DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed September 29th, 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacala (US 2022/0291387), in view of Lim (US 2006/0076479 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pacala teaches A range finding system, comprising:
a first light source configured to emit optical probe signals into an environment ([0048] The LIDAR system 200 shown in FIG. 2 includes the light ranging device 210. The light ranging device 210 includes a ranging system controller 250, a light transmission (Tx) module 240 and a light sensing (Rx) module 230. Ranging data can be generated by the light ranging device by transmitting one or more light pulses 249 from the light transmission module 240 to objects in a field of view surrounding the light ranging device.);
an optical system configured to receive light from the environment through a field of view of the range finding system and generate a light beam using the received light ([0041] The scanning LIDAR system 101 shown in FIG. 1A can employ a scanning architecture, where the orientation of the LIDAR light source 107 and/or detector circuitry 109 can be scanned around one or more fields of view 110; [0053] Similarly, the ranging system controller 250 can control the light transmission module 240 by sending commands, or relaying commands from the base controller, that include start and stop light emission controls and controls that can adjust other light-emitter parameters (e.g., pulse codes));
a sensor configured to receive the light beam from the optical system and output a plurality of sensor signals based on to the light beam, the sensor comprising a plurality of pixels, wherein a pixel of the plurality of pixels generates a sensor signal of the plurality of sensor signals ([0061] Pulses from the laser device reflect from objects in the scene at different times and the pixel array detects the pulses of radiation reflection.);
a readout system configured to: generate a plurality of background signals based on the plurality of sensor signals received from the sensor, wherein a background signal of the plurality of background signals is generated based on the sensor signal, wherein the background signal is configured to indicate a magnitude of light generated by a second light source different from the first light source ([0060] The optical receiver system detects background light 330 initially and after some time detects the laser pulse reflection 320. The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.; [0146] Peak detector 1320 can also measure a signal value and a noise value, effectively providing some signal to noise measurement for a lidar pixel. A signal value can correspond to the number of photon counts at a peak in the histogram, and a noise value can correspond to a background level in time bins outside of a peak region.),
determine that the background signal has a magnitude greater than a threshold level ([0060] The optical receiver system detects background light 330 initially and after some time detects the laser pulse reflection 320. The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.); and
Pacal fails to teach the system comprising in response to the determination that the background signal has a magnitude greater than the threshold level, transmit a feedback signal indicating that the background signal has the magnitude greater than the threshold level to a detection control system to cause the detection control system to use the feedback signal indicating that the background signal has the magnitude greater than the threshold level to control the optical system so as to transform the light beam to reduce an amount of light incident on the pixel; and, wherein the detection control system is configured to use the feedback signal indicating that the background signal has the magnitude greater than the threshold level to control the optical system so as to transform the light beam to reduce the amount of light incident on the pixel to reduce a false alarm rate of the range finding system.
However, Lim teaches the system comprising in response to the determination that the background signal has a magnitude greater than the threshold level, transmit a feedback signal indicating that the background signal has the magnitude greater than the threshold level to a detection control system to cause the detection control system to use the feedback signal indicating that the background signal has the magnitude greater than the threshold level to control the optical system so as to transform the light beam to reduce an amount of light incident on the pixel; and, wherein the detection control system is configured to use the feedback signal indicating that the background signal has the magnitude greater than the threshold level to control the optical system so as to transform the light beam to reduce the amount of light incident on the pixel to reduce a false alarm rate of the range finding system ([Fig. 1, 2]; [0016] FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary method 100 for filtering the light received by a photodetector. The method 100 comprises 1) detecting 102 light using a photodetector, and 2) determining 104 whether the detected light is causing the photodetector to saturate and, if so, adjusting one or more liquid crystal light valves to filter the amount of incident light on the photodetector.; [0017] The light valve 204 comprises a liquid crystal element that is positioned to filter incident light on the photodetector 202.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Pacala to comprise the feedback loop wherein the light incident on the sensor is adjusted in response to threshold levels being exceeded similar to Lim, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring that the photodetector is protected in real time from possible saturation signals to both protect the sensor and ensure stray or ambient light does not negatively affect the signal.
Regarding claim 3, Pacala, as modified, teaches the range finding system of claim 1, wherein the second light source comprises a light emitting system different from the range finding system, or sun light ([0157] The light ranging device can include a transmission circuit (e.g., 240 of FIG. 2), which can comprise a plurality of light sources that emit light pulses, and a detection circuit (e.g., 230 of FIG. 2), which can comprise an array of photosensors that detect reflected light pulses and output signals measured over time.).
Regarding claim 4, Pacala, as modified, teaches the range finding system of claim 1, wherein the detection control system is further configured to:
identify one or more noisy pixels of the sensor that are associated with background signals larger than a threshold value to identify a portion of the field of view from which light is directed to the one or more noisy pixels; and ([0060] The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.); and
change the field of view based on the identified portion of the field of view to reduce a level of background light received by the pixels. ([0176] As a result of applying the filter, a strength of the signal to noise in a signal can be increased such that a depth value can be kept.).
Regarding claim 5, Pacala, as modified above, teaches the range finding system of claim 1, wherein the optical system comprises at least one reconfigurable spatial optical filter and wherein the detection control system is configured to transform the light beam by:
identifying a direction along which at least a portion of light directed to the noisy pixel is received from the environment ([0133] In a scanning sensor system, uniformity of pixel spacing in the scanning direction can be achieved by controlling the shutter intervals relative to the rotation angle of the sensor system (e.g., as described below) and by limiting the intrapixel pointing error, or by having independent shutter control on each pixel to eliminate intrapixel error completely. In the non-scanning direction, it is desirable that the object-space pixels along a column are uniformly spaced and that columns in object space map to columns in image space.);
adjusting the reconfigurable spatial optical filter to reduce an amount of light received from the environment along the identified direction ([0176] For instance, if there are two pixels next to each other in the XY plane and both pixels have a peak at a similar distance (e.g., within a distance threshold or an accumulated value above a threshold), the peak can be identified as a real peak. In this manner, peak detection can use a variable (adjusted) threshold based on the signals at neighboring pixels. The threshold(s) and/or the underlying data can be changed (adjusted). The signal processor can make such an identification. The adjusting of a peak value or a detection threshold can be based on the aggregated information of the subset.);
Pacala fails to teach adjusting the reconfigurable spatial optical filter to reduce contribution of light received from the environment along the identified direction to the light beam.
However, Lim teaches adjusting the reconfigurable spatial optical filter to reduce contribution of light received from the environment along the identified direction to the light beam [Fig. 1, 2]; [0016] FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary method 100 for filtering the light received by a photodetector. The method 100 comprises 1) detecting 102 light using a photodetector, and 2) determining 104 whether the detected light is causing the photodetector to saturate and, if so, adjusting one or more liquid crystal light valves to filter the amount of incident light on the photodetector.; [0017] The light valve 204 comprises a liquid crystal element that is positioned to filter incident light on the photodetector 202.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Pacala to comprise the adjusting of the optical filter to reduce contribution of light received from the environment similar to Lim, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of altering the returned light to limit the light exposed on to the pixel to avoid unwanted noise and bad signals.
Regarding claim 6, Pacala, as modified, teaches the range finding system of claim 1, wherein the detection control system is configured to control the readout system by adjusting an event validation threshold level ([0176] The threshold(s) and/or the underlying data can be changed (adjusted). The signal processor can make such an identification. The adjusting of a peak value or a detection threshold can be based on the aggregated information of the subset.).
Regarding claim 7, Pacala, as modified, teaches the range finding system of claim 1, wherein the readout system is further configured to: generate a plurality of return signals based at least in part on the plurality of sensor signals received from the sensor, wherein a return signal of the plurality of return signals is generated using the sensor signal, wherein the return signal is configured to indicate a reflection of an optical probe signal, and wherein the optical probe signal is generated by a first light source of the range finding system ([0061] Pulses from the laser device reflect from objects in the scene at different times and the pixel array detects the pulses of radiation reflection.; [0064] Light ranging system 400 includes a light emitter array 402 and a light sensor array 404. The light emitter array 402 includes an array of light emitters, e.g., an array of VCSELs and the like, such as emitter 403 and emitter 409. Light sensor array 404 includes an array of photosensors, e.g., sensors 413 and 415. The photosensors can be pixelated light sensors that employ, for each pixel, a set of discrete photodetectors such as single photon avalanche diodes (SPADs) and the like. However, various embodiments can deploy any type of photon sensors.), and
wherein the detection control system is further configured to increase a signal-to-noise ratio of a portion of the plurality of sensor signals and the plurality of return signals ([0091] As described in more detail below, matched filters can be used to identify a pulse pattern, thereby effectively increasing the signal-to-noise ratio) by:
identifying pixels that generate background signals having magnitudes larger than the threshold level using the feedback signal ([0060] The optical receiver system detects background light 330 initially and after some time detects the laser pulse reflection 320. The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.); and
adjusting the readout system to reduce contribution of sensor signals generated by the identified pixels, in generation of the portion of the plurality of sensor signals and the plurality of return signals ([0174] The filter kernels can be swept over a lidar frame. As examples, the application of filter kernels can provide range smoothing on neighboring range pixels and/or a time series of range values for a current lidar pixel, edge smoothing, or reduction in noise (e.g., using statistics).).
Regarding claim 8, Pacala, as modified, teaches the range finding system of claim 7, wherein the detection control system is configured to turning off the identified pixels or changing a bias voltage of the identified pixels ([0075] A suitable circuit senses the leading edge of the avalanche current, generates a standard output pulse synchronous with the avalanche build-up, quenches the avalanche by lowering the bias down below the breakdown voltage, and restore the photodiode to the operative level.).
Regarding claim 9, Pacala teaches a method implemented by a at least one processor of a range finding system, the method comprising:
emitting, by a first light source, optical probe signals into an environment ([0048] The LIDAR system 200 shown in FIG. 2 includes the light ranging device 210. The light ranging device 210 includes a ranging system controller 250, a light transmission (Tx) module 240 and a light sensing (Rx) module 230. Ranging data can be generated by the light ranging device by transmitting one or more light pulses 249 from the light transmission module 240 to objects in a field of view surrounding the light ranging device.);
obtaining, by the at least one processor, a plurality of sensor signals from a sensor, wherein the plurality of sensor signals are output by the sensor in response to receiving a light beam generated by an optical system using light received from the environment, wherein the sensor comprises a plurality of pixels, and wherein a pixel of the plurality of pixels generates a sensor signal of the plurality of sensor signals; ([0041] The scanning LIDAR system 101 shown in FIG. 1A can employ a scanning architecture, where the orientation of the LIDAR light source 107 and/or detector circuitry 109 can be scanned around one or more fields of view 110; [0061] Pulses from the laser device reflect from objects in the scene at different times and the pixel array detects the pulses of radiation reflection.);
generating, by the at least one processor, a plurality of background signals based on the plurality of sensor signals, wherein a background signal of the plurality of background signals is generated based on the sensor signal, and wherein the background signal is configured to indicate a magnitude of light generated by a second light source different from the first light source; ([0060] The optical receiver system detects background light 330 initially and after some time detects the laser pulse reflection 320. The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.; [0146] Peak detector 1320 can also measure a signal value and a noise value, effectively providing some signal to noise measurement for a lidar pixel. A signal value can correspond to the number of photon counts at a peak in the histogram, and a noise value can correspond to a background level in time bins outside of a peak region.), and
determining, by the at least one processor, that the background signal has a magnitude greater than a threshold level ([0060] The optical receiver system detects background light 330 initially and after some time detects the laser pulse reflection 320. The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.);
Pacala fails to teach the method of in response to the determination that the backgrounds signal has the magnitude greater than the threshold level, transmitting, by the at least one processor, a feedback signal indicating that the background signal has the magnitude greater than the threshold level to a detection control system to cause the detection control system to use the feedback signal indicating that the background signal has the magnitude greater than the threshold level to control the optical system so as to, transform the light beam to reduce an amount of light incident on the pixel to reduce a false alarm rate of the range finding system.
However, Lim teaches the method of in response to the determination that the backgrounds signal has the magnitude greater than the threshold level, transmitting, by the at least one processor, a feedback signal indicating that the background signal has the magnitude greater than the threshold level to a detection control system to cause the detection control system to use the feedback signal indicating that the background signal has the magnitude greater than the threshold level to control the optical system so as to, transform the light beam to reduce an amount of light incident on the pixel to reduce a false alarm rate of the range finding system ([Fig. 1, 2]; [0016] FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary method 100 for filtering the light received by a photodetector. The method 100 comprises 1) detecting 102 light using a photodetector, and 2) determining 104 whether the detected light is causing the photodetector to saturate and, if so, adjusting one or more liquid crystal light valves to filter the amount of incident light on the photodetector.; [0017] The light valve 204 comprises a liquid crystal element that is positioned to filter incident light on the photodetector 202.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Pacala to comprise the feedback loop wherein the light incident on the sensor is adjusted in response to threshold levels being exceeded similar to Lim, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring that the photodetector is protected in real time from possible saturation signals to both protect the sensor and ensure stray or ambient light does not negatively affect the signal.
Regarding claim 10, Pacala, as modified, teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the sensor comprises at least one reference pixel or reference subpixel and the background signal is generated at least partly by the at least one reference pixel or reference subpixel ([0175] A filter kernel can determine kernel weights or “sameness” for each pixel with respect to a center pixel, so as to provide a filtered value for the center pixel.).
Regarding claim 12, Pacala, as modified, teaches the method of claim 9, wherein generating a plurality of background signals comprises generating, by the at least one processor, at least a portion of the plurality of background signals at least partially based on a portion of the light received from the optical system having wavelengths different from a wavelength of the optical probe signal ([0146] In various embodiments, the amount of light at the operating wavelength (e.g., of the emitted light source) can be used to estimate noise, or other wavelengths can be used. Thus, a lidar pixel can include a range (depth) value, a signal value, and a noise value.; [0183] As described above, lidar image processor 1410 and color image processor 1430 can transmit information to each other, including values for lidar and color images, so that a combined processing can be performed. For example, in some implementations, the color values in any of the color images (e.g., initial, filter, or processed) can be used to estimate noise, which can then be used in determining a depth value, an accuracy of a depth value, and/or whether or not to report a depth value in a final lidar image, e.g., as provided to a user. For example, when the level of ambient light is low, just measuring the noise in the wavelength of the light source might lead to inaccuracies, particularly when the background light is no uniform over time.).
Regarding claim 13, Pacala, as modified, teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the second light source comprises a light emitting system different from the range finding system, or sun light ([0157] The light ranging device can include a transmission circuit (e.g., 240 of FIG. 2), which can comprise a plurality of light sources that emit light pulses, and a detection circuit (e.g., 230 of FIG. 2), which can comprise an array of photosensors that detect reflected light pulses and output signals measured over time.).
Regarding claim 14, Pacala, as modified, teaches the method of claim 9, wherein dynamically adjusting the optical system comprises, by the at least one processor:
identifying one or more noisy pixels of the sensor that are associated with background signals larger than the threshold level to identify a portion of a field of view from which light is directed to the one or more noisy pixels; ([0060] The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.); and
changing the field of view based on the identified portion of the field of view to reduce a level of background light received by at least a portion of the one or more noisy pixels ([0176] As a result of applying the filter, a strength of the signal to noise in a signal can be increased such that a depth value can be kept.).
Regarding claim 15, Pacala, as modified, teaches the method of claim 9, The method of claim 9, further comprising, by the at least one processor, adjusting an event validation threshold level based on the background signal ([0176] The threshold(s) and/or the underlying data can be changed (adjusted). The signal processor can make such an identification. The adjusting of a peak value or a detection threshold can be based on the aggregated information of the subset.).
Regarding claim 16, Pacala teaches at least one non-transitory storage media storing machine-executable instructions ([0296] The software code may be stored as a series of instructions or commands on a computer readable medium for storage and/or transmission.) that, when executed by at least one processor of a range finding system, cause the at least one processor to:
emit, by a first light source, optical probe signals into an environment ([0048] The LIDAR system 200 shown in FIG. 2 includes the light ranging device 210. The light ranging device 210 includes a ranging system controller 250, a light transmission (Tx) module 240 and a light sensing (Rx) module 230. Ranging data can be generated by the light ranging device by transmitting one or more light pulses 249 from the light transmission module 240 to objects in a field of view surrounding the light ranging device.);
obtain a plurality of sensor signals from a sensor, wherein the plurality of sensor signals are output by the sensor in response to receiving a light beam generated by an optical system using light received from the environment, wherein the sensor comprises a plurality of pixels, and wherein a pixel of the plurality of pixels generates a sensor signal of the plurality of sensor signals; ([0041] The scanning LIDAR system 101 shown in FIG. 1A can employ a scanning architecture, where the orientation of the LIDAR light source 107 and/or detector circuitry 109 can be scanned around one or more fields of view 110; [0061] Pulses from the laser device reflect from objects in the scene at different times and the pixel array detects the pulses of radiation reflection..);
generate a plurality of background signals based on the plurality of sensor signals, wherein a background signal of the plurality of background signals is generated based at least in part on the sensor signal, and wherein the background signal is configured to indicate a magnitude of light generated by a second light source different from the first light source, ([0060] The optical receiver system detects background light 330 initially and after some time detects the laser pulse reflection 320. The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.; [0146] Peak detector 1320 can also measure a signal value and a noise value, effectively providing some signal to noise measurement for a lidar pixel. A signal value can correspond to the number of photon counts at a peak in the histogram, and a noise value can correspond to a background level in time bins outside of a peak region.), and
determine that the background signal has a magnitude greater than a threshold level ([0060] The optical receiver system detects background light 330 initially and after some time detects the laser pulse reflection 320. The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.);
Pacala fails to teach the instruction to in response to the determination that the background signal has the magnitude is greater than the threshold level, transmit a feedback signal indicating that the background signal has the magnitude greater than the threshold level to a detection control system to cause the detection control system to use the feedback signal indicating that the background signal has the magnitude greater than the threshold level to control the optical system so as to transform the light beam to reduce an amount of light incident on the pixel; and wherein the detection control system is configured to use the feedback signal indicating that the background signal has the magnitude greater than the threshold level to control the optical system so as to transform the light beam to reduce the amount of light incident on the pixel to reduce a false alarm rate of the range finding system
However, Lim teaches the instruction to in response to the determination that the background signal has the magnitude is greater than the threshold level, transmit a feedback signal indicating that the background signal has the magnitude greater than the threshold level to a detection control system to cause the detection control system to use the feedback signal indicating that the background signal has the magnitude greater than the threshold level to control the optical system so as to transform the light beam to reduce an amount of light incident on the pixel; and wherein the detection control system is configured to use the feedback signal indicating that the background signal has the magnitude greater than the threshold level to control the optical system so as to transform the light beam to reduce the amount of light incident on the pixel to reduce a false alarm rate of the range finding system ([Fig. 1, 2]; [0016] FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary method 100 for filtering the light received by a photodetector. The method 100 comprises 1) detecting 102 light using a photodetector, and 2) determining 104 whether the detected light is causing the photodetector to saturate and, if so, adjusting one or more liquid crystal light valves to filter the amount of incident light on the photodetector.; [0017] The light valve 204 comprises a liquid crystal element that is positioned to filter incident light on the photodetector 202.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Pacala to comprise the feedback loop wherein the light incident on the sensor is adjusted in response to threshold levels being exceeded similar to Lim, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring that the photodetector is protected in real time from possible saturation signals to both protect the sensor and ensure stray or ambient light does not negatively affect the signal.
Regarding claim 17, Pacala, as modified, teaches the at least one non-transitory storage media of claim 16, wherein the machine-executable instructions cause the at least one processor to generate the plurality of background signals by generating at least a portion of the plurality of background signals at least partially based on a portion of the light received from the optical system having wavelengths different from a wavelength of the optical probe signal ([0146] In various embodiments, the amount of light at the operating wavelength (e.g., of the emitted light source) can be used to estimate noise, or other wavelengths can be used. Thus, a lidar pixel can include a range (depth) value, a signal value, and a noise value.; [0183] As described above, lidar image processor 1410 and color image processor 1430 can transmit information to each other, including values for lidar and color images, so that a combined processing can be performed. For example, in some implementations, the color values in any of the color images (e.g., initial, filter, or processed) can be used to estimate noise, which can then be used in determining a depth value, an accuracy of a depth value, and/or whether or not to report a depth value in a final lidar image, e.g., as provided to a user. For example, when the level of ambient light is low, just measuring the noise in the wavelength of the light source might lead to inaccuracies, particularly when the background light is no uniform over time.)
Regarding claim 18, Pacala, as modified, teaches the at least one non-transitory storage media of claim 16, wherein the second light source comprises a light emitting system different from the range finding system, or sun light ([0157] The light ranging device can include a transmission circuit (e.g., 240 of FIG. 2), which can comprise a plurality of light sources that emit light pulses, and a detection circuit (e.g., 230 of FIG. 2), which can comprise an array of photosensors that detect reflected light pulses and output signals measured over time.).
Regarding claim 19, Pacala, as modified, teaches the at least one non-transitory storage media of claim 16, wherein the machine-executable instructions () cause the at least one processor to dynamically adjust at least one of the optical system, sensor, or readout system, to reduce a signal-to-noise ratio of at least a portion of the plurality of sensor signals and/or the plurality of return signals ([0061] Pulses from the laser device reflect from objects in the scene at different times and the pixel array detects the pulses of radiation reflection.; [0064] Light ranging system 400 includes a light emitter array 402 and a light sensor array 404. The light emitter array 402 includes an array of light emitters, e.g., an array of VCSELs and the like, such as emitter 403 and emitter 409. Light sensor array 404 includes an array of photosensors, e.g., sensors 413 and 415. The photosensors can be pixelated light sensors that employ, for each pixel, a set of discrete photodetectors such as single photon avalanche diodes (SPADs) and the like. However, various embodiments can deploy any type of photon sensors; [0176] The threshold(s) and/or the underlying data can be changed (adjusted). The signal processor can make such an identification. The adjusting of a peak value or a detection threshold can be based on the aggregated information of the subset.) by:
identifying pixels that generate background signals having magnitudes larger than the threshold level using the feedback signal; and ([0060] The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.); and
adjusting the readout system to reduce contribution of sensor signals generated by the identified pixels, in generation of the at least a portion of the plurality of return signals. ([0176] As a result of applying the filter, a strength of the signal to noise in a signal can be increased such that a depth value can be kept.).
Regarding claim 20, Pacala, as modified, teaches The at least one non-transitory storage media of claim 19, wherein the machine-executable instructions cause the at least one processor to turn off the identified pixels or change a bias voltage of the identified pixels. ([0075] A suitable circuit senses the leading edge of the avalanche current, generates a standard output pulse synchronous with the avalanche build-up, quenches the avalanche by lowering the bias down below the breakdown voltage, and restore the photodiode to the operative level.).
Claims 2, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacala (US 2022/0291387), in view of Lim (US 2006/0076479 A1), as applied to Claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Meyers (US 2014/0340570).
Regarding claim 2, Pacala, as modified, teaches the range finding system of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises at least one reference pixel or reference subpixel and the background signal is generated at least partly by the at least one reference pixel or reference subpixel ([0175] A filter kernel can determine kernel weights or “sameness” for each pixel with respect to a center pixel, so as to provide a filtered value for the center pixel.),
Pacala fails to teach the system wherein the at least one reference pixel or reference subpixel comprises an optical filter having a passband broader than an operating wavelength range of the range finding system.
However, Meyers teaches the system wherein the at least one reference pixel or reference subpixel comprises an optical filter having a passband broader than an operating wavelength range of the range finding system ([0229] Modern advanced infrared cameras may provide per-pixel co-located measurements of infrared wavelengths in, for instance, the mid-wave infrared (MWIR) and long-wave infrared (LWIR) wavelength bands. One band may be used to provide reference pixel values and pixel in the other band can be allocated or summed to provide bucket values. A further, local G.sup.(2) type calculation may take place wherein deviations from the ensemble mean of one wavelength band can be multiplied with deviations from the ensemble mean of the other wavelength band.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Pacala, modified by Lim, to comprise the broader wavelength reference pixel similar to Meyers, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring the reference pixel has more context within the image to reduce the amount of noise present in the scan.
Regarding claim 11, Pacala, as modified, teaches the method of claim 10,
Pacala fails to teach the method wherein the at least one reference pixel or reference subpixel comprises an optical filter having a passband broader than an operating wavelength range of the range finding system.
However, Meyers teaches the method wherein the at least one reference pixel or reference subpixel comprises an optical filter having a passband broader than an operating wavelength range of the range finding system ([0229] Modern advanced infrared cameras may provide per-pixel co-located measurements of infrared wavelengths in, for instance, the mid-wave infrared (MWIR) and long-wave infrared (LWIR) wavelength bands. One band may be used to provide reference pixel values and pixel in the other band can be allocated or summed to provide bucket values. A further, local G.sup.(2) type calculation may take place wherein deviations from the ensemble mean of one wavelength band can be multiplied with deviations from the ensemble mean of the other wavelength band.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Pacala, as modified by Lim, to comprise the broader wavelength reference pixel similar to Meyers, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring the reference pixel has more context within the image to reduce the amount of noise present in the scan.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the specific combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
As necessitated by the amendments made by the applicant in the newly limited independent claims regarding the additional structure in which the feedback loop of the invention operates, newly discovered prior art of Lim has been entered into the non-final rejection. Lim teaches the method in which a sensor has a controlled optical element, in this case a liquid crystal light valve, which will limit the amount of incoming light on the sensor in the event that the light sensor is saturated. The arguments for why it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine this prior art with the previously disclosed prior art of Pacala to arrive at the same device of the immediate application have been provided above.
Conclusion
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645