Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21-35 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US20130123973 to Saranow et al. (hereinafter “Saranow”), in view of US20140118521 to Conti et al. (hereinafter “Conti”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the stylist’s method of applying dye formulation" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20130123973 to Saranow et al. (hereinafter “Saranow”), in view of US20140118521 to Conti et al. (hereinafter “Conti”).
As for claim 21, Saranow substantially discloses a method in a dye dispensing system for determining the amount of dye formulation to apply to a client (Saranow, see Fig. 13 and its corresponding paragraphs), comprising one or more controllers programmed to perform a method (Saranow, see Fig. 3 and its corresponding paragraphs) comprising:
receiving a client request for a color service from a stylist (Saranow, see Fig. 13, its corresponding paragraphs and [0155]);
receiving information from a computer memory comprising stylist information comprising collected data correlating the stylist with an amount of dye formulation used by the stylist on client hair (Saranow, see [0010], [0277]-[0278], [0094]-[0119], Fig. 13, Fig. 14, [0158] and [0181], “The stylist may also weigh the receptacle on the scale, when the receptacle holds a remaining amount of colorant and/or dye blending material (e.g., after use). The remaining weight is defined to include only a portion of the colorant and/or dye blending material previously prepared in accordance with the instructions. In this instance, the control system is capable of revising the stored instructions based on the remaining amount of colorant and/or dye blending material in the receptacle compared to an amount of colorant and/or dye blending material previously prepared” shows that amount that is actually used is received by the control system in order for it to revise the stored instructions);
electronically dispensing a desired amount of formulation into the receptacle based on the collected data (Saranow, see [0058], [0067], [0079], [0084], [0094]-[0119], [0277]-[0278], [0341], Fig. 13, Fig.14, Fig. 28F, Fig. 30A, [0158] and [0181], it is noted that “the system maintains customer histories, so customer formulations can be precisely repeated time after time” shows that the precise amount of formulations are dispensed into the receptable based on the customer history record);
measuring an amount of unused formulation remaining in the receptacle and associating the unused amount with the identification (Saranow, see [0158] and [0181]),
updating client information and the stylist information in the computer memory with the measured amount of unused formulation (Saranow, see [0094]-[0110], [0158] and [0181]).
Saranow does not explicitly disclose detecting the identity of a receptacle placed in the dye dispensing system, wherein the receptacle comprises an identification; dispensing formulation based on the identity of the receptacle, associating the amount with the identification.
However, Conti in an analogous art discloses detecting the identity of a receptacle placed in the dye dispensing system, wherein the receptacle comprises an identification (Conti, see [0071]-[0073]), electronically dispensing formulation based on the identity of the receptacle, associating the amount with the identification (Conti, see [0063], [0071]-[0073] and [0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Conti into the method of Saranow. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a method for improving the outcome and consistency of hair coloring by having a bowl that includes an identifier associated with guest information (Conti, see abstract and [0072]).
Claim 30 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 21, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 21. Conti further discloses a processor configured perform a method (Conti, see [0026], [0063], [0071]-[0073] and [0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Conti into the system of Saranow. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a method for improving the outcome and consistency of hair coloring by having a bowl that includes an identifier associated with guest information (Conti, see abstract and [0072]).
As per claim 22, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated, Saranow further discloses dispensing a desired amount of formulation for the client based on the updated client information (Saranow, see Fig. 13, Fig.14 and [0094]-[0110], [0158] and [0181]).
As per claim 23, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated, Saranow further discloses dispensing an additional amount of formulation prior to measuring an amount of unused formulation and subsequent to dispensing a desired amount of formulation (Saranow, see [0094]-[0110], [0158] and [0181]).
Claim 32 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 23, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 23.
As per claim 24, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated, Saranow further discloses the information is received from a mobile device (Saranow, see [0123], [0201], Fig. 13 and [0094]-[0110]).
Claim 33 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 24, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 24.
As per claim 25, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated, Saranow further discloses the stylist information comprises a stylist identifier (Saranow, see Fig. 30A, [0238], [0149] and [0129]).
As per claim 26, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated, Saranow further discloses the received information comprises client information, and the client information comprises client formulation (Saranow, see [0079], Fig. 13, Fig. 14, Fig. 28F, Fig. 30A, [0290]-[0291] and [0322]-[0323]).
Claim 34 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 26, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 26.
As per claim 27, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated, Saranow further discloses the stylist information comprises a formulation code, wherein the formulation code is used to track information related to the stylist’s method of applying dye formulation to the client (Saranow, see [0238], [0149] and [0129]).
As per claim 28, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated, Saranow further discloses the stylist’s information comprising at least an initial desired amount of formulation and at least one additional amount of formulation needed to complete the color service (Saranow, see [0321], [0094]-[0119], Fig. 13, Fig. 14, Fig. 28F, Fig. 30A, [0290]-[0291] and [0322]-[0323]).
As per claim 29, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated, Conti further discloses wherein detecting the identity of the receptacle comprises detecting an RFID code associated with the receptacle (Conti, see [0071]-[0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Conti into the method of Saranow. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a method for improving the outcome and consistency of hair coloring by having a bowl that includes an identifier associated with guest information (Conti, see abstract and [0072]).
Claim 35 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 29, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 29.
As per claim 31, the rejection of claim 30 is incorporated, Saranow further discloses dispensing a desired amount of formulation for the client based on a measured amount of unused formulation from one or more prior hair treatment (Saranow, see [0158] and [0094]-[0110]).
Conclusion
/JASON LIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117