Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed April 14th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant's amendments to the Specification, Drawings and claims have overcome almost every objection and 112b rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final office Action mailed November 17th, 2025.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0128], lines 13 and 16, “Fig. 7A” should likely read “Fig. 7”.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacala (United States Patent Application Publication 20220291387 A1), hereinafter Pacala, in view of Schneider et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2021015274 A1), hereinafter Schneider.
Regarding claim 1, Pacala teaches A range finding system, comprising:
a first light source configured to emit optical probe signals into an environment ([0048] The LIDAR system 200 shown in FIG. 2 includes the light ranging device 210. The light ranging device 210 includes a ranging system controller 250, a light transmission (Tx) module 240 and a light sensing (Rx) module 230. Ranging data can be generated by the light ranging device by transmitting one or more light pulses 249 from the light transmission module 240 to objects in a field of view surrounding the light ranging device.);
an optical system configured to receive light from the environment through a field of view of the range finding system and generate a light beam using the received light ([0041] The scanning LIDAR system 101 shown in FIG. 1A can employ a scanning architecture, where the orientation of the LIDAR light source 107 and/or detector circuitry 109 can be scanned around one or more fields of view 110; [0053] Similarly, the ranging system controller 250 can control the light transmission module 240 by sending commands, or relaying commands from the base controller, that include start and stop light emission controls and controls that can adjust other light-emitter parameters (e.g., pulse codes));
a sensor configured to receive the light beam from the optical system and output a plurality of sensor signals based on to the light beam, the sensor comprising a plurality of pixels, wherein a pixel of the plurality of pixels generates a sensor signal of the plurality of sensor signals ([0061] Pulses from the laser device reflect from objects in the scene at different times and the pixel array detects the pulses of radiation reflection.);
a readout system configured to:
generate a plurality of background signals based on the plurality of sensor signals received from the sensor, wherein a background signal of the plurality of background signals is generated based on the sensor signal, wherein the background signal is configured to indicate a magnitude of light generated by a second light source different from the first light source ([0060] The optical receiver system detects background light 330 initially and after some time detects the laser pulse reflection 320. The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.; [0146] Peak detector 1320 can also measure a signal value and a noise value, effectively providing some signal to noise measurement for a lidar pixel. A signal value can correspond to the number of photon counts at a peak in the histogram, and a noise value can correspond to a background level in time bins outside of a peak region.),
determine that the background signal has a magnitude greater than a threshold level ([0060] The optical receiver system detects background light 330 initially and after some time detects the laser pulse reflection 320. The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.); and
generate a feedback signal based on the determination that the background signal has a magnitude greater than the threshold level ([0078] Binary signal 545, avalanche current 534, and pixel counters 550 are examples of data values that can be provided by a photosensor composed of one or more SPADs... Each of the respective signals can be compared to a threshold to determine whether a corresponding photodetector triggered; [0079] Pixel counters 550 can use binary signal 545 to count the number of photodetectors for a given pixel that have been triggered by one or more photons during a particular time bin).
Pacala fails to teach a detection control system configured to use the feedback signal to control the optical system so as to transform the light beam to reduce an amount of light incident on the pixel
However, Schneider teaches a detection control system configured to use the feedback signal to control the optical system so as to transform the light beam to reduce an amount of light incident on the pixel ([0041] The focus module 10 furthermore has its own focus control 18 that is connected to the focus adjustment 14 and to the distance sensor 16. This enables a focus regulation or an autofocus mode in which respective distance values are measured and the focal position is set accordingly.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Pacala to comprise the detection control system configured to use the feedback signal to transform the light beam similar to Schneider, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of altering the returned light to limit the light exposed on to the pixel to avoid unwanted noise and bad signals.
Regarding claim 3, Pacala, as modified, teaches the range finding system of claim 1, wherein the second light source comprises a light emitting system different from the range finding system, or sun light ([0157] The light ranging device can include a transmission circuit (e.g., 240 of FIG. 2), which can comprise a plurality of light sources that emit light pulses, and a detection circuit (e.g., 230 of FIG. 2), which can comprise an array of photosensors that detect reflected light pulses and output signals measured over time.).
Regarding claim 4, Pacala, as modified, teaches the range finding system of claim 1, wherein the detection control system is further configured to:
identify one or more noisy pixels of the sensor that are associated with background signals larger than a threshold value to identify a portion of the field of view from which light is directed to the one or more noisy pixels; and ([0060] The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.); and
change the field of view based on the identified portion of the field of view to reduce a level of background light received by the pixels. ([0176] As a result of applying the filter, a strength of the signal to noise in a signal can be increased such that a depth value can be kept.).
Regarding claim 5, Pacala, as modified above, teaches the range finding system of claim 1, wherein the optical system comprises at least one reconfigurable spatial optical filter and wherein the detection control system is configured to transform the light beam by:
identifying a direction along which at least a portion of light directed to the noisy pixel is received from the environment ([0133] In a scanning sensor system, uniformity of pixel spacing in the scanning direction can be achieved by controlling the shutter intervals relative to the rotation angle of the sensor system (e.g., as described below) and by limiting the intrapixel pointing error, or by having independent shutter control on each pixel to eliminate intrapixel error completely. In the non-scanning direction, it is desirable that the object-space pixels along a column are uniformly spaced and that columns in object space map to columns in image space.);
adjusting the reconfigurable spatial optical filter to reduce an amount of light received from the environment along the identified direction ([0176] For instance, if there are two pixels next to each other in the XY plane and both pixels have a peak at a similar distance (e.g., within a distance threshold or an accumulated value above a threshold), the peak can be identified as a real peak. In this manner, peak detection can use a variable (adjusted) threshold based on the signals at neighboring pixels. The threshold(s) and/or the underlying data can be changed (adjusted). The signal processor can make such an identification. The adjusting of a peak value or a detection threshold can be based on the aggregated information of the subset.);
Pacala fails to teach adjusting the reconfigurable spatial optical filter to reduce contribution of light received from the environment along the identified direction to the light beam.
However, Schneider teaches adjusting the reconfigurable spatial optical filter to reduce contribution of light received from the environment along the identified direction to the light beam ([0041] The focus module 10 furthermore has its own focus control 18 that is connected to the focus adjustment 14 and to the distance sensor 16. This enables a focus regulation or an autofocus mode in which respective distance values are measured and the focal position is set accordingly.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Pacala to comprise the adjusting of the optical filter to reduce contribution of light received from the environment similar to Schneider, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of altering the returned light to limit the light exposed on to the pixel to avoid unwanted noise and bad signals.
Regarding claim 6, Pacala, as modified, teaches the range finding system of claim 1, wherein the detection control system is configured to control the readout system by adjusting an event validation threshold level ([0176] The threshold(s) and/or the underlying data can be changed (adjusted). The signal processor can make such an identification. The adjusting of a peak value or a detection threshold can be based on the aggregated information of the subset.).
Regarding claim 7, Pacala, as modified, teaches the range finding system of claim 1, wherein the readout system is further configured to: generate a plurality of return signals based at least in part on the plurality of sensor signals received from the sensor, wherein a return signal of the plurality of return signals is generated using the sensor signal, wherein the return signal is configured to indicate a reflection of an optical probe signal, and wherein the optical probe signal is generated by a first light source of the range finding system ([0061] Pulses from the laser device reflect from objects in the scene at different times and the pixel array detects the pulses of radiation reflection.; [0064] Light ranging system 400 includes a light emitter array 402 and a light sensor array 404. The light emitter array 402 includes an array of light emitters, e.g., an array of VCSELs and the like, such as emitter 403 and emitter 409. Light sensor array 404 includes an array of photosensors, e.g., sensors 413 and 415. The photosensors can be pixelated light sensors that employ, for each pixel, a set of discrete photodetectors such as single photon avalanche diodes (SPADs) and the like. However, various embodiments can deploy any type of photon sensors.), and
wherein the detection control system is further configured to increase a signal-to-noise ratio of a portion of the plurality of sensor signals and the plurality of return signals ([0091] As described in more detail below, matched filters can be used to identify a pulse pattern, thereby effectively increasing the signal-to-noise ratio) by:
identifying pixels that generate background signals having magnitudes larger than the threshold level using the feedback signal ([0060] The optical receiver system detects background light 330 initially and after some time detects the laser pulse reflection 320. The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.); and
adjusting the readout system to reduce contribution of sensor signals generated by the identified pixels, in generation of the portion of the plurality of sensor signals and the plurality of return signals ([0174] The filter kernels can be swept over a lidar frame. As examples, the application of filter kernels can provide range smoothing on neighboring range pixels and/or a time series of range values for a current lidar pixel, edge smoothing, or reduction in noise (e.g., using statistics).).
Regarding claim 8, Pacala, as modified, teaches the range finding system of claim 7, wherein the detection control system is configured to turning off the identified pixels or changing a bias voltage of the identified pixels ([0075] A suitable circuit senses the leading edge of the avalanche current, generates a standard output pulse synchronous with the avalanche build-up, quenches the avalanche by lowering the bias down below the breakdown voltage, and restore the photodiode to the operative level.).
Regarding claim 9, Pacala teaches a method implemented by a at least one processor of a range finding system, the method comprising:
emitting, by a first light source, optical probe signals into an environment ([0048] The LIDAR system 200 shown in FIG. 2 includes the light ranging device 210. The light ranging device 210 includes a ranging system controller 250, a light transmission (Tx) module 240 and a light sensing (Rx) module 230. Ranging data can be generated by the light ranging device by transmitting one or more light pulses 249 from the light transmission module 240 to objects in a field of view surrounding the light ranging device.);
obtaining, by the at least one processor, a plurality of sensor signals from a sensor, wherein the plurality of sensor signals are output by the sensor in response to receiving a light beam generated by an optical system using light received from the environment, wherein the sensor comprises a plurality of pixels, and wherein a pixel of the plurality of pixels generates a sensor signal of the plurality of sensor signals; ([0041] The scanning LIDAR system 101 shown in FIG. 1A can employ a scanning architecture, where the orientation of the LIDAR light source 107 and/or detector circuitry 109 can be scanned around one or more fields of view 110; [0061] Pulses from the laser device reflect from objects in the scene at different times and the pixel array detects the pulses of radiation reflection.);
generating, by the at least one processor, a plurality of background signals based on the plurality of sensor signals, wherein a background signal of the plurality of background signals is generated based on the sensor signal, and wherein the background signal is configured to indicate a magnitude of light generated by a second light source different from the first light source; ([0060] The optical receiver system detects background light 330 initially and after some time detects the laser pulse reflection 320. The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.; [0146] Peak detector 1320 can also measure a signal value and a noise value, effectively providing some signal to noise measurement for a lidar pixel. A signal value can correspond to the number of photon counts at a peak in the histogram, and a noise value can correspond to a background level in time bins outside of a peak region.), and
determining, by the at least one processor, that the background signal has a magnitude greater than a threshold level ([0060] The optical receiver system detects background light 330 initially and after some time detects the laser pulse reflection 320. The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.);
generating, by the at least one processor, a feedback signal based on determining that the background signal has a magnitude greater than the threshold level, and ([0078] Binary signal 545, avalanche current 534, and pixel counters 550 are examples of data values that can be provided by a photosensor composed of one or more SPADs... Each of the respective signals can be compared to a threshold to determine whether a corresponding photodetector triggered; [0079] Pixel counters 550 can use binary signal 545 to count the number of photodetectors for a given pixel that have been triggered by one or more photons during a particular time bin),
Pacala fails to teach transforming the light beam to reduce an amount of light incident on the pixel
However, Schneider teaches transforming the light beam to reduce an amount of light incident on the pixel ([0041] The focus module 10 furthermore has its own focus control 18 that is connected to the focus adjustment 14 and to the distance sensor 16. This enables a focus regulation or an autofocus mode in which respective distance values are measured and the focal position is set accordingly.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Pacala to comprise the transformation of the light beam similar to Schneider, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of altering the returned light to limit the light exposed on to the pixel to avoid unwanted noise and bad signals.
Regarding claim 10, Pacala, as modified, teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the sensor comprises at least one reference pixel or reference subpixel and the background signal is generated at least partly by the at least one reference pixel or reference subpixel ([0175] A filter kernel can determine kernel weights or “sameness” for each pixel with respect to a center pixel, so as to provide a filtered value for the center pixel.).
Regarding claim 12, Pacala, as modified, teaches the method of claim 9, wherein generating a plurality of background signals comprises generating, by the at least one processor, at least a portion of the plurality of background signals at least partially based on a portion of the light received from the optical system having wavelengths different from a wavelength of the optical probe signal ([0146] In various embodiments, the amount of light at the operating wavelength (e.g., of the emitted light source) can be used to estimate noise, or other wavelengths can be used. Thus, a lidar pixel can include a range (depth) value, a signal value, and a noise value.; [0183] As described above, lidar image processor 1410 and color image processor 1430 can transmit information to each other, including values for lidar and color images, so that a combined processing can be performed. For example, in some implementations, the color values in any of the color images (e.g., initial, filter, or processed) can be used to estimate noise, which can then be used in determining a depth value, an accuracy of a depth value, and/or whether or not to report a depth value in a final lidar image, e.g., as provided to a user. For example, when the level of ambient light is low, just measuring the noise in the wavelength of the light source might lead to inaccuracies, particularly when the background light is no uniform over time.).
Regarding claim 13, Pacala, as modified, teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the second light source comprises a light emitting system different from the range finding system, or sun light ([0157] The light ranging device can include a transmission circuit (e.g., 240 of FIG. 2), which can comprise a plurality of light sources that emit light pulses, and a detection circuit (e.g., 230 of FIG. 2), which can comprise an array of photosensors that detect reflected light pulses and output signals measured over time.).
Regarding claim 14, Pacala, as modified, teaches the method of claim 9, wherein dynamically adjusting the optical system comprises, by the at least one processor:
identifying one or more noisy pixels of the sensor that are associated with background signals larger than the threshold level to identify a portion of a field of view from which light is directed to the one or more noisy pixels; ([0060] The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.); and
changing the field of view based on the identified portion of the field of view to reduce a level of background light received by at least a portion of the one or more noisy pixels ([0176] As a result of applying the filter, a strength of the signal to noise in a signal can be increased such that a depth value can be kept.).
Regarding claim 15, Pacala, as modified, teaches the method of claim 9, The method of claim 9, further comprising, by the at least one processor, adjusting an event validation threshold level based on the background signal ([0176] The threshold(s) and/or the underlying data can be changed (adjusted). The signal processor can make such an identification. The adjusting of a peak value or a detection threshold can be based on the aggregated information of the subset.).
Regarding claim 16, Pacala teaches At least one non-transitory storage media storing machine-executable instructions ([0296] The software code may be stored as a series of instructions or commands on a computer readable medium for storage and/or transmission.) that, when executed by at least one processor of a range finding system, cause the at least one processor to:
emit, by a first light source, optical probe signals into an environment ([0048] The LIDAR system 200 shown in FIG. 2 includes the light ranging device 210. The light ranging device 210 includes a ranging system controller 250, a light transmission (Tx) module 240 and a light sensing (Rx) module 230. Ranging data can be generated by the light ranging device by transmitting one or more light pulses 249 from the light transmission module 240 to objects in a field of view surrounding the light ranging device.);
obtain a plurality of sensor signals from a sensor, wherein the plurality of sensor signals are output by the sensor in response to receiving a light beam generated by an optical system using light received from the environment, wherein the sensor comprises a plurality of pixels, and wherein a pixel of the plurality of pixels generates a sensor signal of the plurality of sensor signals; ([0041] The scanning LIDAR system 101 shown in FIG. 1A can employ a scanning architecture, where the orientation of the LIDAR light source 107 and/or detector circuitry 109 can be scanned around one or more fields of view 110; [0061] Pulses from the laser device reflect from objects in the scene at different times and the pixel array detects the pulses of radiation reflection..);
generate a plurality of background signals based on the plurality of sensor signals, wherein a background signal of the plurality of background signals is generated based at least in part on the sensor signal, and wherein the background signal is configured to indicate a magnitude of light generated by a second light source different from the first light source, ([0060] The optical receiver system detects background light 330 initially and after some time detects the laser pulse reflection 320. The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.; [0146] Peak detector 1320 can also measure a signal value and a noise value, effectively providing some signal to noise measurement for a lidar pixel. A signal value can correspond to the number of photon counts at a peak in the histogram, and a noise value can correspond to a background level in time bins outside of a peak region.), and
determine that the background signal has a magnitude greater than a threshold level ([0060] The optical receiver system detects background light 330 initially and after some time detects the laser pulse reflection 320. The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.);
generate a feedback signal based on determining that the background signal is greater than the threshold level, ([0078] Binary signal 545, avalanche current 534, and pixel counters 550 are examples of data values that can be provided by a photosensor composed of one or more SPADs... Each of the respective signals can be compared to a threshold to determine whether a corresponding photodetector triggered; [0079] Pixel counters 550 can use binary signal 545 to count the number of photodetectors for a given pixel that have been triggered by one or more photons during a particular time bin),
Pacala fails to teach the instruction to transform the light beam to reduce an amount of light incident on the pixel using the feedback signal
However, Schneider teaches the instruction to transform the light beam to reduce an amount of light incident on the pixel using the feedback signal ([0041] The focus module 10 furthermore has its own focus control 18 that is connected to the focus adjustment 14 and to the distance sensor 16. This enables a focus regulation or an autofocus mode in which respective distance values are measured and the focal position is set accordingly.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Pacala to comprise the transformation of the light beam using the feedback signal similar to Schneider, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of altering the returned light to limit the light exposed on to the pixel to avoid unwanted noise and bad signals.
Regarding claim 17, Pacala, as modified, teaches the at least one non-transitory storage media of claim 16, wherein the machine-executable instructions cause the at least one processor to generate the plurality of background signals by generating at least a portion of the plurality of background signals at least partially based on a portion of the light received from the optical system having wavelengths different from a wavelength of the optical probe signal ([0146] In various embodiments, the amount of light at the operating wavelength (e.g., of the emitted light source) can be used to estimate noise, or other wavelengths can be used. Thus, a lidar pixel can include a range (depth) value, a signal value, and a noise value.; [0183] As described above, lidar image processor 1410 and color image processor 1430 can transmit information to each other, including values for lidar and color images, so that a combined processing can be performed. For example, in some implementations, the color values in any of the color images (e.g., initial, filter, or processed) can be used to estimate noise, which can then be used in determining a depth value, an accuracy of a depth value, and/or whether or not to report a depth value in a final lidar image, e.g., as provided to a user. For example, when the level of ambient light is low, just measuring the noise in the wavelength of the light source might lead to inaccuracies, particularly when the background light is no uniform over time.)
Regarding claim 18, Pacala, as modified, teaches the at least one non-transitory storage media of claim 16, wherein the second light source comprises a light emitting system different from the range finding system, or sun light ([0157] The light ranging device can include a transmission circuit (e.g., 240 of FIG. 2), which can comprise a plurality of light sources that emit light pulses, and a detection circuit (e.g., 230 of FIG. 2), which can comprise an array of photosensors that detect reflected light pulses and output signals measured over time.).
Regarding claim 19, Pacala, as modified, teaches the at least one non-transitory storage media of claim 16, wherein the machine-executable instructions () cause the at least one processor to dynamically adjust at least one of the optical system, sensor, or readout system, to reduce a signal-to-noise ratio of at least a portion of the plurality of sensor signals and/or the plurality of return signals ([0061] Pulses from the laser device reflect from objects in the scene at different times and the pixel array detects the pulses of radiation reflection.; [0064] Light ranging system 400 includes a light emitter array 402 and a light sensor array 404. The light emitter array 402 includes an array of light emitters, e.g., an array of VCSELs and the like, such as emitter 403 and emitter 409. Light sensor array 404 includes an array of photosensors, e.g., sensors 413 and 415. The photosensors can be pixelated light sensors that employ, for each pixel, a set of discrete photodetectors such as single photon avalanche diodes (SPADs) and the like. However, various embodiments can deploy any type of photon sensors; [0176] The threshold(s) and/or the underlying data can be changed (adjusted). The signal processor can make such an identification. The adjusting of a peak value or a detection threshold can be based on the aggregated information of the subset.) by:
identifying pixels that generate background signals having magnitudes larger than the threshold level using the feedback signal; and ([0060] The optical receiver system can compare the detected light intensity against a detection threshold to identify the laser pulse reflection 320. The detection threshold can distinguish the background light 330 from light corresponding to the laser pulse reflection 320.); and
adjusting the readout system to reduce contribution of sensor signals generated by the identified pixels, in generation of the at least a portion of the plurality of return signals. ([0176] As a result of applying the filter, a strength of the signal to noise in a signal can be increased such that a depth value can be kept.).
Regarding claim 20, Pacala, as modified, teaches The at least one non-transitory storage media of claim 19, wherein the machine-executable instructions cause the at least one processor to turn off the identified pixels or change a bias voltage of the identified pixels. ([0075] A suitable circuit senses the leading edge of the avalanche current, generates a standard output pulse synchronous with the avalanche build-up, quenches the avalanche by lowering the bias down below the breakdown voltage, and restore the photodiode to the operative level.).
Claims 2, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacala in view of Schneider, further in view of Meyers et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20140340570 A1), hereinafter Meyers.
Regarding claim 2, Pacala, as modified, teaches the range finding system of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises at least one reference pixel or reference subpixel and the background signal is generated at least partly by the at least one reference pixel or reference subpixel ([0175] A filter kernel can determine kernel weights or “sameness” for each pixel with respect to a center pixel, so as to provide a filtered value for the center pixel.),
Pacala fails to teach the system wherein the at least one reference pixel or reference subpixel comprises an optical filter having a passband broader than an operating wavelength range of the range finding system.
However, Meyers teaches the system wherein the at least one reference pixel or reference subpixel comprises an optical filter having a passband broader than an operating wavelength range of the range finding system ([0229] Modern advanced infrared cameras may provide per-pixel co-located measurements of infrared wavelengths in, for instance, the mid-wave infrared (MWIR) and long-wave infrared (LWIR) wavelength bands. One band may be used to provide reference pixel values and pixel in the other band can be allocated or summed to provide bucket values. A further, local G.sup.(2) type calculation may take place wherein deviations from the ensemble mean of one wavelength band can be multiplied with deviations from the ensemble mean of the other wavelength band.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Pacala, modified by Schneider, to comprise the broader wavelength reference pixel similar to Meyers, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring the reference pixel has more context within the image to reduce the amount of noise present in the scan.
Regarding claim 11, Pacala, as modified, teaches the method of claim 10,
Pacala fails to teach the method wherein the at least one reference pixel or reference subpixel comprises an optical filter having a passband broader than an operating wavelength range of the range finding system.
However, Meyers teaches the method wherein the at least one reference pixel or reference subpixel comprises an optical filter having a passband broader than an operating wavelength range of the range finding system ([0229] Modern advanced infrared cameras may provide per-pixel co-located measurements of infrared wavelengths in, for instance, the mid-wave infrared (MWIR) and long-wave infrared (LWIR) wavelength bands. One band may be used to provide reference pixel values and pixel in the other band can be allocated or summed to provide bucket values. A further, local G.sup.(2) type calculation may take place wherein deviations from the ensemble mean of one wavelength band can be multiplied with deviations from the ensemble mean of the other wavelength band.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Pacala, as modified by Schneider, to comprise the broader wavelength reference pixel similar to Meyers, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring the reference pixel has more context within the image to reduce the amount of noise present in the scan.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-14 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed April 14th, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-10, and 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pacala, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 under Pacala in view of Schneider.
While the previous rejection of the independent claims has been overcome by the amendments, a new grounds of rejection, necessitated by the amendments made, has been made in view of the new prior art of record, resultant of the updated search. The reasons for obviousness to combine the prior art has been made above and as such the rejection is maintained to this Final Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645