Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-19, filed on 12/26/2025, with respect to the newly added limitations and rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a newly found Pub. No.: US 2016/0261137.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities
In claim 1, lines 6 and 7, limitations “a wirelessly rechargeable device” should be changed to - -the wirelessly rechargeable device- -.
Line 8, limitation “a charging surface” should be changed to - -the charging surface- -.
Claims 9 and 16 are objected to for the same reason as above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-12, 14, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No.: US 2019/0190324 (previously cited, and hereinafter as Bossetti) in view of Pub. No.: US 20130314036 (hereinafter as Nakagawa).
Regarding claim 1, Bossetti discloses a method performed at a wirelessly charging surface device (see fig. 1B, 104 and [0062]), the method comprising:
detecting a presence of an object (fig. 1B, 102 and [0061]) on a charging surface (fig. 1B, 108 and [0062]) of the wirelessly charging surface device;
determining whether the object includes a wirelessly rechargeable device (see [0063] and [0067]); and
in response to the object including a wirelessly rechargeable device (see [0063]):
sensing, via a location sensor (see [0063]), a location of a wirelessly rechargeable device (fig. 1B, 102) on a charging surface (fig. 1B, 108) of the wirelessly charging surface device;
wirelessly charging the wirelessly rechargeable device via at least a portion of the charging surface corresponding to the sensed location of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]);
receiving charging status information from the wirelessly rechargeable device (“level of power needed” see [0044]; “battery status” see [0071])); and
outputting a human perceptible indication responsive to the received charging status information and the sensed location of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]).
Bossetti is silent wherein the location sensor comprises one of a camera, a grid light sensor, a grid laser sensor, or an infrared sensor and is configured to compare images or distance values of the wirelessly rechargeable device to known dimensions of the charging surface to determine x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface; and outputting a human perceptible indication responsive to the x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface.
However, Nakagawa teaches wherein the location sensor comprises one of a camera, a grid light sensor (“optical sensor… two-dimensional coordinate position” see [0023]), a grid laser sensor, or an infrared sensor and is configured to compare images or distance values of the wirelessly rechargeable device to known dimensions of the charging surface to determine x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]); and outputting a human perceptible indication (“LED” see [0028]) responsive to the x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use sensing operation of Bossetti (see [0063]) with the use of the grid light sensor and z-y coordinates of Nakagawa in order to provide an alternative way to determine the location of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 2, Bossetti and Nakagawa disclose the method of claim 1, Bossetti further discloses wherein wirelessly powering comprises controlling power to one or more charging coils of the wireless charging surface device device (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]).
Regarding claim 3, Bossetti and Nakagawa disclose the method of claim 1, Bossetti further discloses wherein wirelessly powering comprises performing inductive coupling charging (see [0016]; “induced alternating current” see [0172]), magnetic resonant coupling charging (see [0019]), or a combination thereof (fig. 2G and [0102]).
Regarding claim 4, Bossetti and Nakagawa disclose the method of claim 1, Bossetti further discloses comprising:
sensing an additional location of one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices (“charging multiple electronic devices simultaneously” (see [0056]-[0057]) on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device;
simultaneously wirelessly powering the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices via the charging surface responsive to the sensed additional location of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface (“charging multiple electronic devices simultaneously” (see [0056]-[0057]);
receiving additional charging status information from the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices (“level of power needed” see [0044]); and
outputting an additional human perceptible indication responsive to the received additional charging status information and the sensed additional location of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]).
Bossetti is silent sensing (sensed) additional location of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface being sensing (sensed) additional x-y coordinates of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface.
However, Nakagawa teaches sensing (sensed) additional x-y coordinates of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use sensing location of one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface of Bossetti (see [0063]) with the use of z-y coordinates of Nakagawa in order to provide an alternative way to determine the location of one or more additional the wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 6, Bossetti and Nakagawa disclose the method of claim 1, Bossetti further discloses wherein the human perceptible indication comprises a visual indication, an audible indication, or a combination thereof (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]).
Regarding claim 8, Bossetti and Nakagawa disclose the method of claim 1, Bossetti further discloses wherein wirelessly powering is performed via a full area of the charging surface (figs. 3A-3G).
Regarding claim 9, Bossetti discloses a system comprising:
a charging surface (fig. 1B, 108) comprising a plurality of charging coils (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]);
an output device (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]);
a controller (fig. 5, 526) in communication with the charging surface (see [0063]) and the output device (see [0064); and
a storage device (“memory” see [0096]) configured to store machine-readable instructions (see [0163]) that, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to:
detect a presence of an object (fig. 1B, 102 and [0061]) on a charging surface (fig. 1B, 108 and [0062]) of the wirelessly charging surface device;
determine whether the object includes a wirelessly rechargeable device (see [0063] and [0067]); and
in response to the object including a wirelessly rechargeable device (see [0063]):
receive, from a location sensor (see [0063]), location information of a wirelessly rechargeable device located on the charging surface (figs. 3A-3G);
control at least a portion of the charging surface to wirelessly charge the wireless rechargeable device responsive to the location information of the wirelessly rechargeable device device on the charging surface (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]);
receive charging status information from the wirelessly rechargeable device (“level of power needed” see [0044]); and
output a signal to the output device, wherein the output device is configured to produce a human perceptible indication responsive to the received charging status information and the received location information of the wirelessly rechargeable device (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]).
Bossetti is silent wherein the location sensor comprises one of a camera, a grid light sensor, a grid laser sensor, or an infrared sensor and is configured to compare images or distance values of the wirelessly rechargeable device to known dimensions of the charging surface to determine x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface; and outputting a human perceptible indication responsive to the x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface.
However, Nakagawa teaches wherein the location sensor comprises one of a camera, a grid light sensor (“optical sensor… two-dimensional coordinate position” see [0023]), a grid laser sensor, or an infrared sensor and is configured to compare images or distance values of the wirelessly rechargeable device to known dimensions of the charging surface to determine x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]); and outputting a human perceptible indication (“LED” see [0028]) responsive to the x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use sensing operation of Bossetti (see [0063]) with the use of the grid light sensor and z-y coordinates of Nakagawa in order to provide an alternative way to determine the location of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 10, Bossetti and Nakagawa disclose the system of claim 9, Bossetti further discloses wherein the instructions further cause the controller to transfer power to the wirelessly rechargeable device via one or more of the plurality of charging coils responsive to the location information (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]).
Bossetti is silent the location information being as x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface.
However, Nakagawa teaches the x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface. (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the location information of Bossetti (see [0063]) with the use of the z-y coordinates of Nakagawa in order to provide an alternative way to determine the location of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 11, Bossetti and Nakagawa disclose the system of claim 10, Bossetti further discloses wherein the one or more of the charging coils performs inductive coupling charging (see [0016]), magnetic resonant coupling charging (see [0019]), or a combination thereof (fig. 2G and [0102]).
Regarding claim 12, Bossetti and Nakagawa disclose the system of claim 9, Bossetti further discloses wherein the instructions further cause the controller to:
receive additional location information of one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface (“charging multiple electronic devices simultaneously” (see [0056]-[0057]);
simultaneously control an additional portion of the charging surface responsive to the received additional location information of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]);
receive additional charging status information from the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices (“level of power needed” see [0044]); and
output an additional signal to the output device, wherein the output device is configured to produce an additional human perceptible indication responsive to the received additional charging status information and the received additional location information of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]).
Bossetti is silent the additional location information of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface being as the additional x-y coordinates of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface.
However, Nakagawa teaches the additional x-y coordinates of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the location information of one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface of Bossetti (see [0063]) with the use of z-y coordinates of Nakagawa in order to provide an alternative way to determine the location of one or more additional the wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 14, Bossetti and Nakagawa disclose the system of claim 9, Bossetti further discloses wherein the output device comprises a visual indication device, a speaker, or a combination thereof (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]).
Regarding claim 21, Bossetti and Nakagawa disclose the system of claim 9, Bossetti further discloses wherein wirelessly charging is performed via a full area of the charging surface (figs. 3A-3G).
Claim(s) 7and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bossetti in view of Nakagawa, and further in view of Pub. No.: US 2021/0143681 (previously cited, and hereinafter as Farkas).
Regarding claim 7, Bossetti and Nakagawa disclose the method of claim 6, but silent wherein outputting the human perceptible indication comprises: outputting a first indication responsive to the charging status information being below a threshold value; and outputting a second indication responsive to the charging status information being above the threshold value. However Farkas teaches a wireless charging system (see title), wherein outputting the human perceptible indication (see fig. 4) comprises: outputting a first indication responsive to the charging status information being below a threshold value (“yellow” see [0051); and outputting a second indication responsive to the charging status information being above the threshold value (“green” see [0051). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the indicating of battery status of charging operation of Bossetti (see [0071]) with detail charging status of Karkas so the user/system can decide keeping charging or removing their device from charging.
Regarding claim 15, Bossetti and Nakagawa disclose the system of claim 14, but silent wherein the output device is configured to output a first indication responsive to the charging status information being below a first threshold value and output a second indication responsive to the charging status information being above the first threshold value.
However Farkas teaches a wireless charging system (see title), wherein the output device (see fig. 4) is configured to output a first indication responsive to the charging status information being below a first threshold value (“yellow” see [0051) and output a second indication responsive to the charging status information being above the first threshold value (“green” see [0051). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the indicating of battery status of charging operation of Bossetti (see [0071]) with detail charging status of Karkas so the user/system can decide keeping charging or removing their device from charging.
Claim(s) 16-19, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bossetti in view of Nakagawa and further in view of Pub. No.: US 2022/0344979 (previously cited, and hereinafter as Kanakasabai).
Regarding claim 16, Bossetti discloses a wireless charging apparatus (fig. 1B, 104) comprising:
a charging surface (fig. 1B, 108) comprising a plurality of charging coils (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]);
an output device (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]);
a controller (fig. 5, 526) in communication with the charging surface and the output device; and
a storage device (“memory” see [0163]) configured to store machine-readable instructions (see [0163]), when executed by the controller, cause the controller to:
detect a presence of an object (fig. 1B, 102 and [0061]) on a charging surface (fig. 1B, 108 and [0062]) of the wirelessly charging surface device;
determine whether the object includes a wirelessly rechargeable device (see [0063] and [0067]); and
in response to the object including a wirelessly rechargeable device (see [0063]):
receive, from a location sensor (see [0063]), location information of a wirelessly rechargeable device located on the charging surface;
control at least a portion of the charging surface to wirelessly charge the wirelessly rechargeable device responsive to the location information of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]);
receive charging status information from the wirelessly rechargeable device (“level of power needed” see [0044]); and
output a signal to the output device, wherein the output device is configured to produce a human perceptible indication responsive to the received charging status information and the received location information of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]).
Bossetti is silent wherein the location sensor comprises one of a camera, a grid light sensor, a grid laser sensor, or an infrared sensor and is configured to compare images or distance values of the wirelessly rechargeable device to known dimensions of the charging surface to determine x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface; and outputting a human perceptible indication responsive to the x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface.
However, Nakagawa teaches wherein the location sensor comprises one of a camera, a grid light sensor (“optical sensor… two-dimensional coordinate position” see [0023]), a grid laser sensor, or an infrared sensor and is configured to compare images or distance values of the wirelessly rechargeable device to known dimensions of the charging surface to determine x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]); and outputting a human perceptible indication (“LED” see [0028]) responsive to the x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use sensing operation of Bossetti (see [0063]) with the use of the grid light sensor and z-y coordinates of Nakagawa in order to provide an alternative way to determine the location of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0057]-[0059]).
Bossetti and Nakagawa are silent that the wireless charging apparatus is a table. However, Kanakasabai teaches that the wireless charging apparatus is a table (see [0051]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to integrate the wireless charging mat of Bossetti (fig. 1) as part of table-top of Kanakasabai in order to make more convenient and much safe for the user when charging their devices.
Regarding claim 17, Bossetti, Nakagawa, and Kanakasabai disclose the table of claim 16, Bossetti further discloses wherein the instructions further cause the controller to transfer power to the wirelessly rechargeable device via one or more of the charging coils responsive to the location information (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]).
Bossetti is silent the location information being as x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface.
However, Nakagawa teaches the x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface. (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the location information of Bossetti (see [0063]) with the use of the z-y coordinates of Nakagawa in order to provide an alternative way to determine the location of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 18, Bossetti, Nakagawa, and Kanakasabai disclose the table of claim 17, Bossetti further discloses wherein the one or more of the charging coils performs inductive coupling charging (see [0016]), magnetic resonant coupling charging (see [0019]), or a combination thereof (fig. 2G and [0102]).
Regarding claim 19, Bossetti, Nakagawa, and Kanakasabai disclose the table of claim 16, Bossetti further discloses wherein the instructions further cause the controller to:
receive additional location information of one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface (“charging multiple electronic devices simultaneously” (see [0056]-[0057]);
simultaneously control an additional portion of the charging surface responsive to the received additional location information of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]);
receive additional charging status information from the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices (“level of power needed” see [0044]); and
output an additional signal to the output device, wherein the output device is configured to produce an additional human perceptible indication responsive to the received additional charging status information and the received additional location information of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]).
Bossetti is silent the additional location information of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface being as the additional x-y coordinates of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface.
However, Nakagawa teaches the additional x-y coordinates of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the location information of one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface of Bossetti (see [0063]) with the use of z-y coordinates of Nakagawa in order to provide an alternative way to determine the location of one or more additional the wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 22, Bossetti, Nakagawa, and Kanakasabai disclose the table of claim 16, Bossetti further discloses wherein wirelessly charging is performed via a full area of the charging surface (figs. 3A-3G).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bossetti in view of Nakagawa in view of Kanakasabai, and further in view of Farkas.
Regarding claim 20, Bossetti, Nakagawa, and Kanakasabai disclose the table of claim 16, Bossetti further discloses wherein the output device comprises a visual indication device, a speaker, or a combination thereof (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]); but silent the output device is configured to output a first indication responsive to the charging status information being below a first threshold value and output a second indication responsive to the charging status information being above the first threshold value.
However Farkas teaches a wireless charging system (see title), wherein the output device (see fig. 4) is configured to output a first indication responsive to the charging status information being below a first threshold value (“yellow” see [0051) and output a second indication responsive to the charging status information being above the first threshold value (“green” see [0051). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the indicating of battery status of charging operation of Bossetti (see [0071]) with detail charging status of Karkas so the user/system can decide keeping charging or removing their device from charging.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub. No.: US 20100315039 shows that “In the charging pad 10 shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, a device housing a battery 50 is placed on the top plate 21 to charge the internal battery 52. As shown in FIG. 3, the charging pad 10 houses systems to put the transmitting coil 11 in close proximity to the receiving coil 51 in the device housing a battery 50 for efficient charging of the internal battery 52. To detect the position of the receiving coil 51, the charging pad 10 is provided with a position detection controller 14” (see [0039].)
Pat. No.: US 11984731 teaches “A wireless charging system includes a power supply, a plurality of wireless charging transmitters adapted to be mounted on an underside of a surface, and a power distribution system adapted to connect the plurality of wireless charging transmitters to the power supply. The plurality of wireless charging transmitters are configured to generate charging areas on a top side of the surface. (see title and abstract).
Pat. No.: US 8061864 discloses “Furniture components, such as office furniture components, that are configured to include electronic components that transfer electrical power to peripheral electronic devices via wireless technologies, including conductive and inductive technologies. The articles of furniture may include grommet devices received within work surfaces, the grommet devices incorporating or housing the electronics of wireless power systems. The articles of furniture may also include the electronics of wireless power systems physically embedded or integrated within work surfaces in a manner in which the continuous surfaces of the work surfaces are maintained, and the work surfaces may optionally further include lighting or other indication features to indicate the locations of the electronics to a user.” (see title and abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858