DETAILED ACTION
Applicants amendment incorporating the limitations of previous claim 22 into claim 20 are acknowledged. Upon further consideration it has been determined that previous claim 22 should have been included in the previous rejection based upon obviousness. For this reason the current rejection has been made non-final. Any inconvenience to applicant is regretted.
Applicant's cancellation of claim 22, 68, 73, 77, 91 and 94, amendment of claims 1 and 24, in the paper of 8/12/2026, is acknowledged. Applicants' arguments filed on 8/12/2026, have been fully considered and are deemed to be persuasive to overcome some of the rejections previously applied. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. Claims 1, 20, 24, 46, 52, 56, 66 and 68 are still at issue and are present for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of the invention of Group 1, claims 1, 16, 19-24, 39, 42, 46, 52, 56, 66, 68, 101-104), to an engineered E. coli strain host cell, in the paper of 8/18/2025, is acknowledged. Applicant's election without traverse of the invention of following species: Species Group 1: SbcC, Species Group 2: SEQ ID NO: 39 and Species Group 4: inverted repeat sequence, in the paper of 8/18/2025, is acknowledged.
Claims 73, 77, 91, 94 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Objections
Claims 66 and 68 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 66 depends from rejected claim 56.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claim 1 (claims 16, 19-24, 39, 42, 46, 52, 56, 66, 68, 101-105 dependent on) as being indefinite in the recitation “engineered viability- or yield-reducing mutations in any of the sbcB, recB, recD, and recJ genes” is withdrawn based upon applicants arguments presented in the paper of 12/15/2025.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 is indefinite in the recitation “cIT857 gene chromosomally integrated” in that it is unclear and confusing as what “cIT857 gene” is. In the interest of advancing prosecution “cIT857” is interpreted as “cITs857, as this is the closest thing to such in applicants specification.
Appropriate correction and/or comment is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claim(s) 16 and 22 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention, is withdrawn based upon applicants amendment of the claims in the paper of 12/15/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Darmon et al. (J. of Bacteriology, Vol 189, No. 18, pp 6686-6694, Sept. 2007) is withdrawn based upon applicants amendment of the claims in the paper of 12/15/2025. It is noted that while applicants did not specifically traverse the rejection, the strain taught by Darmon et al. is not isogenic to the strain from which it is derived, the strain from which it is derived being selected from D5Ha, DH1, JM107, JM108, JM109, MG1644, and XL1Blue (see also above rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)).
The rejection of claim(s) 1, 16, 19, 20, 24, 39, 42, 46, 52, 56, 101-03, is/are under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Williams (US 2015/0191735) is withdrawn based upon applicants amendment of the claims and arguments presented in the paper of 12/15/2025. Specifically the GT115 strain taught by Williams comprises a Delta (mrr-hsdRMS-mcrBC).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 20, 46, 52, 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US 2015/0191735) and Darmon et al. (J. of Bacteriology, Vol 189, No. 18, pp 6686-6694, Sept. 2007).
This rejection is essentially the same rejection made over previous claims 1, 20, 46, 52, 56. In response it is acknowledged that applicants amended previous claim 1 to include the limitations of previous claims 22 “wherein the temperature-sensitive lambda repressor comprises SEQ ID NO:37. As discussed below, Williams discloses the use of the temperature-sensitive lambda repressor cITs857, which though not necessarily taught by Williams inherently comprises the amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:37.
Williams (US 2015/0191735) teaches methods of improving yield of plasmid vectors having a replication origin such as R6K by introducing the nucleotide sequence encoding the Rep protein into the genome of GT115, the E. coli strain in which the SbcC, SbcD and dcm genes were knocked out further using the E. coli strain containing a temperature sensitive lambda repressor for temperature expression of the Rep protein (see Examples and supporting text)(claims). Williams is silent with regard to the sbcB, recB, recD and recJ genes, which by virtue that they exist in the wild-type E. coli strains are considered to have no engineered viability- or yield-reducing mutations. Williams is silent with regard to the uvrC gene, which by virtue that they exist in the wild-type E. coli strains are considered to have no engineered viability- or yield-reducing mutations (claims 1, 16, 19, 20, 24, 39).
Williams (US 2015/0191735) teaches methods of improving yield of plasmid vectors having a replication origin such as R6K by introducing the nucleotide sequence encoding the Rep protein into the genome of GT115, a E. coli strain in which the SbcC, SbcD and dcm genes were knocked out further using the E. coli strain containing a temperature sensitive lambda repressor (cITs857) for temperature expression of the Rep protein (see Examples and supporting text) (claims). Williams discloses the use of the temperature-sensitive lambda repressor cITs857, which though Williams is silent regarding its amino acid sequence, inherently comprises the amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:37. The amino acid sequence of the cITs857 temperature-sensitive lambda repressor is the same as the instant temperature-sensitive lambda repressor cITs857 of SEQ ID NO:37, based upon identical description of each temperature-sensitive lambda repressor in Williams and the instant application (i.e, cI Lambda repressor cIT857: “Lambda repressor further incorporating a C to T (Ala to Thr) mutation that confers temperature sensitivity. cITs857 is a functional repressor at 28-30.degree. C., but is mostly inactive at 37-42.degree. Also called cI857”.
Williams is silent with regard to the sbcB, recB, recD and recJ genes, which by virtue that they exist in the wild-type E. coli strains are considered to have no engineered viability- or yield-reducing mutations. Williams is silent with regard to the uvrC gene, which by virtue that they exist in the wild-type E. coli strains are considered to have no engineered viability- or yield-reducing mutations (claims 1, 16, 19, 20, 24, 39). Williams further teach that the pINT pR pL R6K Rep plasmids can be integrated into alternative E. coli strains to create production hosts. Williams teach that any strain that is acceptable for plasmid production, such as JM108, BL21, DH5, DH1, DH5.alpha., GT115, GT116, DH10B, EC100, can be converted to a high yield temperature inducible R6K plasmid production host by integration of a pINT pR pL R6K Rep plasmid into the genome. The pR pL R6K Rep expression cassette may alternatively be removed from the pINT vector backbone and directly integrated into the chromosome.
Williams teach the above engineered E. coli strains comprising a genomic nucleic acid sequence encoding a Rep protein having 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO:34 (see SEQ ID NO:15 of Williams). Williams teach and evidence the above engineered E. coli strains comprising a genomic nucleic acid sequence encoding a sbcB gene comprising instant SEQ ID NO:11, a recB gene comprising instant SEQ ID NO:12, a recD gene comprising instant SEQ ID NO:13 and a recJ gene comprising instant SEQ ID NO:65 as each of these genes are found in the wild-type E. coli (claim 42). Williams teach the above engineered E. coli strains comprising a plasmid vector comprising a nucleic acid having a direct repeat (claim 46) (see claim 23 and supporting text paragraph [0080]) or a mRNA vector (claim 28 and supporting text). Williams teach the above engineered E. coli strains comprising a knockout of the dcm gene (claim 103) (see Example 1 and supporting text).
Darmon teaches an engineered Escherichia coli (E. coli) host cell, wherein the engineered E. coli host cell comprises a gene knockout of at least one gene selected from the group consisting of SbcC and SbcD, and wherein the engineered E. coli host cell does not include an engineered viability or yield-reducing mutation in any of sbcB, recB, recD, and recJ (p. 6686, col 2, para 7 "The E. coli MG1655 [delta)(Plac-lacZY) [delta]sbcDC PsbcDC-lacZ-aph reporter strain (DL 1649; Fig. 1A) was constructed by replacement of the sbcDC operon with a DNA fragment containing the lacZ gene and the kanamycin resistance gene aph"; p. 6687, col 2, para 1 top. 6688, col 1, para 1 "Correct excision of the sbcDC operon"; p. 6688, col 1, Fig. 1 "the cassette containing the lacZ and the kanamycin resistance genes was placed under the control of the sbcDC promoter region and fused to the beginning of the sbcD gene. sbcD', 3' truncated sbcD gene; Kanr, kanamycin resistance gene"; note, there is no mention in the full publication of any modifications to any other sbc or rec genes).
One of skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to practice methods of improving yield of plasmid vectors having a replication origin such as R6K by introducing the nucleotide sequence encoding the Rep protein into the genome of GT115, a E. coli strain in which the SbcC, SbcD and dcm genes were knocked out further using the E. coli strain containing a temperature sensitive lambda repressor for temperature expression of the Rep protein as taught by Williams (US 2015/0191735) substituting the MG1655 strain taught by Darmon for the GT115 strain used by Williams. The motivation for such comes from Williams who teach that any strain that is acceptable for plasmid production, such as JM108, BL21, DH5, DH1, DH5.alpha., GT115, GT116, DH10B, EC100, can be converted to a high yield temperature inducible R6K plasmid production host by integration of a pINT pR pL R6K Rep plasmid into the genome. Further motivation comes from the fact that both strain used by Wiliams, GT115 and the MG1655 strain taught by Darmon both comprise a knockout of the sbcDC operon. The expectation of success is high as the level of expertise in bacterial genetic engineering is high and all the tools, constructs and methods needed are taught by both Williams et al. and Darmon.
Claim(s) 1, 20, 46, 52, 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US 2015/0191735) and Darmon et al. (J. of Bacteriology, Vol 189, No. 18, pp 6686-6694, Sept. 2007).
Remarks
No claim is allowed.
rgh
10/2/2026
/RICHARD G HUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652