM M ECKARDT/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761