DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-40 are pending. Claims 1, 10, 22, and 30 are in independent forms. Claims 1, 10, 18, 22, 30, and 38 has been amended.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 08 October 2025 have been fully considered however they are moot due to new grounds of rejection below initiated by Applicant’s amendment.
Drawings
4. The drawings filed on 11/29/2022 are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-6, 9-14, 17-27, 30-34, and 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burowski et al. US Patent No. 11,082,809 (hereinafter Burowski) in view of Burowski et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0076163 (hereinafter Burowski-2) in further view of Schoenberg et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0072373 (hereinafter Schoenberg).
Regarding claim 1, Burowski discloses a method for communicating with an access device (Fig. 1, mobile device 110), the method comprising performing, by a mobile device (Fig. 1, mobile device 120):
“selecting a timeslot of a plurality of timeslots in a response phase of a communication session” (see Burowski col. 22, lines 13-17, Upon receipt and processing of the broadcast message 810, the mobile device 804, 806 can select one of the timeslots (e.g., 818-824) listed in the broadcast message 810 for sending the response message 830 to conduct ranging between the devices);
“transmitting a response message to a particular access device of the plurality of access devices during the timeslot of the response phase” (see Burowski col. 20, lines 59-63, During the selected timeslot, a device 804, 806 transmits a response message 830 to the initiating mobile device 802. The response message 830 can include information the initiating mobile device 802 needs to identify the device 804, 806);
“receiving, from particular access device and during a third phase, an assignment message including an assigned timeslot for the response phase of a future session” (see Burowski col. 25, lines 55-65, At 1104, the technique can include designating a number of response timeslots for receiving a response from two or more participating mobile devices during the number of response timeslots. Each of the response slots is non-overlapping in time with other of the plurality of response slots. The initiating device can determine a number of response slots, a total ranging time, a duration of each of the timeslots, a number of timeslots for an inactive period, and a total time for the inactive period. In some embodiments, the defining the ranging round includes modifying the response slots);
Burowski does not explicitly discloses receiving a plurality of polling messages, each polling message including an identifier of a respective access device of a plurality of access devices that transmit the polling message, wherein each polling message of the plurality of polling messages is transmitted during a polling phase; performing secure ranging with the particular access device during the future session using the assigned timeslot; providing an access credential to the particular access device responsive to a location determined using the secure ranging.
However, in analogues art, Burowski-2 discloses receiving a plurality of polling messages, each polling message including an identifier of a respective access device of a plurality of access devices that transmit the polling message, wherein each polling message of the plurality of polling messages is transmitted during a polling phase (see Burowski-2 pars. 0215-0218, the UAP messages 1906 can provide additional information such as the time until the next slot. In that way, once the receiving device received the UAP messages 1906, the receiving device knows both timing and schedule for conducting ranging. In these embodiments, the UAP messages 1906 many not need to point to the second and third polling signals. Accordingly, embodiments can rely on a first poll for the initial timing and adjust delay on a given schedule for when future UWB signals are expected. In another example, each round can be defined by information in a UAP signal, the UAP messages 1906 can be used within designated timeslots for ranging between devices or to specify when a next time slot is to begin, where predetermined time offsets from a given start of a timeslot can be used to determine a time window to begin listening for UWB signals. The UAP messages 1906 can provide the next UWB polling signal 1902 for ranging between the two devices during that individual round. In other embodiments, the UAP messages 1906 can be used when a new receiving device is joining the ranging session. The UAP messages 1906 can be used to convey timing information to inform the new device of the time for starting the ranging round.); performing secure ranging with the particular access device during the future session using the assigned timeslot (see Burowski-2 pars. 0087, 0094, A ranging schedule can be generated based on the number of devices and the number of channels available to conduct ranging. The number of channels can be based in part on the number of preambles and the number of packet positions within each timeslot. The generated schedule can be transmitted to all the devices active in the ranging session. Each device can reference the generated schedule to know their assigned time slot for ranging and which device they can be ranging with during that time slot. The APL 700 can provide a device index 704 and a unique identifier 706 (e.g., a UUID). In the exemplary APL 700 up to ten (10) participating mobile devices can be active in a ranging session at one time. In FIG. 7, there are nine participating devices. Device index-1 708 (uuid 1) is identified as the coordinator (the particular access device) for the ranging session. Device index-4 710 is identified as not being assigned to a unique identifier. This can be an indication the device that previously was assigned to index-4 710 has left the ranging session or is out of range); providing an access credential to the particular access device responsive to a location determined using the secure ranging (see Burowski-2 par. 0007, techniques can be implemented to reduce the number of collisions between ranging message by designating time slots for ranging sessions based on timing from a coordinator mobile device. Each device can transmit their unique identifier to indicate participation in the ranging session. The multiple devices can receive unique identifiers from the other devices. An algorithm can be executed on the mobile devices using the unique identifiers to designate one of the multiple devices as the coordinator device for the ranging session. The coordinator device can generate and broadcast an active participant list. The active participant list provides a list of unique identifiers and index positions assigned to the mobile devices. The coordinator can determine a table for a ranging session that specifies pairs of mobile devices designated to perform a ranging operation with each other during a particular time period using a particular communication channel. Each of the mobile devices can perform a ranging operation at the particular communication channel as designated in the table).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Burowski-2 into the system of Burowski to provide an APL to include a list of device index slots for the participating devices. Each of devices are assigned a device index. The device index can determine the ranging order for the participating devices (see Burowski-2 par. 0094).
Burowski in view of Burowski-2 does not explicitly discloses where the location is a position relative to an entryway of the particular access device.
However, in analogues art, Schoenberg discloses where the location is a position relative to an entryway of the particular access device (see Schoenberg pars. 0026, 0029, 0198, The ranging can provide distance information, which can be used to determine a relative position of one mobile device to another. As examples, the relative position can include a distance value, angular (orientation) information between the two devices, or both. The distance information obtained from the ranging session can be used in a variety of ways. For example, the distance information can be used to display a relative position of the receiving mobile device on a screen of a sending mobile device, which is to send a data item. Such a user interface can allow a user to quickly and accurately select the recipient device for sending the data item, e.g., a video, audio, or a link to an application, as may be used to hand off an application at a particular location (e.g., page) in an application).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Schoenberg into the system of Burowski and Burowski-2 to include ranging to provide distance information, which can be used to determine a relative position of one mobile device to another. As examples, the relative position can include a distance value, angular (orientation) information between the two devices, or both (see Schoenberg par. 0005).
Regarding claims 2 and 23, Burowski in view of Burowski-2 in further view of Schoenberg discloses the method of claim 1, the computing device of claim 22,
Burowski further discloses selecting a portion of the timeslot based on a time of arrival for the plurality of polling messages, and wherein the response message is transmitted during the portion of the timeslot (see Burowski col. 14, lines 13-25, The ranging messages can include a schedule for responding for one or more mobile devices. The schedule can include one or more time delays following the receipt of the ranging message. The responding device can randomly select one of the response timeslots to respond to the mobile device. The response message can include a time of receipt of the ranging message. The response message can include an identifier for the responding message. The response message can include a rough range calculation between the first mobile device and the second mobile device. The responding mobile device can use a time in the ranging message to calculate a rough range between the initiating and responding mobile device).
Regarding claims 3 and 24, Burowski in view of Burowski-2 in further view of Schoenberg discloses the method of claim 1, the computing device of claim 22,
Burowski further discloses selecting a portion of the timeslot based on a received message strength of each of the plurality of polling messages, and wherein the response message is transmitted during the portion of the timeslot (see Burowski col. 28, lines 25-39, In some embodiments, the technique can maintain the inefficiency of redundant links. In various embodiments, one mobile device can communicate to the other mobile device using an in-band or out of band protocol to communicate loading to reduce one or more redundant ranging sessions. In various embodiments, signal strength can be used to determine which of the redundant ranging sessions to prune. The devices can randomly select which of the redundant ranging sessions to prune. The characteristics of the mobile devices (e.g., a Media Access Control (MAC) address) can be used to determine which ranging session to prune. In various embodiment, the common criteria can include an identifier (e.g., IMEI) for a mobile device. The common criteria can include a portion of the identifier for the mobile device).
Regarding claims 4 and 25, Burowski in view of Burowski-2 in further view of Schoenberg discloses the method of claim 3, the computing device of claim 22,
Burowski further discloses receiving scheduling information specifying which portion of each of the plurality of timeslots is assigned to which access device to listen for the response message (see Burowski col. 25, lines 45-50, At 1102, the technique can include storing a schedule. The schedule can specify a transmission time for transmitting ranging packets. The schedule can be stored in a memory of the one or more mobile devices. The schedule can include a plurality of time delays from a timing signal to define multiple response timeslots).
Regarding claims 5 and 26, Burowski in view of Burowski-2 in further view of Schoenberg discloses the method of claim 4, the computing device of claim 25,
Burowski-2 further discloses wherein the scheduling information is received in
a polling message (see Burowski-2 par. 0217, the UAP messages 1906 can provide additional information such as the time until the next slot. In that way, once the receiving device received the UAP messages 1906, the receiving device knows both timing and schedule for conducting ranging. In these embodiments, the UAP messages 1906 many not need to point to the second and third polling signals. Accordingly, embodiments can rely on a first poll for the initial timing and adjust delay on a given schedule for when future UWB signals are expected. In another example, each round can be defined by information in a UAP signal).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Burowski-2 into the system of Burowski to provide an APL to include a list of device index slots for the participating devices. Each of devices are assigned a device index. The device index can determine the ranging order for the participating devices (see Burowski-2 par. 0094).
Regarding claims 6 and 27, Burowski in view of Burowski-2 in further view of Schoenberg discloses the method of claim 1, the computing device of claim 22,
Burowski further discloses wherein the timeslot comprises a plurality of portions, where each portion of the timeslot corresponds to a respective access device of the plurality of access devices (see Burowski col. 19, line 64-col. 20, line 13, The duration of each of the timeslots can also be specified in the broadcast message 810. By specifying a number and duration of each of the timeslots, the mobile devices 804, 806 can select from a number of different defined time periods to conduct ranging to reduce the potential for missed messages from collisions between messages on the same channel. The failure for a mobile device 804, 806 to receive an acknowledgment message 834 from the initiating mobile device 802 in response to the response message 830 can be an indication of two devices transmitting in the same timeslot).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Burowski-2 into the system of Burowski to provide an APL to include a list of device index slots for the participating devices. Each of devices are assigned a device index. The device index can determine the ranging order for the participating devices (see Burowski-2 par. 0094).
Regarding claim 9, Burowski in view of Burowski-2 in further view of Schoenberg discloses the method of claim 1,
Burowski further discloses wherein the assignment message includes an instruction to perform secure ranging with an assigned access device of the plurality of access devices (see Burowski col. 5, lines 19-27, FIG. 1 shows a sequence diagram 100 for performing a ranging measurement between two mobile devices according to embodiments of the present disclosure. The two mobile devices may belong to two different users. The two users may know each other, and thus have each other's phone numbers or other identifiers. As described in more detail later, such an identifier can be used for authentication purposes, e.g., so ranging is not performed with unknown devices).
Regarding claim 10, Burowski discloses a method for secure ranging comprising performing, by a mobile device:
“receiving an assignment message from a first access device of a plurality of access devices, the assignment message identifying a first assigned response-slot of a plurality of response-slots of a response phase of a future ranging session” (see Burowski col. 20, lines 28-58, col. 22, lines 12-24, the timeslots offer a designated window of time for a device 804, 806 to conduct ranging with the initiating mobile device 802. A device 804, 806 can receive the ranging round parameters such as the number and duration of the timeslots from the initiating device 802. From these parameters, each of the devices 804, 806 can independently select a timeslot to conduct ranging with the initiating mobile device 802. Under some circumstances, more than one device 804, 806 can select the same timeslot resulting in undesirable missed messages due to collisions. Therefore, the devices 804, 806 can select the timeslot to conduct ranging randomly or pseudo-randomly to reduce the potential for collisions. Upon receipt and processing of the broadcast message 810, the mobile device 804, 806 can select one of the timeslots (e.g., 818-824) listed in the broadcast message 810 for sending the response message 830 to conduct ranging between the devices. The devices 804, 806 are not be assigned to a particular timeslot 818, 820, 822, 824. Instead, the devices 804, 806 can select one of the timeslots 818, 820, 822, 824 for transmission of a response message 830.);
“determining a reception time of the polling message for the first access device” (see Burowski col. 22, line 58-col. 23, line 8, The initiating mobile device 802 can use the round-trip time (R1) and Reply Time (D2) 832 to calculate a coarse range estimate between the initiating mobile device 802 and device A 804. By responding within a designated time period, the initiating mobile device 802 can determine what timeslot (818, 820, 822, 824) was selected by the responding device. The Reply Time (D2) 836 should be shorter than Reply Time (D1) 832 because there is no specific waiting period by the initiating mobile device 802 to transmit the acknowledgment message 834. The Reply Time (D2) 836 only includes the time that the initiating mobile device 802 receives and processes the response message 830 and the time the initiating mobile device 802 takes to generate and transmit the acknowledgement message 834); and
“transmitting a first response message during the first assigned response-slot, the first response message including a mobile device identifier and timing information corresponding to the reception time of the polling message from the first access device” (see Burowski col. 5, lines 41-64, In response to receiving the ranging request 101, the second mobile device 120 can transmit ranging response 102. As shown, ranging response 102 is transmitted at time T3, e.g., a transmitted time of a pulse or an average transmission time for a set of pulses. T2 and T3 may also be a set of times for respective pulses. Ranging response 102 can include times T2 and T3 so that the first mobile device 110 can compute distance information. As an alternative, a delta between the two times (e.g., T3?T2) can be sent. The ranging response 102 can also include an identifier for the first mobile device 110, an identifier for the second mobile device 120, or both);
“receiving, an access message from the first access device” (see Burowski col. 19, lines 52-63, The broadcast message 810 can also include an identifier of the initiating mobile device 802. The identifier of the initiating mobile device 802 can be received by mobile devices 804, 806 and subsequently included in the response message 830 so the initiating mobile device 802 can identify that the response message 830 is associated with the broadcast message 810 transmitted by the initiating mobile device 802);
Burowski does not explicitly discloses receiving, a polling message from the first access device the polling message including access device identification information; providing an access credential to the first access device of the plurality of access devices.
However, in analogues art, Burowski-2 discloses receiving, a polling message from the first access device the polling message including access device identification information (see Burowski-2 pars. 0215-0218, the UAP messages 1906 can provide additional information such as the time until the next slot. In that way, once the receiving device received the UAP messages 1906, the receiving device knows both timing and schedule for conducting ranging. In these embodiments, the UAP messages 1906 many not need to point to the second and third polling signals. Accordingly, embodiments can rely on a first poll for the initial timing and adjust delay on a given schedule for when future UWB signals are expected. In another example, each round can be defined by information in a UAP signal, the UAP messages 1906 can be used within designated timeslots for ranging between devices or to specify when a next time slot is to begin, where predetermined time offsets from a given start of a timeslot can be used to determine a time window to begin listening for UWB signals. The UAP messages 1906 can provide the next UWB polling signal 1902 for ranging between the two devices during that individual round. In other embodiments, the UAP messages 1906 can be used when a new receiving device is joining the ranging session. The UAP messages 1906 can be used to convey timing information to inform the new device of the time for starting the ranging round); providing an access credential to the first access device of the plurality of access devices (see Burowski-2 par. 0007, techniques can be implemented to reduce the number of collisions between ranging message by designating time slots for ranging sessions based on timing from a coordinator mobile device. Each device can transmit their unique identifier to indicate participation in the ranging session. The multiple devices can receive unique identifiers from the other devices. An algorithm can be executed on the mobile devices using the unique identifiers to designate one of the multiple devices as the coordinator device for the ranging session).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Burowski-2 into the system of Burowski to provide an APL to include a list of device index slots for the participating devices. Each of devices are assigned a device index. The device index can determine the ranging order for the participating devices (see Burowski-2 par. 0094).
Burowski in view of Burowski-2 does not explicitly discloses responsive to the access message and at a location relative to an entryway of the first access device.
However, in analogues art, Schoenberg discloses responsive to the access message and at a location relative to an entryway of the first access device, (see Schoenberg pars. 0026, 0029, 0198, The ranging can provide distance information, which can be used to determine a relative position of one mobile device to another. As examples, the relative position can include a distance value, angular (orientation) information between the two devices, or both. The distance information obtained from the ranging session can be used in a variety of ways. For example, the distance information can be used to display a relative position of the receiving mobile device on a screen of a sending mobile device, which is to send a data item. Such a user interface can allow a user to quickly and accurately select the recipient device for sending the data item, e.g., a video, audio, or a link to an application, as may be used to hand off an application at a particular location (e.g., page) in an application).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Schoenberg into the system of Burowski and Burowski-2 to include ranging to provide distance information, which can be used to determine a relative position of one mobile device to another. As examples, the relative position can include a distance value, angular (orientation) information between the two devices, or both (see Schoenberg par. 0005).
Regarding claims 11 and 30, Burowski in view of Burowski-2 in further view of Schoenberg discloses the method of claim 10, the computing device of claim 30,
Burowski further discloses wherein the timing information comprises a reply time comprising a difference between the reception time of the polling message and a transmit time of the first response message (see Burowski col. 22, lines 33-43, The time period between the reception of the broadcast message 810 at the device 804 and the time of the transmission of the response message 830 can be known as the Reply Time (D1) 832. The Reply Time (D1) 832 can include the processing time at the device 804 to receive and process the contents of the broadcast message 810, generate the response message 830, and transmit the response message 830. The Reply Time (D1) 832 also includes the waiting time until the selected timeslot begins).
Regarding claims 12 and 32, Burowski in view of Burowski-2 in further view of Schoenberg discloses the method of claim 10, the computing device of claim 30,
Burowski-2 further discloses wherein the access message includes a trigger message instructing the mobile device to provide the access credential (see Burowski-2 par. 0179, At block 1740, ranging can be initiated using the first wireless protocol. In some implementations, the initiation can be started by a ranging request message sent from a sending mobile device. The responding device can respond with a start notification event (message). Once the start notification event occurs, ranging can be performed using a second wireless protocol, e.g., by turning on corresponding radios within a specified time of receiving the start message.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Burowski-2 into the system of Burowski to provide an APL to include a list of device index slots for the participating devices. Each of devices are assigned a device index. The device index can determine the ranging order for the participating devices (see Burowski-2 par. 0094).
Regarding claims 13 and 33, Burowski in view of Burowski-2 in further view of Schoenberg discloses the method of claim 10, the computing device of claim 30,
Schoenberg further discloses wherein the access message includes information indicating a distance between the mobile device and the first access device, and wherein the access credential is provided to the first access device based on the information indicating the distance (see Schoenberg Abstract, One mobile device acting as a beacon device can define a ranging round including an initial timeslot and a plurality of non-overlapping response slots for discovering and performing ranging with any mobile device in a vicinity of the beacon. The beacon can broadcast a ranging request including a beacon device identifier at a request time. A first mobile device can transmit a first acknowledgement message during a first response slot. A second mobile device can transmit a second acknowledgement message during a second response slot. The beacon device can calculate a first distance from the first mobile device and a second distance from the second mobile device based at least upon information in the first and second acknowledgement messages).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Schoenberg into the system of Burowski and Burowski-2 to include ranging to provide distance information, which can be used to determine a relative position of one mobile device to another. As examples, the relative position can include a distance value, angular (orientation) information between the two devices, or both (see Schoenberg par. 0005).
Regarding claims 14 and 34, Burowski in view of Burowski-2 in further view of Schoenberg discloses the method of claim 13, the computing device of claim 33,
Burowski further discloses wherein the information indicating the distance includes the distance as determined by the first access device (see Burowski col. 3, lines 34-41, a mobile device can include ranging circuitry that can determine the relative distance between the mobile device and another mobile device. For example, time of flight measurements can be performed using ultra-wideband (UWB) pulses transmitted between the mobile devices. The ranging can provide distance information, which can be used to determine a relative position of one mobile device to another).
Regarding claims 17 and 37, Burowski in view of Burowski-2 in further view of Schoenberg discloses the method of claim 10, the computing device of claim 30,
Burowski further discloses wherein the mobile device performs the secure ranging with the first access device and a second access device of the plurality of access devices (see Burowski col. 5, lines 19-52, FIG. 1 shows a sequence diagram 100 for performing a ranging measurement between two mobile devices according to embodiments of the present disclosure. The two mobile devices may belong to two different users. The two users may know each other, and thus have each other's phone numbers or other identifiers. As described in more detail later, such an identifier can be used for authentication purposes, e.g., so ranging is not performed with unknown devices. Although FIG. 1 shows a single measurement, the process can be repeated to perform multiple measurements over a time interval as part of a ranging session, where such measurements can be averaged or otherwise analyzed to provide a single distance value, e.g., for each antenna. At T1, the first mobile device 110 transmits ranging request 101. At T2, the second mobile device 120 receives ranging request 101. T2 can be an average received time when multiple pulses are in the first set. The second mobile device 120 can be expecting the ranging request 101 within a time window based on previous communications, e.g., using another wireless protocol);
Regarding claims 18 and 38, Burowski in view of Burowski-2 in further view of Schoenberg discloses the method of claim 17, the computing device of claim 37,
Burowski further discloses wherein an assignment message from the second access device identifies a second assigned response-slot of the plurality of response-slots, the second assigned response-slot corresponding to the second access device (see Burowski col. 20, lines 28-58, the timeslots offer a designated window of time for a device 804, 806 to conduct ranging with the initiating mobile device 802. A device 804, 806 can receive the ranging round parameters such as the number and duration of the timeslots from the initiating device 802. From these parameters, each of the devices 804, 806 can independently select a timeslot to conduct ranging with the initiating mobile device 802. Under some circumstances, more than one device 804, 806 can select the same timeslot resulting in undesirable missed messages due to collisions. Therefore, the devices 804, 806 can select the timeslot to conduct ranging randomly or pseudo-randomly to reduce the potential for collisions. The timeslots provide an opportunity for the devices 804, 806 to conduct a ranging session with the initiating mobile device 802. Upon receiving the broadcast message 810, the one or more processors of devices 804, 806 execute a routine to select a timeslot of the multiple timeslots defined in the broadcast message 810. The selected timeslots can be stored in the memory of the devices 804, 806);
Regarding claims 19 and 39, Burowski in view of Burowski-2 in further view of Schoenberg discloses the method of claim 18, the computing device of claim 38,
Burowski further discloses transmitting, to the second access device, a second response message during the second assigned response-slot (see Burowski col. 21, lines 30-43, The devices 804, 806 can determine that it has not received the acknowledgment message in response to the response message 830 it transmitted. In these circumstances, the device 804 can select a second timeslot to transmit the second response message 838. The timeslot 824 for the second response message 838 can be selected randomly or pseudo-randomly. In response to receiving the second response message 838, the initiating mobile device 802 can transmit a second acknowledgement message 840 to the device 804).
Regarding claims 20 and 40, Burowski in view of Burowski-2 in further view of Schoenberg discloses the method of claim 10, the computing device of claim 30,
Burowski further discloses wherein the first response message is transmitted to a passive receiver of the first access device (see Burowski col. 20, line 59-col. 21, line 2, During the selected timeslot, a device 804, 806 transmits a response message 830 to the initiating mobile device 802. The response message 830 can include information the initiating mobile device 802 needs to identify the device 804, 806. In addition, the response message can include information to link the response message 830 to the initiating mobile device 802 such as the identifier of the initiating mobile device 802. The response message 830 can also include an estimate distance between the initiating mobile device 802 and the device 804, 806 that can be calculated by one or more processors of the device 804, 806).
Regarding claim 21, Burowski in view of Burowski-2 in further view of Schoenberg discloses the method of claim 10,
Burowski further discloses wherein the access credential is provided to a passive receiver of the first access device (see Burowski col. 21, lines 3-19, During the selected timeslot, upon receiving the response message 830, the one or more processors of initiating mobile device 802 can calculate a first distance between the initiating mobile device 802 and the device 804, 806. The first distance can be calculated by recognizing the timeslot that the device 802, 804 is responding. The initiating mobile device 802 knows when the timeslot begins and can calculate a time duration from beginning of the timeslot until reception of the response message 830. The time duration is related to the first distance between the initiating mobile device 802 and device 804, 806).
Regarding claim 22, Burowski discloses a computing device for communicating with an access device, the computing device comprising:
“one or more memories” (Fig. 13, Computer-Readable Medium 1302) and
one or more processors (Fig. 13, Processor 1318) in communication with the one or more memories and configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories to performing operations comprising:
“selecting a timeslot of a plurality of timeslots in a response phase of a communication session” (see Burowski col. 22, lines 13-17, Upon receipt and processing of the broadcast message 810, the mobile device 804, 806 can select one of the timeslots (e.g., 818-824) listed in the broadcast message 810 for sending the response message 830 to conduct ranging between the devices);
“transmitting a response message to a particular access device of the plurality of access devices during the timeslot of the response phase” (see Burowski col. 20, lines 59-63, During the selected timeslot, a device 804, 806 transmits a response message 830 to the initiating mobile device 802. The response message 830 can include information the initiating mobile device 802 needs to identify the device 804, 806);
“receiving, from the particular access device and during a third phase, an assignment message including an assigned timeslot for the response phase of a future session” (see Burowski col. 25, lines 55-65, At 1104, the technique can include designating a number of response timeslots for receiving a response from two or more participating mobile devices during the number of response timeslots. Each of the response slots is non-overlapping in time with other of the plurality of response slots. The initiating device can determine a number of response slots, a total ranging time, a duration of each of the timeslots, a number of timeslots for an inactive period, and a total time for the inactive period. In some embodiments, the defining the ranging round includes modifying the response slots);
Burowski does not explicitly discloses receiving a plurality of polling messages, each polling message including an identifier of a respective access device of a plurality of access devices that transmit the polling message, wherein each polling message of the plurality of polling messages is transmitted during a polling phase; performing secure ranging with the particular access device during the future session using the assigned timeslot; providing an access credential to the particular access device responsive to a location determined using the secure ranging.
However, in analogues art, Burowski-2 discloses receiving a plurality of polling messages, each polling message including an identifier of a respective access device of a plurality of access devices that transmit the polling message, wherein each polling message of the plurality of polling messages is transmitted during a polling phase (see Burowski-2 pars. 0215-0218, the UAP messages 1906 can provide additional information such as the time until the next slot. In that way, once the receiving device received the UAP messages 1906, the receiving device knows both timing and schedule for conducting ranging. In these embodiments, the UAP messages 1906 many not need to point to the second and third polling signals. Accordingly, embodiments can rely on a first poll for the initial timing and adjust delay on a given schedule for when future UWB signals are expected. In another example, each round can be defined by information in a UAP signal, the UAP messages 1906 can be used within designated timeslots for ranging between devices or to specify when a next time slot is to begin, where predetermined time offsets from a given start of a timeslot can be used to determine a time window to begin listening for UWB signals. The UAP messages 1906 can provide the next UWB polling signal 1902 for ranging between the two devices during that individual round. In other embodiments, the UAP messages 1906 can be used when a new receiving device is joining the ranging session. The UAP messages 1906 can be used to convey timing information to inform the new device of the time for starting the ranging round.); performing secure ranging with the particular access device during the future session using the assigned timeslot” (see Burowski-2 pars. 0087, 0094, A ranging schedule can be generated based on the number of devices and the number of channels available to conduct ranging. The number of channels can be based in part on the number of preambles and the number of packet positions within each timeslot. The generated schedule can be transmitted to all the devices active in the ranging session. Each device can reference the generated schedule to know their assigned time slot for ranging and which device they can be ranging with during that time slot. The APL 700 can provide a device index 704 and a unique identifier 706 (e.g., a UUID). In the exemplary APL 700 up to ten (10) participating mobile devices can be active in a ranging session at one time. In FIG. 7, there are nine participating devices. Device index-1 708 (uuid 1) is identified as the coordinator (the particular access device) for the ranging session. Device index-4 710 is identified as not being assigned to a unique identifier. This can be an indication the device that previously was assigned to index-4 710 has left the ranging session or is out of range); providing an access credential to the particular access device responsive to a location determined using the secure ranging (see Burowski-2 par. 0007, techniques can be implemented to reduce the number of collisions between ranging message by designating time slots for ranging sessions based on timing from a coordinator mobile device. Each device can transmit their unique identifier to indicate participation in the ranging session. The multiple devices can receive unique identifiers from the other devices. An algorithm can be executed on the mobile devices using the unique identifiers to designate one of the multiple devices as the coordinator device for the ranging session. The coordinator device can generate and broadcast an active participant list. The active participant list provides a list of unique identifiers and index positions assigned to the mobile devices. The coordinator can determine a table for a ranging session that specifies pairs of mobile devices designated to perform a ranging operation with each other during a particular time period using a particular communication channel. Each of the mobile devices can perform a ranging operation at the particular communication channel as designated in the table).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Burowski-2 into the system of Burowski to provide an APL to include a list of device index slots for the participating devices. Each of devices are assigned a device index. The device index can determine the ranging order for the participating devices (see Burowski-2 par. 0094).
Burowski in view of Burowski-2 does not explicitly discloses where the location is a position relative to an entryway of the particular access device.
However, in analogues art, Schoenberg discloses where the location is a position relative to an entryway of the particular access device (see Schoenberg pars. 0026, 0029, 0198, The ranging can provide distance information, which can be used to determine a relative position of one mobile device to another. As examples, the relative position can include a distance value, angular (orientation) information between the two devices, or both. The distance information obtained from the ranging session can be used in a variety of ways. For example, the distance information can be used to display a relative position of the receiving mobile device on a screen of a sending mobile device, which is to send a data item. Such a user interface can allow a user to quickly and accurately select the recipient device for sending the data item, e.g., a video, audio, or a link to an application, as may be used to hand off an application at a particular location (e.g., page) in an application).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Schoenberg into the system of Burowski, and Burowski-2 to include ranging to provide distance information, which can be used to determine a relative position of one mobile device to another. As examples, the relative position can include a distance value, angular (orientation) information between the two devices, or both (see Schoenberg par. 0005).
Regarding claim 30, Burowski discloses a computing device for secure ranging, the computing device comprising:
“one or more memories” (Fig. 13, Computer-Readable Medium 1302) and
one or more processors (Fig. 13, Processor 1318) in communication with the one or more memories and configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories to performing operations comprising:
“receiving an assignment message from a first access device of a plurality of access devices, the assignment messages identifying a first assigned response-slot of a plurality of response-slots of a response phase of a future ranging session” (see Burowski col. 20, lines 28-58, col. 22, lines 12-24, the timeslots offer a designated window of time for a device 804, 806 to conduct ranging with the initiating mobile device 802. A device 804, 806 can receive the ranging round parameters such as the number and duration of the timeslots from the initiating device 802. From these parameters, each of the devices 804, 806 can independently select a timeslot to conduct ranging with the initiating mobile device 802. Under some circumstances, more than one device 804, 806 can select the same timeslot resulting in undesirable missed messages due to collisions. Therefore, the devices 804, 806 can select the timeslot to conduct ranging randomly or pseudo-randomly to reduce the potential for collisions. Upon receipt and processing of the broadcast message 810, the mobile device 804, 806 can select one of the timeslots (e.g., 818-824) listed in the broadcast message 810 for sending the response message 830 to conduct ranging between the devices. The devices 804, 806 are not be assigned to a particular timeslot 818, 820, 822, 824. Instead, the devices 804, 806 can select one of the timeslots 818, 820, 822, 824 for transmission of a response message 830.);
“determining a reception time of the polling message for the first access device” (see Burowski col. 22, line 58-col. 23, line 8, The initiating mobile device 802 can use the round-trip time (R1) and Reply Time (D2) 832 to calculate a coarse range estimate between the initiating mobile device 802 and device A 804. By responding within a designated time period, the initiating mobile device 802 can determine what timeslot (818, 820, 822, 824) was selected by the responding device. The Reply Time (D2) 836 should be shorter than Reply Time (D1) 832 because there is no specific waiting period by the initiating mobile device 802 to transmit the acknowledgment message 834. The Reply Time (D2) 836 only includes the time that the initiating mobile device 802 receives and processes the response message 830 and the time the initiating mobile device 802 takes to generate and transmit the acknowledgement message 834); and
“transmitting a first response message during the first assigned response- slot, the first response message including a mobile device identifier and timing information corresponding the reception time of the polling message from the first access device” (see Burowski col. 5, lines 41-64, In response to receiving the ranging request 101, the second mobile device 120 can transmit ranging response 102. As shown, ranging response 102 is transmitted at time T3, e.g., a transmitted time of a pulse or an average transmission time for a set of pulses. T2 and T3 may also be a set of times for respective pulses. Ranging response 102 can include times T2 and T3 so that the first mobile device 110 can compute distance information. As an alternative, a delta between the two times (e.g., T3?T2) can be sent. The ranging response 102 can also include an identifier for the first mobile device 110, an identifier for the second mobile device 120, or both);
“receiving, from a first access device of the plurality of access devices, an access message from the first access device” (see Burowski col. 19, lines 52-63, The broadcast message 810 can also include an identifier of the initiating mobile device 802. The identifier of the initiating mobile device 802 can be received by mobile devices 804, 806 and subsequently included in the response message 830 so the initiating mobile device 802 can identify that the response message 830 is associated with the broadcast message 810 transmitted by the initiating mobile device 802);
Burowski does not explicitly discloses receiving, a polling message from the first access device the polling message including access device identification information; providing an access credential to the first access device of the plurality of access devices.
However, in analogues art, Burowski-2 discloses receiving, a polling message from the first access device the polling message including access device identification information (see Burowski-2 pars. 0215-0218, the UAP messages 1906 can provide additional information such as the time until the next slot. In that way, once the receiving device received the UAP messages 1906, the receiving device knows both timing and schedule for conducting ranging. In these embodiments, the UAP messages 1906 many not need to point to the second and third polling signals. Accordingly, embodiments can rely on a first poll for the initial timing and adjust delay on a given schedule for when future UWB signals are expected. In another example, each round can be defined by information in a