DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed October 14, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-11 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claims 1 recites, “a cuff having a portion… with the blood pressure measurement device attached to the wrist”, and claim 5 similarly recites, “a cuff having a portion… with the curler, the sensing cuff, and the cuff attached to the wrist,” which are claiming the human body.
Dependent claims are rejected as depending on a rejected base claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the second cuff is configured to be provided on a back of a hand of the wrist of the curler,”. It is understood that the second cuff is on a back surface of the curler, the back being relative to the wrist, however, the language, “the wrist of the curler” is unclear if the wrist belongs to the curler or to a subject. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sano et al. (US 2006/0129049 A1) (“Sano”).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Sano discloses A cuff structure provided in a curler of a blood pressure measurement device that includes a device body and the curler provided in the device body (Abstract and entire document; see FIG. 1-2 showing a blood pressure monitor and its cuff structure provided in a curler, “a curled elastic member 160”),
the curler configured to curve along a circumferential direction of a wrist (FIG. 1-2 “a curled elastic member 160” is designed to curl around a wrist, see [0058], “Curled elastic member 160 is elastic and curved to temporarily mount the cuff on the wrist.”), the cuff structure comprising:
a sensing cuff provided on a side of an inner circumferential surface of the curler, the sensing cuff configured to contact a region where an artery is present in the wrist (FIG. 5-10, [0060], “Air bag 150 is made of a member of bag shape that is formed using resin sheets identified as sheet-shaped members, and has an inflated/deflated space 157 therein. An inner peripheral surface of air bag 150 serves as a working face 158 for pressing the wrist.” Air bag 150 as the sensing cuff); and
a cuff having a portion provided between the curler and the sensing cuff, a portion of an other portion of the cuff being disposed in a region where the sensing cuff is present in an outer circumferential surface of the curler with the blood pressure measurement device attached to the wrist, the cuff configured to inflate to press the sensing cuff against the wrist (FIG. 5-10, see FIG. 5 showing Airbag 150A having portions 151 and 152 forming the cuff as claimed having a portion between the curler and the sensing cuff. See also FIG. 2 showing the device as it would be attached to a wrist and showing another portion at the outer portion of the curler.),
wherein both ends of the curler are spaced apart (FIG. 2 shows the curler 160 having 2 ends spaced apart), and
the portion of the other portion is configured in a shape that protrudes in the circumferential direction of the curler beyond an end of the curler (FIG. 5-10, see FIG. 5 showing Airbag 150A having portions 151 and 152 forming the cuff as claimed having a portion between the curler and the sensing cuff. See also FIG. 2 showing the device as it would be attached to a wrist and showing another portion at the outer portion of the curler.).
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Sano discloses The cuff structure according to claim 1, wherein the cuff is configured to have a length such that the portion of the other portion is disposed in the region where the sensing cuff is present in the outer circumferential surface of the curler when the cuff is attached to the wrist having any circumference from an assumed shortest circumference to an assumed longest circumference of the wrist (FIG. 5-10, see FIG. 5 showing Airbag 150A having portions 151 and 152 forming the cuff as claimed having a portion between the curler and the sensing cuff. See also FIG. 2 showing the device as it would be attached to a wrist and showing another portion at the outer portion of the curler extending beyond the curler).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, Sano discloses The cuff structure according to claim 1, wherein the cuff is configured to have a shape extending from the portion to the portion of the other portion (FIG. 5-10, see FIG. 5 showing Airbag 150A having portions 151 and 152 forming the cuff as claimed having a portion between the curler and the sensing cuff. See also FIG. 2 showing the device as it would be attached to a wrist and showing another portion at the outer portion of the curler extending beyond the curler).
Regarding claims 4 and 8, Sano discloses The cuff structure according to claim 1, wherein the cuff includes a first cuff and a second cuff, the first cuff is provided between the curler and the sensing cuff, and the second cuff is configured to be provided on a back of a hand of the wrist of the curler (As shown in FIG. 8 and 10, the cuff is 2 cuffs and the sensing cuff is another cuff), and
a portion of the second cuff is configured to be disposed in the region where the sensing cuff is present in the outer circumferential surface of the curler with the blood pressure measurement device attached to the wrist (FIG. 5-10, see FIG. 5 showing Airbag 150A having portions 151 and 152 forming the cuff as claimed having a portion between the curler and the sensing cuff. See also FIG. 2 showing the device as it would be attached to a wrist and showing another portion at the outer portion of the curler extending beyond the curler).
Regarding claim 9, Sano discloses The blood pressure measurement device according to claim 5, wherein the curler has a first end that overlaps with a portion of another portion of the curler (FIG. 2, depending on the size of the wrist the curler would overlap).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano in view of Kuang (US 2023/0046240 A1) ("Kuang").
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Sano discloses The cuff structure according to claim 4/8, Sano fails to disclose wherein the first cuff and the second cuff are arranged side-by-side in the circumferential direction of the curler.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kuang teaches wherein the first cuff and the second cuff are arranged side-by-side in the circumferential direction of the curler (Abstract, “The airbag (10) is long-strip-shaped, the airbag (10) has a fixed end (113) and a free end (115), the fixed end (113) is fixed in the cavity (20), a plurality of grooves (101) are distributed on a surface of the airbag (10) along a length extension direction, and the grooves (101) extend along a width direction of the airbag (10). Each groove (101) can divide the airbag (10) into a pressurized area (110) and a non-pressurized area (115) along the length direction when the pressing part (30) movably disposed in the cavity (20) is pressed against the groove (101).” The grooves form separate airbags side by side with each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cuff structure as taught by Sano to include wherein the first cuff and the second cuff are arranged side-by-side in the circumferential direction of the curler as taught by Kuang to improve accuracy (See at least the abstract, “This improves blood pressure signal collection stability and blood pressure measurement accuracy.”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 14, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the arguments regarding the section 102 rejections under Sano, the arguments are not persuasive. See FIG. 2 and FIG. 5 of Sano. The airbag 150 is on the inner surface of the curler 160 and each end of the airbag 150 extends past the end of the curler 160. The sensing airbag is on the inner surface of the airbag 150. When curled around a wrist, as best shown in FIG. 2, the airbag 150 extends and curls around and to the outside of the curler 160, if the device is wrapped enough around the wrist. In other words, if the cuff is tightened in FIG. 2, the limitation is met. For example, see FIG. 3 of the present application with the curler and airbags straightened as in FIG. 5 of Sano.
The limitation of the cuff extending past the curler when attached to the wrist, i.e., the timing conditions requiring a wrist, is considered to be directed towards intended use of the claimed device, which does not further limit the structure of the claimed device. The limitation reciting, “a portion of an other portion of the cuff being disposed in a region where the sensing cuff is present in an outer circumferential surface of the curler with the blood pressure measurement device attached to the wrist,” As long as the prior art teaches that there is a mechanism to curl the cuff and curler as such, the prior art is considered capable of performing the function.
For the above consideration, see MPEP § 2114.II: "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Thus, the arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/TSE W CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791