DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tham et al. (US Patent No.11,275,453; hereinafter Tham) in view of Mallinson (US Patent Publication No. 2018/0095542).
With reference to claims 1, 8, and 15, Tham discloses a computer-based method of AI-based direction awareness during content engagement (see column 4, lines 55-57; column 5, lines 32-48: Figs. 1-4, 8), a computer system and computer program product comprising: one or more processors, one or more computer-readable tangible storage medium memories, and program instructions stored on at least one of the one or more computer-readable tangible storage medium for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more computer-readable memories (see column 20, line 39-column 21, line 21), wherein the computer system is capable of performing a the method comprising:
receiving a query from a user on a primary device (100) and data relating to an orientation of the primary device (100) (see column 11, lines 8-45; column 18, lines 31-65; Fig. 4, 8);
presenting display content (650) to the user on the primary device (100) based on the query and the orientation (see column 16, line 45-column 17, line 6);
determining whether directional input (610) is received from the user based on one or more actions of the user (see column 16, lines 29-34; Fig. 8);
in response to determining the directional input is received from the user, identifying a relative distance and direction of one or more wearable devices (500) to the primary device (100) (see column 14, lines 30-40; Fig. 4);
determining a reference object (700) based on the relative distance and direction (see column 16, lines 29-62; Fig. 8);
identifying a scaled distance of the one or more wearable devices to the reference object based on a scale of the display content (in teaching correlation between path (655) and course (610); see column 16, lines 29-62; Fig. 8); and
adjusting the presented display content to include the reference object in a center of a screen of the primary device based on the scaled distance (see column 16, line 63-column 17, line 6; column 17, lines 16-38; Fig. 8).
While disclosing determining a reference object as explained, Tham fails to disclose the reference object is in a real-world environment as recited.
Mallinson discloses a system and method for interacting with a virtual space using a head mounted display (104) (see abstract; paragraphs 36-37, Fig. 2C), wherein the system and method determines a reference object (221’) in a real-world surrounding environment (100) of the user (102) based on the relative distance and direction (see paragraphs 67-68, 70,78-79, Figs. 2, 4-5); identifying a scaled distance of the one or more wearable devices (104) to the reference object in the real-world surrounding environment based on a scale of the display content (see paragraphs 62-63; Figs. 4-5); and adjusting the presented display content to include the reference object of a screen of the primary device based on the scaled distance (see paragraphs 70-72; Figs. 4A-E).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow determining a real-world object for interaction similar to that which is taught by Mallinson to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Tham to thereby allow rendering images of objects for user interaction based on their location with the user in a real-world space (see Mallinson; paragraph 85).
With reference to claims 2, 9, and 16, Tham and Mallinson disclose the computer-based method of claim 1, 8, or 15, wherein Tham further discloses constructing a complete query including the query, the directional input (610, 665), and the reference object (700), wherein the presented display content is adjusted based on the complete query (see column 4, lines 55-57; column 5, lines 32-48: Figs. 1-4, 8).
With reference to claims 3, 10, and 17, Tham and Mallinson disclose the computer-based method of claim 2, 9 or 16, wherein Tham further discloses, wherein the adjusted display content is presented to the user with an identical scale to the scale of the display content (in teaching correlation between path (655) and course (610); see column 16, lines 29-62; Fig. 8)
With reference to claims 4, 11, and 18, Tham and Mallinson disclose the computer-based method of claim 1, 8, or 15, wherein Tham further discloses wherein the one or more actions of the user include a hand gesture, an eye gesture, and a voice command of the user (see column 11, lines 46-60; column 16, lines 3-16; column 18, lines 31-65; Fig. 4, 8-9).
With reference to claims 5, 12, and 19, Tham and Mallinson disclose the computer-based method of claim 4, 11, or 18, wherein Tham further discloses wherein a change in the eye gesture of the user results in the detection of a different reference object (in teaching eye tracking see column 11, lines 46-60; column 16, lines 3-16; Fig. 8).
With reference to claims 7 and 14, Tham and Mallinson disclose the computer-based method of claim 1 or 8, wherein Tham further discloses wherein the wearable device is selected from a group consisting of a smartwatch and a smart ring (500) (see column 8, lines 39-47; Figs. 8-9).
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tham in view of Mallinson as applied to claim 1, 8, or 15 above, and further in view of Tsubotani et al. (US Patent Publication 2015/0207833)
With reference to claim 6, 13, and 20, Tham and Mallinson disclose discloses the computer-based method of claim 1, 8, or 15, and while disclosing the usage of voice commands from the user, there fails to be specific disclosure of relocating as recited.
Tsubotani discloses wherein adjusting the presented display content further comprises: relocating at least one object (41) that is blocking a view of the reference object (2-4) on the primary device in response to a command from the user to relocate the at least one object (see paragraphs 85-89; Figs. 10-14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow relocation of an object similar to that which is taught by Tsubotani to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Tham and Mallinson disclose to thereby insure that overlap between objects is solved (see Tsubotani; paragraph 85).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LIN et al. (USPub2016/0286350) discloses a positioning system comprising a handheld electronic device and a wearable device paired thereto to perform wireless transmission to obtain absolute location (see paragraphs 45-54; Figs. 1-4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADE/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625