Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Instantly claimed “average electronegativity” would be given its broadest and reasonable interpretation based on its definition, i.e. such “average electronegativity” is defined according to Sanderson’s expression (see filed specification para. [0018], also the expression in claim 1). Based on such description, such “average electronegativity” is determined by its composition. Therefore, once a same catalyst composition is found in the prior art, the claimed average electronegativity is presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 ((a) (1)) as being anticipated by, or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Toledo et al ( Magnesia-supported potassium oxide catalysts for soot combustion: effect of Fe addition on the catalyst activity and stability, Reac Kinet Mech Cat (2014) 113:487–497).
Toledo et al. teaches a catalyst consisting of a MgO supporting potassium (page 489-page 490Experimental section). Toledo et al. also teaches the concentration of Mg and K in such catalyst can be analyzed by atomic absorption spectroscopy (AAS) (page 490 Catalysts characterization section, table 2), wherein in the K/MgO catalyst the molar (i.e. atomic) ratio of (K/Mg)XPS being 0.031, while (K/Mg)XPS/ (K/Mg)AAS being 1.39 (table 2), therefore, the atomic i.e. molar ratio of (K/Mg)AAS=(K/Mg)XPS/1.39=0.031/1.39=0.0223, which is 2.23%. Therefore the atomic (i.e. molar) ratio of K/(K+Mg) (in K/MgO catalyst) =0.0223/(1+0.0223)=0.0218%, i.e. 2.18%.
Regarding claim 1, Toledo et al. does not expressly teach the catalyst having an average electronegativity of 2.1 or more and 2.8 or less. However, Toledo et al. already teaches a same or substantially the same catalyst composition as that of instantly claimed, therefore, same property or substantially the same property, i.e. average electronegativity as that of instantly claimed based on the recited Sanderson’s expression would be associated or expected.
Regarding claim 3, Toledo et al. already teaches such limitations.
Regarding claim 6, Toledo et al. does not require catalyst having any acid amount, therefore, Toledo et al. disclosed catalyst having 0.3 mmol/g or less acid with respect to 1g of the catalyst. Furthermore, Toledo et al. already teaches a same or substantially the same catalyst composition as that of instantly claimed, therefore, same property or substantially the same property, i.e. same acid amount with respect to 1g of the catalyst being 0.3 mmol/g or less as that of instantly claimed would be associated or expected.
Regarding claim 7, as for the claimed catalyst “is used for producing, from isobutanol, at least one dehydrogenated compound selected from the group consisting of isobutyl aldehyde and methacrolein”, it is noted that such limitation does not structurally limit the instantly claimed catalyst composition, rather an intended usage associated with the claimed catalyst composition. Toledo et al. already teaches a same or substantially the same catalyst composition as discussed above.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 ((a) (1)) as being anticipated by, or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Schiodt ( US7998897).
Schiodt teaches a catalyst consisting potassium and a mixture of zinc alumina spinel and zinc oxide (col. 2 lines 60-66, claim 1-2). Shiodt also specifically teaches Zn/Al molar ratio is 0.65-0.7, preferably 0.7 and the catalyst contains Zn in an amount of 31-34 wt. % preferably 33 wt%, and K in an amount of 2.7-3.0 wt %, preferably 2.8 wt % (claim 5, col. 4 43-47), based on such Zn amount, for 1 gram of such catalyst, there is 0.33 g of Zn, Zn has a molar mass of 65 g/mol, Zn molar mass is 0.33/65=0.00508 mol, based on Zn/Al molar ratio being 0.7, the Al molar mass will be 0.00508/0.7=0.00725, K (molar mass 39 g/mole) content will be 0.028/39=7.18x10-4 mol, therefore, the K molar ratio to the total metal in the catalyst is 7.18x10-4/(7.18x10-4+0.00508+0.00725)=0.055, which is 5.5%.
Regarding claim 1, Schiodt does not expressly teach the catalyst having an average electronegativity of 2.1 or more and 2.8 or less. However, Schiodt already teaches a same or substantially the same catalyst composition as that of instantly claimed, therefore, same property or substantially the same property, i.e. average electronegativity as that of instantly claimed based on the recited Sanderson’s expression would be associated or expected.
Regarding claim 3-4, Schiodt already teaches such limitations.
Regarding claim 6, Schiodt does not require catalyst having any acid amount, therefore, Schiodt disclosed catalyst having 0.3 mmol/g or less acid with respect to 1g of the catalyst. Furthermore, Schiodt already teaches a same or substantially the same catalyst composition as that of instantly claimed, therefore, same property or substantially the same property, i.e. same acid amount with respect to 1g of the catalyst being 0.3 mmol/g or less as that of instantly claimed would be associated or expected.
Regarding claim 7, as for the claimed catalyst “is used for producing, from isobutanol, at least one dehydrogenated compound selected from the group consisting of isobutyl aldehyde and methacrolein”, it is noted that such limitation does not structurally limit the instantly claimed catalyst composition, rather an intended usage associated with the claimed catalyst composition. Schiodt already teaches a same or substantially the same catalyst composition as discussed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/01/2025 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JUN LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732