Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Batikoff does not teach Features 1 and 2 which are present in claim 1. Examiner does not rely on Batikoff to teach these features in the rejections presented in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 06/11/2025.
Applicant further argues that Sato does not teach Feature 1 of claim 1, stating that “it is impossible to synchronize the DC-DC circuit 9a with the DC-DC converter 3a by means of duty3 and duty5”, or duty4 and duty6, and therefore does not teach synchronizing the first voltage conversion circuit with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant appears to be limiting the claim language to a narrower interpretation than that afforded by the examiner, in that the second voltage conversion circuit contains controllable switches which are switched at the same time or rate as the controlled switches present in the first voltage conversion circuit, however the Specification does not appear to limit the claim language to only this definition. DC/DC converters are understood in the art to be considered synchronized/synchronous when a MOSFET is used to instead of a diode in the conventional non-synchronous design. Therefore, the examiner believes the combination continues to read on the claim language since Sato teaches switches Q1-Q4 of the first voltage conversion circuit being controlled based on the measured Vout output from the post-stage voltage conversion circuit.
Additionally, applicant argues that Shend fails to teach Feature 2 of claim 1, stating that “Sheng is entirely silent as to providing feedback information from the to-be-charged device to the secondary-side circuit 350 for output voltage adjustments”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Sheng teaches the adapter may automatically adjust the voltage output to meet the requirements of the device, after receiving communication from the device over the data communication channel. The power adapter further controls the secondary-side circuit 350 to either operate as a “Singler” or “Doubler” as shown in Fig.3 through control signals E-H, J, & K. Therefore, Sheng teaches the second voltage conversion circuit receiving feedback information, the control signals based on the communication from device over the data channel, and converts the voltage output from the secondary winding into the target voltage based on the feedback, by doubling the 10 VAC present at the secondary winding to an output of 20 VDC.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “without providing such feedback information to the primary side of the transformer” or “real-time performance of the adjustment”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant states that Mangtani does not make up for the deficiencies of Batikoff, Sato, and Sheng, and does not teach Features 1 and 2 of claim 1. Examiner does not rely on Mangtani to teach these features in the rejections presented in this Office Action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 11, 12, & 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11, & 28 of copending Application No. 17/941593 (Amended 12/11/2025), as shown in the table below, in view of Sato et al. (USPGPN 2018/0166903 A1) and Sheng et al. (USPGPN 2019/0068069 A1 – published Feb. 28, 2019).
Instant Application 17/930987
Conflicting Copending Application 17/941593
1. A power supply conversion circuit, comprising: a first voltage conversion circuit, a post-stage voltage conversion circuit, and a signal feedback circuit;
wherein the first voltage conversion circuit is connected to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit, and the signal feedback circuit is connected to the first voltage conversion circuit and the post-stage voltage conversion circuit individually;
wherein the first voltage conversion circuit is configured to convert, in response to a voltage input to the first voltage circuit exceeding a preset voltage range, the voltage input to the first voltage conversion circuit to be within the preset voltage range to thereby obtain a converted voltage, and output the converted voltage to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit; wherein the post-stage voltage conversion circuit is configured to convert the converted voltage input to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit into a target voltage, and output the target voltage;
and wherein the signal feedback circuit is configured to feed back, based on output of the post- stage voltage conversion circuit, information to the first voltage conversion circuit, to thereby make the first voltage conversion circuit be synchronized with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit;
wherein the post-stage voltage conversion circuit comprises a transformer and a second voltage conversion circuit connected at a secondary winding of the transformer, and the second voltage conversion circuit is configured to receive feedback information of a device to be charged connected to the power supply conversion circuit, and convert the voltage output from the secondary winding into the target voltage based on the feedback information.
1. A power supply circuit, comprising: a rectifier circuit, configured to convert an alternating current into a direct current;
a primary power supply conversion circuit, having an input end connected with an output end of the rectifier circuit, configured to adjust an input voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is out of a preset voltage range into an output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit within the preset voltage range;
and a secondary power supply conversion circuit having an input end connected with an output end of the primary power supply conversion circuit, configured to convert the output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit into a target direct current voltage;
wherein a lower limit of the preset voltage range is greater than a minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit;
wherein the secondary power supply conversion circuit comprises a transformer, a power management chip, and a feedback circuit, the power management chip having a switch control end and a feedback end; a first end of a primary winding of the transformer is connected with an output end of the primary power supply conversion circuit, and a second end of the primary winding of the transformer is connected with the switch control end of the power management chip; and
an input end of the feedback circuit is connected with the primary winding of the transformer or a secondary winding of the transformer, and an output end of the feedback circuit is connected with the feedback end of the power management chip.
2. The power supply conversion circuit according to claim 1, further comprising a rectifier circuit, wherein an output end of the rectifier circuit is connected to an input end of the first voltage conversion circuit; and wherein the rectifier circuit is configured to convert an alternating current (AC) voltage input to the rectifier circuit into a pulsating direct current (DC) voltage, and output the pulsating DC voltage to the first voltage conversion circuit.
1. A power supply circuit, comprising: a rectifier circuit, configured to convert an alternating current into a direct current;
a primary power supply conversion circuit, having an input end connected with an output end of the rectifier circuit, configured to adjust an input voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is out of a preset voltage range into an output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit within the preset voltage range;
and a secondary power supply conversion circuit having an input end connected with an output end of the primary power supply conversion circuit, configured to convert the output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit into a target direct current voltage;
wherein a lower limit of the preset voltage range is greater than a minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit;
wherein the secondary power supply conversion circuit comprises a transformer, a power management chip, and a feedback circuit, the power management chip having a switch control end and a feedback end; a first end of a primary winding of the transformer is connected with an output end of the primary power supply conversion circuit, and a second end of the primary winding of the transformer is connected with the switch control end of the power management chip; and an input end of the feedback circuit is connected with the primary winding of the transformer or a secondary winding of the transformer, and an output end of the feedback circuit is connected with the feedback end of the power management chip.
11. A charging device, comprising: a power access port, a charging interface, and a power supply conversion circuit;
wherein the power access port is configured to input an AC power;
wherein the power supply conversion circuit comprises: a first voltage conversion circuit, a post-stage voltage conversion circuit, and a signal feedback circuit; the first voltage conversion circuit is connected to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit, and the signal feedback circuit is connected to the first voltage conversion circuit and the post-stage voltage conversion circuit individually; wherein the first voltage conversion circuit is configured to convert, in response to a voltage input to the first voltage circuit exceeding a preset voltage range, the voltage input to the first voltage conversion circuit to be within the preset voltage range to thereby obtain a converted voltage, and output the converted voltage to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit;
wherein the post-stage voltage conversion circuit is configured to convert the converted voltage input to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit into a target voltage, and output the target voltage;
wherein the signal feedback circuit is configured to feedback, based on output of the post- stage voltage conversion circuit, information to the first voltage conversion circuit, to thereby make the first voltage conversion circuit be synchronized with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit;
wherein the charging interface is configured to output the target voltage output from the post-stage voltage conversion circuit to thereby charge a device to be charged;
wherein the post-stage voltage conversion circuit comprises a transformer and a second voltage conversion circuit connected at a secondary winding of the transformer, and the second voltage conversion circuit is configured to receive feedback information of a device to be charged connected to the power supply conversion circuit, and convert the voltage output from the secondary winding into the target voltage based on the feedback information.
11. A charging device, comprising: a power supply access port and a power supply circuit, the power supply access port being configured to receive an alternating current via a power supply;
wherein the power supply circuit comprises: a rectifier circuit, configured to adjust the alternating current from the power supply access port into a direct current;
a primary power supply conversion circuit, having an input end connected with an output end of the rectifier circuit, configured to convert an input voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is out of a preset voltage range into an output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit within the preset voltage range; and a secondary power supply conversion circuit having an input end connected with an output end of the primary power supply conversion circuit, configured to convert the output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit into a target direct current voltage;
wherein a lower limit of the preset voltage range is greater than a minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit, and an output end of the secondary power supply conversion circuit of the power supply circuit is configured to be connected with a device to be charged;
wherein the secondary power supply conversion circuit comprises a transformer, a power management chip, and a feedback circuit;
and wherein the power management chip having a switch control end and a feedback end; a first end of a primary winding of the transformer is connected with an output end of the primary power supply conversion circuit, and a second end of the primary winding of the transformer is connected with the switch control end of the power management chip; and
an input end of the feedback end is connected with the primary winding of the transformer or a secondary winding of the transformer, and an output end of the feedback end is connected with the feedback end of the power management chip;
an isolated winding of the transformer is isolated from a primary side of the transformer and connected with the power supply terminal of the power management chip, and is configured to supply power to the power management chip.
12. The charging device according to claim 11, wherein the power supply conversion circuit further comprises a rectifier circuit, and an output end of the rectifier circuit is connected to an input end of the first voltage conversion circuit; wherein the rectifier circuit is configured to convert an AC voltage input to the rectifier circuit into a pulsating DC voltage, and output the pulsating DC voltage to the first voltage conversion circuit.
11. A charging device, comprising: a power supply access port and a power supply circuit, the power supply access port being configured to receive an alternating current via a power supply;
wherein the power supply circuit comprises: a rectifier circuit, configured to adjust the alternating current from the power supply access port into a direct current; a primary power supply conversion circuit, having an input end connected with an output end of the rectifier circuit, configured to convert an input voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is out of a preset voltage range into an output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit within the preset voltage range; and
a secondary power supply conversion circuit having an input end connected with an output end of the primary power supply conversion circuit, configured to convert the output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit into a target direct current voltage;
wherein a lower limit of the preset voltage range is greater than a minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit, and an output end of the secondary power supply conversion circuit of the power supply circuit is configured to be connected with a device to be charged;
wherein the secondary power supply conversion circuit comprises a transformer, a power management chip, and a feedback circuit; and wherein the power management chip having a switch control end and a feedback end; a first end of a primary winding of the transformer is connected with an output end of the primary power supply conversion circuit, and a second end of the primary winding of the transformer is connected with the switch control end of the power management chip; and an input end of the feedback end is connected with the primary winding of the transformer or a secondary winding of the transformer, and an output end of the feedback end is connected with the feedback end of the power management chip;
an isolated winding of the transformer is isolated from a primary side of the transformer and connected with the power supply terminal of the power management chip, and is configured to supply power to the power management chip.
22. The power supply conversion circuit according to claim 1, wherein the post-stage voltage conversion circuit further comprises an AC-DC power management chip, the AC- DC power management chip comprises a switch control terminal, a feedback terminal, and a power supply terminal;
a first end of a primary winding of the transformer is connected to an output end of the first voltage conversion circuit, and a second end of the primary winding is connected to the switch control terminal;
the secondary winding of the transformer is connected to an input end of the second voltage conversion circuit;
a winding is separately led out from the primary side of the transformer and connected to the power supply terminal of the AC-DC power management chip; and
an output end of the signal feedback circuit is connected to the feedback terminal, and a voltage feedback signal is transmitted back from an output of the second voltage conversion circuit through a comparator, a first resistor, a second resistor, and an optical coupler of the signal feedback circuit to the feedback terminal.
1. wherein the secondary power supply conversion circuit comprises a transformer, a power management chip, and a feedback circuit, the power management chip having a switch control end, a feedback end, and a power supply terminal; a first end of a primary winding of the transformer is connected with an output end of the primary power supply conversion circuit, and a second end of the primary winding of the transformer is connected with the switch control end of the power management chip; and an input end of the feedback circuit is connected with the primary winding of the transformer or a secondary winding of the transformer, and an output end of the feedback circuit is connected with the feedback end of the power management chip;
an isolated winding of the transformer is isolated from a primary side of the transformer and connected with the power supply terminal of the power management chip, and is configured to supply power to the power management chip.
28. The power supply circuit according to claim 9, wherein a voltage feedback signal is passed back from the secondary winding of the transformer through a comparator, a first resistor, a second resistor, and an optical coupler of the feedback circuit to the feedback end of the power management chip.
The instant application claims differ from the conflicting copending application claims in that the signal feedback circuit of the copending application is not configured to feed back, based on output of the post-stage voltage conversion circuit, information to the first voltage conversion circuit, to thereby make the first voltage conversion circuit be synchronized with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit; and the post stage conversion circuit comprises a second voltage conversion circuit connected at a secondary winding of the transformer, and the second voltage conversion circuit is configured to receive feedback information of a device to be charged connected to the power supply conversion circuit, and convert the voltage output from the secondary winding into the target voltage based on the feedback information..
However, Sato teaches a power converter which uses a feedback circuit (Fig.1, 11) that synchronizes the first voltage conversion circuit (Fig.1, 9A) with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (Fig.1, 3a) (Figs.4A & 4B, duty4 for switches Q1-Q4 & duty5 for Q5) based on an output of the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (Figs.4A & 4B, Vout).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the copending application to configure the signal feedback circuit to synchronize the first voltage conversion circuit with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit using an output of the post-stage voltage conversion circuit. Doing so may help increase efficiency and stabilize the operation of the post-stage voltage conversion circuit, as evidenced by Sato.
Moreover, Sheng (Fig.3) teaches a power converter in which a post-stage converter comprises a transformer (340) and a second voltage conversion circuit (350) connected at a secondary winding, and the second voltage conversion circuit is adjusted based on feedback information of a device to be charged (¶0039: data communication channel allows the adapter to automatically adjust the voltage output to meet the requirements of the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Batikoff with Sheng to include a transformer and a second voltage conversion circuit after the first voltage conversion circuit. Doing so allows for a greater voltage conversion ratio from input to output, as evidenced by Sheng (20:1 vs 2:1), and allows the charger to be used for multiple devices requiring different charging voltages.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 11-13, 15-18, & 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batikoff et al. (USPGPN 2014/0354245 A1 – published Dec. 4, 2014), in view of Sato et al. (USPGPN 2018/0166903 A1 – published Jun. 14, 2018).
Regarding Claim 1, Batikoff (Figs.2A & 5) teaches a power supply conversion circuit, comprising:
a first voltage conversion circuit (210), a post-stage voltage conversion circuit (220), and a signal feedback circuit (230);
wherein the first voltage conversion circuit is connected to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (210 is connected to 220), and the signal feedback circuit is connected to the first voltage conversion circuit and the post-stage voltage conversion circuit individually (230 is connected to 210 and 220);
wherein the first voltage conversion circuit is configured to convert (Buck Region), in response to a voltage input to the first voltage circuit exceeding a preset voltage range (TH1), the voltage input to the first voltage conversion circuit to be within the preset voltage range (TH1 & TH2) to thereby obtain a converted voltage, and output the converted voltage to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit;
wherein the post-stage voltage conversion circuit is configured to convert the converted voltage input to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit into a target voltage, and output the target voltage (¶0117: converter 220 is controlled based on the boost state of controller 230 which is to provide a target voltage); and
wherein the signal feedback circuit is configured to feed back, based on output of the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (M2’), information to the first voltage conversion circuit (connection from 230 to S1’).
Batikoff fails to explicitly teach this feedback being used to thereby make the first voltage conversion circuit be synchronized with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit; and
wherein the post-stage voltage conversion circuit comprises a transformer and a second voltage conversion circuit connected at a secondary winding of the transformer, and the second voltage conversion circuit is configured to receive feedback information of a device to be charged connected to the power supply conversion circuit, and convert the voltage output from the secondary winding into the target voltage based on the feedback information.
However, Sato teaches a power converter which uses a feedback circuit (Fig.1, 11) that synchronizes the first voltage conversion circuit (Fig.1, 9A) with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (Fig.1, 3a) (Figs.4A & 4B, duty4 for switches Q1-Q4 & duty5 for Q5) based on an output of the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (Figs.4A & 4B, Vout).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Batikoff with Sato to synchronize the first voltage conversion circuit with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit. Doing so may help increase efficiency and stabilize the operation of the post-stage voltage conversion circuit, as evidenced by Sato.
Moreover, Sheng (Fig.3) teaches a power converter in which a post-stage converter comprises a transformer (340) and a second voltage conversion circuit (350) connected at a secondary winding, and the second voltage conversion circuit is adjusted based on feedback information of a device to be charged (¶0039: data communication channel allows the adapter to automatically adjust the voltage output to meet the requirements of the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Batikoff with Sheng to include a transformer and a second voltage conversion circuit after the first voltage conversion circuit. Doing so allows for a greater voltage conversion ratio from input to output, as evidenced by Sheng (20:1 vs 2:1), and allows the charger to be used for multiple devices requiring different charging voltages.
Regarding Claim 2, Batikoff (Fig.5), as modified, further teaches comprising a rectifier circuit (240), wherein an output end of the rectifier circuit is connected to an input end of the first voltage conversion circuit (210); and
wherein the rectifier circuit is configured to convert an alternating current (AC) voltage input to the rectifier circuit into a pulsating direct current (DC) voltage, and output the pulsating DC voltage to the first voltage conversion circuit (¶0065: rectifier is used to rectify AC current to DC current before being provided to a converter).
Regarding Claim 3, Batikoff, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein a primary winding of the transformer is connected to an output end of the first voltage conversion circuit, and
the secondary winding of the transformer is connected to an input end of the second voltage conversion circuit;
wherein the transformer is configured to couple the converted voltage, input from the first voltage conversion circuit to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit, from the primary winding to the secondary winding.
However, Sheng (Fig.3) teaches wherein the primary winding is connected to an output of the first voltage conversion circuit (320) and the secondary winding is connected to the input of the second voltage conversion circuit (350), and the second voltage conversion circuit converts the output of the transformer to a target voltage (10VAC to 20VDC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Batikoff, in view of Sato and Sheng, with Sheng to connect the transformer between the first voltage conversion circuit and the second voltage conversion circuit. Doing so allows for a greater voltage conversion ratio from input to output, as evidenced by Sheng (20:1 vs 2:1).
Regarding Claim 5, Batikoff, as modified, further teaches wherein the feedback information comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of charging stage information of the device to be charged, battery level information of the device to be charged, battery temperature of the device to be charged, a charging voltage and a charging current requested by the device to be charged, a voltage adjustment signal, and a current adjustment signal (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1, adapter adjusts the voltage output based on communication with the device).
Regarding Claim 6, Batikoff, as modified, further teaches wherein the first voltage conversion circuit comprises a metal-oxide-semiconductor (MOS) transistor (Fig.5, S1’) as a unidirectional conducting device, and a trigger circuit (Fig.5, 230; controller 230 controls duty cycles based on measurements indicating the presence of a trigger circuit) configured to control on and off of the MOS transistor (¶0115: duty cycle of S1’ is controlled by controller 230);
wherein the trigger circuit is specifically configured to control, based on the information fed back by the signal feedback circuit, the MOS transistor to be on or off, to thereby make the first voltage conversion circuit be synchronized with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1).
Batikoff, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the first voltage conversion circuit further comprising the trigger circuit.
However, Batikoff discloses the claimed invention except for the trigger circuit is located in the controller instead of the first voltage conversion circuit. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the trigger circuit in the first voltage conversion circuit instead of the controller, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Doing so would help reduce the processing burden on the controller.
Regarding Claim 7, Batikoff, as modified, further teaches comprising a first capacitor (Fig.5, C1’), wherein a first end of the first capacitor is connected to an input end of the first voltage conversion circuit, a second end of the first capacitor is grounded, and the first capacitor is configured to boost the voltage on the input end of the first voltage conversion circuit (C1’ will smooth the rectifier output, examiner interprets this to equate to boosting the voltage).
Regarding Claim 8, Batikoff, as modified, fails to explicitly teach further comprising a second capacitor, wherein the second capacitor is connected to a node between the secondary winding of the transformer and the second voltage conversion circuit, and the second capacitor is configured to boost a voltage on the input end of the second voltage conversion circuit.
However, Sato (Fig.1) teaches a capacitor (C2) connected between a voltage conversion unit (3a) and a transformer (T1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Batikoff, in view of Sato and Sheng, with Sato to include a capacitor between the transformer and the second voltage conversion unit. Doing so would allow for the output of the transformer to be smoothed before it reaches the second voltage conversion unit, as evidenced by Sato.
Regarding Claim 11, Batikoff (Figs.2A & 5) teaches a charging device comprising:
a power access port (¶0059: source 110 may not be a part of system 200, indicating the presence of a power access port), a charging interface (¶0059: load 310 may not be a part of system 200 indicating the presence of a charging interface), and a power supply conversion circuit (200);
wherein the power access port is configured to input an AC power (110);
wherein the power supply conversion circuit comprises: a first voltage conversion circuit (210), a post-stage voltage conversion circuit (220), and a signal feedback circuit (230); the first voltage conversion circuit is connected to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (210 is connected to 220), and the signal feedback circuit is connected to the first voltage conversion circuit and the post-stage voltage conversion circuit individually (230 is connected to 210 and 220);
wherein the first voltage conversion circuit is configured to convert (Buck Region), in response to a voltage input to the first voltage circuit exceeding a preset voltage range (TH1), the voltage input to the first voltage conversion circuit to be within the preset voltage range (TH1 & TH2) to thereby obtain a converted voltage, and output the converted voltage to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit;
wherein the post-stage voltage conversion circuit is configured to convert the converted voltage input to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit into a target voltage, and output the target voltage (¶0117: converter 220 is controlled based on the boost state of controller 230 which is to provide a target voltage); and
wherein the signal feedback circuit is configured to feed back, based on output of the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (M2’), information to the first voltage conversion circuit (connection from 230 to S1’);
wherein the charging interface is configured to output the target voltage output from the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (load 310 is provided the output of 220).
Batikoff fails to explicitly teach this feedback being used to thereby make the first voltage conversion circuit be synchronized with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit; and
wherein the post-stage voltage conversion circuit comprises a transformer and a second voltage conversion circuit connected at a secondary winding of the transformer, and the second voltage conversion circuit is configured to receive feedback information of a device to be charged connected to the power supply conversion circuit, and convert the voltage output from the secondary winding into the target voltage based on the feedback information.
However, Sato teaches a power converter which uses a feedback circuit (Fig.1, 11) that synchronizes the first voltage conversion circuit (Fig.1, 9A) with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (Fig.1, 3a) (Figs.4A & 4B, duty4 for switches Q1-Q4 & duty5 for Q5) based on an output of the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (Figs.4A & 4B, Vout).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Batikoff with Sato to synchronize the first voltage conversion circuit with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit. Doing so may help increase efficiency and stabilize the operation of the post-stage voltage conversion circuit, as evidenced by Sato.
Moreover, Sheng (Fig.3) teaches a power converter in which a post-stage converter comprises a transformer (340) and a second voltage conversion circuit (350) connected at a secondary winding, and the second voltage conversion circuit is adjusted based on feedback information of a device to be charged (¶0039: data communication channel allows the adapter to automatically adjust the voltage output to meet the requirements of the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Batikoff with Sheng to include a transformer and a second voltage conversion circuit after the first voltage conversion circuit. Doing so allows for a greater voltage conversion ratio from input to output, as evidenced by Sheng (20:1 vs 2:1), and allows the charger to be used for multiple devices requiring different charging voltages.
Regarding Claim 12, Batikoff (Fig.5), as modified, further teaches the power supply conversion circuit comprises a rectifier circuit (240), wherein an output end of the rectifier circuit is connected to an input end of the first voltage conversion circuit (210); and
wherein the rectifier circuit is configured to convert an alternating current (AC) voltage input to the rectifier circuit into a pulsating direct current (DC) voltage, and output the pulsating DC voltage to the first voltage conversion circuit (¶0065: rectifier is used to rectify AC current to DC current before being provided to a converter).
Regarding Claim 13, Batikoff, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein a primary winding of the transformer is connected to an output end of the first voltage conversion circuit, and
the secondary winding of the transformer is connected to an input end of the second voltage conversion circuit;
wherein the transformer is configured to couple the converted voltage, input from the first voltage conversion circuit to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit, from the primary winding to the secondary winding.
However, Sheng (Fig.3) teaches wherein the primary winding is connected to an output of the first voltage conversion circuit (320) and the secondary winding is connected to the input of the second voltage conversion circuit (350), and the second voltage conversion circuit converts the output of the transformer to a target voltage (10VAC to 20VDC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Batikoff, in view of Sato and Sheng, with Sheng to connect the transformer between the first voltage conversion circuit and the second voltage conversion circuit. Doing so allows for a greater voltage conversion ratio from input to output, as evidenced by Sheng (20:1 vs 2:1).
Regarding Claim 15, Batikoff, as modified, further teaches wherein the feedback information comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of charging stage information of the device to be charged, battery level information of the device to be charged, battery temperature of the device to be charged, a charging voltage and a charging current requested by the device to be charged, a voltage adjustment signal, and a current adjustment signal (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 11, adapter adjusts the voltage output based on communication with the device).
Regarding Claim 16, Batikoff, as modified, further teaches wherein the first voltage conversion circuit comprises a metal-oxide-semiconductor (MOS) transistor (Fig.5, S1’) as a unidirectional conducting device, and a trigger circuit (Fig.5, 230; controller 230 controls duty cycles based on measurements indicating the presence of a trigger circuit) configured to control on and off of the MOS transistor (¶0115: duty cycle of S1’ is controlled by controller 230);
wherein the trigger circuit is specifically configured to control, based on the information fed back by the signal feedback circuit, the MOS transistor to be on or off, to thereby make the first voltage conversion circuit be synchronized with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 11).
Batikoff, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the first voltage conversion circuit further comprising the trigger circuit.
However, Batikoff discloses the claimed invention except for the trigger circuit is located in the controller instead of the first voltage conversion circuit. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the trigger circuit in the first voltage conversion circuit instead of the controller, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Doing so would help reduce the processing burden on the controller.
Regarding Claim 17, Batikoff, as modified, further teaches wherein the power supply conversion circuit comprises a first capacitor (Fig.5, C1’), a first end of the first capacitor is connected to an input end of the first voltage conversion circuit, a second end of the first capacitor is grounded, and the first capacitor is configured to boost the voltage on the input end of the first voltage conversion circuit (C1’ will smooth the rectifier output, examiner interprets this to equate to boosting the voltage).
Regarding Claim 18, Batikoff, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the power supply conversion circuit further comprises a second capacitor, the second capacitor is connected to a node between the secondary winding of the transformer and the second voltage conversion circuit, and the second capacitor is configured to boost a voltage on the input end of the second voltage conversion circuit.
However, Sato (Fig.1) teaches a capacitor (C2) connected between a voltage conversion unit (3a) and a transformer (T1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Batikoff, in view of Sato and Sheng, with Sato to include a capacitor between the transformer and the second voltage conversion unit. Doing so would allow for the output of the transformer to be smoothed before it reaches the second voltage conversion unit, as evidenced by Sato.
Regarding Claim 20, Batikoff (Figs.2A & 5) teaches a charging device comprising:
a power access port (¶0059: source 110 may not be a part of system 200, indicating the presence of a power access port), configured to input an AC power (110);
wherein the power supply conversion circuit comprises: a first voltage conversion circuit (210), a post-stage voltage conversion circuit (220), and a signal feedback circuit (230); the first voltage conversion circuit is connected to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (210 is connected to 220), and the signal feedback circuit is connected to the first voltage conversion circuit and the post-stage voltage conversion circuit individually (230 is connected to 210 and 220);
wherein the first voltage conversion circuit is configured to convert (Buck Region), in response to a voltage input to the first voltage circuit exceeding a preset voltage range (TH1), the voltage input to the first voltage conversion circuit to be within the preset voltage range (TH1 & TH2) to thereby obtain a converted voltage, and output the converted voltage to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit;
wherein the post-stage voltage conversion circuit is configured to convert the converted voltage input to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit into a target voltage, and output the target voltage (¶0117: converter 220 is controlled based on the boost state of controller 230 which is to provide a target voltage); and
wherein the signal feedback circuit is configured to feed back, based on output of the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (M2’), information to the first voltage conversion circuit (connection from 230 to S1’); and
a charging interface (¶0059: load 310 may not be a part of system 200 indicating the presence of a charging interface), configured to output the target voltage output from the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (load 310 is provided the output of 220).
Batikoff fails to explicitly teach this feedback being used to thereby make the first voltage conversion circuit be synchronized with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit; and
wherein the post-stage voltage conversion circuit comprises a transformer and a second voltage conversion circuit connected at a secondary winding of the transformer, and the second voltage conversion circuit is configured to receive feedback information of a device to be charged connected to the power supply conversion circuit, and convert the voltage output from the secondary winding into the target voltage based on the feedback information.
However, Sato teaches a power converter which uses a feedback circuit (Fig.1, 11) that synchronizes the first voltage conversion circuit (Fig.1, 9A) with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (Fig.1, 3a) (Figs.4A & 4B, duty4 for switches Q1-Q4 & duty5 for Q5) based on an output of the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (Figs.4A & 4B, Vout).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Batikoff with Sato to synchronize the first voltage conversion circuit with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit. Doing so may help increase efficiency and stabilize the operation of the post-stage voltage conversion circuit, as evidenced by Sato.
Moreover, Sheng (Fig.3) teaches a power converter in which a post-stage converter comprises a transformer (340) and a second voltage conversion circuit (350) connected at a secondary winding, and the second voltage conversion circuit is adjusted based on feedback information of a device to be charged (¶0039: data communication channel allows the adapter to automatically adjust the voltage output to meet the requirements of the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Batikoff with Sheng to include a transformer and a second voltage conversion circuit after the first voltage conversion circuit. Doing so allows for a greater voltage conversion ratio from input to output, as evidenced by Sheng (20:1 vs 2:1), and allows the charger to be used for multiple devices requiring different charging voltages.
Regarding Claim 21, Batikoff, as modified, further teaches wherein the first voltage conversion circuit comprises a metal-oxide-semiconductor (MOS) transistor (Fig.5, S1’) as a unidirectional conducting device, and a trigger circuit (Fig.5, 230; controller 230 controls duty cycles based on measurements indicating the presence of a trigger circuit) configured to control on and off of the MOS transistor (¶0115: duty cycle of S1’ is controlled by controller 230);
wherein the trigger circuit is specifically configured to control, based on the information fed back by the signal feedback circuit, the MOS transistor to be on or off, to thereby make the first voltage conversion circuit be synchronized with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 11).
Batikoff, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the first voltage conversion circuit further comprising the trigger circuit.
However, Batikoff discloses the claimed invention except for the trigger circuit is located in the controller instead of the first voltage conversion circuit. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the trigger circuit in the first voltage conversion circuit instead of the controller, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Doing so would help reduce the processing burden on the controller.
Claim(s) 9, 10, & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batikoff, in view of Sato and Sheng, as applied to claims 1 & 11 above, and further in view of Mangtani et al. (USPGPN 2017/0054363 A1 – published Feb. 23, 2017).
Regarding Claim 9, Batikoff, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the first voltage conversion circuit comprises a voltage boost converter, the voltage boost converter is configured to convert, in response to a voltage output from a rectifier circuit to the first voltage conversion circuit being less than or equal to a lower limit value of the preset voltage range, the voltage output from the rectifier circuit to the first voltage conversion circuit to be within the preset voltage range to thereby obtain a boosted voltage as the converted voltage, and output the boosted voltage to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit.
However, Mangtani (Fig.1, Prior Art) teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a voltage boost converter (6) in parallel with a voltage buck converter (8) to increase or decrease an input voltage to a desired output voltage as needed (¶0014: boost converter can boost the input voltage when it is too low and buck converter can reduce the input voltage when it is too high).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Batikoff, in view of Sato and Sheng, with Mangtani to include a voltage boost converter in parallel with the voltage buck converter (step-down converter of Batikoff). Doing so allows for the output voltage of the first voltage conversion circuit to be maintained at a desired level regardless of whether the input voltage exceeds or decreases below the desired output voltage without reducing the efficiency by using a combined buck/boost converter, as evidenced by Mangtani.
Regarding Claim 10, Batikoff, as modified, further teaches wherein the first voltage conversion circuit further comprises a voltage buck converter, and the voltage buck converter is configured to convert, in response to the voltage output from the rectifier circuit to the first voltage conversion circuit being greater than or equal to an upper limit value of the preset voltage range, the voltage output from the rectifier circuit to the first voltage conversion circuit to be within the preset voltage range to thereby obtain a bucked voltage as the converted voltage, and output the bucked voltage to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit; and
wherein the voltage boost converter and the voltage buck converter are connected in parallel (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 9).
Regarding Claim 19, Batikoff (Fig.2A & 5), as modified, further teaches wherein the first voltage conversion circuit comprises a voltage buck converter (210);
wherein the voltage buck converter is configured to convert, in response to the voltage output from the rectifier circuit to the first voltage conversion circuit being greater than or equal to an upper limit value (TH1) of the preset voltage range, the voltage output from the rectifier circuit to the first voltage conversion circuit to be within the preset voltage range to thereby obtain a bucked voltage as the converted voltage (voltage is bucked down to a target voltage when the input exceeds TH1), and output the bucked voltage to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit (step-down converter 210 outputs to 220);
Batikoff, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the first voltage conversion circuit comprises a voltage boost converter and a voltage buck converter;
wherein the voltage boost converter is configured to convert, in response to a voltage output from a rectifier circuit to the first voltage conversion circuit being less than or equal to a lower limit value of the preset voltage range, the voltage output from the rectifier circuit to the first voltage conversion circuit to be within the preset voltage range to thereby obtain a boosted voltage as the converted voltage, and output the boosted voltage to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit; and
wherein the voltage boost converter and the voltage buck converter are connected in parallel
However, Mangtani (Fig.1, Prior Art) teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a voltage boost converter (6) in parallel with a voltage buck converter (8) to increase or decrease an input voltage to a desired output voltage as needed (¶0014: boost converter can boost the input voltage when it is too low and buck converter can reduce the input voltage when it is too high).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Batikoff, in view of Sato and Sheng, with Mangtani to include a voltage boost converter in parallel with the voltage buck converter (step-down converter of Batikoff). Doing so allows for the output voltage of the first voltage conversion circuit to be maintained at a desired level regardless of whether the input voltage exceeds or decreases below the desired output voltage without reducing the efficiency by using a combined buck/boost converter, as evidenced by Mangtani.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batikoff, in view of Sato and Sheng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kikuchi (USPGPN 2018/0006569) and Matthews et al. (USPGPN 2014/0254213).
Regarding Claim 22, Batikoff, as modified, further teaches wherein
a first end of a primary winding of the transformer is connected to an output end of the first voltage conversion circuit (as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above); and
the secondary winding of the transformer is connected to an input end of the second voltage conversion circuit (as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Batikoff, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the post-stage voltage conversion circuit further comprises an AC-DC power management chip, the AC- DC power management chip comprises a switch control terminal, a feedback terminal, and a power supply terminal;
a second end of the primary winding is connected to the switch control terminal;
a winding is separately led out from the primary side of the transformer and connected to the power supply terminal of the AC-DC power management chip; and
an output end of the signal feedback circuit is connected to the feedback terminal, and a voltage feedback signal is transmitted back from an output of the second voltage conversion circuit through a comparator, a first resistor, a second resistor, and an optical coupler of the signal feedback circuit to the feedback terminal.
However, Kikuchi (Fig.2) teaches a voltage conversion circuit comprising an AC-DC power management chip (202) which comprises a switch control terminal, a feedback terminal, and a power supply terminal (202 terminals OUT, FB, & VCC); a second end of the primary winding is connected to the switch control terminal (W1 connected to 202-OUT via M1); a winding is separately led out from the primary side of the transformer and connected to the power supply terminal of the AC-DC power management chip (W3 connected to 202-VCC); and an output end of the signal feedback circuit is connected to the feedback terminal, and a voltage feedback signal is transmitted back from an output of the second voltage conversion circuit through a first resistor, a second resistor, and an optical coupler of the signal feedback circuit to the feedback terminal (R11, R12, 206, & 204 connected to 202-FB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Batikoff, in view of Sato and Sheng, with Kikuchi to include an AC-DC power management chip, with a switch control terminal connected to the primary winding, a power supply terminal connected to a separate winding on the primary side of the transistor, and a feedback terminal connected to a feedback circuit comprising first and second resistors and an optical coupler. Doing so allows for improved reliability of the converter, as evidenced by Kikuchi.
Moreover, Matthews (Figs.1 & 2) teaches a feedback circuit (R1, R2, 270, 280, & 144) which passes a feedback signal from an output through a comparator (270) to a power management chip (150).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Batikoff, in view of Sato and Sheng, with Matthews to pass the voltage feedback signal through a comparator to the power management chip. Doing so allows for a regulation of the output voltage, as evidenced by Matthews (¶0023: comparator 270 outputs to feedback signal 285, which is used to regulate VO).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN P ONDRASIK/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859