Details
Claims 1-34 are pending.
Claims 1-34 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 13-17, 20-21, 25-27 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budampati et al (Pub. No.: US 2012/0250610 A1) in view of NAKAMURA et al (Pub. No.: US 2018/0259550 A1) and Lau et al (Pub. No.: US 2018/0211216 A1).
As per claim 1, Budampati discloses a method comprises: - obtaining, by a processing module of a data logging device (Budampati, Fig 2 item 220-1 and 218, Alternatively Fig 2 item 200 and 208), a log command placing the data logging device in a log mode (Budampati, paragraph 0022, 0031, wherein monitoring device 102 may be responsible for communicating data and commands to end devices 120. Monitoring device 102 may receive commands from a user, which monitoring device 102 may then translate to commands to one or more end devices 120. Additionally, processor 208 may interpret input from a user or certain environment conditions to determine the appropriate mode of operation of end devices 220 and process the appropriate command signals to be sent by the RF transceiver accordingly); wherein the data logging device is affixed to an item to monitor an environmental condition of a space in which the item resides (Budampati, Fig 1, paragraph 0021, 0023, 0031, wherein wireless network 100 may be set up in a building or home (a space in which the item resides) to control operation of devices (item) such as lights, sensors of alarm systems, and the like. In another example, wireless network 100 may be implemented in environments where hazardous conditions may exist, to control operation of devices such as lights, sensors responsive to particular stimulus (e.g., temperature, light level, etc.), and the like. Additionally, processor 208 may interpret input from a user or certain environment conditions to determine the appropriate mode of operation of end devices 220); - determining, by the processing module, whether to enter a finished mode for the data logging device based on a data logging condition (Budampati, paragraph 0031, 0052, wherein in the example where a user input or command may be used to determine when to activate radio silence mode and when to resume normal operating mode, a user input or command indicating return to normal operating mode may cause monitoring device 202 to return to normal operating mode, then send enabling command signals to all end devices 220 to terminate the disabled end device mode and return to normal operating mode. In another example, where switching between modes is automatic and based on a sensed condition (e.g., environmental conditions, time of day, day of week, or the like), monitoring device 202 may automatically return to normal operating mode at the end of the specific time period during which radio silence mode or disabled device mode is observed, then send enabling command signals to all end devices 220 to resume normal operating mode; wherein the silent mode can be the finished mode); and - when not in the finished mode and in response to the log command: obtaining data (Budampati, paragraph 0036, 0052, wherein in the example where a user input or command may be used to determine when to activate radio silence mode and when to resume normal operating mode, a user input or command indicating return to normal operating mode may cause monitoring device 202 to return to normal operating mode, then send enabling command signals to all end devices 220 to terminate the disabled end device mode and return to normal operating mode. At the end of the sleep period 305, end device 220 may terminate sleep mode to perform the associated function and transmit data to monitoring device 202 indicating the performed function, as indicated by 301). Budampati does not explicitly disclose wherein the data logging device transitions to the finished mode when sensed data collected by one or more environmental sensors associated with the data logging device is unreliable, wherein, the finished mode indicates that accumulated sensed data is unreliable. However, NAKAMURA disclose wherein the data logging device transitions to the finished mode when sensed data associated with the data logging device is unreliable, wherein, the finished mode indicates that accumulated sensed data is unreliable (NAKAMURA, paragraph 0010, 0017 wherein he moving response process may include stopping measuring at least one of the physical quantities. This structure can reduce wasted time and energy resulting from the environmental sensor continuously obtaining useless data after the environmental sensor is moved in a more reliable manner and prevent wrong conclusions based on erroneous measurement results in a more reliable manner);
Therefore, it would have it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate NAKAMURA into Budampati so that the logging device is switched to finishing mode when sensed data associated with the data logging device is unreliable as claimed because this would have provided a way to reduce wasted time and energy resulting from the environmental sensor continuously obtaining useless data after the environmental sensor is moved (see NAKAMURA, paragraph 0017). Budampati and NAKAMURA do not explicitly disclose- obtaining, by the processing module, a measure of an environmental condition from the one or more environmental sensors;- determining, by the processing module, whether the measure of the environmental condition is within an expected range; - when the measure of the environmental condition is not within the expected range, generating, by the processing module, an environmental violation signal when triggered. However, Lau disclose - obtaining, by the processing module, a measure of an environmental condition from the one or more environmental sensors (Lau, paragraph 0038, claim 1, wherein the article shipment notification processing 200 receives 201 status information for an article from a mobile communication device. Here, the mobile communication device transmits the status information for the article that is associated with (e.g., coupled to or encloses) the mobile communication device wherein the status information including at least position information and environmental information, and the environmental information being related to environmental conditions of or around the package being shipped);- determining, by the processing module, whether the measure of the environmental condition is within an expected range (Lau, paragraph 0041, wherein a decision 310 determines whether an environmental violation notification condition exists. When the decision 310 determines that an environmental violation notification condition does exist, then an environmental notification message is produced and sent 312. As an example, an environmental notification message informs the recipient of the message that one or more environmental violation notification conditions have been violated. For example, the environmental notification message might indicate that the temperature of the article has exceeded a desired limit, that the humidity has exceeded a desired limit, or that the article has undergone excessive forces); - when the measure of the environmental condition is not within the expected range, generating, by the processing module, an environmental violation signal when triggered (Lau, paragraph 0041, wherein a decision 310 determines whether an environmental violation notification condition exists. When the decision 310 determines that an environmental violation notification condition does exist, then an environmental notification message is produced and sent 312. As an example, an environmental notification message informs the recipient of the message that one or more environmental violation notification conditions have been violated. For example, the environmental notification message might indicate that the temperature of the article has exceeded a desired limit, that the humidity has exceeded a desired limit, or that the article has undergone excessive forces).
Therefore, it would have it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Lau into Budampati and NAKAMURA so that an environmental violation signal is generated when triggered as claimed because this would have provided a way to have more precise and robust knowledge of the position and condition of the package throughout the shipping process (see Lau, paragraph 0007).
As per claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and Budampat and Lau do not explicitly disclose displaying, by a display of the data logging device, an indication of the environmental violation based on the environmental violation signal. However, having a display that displays data (an indication of a violation) is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Budampati and Lau so that an indication of the environmental violation based on the environmental violation signal is displayed in a display as claimed because this would have provided a way to make the user and or worker be aware of the environmental violation so that an appropriated action can be performed in response.
As per claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated and Budampati in view of Lau further discloses transmitting, by a radio frequency (RF) transmitter of the data logging device, an RF signal that includes the environmental violation signal (Budampati, Fig 2, paragraph 0027, 0031, wherein processor 208 may interpret input from a user or certain environment conditions to determine the appropriate mode of operation of end devices 220 and process the appropriate command signals to be sent by the RF transceiver accordingly) (Lau, paragraph 0081, wherein in addition to position information, other identifying information can also be automatically included based on radio frequency identification (RFID) tags. The RFID tags typically include memory chips equipped and radio antennas. They can be attached to objects (or people) to transmit data about the objects);
As per claim 4, claim 1 is incorporated and Budampati further discloses ignoring, by the processing module, subsequent log commands when the environmental violation signal has been generated (Budampati, paragraph 0026, 0035, wherein end device 220 may activate a sleep mode during its normal operation to consume less power and prolong battery life. In one example, normal operation may involve having transceiver 212 operating to transmit and receive signals from other devices in network 200, and sleep mode may involve turning off transceiver 212 or turning off the transmitter portion of transceiver 212. In one example, as noted above, devices operating in hazardous areas (e.g., mines, refineries, and the like) may operate in radio silence mode during periods when hazardous conditions are heightened such as, during blasting. In other examples, radio silence may be utilized in military applications, where devices in a military zone may be switched into radio silence mode during heightened security times, such that signals transmitted from devices are not intercepted and used to reveal troop locations);
As per claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated and Budampati further discloses storing, by the processing module, the measure of the environmental condition in memory of the data logging device (Budampati, Fig 2, paragraph 0028, wherein each of memory 204 and memory 214 may include one or more computer-readable storage media. Each of memory 204 and memory 214 may comprise one or more storage devices, capable or long-term and short-term storage of information);
As per claim 10, claim 1 is incorporated and Budampati further discloses detecting, by the processing module, activation of a non-RF activation circuit to initiate a series of log commands, wherein the log command is one in the series of log commands (Budampati, Fig 3D, paragraph 0048, wherein command signals 343 transmitted by monitoring device 202 may not be received by end device 220 while end device 220 is operating in sleep period 337).
As per claim 13, claim 1 is incorporated and Lau further discloses waiting, by the processing module, for the data logging device to be in a done mode before providing the environmental violation signal to the display (Lau, paragraph 0038, claim 1, wherein the article shipment notification processing 200 receives 201 status information for an article from a mobile communication device. Here, the mobile communication device transmits the status information for the article that is associated with (e.g., coupled to or encloses) the mobile communication device wherein the status information including at least position information and environmental information, and the environmental information being related to environmental conditions of or around the package being shipped).
Claims 14-17, 20-21 and 25 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 1-4, 7, 10 and 13.
As per claim 26, claim 1 is incorporated and Budampati in view of NAKAMURA and Lau further discloses when the data logging device transitions to the finished mode: storing in a memory, by the processing module, a signal regarding the finished mode (Budampati, Fig 2 item 204, paragraph 0028-0029, wherein memory 204 may be used to store program instructions for execution by processor 208 such as, for example, radio silence module 250. Memory 204 may be also used by software or applications running on monitoring device 202 to temporarily store information during program execution); and wirelessly transmitting, by the processing module, the stored signal regarding the finished mode to a reader (Budampati, Fig 2 item 204, paragraph 0054-0055, wherein the user may configure monitoring device 202 to indicate conditions upon the occurrence of which devices in network 200 should be disabled. In this example, monitoring device 202 may sense when the configured conditions occur and execute an instruction to disable devices in network 200. Monitoring device 202 may then utilize transceiver 210 to transmit (wirelessly transmitting) to end devices 220 (reader) a command signal indicating to go into a disabled end device mode (e.g., radio silence mode) (404));
As per claim 27, claim 1 is incorporated and Budampati in view of NAKAMURA and Lau further discloses when the measure of the environmental signal is not within the expected range: storing in the memory, by the processing module, the environmental violation signal; and wirelessly transmitting, by the processing module, the stored environmental violation signal to the reader (Lau, Fig 3 step 312, paragraph 0038, 0041, wherein the status information is stored 202 to a tracking database. The tracking database allows the status information for the article to be organized for subsequent evaluation. The article shipment notification processing 200 then determines 204 whether a notification condition exists based on the status information and notification criteria. The status information for the article was received from the corresponding mobile communication device and stored in the tracking database as noted above. When the decision 310 determines that an environmental violation notification condition does exist, then an environmental notification message is produced and sent 312. As an example, an environmental notification message informs the recipient of the message that one or more environmental violation notification conditions have been violated. For example, the environmental notification message might indicate that the temperature of the article has exceeded a desired limit, that the humidity has exceeded a desired limit, or that the article has undergone excessive forces);
Claims 32-33 and 25 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 26-27.
Claims 5-6 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budampati et al (Pub. No.: US 2012/0250610 A1) in view of NAKAMURA et al (Pub. No.: US 2018/0259550 A1) et al, Lau et al (Pub. No.: US 2018/0211216 A1) and Shanmugavelayudam (Pub. No.: US 2020/0210948 A1).
As per claim 5, claim 1 is incorporated and Budampat, NAKAMURA and Lau do not explicitly disclose when the measure of the environmental condition is not within the expected range: determining, by the processing module, whether this occurrence of the measure of the environmental condition not being within the expected range is a triggering occurrence; and when this occurrence is the triggering occurrence, enabling, by the processing module, the generation of the environmental violation signal. However, Shanmugavelayudam disclose when the measure of the environmental condition is not within the expected range: determining, by the processing module, whether this occurrence of the measure of the environmental condition not being within the expected range is a triggering occurrence; and when this occurrence is the triggering occurrence, enabling, by the processing module, the generation of the environmental violation signal (Shanmugavelayudam, paragraph 0082-0083, wherein after the current value is checked (907′) for in-range status, the rate of change for one or more sensors may be calculated or updated (1101), and each rate of change is checked against a RoC threshold (905′). If a rate of change is determined (1102) to be greater than can be tolerated within the corrective action timeframe, a user alert may be created (908′), and an on-board wireless interface (1104) may be powered-up so that a status or alert can be transmitted (1105) to a remote server).
Therefore, it would have it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Shanmugavelayudam into Budampati, NAKAMURA and Lau to achieve the claimed limitations because this would have provided a way to escalate response when a condition is nearing out-of-tolerance situations (see Shanmugavelayudam, paragraph 0081).
As per claim 6, claim 5 is incorporated and Shanmugavelayudam further discloses wherein the determining that this occurrence is the triggering occurrence further comprises: determining that this occurrence, added to a count of previous occurrences of the measure of the environmental condition not being within the expected range, equals or exceeds a count threshold; and/or determining that magnitude this occurrence of being outside of the expected range is equal to or exceeds a magnitude deviation threshold (Shanmugavelayudam, paragraph 0082-0083, wherein after the current value is checked (907′) for in-range status, the rate of change for one or more sensors may be calculated or updated (1101), and each rate of change is checked against a RoC threshold (905′). If a rate of change is determined (1102) to be greater than can be tolerated within the corrective action timeframe, a user alert may be created (908′), and an on-board wireless interface (1104) may be powered-up so that a status or alert can be transmitted (1105) to a remote server);
Claims 18-19 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 5-6.
Claims 8-9, 21 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budampati et al (Pub. No.: US 2012/0250610 A1) in view of NAKAMURA et al (Pub. No.: US 2018/0259550 A1), Lau et al (Pub. No.: US 2018/0211216 A1) and Pindar (Pub. No.: US 2016/0210833 A1).
As per claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated and Budampati further discloses when in a done mode: generating, by the processing module, an environmental OK signal when the generation of the environmental violation signal is not triggered (Lau, paragraph 0041, wherein when the decision 310 determines that an environmental violation notification condition does not exist, then a decision 314 determines whether a delivery notification condition exists. When the decision 314 determines that a delivery notification condition does exist, then a delivery notification message is produced and sent 316. On the other hand, when the decision 314 determines that a delivery notification condition does not exist, then as well as following the operation 316, a notification message processing 300 is complete and ends). Budampati, NAKAMURA and Lau do not explicitly disclose displaying, by a display of the data logging device, an indication of the environment being OK based on the environmental OK signal. However, displaying an indication of an OK signal is well known in the art. For example, Pindar discloses displaying, by a display of the data logging device, an indication of the environment being OK based on the environmental OK signal (Pindar, paragraph 0022, 0028, wherein the display screen 112 defines an LCD display configured to display visual alerts in the form of words or phrases, the light indicator 113 is configured to illuminate in either red or green, the alert condition causes the display screen 112 to display the word CHILD, the light indicator 113 would flash red, and the speaker 115 would emit a buzzing sound).
Therefore, it would have it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to display an indication of an OK signal as claimed because this would have provided a way to escalate response when a condition is nearing out-of-tolerance situations.
As per claim 9, claim 8 is incorporated and Pindar further discloses displaying, by the display, a green light as the indication of the environmental being OK; and displaying, by the display, a red light as the indication of the environmental violation (Pindar, paragraph 0022, 0028, wherein the display screen 112 defines an LCD display configured to display visual alerts in the form of words or phrases, the light indicator 113 is configured to illuminate in either red or green, the alert condition causes the display screen 112 to display the word CHILD, the light indicator 113 would flash red, and the speaker 115 would emit a buzzing sound);
Claim 21 is rejected under the same rationale as claims 8-9.
As per claim 29, claim 8 is incorporated and Budampati, NAKAMURA and Lau do not explicitly disclose when in the done mode: wirelessly transmitting, by the radio frequency (RF) transmitter of the data logging device, a second RF signal that includes the environmental OK signal. However, Lau, paragraph 0042, discloses that the notification message processing can send one or more notifications to an interested user at any point in time. Additionally, the multiple notifications can be combined into a single notification. Further, additional notification conditions beyond those discussed with respect to the notification message processing 300 shown in FIG. 3 can also be utilized and processed in a similar manner. Still further, the organization or arrangement of the processing of the notification message processing 300 shown in FIG. 3 is illustrative and thus not required. For example, the order of evaluating the decisions is not limited to that shown in FIG. 3. In other words, the notification message processing 300 can vary with implementation. Thus, Lau is not limited to the notifications (signals) of Fig 3 and an additional notification (second RF signal) including the OK signal can be transmitted. For example, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention to modify Lau such that an additional delivery notification message is produced and sent to the shipper indicating that the shipment is delivered with no environmental violations (OK signal) because this would have provided a way to inform the shipper/sender that shipment has been successfully delivered in safe manner allowing the shipper to decide the proper response and/or subsequent step.
Claims 11-12, 23-24 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budampati et al (Pub. No.: US 2012/0250610 A1) in view of NAKAMURA et al (Pub. No.: US 2018/0259550 A1), Lau et al (Pub. No.: US 2018/0211216 A1) and Chen (Pub. No.: US 2014/0089696 A1).
As per claim 11, claim 10 is incorporated and Budampat, NAKAMURA and Lau do not explicitly disclose entering, by the processing module, the finished mode prior to completion of the series of log commands when the data logging device lacks sufficient power to continue data logging. However, Chen discloses entering, by the processing module, the finished mode prior to completion of (Chen, Fig 1 S120-S150, paragraph 0016, wherein step S120, a power consumption amount of a desired power mode requested by the request is calculated. Then, in step S130, the calculated power consumption amount is compared with a remaining capacity of the power source to determine whether the power consumption amount is larger than the remaining capacity of the power source. If the power consumption amount is larger than the remaining capacity of the power source (step S130: Yes), that is, the remaining capacity of the power source is not sufficient to supply electrical power to the computer device operated in the desired power mode, a warning signal is issued to warn that the remaining capacity of the power source is not sufficient, and the computer device doesn't perform the power mode switching requested by the request, as shown in step S150).
Therefore, it would have it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Chen into Budampati, NAKAMURA and Lau to achieve the claimed limitations because this would have provided a way to prevent causing damage to the battery if the remaining battery capacity is not sufficient for the desired power mode the user wants (see Chen paragraph 0008).
As per claim 12, claim 11 is incorporated and Chen further discloses generating, by the processing module, a power violation signal in response to the data logging device lacking sufficient power(Chen, Fig 1 S120-S150, paragraph 0016, wherein step S120, a power consumption amount of a desired power mode requested by the request is calculated. Then, in step S130, the calculated power consumption amount is compared with a remaining capacity of the power source to determine whether the power consumption amount is larger than the remaining capacity of the power source. If the power consumption amount is larger than the remaining capacity of the power source (step S130: Yes), that is, the remaining capacity of the power source is not sufficient to supply electrical power to the computer device operated in the desired power mode, a warning signal is issued to warn that the remaining capacity of the power source is not sufficient, and the computer device doesn't perform the power mode switching requested by the request, as shown in step S150).
Claims 23-24 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 11-12.
As per claim 30, claim 11 is incorporated and Chen further discloses wherein when the data logging device lacks sufficient power to continue data logging, transmitting, by the radio frequency (RF) transmitter of the data logging device, a third RF signal indicating insufficient power (Chen, Fig 1 S120-S150, paragraph 0016, wherein a warning signal is issued to warn that the remaining capacity of the power source is not sufficient, and the computer device doesn't perform the power mode switching requested by the request, as shown in step S150. In an example, the warning signal is transmitted to an output device of the computer device in the form of a multimedia file so as to warn a user against having insufficient remaining capacity of the power source. The output device of the computer device can be s a speaker, a display screen or any other output device. The multimedia file can be an audio file, an image, a video file or any other multimedia file. In another example, an operating system (OS) of the computer device receives the warning signal and stores data of the OS after receiving the warning signal so as to avoid data loss due to the unfinished storage caused by insufficient remaining capacity).
As per claim 31, claim 12 is incorporated and Chen further discloses displaying, by the display, an indication of a power violation based on the power violation signal (Chen, Fig 1 S120-S150, paragraph 0016, wherein step S120, a power consumption amount of a desired power mode requested by the request is calculated. Then, in step S130, the calculated power consumption amount is compared with a remaining capacity of the power source to determine whether the power consumption amount is larger than the remaining capacity of the power source. If the power consumption amount is larger than the remaining capacity of the power source (step S130: Yes), that is, the remaining capacity of the power source is not sufficient to supply electrical power to the computer device operated in the desired power mode, a warning signal is issued to warn that the remaining capacity of the power source is not sufficient, and the computer device doesn't perform the power mode switching requested by the request, as shown in step S150).
Claims 28 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budampati et al (Pub. No.: US 2012/0250610 A1) in view of NAKAMURA et al (Pub. No.: US 2018/0259550 A1) et al, Lau et al (Pub. No.: US 2018/0211216 A1) and HAN (Pub. No.: US 2016/0209907 A1).
As per claim 28, claim 1 is incorporated and Budampat, NAKAMURA and Lau do not explicitly disclose when the data logging device transitions to the finished mode, generating, by the processing module, a first visual representation of the signal regarding the finished mode; and when the measure of the environmental signal is not within the expected range, generating by the processing module, a second visual representation of the environmental violation signal. However, visualizing signals to indicate a mode and/or a violation is well known in the art. For example, HAN disclose when the data logging device transitions to the finished mode, generating, by the processing module, a first visual representation of the signal regarding the finished mode (HAN, Fig 4, paragraph 0096, 0120, wherein an icon indicating the power saving mode may be displayed on the status bar 192. If the power saving mode switching condition is met, the icon may be activated and displayed) ; and when the measure of the environmental signal is not within the expected range, generating by the processing module, a second visual representation of the environmental violation signal (HAN, Fig 19, paragraph 0240, wherein if a warning mode switching condition is satisfied as illustrated in FIG. 18 and thus it is determined to enter a warning mode in step 1902, the electronic device may identify that a current state of the electronic device is the warning mode by setting a warning mode state flag in step 1904. Further, according to another embodiment of the present disclosure, the electronic device may display the warning mode by setting the warning mode state flag).
Therefore, it would have it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate HAN into Budampati, NAKAMURA and Lau to achieve the claimed limitations because this would have provided a way to increase the user’s satisfaction and convenience by using displayable icons to inform the user about the system status and operations.
Claim 34 is rejected under the same rational as claim 28.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 11/14/2025 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in remarks:
(1) As such, Nakamura teaches to stop measuring at least one physical quantity when unintended movement of the sensor is detected. Nakamura does not teach or suggest a "finished mode" that indicates that accumulated sense data is unreliable.
(2) Examiner respectively disagrees.
Even though the claim states that the finished mode indicates that accumulated sensed data is unreliable, it is still broad on how this accumulated sensed data is determined to be unreliable. Nakamura, paragraph 0017, teaches that when an environmental sensor is moved from its designated monitoring area, the sensor ceases measurement because the sensed data will not be representative of the intended designated monitoring area and thus such sensed data cannot be trusted or relied on and are likely to give wrong/invalid measurement results. In other words, Nakamura seems to relay on the movement of the sensor to indicate that accumulated sensed data is unreliable and as result the measuring is stopped (finished mode). This still reads on the claim limitation since the claim does not specify or require any specific way of determining that accumulated sense data is unreliable.
Conclusion
/HAMZA N ALGIBHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441