DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Maher does not teach “a top plate comprising a transparent or translucent window for visibility of the site through the compression member; an inflatable bladder having a fluid-tight interior configured to hold a volume of a coolant solution, wherein the top plate is configured to limit upward expansion of the inflatable bladder such that the inflatable bladder is configured to expand downward and away from the top plate” as Maher does not contemplate or teach an inflatable bladder with a top plate for limiting upward expansion of an inflatable bladder. However, this is not found to be persuasive. Maher teaches an outer shell (502) that is made of a flexible plastic material, such as but not limited to polyethylene, polystyrene, etc. The bladder (506) are coupled to the inner surface of the outer shell to be placed against the area to be treated (see for example Fig. 2). The structure of Maher necessarily results in limiting upward expansion when the bladder is filled and allowing the bladder to expand downward.
Applicant argues that Maher does not teach “a valve being configured to facilitate injection of the coolant solution into the interior of the inflatable bladder and to facilitate withdrawal of the coolant solution from the bladder.” However, this is not found to be persuasive. Maher teaches in paragraph [0052] that the inlet and outlet ports 534, 536 may include a valve to regulate the flow of cooling fluid into and/or out of the bladder 506. Therefore, Maher contemplates that each of the valves can regulate flow both into and out of the valve and thus reads on the claimed language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 11-14 and 21-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0039365 A1 to Maher et al. (Maher).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Maher teaches a system for applying cooling and compression to a site on a body region of a patient (title “Cervical Collar”), comprising a compression member (bladder 506) configured to apply compression to a compression site located in a body region of a patient, the compression member comprising a top plate (outer shell 502) comprising a transparent or translucent window ([0056]) for visibility of the site through the compression member, an inflatable bladder (multiple cooling chambers 530) having a fluid-tight interior configured to hold a volume of a coolant solution ([0048]), wherein the top plate is configured to limit upward expansion of the inflatable bladder such that the inflatable bladder is configured to expand downward and away from the top plate ([0045] which states “The outer shell 502 is made from a flexible plastic material…”), a valve ([0052] which states “Further, the inlet and outlet ports 534, 536 may include a valve to regulate the flow of cooling fluid into and/or out of the bladder 506.”) in fluid communication with the interior, the valve being configured to facilitate injection of the coolant solution into the interior of the inflatable bladder and to facilitate withdrawal of the coolant solution from the inflatable bladder ([0052] which states “the inlet and outlet ports 534, 536 may include a valve to regulate the flow of cooling fluid into and/or out of the bladder 506”), a temperature indicator (538 and [0054]), a securement system (outer shell 502 in combination with fastening device 512) configured to secure the compression member to the body region of the patient ([0044]), an amount of solid endothermic material (chemical 906 and [0053] which states in part “a chemical 906, such as but not limited to, ammonium nitrate”), a coolant delivery device (cooling pack 900) comprising a chamber (see Figs 9-11) configured for combining the endothermic material with an aqueous liquid (fluid 904) to from the coolant solution ([0053] which states in part “The cooling pack 900 is a granule-activation packet that uses a fluid 904, such as but not limited to, water and a chemical 906, such as but not limited to, ammonium nitrate that when mixed together create a cooling fluid. When a user strikes the cooling pack 900 with the palm of their hand, a prescribed amount of water will mix with the ammonium nitrate thereby creating a cooling fluid.”) and further configured to fluidly connect with the inflatable bladder and deliver the coolant solution to the interior ([0053] which stats in part “The cooling fluid from the cooling pack 900 can then be pumped into the bladder 506 via the inlet port 534 and into each chamber 530 via passageways 532, as described below.”). However, Maher is silent with respect to wherein the coolant solution assumes a temperature upon formation of about 33oF to about 55oF. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maher to have the coolant solution assume the temperature of about 33oF to about 55oF, since it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a results effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Maher teaches the system of claim 6 as well as wherein the temperature indicator comprises a thermochromic element configured to display a color to indicate one of the one or more temperature states ([0054] which states in part “In one example, the indicator 538 can change color based on the temperature of the cooling fluid. For example, the indicator 538 may be a first color (e.g., blue, dark blue, etc.) when the temperature of the cooling fluid is at a temperature that provides adequate cooling to the patient. As the temperature of the cooling fluid begins to lose its cooling effect (e.g., the cooling fluid begins to warm), the indicator 538 may turn a second color (e.g., orange). As the temperature of the cooling fluid continues to warm (e.g., approaches ambient temperature), the indicator 538 may turn a third color (e.g., red) indicating that the cooling fluid is no longer providing adequate cooling to the patient. The indicator 538 can provide a quick visual means for the EMT personnel to determine if the cooling pack 200 should be replaced or if additional cooling fluid should be pumped into bladder 506 with another cooling pack 900.”).
Regarding claim 3, Maher teaches the system of claim 6 as well as wherein the one or more temperature states include a cooling state comprising coolant solution temperatures at or below a target temperature ([0054]).
Regarding claim 4, Maher teaches the system of claim 6 as well as wherein the securement system comprises a collar (outer shell 502) coupled to the compression member and one or more straps (fastening device 512) couplable to the collar (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Maher teaches the system of claim 6 as well as wherein the temperature indicator is integrated within the top plate ([0054]).
Regarding claim 11, Maher teaches a method of applying compression with cooling to a compression site on a body region of a patient (see entire document), comprising providing an endothermic compression device comprising a compression member (bladder 506) configured to apply compression to a compression site located in a body region of a patient, the compression member comprising a top plate (outer shell 502) comprising a transparent or translucent window ([0056]) for visibility of the site through the compression member, an inflatable bladder (multiple cooling chambers 530) having a fluid-tight interior configured to hold a volume of a coolant solution ([0048]), wherein the top plate is configured to limit upward expansion of the inflatable bladder such that the inflatable bladder is configured to expand downward and away from the top plate ([0045] which states “The outer shell 502 is made from a flexible plastic material…”), a valve ([0052] which states “Further, the inlet and outlet ports 534, 536 may include a valve to regulate the flow of cooling fluid into and/or out of the bladder 506.”) in fluid communication with the interior, the valve being configured to facilitate injection of the coolant solution into the interior of the inflatable bladder and to facilitate withdrawal of the coolant solution from the inflatable bladder ([0052] which states “the inlet and outlet ports 534, 536 may include a valve to regulate the flow of cooling fluid into and/or out of the bladder 506”), a temperature indicator (538 and [0054]) and a securement system (outer shell 502 in combination with fastening device 512) configured to secure the compression member to the body region of the patient ([0044]), placing the compression member on the body region so that the inflatable bladder is situated directly over the compression site (Fig. 4), securing the endothermic compression device to the body region (Fig. 4), and injecting a volume of coolant solution through the valve into the interior of the inflatable bladder to provide cooling to the compression site at a temperature for a period of time ([0053]). However, Maher is silent with respect to wherein the coolant solution assumes a temperature upon formation of about 33oF to about 55oF. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maher to have the coolant solution assume the temperature of about 33oF to about 55oF, since it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a results effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 12, Maher teaches the method of claim 11 as well as wherein injecting the volume of the coolant solution further comprises providing a coolant delivery device (cooling pack 900) having a chamber (Figs. 9-11) containing an endothermic material (chemical 906 and [0053] which states in part “a chemical 609, such as but not limited to, ammonium nitrate”), wherein the coolant delivery device is configured to fluidly connect with the inflatable bladder through the valve ([0052-0053]), forming the coolant solution by adding an aqueous liquid to the chamber to combine with the endothermic material ([0053] which states in part “The cooling pack 900 is a granule-activation packet that uses a fluid 904, such as but not limited to, water and a chemical 906, such as but not limited to, ammonium nitrate that when mixed together create a cooling fluid. When a user strikes the cooling pack 900 with the palm of their hand, a prescribed amount of water will mix with the ammonium nitrate thereby creating a cooling fluid.”), fluidly connecting the coolant delivery device to the valve ([0052-0053]) and injecting the coolant solution through the valve into the interior of the inflatable bladder ([0053]).
Regarding claim 13, Maher teaches the method of claim 11 as well as maintaining cooling within a temperature range for the period of time by replacing the volume of coolant with a second volume of coolant having a temperature within the temperature range ([0053] which states in part “In addition, once the cooling fluid inside the blader 506 begins to warm, the empty cooling pack 900 can be attached to the outlet port 536 and a new cooling pack 900 can be attached to the inlet port 534. The cooling fluid from the new cooling pack 900 can then be pumped into the bladder 506 thereby forcing the warm fluid out of the bladder through the outlet port 536 and back into the original cooling pack 900. Thus, cooling fluid can essentially be continuously pumped through the collar 506 by EMT personnel who do not have access to a continuous external cooling system (described below) in the field.”).
Regarding claim 14, Maher teaches the method of claim 11, but not wherein the period of time is about 15 minutes to about 120 minutes. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a time period of about 15 minutes to about 120 minutes since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 21, Maher teaches the method of claim 11 as well as wherein the temperature indicator is integrated within the top plate ([0054]).
Regarding claim 22, Maher teaches the system of claim 6 as well as wherein the valve is coupled to a tube (passageways 532) coupled to the top plate (see for example Fig. 8), wherein the tube is coupled to the top plate at a location adjacent to an outer edge of the compression member (see for example Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 23, Maher teaches the system of claim 6, but not wherein the coolant delivery device comprises a syringe. It is asserted that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a known fluid delivery device such as a syringe as an obvious matter of engineering design choice.
Regarding claim 24, Maher teaches the system of claim 6 as well as wherein the inflatable bladder is coupled to an underside of the top plate (see for example Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 25, Maher teaches the method of claim 11 as well as wherein the valve is coupled to a tube (passageways 532) coupled to the top plate (see for example Fig. 8), wherein the tube is coupled to the top plate at a location adjacent to an outer edge of the compression member (see for example Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 26, Maher teaches the method of claim 12, but not wherein the coolant delivery device comprises a syringe. It is asserted that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a known fluid delivery device such as a syringe as an obvious matter of engineering design choice.
Regarding claim 27, Maher teaches the method of claim 11 as well as wherein the inflatable bladder is coupled to an underside of the top plate (see for example Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 28, Maher teaches the method of claim 12 as well as wherein the endothermic material comprises one or more of ammonium nitrate ([0053] which states in part “a chemical 906, such as but not limited to, ammonium nitrate”), urea, biuret, ammonium chloride, potassium nitrate, ammonium perchlorate, potassium chlorate, potassium perchlorate, potassium chloride, silica gel, calcium ammonium nitrate, and calcium nitrate tetrahydrate.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maher in view of US 2014/0039584 A1 to Potter et al. (Potter).
Regarding claim 8, Maher teaches the system of claim 7, but not wherein the endothermic material further comprises at least one of a dissolution accelerant or an anticaking agent. Potter teaches an analogous device (title) to that of Maher where the material having an endothermic heat of solution in water includes urea, potassium chloride and ammonium chloride (claims 4 and 16). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maher to substitute the endothermic material of Maher with that of Potter, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches the system of claim 8, but not wherein the endothermic material comprises about 70 wt% to about 90 wt% urea and about 10 wt% to about 30 wt% potassium chloride. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the claimed wt% of urea and potassium chloride, since it has been held that here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
/KAITLYN E SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794