Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-19, filed on 5/11/2026, with respect to the newly added limitations and rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, and 14-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a newly found Pub. No.: US 20200313471.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-12, 14, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No.: US 2019/0190324 (previously cited, and hereinafter as Bossetti) in view of Pub. No.: US 20130314036 (previously cited, hereinafter as Nakagawa) and further in view of Pub. No.: US 20200313471 (newly cited, herein after as Stingu).
Regarding claim 1, Bossetti discloses a method performed at a wirelessly charging surface device (see fig. 1B, 104 and [0062]), the method comprising:
detecting a presence of an object (fig. 1B, 102 and [0061]) on a charging surface (fig. 1B, 108 and [0062]) of the wirelessly charging surface device;
determining whether the object includes a wirelessly rechargeable device (see [0063] and [0067]); and
in response to the object including the wirelessly rechargeable device (see [0063]):
sensing, via a location sensor (see [0063]), a location of the wirelessly rechargeable device (fig. 1B, 102) on a charging surface (fig. 1B, 108) of the wirelessly charging surface device;
wirelessly charging the wirelessly rechargeable device via at least a portion of the charging surface corresponding to the sensed location of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]);
receiving charging status information from the wirelessly rechargeable device (“level of power needed” see [0044]; “battery status” see [0071])); and
outputting a human perceptible indication responsive to the received charging status information and the sensed location of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]).
Bossetti is silent wherein the location sensor comprises one of a camera or an infrared sensor, and is configured to compare images or distance values of the wirelessly rechargeable device to known dimensions of the charging surface to determine x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface; and outputting a human perceptible indication responsive to the x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface.
However, Nakagawa teaches wherein the location sensor comprises an optical sensor (“optical sensor… two-dimensional coordinate position” see [0023]), and is configured to compare images or distance values of the wirelessly rechargeable device to known dimensions of the charging surface to determine x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]); and outputting a human perceptible indication (“LED” see [0028]) responsive to the x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use sensing operation of Bossetti (see [0063]) with the use of the optical sensor and z-y coordinates of Nakagawa in order to provide an alternative way to determine the location of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0057]-[0059]).
Bossetti and Nakagawa is silent wherein the optical sensor being a camera or an infrared sensor
However, Stingu teaches wherein the optical sensor being a camera (“one or more optical sensors (e.g., 1122 and 1124), such as low resolution cameras” see [0083]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use sensing operation of Bossetti (see [0063]) and Nakagawa (see [0023]) with the use of the camera of Stingu in order to enhance the accuracy, reliability and an alternative way to determine the location of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0083] and [0081]).
Regarding claim 2, Bossetti, Nakagawa and Stingu disclose the method of claim 1, Bossetti further discloses wherein wirelessly powering comprises controlling power to one or more charging coils of the wireless charging surface device device (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]).
Regarding claim 3, Bossetti, Nakagawa and Stingu disclose the method of claim 1, Bossetti further discloses wherein wirelessly powering comprises performing inductive coupling charging (see [0016]; “induced alternating current” see [0172]), magnetic resonant coupling charging (see [0019]), or a combination thereof (fig. 2G and [0102]).
Regarding claim 4, Bossetti, Nakagawa and Stingu disclose the method of claim 1, Bossetti further discloses comprising:
sensing an additional location of one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices (“charging multiple electronic devices simultaneously” (see [0056]-[0057]) on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device;
simultaneously wirelessly powering the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices via the charging surface responsive to the sensed additional location of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface (“charging multiple electronic devices simultaneously” (see [0056]-[0057]);
receiving additional charging status information from the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices (“level of power needed” see [0044]); and
outputting an additional human perceptible indication responsive to the received additional charging status information and the sensed additional location of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]).
Bossetti is silent sensing (sensed) additional location of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface being sensing (sensed) additional x-y coordinates of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface.
However, Nakagawa teaches sensing (sensed) additional x-y coordinates of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use sensing location of one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface of Bossetti (see [0063]) with the use of z-y coordinates of Nakagawa in order to provide an alternative way to determine the location of one or more additional the wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 6, Bossetti, Nakagawa and Stingu disclose the method of claim 1, Bossetti further discloses wherein the human perceptible indication comprises a visual indication, an audible indication, or a combination thereof (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]).
Regarding claim 8, Bossetti, Nakagawa and Stingu disclose the method of claim 1, Bossetti further discloses wherein wirelessly powering is performed via a full area of the charging surface (figs. 3A-3G).
Regarding claim 9, Bossetti discloses a system comprising:
a charging surface (fig. 1B, 108) comprising a plurality of charging coils (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]);
an output device (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]);
a controller (fig. 5, 526) in communication with the charging surface (see [0063]) and the output device (see [0064); and
a storage device (“memory” see [0096]) configured to store machine-readable instructions (see [0163]) that, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to:
detect a presence of an object (fig. 1B, 102 and [0061]) on the charging surface (fig. 1B, 108 and [0062]);
determine whether the object includes a wirelessly rechargeable device (see [0063] and [0067]); and
in response to the object including the wirelessly rechargeable device (see [0063]):
receive, from a location sensor (see [0063]), location information of the wirelessly rechargeable device located on the charging surface (figs. 3A-3G);
control at least a portion of the charging surface to wirelessly charge the wireless rechargeable device responsive to the location information of the wirelessly rechargeable device device on the charging surface (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]);
receive charging status information from the wirelessly rechargeable device (“level of power needed” see [0044]); and
output a signal to the output device, wherein the output device is configured to produce a human perceptible indication responsive to the received charging status information and the received location information of the wirelessly rechargeable device (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]).
Bossetti is silent wherein the location sensor comprises one of a camera or an infrared sensor and is configured to compare images or distance values of the wirelessly rechargeable device to known dimensions of the charging surface to determine x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface; and outputting a human perceptible indication responsive to the x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface.
However, Nakagawa teaches wherein the location sensor comprises an optical sensor (“optical sensor… two-dimensional coordinate position” see [0023]), a grid laser sensor, or an infrared sensor and is configured to compare images or distance values of the wirelessly rechargeable device to known dimensions of the charging surface to determine x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]); and outputting a human perceptible indication (“LED” see [0028]) responsive to the x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use sensing operation of Bossetti (see [0063]) with the use of the optical sensor and z-y coordinates of Nakagawa in order to provide an alternative way to determine the location of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0057]-[0059]).
Bossetti and Nakagawa is silent wherein the optical sensor being a camera or an infrared sensor
However, Stingu teaches wherein the optical sensor being a camera (“one or more optical sensors (e.g., 1122 and 1124), such as low resolution cameras” see [0083]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use sensing operation of Bossetti (see [0063]) and Nakagawa (see [0023]) with the use of the camera of Stingu in order to enhance the accuracy, reliability and an alternative way to determine the location of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0083] and [0081]).
Regarding claim 10, Bossetti, Nakagawa and Stingu disclose the system of claim 9, Bossetti further discloses wherein the instructions further cause the controller to transfer power to the wirelessly rechargeable device via one or more of the plurality of charging coils responsive to the location information (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]).
Bossetti is silent the location information being as x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface.
However, Nakagawa teaches the x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface. (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the location information of Bossetti (see [0063]) with the use of the z-y coordinates of Nakagawa in order to provide an alternative way to determine the location of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 11, Bossetti, Nakagawa and Stingu disclose the system of claim 10, Bossetti further discloses wherein the one or more of the charging coils performs inductive coupling charging (see [0016]), magnetic resonant coupling charging (see [0019]), or a combination thereof (fig. 2G and [0102]).
Regarding claim 12, Bossetti, Nakagawa and Stingu disclose the system of claim 9, Bossetti further discloses wherein the instructions further cause the controller to:
receive additional location information of one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface (“charging multiple electronic devices simultaneously” (see [0056]-[0057]);
simultaneously control an additional portion of the charging surface responsive to the received additional location information of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]);
receive additional charging status information from the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices (“level of power needed” see [0044]); and
output an additional signal to the output device, wherein the output device is configured to produce an additional human perceptible indication responsive to the received additional charging status information and the received additional location information of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]).
Bossetti is silent the additional location information of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface being as the additional x-y coordinates of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface.
However, Nakagawa teaches the additional x-y coordinates of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the location information of one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface of Bossetti (see [0063]) with the use of z-y coordinates of Nakagawa in order to provide an alternative way to determine the location of one or more additional the wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 14, Bossetti, Nakagawa and Stingu disclose the system of claim 9, Bossetti further discloses wherein the output device comprises a visual indication device, a speaker, or a combination thereof (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]).
Regarding claim 21, Bossetti, Nakagawa and Stingu disclose the system of claim 9, Bossetti further discloses wherein wirelessly charging is performed via a full area of the charging surface (figs. 3A-3G).
Claim(s) 7and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bossetti in view of Nakagawa, in view of Stingu and further in view of Pub. No.: US 2021/0143681 (previously cited, and hereinafter as Farkas).
Regarding claim 7, Bossetti, Nakagawa and Stingu disclose the method of claim 6, but silent wherein outputting the human perceptible indication comprises: outputting a first indication responsive to the charging status information being below a threshold value; and outputting a second indication responsive to the charging status information being above the threshold value. However Farkas teaches a wireless charging system (see title), wherein outputting the human perceptible indication (see fig. 4) comprises: outputting a first indication responsive to the charging status information being below a threshold value (“yellow” see [0051); and outputting a second indication responsive to the charging status information being above the threshold value (“green” see [0051). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the indicating of battery status of charging operation of Bossetti (see [0071]) with detail charging status of Karkas so the user/system can decide keeping charging or removing their device from charging.
Regarding claim 15, Bossetti, Nakagawa and Stingu disclose the system of claim 14, but silent wherein the output device is configured to output a first indication responsive to the charging status information being below a first threshold value and output a second indication responsive to the charging status information being above the first threshold value.
However Farkas teaches a wireless charging system (see title), wherein the output device (see fig. 4) is configured to output a first indication responsive to the charging status information being below a first threshold value (“yellow” see [0051) and output a second indication responsive to the charging status information being above the first threshold value (“green” see [0051). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the indicating of battery status of charging operation of Bossetti (see [0071]) with detail charging status of Karkas so the user/system can decide keeping charging or removing their device from charging.
Claim(s) 16-19, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bossetti in view of Nakagawa, in view of Stingu and further in view of Pub. No.: US 2022/0344979 (previously cited, and hereinafter as Kanakasabai).
Regarding claim 16, Bossetti discloses a wireless charging apparatus (fig. 1B, 104) comprising:
a charging surface (fig. 1B, 108) comprising a plurality of charging coils (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]);
an output device (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]);
a controller (fig. 5, 526) in communication with the charging surface and the output device; and
a storage device (“memory” see [0163]) configured to store machine-readable instructions (see [0163]), when executed by the controller, cause the controller to:
detect a presence of an object (fig. 1B, 102 and [0061]) on the charging surface (fig. 1B, 108 and [0062]);
determine whether the object includes a wirelessly rechargeable device (see [0063] and [0067]); and
in response to the object including the wirelessly rechargeable device (see [0063]):
receive, from a location sensor (see [0063]), location information of the wirelessly rechargeable device located on the charging surface;
control at least a portion of the charging surface to wirelessly charge the wirelessly rechargeable device responsive to the location information of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]);
receive charging status information from the wirelessly rechargeable device (“level of power needed” see [0044]); and
output a signal to the output device, wherein the output device is configured to produce a human perceptible indication responsive to the received charging status information and the received location information of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]).
Bossetti is silent wherein the location sensor comprises one of a camera or an infrared sensor and is configured to compare images or distance values of the wirelessly rechargeable device to known dimensions of the charging surface to determine x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface; and outputting a human perceptible indication responsive to the x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface.
However, Nakagawa teaches wherein the location sensor comprises optical sensor (“optical sensor… two-dimensional coordinate position” see [0023]), and is configured to compare images or distance values of the wirelessly rechargeable device to known dimensions of the charging surface to determine x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]); and outputting a human perceptible indication (“LED” see [0028]) responsive to the x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use sensing operation of Bossetti (see [0063]) with the use of the optical sensor and z-y coordinates of Nakagawa in order to provide an alternative way to determine the location of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0057]-[0059]).
Bossetti and Nakagawa is silent wherein the optical sensor being a camera or an infrared sensor
However, Stingu teaches wherein the optical sensor being a camera (“one or more optical sensors (e.g., 1122 and 1124), such as low resolution cameras” see [0083]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use sensing operation of Bossetti (see [0063]) and Nakagawa (see [0023]) with the use of the camera of Stingu in order to enhance the accuracy, reliability and an alternative way to determine the location of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0083] and [0081]).
Bossetti, Nakagawa and Stingu are silent that the wireless charging apparatus is a table. However, Kanakasabai teaches that the wireless charging apparatus is a table (see [0051]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to integrate the wireless charging mat of Bossetti (fig. 1) as part of table-top of Kanakasabai in order to make more convenient and much safe for the user when charging their devices.
Regarding claim 17, Bossetti, Nakagawa, Stingu and Kanakasabai disclose the table of claim 16, Bossetti further discloses wherein the instructions further cause the controller to transfer power to the wirelessly rechargeable device via one or more of the charging coils responsive to the location information (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]).
Bossetti is silent the location information being as x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface.
However, Nakagawa teaches the x-y coordinates of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface. (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the location information of Bossetti (see [0063]) with the use of the z-y coordinates of Nakagawa in order to provide an alternative way to determine the location of the wirelessly rechargeable device on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 18, Bossetti, Nakagawa, Stingu and Kanakasabai disclose the table of claim 17, Bossetti further discloses wherein the one or more of the charging coils performs inductive coupling charging (see [0016]), magnetic resonant coupling charging (see [0019]), or a combination thereof (fig. 2G and [0102]).
Regarding claim 19, Bossetti, Nakagawa, Stingu and Kanakasabai disclose the table of claim 16, Bossetti further discloses wherein the instructions further cause the controller to:
receive additional location information of one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface (“charging multiple electronic devices simultaneously” (see [0056]-[0057]);
simultaneously control an additional portion of the charging surface responsive to the received additional location information of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices (“activate the particular transmit coil” see [0063]);
receive additional charging status information from the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices (“level of power needed” see [0044]); and
output an additional signal to the output device, wherein the output device is configured to produce an additional human perceptible indication responsive to the received additional charging status information and the received additional location information of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]).
Bossetti is silent the additional location information of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface being as the additional x-y coordinates of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface.
However, Nakagawa teaches the additional x-y coordinates of the one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface (fig. 3 and [0031]-[0036]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the location information of one or more additional wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface of Bossetti (see [0063]) with the use of z-y coordinates of Nakagawa in order to provide an alternative way to determine the location of one or more additional the wirelessly rechargeable devices on the charging surface of the wirelessly charging surface device; and also to improve user-friendliness (see [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 22, Bossetti, Nakagawa, Stingu and Kanakasabai disclose the table of claim 16, Bossetti further discloses wherein wirelessly charging is performed via a full area of the charging surface (figs. 3A-3G).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bossetti in view of Nakagawa in view of Kanakasabai, in view of Stingu and further in view of Farkas.
Regarding claim 20, Bossetti, Nakagawa, Stingu and Kanakasabai disclose the table of claim 16, Bossetti further discloses wherein the output device comprises a visual indication device, a speaker, or a combination thereof (“visual and/or auditory”, see [0064]); but silent the output device is configured to output a first indication responsive to the charging status information being below a first threshold value and output a second indication responsive to the charging status information being above the first threshold value.
However Farkas teaches a wireless charging system (see title), wherein the output device (see fig. 4) is configured to output a first indication responsive to the charging status information being below a first threshold value (“yellow” see [0051) and output a second indication responsive to the charging status information being above the first threshold value (“green” see [0051). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the indicating of battery status of charging operation of Bossetti (see [0071]) with detail charging status of Karkas so the user/system can decide keeping charging or removing their device from charging.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20100225270 teaches “The device has an energy storage device for receiving power from a power source e.g. base station charger. A transmitter including a transmit antenna (502) transmits power stored in the energy storage device within an associated near-field region according to an unmodulated resonant frequency. A portable charging pad is selectively coupled to a charger that charges the device using power received from a power outlet. The transmit antenna transmits wireless power if a power level of the device is above a predefined threshold level” (see title and abstract).
Pat. No.: US 8061864 shows a schematic representation of a charging system in figure 8 as below.
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858