DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of application #17/930,745 filed on 09/09/2022 in which claims 1-12 have been presented for prosecution in a first action on the merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2022, 02/11/2024 and 05/14/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner and placed of record. Initialed copies are attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al., (Park) US 2019/0131057 A1 in view of Kishi et al., (Kishi) US 2018/0190435.
Regarding claim 1: Park at least discloses and shows in Figs. 1,4-6A,6B:s A wireless charge coil(110) for wireless charging of a portable terminal(10)(see Fig. 1), the wireless charge coil(110) comprising: an installation member(120)(see Fig. 3, ¶[0079]); and a conducting wire((130)[Wingdings font/0xE0](140,150))(¶[0081]) portion arranged at the installation member(120), wherein the conducting wire portion comprises a conductor(150a)(made of copper (Cu); see ¶[0116]) and a magnetic material plating layer(150b)(made of nickel (Ni) -note Nickel is a magnetic material, see ¶[0116]) material; see Fig. 5) arranged on at least one surface of the conductor(120)(see ¶[0113]).
Park discloses all the claimed invention except for the limitations of:
and the magnetic material plating layer has a thickness of about 1 µm to about 8 µm.
However Kishi discloses(¶[0130]) factual evidence of, the magnetic material plating layer(Nickel layer; Note- the nickel layer is not less than about 1 μm and not more than about 8 μm) has a thickness of about 1 µm to about 8 µm.
Park and Kishi are magnetic materials analogous art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the magnetic material plating layer to have a thickness of about 1 µm to about 8 µm as taught by Kishi, for the advantages of reducing or preventing erosion of the external electrode, as per the teachings of Kishi (¶[0131]).
Accordingly claim 1 would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 2, Park in view of Ishi discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Park further discloses, wherein the conductor(150) includes a lead frame material (1431)(see Fig. 14)(see ¶[0178]-¶[0179]).
Regarding claim 3, Park in view of Ishi discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Park further discloses, wherein the magnetic material plating layer(150b) is a permalloy plating layer(note-Nickel is a permalloy magnetic material).
Regarding claim 4, Park in view of Ishi discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Park further discloses, wherein one surface(surface of 150a) of the conductor(150) is in contact with the installation member(120)(see Fig. 8), and the magnetic material plating layer(150b) is arranged on a remaining surface of the conductor(150), excluding the surface which is in contact with the installation member(see element 125 in Fig. 8 between the two surfaces).
Regarding claim 6, Park in view of Ishi discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Park further discloses, wherein at least a part of the conductor(150) has a divided structure(150a and 150b)(see Fig. 8).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al., (Park) US 2019/0131057 A1 in view of Kishi et al., (Kishi) US 2018/0190435 and in further view of Carson et al., (Carlson) USPAT 4,521,755 and Hancock US 2010/003017 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Park in view of Ishi discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1 but fails to expressly disclose the limitations of:
wherein, when a skin depth is δ, a width of the conductor is 1.5δ to 4δ, and
the skin depth δ satisfies the following equation:
δ=1/√(πfµσ)
where f represents an applied frequency, µ represents a conductor permeability, and σ represents a conductivity.
Carlson discloses and shows in Fig. 14 and (¶[0105],¶[0107), factual evidence of, wherein, when a skin depth is δ, a width of the conductor is 1δ to 4δ, and the skin depth δ satisfies the following equation:
δ=1/√(πfµσ)
Furthermore, Hancock teaches (page 26 and Equation 3)s that the percentage of power transferred is a function of material thickness of the conductor and the skin depth as shown in Equation 3 of Page 26 as follows:
%P=(1-
e
-
x
/
δ
) x 100
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to avail of the teachings of Carlson and Hancock in selecting, wherein, when a skin depth is δ, a width of the conductor is 1δ to 4δ, and the skin depth δ satisfies the following equation:
δ=1/√(πfµσ), as recited so as to minimize transmission loss, as per the teachings of Carlson (col. 6, lines 46-48) and for further advantages of maximizing the percentage of power transferred since a 1.5δ to 4δ result in a 77.6% to 98.2% of the power will be transported and transferred, as per the teachings of Hancock (¶[0107]).
Accordingly claim 5 would have been obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 are allowed over the current prior art of record.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest, in the claimed combination, a wireless charge coil for wireless charging of a portable terminal, the wireless charge coil having an overall winding shape of a donut, an internal diameter greater than or equal to about 25 mm and an external diameter less than or equal to about 50 mm, and comprising: an installation member; and a conducting wire portion arranged at the installation member, wherein the conducting wire portion comprises a conductor and a magnetic material plating layer arranged on at least one surface of the conductor, and wherein the conductor has a thickness of about 50 µm to about 300 µm, and the magnetic material plating layer has a thickness of about 1 µm to about 8 µm.
Claims 8-12 depend directly from claim 7 and thus is also allowed for the same reasons.
Citation of Prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For a list of cited prior art documents not relied upon but disclosing related prior art, see form PTO 892.
Conclusion
M'BAYE DIAO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/M BAYE DIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 May 19, 2025