Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Any part of the new amendment portion, “such that the hub housing is positioned behind a wearer and inaccessible for manual operation during use” could not be found in the specification. There should some reasonable disclosure of specifically wearing the hub on the back and making the hub inaccessible. This disclosure is not present in the specification. The “inaccessible” word was not found in the specification. While it is disclosed to attach the hub in the rear panel, there is no disclosure of the purpose of making the hub inaccessible. This is why the claim 19 is rejected under 35 USC 112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girton et al. (US 20230035253 A1 dated 20210730) in view of Owen et al. (AU 2006200486 A1 dated 2007-08-23), hereinafter Girton-Owen
As to claim 1, Girton et al. (US 20230035253 A1 dated 20210730) discloses A communications hub apparatus for interconnecting a body worn push-to-talk switch, a headset, and a portable radio transceiver and comprising:
(a) a hub housing (Paragraph [0043] – “voice communication relay device 30”);
(b) a headset cable extending from the housing and having respective conductors therein, the headset cable terminating in a headset cable connector (connector) (Look at 50B of Fig 2, Fig. 3; Paragraph [0034] – “The first connector is for establishing a connection between the audio output of a headset 12 and the device speaker 34 so that a user's voice will be transmitted to the device speaker 34 of the voice communication relay device 30 without using any speaker on the protective mask 10.”);
(c) a push-to-talk cable extending from the housing and having respective conductors therein, the push-to-talk cable terminating in a push-to-talk cable connector (connector) (See Fig 3; Paragraph [0034] – “The second connector is for establishing a connection between the voice communication relay device 30 and a PTT device 14”);
(d) a transceiver cable extending directly from the housing for connection to a radio transceiver without intermediate connection through the push-to-talk switch and having respective conductors therein, the transceiver cable terminating in a transceiver cable connector (Fig. 3; Paragraph [0034] – “The second connector is for establishing a connection between the voice communication relay device 30 and a PTT device 14, which may in turn be connected to a user's radio 28 for communication with other radios.” Here, the voice communication relay device 30 acts as a hub. Girton et al. has the radio indirectly connected to the hub via the PTT device serially. The application has the radio, PTT device and radio parallelly connected to the hub. Based on MPEP 2144.04, parts can be rearranged without interrupting operations. One skilled in the art would find it obvious to connect the radio 28 directly to the hub, the voice communication relay device 30. This way headset, PTT device and radio are each independently positionable relatively remote from the housing as claimed in the application.);
Girton does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Owen et al. (AU 2006200486 A1 dated 2007-08-23) discloses a transceiver cable extending directly from the housing for connection to a radio transceiver (Page 6, lines 9-18 and Fig 1: “The radio control system 10 includes a microphone 12, PTT push-buttons 14, a switching device 16 and three radio systems RADIO 1 RADIO 3 Within a vehicle, the microphone 12 is preferably positioned close to the user's face, such as near the sun visor of the vehicle. The PTT push-button 14 is positioned on the steering wheel and the PTT push-button 15 is positioned for operation by the driver's knee. The two PTT push-buttons are connected in parallel to an input of the switching device 16. The three radio systems RADIO 1 RADIO 3 may be of a conventional type, each having its own loudspeaker 18, 20, 22 and antenna 19, 21,23”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton et al. to include the means to connecting the radio directly to the hub as taught in the wireless network of Owen et al. in order to avoid dependency on the PTT device by the radio.
(e) each of the cables being elongated to enable the cable connector associated therewith to be positioned relatively remote from the housing to enable access by a user to the cable connectors to provide electrical communication between contacts of the cable connectors and contacts of connectors of the push-to-talk switch, the transceiver, and the headset (Paragraph [0048] – “In one embodiment, the second connector 72 can be a male NEXUS® connector on the end of a cable 74 that connects to the PTT device's female NEXUS® connector.” [0035] – “FIG. 2 shows that the voice communication relay device 30 may, and typically does, comprise part of a voice communication relay system comprising the voice communication relay device 30 and a connection cable 50 having two ends, each end with two pins thereon.”); and
(f) a hub interconnection circuit having the respective conductors of the headset cable, the push-to-talk cable, and the transceiver cable connected thereto,
wherein the hub interconnection circuit is configured to provide separate signal paths between the headset, the push-to-talk switch, and the radio transceiver, respectively, and is further configured to interconnect conductors of the push- to-talk, headset, and transceiver cables in such a manner that a push-to-talk switch is paired with a transceiver via the hub interconnection circuit and operation of the push- to-talk switch connected to the push-to-talk cable connector causes cooperation of a headset connected to the headset cable connector with a transceiver connected to the transceiver cable connector to transmit and receive radio communications by way of the transceiver, wherein the headset, the push-to-talk switch, and the transceiver are each independently positionable relatively remote from the housing. (Paragraph [0043] – “The circuit board 40 is located inside the housing 32. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 11, the circuit board 40 is located behind the device speaker 34. FIG. 12 is a diagram of one embodiment of the circuit board 40 that was developed for the device 30. The circuit board 40 is electrically connected to the first connector (or “input connector”) 70 for establishing a connection between the audio output of the headset 12, as well as with the device speaker 34, and with the second connector 72 for establishing a connection between the voice communication relay device 30 and a PTT device 14. The power source 42 and volume knob 48 are also part of the analog audio circuit with the circuit board 40.” Here, the voice communication relay device 30 acts as a hub. Girton et al. has the radio indirectly connected to the hub via the PTT device serially. The application has the radio, PTT device and radio parallelly connected to the hub. Based on MPEP 2144.04, parts can be rearranged without interrupting operations. One skilled in the art would find it obvious to connect the radio 28 directly to the hub, the voice communication relay device 30. This way headset, PTT device and radio are each independently positionable relatively remote from the housing as claimed in the application.)
Girton et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art Owen et al. (AU 2006200486 A1 dated 2007-08-23) discloses wherein the hub interconnection circuit is configured to provide separate signal paths between the headset, the push-to-talk switch, and the radio transceiver, respectively, and is further configured (Page 6, lines 9-18 and Fig 1: “The radio control system 10 includes a microphone 12, PTT push-buttons 14, a switching device 16 and three radio systems RADIO 1 RADIO 3 Within a vehicle, the microphone 12 is preferably positioned close to the user's face, such as near the sun visor of the vehicle. The PTT push-button 14 is positioned on the steering wheel and the PTT push-button 15 is positioned for operation by the driver's knee. The two PTT push-buttons are connected in parallel to an input of the switching device 16. The three radio systems RADIO 1 RADIO 3 may be of a conventional type, each having its own loudspeaker 18, 20, 22 and antenna 19, 21,23”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton et al. to include the means to having separate signal path from the headset, the radio and the push-to-talk switch directly to the hub as taught in the wireless network of Owen et al. in order to avoid dependency on the PTT device by the radio and the headset and vice versa.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girton et al. (US 20230035253 A1 dated 20210730) in view of Owen et al. (AU 2006200486 A1 dated 2007-08-23), Wolf et al. (US 20180366867 A1 dated 2018-12-20), hereinafter Girton-Owen-Wolf
As to claim 10, Girton et al. (US 20230035253 A1 dated 20210730) discloses A communications hub apparatus for interconnecting body worn push-to-talk switches, a headset, and a pair of body worn portable radio transceivers and comprising:
(a) a hub housing (Paragraph [0043] – “voice communication relay device 30”);
(b) a headset cable extending from the housing and having headset conductors therein, the headset cable terminating in a headset cable connector having the headset conductors connected thereto (Look at 50B of Fig 2, Fig. 3; Paragraph [0034] – “The first connector is for establishing a connection between the audio output of a headset 12 and the device speaker 34 so that a user's voice will be transmitted to the device speaker 34 of the voice communication relay device 30 without using any speaker on the protective mask 10.”);
(c) a push-to-talk cable extending from the housing and having sets of push-to-talk conductors therein which are associated respectively with a pair of transceivers, the push-to-talk cable terminating in a push-to-talk cable connector having the push-to-talk conductors connected thereto, the push-to-talk cable connector being configured to enable at least a pair of push-to-talk switches to be connected thereto which are associated respectively with a pair of transceivers (See Fig 3; Paragraph [0034] – “The second connector is for establishing a connection between the voice communication relay device 30 and a PTT device 14”);
(d) a pair of transceiver cables each extending directly from the housing for connection to a respective radio transceiver without intermediate connection through a push-to-talk switch,, each of the transceiver cables having transceiver conductors therein which are associated with one of a pair of transceivers, each of the transceiver cables terminating in a respective transceiver cable connector having the associated transceiver conductors connected thereto (Fig. 3; Paragraph [0034] – “The second connector is for establishing a connection between the voice communication relay device 30 and a PTT device 14, which may in turn be connected to a user's radio 28 for communication with other radios.” Here, the voice communication relay device 30 acts as a hub. Girton et al. has the radio indirectly connected to the hub via the PTT device serially. The application has the radio, PTT device and radio parallelly connected to the hub. Based on MPEP 2144.04, parts can be rearranged without interrupting operations. One skilled in the art would find it obvious to connect the radio 28 directly to the hub, the voice communication relay device 30. This way headset, PTT device and radio are each independently positionable relatively remote from the housing as claimed in the application.);
Girton does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Owen et al. (AU 2006200486 A1 dated 2007-08-23) discloses a transceiver cable extending directly from the housing for connection to a radio transceiver (Page 6, lines 9-18 and Fig 1: “The radio control system 10 includes a microphone 12, PTT push-buttons 14, a switching device 16 and three radio systems RADIO 1 RADIO 3 Within a vehicle, the microphone 12 is preferably positioned close to the user's face, such as near the sun visor of the vehicle. The PTT push-button 14 is positioned on the steering wheel and the PTT push-button 15 is positioned for operation by the driver's knee. The two PTT push-buttons are connected in parallel to an input of the switching device 16. The three radio systems RADIO 1 RADIO 3 may be of a conventional type, each having its own loudspeaker 18, 20, 22 and antenna 19, 21,23”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton et al. to include the means to connecting the radio directly to the hub as taught in the wireless network of Owen et al. in order to avoid dependency on the PTT device by the radio.
(e) a proximal end of the push-to-talk cable, a proximal end of the headset cable,and a proximal end of each of the pair of transceiver cables, and connections of the conductors of the push to talk cable, the headset cable, and the transceiver cables to a hub interconnection circuit sealingly molded within the housing, and each of the headset cable, the push-to-talk cable and the pair of transceiver cables being elongated to enable the respective headset cable connector, the push-to-talk cable connector and the transceiver cable connectors associated therewith to be positioned relatively remote from the housing to enable access by a user to the cable connectors to provide electrical communication between contacts of the cable connectors and contacts of connectors of the push-to-talk switches, the headset, and the pair of transceivers (Paragraph [0048] – “In one embodiment, the second connector 72 can be a male NEXUS® connector on the end of a cable 74 that connects to the PTT device's female NEXUS® connector.” [0035] – “FIG. 2 shows that the voice communication relay device 30 may, and typically does, comprise part of a voice communication relay system comprising the voice communication relay device 30 and a connection cable 50 having two ends, each end with two pins thereon.”); and
Girton et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Wolf et al. (US 20180366867 A1 dated 2018-12-20) discloses (e) a proximal end of the push-to-talk cable, a proximal end of the headset cable,and a proximal end of each of the pair of transceiver cables, and connections of the conductors of the push to talk cable, the headset cable, and the transceiver cables to the interconnection circuit sealingly molded within the housing, (Paragraph [0024] – “To compensate for this shortcoming in the connectors, system operators will frequently place the cable connection in a molded enclosure, encapsulate, or wrap the cable connection with tapes and/or mastics to provide the necessary environmental and mechanical protection”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton et al. to include the means to placing cable connection in a molded enclosure by Wolf et al. in order to protect the cables from being bent or disconnected.
(f) the hub interconnection circuit having the conductors of the headset cable, the push- to-talk cable, and the transceiver cables connected thereto, the hub interconnection circuit being configured to interconnect conductors of the push- to-talk, headset, and transceiver cables in such a manner that each of the pair of push-to-talk switches is paired with one of the pair of transceivers via the hub interconnection circuit and operation of the push- to-talk switch connected to the push-to-talk cable connector causes cooperation of a headset connected to the headset cable connector with a transceiver connected to a transceiver cable connector associated with the push-to-talk switch operated to thereby transmit and receive radio communications by way of the respective transceiver, wherein the headset, each of the pair of push-to-talk switches, and each of the pair of transceivers are independently positionable relatively remote from the housing ,wherein the hub interconnection circuit is configured to selectively couple the headset to either one of the pair of transceivers in response to activation of the respective push-to-talk switch. (Paragraph [0043] – “The circuit board 40 is located inside the housing 32. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 11, the circuit board 40 is located behind the device speaker 34. FIG. 12 is a diagram of one embodiment of the circuit board 40 that was developed for the device 30. The circuit board 40 is electrically connected to the first connector (or “input connector”) 70 for establishing a connection between the audio output of the headset 12, as well as with the device speaker 34, and with the second connector 72 for establishing a connection between the voice communication relay device 30 and a PTT device 14. The power source 42 and volume knob 48 are also part of the analog audio circuit with the circuit board 40.” Here, the voice communication relay device 30 acts as a hub. Girton et al. has the radio indirectly connected to the hub via the PTT device serially. The application has the radio, PTT device and radio parallelly connected to the hub. Based on MPEP 2144.04, parts can be rearranged without interrupting operations. One skilled in the art would find it obvious to connect the radio 28 directly to the hub, the voice communication relay device 30. This way headset, PTT device and radio. This way headset, PTT device and radio are each independently positionable relatively remote from the housing as claimed in the application.)
Girton does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Owen et al. (AU 2006200486 A1 dated 2007-08-23) discloses wherein the hub interconnection circuit is configured to selectively couple the headset to either one of the pair of transceivers in response to activation of the respective push-to-talk switch (Page 6, lines 9-18 and Fig 1: “The radio control system 10 includes a microphone 12, PTT push-buttons 14, a switching device 16 and three radio systems RADIO 1 RADIO 3 Within a vehicle, the microphone 12 is preferably positioned close to the user's face, such as near the sun visor of the vehicle. The PTT push-button 14 is positioned on the steering wheel and the PTT push-button 15 is positioned for operation by the driver's knee. The two PTT push-buttons are connected in parallel to an input of the switching device 16. The three radio systems RADIO 1 RADIO 3 may be of a conventional type, each having its own loudspeaker 18, 20, 22 and antenna 19, 21,23”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton et al. to include the means to coupling the headset to either one of the transceivers as taught in the wireless network of Owen et al. in order to choose any of the transceivers to be connected to the headset.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girton-Owen as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Cetinoneri et al. (US 10469120 B1 dated 2018-09-28), YAMKOVOY (CN 104170403 A dated 2013-03-04)
As to claim 2, Girton et al. (US 20230035253 A1 dated 20210730) discloses The communications hub apparatus as set forth in Claim 1 wherein:(a) the conductors of the push-to-talk cable are connected to the push-to-talk connector which is configured to enable a pair of push-to-talk switches to be connected thereto (Paragraph [0048] – “The second connector 72 can be any suitable type of connector. In one embodiment, the second connector 72 can be a male NEXUS® connector on the end of a cable 74 that connects to the PTT device's female NEXUS® connector.” These connectors can be configured to enable a pair of push-to-talk switches);
Girton-Owen et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Cetinoneri et al. (US 10469120 B1 dated 2018-09-28) discloses (b) a pair of transceiver cables extend from the housing, each transceiver cable including respective conductors therein and terminating in a respective transceiver connector to enable a respective one of a pair of transceivers to be connected thereto (Col 21 Lines 39-51 – “In this manner, as described above, a transceiver integrated circuit 74 and an antenna integrated circuits 78 may communicate analog electrical signals (e.g., indicating data to be wirelessly transmitted and/or wirelessly received data) therebetween. Additionally or alternatively, in some embodiments, a direct current (DC) electrical signal, a control (e.g., digital electrical) signal, or both may be communicated via an electrical connector 92, for example, from the controller 36 to an antenna integrated circuit 78. Furthermore, in some embodiments, an electrical connector 92 may be formed from electrically conductive material and, thus, may include a wire, a cable, a conductive trace, and/or the like”); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen et al. to include the means to the use of electrically conductive cable by Cetinoneri et al. in order to use electrically conductive cable connecting with the transceiver.
Cetinoneri et al. does not address pair of transceivers, in an analogous art, YAMKOVOY (CN 104170403 A dated 2013-03-04) discloses pair of transceivers (Paragraph [0017] – “Figure 1a depicts a "head on" physical configuration of headset 1000 embodiment. headset 1000 includes a head assembly 100, a control box 200 and one or more cables 300a, 300b and/or 300c. a head assembly 100 comprising acoustic drivers 115a and 115b each respectively comprise a pair of earphones 1a and 110b, I 1a and the earphone coupled together by a headband 120, disconnect from the earphone extends to support the communications microphone 135 of microphone rod 130 and disconnect the earphone control box 200 coupled to cable 140. a key control box 200 includes a housing 210, a manually operable talk (PTT) switch 215 and a pair of connectors 220a and 220b, one or more cable 300a-c can be coupled through the connector to the control box 200. cable of each cable 300a-c is configured to enable the following one or more audio devices can be coupled to the control box 200, specifically, is the group consisting of one or more of: radio 700, a vehicle intercom system (ICS) 800 (and may be coupled to the vehicle radio 800 through the ICS 850), the radio 900 and the audio source 950.” Here multiple radios or transceivers can be used, thereby it meets the pair of transceivers limitation)
Girton et al. (US 20230035253 A1 dated 20210730) discloses (c) the interconnection circuit has the conductors of the push-to-talk cable and the transceiver cables interconnected therewith and is configured in such a manner as to enable operation of a selected transceiver in cooperation with a headset by operation of a push-to-talk switch associated with the selected transceiver (Paragraph [0009] – “At least one function of the circuit board is to serve as an Impedance Dependent Auto Switch (IDAS) that is electrically connected to the speaker and to the second connector for selectively sending signals to the device speaker or to a radio that is connected to the PTT device” Here radio is mentioned to enable operation of a selected transceiver mentioned in the claim).
Claim 3, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girton-Owen-Wolf as applied in claim 1, 10 and further in view of Perkins et al. (US 20220006892 A1 dated 20190531)
As to claim 3, Girton-Owen et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Perkins et al. (US 20220006892 A1 dated 20190531) discloses The communications hub apparatus as set forth in Claim 1 wherein the housing includes: (a) a strain relief structure surrounding each of the cables where the cables exit the housing (Paragraph [0548] – “The cable 6109 may include a strain relief structure 6309 that helps prevent damage to the cable 6109 (and/or termination points of the wires inside the housing 6312) due to bending or twisting relative to the housing 6312.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen et al. to include the means to modifying the housing to include the strain relief structure for each of the cables by Perkins et al. in order to protect the cables exiting the housing.
As to claim 11, Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Perkins et al. (US 20220006892 A1 dated 20190531) discloses The communications hub apparatus as set forth in Claim 10 wherein the housing includes: (a) a strain relief structure surrounding each of the cables where the cables exit the housing (Paragraph [0548] – “The cable 6109 may include a strain relief structure 6309 that helps prevent damage to the cable 6109 (and/or termination points of the wires inside the housing 6312) due to bending or twisting relative to the housing 6312.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. to include the means to modifying the housing to include the strain relief structure for each of the cables by Perkins et al. in order to protect the cables exiting the housing.
Claim 4, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girton-Owen_Wolf as applied in claim 1, 10 and further in view of Morris et al. (US 20170195773 A1 dated 20151231)
As to claim 4, Girton-Owen et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Morris et al. (US 20170195773 A1 dated 20151231) discloses The communications hub apparatus as set forth in Claim 1 wherein the housing includes: (a) a surface feature formed in a surface thereof to enable secure removable mounting of the housing on existing attachment structure of a tactical vest (Paragraph [0031] – “In some embodiments, attachment structures can include tabs, tongue-and-groove features, surface features (e.g., a continuous ring or dimple), and/or other features for facilitating attachment of the housing members 222 and 223.” Here an attachment structure can be a structure of a tactical vest.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen et al. to include the means to forming a surface feature by Morris et al. in order to facilitate attachment of the housing such that secure removable mounting can be done.
As to claim 12, Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Morris et al. (US 20170195773 A1 dated 20151231) discloses The communications hub apparatus as set forth in Claim 10 wherein the housing includes:(a) a surface feature formed in a surface thereof to enable secure removable mounting of the housing on existing attachment structure of a tactical vest (Paragraph [0031] – “In some embodiments, attachment structures can include tabs, tongue-and-groove features, surface features (e.g., a continuous ring or dimple), and/or other features for facilitating attachment of the housing members 222 and 223.” Here an attachment structure can be a structure of a tactical vest.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. to include the means to forming a surface feature by Morris et al. in order to facilitate attachment of the housing such that secure removable mounting can be done.
Claim 5, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girton-Owen-Wolf as applied in claim 1, 10 and further in view of ZHANG et al. (CN 110793395 A dated 2019-11-30)
As to claim 5, Girton-Owen et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, ZHANG et al. (CN 110793395 A dated 2019-11-30) discloses The communications hub apparatus as set forth in Claim 1 wherein the housing includes: (a) a notch formed in a surface thereof to enable secure removable mounting of the housing on an existing attachment structure of a tactical vest (Abstract – “The multifunctional tactical vest comprises a front piece, a rear piece and two side pieces, wherein two shoulder straps are symmetrically arranged at the edge of the upper end of the rear piece; one end, far away from the rear piece, of each shoulder strap is connected with the corresponding position of the front piece through a first quick-opening buckle; the front piece and the rear piece are provided with a buoyancy layer and a protective layer; the buoyancy layer is provided with a closed-cell foam structure; an air blowing pipe is arranged in the buoyancy layer; one section, extending out of the buoyancy layer, of the air blowing pipe is used as an air blowing inlet; elastic bands are fixed at one ends, close to the rear piece, of the two side pieces; the elastic bands are connected with the rear piece through hook-and-loop fasteners arranged between the buoyancy layer and the protective layer; and one of the ends, close to the front piece, of the two side pieces is connected with the front piece through second quick-opening buckles; and a plurality of notches used for hooking articles are uniformly formed in the outer surfaces of the front piece, the rear piece and the side pieces.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen et al. to include the means to forming notches in the surface by Zhang et al. in order to enable secure removable mounting of the housing on a structure of a tactical vest.
As to claim 13, Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, ZHANG et al. (CN 110793395 A dated 2019-11-30) discloses The communications hub apparatus as set forth in Claim 10 wherein the housing includes: (a) a notch formed in a surface thereof to enable secure removable mounting of the housing on existing attachment structure of a tactical vest (Abstract – “The multifunctional tactical vest comprises a front piece, a rear piece and two side pieces, wherein two shoulder straps are symmetrically arranged at the edge of the upper end of the rear piece; one end, far away from the rear piece, of each shoulder strap is connected with the corresponding position of the front piece through a first quick-opening buckle; the front piece and the rear piece are provided with a buoyancy layer and a protective layer; the buoyancy layer is provided with a closed-cell foam structure; an air blowing pipe is arranged in the buoyancy layer; one section, extending out of the buoyancy layer, of the air blowing pipe is used as an air blowing inlet; elastic bands are fixed at one ends, close to the rear piece, of the two side pieces; the elastic bands are connected with the rear piece through hook-and-loop fasteners arranged between the buoyancy layer and the protective layer; and one of the ends, close to the front piece, of the two side pieces is connected with the front piece through second quick-opening buckles; and a plurality of notches used for hooking articles are uniformly formed in the outer surfaces of the front piece, the rear piece and the side pieces.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. to include the means to forming notches in the surface by Zhang et al. in order to enable secure removable mounting of the housing on a structure of a tactical vest.
Claim 6, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girton-Owen-Wolf as applied in claim 1, 10 and further in view of Brinkley et al. (US 20190355239 A1 dated 20080128), Lu et al. (US 20090107163 A1 dated 20071031)
As to claim 6, Girton-Owen et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Brinkley et al. (US 20190355239 A1 dated 20080128) discloses The communications hub apparatus as set forth in Claim 1 in combination with:(a) a tactical vest having a rear panel with attachment structure thereon (Paragraph [0067] – “The bullet proof vest 50 has a front panel 9a and a rear panel 9b”); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen et al. to include the means to a tactical vest having a rear panel by Brinkley et al. in order to get a tactical vest having a rear panel to attach removable structures.
In an analogous art, Lu et al. (US 20090107163 A1 dated 20071031) discloses (b) the housing being removably attached to attachment structure on the rear panel of the vest (Paragraph [0014] – “A rear panel is removably attached to the housing to allow for easy access to maintain and replace chiller components as needed.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen et al. to include the means to removably attaching a rear panel to the housing by Lu et al. in order to removably attach the housing to rear panel of the vest for easy access and convenience.
As to claim 14, Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Brinkley et al. (US 20190355239 A1 dated 20080128) discloses The communications hub apparatus as set forth in Claim 10 in combination with:(a) a tactical vest having a rear panel with attachment structure thereon (Paragraph [0067] – “The bullet proof vest 50 has a front panel 9a and a rear panel 9b”); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. to include the means to a tactical vest having a rear panel by Brinkley et al. in order to get a tactical vest having a rear panel to attach removable structures.
In an analogous art, Lu et al. (US 20090107163 A1 dated 20071031) discloses (b) the housing is removably attached to attachment structure on the rear panel of the vest (Paragraph [0014] – “A rear panel is removably attached to the housing to allow for easy access to maintain and replace chiller components as needed.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. to include the means to removably attaching a rear panel to the housing by Lu et al. in order to removably attach the housing to rear panel of the vest for easy access and convenience.
Claim 7, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girton-Owen-Wolf as applied in claim 1, 10 and further in view of Brinkley et al. (US 20190355239 A1 dated 20080128), Lu et al. (US 20090107163 A1 dated 20071031), Eves (US 20010050991 A1 dated 2000-06-12 ) and Lee et al. (US 20100100997 A1 dated 2008-10-27 )
As to claim 7, Girton-Owen et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Brinkley et al. (US 20190355239 A1 dated 20080128) discloses The communications hub apparatus as set forth in Claim 1 in combination with:
a tactical vest having a front panel and having a rear panel with attachment structure thereon (Paragraph [0067] – “The bullet proof vest 50 has a front panel 9a and a rear panel 9b”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen et al. to include the means to a tactical vest having a rear panel by Brinkley et al. in order to get a tactical vest having a rear panel to attach removable structures.
In an analogous art, Lu et al. (US 20090107163 A1 dated 20071031) discloses (b) the housing being removably attached to attachment structure on the rear panel of the vest (Paragraph [0014] – “A rear panel is removably attached to the housing to allow for easy access to maintain and replace chiller components as needed.”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen et al. to include the means to removably attaching a rear panel to the housing by Lu et al. in order to removably attach the housing to rear panel of the vest for easy access and convenience.
Girton-Owen et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Eves (US 20010050991 A1 dated 2000-06-12 ) discloses (c) at least one of the cables including an elongated adapter cable connected to the connector thereof and terminating in an adapter cable connector (Paragraph [0027] – “Each pocket suitably comprises its own adapter cable terminating in an external male or female connector (suffix M or F) for connection to a corresponding (F or M) connector on the loom 12.”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen et al. to include the means to an adapter cable terminating in a connector by Eves. in order to protect the cable.
Girton-Owen et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Lee et al. (US 20100100997 A1 dated 2008-10-27 ) discloses (d) each of the cables without an adapter cable having a length sufficient to enable access to the connector associated therewith adjacent the front panel of the vest (Paragraph [0042] – “Referring now to FIG. 1A, the illustrated example is that of a tactical military vest 101, that includes smart pouches 102 electrical connectors 123 and seams 128 that are configured as a conduit for various forms of communication medium such as wires, cables and the like”); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen et al. to include the means to various forms of communication medium such as wires, cables by Lee et al. in order to connect the cable to the connector associated with the vest.
Girton-Owen et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Lee et al. (US 20100100997 A1 dated 2008-10-27 ) discloses (e) a cable with an adapter cable having a combined length sufficient to enable access to the adapter cable connector adjacent the front panel of the vest (Paragraph [0042] – “Referring now to FIG. 1A, the illustrated example is that of a tactical military vest 101, that includes smart pouches 102 electrical connectors 123 and seams 128 that are configured as a conduit for various forms of communication medium such as wires, cables and the like”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen et al. to include the means to various forms of communication medium such as wires, cables by Lee et al. in order to connect the cable to the connector associated with the vest.
As to claim 15, Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Brinkley et al. (US 20190355239 A1 dated 20080128) discloses The communications hub apparatus as set forth in Claim 10 in combination with:(a) a tactical vest having a front panel and having a rear panel with attachment structure thereon (Paragraph [0067] – “The bullet proof vest 50 has a front panel 9a and a rear panel 9b”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. to include the means to a tactical vest having a rear panel by Brinkley et al. in order to attach removable structures.
In an analogous art, Lu et al. (US 20090107163 A1 dated 20071031) discloses (b) the housing being removably attached to attachment structure on the rear panel of the vest (Paragraph [0014] – “A rear panel is removably attached to the housing to allow for easy access to maintain and replace chiller components as needed.”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. to include the means to removably attaching a rear panel to the housing by Lu et al. in order to removably attach the housing to rear panel of the vest for easy access and convenience.
Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Eves (US 20010050991 A1 dated 2000-06-12 ) discloses (c) at least one of the cables including an elongated adapter cable connected to the connector thereof and terminating in an adapter cable connector (Paragraph [0027] – “Each pocket suitably comprises its own adapter cable terminating in an external male or female connector (suffix M or F) for connection to a corresponding (F or M) connector on the loom 12.”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. to include the means to an adapter cable terminating in a connector by Eves. in order to connect an adapter cable with a connector for protecting the cable.
Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Lee et al. (US 20100100997 A1 dated 2008-10-27 ) discloses (d) each of the cables without an adapter cable having a length sufficient to enable access to the connector associated therewith adjacent the front panel of the vest (Paragraph [0042] – “Referring now to FIG. 1A, the illustrated example is that of a tactical military vest 101, that includes smart pouches 102 electrical connectors 123 and seams 128 that are configured as a conduit for various forms of communication medium such as wires, cables and the like”); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. to include the means to various forms of communication medium such as wires, cables by Lee et al. in order to connect the cable to the connector associated with the vest.
Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Lee et al. (US 20100100997 A1 dated 2008-10-27 ) discloses (e) a cable with an adapter cable having a combined length sufficient to enable access to the adapter cable connector adjacent the front panel of the vest (Paragraph [0042] – “Referring now to FIG. 1A, the illustrated example is that of a tactical military vest 101, that includes smart pouches 102 electrical connectors 123 and seams 128 that are configured as a conduit for various forms of communication medium such as wires, cables and the like”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. to include the means to various forms of communication medium such as wires, cables by Lee et al. in order to connect the cable to the connector associated with the vest.
Claim 8, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girton-Owen-Wolf as applied in claim 1, 10 and further in view of YAMKOVOY (CN 104170403 A dated 2013-03-04) and MÜLLER et al. (DE 10058478 B4 dated 2000-11-24)
As to claim 8, Girton-Owen et al. (US 20230035253 A1 dated 20210730) does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, YAMKOVOY (CN 104170403 A dated 2013-03-04) discloses The communications hub apparatus as set forth in Claim 1 wherein the housing includes: (a) a molded hub body having the hub interconnection circuit (housing 210), proximal ends of the push-to-talk, headset, and transceiver cables, and connections of conductors of the cables to the interconnection circuit sealingly molded therein (Paragraph [0017] – “Figure 1a depicts a "head on" physical configuration of headset 1000 embodiment. headset 1000 includes a head assembly 100, a control box 200 and one or more cables 300a, 300b and/or 300c. a head assembly 100 comprising acoustic drivers 115a and 115b each respectively comprise a pair of earphones 1a and 110b, I 1a and the earphone coupled together by a headband 120, disconnect from the earphone extends to support the communications microphone 135 of microphone rod 130 and disconnect the earphone control box 200 coupled to cable 140. a key control box 200 includes a housing 210, a manually operable talk (PTT) switch 215 and a pair of connectors 220a and 220b, one or more cable 300a-c can be coupled through the connector to the control box 200. cable of each cable 300a-c is configured to enable the following one or more audio devices can be coupled to the control box 200, specifically, is the group consisting of one or more of: radio 700, a vehicle intercom system (ICS) 800 (and may be coupled to the vehicle radio 800 through the ICS 850), the radio 900 and the audio source 950.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen et al. to include the means to the cables coming out from headset, PTT switch and radio and terminating in a control box by YAMKOVOY. in order to connect headset, PTT switch and radios via cables with the control box.
Here, YAMKOVOY does not disclose sealingly molded interconnection circuit/hub but MÜLLER et al. (DE 10058478 B4 dated 2000-11-24) discloses sealingly molded hub (Abstract – “wherein the filter body, a frame (15) is sealingly molded, and the frame (15) has sealing surfaces for abutment with corresponding mounting surfaces (17) of the filter forming a housing structure (11)”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen et al. to include the means to sealing molded hub/filter by MÜLLER et al. in order to use sealingly molded hub in order to protect the interconnection circuit.
As to claim 16, Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. (US 20230035253 A1 dated 20210730) does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, YAMKOVOY (CN 104170403 A dated 2013-03-04) discloses The communications hub apparatus as set forth in Claim 10 wherein the housing includes: (a) a molded hub body having the hub interconnection circuit (Paragraph [0017] – “Figure 1a depicts a "head on" physical configuration of headset 1000 embodiment. headset 1000 includes a head assembly 100, a control box 200 and one or more cables 300a, 300b and/or 300c. a head assembly 100 comprising acoustic drivers 115a and 115b each respectively comprise a pair of earphones 1a and 110b, I 1a and the earphone IlOb coupled together by a headband 120, disconnect from the earphone extends to support the communications microphone 135 of microphone rod 130 and disconnect the earphone control box 200 coupled to cable 140. a key control box 200 includes a housing 210, a manually operable talk (PTT) switch 215 and a pair of connectors 220a and 220b, one or more cable 300a-c can be coupled through the connector to the control box 200. cable of each cable 300a-c is configured to enable the following one or more audio devices can be coupled to the control box 200, specifically, is the group consisting of one or more of: radio 700, a vehicle intercom system (ICS) 800 (and may be coupled to the vehicle radio 800 through the ICS 850), the radio 900 and the audio source 950.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. to include the means to the cables coming out from headset, PTT switch and radio and terminating in a control box by YAMKOVOY in order to connect headset, PTT switch and radios via cables with the control box.
Here, YAMKOVOY does not disclose sealingly molded interconnection circuit/hub but MÜLLER et al. (DE 10058478 B4 dated 2000-11-24) discloses sealingly molded hub (Abstract – “wherein the filter body, a frame (15) is sealingly molded, and the frame (15) has sealing surfaces for abutment with corresponding mounting surfaces (17) of the filter forming a housing structure (11)”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. to include the means to sealing molded hub/filter by MÜLLER et al. in order to protect the interconnection circuit.
Claim 9, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girton as applied in claim 1, 10 and further in view of Dixon et al. (US 20080110946 A1 dated 20061110), YAMKOVOY (CN 104170403 A dated 2013-03-04) and MÜLLER et al. (DE 10058478 B4 dated 2000-11-24)
As to claim 9, Girton-Owen et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Dixon et al. (US 20080110946 A1 dated 20061110) discloses The communications hub apparatus as set forth in Claim 1 wherein the hub housing includes:(a) a molded hub body formed of a somewhat resilient, electrically nonconductive polymer (Paragraph [0019] – “For example, in one embodiment the arms and hub may be constructed from a polymer (e.g., high density polyethylene).”); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen et al. to include the means to the use of nonconductive polymer for the hub by Dixon et al. in order to protect the circuit.
Girton-Owen et al. (US 20230035253 A1 dated 20210730) does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, YAMKOVOY (CN 104170403 A dated 2013-03-04) discloses (b) the hub body having the hub interconnection circuit, a proximal end of the push- to-talk cable, a proximal end of the headset cable, and a proximal end of the transceiver cables, and connections of conductors of the cables to the hub interconnection circuit sealingly molded therein (Paragraph [0017] – “Figure 1a depicts a "head on" physical configuration of headset 1000 embodiment. headset 1000 includes a head assembly 100, a control box 200 and one or more cables 300a, 300b and/or 300c. a head assembly 100 comprising acoustic drivers 115a and 115b each respectively comprise a pair of earphones 1a and 110b, I 1a and the earphone coupled together by a headband 120, disconnect from the earphone extends to support the communications microphone 135 of microphone rod 130 and disconnect the earphone control box 200 coupled to cable 140. a key control box 200 includes a housing 210, a manually operable talk (PTT) switch 215 and a pair of connectors 220a and 220b, one or more cable 300a-c can be coupled through the connector to the control box 200. cable of each cable 300a-c is configured to enable the following one or more audio devices can be coupled to the control box 200, specifically, is the group consisting of one or more of: radio 700, a vehicle intercom system (ICS) 800 (and may be coupled to the vehicle radio 800 through the ICS 850), the radio 900 and the audio source 950.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen et al. to include the means to the cables coming out from headset, PTT switch and radio and terminating in a control box by YAMKOVOY in order to connect headset, PTT switch and radios via cables with the control box.
Here, YAMKOVOY does not disclose sealingly molded interconnection circuit/hub but MÜLLER et al. (DE 10058478 B4 dated 2000-11-24) discloses sealingly molded hub (Abstract – “wherein the filter body, a frame (15) is sealingly molded, and the frame (15) has sealing surfaces for abutment with corresponding mounting surfaces (17) of the filter forming a housing structure (11)”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen et al. to include the means to sealing molded hub/filter by MÜLLER et al. in order to protect the interconnection circuit.
As to claim 17, Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Dixon et al. (US 20080110946 A1 dated 20061110) discloses The communications hub apparatus as set forth in Claim 10 wherein the hub housing includes:(a) a molded hub body formed of a somewhat resilient, electrically nonconductive polymer (Paragraph [0019] – “For example, in one embodiment the arms and hub may be constructed from a polymer (e.g., high density polyethylene).”); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. to include the means to the use of nonconductive polymer for the hub by Dixon et al. in order to protect the circuit.
Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. (US 20230035253 A1 dated 20210730) does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, YAMKOVOY (CN 104170403 A dated 2013-03-04) discloses (b) the molded hub body having the hub interconnection circuit, a proximal end of the push-to-talk cable, a proximal end of the headset cable, and a proximal end of each of the pair of transceiver cables, and the connections of the conductors of the push to talk cable, the headset cable and the transceiver cable to the interconnection circuit sealingly molded therein (Paragraph [0017] – “Figure 1a depicts a "head on" physical configuration of headset 1000 embodiment. headset 1000 includes a head assembly 100, a control box 200 and one or more cables 300a, 300b and/or 300c. a head assembly 100 comprising acoustic drivers 115a and 115b each respectively comprise a pair of earphones 1a and 110b, I 1a and the earphone IlOb coupled together by a headband 120, disconnect from the earphone extends to support the communications microphone 135 of microphone rod 130 and disconnect the earphone control box 200 coupled to cable 140. a key control box 200 includes a housing 210, a manually operable talk (PTT) switch 215 and a pair of connectors 220a and 220b, one or more cable 300a-c can be coupled through the connector to the control box 200. cable of each cable 300a-c is configured to enable the following one or more audio devices can be coupled to the control box 200, specifically, is the group consisting of one or more of: radio 700, a vehicle intercom system (ICS) 800 (and may be coupled to the vehicle radio 800 through the ICS 850), the radio 900 and the audio source 950.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. to include the means to the cables coming out from headset, PTT switch and radio and terminating in a control box by YAMKOVOY in order to connect headset, PTT switch and radios via cables with the control box.
Here, YAMKOVOY does not disclose sealingly molded interconnection circuit/hub but MÜLLER et al. (DE 10058478 B4 dated 2000-11-24) discloses sealing molded hub (Abstract – “wherein the filter body, a frame (15) is sealingly molded, and the frame (15) has sealing surfaces for abutment with corresponding mounting surfaces (17) of the filter forming a housing structure (11)”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. to include the means to sealing molded hub/filter by MÜLLER et al. in order to protect the interconnection circuit.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girton-Owen-Wolf as applied in claim 10 and further in view of Cheney et al. (US 20170195770 A1 dated 20160103)
As to claim 18, Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Cheney et al. (US 20170195770 A1 dated 20160103) discloses The communications hub apparatus as set forth in Claim 10 in combination with: (a) a cable adapter connected between at least one of the cable connectors and at least one of a push-to-talk switch, a headset, and a transceiver (Paragraph [0064] - “The line-in connection or cable adapter 800, includes a micro USB connector 820 that is connected to the speaker housing and a 3.5 mm AUX connector at the opposite end 810 that adapted to being connected to an audio source.” ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton-Owen-Wolf et al. to include the means to the use of cable adapter to connect with headset by Cheney et al. in order to use the cable adapter to connect between cable connector and at least one of a push-to-talk switch, a headset, and a transceiver.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girton et al. (US 20230035253 A1 dated 20210730) in view of Brinkley et al. (US 20190355239 A1 dated 20080128), Lu et al. (US 20090107163 A1 dated 20071031)
As to Claim 19, Girton et al does not explicitly recite but in analogous art, Brinkley et al. (US 20190355239 A1 dated 20080128) discloses (New) A communications hub apparatus for interconnecting body worn push-to-talk switches, a headset, and a pair of body worn portable radio transceivers and comprising: (a) a tactical vest having a rear panel with an attachment structure thereon configured for supporting equipment on the vest; (Paragraph [0067] – “The bullet proof vest 50 has a front panel 9a and a rear panel 9b”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton et al. to include the means to a tactical vest having a rear panel by Brinkley et al. in order to attach removable structures.
Girton et al does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Lu et al. (US 20090107163 A1 dated 20071031) discloses (b) a hub housing configured to be removably attached to and supported by the attachment structure on the rear panel of the vest such that the hub housing is positioned behind a wearer and inaccessible for manual operation during use (Paragraph [0014] – “A rear panel is removably attached to the housing to allow for easy access to maintain and replace chiller components as needed.”). Lu et al. does not explicitly recite such that the hub housing is positioned behind a wearer and inaccessible for manual operation during use. However, for a person skilled in the art, the rearrangement of the particular placement of parts was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. See MPEP 2144.04 VI Sec C.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton et al. to include the means to removably attaching a rear panel to the housing by Lu et al. in order to removably attach the housing to rear panel of the vest for easy access and convenience.
Girton et al. discloses (c) a headset cable having headset conductors therein, a first end of the headset cable extending from the housing, the headset cable terminating in a headset cable connector at a second end thereof, and the headset cable connector having the headset conductors connected thereto (Look at 50B of Fig 2, Fig. 3; Paragraph [0034] – “The first connector is for establishing a connection between the audio output of a headset 12 and the device speaker 34 so that a user's voice will be transmitted to the device speaker 34 of the voice communication relay device 30 without using any speaker on the protective mask 10.”);
Girton et al. discloses (d) a push-to-talk cable having sets of push-to-talk conductors therein, a first end of the push-to-talk cable extending from the housing, the push-to-talk cable terminating in a push-to-talk cable connector at a second end thereof, the push- to-talk cable connector having the push-to-talk conductors connected thereto, and the push-to-talk cable connector being configured to enable a plurality of push-to-talk switches to be connected thereto, each push-to-talk switch associated with a respective transceiver (See Fig 3; Paragraph [0034] – “The second connector is for establishing a connection between the voice communication relay device 30 and a PTT device 14”);
Girton et al. discloses (e) a plurality of transceiver cables each having a respective set transceiver conductors therein, a first end of each of the transceiver cables extending from the housing, each of the transceiver cables terminating in a respective transceiver cable connector at a second end thereof, each transceiver cable connector having the respective set of transceiver conductors of the transceiver cable connected thereto, and each of the transceiver cables associated with a respective transceiver, wherein each transceiver cable extends directly from the housing to the respective radio transceiver without intermediate connection through a push- to-talk switch (Fig. 3; Paragraph [0034] – “The second connector is for establishing a connection between the voice communication relay device 30 and a PTT device 14, which may in turn be connected to a user's radio 28 for communication with other radios.” Here, the voice communication relay device 30 acts as a hub. Girton et al. has the radio indirectly connected to the hub via the PTT device serially. The application has the radio, PTT device and radio parallelly connected to the hub. Based on MPEP 2144.04, parts can be rearranged without interrupting operations. The radio 28 can be directly connected to the voice communication relay device 30. This way headset, PTT device and radio are each independently positionable relatively remote from the housing as claimed in the application.);
Girton does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Owen et al. (AU 2006200486 A1 dated 2007-08-23) discloses wherein each transceiver cable extends directly from the housing to the respective radio transceiver without intermediate connection through a push- to-talk switch (Page 6, lines 9-18 and Fig 1: “The radio control system 10 includes a microphone 12, PTT push-buttons 14, a switching device 16 and three radio systems RADIO 1 RADIO 3 Within a vehicle, the microphone 12 is preferably positioned close to the user's face, such as near the sun visor of the vehicle. The PTT push-button 14 is positioned on the steering wheel and the PTT push-button 15 is positioned for operation by the driver's knee. The two PTT push-buttons are connected in parallel to an input of the switching device 16. The three radio systems RADIO 1 RADIO 3 may be of a conventional type, each having its own loudspeaker 18, 20, 22 and antenna 19, 21,23”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Girton et al. to include the means to connecting the radio directly to the hub as taught in the wireless network of Owen et al. in order to avoid dependency on the PTT device by the radio.
Girton et al. discloses (f) each of the headset cable, the push-to-talk cable and the plurality of transceiver cables being elongated to enable the respective headset cable connector, the push-to-talk cable connector, and the transceiver cable connectors associated therewith to be positioned relatively remote from the housing supported on the rear panel of the vest to enable access of the connectors positioned adjacent a front panel of the vest by a wearer thereof to provide electrical communication between contacts of the connectors and contacts of connectors of the headset, the push-to-talk switches, and the pair of transceivers (Paragraph [0048] – “In one embodiment, the second connector 72 can be a male NEXUS® connector on the end of a cable 74 that connects to the PTT device's female NEXUS® connector.” [0035] – “FIG. 2 shows that the voice communication relay device 30 may, and typically does, comprise part of a voice communication relay system comprising the voice communication relay device 30 and a connection cable 50 having two ends, each end with two pins thereon.”); and
(g) a hub interconnection circuit housed within the hub housing and having the conductors of the headset cable, the push-to-talk cable, and the plurality of transceiver cables connected thereto, the hub interconnection circuit being configured to interconnect conductors of the push-to-talk cable, the headset cable, and the plurality of transceiver cables in such a manner that operation of a selected push-to-talk switch connected to the push-to-talk cable connector causes cooperation of a headset connected to the headset cable connector and a transceiver connected to an associated transceiver cable connector and associated with the selected push-to-talk switch operated to thereby transmit and receive radio communications by way of the respective transceiver (Paragraph [0043] – “The circuit board 40 is located inside the housing 32. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 11, the circuit board 40 is located behind the device speaker 34. FIG. 12 is a diagram of one embodiment of the circuit board 40 that was developed for the device 30. The circuit board 40 is electrically connected to the first connector (or “input connector”) 70 for establishing a connection between the audio output of the headset 12, as well as with the device speaker 34, and with the second connector 72 for establishing a connection between the voice communication relay device 30 and a PTT device 14. The power source 42 and volume knob 48 are also part of the analog audio circuit with the circuit board 40.” Here, the voice communication relay device 30 acts as a hub. Girton et al. has the radio indirectly connected to the hub via the PTT device serially. The application has the radio, PTT device and radio parallelly connected to the hub. Based on MPEP 2144.04, parts can be rearranged without interrupting operations. One skilled in the art would find it obvious to connect the radio 28 directly to the hub, the voice communication relay device 30. This way headset, PTT device and radio are each independently positionable relatively remote from the housing as claimed in the application.).
Remarks/Arguments
All the remarks and arguments posted on 12/05/2025 have been reviewed.
In response to the Applicant’s arguments, “The PTT device is functionally associated with the user's radio for transmitting a user's voice through the radio, and rearrangement of the radio 28 to connect directly to the voice communication relay device 30 would likely interrupt operation of the device taught in Girton and the "unique features" identified therein, which require the PTT device to send communications via the radio.”, the Examiner adds a prior art, Owen et al. (AU 2006200486 A1 dated 2007-08-23). This prior art shows direct connection from the radio, PTT switch and the headset to the hub. The details have been given above under the respective claims.
In response to the Applicant’s arguments, “Applicant submits that a circuit configured to selectively couple a headset to one of a pair of transceivers by activation of a respective push-to- talk switch is not disclosed in the prior art.”, the examiner adds a prior art, Owen et al. (AU 2006200486 A1 dated 2007-08-23). This prior art shows that a headset/microphone can be coupled to one of the transceivers by activation of a push-to-talk switch.
In response to the Applicant’s arguments, “Girton et al., alone or in combination with one or both of Brinkley et al. and Lu et al., does not teach a hub housing removably attached to and supported on a rear panel of a vest that is inaccessible for manual operation during use”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. , For a person skilled in the art, the rearrangement of the particular placement of parts was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. See MPEP 2144.04 VI Sec C.
Conclusion
/ABDULLAH AL MAMUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/MATTHEW D. ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646