DETAILED ACTION
I. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
II. This action is in response to applicants amendment/arguments filed on August 19, 2026. This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
III. Applicant's arguments filed August 19, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 16, and 25 applicant argues that Cha, Tsui, and Xiao do not teach phase-coherent positioning resources that are phase coherent with each other across time, such that a second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion.
The examiner disagrees.
Tsui is being used to show phase coherent positioning resources that are phase coherent across time, such that a second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion.
Tsui teaches positioning resources being phase-coherent with each other across time (see paragraph [0086]). Time coherence (or coherence time) can represent a duration over which amplitudes/phases of received signals are consistent. A coherence block may be equal to a number of Sounding Reference Signals (SRS) symbols with phases that are coherent over time. This reads on positioning resources that are phase-coherent with each other across time.
Tsui teaches a second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion (see paragraph [0086]). Time coherence can represent a duration over which phases of received signals are consistent, such that a number of SRS symbols have phases that are coherent over time. The received SRS symbols in Tsui with phases that are coherent over time indicate two or more signals that maintain a fixed, predictable phase relationship to one another as time passes. This reads on the claimed “second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion”.
Applicant argues that Tsui describes that a coherence block can be a measure of how long and how much a channel spectrum stays constant and that Tsui describes a characteristic of the channel and not a characteristic of the signals themselves.
The examiner disagrees.
As recited above Tsui describes that time coherence represents a duration over which phases of received signals are consistent, such that a number of SRS symbols have phases that are coherent over time. The received SRS symbols in Tsui with phases that are coherent over time indicate two or more signals that maintain a fixed, predictable phase relationship to one another as time passes. Thus, the Tsui describes a characteristic of the SRS signal being coherent over time.
Therefore, the combination of Cha, Tsui teach all the features of claims 1 and 16 and the combination of Xiao, Tsui teach all the features of claims 10 and 25. Accordingly, the rejection of claims 1 and 16 over Cha and Tsui and the rejection of claims 10 and 25 over Xaio and Tsui remain.
Claims 2-9, 11-15, 17-24, and 26-30 dependent from claims 1, 10, 15, and 25 and therefore are rejected at least by virtue of their dependence upon independent claims 1, 10, 15, and 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
IV. Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “defining a resource set comprising a plurality of phase-coherent positioning resources that are phase coherent with each other across time, such that a second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion” in lines 3-7.
It is unclear how the first transmission and second transmission relate to the plurality of phase-coherent positioning resources because the claim does not recite what type of signal the first and second transmissions refer to. The specification describes multiple occurrences of a positioning reference signals (PRS) signal transmission… each transmission occupying a PRS resource within a PRS resource set… (see the specification, page 43, paragraph [0029]) and three transmissions of a signal which have phase coherence relative to each other (see the specification, page 44, paragraph [0030]). However, because the claim does not particularly point out whether the first and second transmissions are positioning reference signal transmissions, it is unclear whether the phase-coherent positioning resources are used for the first and second transmissions. The limitation renders the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 2-9 are dependent on claim 1 and are rejected for indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons given above regarding claim 1.
Claims 10, 16, and 25 recite limitations similar to the ones recited above in claim 1. Therefore, claims 10, 16, and 25 are rejected for indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons given above regarding claim 1.
Claims 11-15, 17-24, 26-30 are dependent on claims 10, 16, and 25 and are rejected for indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons given above regarding claims 10, 16, and 25.
The following prior art rejection is based on the best possible interpretation of the claim language in light of the above rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
V. Claims 1-4 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (US 2021/0006372 A1) in view of Tsui (US 2022/0279535 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Cha teaches a method, performed by a base station (BS), of positioning (see paragraphs [0161] & [0218], A 5G system applicable to positioning of a UE connected to an NG-RAN including the BS may transmit PRS resource configuration to the UE. This reads on a method, performed by a base station (BS), of positioning) the method comprising: defining a resource set comprising a plurality of positioning resources (see paragraphs [0218] & [0222], The BS may transmit PRS resource configuration to the UE. A PRS configuration may include one or more PRSs configured as a PRS resource set. This reads on defining a resource set comprising a plurality of positioning resources); configuring a user equipment (UE) with the resource set (see paragraphs [0218] & [0223] and Fig. 18, The BS may transmit PRS resource configuration to the UE. A PRS configuration may include one or more PRSs configured as a PRS resource set. This reads on configuring a user equipment (UE) with the resource set); and using the plurality of positioning resources (see paragraphs [0218] & [0223] and Fig. 18, The BS may transmit PRS resource configuration to the UE. A PRS configuration may include one or more PRSs configured as a PRS resource set. This reads on using the plurality of positioning resources).
Cha does not specifically teach the positioning resources being phase-coherent positioning resources that are phase coherent with each other across time, such that a second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have had if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion.
Tsui teaches positioning resources being phase-coherent with each other across time (see paragraph [0086], Time coherence (or coherence time) can represent a duration over which amplitudes/phases of received signals are consistent. A coherence block may be equal to a number of Sounding Reference Signals (SRS) symbols with phases that are coherent over time. This reads on positioning resources that are phase-coherent with each other across time).
Tsui teaches a second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion (see paragraph [0086], Time coherence can represent a duration over which phases of received signals are consistent, such that a number of SRS symbols have phases that are coherent over time. The received SRS symbols in Tsui with phases that are coherent over time indicate two or more signals that maintain a fixed, predictable phase relationship to one another as time passes. This reads on second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positioning resources in Cha adapt to include being phase-coherent positioning resources that are phase coherent with each other across time, such that a second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have had if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion because the SRS symbols in Tsui are complementary signals that can be used together to determine UE location, with positioning reference signals (PRS) and using SRS resources that are phase coherent with each other across time indicates that complementary PRS resources can be phase coherent with each other across time in the same way. Using positioning reference signals that are phase coherent across time would allow for more efficient communication of positioning reference signal resources thereby increasing the accuracy of positioning (see Cha, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 2 Cha teaches wherein defining the resource set comprising a plurality of positioning resources comprising defining positioning reference signal (PRS) resources, sounding reference signal (SRS) resources, or a combination thereof (see paragraphs [0218] & [0223] and Fig. 18, The BS may transmit PRS resource configuration to the UE. A PRS configuration may include one or more PRSs configured as a PRS resource set. This reads on wherein defining the resource set comprising a plurality of positioning resources comprising defining positioning reference signal (PRS) resources, sounding reference signal (SRS) resources, or a combination thereof). Tsui teaches positioning resources being phase-coherent (see paragraph [0086], Time coherence (or coherence time) can represent a duration over which amplitudes/phases of received signals are consistent. A coherence block may be equal to a number of Sounding Reference Signals (SRS) symbols/samples with amplitudes and/or phases that are coherent across frequency and over time. This reads on resources being phase-coherent resources).
Regarding claim 3 Cha teaches using the plurality of positioning resources comprises transmitting PRS signals using the PRS resources (see Cha, paragraph [0218] and Fig. 18, transmitting the PRS resource set reads on using the plurality of positioning resources comprises transmitting PRS signals using the PRS resources), receiving SRS signals on SRS resources, or a combination thereof (see paragraph [0205], The eNB may use a UL signal such as a SRS and this reads on receiving SRS signals on SRS resources, or a combination thereof). Tsui teaches positioning resources being phase-coherent (see paragraph [0086], Time coherence (or coherence time) can represent a duration over which amplitudes/phases of received signals are consistent. A coherence block may be equal to a number of Sounding Reference Signals (SRS) symbols/samples with amplitudes and/or phases that are coherent across frequency and over time. This reads on resources being phase-coherent resources).
Regarding claim 4 Cha teaches using the plurality of positioning resources comprises using the plurality of positioning resources for sensing, for positioning, or for both (see paragraphs [0002] & [0161], a 5G system applicable to positioning of a UE connected to an NG-RAN reads on using the plurality of positioning resources comprises using the plurality of positioning resources for positioning). Tsui teaches positioning resources being phase-coherent (see paragraph [0086], Time coherence (or coherence time) can represent a duration over which amplitudes/phases of received signals are consistent. A coherence block may be equal to a number of Sounding Reference Signals (SRS) symbols/samples with amplitudes and/or phases that are coherent across frequency and over time. This reads on resources being phase-coherent resources).
Regarding claim 16 Cha teaches a base station (BS), comprising: a memory (104, Fig. 29); at least one transceiver (106, Fig. 29); and at least one processor (102, Fig. 29) (see paragraphs [0413] – [0414]) communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (see Fig. 29), the at least one processor configured to: define a resource set comprising a plurality of positioning resources (see paragraphs [0218] & [0222], The BS may transmit PRS resource configuration to the UE. A PRS configuration may include one or more PRSs configured as a PRS resource set. This reads on defining a resource set comprising a plurality of positioning resources); configure a user equipment (UE) with the resource set (see paragraphs [0218] & [0223] and Fig. 18, The BS may transmit PRS resource configuration to the UE. A PRS configuration may include one or more PRSs configured as a PRS resource set. This reads on configuring a user equipment (UE) with the resource set); and use the plurality of positioning resources (see paragraphs [0218] & [0223] and Fig. 18, The BS may transmit PRS resource configuration to the UE. A PRS configuration may include one or more PRSs configured as a PRS resource set. This reads on using the plurality of positioning resources).
Cha does not specifically teach the positioning resources being phase-coherent positioning resources that are phase coherent with each other across time, such that a second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have had if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion.
Tsui teaches positioning resources being phase-coherent with each other across time (see paragraph [0086], Time coherence (or coherence time) can represent a duration over which amplitudes/phases of received signals are consistent. A coherence block may be equal to a number of Sounding Reference Signals (SRS) symbols with phases that are coherent over time. This reads on positioning resources that are phase-coherent with each other across time).
Tsui teaches a second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion (see paragraph [0086], Time coherence can represent a duration over which phases of received signals are consistent, such that a number of SRS symbols have phases that are coherent over time. The received SRS symbols in Tsui with phases that are coherent over time indicate two or more signals that maintain a fixed, predictable phase relationship to one another as time passes. This reads on second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positioning resources in Cha adapt to include being phase-coherent positioning resources that are phase coherent with each other across time, such that a second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have had if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion because the SRS symbols in Tsui are complementary signals that can be used together to determine UE location, with positioning reference signals (PRS) and using SRS resources that are phase coherent with each other across time indicates that complementary PRS resources can be phase coherent with each other across time in the same way. Using positioning reference signals that are phase coherent across time would allow for more efficient communication of positioning reference signal resources thereby increasing the accuracy of positioning (see Cha, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 17 Cha and Tsui teach limitations as recited in claim 2 and therefore claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 18 Cha and Tsui teach limitations as recited in claim 3 and therefore claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 19 Cha and Tsui teach limitations as recited in claim 4 and therefore claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
VI. Claims 5-8 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (US 2021/0006372 A1) in view of Tsui (US 2022/0279535 A1) and Xiao (US 2014/0349582 A1).
Regarding claim 5 Cha and Tsui teaches the method of claim 1 except for wherein defining the resource set comprises defining the resource set in response to receiving, from a network entity, a request to define the phase-coherent positioning resources.
Xiao teaches receiving, from a network entity, a request to define the positioning resources (see paragraphs [0180] – [0181], The eSMLC requests the eNB to report the PRS configuration information to the eSMLC. This reads on receiving, from a network entity, a request to define the positioning resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Cha and Tsui combination adapt to include defining the resource set in response to receiving, from a network entity, a request to define the phase-coherent positioning resources because Cha indicates that both the location server and BS can transmit the PRS resource configuration information and it may allow for more efficient resource signaling in certain situations (see Xiao, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 6 Cha teaches wherein receiving the request to define positioning resources comprises receiving a request that specifies at least one property of the positioning resources and wherein defining the resource set comprises defining a resource set comprising a plurality of positioning resources having the at least one property (see paragraph [0222], To configure a specific PRS for a UE by a PRS configuration parameter, a PRS resource group set may be defined. A PRS configuration may include a configuration of a PRS resource ID, an occupied bandwidth, a periodicity, and the number of consecutive slots carrying a PRS, for each PRS resource. This reads on wherein receiving the request to define positioning resources comprises receiving a request that specifies at least one property of the positioning resources and wherein defining the resource set comprises defining a resource set comprising a plurality of positioning resources having the at least one property).
Regarding claim 7 Cha teaches wherein the at least one property of the positioning resources comprises: a bandwidth of the positioning resources; a periodicity of the positioning resources; a phase-coherence granularity of the positioning resources; or a combination thereof (see paragraph [0222], see paragraph [0222], To configure a specific PRS for a UE by a PRS configuration parameter, a PRS resource group set may be defined. A PRS configuration may include a configuration of a PRS resource ID, an occupied bandwidth, a periodicity, and the number of consecutive slots carrying a PRS, for each PRS resource. This reads on wherein the at least one property of the positioning resources comprises: a bandwidth of the positioning resources; a periodicity of the positioning resources; or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 8 Tsui teaches phase-coherence granularity of phase-coherent positioning resources comprises phase-coherence over time, phase-coherence over space, or phase-coherence over time and space (see paragraph [0086], Time coherence (or coherence time) can represent a duration over which amplitudes/phases of received signals are consistent. A coherence block may be equal to a number of Sounding Reference Signals (SRS) symbols/samples with amplitudes and/or phases that are coherent across frequency and over time. This reads on phase-coherence granularity of phase-coherent positioning resources comprises phase-coherence over time, phase-coherence over space, or phase-coherence over time and space).
Regarding claim 20 Cha, Tsui, and Xiao teach limitations as recited in claim 5 and therefore claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 21 Cha, Tsui, and Xiao teach limitations as recited in claim 6 and therefore claim 21 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 22 Cha, Tsui, and Xiao teach limitations as recited in claim 7 and therefore claim 22 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 23 Cha, Tsui, and Xiao teach limitations as recited in claim 8 and therefore claim 23 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
VII. Claims 9 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (US 2021/0006372 A1) in view of Tsui (US 2022/0279535 A1), Xiao (US 2014/0349582 A1), and Akkarakaran et al. (US 2020/0351047 A1).
Regarding claim 9 Cha, Tsui, and Xiao teach the method of claim 1 except for wherein defining the resource set comprises defining the resource set based on a capability of the UE to support phase-coherent positioning resources.
Akkarakaran teaches wherein defining the resource set comprises defining the resource set based on a capability of the UE to support phase-coherent positioning resources (see paragraphs [0133] & [0185], a capability indicator that indicates that the UE is capable of maintaining phase coherence for a PRS that spans multiple component carriers reads on wherein defining the resource set comprises defining the resource set based on a capability of the UE to support phase-coherent positioning resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Cha, Tsui, and Xiao combination adapt to include wherein defining the resource set comprises defining the resource set based on a capability of the UE to support phase-coherent positioning resources because this would allow for improved positioning accuracy by improving measurements in the downlink and uplink directions (see Akkarakaran, paragraph [0185]).
Regarding claim 24 Cha, Tsui, Xiao, and Akkarakaran teach limitations as recited in claim 9 and therefore claim 24 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
VIII. Claim 10-11 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao (US 2014/0349582 A1) in view of Tsui (US 2022/0279535 A1).
Regarding claim 10 Xiao teaches a method, performed by a network entity, of positioning (see abstract and paragraphs [0173] & [0180] and Fig. 14, A positioning method for a user equipment including an eSMLC requesting PRS configuration reads on a method, performed by a network entity, of positioning), the method comprising: sending, to a base station (BS) that serves a user equipment (UE), a request for a resource set comprising a plurality of positioning resources (see paragraph [0178] & [0180] and Fig. 14, The eSMLC requests the eNB to report the PRS time difference and its own PRS configuration information reads on sending, to a base station (BS) that serves a user equipment (UE), a request for a resource set comprising a plurality of positioning resources); receiving from the BS, the resource set comprising the plurality of positioning resources (see paragraph [0181] and Fig. 14, the eNB reporting its own PRS configuration information and the PRS time difference information to the eSMLC reads on receiving from the BS, the resource set comprising the plurality of positioning resources); and sending, to the UE, the resource set comprising the plurality of positioning resources (see paragraph [0183] and Fig. 14, the eSMLC sending the PRS information to the UE reads on sending, to the UE, the resource set comprising the plurality of positioning resources).
Xiao does not specifically teach the positioning resources being phase-coherent positioning resources that are phase coherent with each other across time, such that a second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have had if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion.
Tsui teaches positioning resources being phase-coherent with each other across time (see paragraph [0086], Time coherence (or coherence time) can represent a duration over which amplitudes/phases of received signals are consistent. A coherence block may be equal to a number of Sounding Reference Signals (SRS) symbols with phases that are coherent over time. This reads on positioning resources that are phase-coherent with each other across time).
Tsui teaches a second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion (see paragraph [0086], Time coherence can represent a duration over which phases of received signals are consistent, such that a number of SRS symbols have phases that are coherent over time. The received SRS symbols in Tsui with phases that are coherent over time indicate two or more signals that maintain a fixed, predictable phase relationship to one another as time passes. This reads on second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positioning resources in Cha adapt to include being phase-coherent positioning resources that are phase coherent with each other across time, such that a second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have had if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion because the SRS symbols in Tsui are complementary signals that can be used together to determine UE location, with positioning reference signals (PRS) and using SRS resources that are phase coherent with each other across time indicates that complementary PRS resources can be phase coherent with each other across time in the same way. Using positioning reference signals that are phase coherent across time would allow for more efficient communication of positioning reference signal resources thereby increasing the accuracy of positioning (see Xiao, abstract).
Regarding claim 11 Xiao teaches wherein defining the resource set comprising a plurality of positioning resources comprising defining positioning reference signal (PRS) resources, sounding reference signal (SRS) resources, or a combination thereof (see paragraph [0181] and Fig. 14, the eNB reporting its own PRS configuration information and PRS time differential information indicates that PRS resources are configured and reads on wherein defining the resource set comprising a plurality of positioning resources comprising defining positioning reference signal (PRS) resources, sounding reference signal (SRS) resources, or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 25 Xiao teaches a network entity, comprising: a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor (e.g. computer) communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (see paragraph [0053] and Fig. 17), the at least one processor configured to: send, to a base station (BS) that serves a user equipment (UE), a request for a resource set comprising a plurality of positioning resources (see paragraph [0178] & [0180] and Fig. 14, The eSMLC requests the eNB to report the PRS time difference and its own PRS configuration information reads on sending, to a base station (BS) that serves a user equipment (UE), a request for a resource set comprising a plurality of positioning resources); receive from the BS, the resource set comprising the plurality of positioning resources (see paragraph [0181] and Fig. 14, the eNB reporting its own PRS configuration information and the PRS time difference information to the eSMLC reads on receiving from the BS, the resource set comprising the plurality of positioning resources); and send, to the UE, the resource set comprising the plurality of positioning resources (see paragraph [0183] and Fig. 14, the eSMLC sending the PRS information to the UE reads on sending, to the UE, the resource set comprising the plurality of positioning resources).
Xiao does not specifically teach the positioning resources being phase-coherent positioning resources that are phase coherent with each other across time, such that a second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have had if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion.
Tsui teaches positioning resources being phase-coherent with each other across time (see paragraph [0086], Time coherence (or coherence time) can represent a duration over which amplitudes/phases of received signals are consistent. A coherence block may be equal to a number of Sounding Reference Signals (SRS) symbols with phases that are coherent over time. This reads on positioning resources that are phase-coherent with each other across time).
Tsui teaches a second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion (see paragraph [0086], Time coherence can represent a duration over which phases of received signals are consistent, such that a number of SRS symbols have phases that are coherent over time. The received SRS symbols in Tsui with phases that are coherent over time indicate two or more signals that maintain a fixed, predictable phase relationship to one another as time passes. This reads on second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positioning resources in Cha adapt to include being phase-coherent positioning resources that are phase coherent with each other across time, such that a second transmission during a second transmission occasion has the same phase as a first transmission during first transmission occasion would have had if the first transmission had continued up to the second transmission occasion because the SRS symbols in Tsui are complementary signals that can be used together to determine UE location, with positioning reference signals (PRS) and using SRS resources that are phase coherent with each other across time indicates that complementary PRS resources can be phase coherent with each other across time in the same way. Using positioning reference signals that are phase coherent across time would allow for more efficient communication of positioning reference signal resources thereby increasing the accuracy of positioning (see Xiao, abstract).
Regarding claim 26 Cha, Akkarakaran, and Xiao teach limitations as recited in claim 11 and therefore claim 26 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
IX. Claims 12-13, 15, 27-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao (US 2014/0349582 A1) in view of Tsui (US 2022/0279535 A1) and Cha (US 2021/0006372 A1).
Regarding claim 12 Xiao and Tsui teach the method of claim 10 except for wherein the request for the resource set specifies at least one property of the phase-coherent positioning resources.
Cha teaches specifying at least one property of the positioning resources (see paragraph [0222], To configure a specific PRS for a UE by a PRS configuration parameter, a PRS resource group set may be defined. A PRS configuration may include a configuration of a PRS resource ID, an occupied bandwidth, a periodicity, and the number of consecutive slots carrying a PRS, for each PRS resource. This reads on specifying at least one property of the positioning resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Xiao and Tsui combination adapt to include specifying at least one property of the positioning resources because it would allow for a specific PRS set for a UE to be configured (see Cha, paragraph [0222]).
Regarding claim 13 Cha teaches wherein the at least one property of the positioning resources comprises: a bandwidth of the positioning resources; a periodicity of the positioning resources; a phase-coherence granularity of the positioning resources; or a combination thereof (see paragraph [0222], see paragraph [0222], To configure a specific PRS for a UE by a PRS configuration parameter, a PRS resource group set may be defined. A PRS configuration may include a configuration of a PRS resource ID, an occupied bandwidth, a periodicity, and the number of consecutive slots carrying a PRS, for each PRS resource. This reads on wherein the at least one property of the positioning resources comprises: a bandwidth of the positioning resources; a periodicity of the positioning resources; or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 15 Cha teaches wherein receiving the resource set comprises receiving the resource set comprising a plurality of positioning resources having the at least one property (see paragraph [0222], To configure a specific PRS for a UE by a PRS configuration parameter, a PRS resource group set may be defined. A PRS configuration may include a configuration of a PRS resource ID, an occupied bandwidth, a periodicity, and the number of consecutive slots carrying a PRS, for each PRS resource. This reads on receiving the resource set comprises receiving the resource set comprising a plurality of positioning resources having the at least one property).
Regarding claim 27 Xiao, Tsui, and Cha teach limitations as recited in claim 12 and therefore claim 27 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 28 Xiao, Tsui, and Cha teach limitations as recited in claim 13 and therefore claim 28 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 30 Xiao, Tsui, and Cha teach limitations as recited in claim 15 and therefore claim 30 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
X. Claims 14 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao (US 2014/0349582 A1) in view of Tsui (US 2022/0279535 A1), Cha (US 2021/0006372 A1), and Akkarakaran et al. (US 2020/0351047 A1).
Regarding claim 14 Xiao, Tsui, and Cha teach the method of claim 12 except for wherein at least one property of the phase-coherent position resources is determined based on a capability of the BS, a capability of the UE, or a combination thereof.
Akkarakaran teaches at least one property of the phase-coherent position resources is determined based on a capability of the BS, a capability of the UE, or a combination thereof (see paragraphs [0133] & [0185], a capability indicator that indicates that the UE is capable of maintaining phase coherence for a PRS that spans multiple component carriers reads at least one property of the phase-coherent position resources is determined based on a capability of the BS, a capability of the UE, or a combination thereof).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the 14 Xiao, Tsui, and Cha combination adapt to include at least one property of the phase-coherent position resources is determined based on a capability of the BS, a capability of the UE, or a combination thereof because this would allow for improved positioning accuracy by improving measurements in the downlink and uplink directions (see Akkarakaran, paragraph [0185]).
Regarding claim 29 Xiao, Tsui, Cha, and Akkarakaran teach limitations as recited in claim 14 and therefore claim 29 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
XI. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON J MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
October 8, 2026